User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1037 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    a lot of technical error harm this great game the graphics very good and sound tracks impressive and the story not as good as the last 4 games but still very good and must by for ps3 owner
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    I'm about to laugh at all the negative reviewers because I think they just need to calm down. The introduction of the game is about 2 hours and yes it "forces" you through a lot of stuff, but AC3 wasn't designed for idiots with no patience. AC3 is for those die-hard fans who love the plot, and so these 2 hours are putting you through plot that you MUST endure if you have followed the story previously. DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME UNTIL YOU'VE PLAYED THE OTHERS. And if you're impatient and lazy and stupid then just don't bother. You will love the graphics and gameplay because the devs have put blood sweat and tears into those domains, but the game is mostly for the plot and the love. It's deep and will keep getting deeper. AC 4 LYFE!!! Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Ok after playing a good half hour of it I can safety say that this will probably be my game of the year. Without spoiling much, the game seems to be much more cinematic that the previous titles. Even the theme song is epic and seems like something pulled put of a movie. Same goes with the intro mission of the game. It feels grand. The score really does it for me though. Its just epic. Anyone who's having second doubts, just buy it. Anyone who's new to the series, a great place to start although I would recommend playing the previous ones (maybe skip ac1 ) Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I just got the game tonight, and so far it's my favorite AC, even beats 2. New animations looks slick and smooth, graphics are pretty good, and game-play is your typical AC-game. Connor is on par as a character with Ezio for me. I also liked the first naval battle, it was something fresh for the series. Also the scenery is really nice in the game, I've already grown tires of Italy, so that's also +. I highly recommend this game. :) Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    If you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have been slightly tweaked so it may take a battle or two for fans to get accustomed to. As usual the story and realism of the environment is what really stand out here, developers have outdone themselves this go around. It all culminates into one spectacular experience that players won't soon forget. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Let me start of by saying Assassins Creed II was one of my favorite games because it was such a step forward from Assassins Creed 1. . I Hated brotherhood and revolution because i felt like they where the same game. And they didnt change much at all compared to AC2. I was worried that this might happen for AC3. Apsolutely not.! the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is amazing and they are after changing alot of things about this game. i would mark it a 10 but i find one thing wrong with this game. it sometimes lags a bit ! but other than that. Perfect Expand
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I was worried at first about the setting but its really turned out to be a great experience. The graphics first off are great. Landscape and buildings are good enough to interest you in walking around old america to see the original cities. Combat is fun as expected and guns dont damage it nearly as bad as id expected. Theres plenty of cutscenes to keep you fully interested in whats going on and who it involves so you always want to keep playing just to see more story. It really is an amazing entry to the series and i find myself hoping to see more games come out involving this timeframe.so knowing i walked into this game uninterested and not wanting such a jump in time setting to saying hey this game is a 10 was a shock to me. But i do love it thats for sure. It was well done Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I'm going to give it a 9 out of 10 just to let you know this game is awesome! i love the AC games and to me this is the best so far....so if your looking for a fun and awesome game get Assassin's creed 3
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Just reviewing these reviews..I can't believe there's a negative review @ all..I mean to each is own, but to say this game isn't creative brilliance is just ridiculous..If u are a fan of AC series, then you'll be happy to know, that it has everything you love about it, times 10!!!!...I'm not going to spoil it for anybody, but with the size of the game and the wealth of content, its probably the best bargain in video games this year..AC games are meant to be played patient and methodical, just as their protagonists are...so if you're not playing the game the way it was created, then its an injustice to the franchise...Great game in every facet Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    AC3 is the best experience i have ever played. Tree climbing pushes the limits and really feels next gen, The Combat has improved tremendously and is now more challenging. The side missions have a lot of effort put in to them. The story of Connor is the most compelling i have played and he is now my favourite assassin. The story of his village and community and how he becomes an assassin is the best yet. Expand
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    It's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negarive 0's from trolls, my real score is 8.5/10. Expand
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    OK Im a fan of the franchise but Ill try and be honest here. From what I've seen of the game so far impresses me. Im not sure why its getting such negative feedback from others. Maybe because they played it before launch day and missed the patch. Have played for several hours and not seen any of the mentioned glitch. One thing I will say it that its SLOW to start and maybe that's why its turning people away. Yes its a bit controlling at the start and holds your hand alot but I guess that's just Ubi making the franchise playable to new people.

    I actually started by playing multiplayer and thought it was great. Now Im a COD fanboy too but this beats COD by a long shot. You actually have to use tactics and observations. Yes, your target might be right in front of you but killing them might reveal you to the bloke hunting you. Being the hunter and the hunted at the same time give a new kind of thrill.

    The single player game looks great. Graphics are very nice so I can only assume PC will be even better. I think Ubisoft should be congratulated for trying something new. Yes it isnt going to pleas everyone but I think we were all getting a bit sick of Ezio
    Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Best assassins creed game by far! Graphics are superb with minor flaws and glitches but nothing unfixable. The story is in my opinion the best I. The series as well, plus with free roam it makes it a must own game for newbies and fans alike! If you have never played AC it doesn't matter you can pick right up no confusion since you get a backstory in the beginning. Highly recommend this game to anyone and everyone! Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best game i have ever played. EVERYTHING with this game is perfection. Those things that Assassins Creed have been lacking has been fixed. It really feels like it's a new IP but at the same time it has the AC feel. AMAZING game. No doubt GOTY 12
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is no doubt game of the year. i little slow start though but a very interesting start. the environment of the game is completely insane. it looks so extremely fluid and the new AnvilNext is just AMAZING.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I think there are people who low ball video games scores just to keep them from being perfect.. This game...is in my top 5 games all-time...graphics 10, story 10, game-play 10, controls 10... see me in 8 years for game of the decade...masterpiece!
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I think to put it most simply, if you like this series you will like this game. Its better in almost every way, its not perfect but its about as close as a game gets now a days. A lot to do, multiplayer is fun, story is engaging, set pieces are cool... over all I got what I thought I would out of this game, a fun and well put together experience.
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This game is an amazing new iteration for the Assassin's Creed saga, a worthy successor to its awesome predecessors, and an epic tale where you can enjoy the incredible amount of work that Ubisoft surely invested on it. Here the American Revolution feels alive and fresh, and it comes with a multifaceted and human hero: the memorable Connor.
  20. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    People need to stop trolling, it's really makes me sad seeing trolls giving this game 0's without even stating one valid reason, this game isn't perfect but it's the best this year, way better than other rushed games that surprisngly, got better scores than this for some reason. :/
  21. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I wanted to write a short review, but there's too much to say about AC3. There must be said that it was one of the most hyped games of the year, so the expectations were high, leading some to disappointment. There must be said that Ubisoft took chances introducing new characters and gameplay mechanics in a well stated franchise. And, above all, it must be said that people don't know what they want. If a game is pretty much the same than its predecessor, people complain saing that the developer lacks ideas and only want to milk the gamers. If the game differs too much, people complain as well stating that they sacrificed the good points in the previous game and replaced it with bad points.
    That said, I must say that, indeed, AC3 was a bit disappointing, but it doesn't fail to deliver a fun gameplay, engaging story, sweet graphics and an overall really great experience. The game starts slow. This is a point that, for some, may drag down the experience of the game as a whole. But that slow start server to the purpose of introducing the story. You'd be lost if weren't for the first "slow" hours of the game. You're introduced to the new gameplay features in the first hours too. So, you can't skip it.
    As the story develops, you come across several sidequest, as in the previous titles. In the city, among the woods, farms, etc. The addition of the naval missions was the highest point in the game, in my opinion. It works so well and it is so fun and smooth you can't stop playing. They almost reached perfection simulating sails and stuff. The game is smooth like butter when you're exploring the woods. Climbing the trees, hiding in bushes, hunting, everything works just fine. I don't know about other players, but I found the gameplay in the cities very glitchy. The parkour is sometimes confusing and you end up climbing or jumping in places you don't want to. This is serious, once almost the entire game is based in parkour. I failed several missions because of a failed jump or a ledge. I don't even have to mention riding a horse in the cities. Not only in the cities, actually. It's painful. The horse just get stuck for no reason, and controling it can be a pain. Plus, there's the guards sometimes starting to chase you for no apparent reason, even when you are incognito. Besides, there are moments when animals or people get stuck in trees or walls. It's kind of funny a AAA game such as Assassin's Creed shouldn't have such silly glitches.The combat has changed a little from the previous titles. There's now a counter button, when an enemy attacks you. But it seems sloppy, because Connor hits the air so many times I can't count, but still the enemy is damaged. It's an aesthetic glitch, and I don't like it.
    About the graphics, there's nothing to complain. Is simply amazing. Everything is absolutely gorgeous. As I said, the framerate in the woods is smooth. In the city, there's occasional drops and screen tearing, specially in the pursuits.
    Now, the disappointing part. The Assassin's Creed series got me so engaged because of its complex story, involving history, religion, apocalypse, and so many other interesting things mixed up together. AC3 was supposed to be the climax of the story built upon the 4 previous titles, closing it up in a unbelievable way. Well, in fact, the ending wasn't what I expected, and it isn't a good thing. They put too little effort closing the story and (BEWARE OF THE SPOILER) just killed everyone. I think with myself that this was the inevitable way that the story would end. The first civilization, with all their powers and resources did not prevent the world from "ending", who would say the humans would do. But it seems like the effort from the assassins throughout the games were pointless. I say it again, I don't think that prevent the end of the world was possible, but I expected something far more dramatic and elaborate, just like the whole series.
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a kickass game, and as a fan, I can assure it's a great game. But the glitches prevent you of enjoying the game in full. The ending is not so bad in my opinion, but could've been better. Perhaps Ubisoft will release patches fixing the glitches in the next weeks or months. When it happens, the game take a 10 from me. Right now, it's a 9.
    Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I think that this game is huge, slow start but awesome gameplay. The naval mission are awesome, I love the new weather system are animations are as smooth as ever. I'm not done yet but this game deserves as much attention as every other AC game!
  23. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    I literally am writing this review because of the people that thought this game deserves a 1 or a 0. All i'm going to say is that this game is an amazing achievement. I understand you may have a couple of issues with certain things in the game, but in no way does it deserve a 0 or 1. The only good thing about you doing that, is that now we all know who not to listen to. Thanks...i guess
  24. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    It is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you away from enjoying this big, beautiful game it is a must buy. Expand
  25. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was brilliantly done! I loved the beautiful detail in the graphics. I also loved the story line of Connor. The fighting, personally to me, was a tad bit harder in this game which is a good thing because ACII made it too easy to fight and kill everyone. I don't to spoil anything, but I loved the background stories that you able to interact as Desmond which explains some of the unanswered questions in the second one, and opens up things that could happen in the next game. I think one of my only complaints is that it was glitchy at times, and sometimes the targets would glitch out and disappear, or you were unable to kill them. Other then that, this game is defiantly worth it, and the good does outweigh the bad things about it. Expand
  26. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing from the start I could see that this was Ubisofts most innovative and daring Assassins Creed game yet, and it paid off. There were many things in this game that should be commended such as the great new combat system and the new open frontier area that opens up so many possibilities and introduced along with it the "fun" ability to climb trees. Amazing story, great gameplay and awesome characters all together make the best Assassins' Creed game to date. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Take what has made the series great so far, and give it a face lift, then tweak the combat. Toss in a killer multi-player, and sprinkle in some good story points and you have this game. Its not without faults. I have had a few visual glitches with the environmental as well as a main character talking in a cut scene without there lips moving. But over all, the combat is what shines thru. The enhancements to the flow just feel right. I so far have greatly enjoyed this game and would recommend even if you have skipped a few or not played any at all. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.