Assassin's Creed II PlayStation 3

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed 2 is an example of how to improve on pretty much everything from the first iteration (Assassin's Creed). The game looks excellent and the design is still as impeccable as the original game. The game-play mirrors the original greatly and this is not a bad thing. The audio design is top notch as you feel that you really are in these events that are taking place. The story isAssassin's Creed 2 is an example of how to improve on pretty much everything from the first iteration (Assassin's Creed). The game looks excellent and the design is still as impeccable as the original game. The game-play mirrors the original greatly and this is not a bad thing. The audio design is top notch as you feel that you really are in these events that are taking place. The story is quite engrossing and is bolstered by side quests that actually relate back to the main storyline. If you found yourself finding that the original was a little repetitive but enjoyed the story then you will love the sequel as it retains the strong story elements and makes the game a lot more varied and interesting. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game is just so much fun and it is so beautiful to look at, each area is rendered in amazing detail, so it's a real joy just wandering (or leaping and climbing) around the fully realised cities of Italy. I wasn't expecting it to be so much of a 'sandbox' style environment, you can just roam around for hours. I'm really taking my time with it and doing all the side missions, all theThis game is just so much fun and it is so beautiful to look at, each area is rendered in amazing detail, so it's a real joy just wandering (or leaping and climbing) around the fully realised cities of Italy. I wasn't expecting it to be so much of a 'sandbox' style environment, you can just roam around for hours. I'm really taking my time with it and doing all the side missions, all the extra bits and pieces will give you a huge amount of game-time. I am fairly new to this era of gaming, but I have swiftly become a huge fan of this game and am very excited about continuing the story. The story is really engrossing and even the NPC's are endearing characters. An Assassin's whole raison d'être is to kill people, so I'm not certain what people who have said its repetitive were expecting, even so there are quite a few other bits to do. It has taken up a large part of my life since I bought it at the beginning of August. Epic, enjoyable and even educational. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I could go on for hours in terms of how Assassin's Creed II improves and expands upon it's predecessor in terms of gameplay, combat, visuals, and overall presentation. All of these elements have been perfected and make Assassin's Creed II one of the best games in the open world genre. What makes Assassin's Creed II the king, however, is it's narrative, which introduces one of the mostI could go on for hours in terms of how Assassin's Creed II improves and expands upon it's predecessor in terms of gameplay, combat, visuals, and overall presentation. All of these elements have been perfected and make Assassin's Creed II one of the best games in the open world genre. What makes Assassin's Creed II the king, however, is it's narrative, which introduces one of the most likable characters in videogame history and brings the player on an emotional journey as he transforms from a boy into an Assassin both in the past and present. It's emotional, thrilling, and breathtaking. One of the industry's best games. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    I had days and days of fun with this game, for those who love the free roaming games like me, you are going to have a lot of fun jumping from building, diving into the river and jumping into enemies from hiding, it takes a while to get used to the controls but it's not impossible. Beautiful backgrounds, sounds and voice acting. AI could been better and story it's hard to follow since youI had days and days of fun with this game, for those who love the free roaming games like me, you are going to have a lot of fun jumping from building, diving into the river and jumping into enemies from hiding, it takes a while to get used to the controls but it's not impossible. Beautiful backgrounds, sounds and voice acting. AI could been better and story it's hard to follow since you have the natural flow of the game plus two or three parallel stories to follow. Expand
  5. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Manages to improve on the original. This game is great from the sandbox gameplay, to the conspiracy stories.
  6. KaelemB
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Perfect, it had enough similarities to hold onto what made AC 1 great and enough changes to make it still more interesting but didn't deviate to much from the original formulae :)
  7. JakD
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    ACII Exceeds the first game in every way. Great graphics, great music, divers gameplay and an awesome setting. This is what Assassin's Creed needed to be!
  8. MarcosL
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing...incredible... thank you for have the oportunity to trip to Italy with my xbox360.
  9. SillyT
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    While the prequel was boring in many aspects, part 2 is on a whole different level and is indeed a perfect gaming experience. Should be Game of the year 2009. Sadly, it probably won't due to mediocre games hyped by the industry, as always.
  10. Blade2
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Don't let the AC1 fool you. AC2 is different in many ways. Lot of effort has gone into making the cities in the game. A must have/play-and-sell.
  11. HarrisonD
    Jan 22, 2010
    8
    Like marmite, you love it or you hate it. I loved it, i loved it so much that i got platinum. and i love it still.
  12. RallenS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This is an improvement on the original in every single way, and a game of great proportions. AAA grade title!
  13. JosephK
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    an amazing game!! After being dissapointed by the first game, I was apprehensive about this but seriously everything in AC2 has been polished and perfected with all the crap cut out from the first title. Graphics, gameplay and plot all get a 10 and dont even start me on longetivity, its an RPGers dream. Pretty much if you liked the first game you'll go bonkes for this and if u hated an amazing game!! After being dissapointed by the first game, I was apprehensive about this but seriously everything in AC2 has been polished and perfected with all the crap cut out from the first title. Graphics, gameplay and plot all get a 10 and dont even start me on longetivity, its an RPGers dream. Pretty much if you liked the first game you'll go bonkes for this and if u hated the first game, kinda like me, you'll still love it, buy it!! Expand
  14. MarkW
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Assassin's 2 is EVERYTHING I had hoped the first game was going to be from the initial vids. The first game was a huge disappointment. Thankfully Ubisoft et al have heeded the criticisms and come back with an accomplished sequel.
  15. EvanB
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I was a pretty big fan of AC1, and was very hyped for this sequel, and I must say, it delivers. It's the best Action/Adventure game I've ever played. Assassinations feel a lot better than they did in AC1, free-running flows very well, the quests are more than just 'Pickpocket this guy, now kill your target'. I'm also glad that there's shops! In AC1 I really I was a pretty big fan of AC1, and was very hyped for this sequel, and I must say, it delivers. It's the best Action/Adventure game I've ever played. Assassinations feel a lot better than they did in AC1, free-running flows very well, the quests are more than just 'Pickpocket this guy, now kill your target'. I'm also glad that there's shops! In AC1 I really sometimes got bored of my same old sword. AC2 has a great frame-rate as well, not to mention an interesting story. Right now it's my GOTY candidate. The only thing I have against AC2 is sometimes free-running can get a bit buggy, but this only happened to me maybe twice so far, so I still feel fine giving it a 10. Expand
  16. Kgg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    They took all the things you were complaining about with the first one, fixed it... and made everything that was good, better and more varied
  17. EliV
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It is hard for me to find any other game in recent memory that continually kept me wanting more, throughout the entire game. I rate games based on 4 main categories: Graphics, Gameplay, Extras, Overall Enjoyability. I am an EXTREME critic of these concepts of games, and give a thorough rating on each category. This is the first and only game that I have given a perfect 10. Fantastic game. It is hard for me to find any other game in recent memory that continually kept me wanting more, throughout the entire game. I rate games based on 4 main categories: Graphics, Gameplay, Extras, Overall Enjoyability. I am an EXTREME critic of these concepts of games, and give a thorough rating on each category. This is the first and only game that I have given a perfect 10. I can rebut each and every argument that anyone has toward slandering this game, including main complaints about the control scheme and the lack of multiplayer. The control scheme is difficult to use only to those who do not take advantage of the training ring located outside of Ezio's villa. Any problem you have with the controls can be learned by practicing your combat and your movement skills there. As for multiplayer, the game can be played by one's self, or with a friend or family member. I found it extremely enjoyable to decode the puzzles from the glyphs with my wife, who HATES video games. It has everything a game should have. Action, adventure, gore, sex, violence, suspense, conspiracy and history, while combining all of these concepts into a true masterpiece. Fantastically done. Perfect 10. Expand
  18. dannyf
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    This game was the greatest game I have ever played in my entire life. everything about assassins creed II stands out from the crowd. the game play is intense, the characters are quite intriguing and the mix of history with fiction gives the game a "da Vinci Code" feeling. Highly Recommended
  19. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    Great game! intresting, amazing graphics, great gameplay. Tooke me a 3 week adventure to finish the game. excellent!
  20. MOCD
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    A brilliant game. As critics have pointed out, it improves over the original in every way and there's nothing conceivably wrong with it beyond a few odd glitches (I find it disproportionately difficult to pick up objects like corpses and boxes sometimes, with the contextual O button easily distracted and often doing something different to what it says), and the graphics, which, while A brilliant game. As critics have pointed out, it improves over the original in every way and there's nothing conceivably wrong with it beyond a few odd glitches (I find it disproportionately difficult to pick up objects like corpses and boxes sometimes, with the contextual O button easily distracted and often doing something different to what it says), and the graphics, which, while amazing, seem to be odd and tacked on during the present day sections - Lucy's face looks like a stretched low resolution jpeg, and she's one of the first things you see in the game. Beyond these tiny flaws, the game is unbelievably good, being addictive and having a clear narrative far from the contorted original. I strongly believe this to be one of the best videogames released in this generation and very much look forward to the next in the series with baited breath. Expand
  21. BobbyR
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    I find it funny that people either love this game or love to hate this game. I can see some respects of both, it's not the perfect game, but it is NOT worth a 2 rating unless someone was looking for a shooter and stumbled on this thinking "wait this isn't halo?WTF, i'm giving this a 2!" It's easy to overlook some flaws in the game such as minor glitches that will see I find it funny that people either love this game or love to hate this game. I can see some respects of both, it's not the perfect game, but it is NOT worth a 2 rating unless someone was looking for a shooter and stumbled on this thinking "wait this isn't halo?WTF, i'm giving this a 2!" It's easy to overlook some flaws in the game such as minor glitches that will see your character get stuck on a wall, but the overall look, feel and story to the game is incredible. Compared to the first game, this is better, there is an actual plot to this story other than politics. The AI may not be the best, but compared to other games, this is far better. One reviewed said that the crowd didn't react to the character falling out of the sky... well this is a game and not every little aspect can be taken into account, especially with the depth this game has. Anyways I think this game is one of the best games I have played in a while, incorporating all the right features for a spectacular adventure. Expand
  22. CiaranH
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I was a little concerned about this game after all the hype that proceeded it but thankfully I had nothing to worry about. The story runs smoothly and even if you decide to wander off and do some of the side missions you are never too far away from the action. The fight scenes do sometimes feel a little choreographed but the variety of extra things to do in the game mean that you soon I was a little concerned about this game after all the hype that proceeded it but thankfully I had nothing to worry about. The story runs smoothly and even if you decide to wander off and do some of the side missions you are never too far away from the action. The fight scenes do sometimes feel a little choreographed but the variety of extra things to do in the game mean that you soon forget about that. A nice addition to the game is UPLAY, a trophy style system introduced by Ubisoft that allows you to "buy" extra things for your game (like extra throwing knives, an Altaïr costume and an exclusive map that lets you explore the Auditore family crypt as well as getting you a nice wad of cash) once you have achieved certain conditions in game. It adds to the trophies that you also get from the game by giving you a tangible reward. I would recommend this game to everyone as it improves on the previous incarnation and allows you to become immersed in the story and the environment. Expand
  23. RafaelShekarchi
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    It is a BRILLIANT game with a good story and amazing graphics. But it does take a little while before you get used to the controls because there are so many!!! But it is a really good game and you should get it for PS3 of Xbox360 (i played both).
  24. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game was almost infinitely better than the first, it combines a more rpg element with classic adventure gameplay. I beat it in a little under a week but it has a pretty solid replay value. The story is interesting and helps keep you motivated to continue playing although i thought the end of the game story wise was a bit disappointing. Where the first game was very linear andThis game was almost infinitely better than the first, it combines a more rpg element with classic adventure gameplay. I beat it in a little under a week but it has a pretty solid replay value. The story is interesting and helps keep you motivated to continue playing although i thought the end of the game story wise was a bit disappointing. Where the first game was very linear and repetitive this game improves giving you new abilities and a variety of missions definitely worth playing at the very least a rental. Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Most of us means, that a sequel to a game is not as good as the first one, or even bad... But I think that Assassin's Creed 2 is a HUGE upgrade from the first game (which sucked). The minigames makes the game extremely long and varied, the fights works alot better, the weapons are awesome, it's cool that Leonardo Da Vinci is in the game etc. I could continue with the good things! The onlyMost of us means, that a sequel to a game is not as good as the first one, or even bad... But I think that Assassin's Creed 2 is a HUGE upgrade from the first game (which sucked). The minigames makes the game extremely long and varied, the fights works alot better, the weapons are awesome, it's cool that Leonardo Da Vinci is in the game etc. I could continue with the good things! The only bad thing about the came is, that the free-run still needs some work. So I'll give it 9/10. Expand
  26. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    this game is absoulutly breath taking it has amazing graphics an interesting story line which is also pretty long as well. after playing this game it made me want to go outside and just start climbing stuff the way ezio does and this game is also a great way to learn about italian history if you read the facts that they have collected. the only problem i had with this game was i usuallythis game is absoulutly breath taking it has amazing graphics an interesting story line which is also pretty long as well. after playing this game it made me want to go outside and just start climbing stuff the way ezio does and this game is also a great way to learn about italian history if you read the facts that they have collected. the only problem i had with this game was i usually got frustrated with the fact that often times when i want ezio to do something he would do something compleatly different or try to climb or jump off of something in the wrong direction especially in the tombs but other than that the game is simply amazing Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is such an amazing game that even after playing for more than 40 hours you would be hard pressed to put down the controller because of its addicting nature. Completing different quests never get old and the majesty of being an Assassin keeps the fun going.
  28. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    The fuss is right. ACII delivers! Set in several beautiful Italian cities during Renessaince, it features a rich boy Ezio that's popular with the ladies and leads a great life. The story slowly but surely expands, and as it does, you get more and more sucked into it. It's a nearly perfect game - the difficulty is right, there are a lot of things to do, and the only problem is when AC stopsThe fuss is right. ACII delivers! Set in several beautiful Italian cities during Renessaince, it features a rich boy Ezio that's popular with the ladies and leads a great life. The story slowly but surely expands, and as it does, you get more and more sucked into it. It's a nearly perfect game - the difficulty is right, there are a lot of things to do, and the only problem is when AC stops being AC and tries to be Tomb Raider: running around caves, setting off contraptions, having limited time to jump through hoops in order to get to hidden door. That feels a bit unoriginal, especially to those who have played all those Tomb Raiders through the 90s... But as soon as you get to run on the rooftops again, and the weather is changing above your head, and you hear city life down below, it's all good, and that's a world worth spending time in. Expand
  29. May 15, 2014
    10
    Often considered the best of the series, and it's easy to see why. An extremely deep and well-developed game with huge levels with variety and many hours of game-play and things to uncover. Many hidden things with great reward, amazing story and fun narrative.

    The Italian-culture is well explored with beautiful scenery and history embedded into the game. The plot reveals are jaw
    Often considered the best of the series, and it's easy to see why. An extremely deep and well-developed game with huge levels with variety and many hours of game-play and things to uncover. Many hidden things with great reward, amazing story and fun narrative.

    The Italian-culture is well explored with beautiful scenery and history embedded into the game.
    The plot reveals are jaw dropping at times and unlike many other open-world games with exploitative levels, solving the extra puzzles and searching in hard-to-reach places, dramatically extends the plot and adds a real sense of challenge.

    The biggest flaw with this game is the same as the previous game, the over-arching story with Desmond's capture is not explored well, and it treated purely as a plot device to launch you into the time-frame of the game.

    At least the first game forced you of of the Animus to interact and learn about the capture and the reasoning. This game just throws you into the Animus, and there's really no need to ever come out of it, and the game will not force you out until the game's basically over. While this allows you to explore and live as Ezio, it means your connection to Desmond thins, and really ceases to be important until the end.
    Expand
  30. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    after playing the first one I wasn't expecting much, but knew this one got some good reviews and knew there had to have been a reason. I started playing and this one really took of. But unlike the first one that after taking off landed rather quickly this one continued to fly. I more involved in the story, I enjoyed the characters and finding different object in the map to completeafter playing the first one I wasn't expecting much, but knew this one got some good reviews and knew there had to have been a reason. I started playing and this one really took of. But unlike the first one that after taking off landed rather quickly this one continued to fly. I more involved in the story, I enjoyed the characters and finding different object in the map to complete different objectives. I enjoyed the cities and thought that this game corrected everything and really pushed the open world game forward. I loved the combat as I enjoyed it in the first game and am looking forward to playing the next one in the series. Expand
  31. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    With It's outstanding gameplay, exiting story and flawless body animations, Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the most exiting gaming experience ever. This game is a terrific historic video-game that will grow on you. What Assassin's Creed 2 needs is a better AI. Like, when guards are on water, they die immediately. And the creators could work more in cinematic animations, Still, this game is aWith It's outstanding gameplay, exiting story and flawless body animations, Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the most exiting gaming experience ever. This game is a terrific historic video-game that will grow on you. What Assassin's Creed 2 needs is a better AI. Like, when guards are on water, they die immediately. And the creators could work more in cinematic animations, Still, this game is a must have. 93 out of 100. Expand
  32. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Assassin's Creed II brings alot more to the table compared to it's predecessor.

    It improves on any aspects of the game that were bringing down the first game, including getting rid of it's linear and repetitive questline. This brings more meaning and a much better and stronger story and main questline. All other aspects from the previous game still remain and there's tons more stuff
    Assassin's Creed II brings alot more to the table compared to it's predecessor.

    It improves on any aspects of the game that were bringing down the first game, including getting rid of it's linear and repetitive questline. This brings more meaning and a much better and stronger story and main questline.

    All other aspects from the previous game still remain and there's tons more stuff you can do whilst free-roaming.

    Overall, it's a great open world adventure game that can keep you entertained for quite some time.
    Expand
  33. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Assassin’s Creed II. Good Points:
    ● The addition of new gameplay elements such as, swimming, driving boat, so etcetera... ●Combat, it has improved a lot than its predecessor, having more variety like picking an enemy's weapon from the floor and use it, or dodge an enemy attacks and with counter-attacks you don't have to be so precise in the moment you do it. Variety in the missions, you
    Assassin’s Creed II. Good Points:
    ● The addition of new gameplay elements such as, swimming, driving boat, so etcetera... ●Combat, it has improved a lot than its predecessor, having more variety like picking an enemy's weapon from the floor and use it, or dodge an enemy attacks and with counter-attacks you don't have to be so precise in the moment you do it. Variety in the missions, you don't have to only kill your target in this game, it changes a lot. You maybe have to follow him, or wait until the exact moment to kill him, or maybe pursue him/she. The Length and quality of the campaign, it is a long game and not linear so you always want to know what comes next. The character, Ezio Auditore da Firenze. He's very likeable, he's a strong and bad-ass when he wants, but he also has his soft side. The recreation of The Rinascita of Italy. Side missions and objectives, which were not present in the previous game. Such as races with the horse, or doing parkour. Assassinating different objectives and collecting different objects for rewards in the game, or trophies. Graphics. Variety of weapons and wide inventory.
    BAD POINTS:
    ● Still can't get with the horse into the city. Present day didn't improve, it's still VERY boring. Stealth is okay, but many would prefer a face to face battle.
    Final score:
    Assassin's Creed II is an amazing game which accomplished almost all the things the previous wanted to do, but there are a lot of things that can be improved but they're not very important. Average Score: 9.4
    Expand
  34. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 (rounded up to 10).

    The second Assassin's Creed is where the series really hit its stride, evolving into something that could be churned out on an annual cycle. However, with a character like Ezio Auditore Da Firenze, this really isn't a bad thing (my username was inspired by him). The plot picks up right where the first left off, with an entertaining escape from the Abstergo base. As soon as you get into the Animus 2.0, there is a feeling that this game will feel completely different in tone to the last- and that isn't just because of some pretty new visuals.

    As soon as we meet Ezio, he oozes charisma. The first level is standard tutorial, but you instantly fall in love with the characters. When Ezio finds out his dad's dark secret, things pick up like they never did in the first game. When Ezio watches his father and brothers die, I had a tear in my eye. This is a story of revenge, but the writing, pacing and action is so perfect that it doesn't feel cliched or predictable at all.

    The gameplay has been rightfully improved, with better parkour and free running mechanics and more refined combat, with better, bigger enemy types. The multiple new weapons are badarse, with the double hidden blades being standout combat options. The new economy and money systems are in their early stages of design, but are refined enough to be enjoyable. Once again, there is plenty to do. The open world of Italy is larger than the original's Holy Land and is immaculately detailed. The graphics are spectacular. While the animation and character work is still brilliant, the city steals the show with sweeping architecture and multiple landmarks that are done justice in the Anvil engine. The soundtrack and acting is top notch and the controls fit like a glove.

    If there is one downside to the game, it lacks a substantial amount of innovation. Combat still isn't as great as it could be and the stealth is slowly deteriorating. But, you will rarely care. With an excellent (if a little drawn out plot) and entertaining historical events, this is an almost perfect sequel to what was an iconic new IP for Ubisoft.
    Expand
  35. Sep 19, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed II is near perfection; honestly. The only bad thing is the murky graphics, but that's the only problem. The game has a brilliant story, brilliant combat, brilliant open world and brilliant voice acting. There truly is a wealth of content here; assassin contracts to discovering The Truth, it will keep you entertained for hours on end. the story behind it is amazing, withAssassin's Creed II is near perfection; honestly. The only bad thing is the murky graphics, but that's the only problem. The game has a brilliant story, brilliant combat, brilliant open world and brilliant voice acting. There truly is a wealth of content here; assassin contracts to discovering The Truth, it will keep you entertained for hours on end. the story behind it is amazing, with fascinating, engaging and heart-wrenching scenes. I can sincerely promise you that you will never forget this game. I certainly did. Expand
  36. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Better than it's predecessor in every single way; tighter story, likeable protagonist, better locations and combat, and focuses on what the Assassin's Creed franchise should be about.
  37. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed II
    Game-play:A big improvement from the first game.Great faster climbing better combat system,and some stealth options that the first game lucked.
    Story:A great story that it will hold you about 14 hours full of great characters that matter to the story both friends or enemies Graphics:Very good graphics.The game looks amazing Notes:It's very easy,it has a lot of
    Assassin's Creed II
    Game-play:A big improvement from the first game.Great faster climbing better combat system,and some stealth options that the first game lucked.
    Story:A great story that it will hold you about 14 hours full of great characters that matter to the story both friends or enemies
    Graphics:Very good graphics.The game looks amazing
    Notes:It's very easy,it has a lot of weapons and outfits,the cites that you visit in Italy are awesome,a masterpiece that everyone who whats to called gamer must have it
    Expand
  38. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    This is a great historic adventure game filled to the brim with brilliant combat both armed and unarmed, great stealthy kills and most important of all it has a gripping, intense, exciting story! Why a 9 if its that good? Well, for the simple reason that you'll start killing guards, even when you don't feel like playing, the counter move is maybe a little to overpowered an when you jumpThis is a great historic adventure game filled to the brim with brilliant combat both armed and unarmed, great stealthy kills and most important of all it has a gripping, intense, exciting story! Why a 9 if its that good? Well, for the simple reason that you'll start killing guards, even when you don't feel like playing, the counter move is maybe a little to overpowered an when you jump into the water the guards stop following you. If only it had a little bit more of artificial intelligence, Assassin's Creed II, would be an extremely excellent game.
    But other than that the spectacular free-running, the great combat system and the well voice-acted story turn into one of the best games on PS3 and a definitely enhanced version of Assassin's Creed. A must play for every serious gamer who owns a PS3.
    Expand
  39. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game i've played, ever. The story is interesting and complex, the gameplay is brilliant (fixed every bad thing from the first game) and the graphics make you feel like you're really in 1500 and in Italy. Amazing.
  40. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Amazing Game. The around 20 hours of gaming time (came to around 3 days worth of time) spent by myself on this game was extremely fun and immersive. The missions vary and are diverse from each other, and the settings and themes of Renaissance Italy fit in very well with the gameplay. Only held back by the lack of wanting to go back to the game again, however an excellent game netherless.Amazing Game. The around 20 hours of gaming time (came to around 3 days worth of time) spent by myself on this game was extremely fun and immersive. The missions vary and are diverse from each other, and the settings and themes of Renaissance Italy fit in very well with the gameplay. Only held back by the lack of wanting to go back to the game again, however an excellent game netherless. Vast improvements over the first game and now has a place on my gaming shelf. Loved the game, and i recommend it! Expand
  41. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I loved this game. A great follow up to the first game with some great additions. I liked the story in this one a little more and it also has a ton o fun side missions. Can't wait to play the next one.
  42. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed II is one of the best games of the year in my opinion. The story, soundtrack, voices, and everything about the sound is stellar. At minimum, without doing any sidequests, the campaign comes to about 15 hours. I played the first AC at my friend
  43. ShaunS
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Just simply amazing game!
  44. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Simply best of the Assassin's Creed franchise. It gives you more features for your enjoyment such as dying your armor colors, buying a different selection of weapons, etc. The story itself is great, the 'future' gameplay is still boring rubbish though, it just ends up feeding you the story after jumping around for a while. The city design is overall well done, all the main cities lookSimply best of the Assassin's Creed franchise. It gives you more features for your enjoyment such as dying your armor colors, buying a different selection of weapons, etc. The story itself is great, the 'future' gameplay is still boring rubbish though, it just ends up feeding you the story after jumping around for a while. The city design is overall well done, all the main cities look practically identical though. The combat is much better but is still a bit clunky, the animations are great. There is a flaw with the AI system, it doesn't even have one, they just react to certain actions you do, nothing more. It's overall a great game, it's better played on console as well. If you loved or hated Assassins Creed 1 you should give 2 a try. Expand
  45. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Better than AC 1 but still not that much fun to play. Gameplay is just too boring and repetitive.
  46. codenamezero
    Dec 31, 2009
    6
    Gave this a 6, because the game play is too repetitive, boring, and too easy... The movement and gameplay concept were fairly good. The character graphic was OK, looks like Half-Life 2 quality with crap loads of anti-aliasing... only eye candy was the in-game city structure/design... they were stunning, but that's about it... The missions were so boring, is the same shit everytime, Gave this a 6, because the game play is too repetitive, boring, and too easy... The movement and gameplay concept were fairly good. The character graphic was OK, looks like Half-Life 2 quality with crap loads of anti-aliasing... only eye candy was the in-game city structure/design... they were stunning, but that's about it... The missions were so boring, is the same shit everytime, You just keep on killing people, and is not even hard... even if you aggro loads of guards, you can easily escape or kill them all... The bosses are insanely easy to kill too. I am fairly disappointed with this game. Definitely not worth paying 69.99$, good thing i got it used. Expand
  47. Mjr.B.
    Nov 19, 2009
    2
    God gfx and animations, but extremely poor gameplay. The Ai is basically non existent, the city feels like its full of mindless drones that dont care if a guy falls straight in the middle of the plaza. The crow blending mechanic is both unrealistic and lame. The whole future thing and animus contribute with absolutely nothing to the game experience, they bring the game no value. The story God gfx and animations, but extremely poor gameplay. The Ai is basically non existent, the city feels like its full of mindless drones that dont care if a guy falls straight in the middle of the plaza. The crow blending mechanic is both unrealistic and lame. The whole future thing and animus contribute with absolutely nothing to the game experience, they bring the game no value. The story is completely childish and cheesy. The combat suggests that our hero is from sparta, and not an assassin, relying on stealth. You can easily take out more heavily armed guards in face to face combat, clearly not an assassin way. In conclusion: nothing new, no assassin feeling, dull world, same problems, boring. Expand
  48. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    Nothing new to deliver.
    They just fixed some glitches, the combat system still makes wanna through the controller.
    Overall, Same all same as AC1. Boring.
  49. GavinE
    Nov 20, 2009
    3
    The graphics in the cutscenese are terrible, you think it wouldnt be the case. but it is. The mini map is too small to see wtf is going on. the repetitive nature is more boring that AC1. In fact AC1 was better than this. I stopped playing after a couple of hours, i couldnt take anymore. THIS GAME IS VERY OVERATED.
  50. OmarHamed
    Dec 19, 2009
    2
    I absolutely loved the gameplay (despite it being a bit clunky) I thought the characters were alright, but the missions still didn't really break from that repetition and some things just didn't make sense. I really liked the game economy and all the different things you can do. I loved the fact that I can drag a guy off a ledge and then jump onto his buddies with my knives in I absolutely loved the gameplay (despite it being a bit clunky) I thought the characters were alright, but the missions still didn't really break from that repetition and some things just didn't make sense. I really liked the game economy and all the different things you can do. I loved the fact that I can drag a guy off a ledge and then jump onto his buddies with my knives in their faces. The already ridiculous story however became so convoluted and just so sickeningly weird. I was really liking the game by about the middle. Near the end it was getting weird, but still pretty good. The ending (which I won't spoil) Was just so terribly ridiculous that I got a headache. This game's terrible plot makes all the joy that came from stabbing your way through mobs of guards and corrupt officials turn sour. I wish that I had not wasted my time. Expand
  51. RichardN.
    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    This game has pretty good graphics and acrobatic for sure... but the same boring repetitive gameplay, horrible AI and standard storyline and poor missions remains. I can't believe this game is rated 91, rent this game, this was the last time I play any Ubisoft's game.
  52. FrankT
    Nov 21, 2009
    5
    Sadly, ACII doesn't keep it's promises. It's a nice game but far behind what I expected (especially with ratings > 90%). E.g. I really hoped to have more interaction with the KI and more diversion of the tasks. Nevertheless, it's better than AC1 and it shows that Ubisoft is on a good way. @mc: Guys, I know it's not easy to keep the PR guys out of this voting, but Sadly, ACII doesn't keep it's promises. It's a nice game but far behind what I expected (especially with ratings > 90%). E.g. I really hoped to have more interaction with the KI and more diversion of the tasks. Nevertheless, it's better than AC1 and it shows that Ubisoft is on a good way. @mc: Guys, I know it's not easy to keep the PR guys out of this voting, but a sentence like "Nevertheless, it is the originality of the game and how it stands out against everything else in the video game world right now that makes it extraordinary." from Michael H is really screaming! Expand
  53. LeeL
    Nov 22, 2009
    4
    Average at best, only a slight improvement over the first. Having BATMAN and UNCHARTED 2 to contend with AC2 failed to deliver on the combat and adventure provided by its competition. Sloppy voice work and a complete lack of ambience made the city feel as sterile as the first.
  54. mikeh
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    I love this game, as much as i love my neighbours wifes in the hottub. Chocolate, covered in hot chocolate. So the game is awesome, i can't wait to play her hmm IT*. i'm not doing this just to degrade the user overall score. seriously.
  55. DajaJ
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    The game is the same as AC the graphics are bad and the story is just stupid and the ending is really bad enough said do not buy this game.
  56. ThomasA.
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Having enjoyed large parts of the first AC I thought I'd give this a shot as well, but sadly the revisit wasn't really as enjoyable. Controls are as bad (unprecise) as they were in the first game, and likewise the camera which sometimes "hints" at where you need to go, but does a poor job because it simultaneously forces a specific angle. These two annoyances are compounded by Having enjoyed large parts of the first AC I thought I'd give this a shot as well, but sadly the revisit wasn't really as enjoyable. Controls are as bad (unprecise) as they were in the first game, and likewise the camera which sometimes "hints" at where you need to go, but does a poor job because it simultaneously forces a specific angle. These two annoyances are compounded by the fact that Assassin's Tombs scattered throughout the land are timed platforming. My controller almost went out the window a couple of times. Other minor things detracted from the enjoyment: Weird "design choice" - The possibility to decline quests in the main quest line which are crucial for progression. Poor quest tracking - Being asked to do things you have already done, like climbing a specific tower after you have already done so or hearing the exact same plea for help again because you declined the first time around. I found some of the timed events impossible to reset (I might be wrong) Making mistakes in the beginning of an event forced me to wait till it timed out to have another go. The Bards - What was the purpose of those? Let's just say I did end up beating them up a couple of times after they got in the way too many times. Having to push start twice in the beginning of the game seems to serve no purpose other than to make you actually watch the progress bars. I noticed quite a few other minor things but the examples above represent the types of things pretty well. The story dragged on and with the exception of a few parts I never really felt engaged. Ezio seemed like a pawn and was way too eager to help people he had just met even though tasks only seemed to loosely tie into the revenge the Ezio seeks. Voice acting is for the most part excellent and a few characters throughout are really well thought out and the brutal politics are well portrayed and the back story of the different political players might have been enjoyable to explore a bit more. You could read up a bit in the different bios but to me that kills pacing. Some of the buildings were really well done and if you take some time to look at them you will notice some really rich detail. All in all it's an OK game, but I wouldn't know who to recommend it to. The above is opinion so feel free to disagree, but I actually had to force myself to finish the main quest line just to make sure I got a decently complete picture before reviewing. Expand
  57. MikeH
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    While Assassin's Creed 2 does make some improvements to the problems of the first game, it is far from being problem free. First of all, this is not what I would call an "open world" game. If you play the game straight through, it might take you 8-10 hours. There is no replay value to this game at all unless you enjoy collecting useless items. You could spend a weekend collecting While Assassin's Creed 2 does make some improvements to the problems of the first game, it is far from being problem free. First of all, this is not what I would call an "open world" game. If you play the game straight through, it might take you 8-10 hours. There is no replay value to this game at all unless you enjoy collecting useless items. You could spend a weekend collecting feathers, but why?!?! The story is extremely linear, and there are no "choice" moments in the game that give you the feeling that you are having an impact on your surroundings (adding to the whole no replay value factor). Sadly, this leaves the whole game feeling morally disconnected. Even GTA4 gives you the choice to not kill a guy every once in a while. Finally, the combat is way too easy! You will find yourself dying far more often from unintentionally (and frequently) jumping off of a rooftop mid-quest than from getting killed by an enemy. Honestly, get Uncharted 2 or Arkham Asylum if you like scaling walls, stealthy kills, and good story-lines. But if you must get this game, at least the guards in AC2 don't attack you for running anymore... Expand
  58. RossD
    Dec 28, 2009
    6
    Assassins creed 2 was a masterpiece and genuinely good fun to play. It sorted out all the problems of the first game and the story was engaging, but the flaw in this is that this is the game that should have been released first. If Ubisoft hadnt made all the mistakes with the first game, then this could have been a whole lot better. that's my opinion anyway.
  59. ChrisW
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    My score is not a reflection of the game - I think Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the best open world games out there and very much the game the first one should have been! Good mission variety, awesome city design, heaps of collectibles, and a great story to boot. HOWEVER - the PlayStation 3 version is a disgrace! There is so much screen tearing, I found it unplayable - it literally My score is not a reflection of the game - I think Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the best open world games out there and very much the game the first one should have been! Good mission variety, awesome city design, heaps of collectibles, and a great story to boot. HOWEVER - the PlayStation 3 version is a disgrace! There is so much screen tearing, I found it unplayable - it literally gave me a headache. So I took it back to and swaped it for the XBOX 360 version. Not only does the 360 version feature far less screen tearing, but also has a more consistent frame rate. Honestly, I prefer buying and playing games on my PS3, and am extremely dissapointed with the job Ubisoft has done with the PS3 version. Even more dissapointing is the fact is that not one of the professional reviews I've read reflect the PS3's screen tearing problem. If you have both consoles buy it for 360!!!! Expand
  60. RowanR
    Nov 23, 2009
    5
    The latest installment of Tomb Raider, I mean AC2 is both great and terrible. Why do you insist on making so much of the game play in pitch black with no way to light the area? There are soooo many bugs! Was almost to the end of the Auditore chamber when I landed in a spot that saw Ezio hop up and down on the spot. I had to abort the memory. To be honest, I enjoyed AC1 a lot more. THis The latest installment of Tomb Raider, I mean AC2 is both great and terrible. Why do you insist on making so much of the game play in pitch black with no way to light the area? There are soooo many bugs! Was almost to the end of the Auditore chamber when I landed in a spot that saw Ezio hop up and down on the spot. I had to abort the memory. To be honest, I enjoyed AC1 a lot more. THis game has sent me into fits of rage! Also, you have included Leonardo in the game and yet given him the same lines to repeat ad nauseum. At the end end of the game he appears in Ezio's villa and then asks Ezio the same question. In all, I loved 80% of the game and found the other 20% infuriating. Bad vibes out rate good ones, thus the 5/10. I hope AC3 is better. Expand
  61. MarkP
    Dec 15, 2009
    6
    Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with regards to the character movement. Those games make everything flow beautifully and you rarely feel stuck or a lack of control, unlike in AC2. Other things I found annoying were the mini-map, which rotated both the map itself and the characters icon, ultimately becoming disorientating. The game again feels repetitive in a similar way to the first with a handful of features and at times it's unclear as to why you're doing things as you have little or no feedback from the game. If you enjoyed the first game immensely, then this is probably the game for you. If however you're undecided, I'd either rent it first, or invest your money in another game such as the ones I've mentioned above. Expand
  62. JedD
    Dec 26, 2009
    3
    The voice acting sucks. There is no emotion. I tried the first mission where you race your brother about 20 or 30 times still cant beat it. Im taking the game back. It is very linear, and if you cant beat 1 part, then u cant do anything else untill you beat it. The camera angle sucks, and when i run into people i fall down. WTF? This game is terrible, it looks like a ps2 game. Im back to The voice acting sucks. There is no emotion. I tried the first mission where you race your brother about 20 or 30 times still cant beat it. Im taking the game back. It is very linear, and if you cant beat 1 part, then u cant do anything else untill you beat it. The camera angle sucks, and when i run into people i fall down. WTF? This game is terrible, it looks like a ps2 game. Im back to COD MW2 within 2 hours of playing assassins creed. Expand
  63. Aug 20, 2010
    6
    Better than the original. Which is like saying chicken pox is better than measles, it's just too easy due to more casual market Ubisoft have aimed for. A game that has a ridiculous story and poor presentation is nothing new but Assassin's creed takes it to a whole new level seemingly on purpose to fit the stereotype. The plus point only really come from the graphics and you can mute theBetter than the original. Which is like saying chicken pox is better than measles, it's just too easy due to more casual market Ubisoft have aimed for. A game that has a ridiculous story and poor presentation is nothing new but Assassin's creed takes it to a whole new level seemingly on purpose to fit the stereotype. The plus point only really come from the graphics and you can mute the terrible voice acting and turn on subtitles. Expand
  64. Sep 2, 2010
    6
    Honestly? It's plain boring. The gameplay is nice, but the exposition pieces drag for too long. Instead of complementing the gameplay with some background and motivation, you sometimes feel that the story is being shoved down your throat.
  65. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Its great. apart from the lackluster combat its the second* best game youl ever play. EVER.The climbings amazing and theres plenty of replay value. the story is solid and you cant stop playing it.


    *to assassin's creed brotherhood
  66. Jul 28, 2012
    3
    The first Assassin's creed game was fun but needed improvement in order to be anything more than just decent. When I heard the how the flaws were fixed in this sequel (mainly that it wasn't as repetitive) I had slightly higher expectations about this one, but still held off on buying it at the full price. All I have to say is I really hated this game. The story which I found to be trulyThe first Assassin's creed game was fun but needed improvement in order to be anything more than just decent. When I heard the how the flaws were fixed in this sequel (mainly that it wasn't as repetitive) I had slightly higher expectations about this one, but still held off on buying it at the full price. All I have to say is I really hated this game. The story which I found to be truly unique and enjoyable about the first one failed to interest me in any way. And I didn't like Ezio anywhere near as much as Altair. The controls are somehow clumsier, less responsive, and more awkward than it's predecessor. The large amount of content it has is sad because I found that the game was either tedious or boring, and dragged on for way to long. Combat still sucks, actually it may be worse. And honestly it's just nowhere near as good as the first game. I may still play the other games in the series just to see of there's any improvement, but honestly even if I do they'll be low on my to play list. I hated the game and wouldn't suggest it to any gamer alive. Pass this one over. Expand
  67. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    I played this game and I'm not impressed. It drew me in at first but then I found myself just slogging through it. The game looks great and plays technically well but it moves very slow and it all gets boring. The missions are just go here, kill this man. Go there, kill that man. And sometime in between, pick up nic nacs scattered about Italy. This game is not as good as it wants to be.
  68. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    A much better story than the first one. However, the combat is not as fluid as AC1 causing me to have to flee a lot more than I would have if I was still Auditore. Still the graphics and artwork is stunning and history is fascinating enough to keep me amazed at the work put into this game. The acting is top notch this time around from the main character. My problem with this game is thatA much better story than the first one. However, the combat is not as fluid as AC1 causing me to have to flee a lot more than I would have if I was still Auditore. Still the graphics and artwork is stunning and history is fascinating enough to keep me amazed at the work put into this game. The acting is top notch this time around from the main character. My problem with this game is that the story drags along at the worst rate, and I hate scavenger hunts (whether they are flags or feathers), but I especially detest them when they are part of the plot line. I admit, I cheated on line to finish that portion of the game. Expand
  69. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    This game was honestly terrible. I played the first one and the 2nd and i honestly DON'T want to play the 3rd. Yes this game was MUCH better than the first. but its boring repetitive and simply too long. In the beginning the first missions took too long and they were very boring. once the game really started and ezio got his suit the game took off and was fun. the story was forgettable andThis game was honestly terrible. I played the first one and the 2nd and i honestly DON'T want to play the 3rd. Yes this game was MUCH better than the first. but its boring repetitive and simply too long. In the beginning the first missions took too long and they were very boring. once the game really started and ezio got his suit the game took off and was fun. the story was forgettable and boring. it felt like i was just doing boring poorly laid out missions for no specific reason and a very loosely connected plot. Sure the fighting is fun but it gets VERY boring VERY quickly. Instead of fighting guards i would run away from them, and the game was too easy, i could just order some guys too do all my work for me. I actually had to FORCE myself to keep playing until the end. the ending felt forced, like it had to end that way to have another game and the whole time i was just bored as hell. The mission near the end when you had to get all of the codex pages was terrible. it resulted in me riding my horse across Italy for 20 minutes BORED OUT OF MY MIND!!!!! i don't even think this game was that long, i believe it was 12-15 hours which isn't long but it felt long, (and i play LoZ games, those are LOOOOOONG) overall this game was during hours 2-5. the rest was crap. Expand
  70. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This Is one of the greatest games I have ever played!
    The campaign is 20 hours long,which is immense compared to other Ac Games.
    The gameplay is fantastic, stabbing people has never been this much fun in any other game.
    The story is also written fantastically, credit to the writers at Ubisoft.
    NOBODY should miss this masterpiece.
  71. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Best of the franchise! AC2 is almost perfect and there is no much boring missions (follow somebody and walk 30 minutes) like in Brotherhood and Revelations. Will not compare to newer AC's because after Revelations and starting with AC3 this game become unplayable and disgrace of the franchise.
  72. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    I'm not trying to be biased towards this game, but it just does so many things wrong. The games graphics and sound are insane, and it's well polished too. But the story is hard to follow, I barely knew how he got back in time and who the characters are. The controls are confusing but it holds your hand all the way through, the mission structure is overall pretty boring, the combat is a bitI'm not trying to be biased towards this game, but it just does so many things wrong. The games graphics and sound are insane, and it's well polished too. But the story is hard to follow, I barely knew how he got back in time and who the characters are. The controls are confusing but it holds your hand all the way through, the mission structure is overall pretty boring, the combat is a bit twitchy in my opinion, and the game is really easy. Expand
  73. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Assassin's Creed II shows how much a game can drastically change in setting and gameplay. Ubisoft has created a world that is bigger they could have ever hoped for and should be lauded for they're accomplishment.

    10 out of 10
  74. GP
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    This is a tricky one for me. It's one of those games where I really enjoy playing for most part yet at the same time i also felt that it was not nearly as good as it should be. Positives: The main focus is the graphical depiction of these beautifully rendered cities and the way the main character seamlessly interacts with them which is also the games main selling point. Then there is This is a tricky one for me. It's one of those games where I really enjoy playing for most part yet at the same time i also felt that it was not nearly as good as it should be. Positives: The main focus is the graphical depiction of these beautifully rendered cities and the way the main character seamlessly interacts with them which is also the games main selling point. Then there is also the amusing story and fab voice acting. Negatives: On the downside there doesn't seem to be much else. The missions are mostly monotonous and kinda silly (and at times plain stupid), the only real difficulty is during the rare dungeon moments and some time-trial tasks which to me ranged from pretty cool to utterly dumb and frustrating for no reason. And that's part of the game's problem: many things seem random and for the most part its like you are constantly stuck in training mode. Another issue i have with the game is its fighting sequences. They feel very amateurish and rushed, especially compared to the excellent fights in Batman Arkham Asylum. One other area which the game needed work is its maps and sense of direction and purpose in general. There are times when you have no real idea as to what it is expected from you. Like when you are told to "tag" a villain (follow him) undetected - at some point the game tells you "checkpoint reached" and there is a cut scene which would make you believe that your tag task is over. Yet sometimes its not and when you go near the enemies it tells you mission failed cause you where detected. As for the map itself, there are times when its difficult to understand if a target is supposed to be on a high level (roof), ground floor or within a building, causing for some frustration. The maps also lack actual direction when it comes to going from one city to another yet this was not a real issue for me once i figured it out...still So as you can see, for me, the negatives are far greater than the positives which is a shame cause this game could have been truly epic. Yet despite its many flaws i still had a lot of fun playing it for most part and the climbing/rendering of the towns and cities is phenomenal. Expand
  75. Brandon
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Just to comment on Mike K, what he said was bad about the game seemed to be pretty biased. The controller is perfectly fine, I can play games for hours and it is nice and comfortable. The textures are perfectly fine, and there is screen tearing in both games. Also, the PS3 version has the upper hand with being able to connect the PSP assassins creed to it to be able to unlock new weapons Just to comment on Mike K, what he said was bad about the game seemed to be pretty biased. The controller is perfectly fine, I can play games for hours and it is nice and comfortable. The textures are perfectly fine, and there is screen tearing in both games. Also, the PS3 version has the upper hand with being able to connect the PSP assassins creed to it to be able to unlock new weapons and added features. I'd say the PS3 version is the one to get. But hey, I'm just being biased. Expand
  76. DanielS
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are nearly equal but it shouldn't matter because it won't ruin the experience for anyone. Final words: play this game! Expand
  77. MacksonG
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I was originally going to give this game a 9.5.This game does not deserve a perfect score - it just wasn't seamless enough, just the small things such that no one aged except Ezio, the way he doesn't properly connect with his family and the graphics could have been better.At least it had more good points, the way subject 16 and the whole conspiracy was implemented was so genius I was originally going to give this game a 9.5.This game does not deserve a perfect score - it just wasn't seamless enough, just the small things such that no one aged except Ezio, the way he doesn't properly connect with his family and the graphics could have been better.At least it had more good points, the way subject 16 and the whole conspiracy was implemented was so genius and original.Can't wait for the third game, it can only get better!It was a brilliant game overall!Definitely a must buy!!! Expand
  78. :):(
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is a must buy, i found that in AC1 there was really no point of Desmond Miles they could have of just left him out and it still would have been a good game. but in AC2 there actually is a point of him being in the game. i found that the story was much better than AC1, the graphics have improved and game play is much, much funner. when the game ends you can actually go back in this game is a must buy, i found that in AC1 there was really no point of Desmond Miles they could have of just left him out and it still would have been a good game. but in AC2 there actually is a point of him being in the game. i found that the story was much better than AC1, the graphics have improved and game play is much, much funner. when the game ends you can actually go back in the animus and play around in the cities and towns. this is a must buy Expand
  79. BobboK
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    This game is very overrated. It get boring fast, the easiest game this century, bad character animations (Uncharted 2, anyone?) etc. etc. Although it still is a pretty good game with decent graphics and good atmosphere.
  80. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, but starts off feeling like it would be a huge disappointment. In other words, the game is a slow starter and has a bit of emptiness in it.
  81. MichaelH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Ubisoft has presented gamers with a mature title, with character development that actually makes us attached to the story, and it pulls us along with such an ease that the gives the impression one is actually alive and well in the rebirth of mankind. The gameplay mechanics are flawless, and the removal of repetitive chores that was present in the first game is a welcome change. I have so Ubisoft has presented gamers with a mature title, with character development that actually makes us attached to the story, and it pulls us along with such an ease that the gives the impression one is actually alive and well in the rebirth of mankind. The gameplay mechanics are flawless, and the removal of repetitive chores that was present in the first game is a welcome change. I have so far completed the first 3 sequences, and am quite confident in giving this game a perfect 10. The Renaiisance is the perfect setting for this game, and the foundation of the first game and it's mix of myth and real events and real people is astounding. Nevertheless, it is the originality of the game and how it stands out against everything else in the video game world right now that makes it extraordinary. Expand
  82. CalvinD
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    Assassins creed two has managed to successfully take a project that didn't work and turn it into the sandbox games people like me have been craving. The perfect blend of excitement renders me with a feeling to dig a little deeper every time I play it. From "The Truth" the collection of glyphs that give you more secrets about the Templars to the Tombs that give you a gaming feel lost Assassins creed two has managed to successfully take a project that didn't work and turn it into the sandbox games people like me have been craving. The perfect blend of excitement renders me with a feeling to dig a little deeper every time I play it. From "The Truth" the collection of glyphs that give you more secrets about the Templars to the Tombs that give you a gaming feel lost since the old Prince Of Persia games. Assassins creed 2 isn't gaming perfection, but it sure comes close Expand
  83. BrianH
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    not only does it fix every complaint i had about the first game, it piles so much more on top. the pacing of the story is some of the best i've seen in a video game. it builds great tension leading up to key parts of the plot. buy it! instantly one of my top 3 fave games of 2009.
  84. StevenA
    Nov 26, 2009
    8
    It's a game that takes getting used to. But there's so much content, so much depth and filled with beautiful-looking cities. I am not used to the combat system, because I play games like God of War, Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry and all those games are fast-paced action games. Assassin's Creed II is rather more strategic and the button settings are kind of awkward to me. I It's a game that takes getting used to. But there's so much content, so much depth and filled with beautiful-looking cities. I am not used to the combat system, because I play games like God of War, Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry and all those games are fast-paced action games. Assassin's Creed II is rather more strategic and the button settings are kind of awkward to me. I heard that the control layout works better on an Xbox 360 controller, but I only have a PS3. Oh well, still a good game. The new mechanics are very interesting, the climbing is challenging and it's fun to get money to buy armor, equipment and weapons. Watching your assassin becoming a master is quite satisfying. I wouldn't say that this game was a contender for Game of the Year, but it comes really close. That's very impressive, on account of the fact that a lot of good games came out in 2009. ESPECIALLY for the PS3. I would want to give this game an 8.5 on 10. But I have to give whole numbers. But I don't feel like it deserves a 9. It's no masterpiece...but it is a HELL LOT BETTER than the first game. For once Ubisoft, I was impressed. Expand
  85. AndrewL
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I only wish there was more warning when the game was going to end so I could have slowed down! The game was truly amazing, the people who hate it clearly dug deep for dirt on the game, which is disappointing. I can't understand there being graphical issues, when from the moment you enter Venice, you're in awe until leaving. While refresh rates are an issue in the country-side I only wish there was more warning when the game was going to end so I could have slowed down! The game was truly amazing, the people who hate it clearly dug deep for dirt on the game, which is disappointing. I can't understand there being graphical issues, when from the moment you enter Venice, you're in awe until leaving. While refresh rates are an issue in the country-side areas, there honestly isn't enough time spent in those areas to even notice or let it bother you. By now gamers should know that when picking up a Ubisoft game, graphics aren't in your best interest, its gameplay you want. Look at Prototype, amazing gameplay, not so great graphics. I loved the game and anyone who picks it up will. There's so much freedom that it feels like a GTA game set in Renaissance times. You get a ridiculous arsenal of assassination, combat and escaping techniques, all of which are as effective as each other and all at your disposal. Replay value for the game isn't an immediate thing, but I can definitely see myself picking it up again fresh in the coming months. Expand
  86. ChrisS
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome, awesome, awesome. If you liked the first one (I know it was repetative) then you will LOVE this one. Everything the first should have been (Read: open world gameplay, money system with shops and stealing from pedestrians, much more variety, you can choose what you do next...) Really makes you feel like you are in Ezio (the protaganist's) shoes. Comparable to Infamous style Awesome, awesome, awesome. If you liked the first one (I know it was repetative) then you will LOVE this one. Everything the first should have been (Read: open world gameplay, money system with shops and stealing from pedestrians, much more variety, you can choose what you do next...) Really makes you feel like you are in Ezio (the protaganist's) shoes. Comparable to Infamous style mission structure. Expand
  87. BD
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I don't know what you have to be smoking to rate this game a 2. This game is not repetitive at all unless you just played the first 2 missions and put it down. The AI has been great so far, and I haven't noticed any graphical glitches. If there are glitches then they are so small that i cant even notice them. Overall I would highly recommend this game unless you like to complain I don't know what you have to be smoking to rate this game a 2. This game is not repetitive at all unless you just played the first 2 missions and put it down. The AI has been great so far, and I haven't noticed any graphical glitches. If there are glitches then they are so small that i cant even notice them. Overall I would highly recommend this game unless you like to complain about things, in which case don't get it so you won't go writing a lame review. Expand
  88. NickG
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Don't read any comments with a rating of less than 8.It would illogical to rate this game less than 8.This game pales in comparison to the first game - in good way.This is a must buy!I enjoyed it a lot, it had a very twisting and captivating plot.The dialogue and scenery were amazing and the storyline topped it all off perfectly.Can't wait for the 3rd game!
  89. JustF
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Delivered with enough variety to make me enjoy it as a sequel to the first one, taking up right where it left you in the 1st game.
  90. BillD
    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    This game is highly over-rated. How can this game get such high marks for graphics? This game doesn't look nearly as good as infamous which is also open world nor Uncharted 2. The sound is pretty weird too, like what is the deal with heavy metal and the renaissance? Not that I have anything against metal. The controls are frustrating to get used to. About the only thing that is good This game is highly over-rated. How can this game get such high marks for graphics? This game doesn't look nearly as good as infamous which is also open world nor Uncharted 2. The sound is pretty weird too, like what is the deal with heavy metal and the renaissance? Not that I have anything against metal. The controls are frustrating to get used to. About the only thing that is good about this game is the concept and story. The game also isn't as repetitive as the first one. If you are at all interested in this game rent it. Expand
  91. RossA
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    This game was near perfect but gets one point deducted for making me nearly throw my controller through the TV when the credits start rolling. Epic cliffhanger but wished they had put a bit of assassins creed 3 on the end to ease the wait.
  92. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    This is the game i wanted to experience with Altiar. They took all the complaints into account and made the experience they promised on their first outing. Simply put this game is amazing. Did i expect more, Maybe. Was i disappointed... not at all.
  93. YanniV
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game (one of the best made yet imo). I'm a huge fan and i love the way they've made the game better.
  94. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    An improvement on the original in every way, and a game which offers exceptional value for money (except if you're Australian - in which case, do what I did and buy it in a pack - games are way overpriced here on consoles). The graphics are amazing, even running at a mere 720p, the animations are superb and the story is engrossing. The gameplay has a few issues - often imprecise and An improvement on the original in every way, and a game which offers exceptional value for money (except if you're Australian - in which case, do what I did and buy it in a pack - games are way overpriced here on consoles). The graphics are amazing, even running at a mere 720p, the animations are superb and the story is engrossing. The gameplay has a few issues - often imprecise and finicky, but they don't detract from the experience, which is superb. A grade title! Cheers Expand
  95. MichaelS.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Assassins Creed is not perfect, there are some graphical issues like tearing sometimes, but overall its a incredible Improvement in Gameplay, Story and Design.
  96. PayderS.
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Great game...fixed everything that was wrong with the first.
  97. MichaelS
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I cant understand Richard N.'s Voting, the first one was repetitice structured, but to say that to the second one is like saying every game on earth is repetitive designed. AC2 manages to surpass the first one in every kind of way, nice graphical effects, sweet voice acting, a good story and lots of humor. I love it.
  98. ShadD
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    The story really makes emotionally involved with the main character, Ezio and by the end you will feel well satisfied. Graphics are not the best I have seen but each city is beautifully detailed a full of action. As for the gameplay, I did find it repetitive. There are so many side missions you can do and alternate ways to complete even the main missions. The combat is really simple at The story really makes emotionally involved with the main character, Ezio and by the end you will feel well satisfied. Graphics are not the best I have seen but each city is beautifully detailed a full of action. As for the gameplay, I did find it repetitive. There are so many side missions you can do and alternate ways to complete even the main missions. The combat is really simple at first but as you progress and your skills grow you will feel like a really badass. The only real negative thing I can say about the game is that some of the puzzles are so vauge you really have no idea what to do but the upside is completing them is not required though it is very rewarding. Expand
  99. NathanC
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    As a fan of Assassin's Creed 1, I can firmly say that Assassin's Creed 2 is going to make fans of the first game very happy. I know I am.
  100. IanR
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Exceeds the first game in almost every facet of its design. The story is more engaging, the mission structure and mission types are more varied, the economy system is a much needed addition, and the parkour is as engaging as ever. The only complaints I have about the game is the AI can sometimes be poor and some graphical issues, but regardless of those issues the Absolutely fantastic. Exceeds the first game in almost every facet of its design. The story is more engaging, the mission structure and mission types are more varied, the economy system is a much needed addition, and the parkour is as engaging as ever. The only complaints I have about the game is the AI can sometimes be poor and some graphical issues, but regardless of those issues the game is absolutely wonderful. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. The sequel has arguably changed for the better in just about every conceivable way...Assassin's Creed II truly offers an experience like no other, one that mixes history and brutality to sheer perfection. And it's absolutely massive. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  2. [Games are] about delivering a world that you want to invest your time in, full of characters you can have an emotional connection with, and Assassin's Creed II does that almost perfectly. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  3. Assassin's Creed II is such an improvement compared to its predecessor that it feels like a completely new game, rather than just a sequel. The varied missions really shine and the narrative is very effective, in all it's Forrest Gump-esque glory. Despite the quite slow start, Ezios adventures in beautiful Florence and Venice both look and feel amazing, and are well worth experiencing to the very end.