User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1083 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Expected much more than I got. It really is unfortunate that they'd incorporate such a bad ending in an attempt to milk the series in the future. Don't expect anything groundbreaking.
  2. May 26, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know how i'm going to get 150 words to work for this game. I'll start by stating that AC3 is not for everyone. Like it's previous iterations, this game requires patience and luck. Luck is where I have a problem with this game. There are quite a few missions that have you stealthing your way to your end goal or following someone as to not be seen. With patience, you can accomplish any mission, but after losing and having to restart missions from their cheesy checkpoints, you will have to rely on dumb luck to make it through. AC veterans will have no problem, but casual gamers will be throwing the remote in no time. One of the issues I have are the controls. They seem unchanged since the first game and have you running around like a car thats rear wheels are falling off. Soldiers constantly chasing you in sheer panic doesn't help matters. I am used to playing the infamous games, which may be why I had such a hard time with the controls. All in all, the game looks great, the sea missions are good, but lacking. After a few, I was bored. The story is awesome as usual. I just hope Ubisoft refines things for the AC4. Being a Bostonian I loved the setting. All in all, AC3 is a good game, just don't expect it to hand the game over to you. Maybe i've gotten used to the wussification of game story telling. It's no Dark Souls, but I would put it somewhere in between. The failure is that it's difficulty is because of shoddy game design, not because the game is conditioning you
    For greatness. I hope watch dogs fares better.
    Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    Underwhelming. My favorite AC was Brotherhood since we got a fully skilled Ezio and a group of assassins to train and command. Revelations was more of the same and it was quite fun, but not the breakthrough that I though Brotherhood was. This game was supposed to be the best of all worlds, apparently taking the longest of all of the AC games to create, but ends up less fun than all of the previous games. The main character and story were pretty boring and you only get to train 6 assassins. And you only get to use the assassins while in a city, which is only for about a third of the game. And it takes most of the game to even recruit all of the assassins, so really you only have all 6 assassins for 10 minutes of the game. And you don't even get to induct them into your secret society because the main character is pretty much a phony who doesn't even know why or if he's even really an assassin. Which kind of makes me not know why I'm even playing the game. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    This game turned out to be exceptionally poor.After a boring 4 hour prologue,AC3 hardly improves at all.By the time you get to where you should have been after an hour,you'll be so bored that just getting the Assassins outfit will feel like an achievement.As with all games in this series,it's the Animus that breaks the illusion that this is,in fact, a game and reminds you every few moments that this is not a real world.Graphics,voice-work,animation and story are all quite average and the less said about the combat the better.A yearly money grab from a company who have a golden goose.Sad... Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Ouch. Another sequel to a fantastic top-shelf series that fails miserably to live up to its predecessors. The game is mindblowingly boring when it's not infuriatingly annoying. Character motivations are unclear, the story is trite, gameplay feels like taking care of chores in between drawn out cutscenes. Technically, there are quite a few bugs and glitches (I kept repeating one sequence for an hour due to getting stuck on varying bits of geometry), and the story is horribly lacking in suspense or wit compared to the other games in the series. Just like Mass Effect 3, a good game to stay away from, sadly. Also, the first time I've known Ubisoft to utterly fail. Wonder what happened there. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I can't believe how much I'm hating this game right now. I've always loved the AC storyline. AC2 being superb. AC3 story and character have been a complete failure. Although, the prologue was interesting, its quite strange to see the initial characters you played suddenly act evil. Didn't really sell well for me. Connor is too serious all the time. His baggage becomes your baggage and you tire of it quickly. The graphics look washed out. I don't find the world interesting to explore. The main missions drain so much out of you that you really don't feel like investing yourself in that world. The controls aren't all that great either. I'm glad I'm able to check out this game through PS Plus instead of shelling out actual money because its really not worth it. Worst AC3 game. Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    I'm surprised the user review average is this high and the critic review average is that low. This is usually the kind of game, part of a large series or not, that divides people completely. On the one hand, it's beautiful and cinematic and the story/characters feel fantastic. On the other hand, what a dreadful gameplay experience. If you think ACIII is going to be amazing because the past titles were done well enough and you were promised something better, don't feel bad as we all bought the hype. However, Resident Evil 6 was proof that even a high-budget AAA title from a company used to making quality titles could go from releasing super good games to "ugh, what is up with the controls and why did I just glitch through that thing and oh god my system is heating up" disasters. And ACIII is no different. Not only have some of the controls been remapped but the style of combat and exploration has also been greatly retooled for the worse. Riding horses is a nightmare, the new lockpicking minigame is a hassle, you have to chase collectibles, gone is the 'low profile' control set, guns have curiously gotten LESS advanced as time has progressed, and stealth seems to be not only completely optional but totally unnecessary except for those pass-or-fail missions where getting caught means a "try again" cutscene that plays into a loading screen. I loved the first 4 AAA titles in the series and I will complete this game as well because I'm a huge fan of the AC universe. But I will tell you right now, I won't enjoy it nearly as much as I was led to believe. I'm quite a ways into it and it just feels... unfinished and lacking in structure. ACII remains the best in the series by far. Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    Normally love the Creed... but really didn't like this game at all. It has so many bugs, online servers offline a lot. forgettable boring characters and the story means nothing to me as an international player. The game keeps talking about people like i should know who they are... game tries and fails to rip off Red Dead Redemption. Americans might get something out of this...
  10. Nov 9, 2012
    1
    This is the worst game in the series. I have more frustration than fun playing this. First is the performance, the texture pop-in is ridiculous in the city. Second thing is the counter system, the new counter system doesn't work, if I counter a guy with a hidden blade, it should be instant kill. Why the f can they counter me?! NO! Just no! The third thing is the main character, Connor is just some generic angry guy, Altair and Ezio were much better main characters. Fourth thing is the lack of customization, there's no armors to buy for Connor, combine that with the broken counter system, the combat is frustrating and not fun. Fifth and this is the reason that made me quit playing the game and give this game such a harsh score, the fking Thomas Hickey chase! I hope your bonus is tie in someway to Metacritic scores, whatever team that designed this mission, you deserve to get your bonus reduced for this damn mission! In all other AC games, you're a damn assassin, you run faster than the target you're chasing, but I've been playing for more than 15x, still Thomas Hickey runs faster, wtf?! This is with patch 1.01 btw, so if anything, the patch should've fixed well known issues like this. Don't buy this game, save your money and watch the ending on YouTube, that's what I plan to do. F this game. Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    This is the worst Assassin's Creed in the series (I think is even worse than Revelations...). The story of this game is absolute boring, specially the past part wich is the 80% of the game, but the Desmond story was even worse... Specially the ending which is specially bad, not to mention all the bugs that game haves, it feels like an unfinished game. If you want a real AC experience just play AC2 and AC:B instead of this game... About the online part, at fist looks good, but it doesn't have many variety on places to play, and most of them looks the same. Also all the customization parts for characters are overpriced, I already have played like 70 times online, I'm in level 31 and I still doesn't have enough credits to allow me to buy character stuff, only skills.. obviously they want us to spend real money on it, also the rewards (videos) for leveling up on the online game are not good as the ones in AC:R.

    So, I'm afraid this is not an AAA title anymore. Not buying another AC on the release.
    Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    In Assasin's Creed III, you are someone who looks lile a drug dealer with something to hide. Despite that, you seem to be in the past as everyone looks like they're in the 1700s, except for you, of course. The gameplay is ridiculously boring and I claim this as the most overrated game of 2012.
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    0
    A series ends brethren! That's it, no more Assassin's Creed in future. I cannot go into details without spoiling, so I just say they pulled off Mass Effect 3 with this game. What a shame to see a legacy end like this. At least the story of Connor was good, whilst the story of Desmond was not. Funny how Lucy was never mentioned, looks like had no clue how to make a satisfying ending. It just come tumbeling down. Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    Alex Hutchinson. I don't think I need to say more other than he absolutely slaughtered this series and he needs to find a new profession, but I will. He's made so many poor choices that have turned a once AAAA series into a piece of crap. There are so many things about this game that are awful that I simply do not know where to begin, nor do I feel like touching up on all of them as it would take too long, but for those who have been huge fans of the series and have played this game will know what I'm talking about. For those who are fans but are yet to play AC3, be warned that this is no longer Assassins Creed. They gutted it and slaughtered it. Alex Hutchinson had a horrible resume before he began working on one of the biggest endings to a trilogy this generation, whoever hired this failure made a huge mistake, and if he has any involvement in any potential future titles I will not be purchasing them, I'd like to see him removed from the industry all together. I've purchased every Assassins Creed game brand new to support great artists, but from now on, I'll buy used because I'm simply heartbroken over what they have done with this series, and the ending, I find it worse than Mass Effect 3, maybe because I'm more invested in AC than I am ME. Regardless, the ending makes me wish I never bothered paying attention to the story from AC1 forward. Then of course there's the boring protagonist, the flat setting, the lack of ambient music, the horrible main missions, the controls, how they destroyed controls that took nearly 5 years to perfect. Alex promised us challenging combat, lies. Bigger leap on gameplay from 2 to 3 than there was from 1 to 2, lies. Don't believe the critic scores, it's an 85 average which pretty much says, this is the lowest we can score this title without losing advertising benefits. Read the user reviews, the ones from the long time AC fans, not the ones who just started playing this year, the ones who have invested 5 years into the series, they know how bad this game is, and how badly Alex ruined this series with his lack of experience and vision. Ubisoft, fire this man. This game does have some great qualities to it, such as the climate changes, the graphics, the naval battles, but just like a sinking ship, it's hard to focus on anything good when the entirety of the game is drowning in it's many failures. The bottom line is, they made it look pretty, but it doesn't make up for the amount of crap this game spews at you, it's insulting really, Alex Hutchinson, remove yourself from the industry, or go back to making titles with low expectations because you are not fit for the big leagues, and to whoever decided to give Alex this position, it might be time to retire, clearly your judgement is horrible. **** YOU ALEX! Expand
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    I remember when i bought Assassin's Creed, it felt so different than an average game back then was.You could climb on rooftops in cool fashion, explore the lands of the Crusades or just kill guards in in a way that made you="OHHH! EWWW! WOW!" it was not a perfect game but it was very entertaining. Then it was time for Assassin's Creed 2, and oh my it was fabulous! it fixed most of the problems in AC1 and the setting was really interesting, The Renaissance...Beautiful architecture, interesting characters and this time actually fun side missions!
    Let's get to the point already, Assassins Creed 3 has been out now for months and after playing it for 51 hours and 23 minutes i can safely say my opinion about it... You all know the setting already in this game which is the American revolutionary war....Which is not that interesting.... It was the first let down for me, Boston and New York are not just really beautiful places unlike Florence and Rome were in the previous games, the buildings are not very tall and it makes climbing really boring when there's like 100 houses after another which look exactly the same.... well i wish you luck staying on rooftops because of the guards on the rooftops... i mean WHY is there so many of them???! You are destroying the element that got me interested in AC years ago! So they almost force you to stay on the ground level all the time. The story is pretty annoying, mainly because of the protagonist, Ratonhaketon AKA Connor Kenway..He is annoying, childish, naive and the list goes on... Oh and you will be hearing a lot of "What would you have me do?" Lines from Connor...and that really tells you about the level of the dialogue. Disappointment after another....The soundtrack= No more Jesper Kyd with his ambient music, now it's just movie music you hear everywhere, it just doesn't stand out! And oh the BUGS, it almost literally drove me insane especially during missions where you have to achieve perfect sync... I seriously wish i could recommend this to you AC fans, but i just can't..... this was a huge game of let downs and it is a disgrace to previous AC games, i mean it.
    Oh and did i tell you about the horrible, anticlimax ending? See for yourselves...
    Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Assassins Creed 2 and Revelations are two of my favorite games of all time,,, This is not one of those............I found this game frustrating and annoying. The frustrating following and fail missions take away from the potential of greatness. It's also a sloppy mess. Game breaking bugs all over are inexcusable. Some or many of the missions are so linear with one path or fail way to play you wonder how they got away with marketing it as open world. I had to follow a guy in the city, had to start over so many times I cursed constantly at how they could do this to me for my hard earned dollars. Some of the combat is fun, the cities look great. I don't know if I'll play multiplayer as much of it is timed fail missions. I'm sorry, a lot of this game is not fun, frustrating and down right excessively boring... Starting over and over and over is the worst thing in gaming and cant get how they thought that would be fun... Expand
  17. May 8, 2014
    3
    A black mark on a wonderful franchise. I finished the 4 previous titles. AC2 was easily the best, but this game is a huge step back in every regard: very imprecise controls, frustratingly vague mission objectives, the worst combat system of the series, very unintuitive menus, bland main character, and broken stealth. How is it that a game about assassins has broken stealth? The story is good, so are the graphics, animations and all the little details that they put in this world. But ultimately, this game is not fun. It was a chore to play which I gave up on about 75% of the way through. AC4 gains some ground over this mess but it too does not reach the heights of AC2. Expand
  18. Sep 29, 2013
    0
    worst game every, jumping is not exact enough, ist just a pain in the ass. non interruptable screen titel longer than 10 minuten...WTF?!?!?!? are you insane to steel my time for something i paid for?!??!? chasing szenes and you dont know where to go...really, don't play this crap.
  19. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    The game is a disgrace to the franchise. I couldn't finish the game because of some of the flaws with the game. Returned it, got my money back. Good
    1. The game is very large. For awhile I was complaining about how ACB and ACR had small maps, well this game would surely shut any of those complaints up. 2. There are a lot of missions in this game. Plenty of things to do. Bad
    The
    fact that I can't think of more than 2 good things about the game is a bad sign

    1. The combat is horrible. Basically the combat is circle to counter and square to attack. Even the first assassins creed game had more than 2 buttons used for combat. Certain enemies are nearly impossible to kill because you have no clue how to fight because it is completely counter intuitive and way too far from the other games.

    2. To make matters worse, the game doesn't have enough assassination missions. The game is basically you running around butchering people in broad daylight. There have been moments where guards will just randomly start attacking you, maybe it was because I killed too many guards, I don't know because there is no indicator for this like in the other games... 3. They took out abilities in the game for no reason at all.

    Want to jog? Nope can't do that! L1 = sprint, not L1 + X
    Want to kick your enemy? Nope, remember circle and square are the only 2 actions
    Want to air assassinate? Nope, never opportunities to air assassinate since the game is basically a bunch of wooden houses spread far apart.
    Can I leap while climbing? NOPE

    4. Quicktime events. If you played RE6 before this game, you probably never want to see quicktime events ever again. Well bad news, they are all over the game. Random wolf attacks you, QTE, fail you pretty much die. THIS IS ALL OVER THE ENTIRE GAME. 5. You have no clue what the hell is going on. I actually found that I no longer cared, Connor is a boring character with no development at all. He is basically Jack the Ripper.

    6. I liked assassins creed 2 the most because the game offered a ton of beautiful maps. Florence and Venice are great locations. Sure they aren't as big as the maps in this game, but they are more dense and full of more life. I think it was a mistake to approach the american revolution as the setting. I want to go back to the renaissance era. Summary

    The game is garbage. I gave RE6 a 4/10, the fact that this is getting a 3/10 means that the game is basically unplayable. Sure RE6 had **** quicktime events, but at least the game mechanics weren't absolute **** 50% of my score is based off of the controls, and if the controls suck ass then the game is basically worthless.
    Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    If you are looking for a contender of the Most Boring Game of The Year Award, look no further! It floods you with "content", i.e. hunting, trading (via caravans), micro-management of your homestead's economy, but all of this feels so tacked on, I really do not see any point in it. The missions are mostly repetitive, quickly over (luckily), and take place in surroundings that mostly look the same all over. Controls are awkward and clumsy, parcouring in the trees is horrible. The cast is forgettable, the protagonist completely uninspiring. On top, the modern-times missions are still more frustrating and unbelievable! Do buy this game to complete your collection, but not to have a good time playing it. Expand
  21. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Boring game... 0 Gameplay... Every little part is automatic. I hope, for the next episode, to have an automatic control, so i can only watch the game and don't play it.
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have given a better score, but am a bit disappointed in this title. It was one if the highly anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are the highest point for me. The storyline lacks, when compared to the other titles in this franchise. We all know the storyline of the assassins verses the Templars. But when I discovered the plot twist of the assassin and the lead Templar in this title, working together. I put my controller down, ejected the game from my ps3 console. That is exactly how disappointed I was. Not to mention the horrible control of naval vessels for naval warfare. I find it ridiculous that ubisoft didn't take enough time to develope this, and made a joke to the assassins creed series. Expand
  23. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    I gave up on this I got that bored. I live this series but my heart sank when I saw that they had moved the setting from Europe to America. I have nothing against America but the trailer just made it look like you we're in trees from anywhere land. Guess what? That's what this game is like to play. You wander around, do the annoying captain first bit before moving onto the Indian second bit and then it goes all Red Dead Redemption on you. Skin this, set a trap for that, wander through lots of snow. None of which are very interesting at all tbh. The towns are non-descript, they could be from anywhere. The dialogue is crap, the story doesn't hook you at all. And will developers of games please learn that we do not want to wander for hours to do missions, it was annoying enough in Red Dead at times but this is worse. All in all this game is just another cash cow. Up to Revelations I have loved this series. The wonderful backdrops, the engaging story, the brilliant characters and the way it added a little bit more every time it came out. This feels like a massive step backwards. Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Sadly, this is a game that just doesn't feel fresh. There isn't enough new or exciting in terms of gameplay to distinguish this from AC2 part 4. After playing all the Ezio games I was not only beginning to tire of the same old stuff gameplay wise, but also very disappointed in how unlikable Connor is, especially when compared to Ezio or even Haytham. I wish I could have played as Haytham for the entire game instead. I did play the game through to the end, which is saying something I guess, but I really have no desire to go back and try to complete more side missions or unlock or explore anything else. The ending also felt like a real let down. I remember almost crying at the end of Metal Gear 3 because of how beautiful it was. The ending of this game left me feeling empty and thinking "That's it?" Expand
  25. Nov 3, 2012
    2
    AC3 is largely disappointing. There's no improvement over previous iterations in any way that matters and it, in fact, fails where prior games didn't. To start, the first six sequences are literally a drawn out and exceedingly padded tutorial. Every minute game mechanic gets its own mission. It's unforgivably stupid, particularly given that game plays exactly like previous AC games in every regard and that the mechanics are incredibly simple to begin with. I can't imagine ever wanting to play through this game again simply due to that. The game is only twelve sequences long and five of them are tutorials. It's ridiculously blatant padding. Combat is exactly the same in most regards though you're even more powerful that previous games. It's prettier but that's the most that can be said for it. There is absolutely no reason to ever buy new weapons as your base set can handle every foe in the game with ease. Like the entirety of the game economy, it's pointless and cosmetic time wasting that in no way effects the game. Equally superfluous is the Assassin mechanic taken from Brotherhood. Not once ever in the game will you need to use it expect when the game forces you to. That brings me to the biggest gripe: the missions. They are the least imaginative and most frustratingly rote main missions since the first AC. What game designer in their right mind thinks eavesdropping is a fun and interesting mechanic. Worse, there are missions that require it along with other requisites. Given that there is no real stealth mechanic and the checkpoint system is senseless you will be forced to listen to same conversation a lot. And about the stealth mechanics? Exactly the same as previous games but now you can lean around corners. "Stealth" still only involves hopping from cover to cover as opposed to, you know, being stealthy? In this day and age the mechanic is so dated it's an insult. It's incredibly jarring to be hiding then try to move to the next cover and Connor pops out and walks around like he's taking a Sunday stroll. Also, the main missions are so scripted it removes all player agency to a ridiculous degree. What's the point of a sandbox game where you can't apply creativity and the supplied tools to the task? Chasing someone? Don't bother doing anything other than what the game tells you. You'll start over. Catch up with your target prior to the subscribed time? Don't bother. He's invulnerable until the game says so. Don't bother thinking, just go from point A to point B like the game tells you to. The vast majority if the main missions are incredibly constricted like this, not to mention uncreative and dull. Many are outright misleading. Don't listen to NPCs when they tell how to order your men in the major battles. You'll get overwhelmed. Just run back and forth like a fool giving the order to fire as soon as able and your fine. That's just the game designers talking to you through an NPC trying to give the impression they put a lot more thought into they did. The naval battles on the other hand are quite fun. They are also the only reason to bother with tedium of the incredibly clunky convoy mechanics. The ship upgrades are fairly expensive and, unlike everything else in the game that you buy, they actually effect gameplay. Everything else you do to upgrade the homestead is cosmetic and you'll have to slog through incredibly bad designed menus to do it. All the menus are horrible actually. Like previous games you can instantly look at the database entry for historic tidbits. You'll quickly tire if that though as you end up in a giant nested hierarchy that requires you to back out of all of it to get back to the game. Your weapon menu? There's a minor load every time you use it. Want to use any of your many tools? Same menu and you have to wonkily scroll through and ever growing list to even switch through staple things like whistling for your horse. In other words they somehow found a way to make the controls more clunky that prior games. Not everything is bad. The world is pretty though the cities naturally lack the verticality of prior games. It's not even that everything is bad, it's just more of the same. Same dodgy stealth. Same bizarre AI that can't detect you in a two foot bush but can spot you from miles away otherwise. Same lack of meaningful economy. Same senselessly placed guards hanging out on rooftops when no guards ever historically did that. Same guards that climb as well as you. What's so special about your abilities if even lowly militia can do everything you can? Same combat rhythm with the same trope of certain guards needing certain counters to hurt them. There's no step forward here like Ubisoft claimed. The mechanics have dated for years and they just put shinier window dressing on them. So if you liked the old games you'll likely enjoy this one. For me, I too often felt like a pawn running from one cutscene to the next. Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The Assassin's Creed Franchise has never been one that I've been interested in, mainly because I'm not one for stealth games and prefer some more direct, straightforward combat. Some of that may be the reason why it was such a pain in the ass to enjoy this game, but it's not like that I know nothing of the basic fundamentals of sneak. See, the real issue here with "ASS GREED FREE" (as I like to call it sometimes) is that the main player character, throughout most of the AC franchise has never had the ability to crouch while sneaking, often being quite out in the open when he's not. I know that may not seem conspicuous when in towns, but when you involve yourself in the NorthEast Americas trudging through the wilderness, you kind of hope to sneak whilst having every enemy notice you. Anyhow, let's start with the story. I played fragments of this game here and there (despite beating it whole), but I'm pretty sure that even if I got to play the game without missing out on particular story elements, it wouldn't help with my overall disinterest in it. Not to mention that a game that is set during the peak of the American Revolution may scream "Interesting", but somehow, it doesn't. WE get a pretty stale template of a main character both in and out of the Animus, the inner being the still snarky and whiny Desmond Miles, and the outer being Connor Kenway, a American-Indian who seems to hold a pretty dismissive opinion about pretty much everything going on around him, about his Father's plea to make truce with the Templars, the stakes of the American Revolution, about his own villages misfortune of being pushed aside for the war, all of it just seems to nod off his shoulder as "meh". The combat and HUD is confused and convoluted, often do you have to go through the entire motion of killing the same guy if you happen to need to counter another or get hit, and some enemies are near impossible to counter at all unless you just exploit Smoke Bombs or Rope Darts, and since the enemies share a universal stealth detection, once one notices you, they all do. The ability to climb trees apart from buildings assumes that the spaceity of the wilderness is more varied, but it merely comes down to copy and pasted trees that are usually force-made to be parkoured across from. The lack of hiding places apart from their always signature hay stacks is also quite abhorrent, not to mention sort of messing with the context of a particular area too. Crafting and Supplies is also confusing, as to how you are able to find the workers you need or the correct side quests to start such, evidently winding down to getting more "Pounds" to upgrade your ship and arm yourself and pretty much nothing more. The only silver lining behind this small disaster is the Ship sections themselves, as you are excitingly pitted against ships as you can almost feel like a pirate (but that, my friends, will be left for the AC 4 Review). Also, why is it that you have to find some secret chest in order to get silver ingots which pretty much are essential for the one thing that is essential? Anyhow, overall this game is a frustrating little mess to get through, with the convoluted combat mechanics to the directionless navigation to the boring narrative structure. Expand
  27. Oct 30, 2012
    1
    I just started it but so far i hate it. The Gameplay is the only thing that covered everything else. I hate the new system for everything. Animus Messages .. The **** and the gameplay itself is **** it was to fluent and you could barely control what was happening. In the last 5 games (including the one for the psp) the game felt stabilized and calm but in this ugh..... I wish they didn't change that up the game is honestly a sack of **** and i Loved this series sooooooo much but the control's like changing the counter button to be and the camera angles when you're in combat is why i hate this game. Also the menu. OMG it's to ****ing retarded the way how you have to use the right stick ad thing's like that, this is a bad way to end a series. Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I have been playing games and perusing Metacritic for years. ACIII is the first game to disappoint to such a degree as to drive me to comment. Wandering, lackluster, and frustrating. Ubi should be ashamed. This game can only meekly stand in the shadow of its predecessors. Go back, do it again, and get it right.
  29. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This is so disappointing, missing audio, floating rifles, people disappear in the middle of a battle, assassinate mission where the target is missing... Never, and i mean never have i played a more flawed game, Ubisoft should be kicking themselves for delivering this piece of garbage...
    How can you release such a flawed game and still demand money is beyond my comprehension...
    What a do-over -_-
  30. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    Game is okay. The story is the only thing saving it at this point. Don't be surprised when glitches occur often and you are able to kill a group of 30 enemies by yourself with ease.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.