Assassin's Creed II PlayStation 3

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1238 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mjr.B.
    Nov 19, 2009
    2
    God gfx and animations, but extremely poor gameplay. The Ai is basically non existent, the city feels like its full of mindless drones that dont care if a guy falls straight in the middle of the plaza. The crow blending mechanic is both unrealistic and lame. The whole future thing and animus contribute with absolutely nothing to the game experience, they bring the game no value. The story God gfx and animations, but extremely poor gameplay. The Ai is basically non existent, the city feels like its full of mindless drones that dont care if a guy falls straight in the middle of the plaza. The crow blending mechanic is both unrealistic and lame. The whole future thing and animus contribute with absolutely nothing to the game experience, they bring the game no value. The story is completely childish and cheesy. The combat suggests that our hero is from sparta, and not an assassin, relying on stealth. You can easily take out more heavily armed guards in face to face combat, clearly not an assassin way. In conclusion: nothing new, no assassin feeling, dull world, same problems, boring. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    Nothing new to deliver.
    They just fixed some glitches, the combat system still makes wanna through the controller.
    Overall, Same all same as AC1. Boring.
  3. GavinE
    Nov 20, 2009
    3
    The graphics in the cutscenese are terrible, you think it wouldnt be the case. but it is. The mini map is too small to see wtf is going on. the repetitive nature is more boring that AC1. In fact AC1 was better than this. I stopped playing after a couple of hours, i couldnt take anymore. THIS GAME IS VERY OVERATED.
  4. OmarHamed
    Dec 19, 2009
    2
    I absolutely loved the gameplay (despite it being a bit clunky) I thought the characters were alright, but the missions still didn't really break from that repetition and some things just didn't make sense. I really liked the game economy and all the different things you can do. I loved the fact that I can drag a guy off a ledge and then jump onto his buddies with my knives in I absolutely loved the gameplay (despite it being a bit clunky) I thought the characters were alright, but the missions still didn't really break from that repetition and some things just didn't make sense. I really liked the game economy and all the different things you can do. I loved the fact that I can drag a guy off a ledge and then jump onto his buddies with my knives in their faces. The already ridiculous story however became so convoluted and just so sickeningly weird. I was really liking the game by about the middle. Near the end it was getting weird, but still pretty good. The ending (which I won't spoil) Was just so terribly ridiculous that I got a headache. This game's terrible plot makes all the joy that came from stabbing your way through mobs of guards and corrupt officials turn sour. I wish that I had not wasted my time. Expand
  5. RichardN.
    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    This game has pretty good graphics and acrobatic for sure... but the same boring repetitive gameplay, horrible AI and standard storyline and poor missions remains. I can't believe this game is rated 91, rent this game, this was the last time I play any Ubisoft's game.
  6. LeeL
    Nov 22, 2009
    4
    Average at best, only a slight improvement over the first. Having BATMAN and UNCHARTED 2 to contend with AC2 failed to deliver on the combat and adventure provided by its competition. Sloppy voice work and a complete lack of ambience made the city feel as sterile as the first.
  7. mikeh
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    I love this game, as much as i love my neighbours wifes in the hottub. Chocolate, covered in hot chocolate. So the game is awesome, i can't wait to play her hmm IT*. i'm not doing this just to degrade the user overall score. seriously.
  8. DajaJ
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    The game is the same as AC the graphics are bad and the story is just stupid and the ending is really bad enough said do not buy this game.
  9. ChrisW
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    My score is not a reflection of the game - I think Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the best open world games out there and very much the game the first one should have been! Good mission variety, awesome city design, heaps of collectibles, and a great story to boot. HOWEVER - the PlayStation 3 version is a disgrace! There is so much screen tearing, I found it unplayable - it literally My score is not a reflection of the game - I think Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the best open world games out there and very much the game the first one should have been! Good mission variety, awesome city design, heaps of collectibles, and a great story to boot. HOWEVER - the PlayStation 3 version is a disgrace! There is so much screen tearing, I found it unplayable - it literally gave me a headache. So I took it back to and swaped it for the XBOX 360 version. Not only does the 360 version feature far less screen tearing, but also has a more consistent frame rate. Honestly, I prefer buying and playing games on my PS3, and am extremely dissapointed with the job Ubisoft has done with the PS3 version. Even more dissapointing is the fact is that not one of the professional reviews I've read reflect the PS3's screen tearing problem. If you have both consoles buy it for 360!!!! Expand
  10. JedD
    Dec 26, 2009
    3
    The voice acting sucks. There is no emotion. I tried the first mission where you race your brother about 20 or 30 times still cant beat it. Im taking the game back. It is very linear, and if you cant beat 1 part, then u cant do anything else untill you beat it. The camera angle sucks, and when i run into people i fall down. WTF? This game is terrible, it looks like a ps2 game. Im back to The voice acting sucks. There is no emotion. I tried the first mission where you race your brother about 20 or 30 times still cant beat it. Im taking the game back. It is very linear, and if you cant beat 1 part, then u cant do anything else untill you beat it. The camera angle sucks, and when i run into people i fall down. WTF? This game is terrible, it looks like a ps2 game. Im back to COD MW2 within 2 hours of playing assassins creed. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2012
    3
    The first Assassin's creed game was fun but needed improvement in order to be anything more than just decent. When I heard the how the flaws were fixed in this sequel (mainly that it wasn't as repetitive) I had slightly higher expectations about this one, but still held off on buying it at the full price. All I have to say is I really hated this game. The story which I found to be trulyThe first Assassin's creed game was fun but needed improvement in order to be anything more than just decent. When I heard the how the flaws were fixed in this sequel (mainly that it wasn't as repetitive) I had slightly higher expectations about this one, but still held off on buying it at the full price. All I have to say is I really hated this game. The story which I found to be truly unique and enjoyable about the first one failed to interest me in any way. And I didn't like Ezio anywhere near as much as Altair. The controls are somehow clumsier, less responsive, and more awkward than it's predecessor. The large amount of content it has is sad because I found that the game was either tedious or boring, and dragged on for way to long. Combat still sucks, actually it may be worse. And honestly it's just nowhere near as good as the first game. I may still play the other games in the series just to see of there's any improvement, but honestly even if I do they'll be low on my to play list. I hated the game and wouldn't suggest it to any gamer alive. Pass this one over. Expand
  12. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    This game was honestly terrible. I played the first one and the 2nd and i honestly DON'T want to play the 3rd. Yes this game was MUCH better than the first. but its boring repetitive and simply too long. In the beginning the first missions took too long and they were very boring. once the game really started and ezio got his suit the game took off and was fun. the story was forgettable andThis game was honestly terrible. I played the first one and the 2nd and i honestly DON'T want to play the 3rd. Yes this game was MUCH better than the first. but its boring repetitive and simply too long. In the beginning the first missions took too long and they were very boring. once the game really started and ezio got his suit the game took off and was fun. the story was forgettable and boring. it felt like i was just doing boring poorly laid out missions for no specific reason and a very loosely connected plot. Sure the fighting is fun but it gets VERY boring VERY quickly. Instead of fighting guards i would run away from them, and the game was too easy, i could just order some guys too do all my work for me. I actually had to FORCE myself to keep playing until the end. the ending felt forced, like it had to end that way to have another game and the whole time i was just bored as hell. The mission near the end when you had to get all of the codex pages was terrible. it resulted in me riding my horse across Italy for 20 minutes BORED OUT OF MY MIND!!!!! i don't even think this game was that long, i believe it was 12-15 hours which isn't long but it felt long, (and i play LoZ games, those are LOOOOOONG) overall this game was during hours 2-5. the rest was crap. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    I'm not trying to be biased towards this game, but it just does so many things wrong. The games graphics and sound are insane, and it's well polished too. But the story is hard to follow, I barely knew how he got back in time and who the characters are. The controls are confusing but it holds your hand all the way through, the mission structure is overall pretty boring, the combat is a bitI'm not trying to be biased towards this game, but it just does so many things wrong. The games graphics and sound are insane, and it's well polished too. But the story is hard to follow, I barely knew how he got back in time and who the characters are. The controls are confusing but it holds your hand all the way through, the mission structure is overall pretty boring, the combat is a bit twitchy in my opinion, and the game is really easy. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    The sequel has arguably changed for the better in just about every conceivable way...Assassin's Creed II truly offers an experience like no other, one that mixes history and brutality to sheer perfection. And it's absolutely massive. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    [Games are] about delivering a world that you want to invest your time in, full of characters you can have an emotional connection with, and Assassin's Creed II does that almost perfectly. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  3. Assassin's Creed II is such an improvement compared to its predecessor that it feels like a completely new game, rather than just a sequel. The varied missions really shine and the narrative is very effective, in all it's Forrest Gump-esque glory. Despite the quite slow start, Ezios adventures in beautiful Florence and Venice both look and feel amazing, and are well worth experiencing to the very end.