User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1095 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    "Who is responsible for ruining this once great franchise?" I'm going to get right to the point. This game is by far distances the worst in the series, it's simply not a good game, not only is it a bad AC game, it's just a bad game, period. You see, when there was backlash a year ago about Skyrim, it got a low score from fans here on Metacritic but not because the game was bad, it was because the game was bugged. When MW3 got a low score, it wasn't because the game is crap, it was because it was the same game being released year in and out. Earlier this year when Mass Effect 3 got poor ratings, it was because it had a terrible ending, not because the game was bad. Assassins creed 3 on the other hand suffers from everything those games got scrutinized for, and more. The story and ending are absolutely awful, the story in this series easily went from a very well thought out sci-fi/historical NY times best seller to a high school short story assignment which would have been graded an F, and unlike ME3 which had a great story not including the ending, this game suffers from poor story telling start to finish. The gameplay, there is hardly anything new here, what previous versions of the series did, they did well, here not only did previous gameplay mechanics get worse, but the little additions they brought in were either boring, or handled very poorly, with respect to naval battles. Unlike MW3 where everyone expected it to be the same, and was being sold as such with minor tweaks, AC3 was being sold as a bigger leap from AC2, than AC2 had from AC1, which is a complete and utter lie. The bugs, this game has so many bugs, it may not rival the likes of Skyrim on PS3, but there's a huge difference, Skyrim was actually a fantastic game, this is not. I have been a huge fan of the series since the first game, I've played every single game several times, watched short videos, read comics, played the handheld games. I have been a huge fan, AC2 is easily my game of the generation. AC3 on the other hand is my flop of the generation. It's missing so many core features previous installments had, from the non existent ambient music playing while exploring to the complete lack of stealth. The game is a mess from start to finish, it's really hard to invest yourself in the world or the characters, it's hard to care about them, Connor is absolutely boring, Desmond's story is a joke, the ending a disaster. You get tossed around so much during this game that it makes it feel like you are jumping from one thing to another, there's no clear path to anything, and it's not that there's a lack of hand holding, because that's all this game does for you is hold your hand, make sure not to let go as well, because if you try to approach an objective in a way you see more suitable, you will fail. You have to do it the way the developer wants you to do it, they want you to be their puppet. Well, I'm sorry but I refuse to be one and this will be my last AC game. Whoever was in charge of hiring the team that worked on AC3, forfeit your life savings, get on your knees and beg Patrice Désilets to return because he was the visionary behind this once great series. Even those who worked on Brotherhood and Revelations knew what the game was about, and they had much less time to do it all. This team, given 3 years showed us that they are nothing but a team of failures and their lack of experience really really shows. Heartbroken. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Assassins Creed 2 and Revelations are two of my favorite games of all time,,, This is not one of those............I found this game frustrating and annoying. The frustrating following and fail missions take away from the potential of greatness. It's also a sloppy mess. Game breaking bugs all over are inexcusable. Some or many of the missions are so linear with one path or fail way to play you wonder how they got away with marketing it as open world. I had to follow a guy in the city, had to start over so many times I cursed constantly at how they could do this to me for my hard earned dollars. Some of the combat is fun, the cities look great. I don't know if I'll play multiplayer as much of it is timed fail missions. I'm sorry, a lot of this game is not fun, frustrating and down right excessively boring... Starting over and over and over is the worst thing in gaming and cant get how they thought that would be fun... Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    Alex Hutchinson. I don't think I need to say more other than he absolutely slaughtered this series and he needs to find a new profession, but I will. He's made so many poor choices that have turned a once AAAA series into a piece of crap. There are so many things about this game that are awful that I simply do not know where to begin, nor do I feel like touching up on all of them as it would take too long, but for those who have been huge fans of the series and have played this game will know what I'm talking about. For those who are fans but are yet to play AC3, be warned that this is no longer Assassins Creed. They gutted it and slaughtered it. Alex Hutchinson had a horrible resume before he began working on one of the biggest endings to a trilogy this generation, whoever hired this failure made a huge mistake, and if he has any involvement in any potential future titles I will not be purchasing them, I'd like to see him removed from the industry all together. I've purchased every Assassins Creed game brand new to support great artists, but from now on, I'll buy used because I'm simply heartbroken over what they have done with this series, and the ending, I find it worse than Mass Effect 3, maybe because I'm more invested in AC than I am ME. Regardless, the ending makes me wish I never bothered paying attention to the story from AC1 forward. Then of course there's the boring protagonist, the flat setting, the lack of ambient music, the horrible main missions, the controls, how they destroyed controls that took nearly 5 years to perfect. Alex promised us challenging combat, lies. Bigger leap on gameplay from 2 to 3 than there was from 1 to 2, lies. Don't believe the critic scores, it's an 85 average which pretty much says, this is the lowest we can score this title without losing advertising benefits. Read the user reviews, the ones from the long time AC fans, not the ones who just started playing this year, the ones who have invested 5 years into the series, they know how bad this game is, and how badly Alex ruined this series with his lack of experience and vision. Ubisoft, fire this man. This game does have some great qualities to it, such as the climate changes, the graphics, the naval battles, but just like a sinking ship, it's hard to focus on anything good when the entirety of the game is drowning in it's many failures. The bottom line is, they made it look pretty, but it doesn't make up for the amount of crap this game spews at you, it's insulting really, Alex Hutchinson, remove yourself from the industry, or go back to making titles with low expectations because you are not fit for the big leagues, and to whoever decided to give Alex this position, it might be time to retire, clearly your judgement is horrible. **** YOU ALEX! Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    I'm surprised the user review average is this high and the critic review average is that low. This is usually the kind of game, part of a large series or not, that divides people completely. On the one hand, it's beautiful and cinematic and the story/characters feel fantastic. On the other hand, what a dreadful gameplay experience. If you think ACIII is going to be amazing because the past titles were done well enough and you were promised something better, don't feel bad as we all bought the hype. However, Resident Evil 6 was proof that even a high-budget AAA title from a company used to making quality titles could go from releasing super good games to "ugh, what is up with the controls and why did I just glitch through that thing and oh god my system is heating up" disasters. And ACIII is no different. Not only have some of the controls been remapped but the style of combat and exploration has also been greatly retooled for the worse. Riding horses is a nightmare, the new lockpicking minigame is a hassle, you have to chase collectibles, gone is the 'low profile' control set, guns have curiously gotten LESS advanced as time has progressed, and stealth seems to be not only completely optional but totally unnecessary except for those pass-or-fail missions where getting caught means a "try again" cutscene that plays into a loading screen. I loved the first 4 AAA titles in the series and I will complete this game as well because I'm a huge fan of the AC universe. But I will tell you right now, I won't enjoy it nearly as much as I was led to believe. I'm quite a ways into it and it just feels... unfinished and lacking in structure. ACII remains the best in the series by far. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    0
    A series ends brethren! That's it, no more Assassin's Creed in future. I cannot go into details without spoiling, so I just say they pulled off Mass Effect 3 with this game. What a shame to see a legacy end like this. At least the story of Connor was good, whilst the story of Desmond was not. Funny how Lucy was never mentioned, looks like had no clue how to make a satisfying ending. It just come tumbeling down. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I have been playing games and perusing Metacritic for years. ACIII is the first game to disappoint to such a degree as to drive me to comment. Wandering, lackluster, and frustrating. Ubi should be ashamed. This game can only meekly stand in the shadow of its predecessors. Go back, do it again, and get it right.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    1
    I just started it but so far i hate it. The Gameplay is the only thing that covered everything else. I hate the new system for everything. Animus Messages .. The **** and the gameplay itself is **** it was to fluent and you could barely control what was happening. In the last 5 games (including the one for the psp) the game felt stabilized and calm but in this ugh..... I wish they didn't change that up the game is honestly a sack of **** and i Loved this series sooooooo much but the control's like changing the counter button to be and the camera angles when you're in combat is why i hate this game. Also the menu. OMG it's to ****ing retarded the way how you have to use the right stick ad thing's like that, this is a bad way to end a series. Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2012
    1
    This is the worst game in the series. I have more frustration than fun playing this. First is the performance, the texture pop-in is ridiculous in the city. Second thing is the counter system, the new counter system doesn't work, if I counter a guy with a hidden blade, it should be instant kill. Why the f can they counter me?! NO! Just no! The third thing is the main character, Connor is just some generic angry guy, Altair and Ezio were much better main characters. Fourth thing is the lack of customization, there's no armors to buy for Connor, combine that with the broken counter system, the combat is frustrating and not fun. Fifth and this is the reason that made me quit playing the game and give this game such a harsh score, the fking Thomas Hickey chase! I hope your bonus is tie in someway to Metacritic scores, whatever team that designed this mission, you deserve to get your bonus reduced for this damn mission! In all other AC games, you're a damn assassin, you run faster than the target you're chasing, but I've been playing for more than 15x, still Thomas Hickey runs faster, wtf?! This is with patch 1.01 btw, so if anything, the patch should've fixed well known issues like this. Don't buy this game, save your money and watch the ending on YouTube, that's what I plan to do. F this game. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    This is the worst Assassin's Creed in the series (I think is even worse than Revelations...). The story of this game is absolute boring, specially the past part wich is the 80% of the game, but the Desmond story was even worse... Specially the ending which is specially bad, not to mention all the bugs that game haves, it feels like an unfinished game. If you want a real AC experience just play AC2 and AC:B instead of this game... About the online part, at fist looks good, but it doesn't have many variety on places to play, and most of them looks the same. Also all the customization parts for characters are overpriced, I already have played like 70 times online, I'm in level 31 and I still doesn't have enough credits to allow me to buy character stuff, only skills.. obviously they want us to spend real money on it, also the rewards (videos) for leveling up on the online game are not good as the ones in AC:R.

    So, I'm afraid this is not an AAA title anymore. Not buying another AC on the release.
    Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This is so disappointing, missing audio, floating rifles, people disappear in the middle of a battle, assassinate mission where the target is missing... Never, and i mean never have i played a more flawed game, Ubisoft should be kicking themselves for delivering this piece of garbage...
    How can you release such a flawed game and still demand money is beyond my comprehension...
    What a do-over -_-
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    1
    What the hell did they do to this series? Whoever was the lead director of this game is a complete fool. Shame on Ubisoft for allowing the Assassin's Creed brand to get **** on so hard. Long time fan, but this is it. I'm done with the series. That ending, are you F'n kidding me? What a joke, this is what we waited so long for? The game is boring, the pacing is horrible, it feels like the majority of the game is just a tutorial, the atmosphere is a bore compared to previous titles, the main character just lacks any sort of personality, the music, where the hell is the music this series is known for? ugh, the game sucks, if your a fan and just want to know how the story ends, then watch cut scenes on youtube or at least wait for a price drop and buy used, it won't be long, trust me. But prepare yourself for a huge let down, from gameplay to story, Revelations which was considered a cash in by many but was leaps ahead of this game in terms of being an Assassins Creed game. This, well this just stinks. This game isn't a 0/10 to be honest, it is fun at times, but I want this series to either end, or go back to what it was known for, and that was being a great franchise, not a polished turd. 1/10 Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Boring game... 0 Gameplay... Every little part is automatic. I hope, for the next episode, to have an automatic control, so i can only watch the game and don't play it.
  14. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Way too many glitches in this game to take it seriously. People you are supposed to defend just freezing up, horses that are harder to drive than tanks, and glitchy enemy AI that can see through walls and never loses your trail. If you are a person that likes to 100% games, this is definitely not for you. Something as simple as "do not get damaged while crossing this path" is impossible as there are no warnings to locations that are hit, and "do not get detected" is like threading a needle with an elephant. I would not recommend anyone to play this game as they would likely end up as I am, ready to throw my controller through the tele. Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Story was, by far, the worst of the entire series.

    Conner was a mental midget who spends the entire game acting like a petulant six year old.

    On the flip side, actual game mechanics were mostly solid, with some improvements over previous games in the series. Unfortunately, I love(d) the AC story, and Conner's story was so bad, and Desmond's "end" was so bad, I have to give AC 3 a 4.
  16. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    99% of the 10's are just Ubisoft employee's. The game isn't much of a step up from the last 3 AC games. That being said, its a waste of money. I'd rather spend that hard earned money on a hooker or drugs rather than Assassin's Creed 2.4

    Please Try Before You Buy!!!! Don't listen to the reviews here! Have a nice day. Its up to you to form your own opinion after trying it, personally I
    thought it was appalling. Expand
  17. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. Having owned (AND STILL OWN) every Assassins Creed since the beginning, this is especially disappointing. AC2 was perfection... Brotherhood and Revelations were obviously re-skinned cash grabs, so I was hopeful for AC III. But, unsurprisingly, it has been the worst, robbing me of EVERYTHING I loved from the series. And at this point I honestly, wholehearted WISH they would've just re-skinned AC II AGAIN. No freaking wonder Patrice Désilets left such a garbage company. You don't deserve the rights to his game. I hope the same series that saved you from bankruptcy drives you right back down into the ground when your "fans" realize you're robbing them. Expand
  18. Nov 4, 2012
    2
    I loved all of the previous AC games and was really looking forward to this one.

    Unfortunately, this game is bad. If it were the first in the series it would be the only one made.

    Like most of the previous games, they changed the combat controls. Where these changes previously made combat more fluid and enjoyable in previous titles, the combat in this game is clumsy and unrewarding.
    The stealth aspect has also been changed for the worse- the cues you get as to whether or not you're in stealth are minimal, and the open world areas are simply annoying- once you finally get to them after playing a third of the game. Getting to that point feels like a chore, however, since there are so many cutscenes that you aren't really playing the game as you are spending a couple minutes fighting a horrible camera and clunky controls until you stumble into the part of the game that triggers another five minute long cutscene. I'm not kidding. The first third of the game is more cut-scenes than actual game play.

    The things that made the previous games great: the fluid combat, the entertaining side quests, and the open-world parkour-like climbing have been replaced with large open areas where you just run forever along boring repetitive flat ground, and then they threw in some QTE sequences and the ability to... kill bears, deer and beavers.

    The graphics are not as good as the previous games in the series, and the plot is so boring that a third of the way through I honestly stopped caring if any of the characters actually lived or died.

    They took all of the annoying parts of the previous games and built an entire game around those then threw in a water-thin plot and a horrendous camera then changed the controls to make them even more cumbersome and called it a day. Rather than buying this game, you should just play the earlier titles in this series and hope that if they make another AC that it's actually good.
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Unlike previous installments, this one doesn't really tell a story, it's just a series of strung together missions with minimal transition between. The numerous gameplay and graphical glitches make it a chore to play, and I find that I am forcing myself to play through and just not enjoying this game like I did with the previous installments. Even the original AC was easier to swallow than this because it had a cohesive storytelling mechanism, but this lacks the thought and polish of even the original installment. Had Ubi put even a modicum of polish into this installment that they had in any of the previous ones, or taken the lessons learned from any of the prior 4 major console releases, this would have been a masterpiece, but in its current state, this is almost a big a steaming pile as Duke Nukem Forever. Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW Well, thanks god I'm not the only one who sees that this game is really bad. As more people here, I've been an AC fan since first day, I've all cómics, books and games, even the little ones for Android and IOS, I've beaten AC1 ( my favorite ) 18 times, AC2 12, BH 8 and Revelations 3 and I have all superior editions ( Black, Códex, Animus and Freedom ). Not much people can say that they love AC as I do, but this game, AC3 is such a s**t. It's like Ubisoft got all the ingredients, but they didn't know how to cook it, this game could have been the very best AC, they had the history context, they had the graphics, the maps, the varied missions, the best combat in all the saga, and they have screw it up. AC is not famous for his combat or varied missions, it's famous for the story that it has, one of the best stories ever on videogames industry, it's almost as epic as Metal Gear Solid ( which I love even more than AC ), but this game has ruined that history, I wish this game didn't exist, what a boring and EMPTY story, the "epics" moments in this story are empty, that's the main problem of this game, If an important character dies, it doesn't hurt, not like previous games when I almost cried, and the whole history has holes, it's not narrated properly.

    So... I've been talking about Connor's story, but Desmond story is horrible too, I don't want to spoil you, but seriosly, what a bad story, It's ruined. And the bugs in this game are really upseting, fast travel points that desapear, NPCs that doesn't walk, NCPS popping in front of you as you walk on the city, game freezes, lot of secondary missions bugged, it's really horrible, please don't buy this game. I'm realy disappointed with UbiSoft, they did the worst work ever, they are really important developers and they have lost all my respects and all really fan's respect. And... you know what? The worst thing they did, it's that they have lied to all of us. They said that they would end Desmond's story and they didn't. When I was at the end of the game, I was like, well, after 5 years, finally I'm gonna give and end for this amazing story, but It doen'st end. If you say that this game is good, you have no idea about what you are saying, I can't handle a 7, but no more than that, this game s**ks, thank you so much UbiSoft, you have ruined one of the best sagas ever.
    Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    This game would have been excellent if the amount of bugs didn't wreak havoc on the game play. Seriously, I couldn't play an hour without having to reload the game, or exit to the Animus, or restart at a checkpoint because I fell through the ground, or a hay horse drove me through the wall of a building, or I got stuck in a falling animation without falling. Some more? Cannon Balls stuck in the air, sound dropping out during an important scene, music stopping. Raiding forts and killing the captain just to realize the "dead" captain is still displayed as an objective and having to exit the fort and restart from scratch. I'm sorry, this game should've never been released. Get a new testing team or more of them. The game is unplayable crap and this will be the first one I did not finish. What a waste of 60 bucks. Expand
  22. Dec 23, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The UI is terrible, very confusing. Crafting, Buying Menu is causing headache. The menu is very annoying. The character is easy to forget. Not a good character. The story is terrible. I even don't know or remember what the story really taking me. Some bugs (ex. Character talking but the lips don't move) . I'm a big fans of Assassin Creed series but this one is disappointing. It is not fun and even frustrating. The graphic is worse than Assassin Creed: Brotherhood. It should have been better. The designer is lack of creativity. This is the reason: 1. Now, there is 'Analyze Clue' when hunting -> I think this copying Batman game where you can analyze something, 2. The combo fight also copy Batman game, 3. The weapon Menu (press and hold R2) it is copying Metal Gear Solid game weapon menu, 4. The interactive game play when facing wild animal (hunting) is copying God of War. WHERE IS ORIGINALITY? Where is the Assassin Creed Game that I love? Where is the AC game that is fun? Something that I love to play over and over again? The last series (AC III) is just very frustrating and not fun. When I play this, the boredom and frustration is cancelling the fun. I give 2 score for this. 1 is for the effort for developer to make the last installment of the AC series. And 1 is because I'm the fans of AC series. For the game play, character, design (the first time I see the city design it's like WHAT? it's nothing compared to AC:Brotherhood city design like Venice, Rome, etc. It's definitely lack of the atmosphere of AC game that it should be), story I will not give any score. It is just so disappointing. Expand
  23. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    Really disappointing. Have played all the other AC games, and this seemed like a return to the bad points of the first game. Quite repetitive and constrained, and also really annoying how you can't fully upgrade your homestead if you miss an upgrade during an earlier sequence. Hope the next one is an improvement...
  24. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Expected much more than I got. It really is unfortunate that they'd incorporate such a bad ending in an attempt to milk the series in the future. Don't expect anything groundbreaking.
  25. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    Normally love the Creed... but really didn't like this game at all. It has so many bugs, online servers offline a lot. forgettable boring characters and the story means nothing to me as an international player. The game keeps talking about people like i should know who they are... game tries and fails to rip off Red Dead Redemption. Americans might get something out of this...
  26. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    Game is okay. The story is the only thing saving it at this point. Don't be surprised when glitches occur often and you are able to kill a group of 30 enemies by yourself with ease.
  27. Nov 4, 2012
    3
    i really wanted to like this game. i liked the ones that came before and was hoping it would at least come close. but really, the glitches, bugs and AI are a total PITA. riding a horse on top of a house is funny the first time but it gets old fast. in fact, riding a horse in general gets old fast. you're walking around incongnito and get ambushed by 30+ guards but later on you practically jump a guard and they barely notice. wha? and what's with the screwy controls? why make 4 games the same and change the last one when your audience is most likely going to be made up of the ones that liked the first few games? and by "change" i mean "make totally sucky". the main missions are pretty linear and boring and don't leave much for the player to think about. the menus are a labyrinth to navigate, and that's not a compliment. accessing the map alone is a drag. and why are there more cutscenes than gameplay? at least that's how it feels most of the time. and how boring and pointless were the guild/trading elements? it seems to me that ubisoft just tried to cram in too much into one game, not really developing anything except for the scenery, which is the only reason it got any points at all. in a nutshell: a pretty, but boring and frustrating game. Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    okey one gud thin abowt this gaame is the kniphes (even tho they copeed cod obviosly) anyway

    theres guns in the game but al the enormies hav them lyk wtf?!?! i want to shut the noobs!! an sometyms wen i try to knyf them they spot me lyk WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IM AN ASASSAIN TEY CARNT SPOOT ME srsly not an assasasin wen dey spot me lol also no ninga/comando perks pffffffffft evry1
    noes dat any oober bakstaber neds those perks and they guy is like HUH and runs an stufs an doosent use guns lol
    wat a lord of rubish 1/10 only for stabs
    Expand
  29. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    This game was a MAJOR disappointment. The characters are bland in my opinion, and you can't go into the major battles like in the trailers. You have to stay on a scripted path, and if you go off the path, you die. What happened Ubisoft?
  30. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    Underwhelming. My favorite AC was Brotherhood since we got a fully skilled Ezio and a group of assassins to train and command. Revelations was more of the same and it was quite fun, but not the breakthrough that I though Brotherhood was. This game was supposed to be the best of all worlds, apparently taking the longest of all of the AC games to create, but ends up less fun than all of the previous games. The main character and story were pretty boring and you only get to train 6 assassins. And you only get to use the assassins while in a city, which is only for about a third of the game. And it takes most of the game to even recruit all of the assassins, so really you only have all 6 assassins for 10 minutes of the game. And you don't even get to induct them into your secret society because the main character is pretty much a phony who doesn't even know why or if he's even really an assassin. Which kind of makes me not know why I'm even playing the game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.