User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1037 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    This game turned out to be exceptionally poor.After a boring 4 hour prologue,AC3 hardly improves at all.By the time you get to where you should have been after an hour,you'll be so bored that just getting the Assassins outfit will feel like an achievement.As with all games in this series,it's the Animus that breaks the illusion that this is,in fact, a game and reminds you every few moments that this is not a real world.Graphics,voice-work,animation and story are all quite average and the less said about the combat the better.A yearly money grab from a company who have a golden goose.Sad... Expand
  2. May 25, 2013
    3
    I don't really know what to say for this, but I think the word "Boring" is right for this game. I really thought we would get a "fun" Assassin's Creed game after Revelations. Instead, I got a useless excuse to learn a new history lesson. MP is still crap and should be removed from the franchise for good reasons.
    Note: I didn't even bother playing the game after chapter 4.
    (sigh) Well, on
    to the next one. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    In Assasin's Creed III, you are someone who looks lile a drug dealer with something to hide. Despite that, you seem to be in the past as everyone looks like they're in the 1700s, except for you, of course. The gameplay is ridiculously boring and I claim this as the most overrated game of 2012.
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    This game was a MAJOR disappointment. The characters are bland in my opinion, and you can't go into the major battles like in the trailers. You have to stay on a scripted path, and if you go off the path, you die. What happened Ubisoft?
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    0
    A series ends brethren! That's it, no more Assassin's Creed in future. I cannot go into details without spoiling, so I just say they pulled off Mass Effect 3 with this game. What a shame to see a legacy end like this. At least the story of Connor was good, whilst the story of Desmond was not. Funny how Lucy was never mentioned, looks like had no clue how to make a satisfying ending. It just come tumbeling down. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Expected much more than I got. It really is unfortunate that they'd incorporate such a bad ending in an attempt to milk the series in the future. Don't expect anything groundbreaking.
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    2
    Very, Very, Very Disappointing. The game play gets very old if you are only a Single Player sort of person. Multiplayer is basically whoever has played the longest is going to win, and coop was rushed and thrown out there and should have been just left out.
    VERY disappointed!
  8. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The Assassin's Creed Franchise has never been one that I've been interested in, mainly because I'm not one for stealth games and prefer some more direct, straightforward combat. Some of that may be the reason why it was such a pain in the ass to enjoy this game, but it's not like that I know nothing of the basic fundamentals of sneak. See, the real issue here with "ASS GREED FREE" (as I like to call it sometimes) is that the main player character, throughout most of the AC franchise has never had the ability to crouch while sneaking, often being quite out in the open when he's not. I know that may not seem conspicuous when in towns, but when you involve yourself in the NorthEast Americas trudging through the wilderness, you kind of hope to sneak whilst having every enemy notice you. Anyhow, let's start with the story. I played fragments of this game here and there (despite beating it whole), but I'm pretty sure that even if I got to play the game without missing out on particular story elements, it wouldn't help with my overall disinterest in it. Not to mention that a game that is set during the peak of the American Revolution may scream "Interesting", but somehow, it doesn't. WE get a pretty stale template of a main character both in and out of the Animus, the inner being the still snarky and whiny Desmond Miles, and the outer being Connor Kenway, a American-Indian who seems to hold a pretty dismissive opinion about pretty much everything going on around him, about his Father's plea to make truce with the Templars, the stakes of the American Revolution, about his own villages misfortune of being pushed aside for the war, all of it just seems to nod off his shoulder as "meh". The combat and HUD is confused and convoluted, often do you have to go through the entire motion of killing the same guy if you happen to need to counter another or get hit, and some enemies are near impossible to counter at all unless you just exploit Smoke Bombs or Rope Darts, and since the enemies share a universal stealth detection, once one notices you, they all do. The ability to climb trees apart from buildings assumes that the spaceity of the wilderness is more varied, but it merely comes down to copy and pasted trees that are usually force-made to be parkoured across from. The lack of hiding places apart from their always signature hay stacks is also quite abhorrent, not to mention sort of messing with the context of a particular area too. Crafting and Supplies is also confusing, as to how you are able to find the workers you need or the correct side quests to start such, evidently winding down to getting more "Pounds" to upgrade your ship and arm yourself and pretty much nothing more. The only silver lining behind this small disaster is the Ship sections themselves, as you are excitingly pitted against ships as you can almost feel like a pirate (but that, my friends, will be left for the AC 4 Review). Also, why is it that you have to find some secret chest in order to get silver ingots which pretty much are essential for the one thing that is essential? Anyhow, overall this game is a frustrating little mess to get through, with the convoluted combat mechanics to the directionless navigation to the boring narrative structure. Expand
  9. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    This is the worst AC game in the series. The graphics are acceptable, but that's it. That's the end of all the positive things I can say. The story is just boring and it doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The tutorial takes ages to complete and doesn't tell anything importent. Also where has the stealth gone? Also, the lack of detail... Hiding in the thinest bushes ever, and nobody can see you there. How is that realistic? There are way too many bugs and glitches, even after patches. The tree running or whatever you want to call it is just horrible. Characters are horrible with terrible voice acting. Desmond's story was bad and the ending stupid. They said the combat was new and fresh and smooth and stuff, but it was horrible. It sucked. Sorry if this review is unstructured, but for this game I don't have the energy to make a professional review. This game is bad and it will be my last AC game, because AC III was the first game ever that I pre-ordered. I never did a pre-order before, so I had some hopes for this game. I thought it would be the best game ever. But I regret the pre-order so hard. Yes Ubisoft, you failed me for the first time (and you probably will fail the people that buy AC IV). Garbage.. So heartbreaking to see that Ubisoft ruined a very good franchise that's called Assassin's Creed, which I always enjoyed. Unbelievable. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Ouch. Another sequel to a fantastic top-shelf series that fails miserably to live up to its predecessors. The game is mindblowingly boring when it's not infuriatingly annoying. Character motivations are unclear, the story is trite, gameplay feels like taking care of chores in between drawn out cutscenes. Technically, there are quite a few bugs and glitches (I kept repeating one sequence for an hour due to getting stuck on varying bits of geometry), and the story is horribly lacking in suspense or wit compared to the other games in the series. Just like Mass Effect 3, a good game to stay away from, sadly. Also, the first time I've known Ubisoft to utterly fail. Wonder what happened there. Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    I had such high hopes for this game, but in the end, Connor was unlikable and annoying while the gameplay was repetitive, recycled and tedious. The only thing that I enjoyed about it was the setting. I'm done with AC games for awhile.
  12. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    The result of when a franchise with so much potential becomes a yearly cash grab like so many others in this day and age. After months of hype and build up, ACIII is a shell of what was promised to us. An uninspired story that forces players to clock in at least 3 4hrs gameplay until you even get to play as the protagonist, and even when you take control of this character, he is nothing more than a whiny errand boy with so little to like that I found it hard to watch cutscenes.
    The "refined combat" we were promised is the same one button counter system, just mapped out differently on your controller, and so combat is just as bland as it has been in the last 4 games.
    I very rarely get as excited for a game as I was for this one, and it was for that reason that it won top place on my WORST of 2012 list. A massive letdown from start to finish. And with the newly announced AC4 on the horizon, my hopes are dim for this franchise to redeem itself.
    Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    This is the worst Assassin's Creed in the series (I think is even worse than Revelations...). The story of this game is absolute boring, specially the past part wich is the 80% of the game, but the Desmond story was even worse... Specially the ending which is specially bad, not to mention all the bugs that game haves, it feels like an unfinished game. If you want a real AC experience just play AC2 and AC:B instead of this game... About the online part, at fist looks good, but it doesn't have many variety on places to play, and most of them looks the same. Also all the customization parts for characters are overpriced, I already have played like 70 times online, I'm in level 31 and I still doesn't have enough credits to allow me to buy character stuff, only skills.. obviously they want us to spend real money on it, also the rewards (videos) for leveling up on the online game are not good as the ones in AC:R.

    So, I'm afraid this is not an AAA title anymore. Not buying another AC on the release.
    Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    The game is a disgrace to the franchise. I couldn't finish the game because of some of the flaws with the game. Returned it, got my money back. Good
    1. The game is very large. For awhile I was complaining about how ACB and ACR had small maps, well this game would surely shut any of those complaints up. 2. There are a lot of missions in this game. Plenty of things to do. Bad
    The
    fact that I can't think of more than 2 good things about the game is a bad sign

    1. The combat is horrible. Basically the combat is circle to counter and square to attack. Even the first assassins creed game had more than 2 buttons used for combat. Certain enemies are nearly impossible to kill because you have no clue how to fight because it is completely counter intuitive and way too far from the other games.

    2. To make matters worse, the game doesn't have enough assassination missions. The game is basically you running around butchering people in broad daylight. There have been moments where guards will just randomly start attacking you, maybe it was because I killed too many guards, I don't know because there is no indicator for this like in the other games... 3. They took out abilities in the game for no reason at all.

    Want to jog? Nope can't do that! L1 = sprint, not L1 + X
    Want to kick your enemy? Nope, remember circle and square are the only 2 actions
    Want to air assassinate? Nope, never opportunities to air assassinate since the game is basically a bunch of wooden houses spread far apart.
    Can I leap while climbing? NOPE

    4. Quicktime events. If you played RE6 before this game, you probably never want to see quicktime events ever again. Well bad news, they are all over the game. Random wolf attacks you, QTE, fail you pretty much die. THIS IS ALL OVER THE ENTIRE GAME. 5. You have no clue what the hell is going on. I actually found that I no longer cared, Connor is a boring character with no development at all. He is basically Jack the Ripper.

    6. I liked assassins creed 2 the most because the game offered a ton of beautiful maps. Florence and Venice are great locations. Sure they aren't as big as the maps in this game, but they are more dense and full of more life. I think it was a mistake to approach the american revolution as the setting. I want to go back to the renaissance era. Summary

    The game is garbage. I gave RE6 a 4/10, the fact that this is getting a 3/10 means that the game is basically unplayable. Sure RE6 had **** quicktime events, but at least the game mechanics weren't absolute **** 50% of my score is based off of the controls, and if the controls suck ass then the game is basically worthless.
    Expand
  15. Apr 14, 2013
    2
    Talk about disappointing. What's up with games today that release awesome bad ass trailers where the character is portrayed doing sick things like charging into enemy lines through cannon fire. Then you get the game, expecting those epic moments but are shattered because they are not in the game. Instead of actually putting you on a big battlefield during an important time in American history, it's back to the same old same old. You easily take out your marked targets and then continue on your way. You can even walk up and stab them and just skip being sneaky about it. I really thought this game was going to take a different step from previous titles. I guess I just shouldn't trust trailers but I was hoping to be participating in giant battles against British forces. Maybe you have to break through enemy lines to carve a path to the general. Instead, you have some dinky event where you press the trigger to order some men to fire, then run over to some other men and order them to fire. Rinse and repeat, die of boredom. At another point you are on the battlefield, and you have to sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Really? It makes me long for another Viking:Battle for Asgard, sure that game was boring as all get out leading up to the big battles. But the big battles were there and they were epic! This just continues on the path of "one man army". Another huge point for me is who the hell cares? Once again I find myself hating Desmond, and the fact that I am forced to play as him and his god awful storyline. Connor (animus character) is just as lifeless, where I find myself saying, who the hell cares!? I couldn't even bring myself to finish the game because there was just absolutely no point. Where the game does shine is the naval battles. Commanding your ship, is well executed and by far the best part of the game. The controls are streamlined and easy to take the helm of. Everywhere else though this game is complete phooey. Definitely the last "Assassin's Creed" I'll ever purchase. (It gets a 2 for the naval battles) Collapse
  16. May 26, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know how i'm going to get 150 words to work for this game. I'll start by stating that AC3 is not for everyone. Like it's previous iterations, this game requires patience and luck. Luck is where I have a problem with this game. There are quite a few missions that have you stealthing your way to your end goal or following someone as to not be seen. With patience, you can accomplish any mission, but after losing and having to restart missions from their cheesy checkpoints, you will have to rely on dumb luck to make it through. AC veterans will have no problem, but casual gamers will be throwing the remote in no time. One of the issues I have are the controls. They seem unchanged since the first game and have you running around like a car thats rear wheels are falling off. Soldiers constantly chasing you in sheer panic doesn't help matters. I am used to playing the infamous games, which may be why I had such a hard time with the controls. All in all, the game looks great, the sea missions are good, but lacking. After a few, I was bored. The story is awesome as usual. I just hope Ubisoft refines things for the AC4. Being a Bostonian I loved the setting. All in all, AC3 is a good game, just don't expect it to hand the game over to you. Maybe i've gotten used to the wussification of game story telling. It's no Dark Souls, but I would put it somewhere in between. The failure is that it's difficulty is because of shoddy game design, not because the game is conditioning you
    For greatness. I hope watch dogs fares better.
    Expand
  17. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a shame how the Assassin's Creed Franchise is digging itself deeper in its own demise. The new assassin Connor, isn't just what would keep this series interesting. I personally think that Connor is the most useless and stupidest of assassins and the quests of AC III are dull and boring. The story is the worst in this game, and the series would've been better in the beginning without Desmond, Abstergo or the Apple of Eden. The story is two parts: With random nonsensical messing around with Desmond and also the noble savage Connor and the evil white man. The combat is messed up for example, removing the lock-on and adding flintlock weapons that are rubbish. The quests are filled with annoying bonus-objectives and the stealth-mechanics make no sense. And the worst part is the awful naval-combat, what had a great idea, but was executed poorly. Only thing good about this game, is the historical events and the architecture from the years 1700-1800. So with Connor and his useless gadgets don't support this game and the quests and missions are painful and boring to play this was a nice checking out for architecture in form of a game that was not worth of pre-ordering. I suggest you avoid this and check out the newest one when it comes. Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2012
    1
    This is the worst game in the series. I have more frustration than fun playing this. First is the performance, the texture pop-in is ridiculous in the city. Second thing is the counter system, the new counter system doesn't work, if I counter a guy with a hidden blade, it should be instant kill. Why the f can they counter me?! NO! Just no! The third thing is the main character, Connor is just some generic angry guy, Altair and Ezio were much better main characters. Fourth thing is the lack of customization, there's no armors to buy for Connor, combine that with the broken counter system, the combat is frustrating and not fun. Fifth and this is the reason that made me quit playing the game and give this game such a harsh score, the fking Thomas Hickey chase! I hope your bonus is tie in someway to Metacritic scores, whatever team that designed this mission, you deserve to get your bonus reduced for this damn mission! In all other AC games, you're a damn assassin, you run faster than the target you're chasing, but I've been playing for more than 15x, still Thomas Hickey runs faster, wtf?! This is with patch 1.01 btw, so if anything, the patch should've fixed well known issues like this. Don't buy this game, save your money and watch the ending on YouTube, that's what I plan to do. F this game. Expand
  19. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    What a complete waste of time. I actually could't play this game for more than two hours at a time, fearing my heart would give in from my frustration:-)
    Every aspect of this game i worse than even AC1. Let aside the battles at sea whitch was new and great.
    The buttons, the story, gameplay, grafics, caracters, conversations, cutcenes, I could go on and on, they all suck!
    Do not buy this
    game, and spare yourselves from a lot of pain.
    Alex Hutchinson name is now burned in to my brain, and i will forever shun from anything he puts his name on.
    Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I can't believe how much I'm hating this game right now. I've always loved the AC storyline. AC2 being superb. AC3 story and character have been a complete failure. Although, the prologue was interesting, its quite strange to see the initial characters you played suddenly act evil. Didn't really sell well for me. Connor is too serious all the time. His baggage becomes your baggage and you tire of it quickly. The graphics look washed out. I don't find the world interesting to explore. The main missions drain so much out of you that you really don't feel like investing yourself in that world. The controls aren't all that great either. I'm glad I'm able to check out this game through PS Plus instead of shelling out actual money because its really not worth it. Worst AC3 game. Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    AC3 is by far the biggest disappointment I've ever bought for my PS3. I LOVE this series, and I loved the first and second AC. They had everything a game should have; great story, great gameplay and original ideas. But this game took all of it away in one big swoop.
    I've tried three times now to play this game trough. But I simply can't! Every time I try I get this feeling, which can best
    be described as that of a rabid dog slowly and painstakingly chewing my leg of. Why does the controls work so bad? Why is there so MANY cut scenes? Why is the story so banal and bad? Why did they even publish this game?
    My advice for anyone is to never buy this game, and pray that the fourth game will be at least somewhat acceptable! (NB! I seriously doubt that I'll buy AC4, but I feel so emotionally obligated *ripping of my hair with a sad face*)
    Expand
  22. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    Underwhelming. My favorite AC was Brotherhood since we got a fully skilled Ezio and a group of assassins to train and command. Revelations was more of the same and it was quite fun, but not the breakthrough that I though Brotherhood was. This game was supposed to be the best of all worlds, apparently taking the longest of all of the AC games to create, but ends up less fun than all of the previous games. The main character and story were pretty boring and you only get to train 6 assassins. And you only get to use the assassins while in a city, which is only for about a third of the game. And it takes most of the game to even recruit all of the assassins, so really you only have all 6 assassins for 10 minutes of the game. And you don't even get to induct them into your secret society because the main character is pretty much a phony who doesn't even know why or if he's even really an assassin. Which kind of makes me not know why I'm even playing the game. Expand
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Expand
  24. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    I gave up on this I got that bored. I live this series but my heart sank when I saw that they had moved the setting from Europe to America. I have nothing against America but the trailer just made it look like you we're in trees from anywhere land. Guess what? That's what this game is like to play. You wander around, do the annoying captain first bit before moving onto the Indian second bit and then it goes all Red Dead Redemption on you. Skin this, set a trap for that, wander through lots of snow. None of which are very interesting at all tbh. The towns are non-descript, they could be from anywhere. The dialogue is crap, the story doesn't hook you at all. And will developers of games please learn that we do not want to wander for hours to do missions, it was annoying enough in Red Dead at times but this is worse. All in all this game is just another cash cow. Up to Revelations I have loved this series. The wonderful backdrops, the engaging story, the brilliant characters and the way it added a little bit more every time it came out. This feels like a massive step backwards. Expand
  25. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    I'm surprised the user review average is this high and the critic review average is that low. This is usually the kind of game, part of a large series or not, that divides people completely. On the one hand, it's beautiful and cinematic and the story/characters feel fantastic. On the other hand, what a dreadful gameplay experience. If you think ACIII is going to be amazing because the past titles were done well enough and you were promised something better, don't feel bad as we all bought the hype. However, Resident Evil 6 was proof that even a high-budget AAA title from a company used to making quality titles could go from releasing super good games to "ugh, what is up with the controls and why did I just glitch through that thing and oh god my system is heating up" disasters. And ACIII is no different. Not only have some of the controls been remapped but the style of combat and exploration has also been greatly retooled for the worse. Riding horses is a nightmare, the new lockpicking minigame is a hassle, you have to chase collectibles, gone is the 'low profile' control set, guns have curiously gotten LESS advanced as time has progressed, and stealth seems to be not only completely optional but totally unnecessary except for those pass-or-fail missions where getting caught means a "try again" cutscene that plays into a loading screen. I loved the first 4 AAA titles in the series and I will complete this game as well because I'm a huge fan of the AC universe. But I will tell you right now, I won't enjoy it nearly as much as I was led to believe. I'm quite a ways into it and it just feels... unfinished and lacking in structure. ACII remains the best in the series by far. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2013
    2
    I'm an Assassin's Creed fan and I like very much AC2 and its story line, but this one is boring. The only one cool feature in this game is the ocean battles which it's pretty awesome.
  27. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    It is an okay game I guess but to me it was a real let down for the Assassin's Creed series. The game play was similar to the last game, the graphics were a little more updated, the story had an interesting twist to it, there were some more weapons added to the game, and it had new features. So why was the not as good? To sum it up in one word, Connor. It is, to me, his personality that makes the game not as fun, he is like the always serious character where that cuts down on some of the fun of watching cut scenes, and I find it harder to understand him, to say it plainly he's not the Ezio Auditore we all know and love. Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Boring game... 0 Gameplay... Every little part is automatic. I hope, for the next episode, to have an automatic control, so i can only watch the game and don't play it.
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Story was, by far, the worst of the entire series.

    Conner was a mental midget who spends the entire game acting like a petulant six year old.

    On the flip side, actual game mechanics were mostly solid, with some improvements over previous games in the series. Unfortunately, I love(d) the AC story, and Conner's story was so bad, and Desmond's "end" was so bad, I have to give AC 3 a 4.
  30. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    AC3 is like an aging wife whose flaws get harder to ignore as she takes more than she gives. Slow pace, slow loads, slow movement. Broken and heart breakingly, simply not fun. I never cared about the inane and muddled sci fi storyline, I fell in love with AC2 and Brotherhood for tower sieging and breakneck horse rides through Italy. This game forces the cruddy story on you while stripping the fun away. After controls improving through each title, 3 inexplicably goes backwards. Your many escorts get stuck in walls, the "stealth" is shatteringly broken, enemies are dumber than ever and the only time a fight is interesting is when you can't find your character in the jumbled frenzy. You have to pause the game to access the former weapon wheel... how?! Why take a modern function to replace with a 1995 inventory?

    This is inexplicably a bad game. Disgusting. I still love synching viewpoints, managing double assassinations, and petting cats & dogs. Had I not cared, then meh, but I'm sad that 3 is such a failure.
    Expand
  31. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    Talk about disappointing. What's up with games today that release awesome bad ass trailers where the character is portrayed doing sick things like charging into enemy lines through cannon fire. Then you get the game, expecting those epic moments but are shattered because they are not in the game. Instead of actually putting you on a big battlefield during an important time in American history, it's back to the same old same old. You easily take out your marked targets and then continue on your way. You can even walk up and stab them and just skip being sneaky about it. I really thought this game was going to take a different step from previous titles. I guess I just shouldn't trust trailers but I was hoping to be participating in giant battles against British forces. Maybe you have to break through enemy lines to carve a path to the general. Instead, you have some dinky event where you press the trigger to order some men to fire, then run over to some other men and order them to fire. Rinse and repeat, die of boredom. At another point you are on the battlefield, and you have to sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Cannon fires. Sit behind cover. Really? It makes me long for another Viking:Battle for Asgard, sure that game was boring as all get out leading up to the big battles. But the big battles were there and they were epic! This just continues on the path of "one man army". Another huge point for me is who the hell cares? Once again I find myself hating Desmond, and the fact that I am forced to play as him and his god awful storyline. Connor (animus character) is just as lifeless, where I find myself saying, who the hell cares!? I couldn't even bring myself to finish the game because there was just absolutely no point. Where the game does shine is the naval battles. Commanding your ship, is well executed and by far the best part of the game. The controls are streamlined and easy to take the helm of. Everywhere else though this game is complete phooey. Definitely the last "Assassin's Creed" I'll ever purchase. (It gets a 2 for the naval battles) Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.