Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tyranny of King Washington is a DLC for Assassin's Creed III in which you explore an alternate reality where George Washington has become a dictator that you must overthrow.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 30, 2013
    83
    The ride is enough of a crazy Creed to be a surprising success. [July 2013, p.77]
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    82
    The Tyranny of King Washington ends with an episode that includes all the characteristics included in the previous chapters. 'The Bear Power' is featured as the last mystical ability of the Ratonhnhaké:ton, dramatically changing the play style we could see in previous Assassin's Creed games.
  3. This three hour long conclusion to the King Washington-DLC does not manage to enthrall us as we would like it to do. But we do have to admit we had a great time transforming into a mighty bear, destroying all who were foolish enough to stand in our way. [June 2013, p.91]
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    68
    It would be a much easier recommendation at half the price.
  5. May 14, 2013
    60
    The two-three hours spent with this third and closing episode in the mini-series offshoot from the third game proper, and the similar amount of time spent playing the first and second episodes, has been well spent when in the moment. That is it’s been intriguing and different enough to warrant playing and if you chose to do so you’d find yourself moving onwards pretty quickly to get to the next bit.
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    50
    If you have played the first two episodes of this DLC and want to know how the story ends, this is not a total waste. Get it over with 'Tyranny', remember for its nice core idea and its two actually quite good first episodes and not for the weak ending 'The Redemption' so listlessly provides.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    The other DLCs may not have been well liked, but this one is the best one in the trilogy. It opens with a great navel battle, and moves gently to the final confrontation. along the way you get a super smash power that kicks ass, but you also see how corrupted Washington has become which is both horrifying and memorable. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    I bought all episodes because I want to finish up Connor's story and I know I will miss him in AC IV. Overall episodes showed an excellent work in Connor's new powers every episode and animal spirits' cut scenes. Gameplay was fun with new powers and enemies. However, there are a things that I am not happy with. Story goes in a fast pace but still really interesting, there WERE some unnecessary deaths for a few characters, but I think this is one way for Ubisoft to bold how evil Washington was. One important thing is that I think Ubisoft is starting to lose the point of "Assassin's Creed". AC III is already losing the feel, Tyranny of King Washington totally lost it. I felt like Connor is no longer an assasin anymore. His style changed, the way he strikes changed. All three episodes turned out to be some sort of...supernatural history thing...I mean..it's still fun, but then this game shouldn't be call "Assassin's Creed.". The cost of all three episodes are a little expensive. Each episode took me around 2 hours to finish, all together will be 6 hours. Each episode have nothing too specific worth 10 bucks each. The boss fight could be longer but surprisingly epic. The ending I guess it's okay...but it just somehow doesn't add up. I will just have to wait and see what happen in AC IV... Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    Of the worst parts that I've played in my life
    There are no new playing style
    Missed and mistakes too many within the game
    Many updates
    makes the game close to failure!
    The first part was very excellent
    The second part was the most excellent
    The Brotherhood was a monument to money customers
    And part of the revolution was any talk does not affect anything
    And Part III never comment because the game is not as it was in the past
    Collapse
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    An absolute disgrace and monstrosity, each DLC was short, with bloated side quest's of acquiring useless treasure boxes, to fill the game making you think it was worth the expense, mixed with a liner story for AC standard's! Ubisoft you should be ashamed of yourself's! Expand