User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1304 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GP
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    This is a tricky one for me. It's one of those games where I really enjoy playing for most part yet at the same time i also felt that it was not nearly as good as it should be. Positives: The main focus is the graphical depiction of these beautifully rendered cities and the way the main character seamlessly interacts with them which is also the games main selling point. Then there is This is a tricky one for me. It's one of those games where I really enjoy playing for most part yet at the same time i also felt that it was not nearly as good as it should be. Positives: The main focus is the graphical depiction of these beautifully rendered cities and the way the main character seamlessly interacts with them which is also the games main selling point. Then there is also the amusing story and fab voice acting. Negatives: On the downside there doesn't seem to be much else. The missions are mostly monotonous and kinda silly (and at times plain stupid), the only real difficulty is during the rare dungeon moments and some time-trial tasks which to me ranged from pretty cool to utterly dumb and frustrating for no reason. And that's part of the game's problem: many things seem random and for the most part its like you are constantly stuck in training mode. Another issue i have with the game is its fighting sequences. They feel very amateurish and rushed, especially compared to the excellent fights in Batman Arkham Asylum. One other area which the game needed work is its maps and sense of direction and purpose in general. There are times when you have no real idea as to what it is expected from you. Like when you are told to "tag" a villain (follow him) undetected - at some point the game tells you "checkpoint reached" and there is a cut scene which would make you believe that your tag task is over. Yet sometimes its not and when you go near the enemies it tells you mission failed cause you where detected. As for the map itself, there are times when its difficult to understand if a target is supposed to be on a high level (roof), ground floor or within a building, causing for some frustration. The maps also lack actual direction when it comes to going from one city to another yet this was not a real issue for me once i figured it out...still So as you can see, for me, the negatives are far greater than the positives which is a shame cause this game could have been truly epic. Yet despite its many flaws i still had a lot of fun playing it for most part and the climbing/rendering of the towns and cities is phenomenal. Expand
  2. BobboK
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    This game is very overrated. It get boring fast, the easiest game this century, bad character animations (Uncharted 2, anyone?) etc. etc. Although it still is a pretty good game with decent graphics and good atmosphere.
  3. FrankT
    Nov 21, 2009
    5
    Sadly, ACII doesn't keep it's promises. It's a nice game but far behind what I expected (especially with ratings > 90%). E.g. I really hoped to have more interaction with the KI and more diversion of the tasks. Nevertheless, it's better than AC1 and it shows that Ubisoft is on a good way. @mc: Guys, I know it's not easy to keep the PR guys out of this voting, but Sadly, ACII doesn't keep it's promises. It's a nice game but far behind what I expected (especially with ratings > 90%). E.g. I really hoped to have more interaction with the KI and more diversion of the tasks. Nevertheless, it's better than AC1 and it shows that Ubisoft is on a good way. @mc: Guys, I know it's not easy to keep the PR guys out of this voting, but a sentence like "Nevertheless, it is the originality of the game and how it stands out against everything else in the video game world right now that makes it extraordinary." from Michael H is really screaming! Expand
  4. BillD
    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    This game is highly over-rated. How can this game get such high marks for graphics? This game doesn't look nearly as good as infamous which is also open world nor Uncharted 2. The sound is pretty weird too, like what is the deal with heavy metal and the renaissance? Not that I have anything against metal. The controls are frustrating to get used to. About the only thing that is good This game is highly over-rated. How can this game get such high marks for graphics? This game doesn't look nearly as good as infamous which is also open world nor Uncharted 2. The sound is pretty weird too, like what is the deal with heavy metal and the renaissance? Not that I have anything against metal. The controls are frustrating to get used to. About the only thing that is good about this game is the concept and story. The game also isn't as repetitive as the first one. If you are at all interested in this game rent it. Expand
  5. ThomasA.
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Having enjoyed large parts of the first AC I thought I'd give this a shot as well, but sadly the revisit wasn't really as enjoyable. Controls are as bad (unprecise) as they were in the first game, and likewise the camera which sometimes "hints" at where you need to go, but does a poor job because it simultaneously forces a specific angle. These two annoyances are compounded by Having enjoyed large parts of the first AC I thought I'd give this a shot as well, but sadly the revisit wasn't really as enjoyable. Controls are as bad (unprecise) as they were in the first game, and likewise the camera which sometimes "hints" at where you need to go, but does a poor job because it simultaneously forces a specific angle. These two annoyances are compounded by the fact that Assassin's Tombs scattered throughout the land are timed platforming. My controller almost went out the window a couple of times. Other minor things detracted from the enjoyment: Weird "design choice" - The possibility to decline quests in the main quest line which are crucial for progression. Poor quest tracking - Being asked to do things you have already done, like climbing a specific tower after you have already done so or hearing the exact same plea for help again because you declined the first time around. I found some of the timed events impossible to reset (I might be wrong) Making mistakes in the beginning of an event forced me to wait till it timed out to have another go. The Bards - What was the purpose of those? Let's just say I did end up beating them up a couple of times after they got in the way too many times. Having to push start twice in the beginning of the game seems to serve no purpose other than to make you actually watch the progress bars. I noticed quite a few other minor things but the examples above represent the types of things pretty well. The story dragged on and with the exception of a few parts I never really felt engaged. Ezio seemed like a pawn and was way too eager to help people he had just met even though tasks only seemed to loosely tie into the revenge the Ezio seeks. Voice acting is for the most part excellent and a few characters throughout are really well thought out and the brutal politics are well portrayed and the back story of the different political players might have been enjoyable to explore a bit more. You could read up a bit in the different bios but to me that kills pacing. Some of the buildings were really well done and if you take some time to look at them you will notice some really rich detail. All in all it's an OK game, but I wouldn't know who to recommend it to. The above is opinion so feel free to disagree, but I actually had to force myself to finish the main quest line just to make sure I got a decently complete picture before reviewing. Expand
  6. MikeH
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    While Assassin's Creed 2 does make some improvements to the problems of the first game, it is far from being problem free. First of all, this is not what I would call an "open world" game. If you play the game straight through, it might take you 8-10 hours. There is no replay value to this game at all unless you enjoy collecting useless items. You could spend a weekend collecting While Assassin's Creed 2 does make some improvements to the problems of the first game, it is far from being problem free. First of all, this is not what I would call an "open world" game. If you play the game straight through, it might take you 8-10 hours. There is no replay value to this game at all unless you enjoy collecting useless items. You could spend a weekend collecting feathers, but why?!?! The story is extremely linear, and there are no "choice" moments in the game that give you the feeling that you are having an impact on your surroundings (adding to the whole no replay value factor). Sadly, this leaves the whole game feeling morally disconnected. Even GTA4 gives you the choice to not kill a guy every once in a while. Finally, the combat is way too easy! You will find yourself dying far more often from unintentionally (and frequently) jumping off of a rooftop mid-quest than from getting killed by an enemy. Honestly, get Uncharted 2 or Arkham Asylum if you like scaling walls, stealthy kills, and good story-lines. But if you must get this game, at least the guards in AC2 don't attack you for running anymore... Expand
  7. RossD
    Dec 28, 2009
    6
    Assassins creed 2 was a masterpiece and genuinely good fun to play. It sorted out all the problems of the first game and the story was engaging, but the flaw in this is that this is the game that should have been released first. If Ubisoft hadnt made all the mistakes with the first game, then this could have been a whole lot better. that's my opinion anyway.
  8. codenamezero
    Dec 31, 2009
    6
    Gave this a 6, because the game play is too repetitive, boring, and too easy... The movement and gameplay concept were fairly good. The character graphic was OK, looks like Half-Life 2 quality with crap loads of anti-aliasing... only eye candy was the in-game city structure/design... they were stunning, but that's about it... The missions were so boring, is the same shit everytime, Gave this a 6, because the game play is too repetitive, boring, and too easy... The movement and gameplay concept were fairly good. The character graphic was OK, looks like Half-Life 2 quality with crap loads of anti-aliasing... only eye candy was the in-game city structure/design... they were stunning, but that's about it... The missions were so boring, is the same shit everytime, You just keep on killing people, and is not even hard... even if you aggro loads of guards, you can easily escape or kill them all... The bosses are insanely easy to kill too. I am fairly disappointed with this game. Definitely not worth paying 69.99$, good thing i got it used. Expand
  9. anonymous
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    Personally, I hated the game. The controls are horrible. Ezio is the only one that looks good. ALL of the characters are annoying. The ending is comically bad for a game that seemingly takes itself far too seriously. There is challenge anywhere aside from forcing yourself to have to go from blip to blip. The "economy" system is stupid. Medicine and hirelings are waaaay to cheap for being Personally, I hated the game. The controls are horrible. Ezio is the only one that looks good. ALL of the characters are annoying. The ending is comically bad for a game that seemingly takes itself far too seriously. There is challenge anywhere aside from forcing yourself to have to go from blip to blip. The "economy" system is stupid. Medicine and hirelings are waaaay to cheap for being as strong as they are. I never had to buy any ammo or armor. The assassin's tombs were the best parts, but even those were marred by the controls. I will say, if you *like* the contextual controls, then I'd give it a 9, as the game design is very solid. But to me, it's like playing with as a retarded Co-op AI bot. Expand
  10. RowanR
    Nov 23, 2009
    5
    The latest installment of Tomb Raider, I mean AC2 is both great and terrible. Why do you insist on making so much of the game play in pitch black with no way to light the area? There are soooo many bugs! Was almost to the end of the Auditore chamber when I landed in a spot that saw Ezio hop up and down on the spot. I had to abort the memory. To be honest, I enjoyed AC1 a lot more. THis The latest installment of Tomb Raider, I mean AC2 is both great and terrible. Why do you insist on making so much of the game play in pitch black with no way to light the area? There are soooo many bugs! Was almost to the end of the Auditore chamber when I landed in a spot that saw Ezio hop up and down on the spot. I had to abort the memory. To be honest, I enjoyed AC1 a lot more. THis game has sent me into fits of rage! Also, you have included Leonardo in the game and yet given him the same lines to repeat ad nauseum. At the end end of the game he appears in Ezio's villa and then asks Ezio the same question. In all, I loved 80% of the game and found the other 20% infuriating. Bad vibes out rate good ones, thus the 5/10. I hope AC3 is better. Expand
  11. MarkP
    Dec 15, 2009
    6
    Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with regards to the character movement. Those games make everything flow beautifully and you rarely feel stuck or a lack of control, unlike in AC2. Other things I found annoying were the mini-map, which rotated both the map itself and the characters icon, ultimately becoming disorientating. The game again feels repetitive in a similar way to the first with a handful of features and at times it's unclear as to why you're doing things as you have little or no feedback from the game. If you enjoyed the first game immensely, then this is probably the game for you. If however you're undecided, I'd either rent it first, or invest your money in another game such as the ones I've mentioned above. Expand
  12. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Great game. I love the open world and the control feels great. Climbing and jumping on rooftops is a blast. The missions are pretty interesting, but many are a bit too easy due to the dumbed down A.I. enemies. I wish they made the enemies more aware and "smarter". Sometimes it's a bit too easy to sneak up on guys without them seeing your or hearing you - when it comes to stealth games, IGreat game. I love the open world and the control feels great. Climbing and jumping on rooftops is a blast. The missions are pretty interesting, but many are a bit too easy due to the dumbed down A.I. enemies. I wish they made the enemies more aware and "smarter". Sometimes it's a bit too easy to sneak up on guys without them seeing your or hearing you - when it comes to stealth games, I want complete realism, like in the Hitman games. I want relentless, unforgiving A.I. enemies that force me to really think and strategize my attack. Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2010
    6
    Better than the original. Which is like saying chicken pox is better than measles, it's just too easy due to more casual market Ubisoft have aimed for. A game that has a ridiculous story and poor presentation is nothing new but Assassin's creed takes it to a whole new level seemingly on purpose to fit the stereotype. The plus point only really come from the graphics and you can mute theBetter than the original. Which is like saying chicken pox is better than measles, it's just too easy due to more casual market Ubisoft have aimed for. A game that has a ridiculous story and poor presentation is nothing new but Assassin's creed takes it to a whole new level seemingly on purpose to fit the stereotype. The plus point only really come from the graphics and you can mute the terrible voice acting and turn on subtitles. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2010
    6
    Honestly? It's plain boring. The gameplay is nice, but the exposition pieces drag for too long. Instead of complementing the gameplay with some background and motivation, you sometimes feel that the story is being shoved down your throat.
  15. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed II builds on the foundations of it's predecessor well. The graphics are beautiful and the scenic Italian locales combine for eye-popping vistas. The new climbing-puzzle 'dungeons' are a great addition, as are the more involved story-lines and ability to swim (or use a gondola). Where the game fails to stand up to the original title is in the assassinations themselves. TheAssassin's Creed II builds on the foundations of it's predecessor well. The graphics are beautiful and the scenic Italian locales combine for eye-popping vistas. The new climbing-puzzle 'dungeons' are a great addition, as are the more involved story-lines and ability to swim (or use a gondola). Where the game fails to stand up to the original title is in the assassinations themselves. The first game gave you the freedom to do whatever you wanted. It simply gave you the target and the tools to get the job done. This game insists on pushing you down a more linear, scripted path. You HAVE to climb this part of the wall. You HAVE to remain undetected. You HAVE to use a specific weapon... I really don't appreciate that change and it limited the impact of the game. That failing aside, Assassin's Creed is a descent sequel and a good template for subsequent games to improve upon. Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    I played this game and I'm not impressed. It drew me in at first but then I found myself just slogging through it. The game looks great and plays technically well but it moves very slow and it all gets boring. The missions are just go here, kill this man. Go there, kill that man. And sometime in between, pick up nic nacs scattered about Italy. This game is not as good as it wants to be.
  17. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That being said, walking, running, climbing in this game is amazing, the game looks great and there is appeal. It's just the gameplay that's lacking.
    Improved over the first? yes, the first AC was to much off the same, this one adds much needed variety. But because there's not much change, I've had more fun with the first.
    Expand
  18. Jul 1, 2016
    7
    The historical Italian settings deserved a more fun, more polished core game. This is one of the few games where I've sighed because of imprecise controls. I can't praise anything about the game's combat, since it forced me to mash a button or else run through the map with imprecise controls.

    Positive surprises: Puzzles. Historical buildings (virtual sightseeing!). Good choices in how
    The historical Italian settings deserved a more fun, more polished core game. This is one of the few games where I've sighed because of imprecise controls. I can't praise anything about the game's combat, since it forced me to mash a button or else run through the map with imprecise controls.

    Positive surprises: Puzzles. Historical buildings (virtual sightseeing!). Good choices in how to present the setting through various items and game aspects.

    'Black Flag' improved on the core mechanics a lot, and presented a more appealing setting, that made me feel like I was on a vacation. The virtual version of Italy in this title can only compete because it was an interesting and culturally very significant setting, but be aware that the core gameplay isn't a convincing reason to recommend this particular game.
    Expand
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Better than AC 1 but still not that much fun to play. Gameplay is just too boring and repetitive.
  20. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    I love the platforming, open world, graphics, characters, customization. So why give this a 6? Well one of the key things that this game relies on is combat. And the combat is so poor compared to other games that it can drag the whole experience down. It could as well be a turn taking combat system.
  21. May 29, 2013
    6
    This technically impressive and beautifully realized world is ultimately bogged down by mediocre implementation and design of actual gameplay features. The combat system is fundamentally broken in the player's favor (press button to win), the free-running is serviceable but requires little player input (hold buttons to win), main missions are repetitive and uninventive (kill that guy,This technically impressive and beautifully realized world is ultimately bogged down by mediocre implementation and design of actual gameplay features. The combat system is fundamentally broken in the player's favor (press button to win), the free-running is serviceable but requires little player input (hold buttons to win), main missions are repetitive and uninventive (kill that guy, follow this guy, chase this guy, find x10 of this item), most side missions are reskinned versions of story missions.

    Voice acting is decent and the main character has some depth. That said, the game throws a lot of side characters into the mix, and they never really get fleshed out. Over all, I found the story to be a load of disconnected New Age mumbo-jumbo nonsense which is a shame considering the potential of a setting as rich and beautiful as Renaissance Italy.

    Now let's get to some positives; like I said, the game's world is absolutely beautiful and it's hard to not get immersed in it with all the somewhat "historically accurate" information the game offers. It also runs at a fairly stable framerate throughout, screen tearing is not too bad and the draw distance is very impressive. Bottom line: If you're into video games that actually require skill and timing and despise the influence Hollywood has over AAA-titles, then this game is probably not for you. "Counter kill" ad nauseum.
    Expand
  22. Jan 28, 2015
    5
    Man i do not get the hype on these types of games. This what people want nowadays? It just seems like a mindless chore to me.It presents no challenge whatsoever. If i wanted to collect stuff all day. Id leave the house and go collect peoples money.Make something that has challenge or skill involved, or Atleast good mechanics. Well if your lackluster at gaming this might be for you.
  23. Aug 9, 2017
    7
    Personally I enjoyed more the first Assassin's Creed and the Brotherhood. Of course in this game you can do more things than in the first one, and you have lots of weapons to use. The itialian cities are awesome. Cinematic is ok because I think they did to much close ups to the characters. In the Brotherhood was better made in my opinion. It took me 18 hours (counting some extra game butPersonally I enjoyed more the first Assassin's Creed and the Brotherhood. Of course in this game you can do more things than in the first one, and you have lots of weapons to use. The itialian cities are awesome. Cinematic is ok because I think they did to much close ups to the characters. In the Brotherhood was better made in my opinion. It took me 18 hours (counting some extra game but not all). Some of the missions were unecessary too long because it was more of the same thing. To sum up, I expected more but if you like the serie you must play it. Expand
  24. Nov 25, 2017
    7
    2009's Assassin's Creed 2 at the time was ground-breaking for the franchise; a major upgrade from the original game in terms of story, characters, visuals and gameplay, and added in a lot to the table the later Assassin's Creed games would end up using. 8 years later however, and the shine that the game once had has slowly been fading away.

    One of the reasons why the game was praised so
    2009's Assassin's Creed 2 at the time was ground-breaking for the franchise; a major upgrade from the original game in terms of story, characters, visuals and gameplay, and added in a lot to the table the later Assassin's Creed games would end up using. 8 years later however, and the shine that the game once had has slowly been fading away.

    One of the reasons why the game was praised so highly was because it's style of gameplay was still repetitively new to the major gaming audience at the time, and this game was one of the best we had. Unfortunately with more and more games adhering to this style in recent years (Horizon Zero Dawn, Mirrors Edge, Dying Light among others spring to mind). The technical issues with the game have begun to stand out more. Don't get me wrong, the game is still a ton of fun to play, and the controls are responsive enough, it's just that the gameplay at times can be stiff, clunky, and buggy. Examples include randomly jumping off of or completely missing a building for no reason, accidentally assassinating a group of civilians when you were specifically targeting guards (something they don't end up fixing until Assassin's Creed 3 in 2012, 3 years and 3 games after 2), guards taking a lifetime to attack, not countering an attack despite the fact that you pressed the right button combination perfectly, getting detected for no reason, I could go on and on, but that would be doing the game too much of a disservice, it still works fine, with a large list of ways to traverse the environments, kill guards and attempt missions with all of them (most of the time) being very gratifying.

    The story for the game is something that I don't get the appeal for. The first hour of the story is great, with Ezio Auditore's family (who are Assassins, not known to a young Ezio at the time) being framed and hung by traitors (Who are Templars), being told really well, and the development between the characters leading up to the event I thought was really well done. However, once you kill the guy who killed your family (which happens far too early in the game), escape into the countryside and become an Assassin, the story begins to get slightly stale and very drawn out, becoming repetitive in the process. The only thing that saves it is the characters themselves. People like Leonardo Da Vinci, the thieves in the latter part of the game, and the Auditore family I thought to be amazing characters, with Ezio himself being one of the much more likeable characters in the Assassin's Creed franchise. However the extra side missions can be quite entertaining, from beating up cheating husbands, to executing assassination contracts (a bit too many of these but they mostly weren't a problem), to some pretty fun races, to going around and collecting the games' many collectables.

    The visuals for 2009 standards are beautiful and really bring the world of Renaissance Italy to life and still hold up quite well 8 years later. Each city is distinct in look and feel, through it's architecture and inhabitants. from the bustling streets of Florence, to the murky marshlands of Romagna, to the canal-filled routes of Venice, they're all truly wonderful environments to explore.

    All in all, whilst this game is still a great addition to the franchise, I personally don't think it holds the title of 'Best Assassin's Creed Game' anymore. And honestly, I don't think it ever did. I personally believe the other two games in the Ezio trilogy (Brotherhood and Revelations) are better than 2. However, that's not to take away from what the game did manage to achieve back then. It's still great, just not as good as people say it is anymore.

    - Gameplay: 6/10
    - Story: 6/10
    - Main/Side Missions: 7/10
    - Characters: 8/10
    - Visuals: 8/10

    - Combined Score (Out of 50): 35/50
    - Final Score (Out of 10): 7/10
    - Grade: B-
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    The sequel has arguably changed for the better in just about every conceivable way...Assassin's Creed II truly offers an experience like no other, one that mixes history and brutality to sheer perfection. And it's absolutely massive. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    [Games are] about delivering a world that you want to invest your time in, full of characters you can have an emotional connection with, and Assassin's Creed II does that almost perfectly. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  3. Assassin's Creed II is such an improvement compared to its predecessor that it feels like a completely new game, rather than just a sequel. The varied missions really shine and the narrative is very effective, in all it's Forrest Gump-esque glory. Despite the quite slow start, Ezios adventures in beautiful Florence and Venice both look and feel amazing, and are well worth experiencing to the very end.