User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1132 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2014
    3
    This is the first Assassin's Creed game I've bought, and it probably will be the last. While I liked the time period and the concept of the Assassins, I spent most of my time running the wrong tree to progress the game, waiting for other sections of the free roam map to load, and trying to understand cutscenes that don't make much sense. I really don't think it lived up to the trailer. Otherwise the graphics were beautiful and I liked the concept of assassinating targets, but I really don't think it's worth it. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2014
    2
    WTF is this game about ? I was running in forest and hunting some animals, then some city, the game has no charizma and is very very boring, i dont understand the guys who play this game. ubisoft I dont like U.
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    If you played the first assassins creed games do not expect this one to come anywhere close to living up to them. Nothing about this game can be said to live up to the previous games except maybe the graphics. The free-running is bad, they've definitely gone backwards there (riding a horse is even worse, to the point that it's better just to run most of the time even though it takes longer), fighting is boring and never ending if you ever end up fighting guards near areas they're walking (new ones keep showing up, I had the ground in a large circle around me completely covered in guard corpses before I finally just ran away), the characters kind of suck and it feels like the game is more than half cinematics. The only thing they added that was at all positive is the ability to pet random animals which is entertaining for a few seconds at least. In short the game is aggravating and just plain bad but in respect to its predecessors I can't convince myself to stop playing in the hopes that eventually it will get something right. Expand
  4. May 19, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. sure its a big game sure its a nice looking game but does that make it a good game hell no to me this almost made this not want to touch black flag with a ten foot pole thankfully i did and it restored my faith in this much beloved series but this pile of crap is short the city's look bland and conner might just be the worst character ever at the start i hated the Templars for burning down his village and all but by the end of the campaign i felt sorry for them it seemed like they were trying to make the world a better place for once in the end waste of time and money Expand
  5. May 8, 2014
    3
    A black mark on a wonderful franchise. I finished the 4 previous titles. AC2 was easily the best, but this game is a huge step back in every regard: very imprecise controls, frustratingly vague mission objectives, the worst combat system of the series, very unintuitive menus, bland main character, and broken stealth. How is it that a game about assassins has broken stealth? The story is good, so are the graphics, animations and all the little details that they put in this world. But ultimately, this game is not fun. It was a chore to play which I gave up on about 75% of the way through. AC4 gains some ground over this mess but it too does not reach the heights of AC2. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The Assassin's Creed Franchise has never been one that I've been interested in, mainly because I'm not one for stealth games and prefer some more direct, straightforward combat. Some of that may be the reason why it was such a pain in the ass to enjoy this game, but it's not like that I know nothing of the basic fundamentals of sneak. See, the real issue here with "ASS GREED FREE" (as I like to call it sometimes) is that the main player character, throughout most of the AC franchise has never had the ability to crouch while sneaking, often being quite out in the open when he's not. I know that may not seem conspicuous when in towns, but when you involve yourself in the NorthEast Americas trudging through the wilderness, you kind of hope to sneak whilst having every enemy notice you. Anyhow, let's start with the story. I played fragments of this game here and there (despite beating it whole), but I'm pretty sure that even if I got to play the game without missing out on particular story elements, it wouldn't help with my overall disinterest in it. Not to mention that a game that is set during the peak of the American Revolution may scream "Interesting", but somehow, it doesn't. WE get a pretty stale template of a main character both in and out of the Animus, the inner being the still snarky and whiny Desmond Miles, and the outer being Connor Kenway, a American-Indian who seems to hold a pretty dismissive opinion about pretty much everything going on around him, about his Father's plea to make truce with the Templars, the stakes of the American Revolution, about his own villages misfortune of being pushed aside for the war, all of it just seems to nod off his shoulder as "meh". The combat and HUD is confused and convoluted, often do you have to go through the entire motion of killing the same guy if you happen to need to counter another or get hit, and some enemies are near impossible to counter at all unless you just exploit Smoke Bombs or Rope Darts, and since the enemies share a universal stealth detection, once one notices you, they all do. The ability to climb trees apart from buildings assumes that the spaceity of the wilderness is more varied, but it merely comes down to copy and pasted trees that are usually force-made to be parkoured across from. The lack of hiding places apart from their always signature hay stacks is also quite abhorrent, not to mention sort of messing with the context of a particular area too. Crafting and Supplies is also confusing, as to how you are able to find the workers you need or the correct side quests to start such, evidently winding down to getting more "Pounds" to upgrade your ship and arm yourself and pretty much nothing more. The only silver lining behind this small disaster is the Ship sections themselves, as you are excitingly pitted against ships as you can almost feel like a pirate (but that, my friends, will be left for the AC 4 Review). Also, why is it that you have to find some secret chest in order to get silver ingots which pretty much are essential for the one thing that is essential? Anyhow, overall this game is a frustrating little mess to get through, with the convoluted combat mechanics to the directionless navigation to the boring narrative structure. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    It is an okay game I guess but to me it was a real let down for the Assassin's Creed series. The game play was similar to the last game, the graphics were a little more updated, the story had an interesting twist to it, there were some more weapons added to the game, and it had new features. So why was the not as good? To sum it up in one word, Connor. It is, to me, his personality that makes the game not as fun, he is like the always serious character where that cuts down on some of the fun of watching cut scenes, and I find it harder to understand him, to say it plainly he's not the Ezio Auditore we all know and love. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2013
    2
    I'm an Assassin's Creed fan and I like very much AC2 and its story line, but this one is boring. The only one cool feature in this game is the ocean battles which it's pretty awesome.
  9. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I can't believe how much I'm hating this game right now. I've always loved the AC storyline. AC2 being superb. AC3 story and character have been a complete failure. Although, the prologue was interesting, its quite strange to see the initial characters you played suddenly act evil. Didn't really sell well for me. Connor is too serious all the time. His baggage becomes your baggage and you tire of it quickly. The graphics look washed out. I don't find the world interesting to explore. The main missions drain so much out of you that you really don't feel like investing yourself in that world. The controls aren't all that great either. I'm glad I'm able to check out this game through PS Plus instead of shelling out actual money because its really not worth it. Worst AC3 game. Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    If you are looking for a contender of the Most Boring Game of The Year Award, look no further! It floods you with "content", i.e. hunting, trading (via caravans), micro-management of your homestead's economy, but all of this feels so tacked on, I really do not see any point in it. The missions are mostly repetitive, quickly over (luckily), and take place in surroundings that mostly look the same all over. Controls are awkward and clumsy, parcouring in the trees is horrible. The cast is forgettable, the protagonist completely uninspiring. On top, the modern-times missions are still more frustrating and unbelievable! Do buy this game to complete your collection, but not to have a good time playing it. Expand
  11. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I'll keep it simple. This game has ended the franchise for me. Played them all and only sold Revelations because it was quite pointless. This one is as low as it can get for fans who hope to actually play a game centered on assassinations. The first AC is miles better than this. Keep in mind that the series creator as long been fired by Ubisoft. Surprise, surprise. Keep your pirates, the milking has to stop. Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2013
    0
    worst game every, jumping is not exact enough, ist just a pain in the ass. non interruptable screen titel longer than 10 minuten...WTF?!?!?!? are you insane to steel my time for something i paid for?!??!? chasing szenes and you dont know where to go...really, don't play this crap.
  13. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    This game turned out to be exceptionally poor.After a boring 4 hour prologue,AC3 hardly improves at all.By the time you get to where you should have been after an hour,you'll be so bored that just getting the Assassins outfit will feel like an achievement.As with all games in this series,it's the Animus that breaks the illusion that this is,in fact, a game and reminds you every few moments that this is not a real world.Graphics,voice-work,animation and story are all quite average and the less said about the combat the better.A yearly money grab from a company who have a golden goose.Sad... Expand
  14. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    AC3 is by far the biggest disappointment I've ever bought for my PS3. I LOVE this series, and I loved the first and second AC. They had everything a game should have; great story, great gameplay and original ideas. But this game took all of it away in one big swoop.
    I've tried three times now to play this game trough. But I simply can't! Every time I try I get this feeling, which can best
    be described as that of a rabid dog slowly and painstakingly chewing my leg of. Why does the controls work so bad? Why is there so MANY cut scenes? Why is the story so banal and bad? Why did they even publish this game?
    My advice for anyone is to never buy this game, and pray that the fourth game will be at least somewhat acceptable! (NB! I seriously doubt that I'll buy AC4, but I feel so emotionally obligated *ripping of my hair with a sad face*)
    Expand
  15. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    This is the worst AC game in the series. The graphics are acceptable, but that's it. That's the end of all the positive things I can say. The story is just boring and it doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The tutorial takes ages to complete and doesn't tell anything importent. Also where has the stealth gone? Also, the lack of detail... Hiding in the thinest bushes ever, and nobody can see you there. How is that realistic? There are way too many bugs and glitches, even after patches. The tree running or whatever you want to call it is just horrible. Characters are horrible with terrible voice acting. Desmond's story was bad and the ending stupid. They said the combat was new and fresh and smooth and stuff, but it was horrible. It sucked. Sorry if this review is unstructured, but for this game I don't have the energy to make a professional review. This game is bad and it will be my last AC game, because AC III was the first game ever that I pre-ordered. I never did a pre-order before, so I had some hopes for this game. I thought it would be the best game ever. But I regret the pre-order so hard. Yes Ubisoft, you failed me for the first time (and you probably will fail the people that buy AC IV). Garbage.. So heartbreaking to see that Ubisoft ruined a very good franchise that's called Assassin's Creed, which I always enjoyed. Unbelievable. Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is disappointing. I think I'll list why from combat to the parkour system.

    Combat: 7/10
    The combat system is quite developed and it's not half bad. Although there are a couple things I have a problem with, such as why it takes so long to kill the enemy? I mean come on, the older Assassin's Creed games' enemies were so much faster to kill and they wore armor(except those Jannessaries) while the enemies in AC3 don't even have something to protect their kneecap and it takes so many knife swipes to die. Besides that, every time I run away from the fight there will be more guards after me. I don't want more enemies for me to be followed by, that's the entire point on why I'm running away. Also, the health system sucks! I die a lot more in AC3 than any other AC game. It's not because I suck, it's just the way the health bar is done. It's supposed to be regenerating, but I'd rather just stick to the medicine and synchronization bars. Technically they were more like health anyway, but the point here is that the regenerating health in AC3 is too slow or just plainly sucks. Now while you won't randomly kill an innocent bystander anymore by accident, thank goodness they still die mostly because they can be pushed in the water, but you can't start fights anymore.

    Parkour: 8/10
    The better part of this game is mostly the parkour, but even that has problems. Although it's a bliss I only have to hold down one button, it feels like Conner isn't very responsive to my commands as the player. "You can make that jump, Conner." Is what I would think when he doesn't jump towards a nearby building which he CAN reach. Even if he didn't there should be a grasp button and...oh that's right there isn't one. Anyway, sometimes he would climb up walls or fall off of rooftops when you din't want to. Might as well change the controls back to the old ones, Altair or Ezio was never a problem while parkouring. Maybe it's because two buttons would allow them to jump or climb while one would cause many problems in AC3. Although, it isn't character-wise, it's just control-wise. If Ezio or Altair had these type of controls, it would be annoying as much as it is in AC3. "Conner, I don't want you to jump up a building."

    Hunting: 6/10
    I honestly never cared for these things mainly because the animals are so easy to kill, even the aggressive ones. I had better fun killing animals in Skyrim than in AC3. Anyway, I bought a pistol to hunt some animals, and it handled the same way as my old pistol, but apparently it damaged the pelt. I don't think it would he damaged, maybe if Conner just skinned away most of what is fine and what is not? Common sense people. Anyway, the hunting is only fun when the animals run away and you do give chase, but honestly it's a bit boring and/or frustrating after a while.

    Stealth: 6/10
    You kidding me? There's a stealth system? It feels almost nonexistent because of how much of a sore thumb Connor sticks out like from almost every hiding spot. Now while there are a couple of hiding areas that feel like he truly is hidden, hiding areas like the large plants on the ground feel like they ignore his clothing color clashes with that of...everything around him.

    Naval Missions: 9/10
    Another good part of the game. Although I didn't get into the missions because I'm not a naval warefare type person, the missions were fun and well done.

    Storyline: 9/10
    The storyline was pretty well-done, bringing characters we would actually care about and some pretty good character and story development. Yet the ending wasn't so great, Desmond's friends just stood there without a word as Desmond is going to sacrifice himself for the rest of the entire planet. "Ok, it was a good run, Desmond, but you go die and we'll go live the rest of our live in peace. See ya!"

    Side-missions: 5/10
    Nothing very new, but they were done in a different way which made them well, but they feel like I just wasted ten minutes of my life doing one stupid thing.

    Graphics: 5/10
    It's still nothing new nor old.

    Weapons: 6/10
    The weapons all feel the same to me, they also feel clunky and big for every character's hands. No matter how advanced and different the description says the weapons is, it still runs the same way as my last sword.
    Expand
  17. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a shame how the Assassin's Creed Franchise is digging itself deeper in its own demise. The new assassin Connor, isn't just what would keep this series interesting. I personally think that Connor is the most useless and stupidest of assassins and the quests of AC III are dull and boring. The story is the worst in this game, and the series would've been better in the beginning without Desmond, Abstergo or the Apple of Eden. The story is two parts: With random nonsensical messing around with Desmond and also the noble savage Connor and the evil white man. The combat is messed up for example, removing the lock-on and adding flintlock weapons that are rubbish. The quests are filled with annoying bonus-objectives and the stealth-mechanics make no sense. And the worst part is the awful naval-combat, what had a great idea, but was executed poorly. Only thing good about this game, is the historical events and the architecture from the years 1700-1800. So with Connor and his useless gadgets don't support this game and the quests and missions are painful and boring to play this was a nice checking out for architecture in form of a game that was not worth of pre-ordering. I suggest you avoid this and check out the newest one when it comes. Expand
  18. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    I had such high hopes for this game, but in the end, Connor was unlikable and annoying while the gameplay was repetitive, recycled and tedious. The only thing that I enjoyed about it was the setting. I'm done with AC games for awhile.
  19. May 26, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know how i'm going to get 150 words to work for this game. I'll start by stating that AC3 is not for everyone. Like it's previous iterations, this game requires patience and luck. Luck is where I have a problem with this game. There are quite a few missions that have you stealthing your way to your end goal or following someone as to not be seen. With patience, you can accomplish any mission, but after losing and having to restart missions from their cheesy checkpoints, you will have to rely on dumb luck to make it through. AC veterans will have no problem, but casual gamers will be throwing the remote in no time. One of the issues I have are the controls. They seem unchanged since the first game and have you running around like a car thats rear wheels are falling off. Soldiers constantly chasing you in sheer panic doesn't help matters. I am used to playing the infamous games, which may be why I had such a hard time with the controls. All in all, the game looks great, the sea missions are good, but lacking. After a few, I was bored. The story is awesome as usual. I just hope Ubisoft refines things for the AC4. Being a Bostonian I loved the setting. All in all, AC3 is a good game, just don't expect it to hand the game over to you. Maybe i've gotten used to the wussification of game story telling. It's no Dark Souls, but I would put it somewhere in between. The failure is that it's difficulty is because of shoddy game design, not because the game is conditioning you
    For greatness. I hope watch dogs fares better.
    Expand
  20. May 25, 2013
    3
    I don't really know what to say for this, but I think the word "Boring" is right for this game. I really thought we would get a "fun" Assassin's Creed game after Revelations. Instead, I got a useless excuse to learn a new history lesson. MP is still crap and should be removed from the franchise for good reasons.
    Note: I didn't even bother playing the game after chapter 4.
    (sigh) Well, on
    to the next one. Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    I really would like to know if the guys whom are making these games are destroying the games just for fun, or just out of greed!
    Because wow, Assassins creed 3.... well
    The first assassins creed made me a hardcore fan for sure. The second one made me drool. Brotherhood and revelations were ok, but then I began to suspect something because bringing out one game per year kind of smells
    fishy.
    And yes, with assassins creed 3 I got the confirmation that they don't give a about their fans or buyers because this is by far the worst assassins creed so far.
    It has got NOTHING to do with assassins creed!
    Climbing in the trees was a nice thought, but it actually turned out to be a joke. Every single time you get up there, it's always the same five to ten trees you get in.
    The thing with the animals is just ridiculous. I mean come on!!!! I had just finished red dead redemption and you all know what that meant, right?
    The guys from assassins creed must have been thinking, 'hey, I haven't got any inspiration', 'I have an idea, let's copy paste stuff from red dead redemption. Those gamers are so stupid they won't even notice.'
    That's how they think about us.
    I'm still playing the game and man I'm so so frustrated!!!! The game freezes at least once every time I play. Most of the time when a tree is lying down and (that retarded killing machine) connor bumps against it. He just can't seem to jump over them You know, the same action as when he is standing with his hand palms against the wall. I really hate that! They must have thought, 'O well, it, they'll take anyway'. Sometimes when i want to get on a horse, the x button just doesn't work (o and no, it's not the controller because that has been tested).
    Every single time i play the game I also get stuck at certain parts. Like yesterday I threw my controller through the room because after killing two guards at a door. Connor just went through it and got stuck inside. The day before I got stuck between a little ditch and bush. I literately got stuck at knee hight.
    And talking about bushes...... Man if you consider the times in Venice where the details were extremely well done, now it is like I'm playing an eight year old game. No? I'm exaggerating? O, please do look at the bushes, plants and all that. Man the bushes are 2d planes. What's with that? That is so ugly... you can't even begin to imagine, you have to see it for yourself. O, and 'bushes', well, they look like cardboard pieces they took from a d-movie from the seventies.
    And the biggest part is that you can't even get through the bushes and plants. They don't even move. Just, bam, I'm walking against walls in the forest more than half of the time and there is no way to get through two plants or bushes where the leaves almost touch. Hey, it's a big no no guys because two leaves almost touching each other becomes impenetrable.
    And what's the deal with the sudden switch of character? Wasn't it possible to maybe actually implement how we came to have another character? Look, when I begin to play an AC game, I always make sure I get some money and do quite some side quests. Do you feel my frustration when all of a sudden the character is gone, along with all the gathered money? that!!
    And where is the stealth? Hello-o? It's all about hacking and slashing in this game. No subtlety at all.
    And why do you guys take us for idiots? And I thought the fighting system from batman was for kiddies. Well, compared to AC3 it's quite 'complicated' because you have several different ways to make combo's and have different knobs to use.
    With AC3 I can eat, look at a movie, and meanwhile kill every single soldier with just hammering the square button. The fun is just gone.
    No nice gameplay, a dull story, brainless characters, graphics from the nineties (well, you know what I mean). And what's with the music? No more ambience and chilling while wandering around? O, talking about sound. Sometimes when I'm in a fight, the sound of the slashing and hacking drops away. Very, very funny! (It does come back after five or ten minutes or so). The times that I was rofl laughing with the little things you heard the people say in the street with AC2 (or the others for all I care) is gone! Here and there there is something, but now I laugh because it's a joke.

    And the biggest most hilarious thing about the game (but it's not such a big a deal) is when connor is raising the American flag.
    Like Chandler from friends use to say, 'could it be any more ridiculous?' Yeah, they wiped out his whole town and family, but he's loyal to the U S of **cking A.
    And the riddles? Where are those genius riddles from before? Again, you think we're idiots right? Man, those riddles I was sometimes having a really hard time, but it was fun. REAL fun! It gave you something. It was like the hidden history was being revealed little by little. All this tension is gone. No more feel of mystery.
    By the way, I'm only at sequence 4...
    2/10
    Expand
  22. Apr 14, 2013
    2
    Talk about disappointing. What's up with games today that release awesome bad ass trailers where the character is portrayed doing sick things like charging into enemy lines through cannon fire. Then you get the game, expecting those epic moments but are shattered because they are not in the game. Instead of actually putting you on a big battlefield during an important time in American history, it's back to the same old same old. You easily take out your marked targets and then continue on your way. You can even walk up and stab them and just skip being sneaky about it. I really thought this game was going to take a different step from previous titles. I guess I just shouldn't trust trailers but I was hoping to be participating in giant battles against British forces. Maybe you have to break through enemy lines to carve a path to the general. Instead, you have some dinky event where you press the trigger to order some men to fire, then run over to some other men and order them to fire. Rinse and repeat, die of boredom. At another point you are on the battlefield, and you have to sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Really? It makes me long for another Viking:Battle for Asgard, sure that game was boring as all get out leading up to the big battles. But the big battles were there and they were epic! This just continues on the path of "one man army". Another huge point for me is who the hell cares? Once again I find myself hating Desmond, and the fact that I am forced to play as him and his god awful storyline. Connor (animus character) is just as lifeless, where I find myself saying, who the hell cares!? I couldn't even bring myself to finish the game because there was just absolutely no point. Where the game does shine is the naval battles. Commanding your ship, is well executed and by far the best part of the game. The controls are streamlined and easy to take the helm of. Everywhere else though this game is complete phooey. Definitely the last "Assassin's Creed" I'll ever purchase. (It gets a 2 for the naval battles) Expand
  23. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    The result of when a franchise with so much potential becomes a yearly cash grab like so many others in this day and age. After months of hype and build up, ACIII is a shell of what was promised to us. An uninspired story that forces players to clock in at least 3 4hrs gameplay until you even get to play as the protagonist, and even when you take control of this character, he is nothing more than a whiny errand boy with so little to like that I found it hard to watch cutscenes.
    The "refined combat" we were promised is the same one button counter system, just mapped out differently on your controller, and so combat is just as bland as it has been in the last 4 games.
    I very rarely get as excited for a game as I was for this one, and it was for that reason that it won top place on my WORST of 2012 list. A massive letdown from start to finish. And with the newly announced AC4 on the horizon, my hopes are dim for this franchise to redeem itself.
    Expand
  24. Mar 25, 2013
    3
    I LOVED AC2 and Brotherhood. AC3 was torture. I did finish the game, but it was a masochistic exercise. Gone is the wonderful openness and joy of exploring. AC3 feels like a series of mini-game tasks, requiring precise movements at exactly the right time to complete the task. Each new task is more frustrating than the last. There is no organic game play at all. You either play the game on rails, or you don't play. The game has way to many game systems, that are poorly cobbled together, and each a poor copy of better implementations in other games. e.g. the whole survivalist/frontier track robbed from Read Dead Redemption. In addition, the game has many graphical glitches and bugs throughout. I am SO HAPPY that I did not pay full price for this. Ubisoft should be ashamed of releasing this. AC3 just isn't fun. There is no joy in this game, only torture. Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    played AC since the first one released, this one is a total disappointment. Assassin running is wood or walking on ground are missing the original merit of this game, stupid and nothing cool. This will stop me from buying the game for the coming years. Who dare to being an assassin without style.
  26. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    The worst thing about this game is that it was released a t all.. it's fun only when you play with Desmond but there's not much of it.. story is shallow and dialagues are wooden at best. Sigh.. Ezio..
  27. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    I really don't know how this game had a good note, it was horrible to play. It's the worst Assassin's creed of the series. I do not recommend this game, Please do not encourage Ubisoft to make games so bad.
  28. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    the main story is soooo bad it feel like i have wasted four years of my life the graphic is good ,,but the game play is so boring a and the main hero is so stupid ,the music is bad rest in peacics
  29. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    as is ubisofts want, the control of the character drastically failed towards the end of the game, the cutscene quality diminished, and the over all interaction of the game failed. the programmers need to get their act together and actually properly finish a game instead of halfassing it just to get it onto shelves.
  30. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Sadly, this is a game that just doesn't feel fresh. There isn't enough new or exciting in terms of gameplay to distinguish this from AC2 part 4. After playing all the Ezio games I was not only beginning to tire of the same old stuff gameplay wise, but also very disappointed in how unlikable Connor is, especially when compared to Ezio or even Haytham. I wish I could have played as Haytham for the entire game instead. I did play the game through to the end, which is saying something I guess, but I really have no desire to go back and try to complete more side missions or unlock or explore anything else. The ending also felt like a real let down. I remember almost crying at the end of Metal Gear 3 because of how beautiful it was. The ending of this game left me feeling empty and thinking "That's it?" Expand
  31. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    I loved all of the previous AC games and was really looking forward to this one.

    Unfortunately, this game is bad. If it were the first in the series it would be the only one made.

    Like most of the previous games, they changed the combat controls. Where these changes previously made combat more fluid and enjoyable in previous titles, the combat in this game is clumsy and unrewarding.
    The stealth aspect has also been changed for the worse- the cues you get as to whether or not you're in stealth are minimal, and the open world areas are simply annoying- once you finally get to them after playing a third of the game. Getting to that point feels like a chore, however, since there are so many cutscenes that you aren't really playing the game as you are spending a couple minutes fighting a horrible camera and clunky controls until you stumble into the part of the game that triggers another five minute long cutscene. I'm not kidding. The first third of the game is more cut-scenes than actual game play.

    The things that made the previous games great: the fluid combat, the entertaining side quests, and the open-world parkour-like climbing have been replaced with large open areas where you just run forever along boring repetitive flat ground, and then they threw in some QTE sequences and the ability to... kill bears, deer and beavers.

    The graphics are not as good as the previous games in the series, and the plot is so boring that a third of the way through I honestly stopped caring if any of the characters actually lived or died.

    They took all of the annoying parts of the previous games and built an entire game around those then threw in a water-thin plot and a horrendous camera then changed the controls to make them even more cumbersome and called it a day. Rather than buying this game, you should just play the earlier titles in this series and hope that if they make another AC that it's actually good.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.