Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The critically acclaimed single-player experience of Assassin's Creed is back and better than ever as Ezio returns in an epic struggle against the powerful Templar Order. Now a legendary Master Assassin, he must journey into Italy's greatest city, Rome, center of power, greed and corruption to strike at the heart of the enemy. Defeating the corrupt tyrants entrenched there will require not only strength, but leadership, as Ezio commands an entire Brotherhood that will rally to his side. Only by working together can the Assassins defeat their mortal enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a more than a worthy addition to the series canon. The similar setting of renaissance Italy will trick folks into assuming this is a half-arsed expansion, but honestly, this feels like Assassin's Creed 2.99. Don't be fooled by Brotherhood's cunningly familiar disguise. Mark it as a fresh target, pounce and take it down. [January 2011 p66]
  2. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    But what sets Brotherhood apart from the rest of the series is the inclusion of Multiplayer.
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    94
    This is a truly worthwhile upgrade on the Assassin's Creed experience and sets the bar dangerously high for the next iteration.
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a great way to finish the storyline of Ezio Auditore. The game is a better version of Assassin's Creed 2, and offers a solid adventure with loads of missions and a great variety. The multiplayer needs some improvements and could become really addictive in Assassin's Creed 3, but as for now it looks just like a minor extra.
  5. Nov 29, 2010
    90
    Without question, this is one of the best games of 2010.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    While Brotherhood strays farther away from foundation of the original Assassin's Creed, it still has the ability to hold your interest and lock you into an engaging story.
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    70
    Considering Assassin's Creed Brotherhood as a total package, it's just barely worth full price. There's a decent quantity of content, but the amount that's recycled from the last game is stunning, a purely cynical ploy to squeeze out more money in lieu of preserving any semblance of artistic integrity.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 138
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    one word : Breathtaking although that word is not enough to even eign describing it.
    it's an exemplary title and one that smacks of a
    developer at the peak of its game. From every piece of cover and set-piece thrown in fiendishly to catch you unaware, to the expertly crafted multiplayer maps and top quality cut scenes, it is clear that a innumerable amount of dedication and painstaking precision has been squeezed out of the team to help make this the PS3's crowning moment. 10 Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    After playing most of the single player campaign and spending some time on the multiplayer, I can safely say that Assassin's creed brotherhood is one of my favourite games this generation. Despite what many people say, I think the game is a huge improvement over the second installment. Perhaps most of the gameplay mechanics stayed afoot, but really there isn't one thing that the game didn't improve. The graphics are simply better, mainly in the cutscenes, and the enviorment looks more vibrant. I think the best improvement was the fact that you now have one big city to explore, rather then 6 or 7 cities that look the same, and does not require many loading times and needless traveling. besides that, the story is more elegant and much more focused. I liked the fact that Ezio doesn't kill as much as he did in the second game. It seems there are more politics and interesting plot twists that the second game just lacked, and Ezio thinks abit more before he takes out the dagger(or gun, for that matter). Desmond's story is also more interesting, and while you don't see him most of the game, he seems to be more involved then last time. So after playing the amazing, brilliant, fun and improved singleplayer I started playing the multiplayer. To sum it up: It's preety damn good. It could use refinments though, because there are some balancing issues with the gameplay, but otherwise it's really engaging and really fun. I think it's a fantastic game that triumphs the first two games easily. With more things to do, a better focused story and better overall quality, AC:B is the assassin's creed game that AC:2 simply never was, for me. utterly Brilliant. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the most entertaining games this year! sure its a "Part 2" of AC2. but that's why its not called AC3. It keeps what made AC2 great and added a few fresh ideas. There is always so much to do and explore. The story is great and and missions can be done numerous ways. Graphics and sound is amazing. And ROME.... WOW... the architecture and detail is incredible. This is a Must Buy!! Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    It's fairly easy to compare the story in ACB to AC2, so really I can skip that part of the review because if you liked AC2's story, then it's a certainty that you'll like the story and mechanics in ACB. What really sets this game apart is it's groundbreaking multiplayer. I can't say there is anything like it out there, and have spent countless hours with my buddies hunting, and being hunted. It's inventive, and definitely a refreshing break from all of the FPS multiplayers that clog the gaming pipes. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood finally brings together all the elements of the first two games and perfects them. It does have a few faults, such as the story missions still being too linear and forcing you down ultra-scripted routes (which was my biggest complaint with AC2). But these are balanced out by the freedom given in the Borgia tower assassinations and the Templar agent missions. In fact, most of the non-essential side missions are more fun than the main variants. There is a ton of variety in ACB and you'll always be distracted by something new to do or some new nook to explore. Basically speaking, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is an excellent game that fully capitalizes on the franchise potential. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    MAYBE I CAN CHANGE YOUR MIND: Yes I played the single player only and got sick of it after the first few missions because of the same repetition problem. So much potential unfulfilled and some problems in first game still not addressed. But then I realized this game is tremendously fun if you try to cause as much trouble as you can. My favourite weapon is now the crossbow which truly gives that 'Master Assassin' feeling like in the trailers. The recruits aren't too bad either they actually help in tough spots. Overall the game's main meat is still a mixture of often hugely broken stealth elements, hit or miss free running/ climbing, dodgy targeting systems, inconsistent AI and fidgety camera aswell as unnecessarily long kill animations but this game HAS managed to improve a good amount over the last one though not without bringing some of its own tacky things. leveling up recruits, weapon stats and spread out and recycled side missions only aim to extend the games content some times artificially and are not always fun. The overall flow of combat is great because of the chain kills and horses are good fun. Not to mention the music is pretty engaging and as always the main missions and set pieces are pretty momentous. This game still needs to put more emphasis on thinking but no need to punish you for not doing it. For example there is no emphasis on even preplanning your escapes let alone making good ones (you can actually tell a group of mercenaries to wait outside the kill zone you know so they stop your pursuers after the kill, also having a couple of guards on you is not much of a problem anyways ). So yeah ignore the label "Assassin's Creed" and just play the game for what it is and you'll enjoy it. It's not really 'nearly there' but still a pretty good package. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I played this series I don't like Illuminati based Games, whether it's right out there or Subliminally being brainwashed. I will for one not fall Vitim to the Illuminati and there Feeble attempts at Mindcontrol. I rate this game what it Deserves a Big Fat 0 Collapse

See all 138 User Reviews