User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1187 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    "Who is responsible for ruining this once great franchise?" I'm going to get right to the point. This game is by far distances the worst in the series, it's simply not a good game, not only is it a bad AC game, it's just a bad game, period. You see, when there was backlash a year ago about Skyrim, it got a low score from fans here on Metacritic but not because the game was bad, it was"Who is responsible for ruining this once great franchise?" I'm going to get right to the point. This game is by far distances the worst in the series, it's simply not a good game, not only is it a bad AC game, it's just a bad game, period. You see, when there was backlash a year ago about Skyrim, it got a low score from fans here on Metacritic but not because the game was bad, it was because the game was bugged. When MW3 got a low score, it wasn't because the game is crap, it was because it was the same game being released year in and out. Earlier this year when Mass Effect 3 got poor ratings, it was because it had a terrible ending, not because the game was bad. Assassins creed 3 on the other hand suffers from everything those games got scrutinized for, and more. The story and ending are absolutely awful, the story in this series easily went from a very well thought out sci-fi/historical NY times best seller to a high school short story assignment which would have been graded an F, and unlike ME3 which had a great story not including the ending, this game suffers from poor story telling start to finish. The gameplay, there is hardly anything new here, what previous versions of the series did, they did well, here not only did previous gameplay mechanics get worse, but the little additions they brought in were either boring, or handled very poorly, with respect to naval battles. Unlike MW3 where everyone expected it to be the same, and was being sold as such with minor tweaks, AC3 was being sold as a bigger leap from AC2, than AC2 had from AC1, which is a complete and utter lie. The bugs, this game has so many bugs, it may not rival the likes of Skyrim on PS3, but there's a huge difference, Skyrim was actually a fantastic game, this is not. I have been a huge fan of the series since the first game, I've played every single game several times, watched short videos, read comics, played the handheld games. I have been a huge fan, AC2 is easily my game of the generation. AC3 on the other hand is my flop of the generation. It's missing so many core features previous installments had, from the non existent ambient music playing while exploring to the complete lack of stealth. The game is a mess from start to finish, it's really hard to invest yourself in the world or the characters, it's hard to care about them, Connor is absolutely boring, Desmond's story is a joke, the ending a disaster. You get tossed around so much during this game that it makes it feel like you are jumping from one thing to another, there's no clear path to anything, and it's not that there's a lack of hand holding, because that's all this game does for you is hold your hand, make sure not to let go as well, because if you try to approach an objective in a way you see more suitable, you will fail. You have to do it the way the developer wants you to do it, they want you to be their puppet. Well, I'm sorry but I refuse to be one and this will be my last AC game. Whoever was in charge of hiring the team that worked on AC3, forfeit your life savings, get on your knees and beg Patrice Désilets to return because he was the visionary behind this once great series. Even those who worked on Brotherhood and Revelations knew what the game was about, and they had much less time to do it all. This team, given 3 years showed us that they are nothing but a team of failures and their lack of experience really really shows. Heartbroken. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    If ever there was a series with incredible highs and irritating lows, it's the Assassin's Creed series. There are parts of Connor's story that are my favorite gaming moments of the year, and parts where I wanted to put down the controller and stop playing entirely. Like all AC games, the setting and research are the takeaway win. Ever wanted to play "People's History of the United States:If ever there was a series with incredible highs and irritating lows, it's the Assassin's Creed series. There are parts of Connor's story that are my favorite gaming moments of the year, and parts where I wanted to put down the controller and stop playing entirely. Like all AC games, the setting and research are the takeaway win. Ever wanted to play "People's History of the United States: The Game" ? Then again, I'm one of those nerds that actually sits and reads all the animus database history. Seeing that history come to life is why I play these games -- the "Frontier" map in particular is just so much fun to explore, glitches aside, like Skyrim with parkour. And I'll say it, it's really nice to see native people represented as something other than cliches and stereotypes. The research on the social and political structure of the Iroquois nation pays off in droves. The story... well, here's kind of where things start to fall apart. It's very clear Ubisoft bent over backwards to show a sweeping history of the U.S., from the French Indian war through to the end of the revolution, and in order to cover all that ground it takes a loong time. If you're a detail hunter, expect to wait about 10 hours for the world to open up. I'm not even kidding, it takes that long just to don the assassin hood. Each and every new feature has a stretched out tutorial mission, from hunting to tree climbing to basic combat maneuvers (all pretty self-explanatory), as if the developers were afraid we'd miss every single detail. Speaking of details, I'm a side quest fella, and the side quests in AC are always hit or miss. In AC 3 they range from the fantastic naval warfare (which could be its own game) to popular board games of the time (I honestly don't know why I kept playing those). Then there's some truly dull stuff, like exploring underground tunnels. Whether the side quests are fun or not matters immensely, because there's almost no payoff in the actual game. Money/Assassin partners are as useless as always, so all this trading and guild micromanaging is completely pointless and honestly a waste of the gamer's time. I don't want my time wasted, developers, remember this. Most importantly, their attention to detail and putting us in documented historical moments make the main missions feel super scripted, and it's pretty jarring to suddenly be scripted in a sandbox. The main missions are the worst the series has ever offered, just from their sheer dullness and frustrating fail rate based on whether or not I do exactly what the game wants me to do. A lot of the inconsistency in this game is a clear lack of cohesion - the guys developing the homestead "Sims" game was obviously not talking to the guys writing the story, and neither were talking to the naval warfare developers, and there was some nerd in the corner scripting AI for board games and no one knew where he came from. They went hog-wild for this game, and just couldn't wring themselves in. I know they cut "Philadelphia" pretty late in development, so someone must've said "no" somewhere, but the game feels, yet again, overstuffed. There was a lot of talk about their new anvil engine, but aside from a few new movement patterns and great graphical presentation, the game feels pretty much the same. Some of it pays off, some doesn't. Was this the... ahem... "revolutionary" new game in the series we were waiting for? Absolutely not. Is there great stuff in it? Yes.. But this is a troubled game, one I was really looking forward to and enjoyed only when climbing through trees to the top of a cliff and staring down at it all from afar. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    Alex Hutchinson. I don't think I need to say more other than he absolutely slaughtered this series and he needs to find a new profession, but I will. He's made so many poor choices that have turned a once AAAA series into a piece of crap. There are so many things about this game that are awful that I simply do not know where to begin, nor do I feel like touching up on all of them as itAlex Hutchinson. I don't think I need to say more other than he absolutely slaughtered this series and he needs to find a new profession, but I will. He's made so many poor choices that have turned a once AAAA series into a piece of crap. There are so many things about this game that are awful that I simply do not know where to begin, nor do I feel like touching up on all of them as it would take too long, but for those who have been huge fans of the series and have played this game will know what I'm talking about. For those who are fans but are yet to play AC3, be warned that this is no longer Assassins Creed. They gutted it and slaughtered it. Alex Hutchinson had a horrible resume before he began working on one of the biggest endings to a trilogy this generation, whoever hired this failure made a huge mistake, and if he has any involvement in any potential future titles I will not be purchasing them, I'd like to see him removed from the industry all together. I've purchased every Assassins Creed game brand new to support great artists, but from now on, I'll buy used because I'm simply heartbroken over what they have done with this series, and the ending, I find it worse than Mass Effect 3, maybe because I'm more invested in AC than I am ME. Regardless, the ending makes me wish I never bothered paying attention to the story from AC1 forward. Then of course there's the boring protagonist, the flat setting, the lack of ambient music, the horrible main missions, the controls, how they destroyed controls that took nearly 5 years to perfect. Alex promised us challenging combat, lies. Bigger leap on gameplay from 2 to 3 than there was from 1 to 2, lies. Don't believe the critic scores, it's an 85 average which pretty much says, this is the lowest we can score this title without losing advertising benefits. Read the user reviews, the ones from the long time AC fans, not the ones who just started playing this year, the ones who have invested 5 years into the series, they know how bad this game is, and how badly Alex ruined this series with his lack of experience and vision. Ubisoft, fire this man. This game does have some great qualities to it, such as the climate changes, the graphics, the naval battles, but just like a sinking ship, it's hard to focus on anything good when the entirety of the game is drowning in it's many failures. The bottom line is, they made it look pretty, but it doesn't make up for the amount of crap this game spews at you, it's insulting really, Alex Hutchinson, remove yourself from the industry, or go back to making titles with low expectations because you are not fit for the big leagues, and to whoever decided to give Alex this position, it might be time to retire, clearly your judgement is horrible. **** YOU ALEX! Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    First of all, let me be clear, I've been an Assassin's Creed fan from day one. I followed the development of every single game since it's conception. I have all the games, all the books, most of the merchandise. I even did some internshipping at Ubisoft to work on Brotherhood. I would go as far to say I'm a diehard fan. This is why, it pains me to say this. Appart from Revelations and theFirst of all, let me be clear, I've been an Assassin's Creed fan from day one. I followed the development of every single game since it's conception. I have all the games, all the books, most of the merchandise. I even did some internshipping at Ubisoft to work on Brotherhood. I would go as far to say I'm a diehard fan. This is why, it pains me to say this. Appart from Revelations and the games on other handhelds, this is the weakest Assassin's creed and a blemish on the overall series. Don't get me wrong, it's not terrible and has fun parts, but it's an average game that is part of an overall franchise that stays away from the average. Let me break it down, so you see where I'm coming from and to make it clear I'm not "trolling".

    The Cons:

    The glitches. Oh, the glitches. This game is FULL of them. There have been a few that have made me chuckle, like a horse getting stuck on top of a house or a man stretching out like crazy after I hit him. The ones that really upset me though, where the game breaking ones. Such as guns missing from parts where you need to shoot, being unable to fire, escort missions where the NPC will get caught in a wall, the protagonist just falling though the floor into oblivion, the NPC's shooting through buildings. There's been several times I needed to restart due to a glitch. I'd let some of them slide, but this is an AAA title and there should never be glitches that break a game. This is 2012 for Christ sake. The AI is terrible too. You could be walking down a street, with no notoriety and suddenly five guards will come out of nowhere and kill you. Or you could be super wanted and walk by- even punch a guard- without getting them to attack you. The horse back riding is so bad... oh man. Horses- when shot- will fall over. They'll also fall over randomly when you hit a glich and die. The combat, now different than the other AC's, is like trying to drive a minivan with a popped tire. You'll lose half your health just taking out a group of guys. Guarding and countering doesn't work anymore. And good luck dodging. For some reason Muskets in 1777 are as accurate as sniper rifles now. huh. It starts out slow- I wont say spoilers, but it's about 4 to 5 hours in before you actually get to the meat of the game.

    There all a lot of cut-scenes. It sorta brings you out of the game and it feels, sometimes, like a movie, but overall it's not that big of an issue. Pros:

    It's BEAUTIFUL. More beautiful than AC2 or Skyrim or fallout. This game will make love to your eyes.
    The soundtrack is amazing too. The ship battles. Yeah, it's a learning curve, but it's not terrible. It becomes really fun later-on

    Climbing on trees and free-running are smooth like butter. It feels fresh and natural. Connor is a very easily controlled character and you'll just have fun running around in the forest, The Protagonist. Shockingly, Connor is a really interesting character. Hunting is fun. There's no better feeling than stealth killing a bear from a tree. I can honestly say, as a "hardcore" assassin's creed fan, I was disappointed. I had very high hopes for this game, and I even expected something better than AC2. I'd recommend you play it, but don't go in with the high expectations of the people and reviews that are giving it 10/10 or perfects. I'd go in expecting an average game and you wont be too let down.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    a lot of technical error harm this great game the graphics very good and sound tracks impressive and the story not as good as the last 4 games but still very good and must by for ps3 owner
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    I really REALLY wanted to like this game. I felt like this was a step backward in terms of gameplay, story, and well, just about everything. I have no idea what happened during the development of this game. Graphically, its downright gorgeous. Sweeping vistas, open ocean battles, and some of the best snow ive seen. But all of that doesnt mean s@#$ if the gameplay isnt up to snuff, andI really REALLY wanted to like this game. I felt like this was a step backward in terms of gameplay, story, and well, just about everything. I have no idea what happened during the development of this game. Graphically, its downright gorgeous. Sweeping vistas, open ocean battles, and some of the best snow ive seen. But all of that doesnt mean s@#$ if the gameplay isnt up to snuff, and thats where AC3 falls to pieces. its buggy as hell. I shot up about 60 ft. in the air after jumping a fence. had several npc's floating around above the ground. All that wouldnt be so bad if i wasent for the f@#$ing controls. Ubisoft said they improved upon AC Brotherhoods controls. Well, dont fix what isnt completely broken. Controls have never been this series strong suit, but this is one the most frustrating thing ive experienced since the controls from GTA4. The one area where AC always blew me away is the story. But im 8.5 hours into this thing and im just barely scratching the main the story. If you cant get your main plot points out into the open in the first say 3-5 hours of the game, then something is wrong. The pacing is just atrocious.

    The AI has been ratcheted up in difficulty a few notches. Ive been getting my ass kicked just about every fight i get into. Ive been spotted when i was clearly hidden at least 10 times.

    All this is adding up to a fairly unenjoyable experience. If it as any other game i would just chalk it up as a lose and forget about it. But this is AC3 for christs sake. Its supposed to be one of the hallmark games of 2012. Ive been pumped for this thing for MONTHS. Im just so damned disappointed in this thing it hurts. On a side note, i just dont get these fanboys rating it a 10. A 10 game is perfection. It can get no better. Its at its pinnacle. They maybe come around once a year. Look at this game and tell me there is nothing that can be improved. Your lying to yourself and doing a disservice to your fellow gamers.
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012.
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Assassins Creed 2 and Revelations are two of my favorite games of all time,,, This is not one of those............I found this game frustrating and annoying. The frustrating following and fail missions take away from the potential of greatness. It's also a sloppy mess. Game breaking bugs all over are inexcusable. Some or many of the missions are so linear with one path or fail way to playAssassins Creed 2 and Revelations are two of my favorite games of all time,,, This is not one of those............I found this game frustrating and annoying. The frustrating following and fail missions take away from the potential of greatness. It's also a sloppy mess. Game breaking bugs all over are inexcusable. Some or many of the missions are so linear with one path or fail way to play you wonder how they got away with marketing it as open world. I had to follow a guy in the city, had to start over so many times I cursed constantly at how they could do this to me for my hard earned dollars. Some of the combat is fun, the cities look great. I don't know if I'll play multiplayer as much of it is timed fail missions. I'm sorry, a lot of this game is not fun, frustrating and down right excessively boring... Starting over and over and over is the worst thing in gaming and cant get how they thought that would be fun... Expand
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes ofI am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't say that I was expecting much from new "Assassin's Creed". Neither I can say that all previous games in the series were bad. At some point they had their problems that made me wish to see the credits rolling. New changes that we could see in the trailers were fascinating. Ship sequences, new protagonist, wild life, new to the series environment and, of course, new time period and setting made fans wonder what the game would be. Playing as two protagonists, who were on the opposite sites of conspiracy gave a fresh look on the main story. Connor, a native citizen of new world, is as good character as Ezio in AC II, but yet Connor manages to let player understand hate and moral choices more than you could image earlier in the series. Storyline of 18th century is mixed with gameplay in the future, that finally became as important and interesting as any other in the game.
    Gameplay was significantly rebuild adding some new features like quick death scenes using different animation from time to time. Fighting scenes became very cinematic not letting you take eyes of your screen. During the game you will also have to command a group of soldiers that are defending their line.
    Other important part that should be mentioned is warship navigation. Although there are only few sea fights in the game, and it is not a flaw, they are the ones you can't forget because they are epic.
    The first thing that comes to mind when I think of AC III is Connor running with his axe in the grass, suddenly appearing behind enemy soldiers and assassinating them. This memory is so strong that it is easy to forget about some minor bugs that appeared during walkthrough. I would even say, that AC III is the buggiest game in the series (after some flaws in first AC), although these bugs were never critical, but they took me out of the game to realize that I was back on my coach. Probably they all were fixed in following patch that I never installed.
    "Assassin's Creed III" is a must buy game for each AC fan and any gamer who likes detailed and original world of a game. I have to add that 3rd big installment of assassin is in my top 5 games list that were released in 2012.
    Expand
  11. May 18, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed III.
    Note: I have decided to include 2 new segments to this review, because there are some things that I can't consider good, or bad.
    Good Points: + The Period of time, the American Revolution is a great time to explore how an assassin and templar brotherhood could have installed there. Haytham Kenway, he's an excellent character and just impossible not to like. The
    Assassin's Creed III.
    Note: I have decided to include 2 new segments to this review, because there are some things that I can't consider good, or bad.
    Good Points:
    + The Period of time, the American Revolution is a great time to explore how an assassin and templar brotherhood could have installed there. Haytham Kenway, he's an excellent character and just impossible not to like. The comeback of more than 1 city (although you had Capadoccia in Revelations, you practically played all in Constantinople) and the different characteristics of each individual place. The Frontier and the addition of animals and hunting is amazing. The Seasons, now you can have snow and is just beautiful. Climbing trees, it is very useful when you have to scape from something or you just don't want to go on the snow (or whatever reason you find). The Length of both, the story and all side quest, which gave a lot of fun hours. Naval Battles, all (even those who rated this game with a 0) know that this is a TRULY good point. The vast inventory (including heavy, small, normal weapons and also a lot of range weapons). The American Assassin Brotherhood; This time they gave importance to how you meet them and why they decided to join the Brotherhood, giving each Assassin a different background. The Present Day gets really fun on this one, by giving you missions to retrieve power sources. Soundtrack, I always say it's amazing, but I have no word for this one IT'S BRILLIANT. (sorry for that). The Forts, it's really fun to liberate them and take away all Red Coats. Noah Watts and Adrian Hough, they make and incredible voice acting giving it emotion and a really interesting atmosphere. Benedict Arnold missions are just OK and we're lucky that they're free because I wouldn't recommend them if you had to pay for it. The Assassin Suit, is definitely the best Assassin outfit so far. The outstanding graphics, this is visually the best AC game so far. The AnvilNext Engine, it makes the game more realistic and powerful than before (it is also a bad point, check why)
    Bad Points:
    - The Game truly starts at Sequence 8 (considering you unlock New York, the final location, in this sequence), which is a shame, because you don't get full liberty until half of the game. Sequence 1, memory 3 is way to long, there was no necessity of making the ship travel so long. The pacing of the story is very slow and you'll probably get bored in some part of the story. Making board games as part of 100% synchronization, it's awful! Nobody wants board games obligatory. The game is "in parts" you have to buy 1 DLC (Hidden Secrets) to have the full game. Horse Riding, is horrible and in the frontier worst; Red Dead Redemption succeeded to make and incredible horse riding, why can't this game?. One of the most bugged games I have seen, why couldn't they delay the game to make it without any bugs or glitches or leave it with just a few?. The AnvilNext Engine, it was overwhelming for the game in some moments, like now there's a lot of people in the city, but they disappear mysteriously while they're walking (I mean, what?). Stealth, it is totally gone, you kill a guard and the whole city knows it. There's no background music while you're not currently in a mission, and you're just playing for fun, and it helps getting you bored.
    (+ New Segment) Middle Points:
    Ratonhnhaké:ton (Connor), I can't say if he is either a good or bad point, because he is so complex and it is up to you to tell if he is a good or bad character. But before, I most tell you something: Ratonhnhaké:ton had the worst imaginable life and I can't say much more without spoiling you anything; before you judge him you most know that people who get that trauma turn to be really bad people. HomeStead Crafting and sending caravans, I don't know if you're going to like it, but for me it was an easier and most interactive way of winning money and trading things than previous Assassin's Creed Games. The Ending, I can't explain how is it a middle point without spoiling, just know that there's a 50 that you like it and 50 you don't. Synchronization ranks; now is more than 1 synchronization objective, so it's sometimes frustrating and sometimes a nice challenge. Simplified Gameplay, now the game has simplified the buttons and for expert AC gamers is boring at times, though if you're a newcomer you'll probably have a great time.
    (+ New Segment) Personal opinion:
    I think this game was awesome, but had flaws like Ratonhnhaké:ton smiling 3 or 4 times in the game, or the game being so slow. The Ending was very shocking for me and I didn't know how to deal with it. Gameplay mechanics we're simplified and that I didn't like.
    Final Score:
    Assassin's Creed III is the biggest, ambitious and inmersive AC game, telling an interesting story and adding some cool things. However, the game didn't fully completed it's ideas and somethings we're changed way too much. The Graphics, design, story are beautiful.
    Average Score: 8.2
    Expand
  12. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    well the game wasn't bad good story but connor is like mhhhhhhhh the worst assassin so far but singleplayer gameplay was good fighting was amazing best ever in an assassin game but after you played the story it's like what can i do i mean there is just1 shop wtf + way tooooo short i beated it in 12 hours full synch not good after you finished the game you can't do anything you don't needwell the game wasn't bad good story but connor is like mhhhhhhhh the worst assassin so far but singleplayer gameplay was good fighting was amazing best ever in an assassin game but after you played the story it's like what can i do i mean there is just1 shop wtf + way tooooo short i beated it in 12 hours full synch not good after you finished the game you can't do anything you don't need to buy anything and no medcins damn that was one of the best things in an assassins game you couldn't heel immediatly but oh well just get it from a friend for a week 65 euros no sorry Expand
  13. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    Easily the game of the year, "Assassin's Creed 3" is a exciting, emotional roller-coaster of a game. The setting and storyline are compelling and the new main character, Conner, has a character arc that equals that of his predecessor in this series, the much-beloved Ezio. The gameplay is top-notch as well, with streamlined combat and free-running. Also, the naval combat (which was theEasily the game of the year, "Assassin's Creed 3" is a exciting, emotional roller-coaster of a game. The setting and storyline are compelling and the new main character, Conner, has a character arc that equals that of his predecessor in this series, the much-beloved Ezio. The gameplay is top-notch as well, with streamlined combat and free-running. Also, the naval combat (which was the element of I was most skeptical when reading about the game) is amazingly fun. Seriously, they could do an entire DLC of just naval mission and I would be happy.

    The only things that stop this amazing game from receiving a 9 or 10 from me is the side games, economy, and rewards. In many of the places you go there is the option to play a board game with someone. These games are obscure, boring, and ultimately pointless as they don't really add much to the overall experience. The crafting and selling of goods is terribly cumbersome and takes far too long to get even one trading caravan on the road (a menu redesign for this element is all it would take for the next AC - the idea behind it is solid). The big problem I have with this game, however, is the fact that you have to subscribe to Uplay in order to get the extras that are promised in-game. I don't have a problem with wanting to make some extra money and all, but if you have a slot for Conner to have a new outfit in the $60 package I've paid for, shouldn't the outfit or weapon that goes there be unlockable in that package? I found that aspect to be the most troublesome of all.

    These quibbles detract only slightly from the game, however. Assassin's Creed 3 is the game I hoped it would be and I look forward to seeing Conner take part in other events in American history. The war of 1812, perhaps?
    Expand
  14. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    AC III is a controversial game. It's obvious that it will be percieved through the prism of latest games in the series. The Revolutionary War feels epic but the new protagonist in the middle of it is more likely catalyst of action, rather than main revolutionist of the plot. Just like Altair, to be fair, during The Third Crusade. Connor, new assassin, is not quite dull as it seems. He is aAC III is a controversial game. It's obvious that it will be percieved through the prism of latest games in the series. The Revolutionary War feels epic but the new protagonist in the middle of it is more likely catalyst of action, rather than main revolutionist of the plot. Just like Altair, to be fair, during The Third Crusade. Connor, new assassin, is not quite dull as it seems. He is a pride Mohawk, weighing every word. At the end of the game he is 18-19. Ezio was at the 19 when he became an assassin. Altair was 24. Maybe Connor isn Expand
  15. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    I have always had a love hate relationship with the Assassin's Creed series, and III just reaffirms that. The plot itself is pretentious and bland, the alternate world of Desmond is an unnecessary intrusion on an otherwise fun concept, when you're having fun in the middle of a tense part of the assassin story, the developers thought it would be a good idea to leave that then run around inI have always had a love hate relationship with the Assassin's Creed series, and III just reaffirms that. The plot itself is pretentious and bland, the alternate world of Desmond is an unnecessary intrusion on an otherwise fun concept, when you're having fun in the middle of a tense part of the assassin story, the developers thought it would be a good idea to leave that then run around in a linear, boring side mission that's pointless. The combat is ridiculous, just button mash two buttons to kill 50 soldiers, it's boring, unrealistic, and tedious. The story itself is anti-climatic, nothing is tied together, side missions are time wasters, run round to a point they tell you to 50 times for some reward not worth having, press one button to assassinate someone then hide in a bush. It's the most monotonous game play ever. It's an insult to the stealth genre if you can even call it that, it skewers history while being incredibly accurate at the same time. The loyalists and patriots are somehow both enemies but you fight for the patriots, it tries so hard to develop a dramatic back story while indulging us in senseless fiction. Despite all that, the game play and controls are tight, and running around stabbing dudes is mindless fun, which is all it is, but it's nothing more. Expand
  16. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    The story of Desmond is concluded, and we gets to say hi to the new assassin named Connor. the game is sprawling with brand new environments, new time setting, and new equipment. the soundtrack is delicious, and that is awesome. but.
    the ending disappointed me, and the cities could have been a little more varied.
    7/10 newcomers to the series may be a little confused, but for you assassin
    The story of Desmond is concluded, and we gets to say hi to the new assassin named Connor. the game is sprawling with brand new environments, new time setting, and new equipment. the soundtrack is delicious, and that is awesome. but.
    the ending disappointed me, and the cities could have been a little more varied.
    7/10 newcomers to the series may be a little confused, but for you assassin fans its a must-buy.
    Expand
  17. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    The gameplay seemed a lot more basic, yet somehow refined and easier than in previous Assassin’s Creed games, yet compared to Batman Arkham Asylum’s and Arkham City’s gameplay and combat system, Assassin’s Creed’s mechanic seemed just a kind of button mash at times, eg Press circle to counter and then mash square, otherwise press x and then mash square. It was just to simple and the gameThe gameplay seemed a lot more basic, yet somehow refined and easier than in previous Assassin’s Creed games, yet compared to Batman Arkham Asylum’s and Arkham City’s gameplay and combat system, Assassin’s Creed’s mechanic seemed just a kind of button mash at times, eg Press circle to counter and then mash square, otherwise press x and then mash square. It was just to simple and the game was simple. I was annoyed that Ubisoft decided to do away with the health potion systems, not that it mattered seeing as I didn’t die one single time throughout the game (that’s including all main story missions, side missions, naval battles etc). The only gameplay mechanic that I was impressed with was the climbing mechanic, as with in every Assassin’s Creed game. Ubisoft just seem to be able to pull that off better than anyone else. Climbing on trees was fun, likewise was climbing up cliffs, but in the city’s Boston and New York I found myself staying on the ground rather than climbing up on rooftops and just having an overall more fun experience. In a way there were too many guards I guess on some off the rooftops, which just annoyed me especially when I just didn’t want to be in open conflict and just get on with free running, doing the story or collecting feathers, peg legs etc. Synchronizing view points in this game was different in a way as well, mainly as this time round they didn’t show you the whole map, even after synchronizing all of them in the game. Which was annoying in a way and I can’t understand why Ubisoft decided to do that. I mean of all things to change from pervious games, it was one of the most memorable things to do in the game and also one of the most rewarding (well for me it was, I just loved having 100% of the map unlocked so I could go round and do everything in the game). Not to say that it took away from the overall experiences it just didn’t feel like a proper Assassin’s Creed game to me the fact it didn’t reveal the entire map.

    I didn’t particularly like Connor as a character, as he didn’t really show any emotions at all throughout the game and also, the main complaint I have about the game is about the assassinations themselves. You have a total of 5 targets to kill in the game, which isn’t near as much as what was in previous Asssassin’s Creed games, so I was a tad let down by that. However out of the 5 targets you have to kill, you really only kill 2 of them. And by 2 I’m being generous, as in sequence 8, which is a linear sequence as you are in prison for all of it and when you are about to be hung, your mentor frees you, you have no choice but to run after your target and assassinate him there and then with your tomahawk.
    The rest of your targets assassinations are pressing a button during a cutscene when prompted (even through the games main villain, Connor’s father Haytham) which was very annoying for me and possibly for most other Assassin’s Creed fans. Your final target that you have to kill is Chrales Lee, Haytham’s right hand man. The build up to his death is good, the chase to hunt him down is what you’ve come to know and expect from previous AC games, but when you finally reach him, it goes to a cut scene and the game kills Charles Lee for you. I thought it was taking the piss if I’m honest. I didn’t know how Connor could call himself a proper Assassin with only 5 targets to kill and even though he gathers training in the Brotherhood over the years, his movements and combat are the exact same as when you get to play as him as a chilld. It’s quite ridiculous.

    The thing most people were talking about was the naval battles, which were good but were also very short. For me that was the best part of the game and really the only thing that Ubisoft added that managed to improve on from Assassin’s Ceed II, Brotherhood and Revelations. Overall the game was a let down for me, but it was by no means a bad game. I just wouldn’t go back to it and replay it, like I have I with every other Assassin’s Creed game (even AC Revelations). If you’re a fan of Assassin’s Creed, then you’ve already bought this game, either given up on it or completed it just because you wanted to see how Desmond’s story ends. For those who aren’t fans of the series, I’d recommend that you just buy Assassin’s Creed, Assassin’s Creed II and then Assassin’s Creed III and you might get more value for your money out of the game.
    Expand
  18. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    Bottom Line: Given the amount of options and exploration, there are many ways to both love and loathe Assassins Creed 3. The good news is with so much variety, a player can craft the perfect story that provides the best game play experience.

    Assassins Creed 3 is a fun game. The game is not afraid to explore the darker side of the American Revolution. There is a lot to do in the
    Bottom Line: Given the amount of options and exploration, there are many ways to both love and loathe Assassins Creed 3. The good news is with so much variety, a player can craft the perfect story that provides the best game play experience.

    Assassins Creed 3 is a fun game. The game is not afraid to explore the darker side of the American Revolution. There is a lot to do in the adventure sandbox world of Assassins Creed 3 because the sandbox is littered with thousands of mini-games like hunting game, liberating areas from Templar control, securing trade routes, searching for treasure, etc., etc. The game also includes a new feature that adds an additional dimension of gameplay. This new feature is captaining your own frigate battleship. This additional gameplay mechanic allows players the ability to engage in naval battles against the British red coats. However, given all these options, there is a certain amount of monotony that accompanies these mini-games. The only real reward is money or the ability to make more money. Perhaps a better incentive would be unlocking new missions and content after mastering a mini-game. Until then I am going to avoid the activities that I find tedious. A part of me feels that the developers of Assassins Creed are ashamed of the game’s core mechanics, which are the assassinations of high profile target. So they make numerous mini-games to appease their unwarranted feelings of embarrassment. Don’t be embarrassed Assassins Creed; the assassinations are the best part and at least the story is compelling. In Assassin Creed 3 we get to explore colonial America through the lens of Connor who is the protagonist of this game. For what it is worth Connor is an amazingly compelling character because of his development throughout the game, but I couldn't help but hate him to for all the whining that he does. In addition there are so many moments where Connor fights with the idea of being an assassin and even believes he doesn't need to kill Templars to accomplish his objective. He will soon find that showing mercy is a terrible trait to have for an assassin.
    Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    The story would have been almost perfect had Ubisoft not jumped through the story so fast, I enjoyed the new assassin Connor with the new features such as better firearms, cover, and weapons but I must admit, there were a few plot-holes that made me a little disappointment, nevertheless it made a good ending to the Assassin's Creed game series
  20. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    For full review, visit http://www.tumblr.com/blog/hardcoreturnedcasual

    After three full Euro-set AC games, Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed III finally broke the mold and made the trip to the New World. And oh, this is such a lofty, ambitious title.. rife with possibilities. It is undeniably jam-packed with content so much so that the main quest almost feels like an afterthought. I
    For full review, visit http://www.tumblr.com/blog/hardcoreturnedcasual

    After three full Euro-set AC games, Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed III finally broke the mold and made the trip to the New World. And oh, this is such a lofty, ambitious title.. rife with possibilities. It is undeniably jam-packed with content so much so that the main quest almost feels like an afterthought.

    I really wanted to love it.. There are so many amazing games out right now and I don’t have a lot of time on my hands to play them all, so giving AC3 a shot despite the negative reviews was a leap of faith on my part. I wish I could say that my faith was rewarded. What I got from my ultimate risk was a game that was fun in spurts, but eventually felt like a chore here’s why.

    CONS (see full review for more)
    -Side quests and item collection doesn’t feel important enough-

    I was focusing on the main missions in my playthrough, but that usually doesn’t keep me from getting ANY item/armor/weapon upgrades in a game. The crafting and item upgrade system was not integrated into the main storyline at ALL, and I actually had to look at a walkthrough to see how to even begin to get a new melee weapon.

    As for side quests, I felt cheated. The end of game references your “merry band of thieves”, but I never had one because i didn’t care enough to assemble them. There was that French guy from the main quest… but one man does not a band make.

    In AC2 I wanted to unlock every weapon and fix the mansion town completely, because I was steered towards the beginnings of those processes. This was not the case in AC3.

    But I must say that my main bone of contention lies with the armor upgrades. Even just for aesthetic purposes! Where were the ancient suits of armor, begging to be unlocked? This omission detracted greatly from the short main story as well I like to get drawn into upgrading my character so that I know what I’m getting for my extra trouble. Then, I can feel powerful in mandatory story missions.

    PROS (see full review for more)
    -Hub world-

    Hub worlds are a lost art. From Demon’s Souls’ Nexus to Hyrule Field in Ocarina of Time, they always seem to add an extra dimension to great games. To a lesser extent than those mentioned above, the cave in AC3 has more parts to open up and explore as you advance in the game’s main quest.

    CONCLUSION: Ubisoft is now a big, prestigious studio that has clout, budget and had lots of time to work on Assassin’s Creed III. This many inconsistencies and glitches gameplay failures is inexcusable. It’s just not as epic and grand as the other AC games felt.

    From what I understand, there’s a lot more to like if you have time to sink into this game. Exploration may be a lot stronger without the pressure I felt to complete the main story. Crafting new weapons and armor is interesting and likely very fun. Animus hacks for unlimited ammo, health etc. seem like a great way to extent the games shelf-life as well.

    While worth a playthrough and undoubtedly better when you delve into more side-quest distractions, the main game of Assassin’s Creed III leaves a lot to be desired and was largely disappointing.
    Expand
  21. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Not a fan boy of the AC series as this is the first game I have played in the series. I will definatly be getting some of the older titles off the back of this one. As such my review is purely based on my experience of this game and not how it compares to the previous. I loved it. Graffics are cutscenes are great. So much to do apart from the main storyline. Battle system is wonderful.Not a fan boy of the AC series as this is the first game I have played in the series. I will definatly be getting some of the older titles off the back of this one. As such my review is purely based on my experience of this game and not how it compares to the previous. I loved it. Graffics are cutscenes are great. So much to do apart from the main storyline. Battle system is wonderful. Only real issue if you can called it that is that it is far to easy to make money and nothing really to spend it on. Expand
  22. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    I played all the main console releases for Assassin's Creed, but for some reason, I only just got around to this one. With AC IV out now on PS3, I guess I realized I needed to catch up. And I found I hadn't really been missing that much.

    The main historical story follows two new protagonists, Haytham and Connor. Because I already knew you spent most of the game with Connor, the first
    I played all the main console releases for Assassin's Creed, but for some reason, I only just got around to this one. With AC IV out now on PS3, I guess I realized I needed to catch up. And I found I hadn't really been missing that much.

    The main historical story follows two new protagonists, Haytham and Connor. Because I already knew you spent most of the game with Connor, the first few hours with Haytham felt like an overlong, forced tutorial. Unfortunately, even when I started playing Connor, I found myself less than enthralled. Maybe I just wanted to finish the game so I could be ready for AC IV, and maybe that means this game didn't get the fair shot it deserved.

    But the truth is, I didn't want to spend my time hunting or doing most of the other inane side stuffs available. The game fortunately removed tower defense and some of the other annoyances from Revelations, replacing it with a fairly interesting naval battle system. Some other changes were also favorable--like the simplified free run system. However, I also found no desire (and little reason) to pursue any of the side quests. The rewards seemed few and far between, and without the chance to buy or repair property found in Brotherhood and Revelations, I rarely cared. You recruit one other assassin as part of the main story, and it was all I needed to complete the campaign.

    Desmond's story continues from where it left off, and was a highlight for me. The tale about the first civ continues to reveal little bits and pieces of AC lore, and moreover, there were several playable missions for Desmond which were honestly more fun than those in the Animus.

    Overall, I'm still looking forward to AC IV, but I probably enjoyed this game less than any of the others in the main series. Despite the removal of tower defense (thank God) and some technical improvements, the overall experience was mediocre.
    Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    The best word for Assassin's Creed III is potential. Potential that could of made this the best game of the series, but falls very flat even when compared to other games before it.

    THE BAD The story and characters were boring or annoying. Or in the case of our new protagonist, Connor Kenway, both, which is really depressing after a trilogy with Ezio. Any interest in this world or what
    The best word for Assassin's Creed III is potential. Potential that could of made this the best game of the series, but falls very flat even when compared to other games before it.

    THE BAD
    The story and characters were boring or annoying. Or in the case of our new protagonist, Connor Kenway, both, which is really depressing after a trilogy with Ezio. Any interest in this world or what was stake was wiped away by some really slow and unfulfilled plotline that feels small in the grand scheme of the American Revolution. the overall control and gameplay of Assassins Creed III is either new and/or improved, or it is sloppy. The new layout for the game really is confusing and frustrating on top of occasional unresponsive buttons. This is true especially during chase moments or worse in many of the overwhelming fights which will die in. a lot. This is made worse by the restricted access to the roof or even just running through cities. Many systems introduced in the game such as the underground fast tracking or some of the club challenges feel more like chores then entertainment. Other features which were introduced in the past such as other assassins or the Homestead just feel bland or not put in for its full potential. Finally is the overall conclusion to Desmond's story, which lacks in every shape and form. What should I say about it?

    THE GOOD
    Two major points stand out for in this game; Naval Battles and Multiplayer. The Naval Battles introduced here are honestly one of the funniest activities and seem more exciting then the central land combat is, something that may make Black Flag better. Multiplayer also makes a welcome return and just feels just as enjoyable as the previous times of play and for a while was the key reason for my return to this game. Others things I liked in Assassins Creed III were the weapon crafting (not trade stuff though), the size of the three main areas of the game and one side-quest involving some refreshing platforming from the grind. I would also like to say that the graphics in this game are well made as is the music, despite lacking Jesper Kyd.

    Assassins Creed III is a big game which I could talk about for ages, but I will put it this way. The game has many good aspects. But for each one of them there are two annoyances that pulled me out of the experience. Its less focused and disappointing when compared to the publicity or the many other open-world games that were available on the market at the time. But at the end of the day I have to come back to what I said at the beginning of this writing; a massive and promising game that was full of potential, but feel far from its hype.
    Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    Slightly better then Revelations but this will be the last AC I ever buy. Declining story, bugs and broken mechanics. I really thought it was going to be turned around with this latest installment but I was very disappointed.
  25. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    The good stuff: Sprawling environments with entirely new architecture for freerunning (trees), animals and hunting, naval missions, a commerce system which requires attention, side quests galore, and dynamic weather which actually affects missions. If it were just the stuff they added to the game, I
  26. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The first couple of quests at the start where you play Naytham or whatever were so boring and dull I almost sold the game back right away. Then I pushed ahead to where you become rukhanheketon or whatever his name is and the game became bearable for a while longer. After about 10 or so hours I stopped all sidequests and just grinded thru the main story so I wouldn't feel bad for selling itThe first couple of quests at the start where you play Naytham or whatever were so boring and dull I almost sold the game back right away. Then I pushed ahead to where you become rukhanheketon or whatever his name is and the game became bearable for a while longer. After about 10 or so hours I stopped all sidequests and just grinded thru the main story so I wouldn't feel bad for selling it without finishing it. Expand
  27. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay so the Assassin's Creed series is one of my favorite game series. I am a huge history nerd so these games were always perfect for my tastes. But it wasn't even just the history aspects but Desmond's story as well that I enjoyed. AC3 had some great aspects to it but also some rather disappointing setbacks. To soothe my disappointments I am going to start with the bad. So my biggest problem with AC3 was that it wasn't as epic as it could, or should, have been. The game felt like a big tease. Connor was an interesting character but I found myself not caring about (or not noticing) character development. Throughout the game it felt like he just knew something or was doing something with no real explanation. Also it took forever to actually get the story moving. You really don't even start until Sequence 5. I also hoped for more interaction with historical figures and events but there weren't. There is occasionally a sense that you aren't doing anything important. You are just a minor piece in these battles where as in past AC titles you may have been more behind the scenes but you were a crucial part. Sure AI says they wouldn't have been successful without your help but it feels shallow. Also the further you go in the story the motivation for Connor's quest seems to diminish and not makes sense as much. Like with Charles Lee, it is no longer a revenge quest when you find out he didn't kill your mom. He is just a Templar now but you still hate him like he killed your mom. Now on to Desmond. I have always been invested in his story because it is modern and the most easily relatable. You get to some significant playtime as Desmond in this one and they are actually quite entertaining (some of my favorite missions in fact). You get to learn more about the end of the world and the First Civilization and it is all really interesting and you feel like it is going to lead up to something great but when you get to the end it kind of fizzles out. there is so much build up but then the ending just kind of deflates it. Some of us who have spent five years playing these games were expecting something huge to reward our dedication and hours spent playing the games. But alas 'tis not so. Granted it is kind of a twist ending which in a way is cool but I don't think it is the ending this series deserved. Gameplay for AC3 is streamlined. In some places, like free running, it is welcome. In others, like combat, it sucks. To me Brotherhood had the best and simplest combat system. It didn't need to be fixed. Revelations tweaked it a little but not much but AC3, in its attempts to make combat easier, made it more difficult. Combat is supposed to be more fluid but the you might just find yourself dying trying to string together a "fluid" kill streak. The slow motion countering makes you bored, there is no blocking per se buy there is parrying which is okay buy maybe a little too much effort, and fights that often start with three dudes turns into like 50 in a matter of seconds. This leads me to glitches. Like in any AC title there are bound to be some. Most of them in AC3, like in past titles, are easy to live with. But there are a few that will annoy you to no end. You may be totally incognito and then you are suddenly attacked for no reason. Being spotted when you are clearly hidden is also a problem. I had to restart some missions because for some reason the mission would not progress even though I had completed the objectives. Now it might sound like i hated this game so far but remember I gave it a 7. AC 3 has saving graces that make the game good. First off, like all AC games, the visuals are incredible. The frontier is beautiful and it is fun to just "tree fun" and explore the vast wilderness Ubisoft created. While the cities may not be as big or as grand as say Rome or Florence, they are still still amazingly detailed and historically accurate. I was constantly comparing them to their modern counterparts and thinking, "Wow, this is New York?" it is kind of weird but awesome. Also while not always as consistent as it could have been, there is great story telling. Certain parts have potential to cause huge emotional reaction. The new naval battles are surprisingly a lot of fun as well. They take a little time to get used to but they are worth the learning curve. Finally Connor is an interesting character. He may not be as well-liked as Ezio but he still has his moments. While at times very naive and idealistic, he is truly a champion for justice and equality. He is what most people want to be like morally and how we view the founding fathers as (which the games shows they weren't). So while AC3 had its fair share of disappointments and didn't quite live up to its predecessors, it still far exceeds most games. It had potential to be the greatest of the bunch but just because it isn't doesn't mean it is a bad game. I plan on playing this for may more days to come. Expand
  28. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Honestly this game should likely be considered a good game, but after AC2 set a high bar, AC 3 just falls flat on its face. The graphics are as sweet as they might get on the PS3 but also glitchy at times. The game is glitchy in many aspects. The camera is shaky and keeps you from seeing you targets, the controls are ofte off and not intelligently placed on the controller (e.g. stopping aHonestly this game should likely be considered a good game, but after AC2 set a high bar, AC 3 just falls flat on its face. The graphics are as sweet as they might get on the PS3 but also glitchy at times. The game is glitchy in many aspects. The camera is shaky and keeps you from seeing you targets, the controls are ofte off and not intelligently placed on the controller (e.g. stopping a slow horse is the same button as spurring a horse that has picked up some speed), the missions are too unevenly balanced - too easy or way too hard - checkpoints are placed badly and the freerunning system that had been the staple of AC is more often than not the more complicated way to get somewhere - you DO NOT EVEN WANT to climb buildings and run around the roofs in some cases. Why would you spoil the trademark of your game?
    As mentioned above the real problem is that this feels like a good game that you would want to play, but the small problems amass and mar your gaming experience, oftentimes leaving you frustrated wanting to punch someone - most likely the programmers at Ubisoft. I get why people would rate it as a good game, but I can't help but wonder if they played a different game when grading it above 80 %.
    Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    Before I begin, just want to state that I have NOT finished the game. Have spent a good chunk of last night and this morning playing the game, and wanted to share my views thus far. First off, the game is utterly beautiful. The landscapes, cities, character models... all are exquisitely detailed and captivating. You may find yourself just standing still and taking it all in. But lets faceBefore I begin, just want to state that I have NOT finished the game. Have spent a good chunk of last night and this morning playing the game, and wanted to share my views thus far. First off, the game is utterly beautiful. The landscapes, cities, character models... all are exquisitely detailed and captivating. You may find yourself just standing still and taking it all in. But lets face it, that has always been a major part of the AC universe. The storyline is grand and sweeping, and I was shocked to start not only as Desmond or Connor, but as a new character. If you are curious how much time this game is going to take.... it took me one hour of play just to get to the opening credits after going through the prologue. Four more hours until I got my first glimpse of Connor.

    Now, the downside of what I have noticed so far. The controls are greatly improved, but are still lacking in many ways. Part of is my slavish insistence to use the old controls, hard to break that RT + A free run habit. Once you do, the paths are pretty smooth and Connor is not as Clunky as his predecessors, though unfortunately a lot less likable than the affable Ezio. I have not yet noticed a difference in Combat. It doesn't feel all that smooth, but it could be that it was intentionally this way for the young Connor and the older character played at the start. Hoping this improves as the game goes on.

    My biggest frustration this far has been with the AI and some of the button mashing sequences. The AI has seemingly been ramped up(again it could be due to the character progression) and can be ridiculously frustrating. It seems, at times, for being such a master Assassin that stealth isn't an option. The guards in the early Boston missions are hyper-alert and spot you no matter what you do. It seems the hiding spots are sparse and because of the open map plan you typically get spotted before being able to use them. One mission I completed while at level 3 notoriety because after 5 attempts I couldn't get to the mission markers without being spotted and chased by hordes of baddies. While I enjoy the combat sequences, I also enjoy the stealth aspect just as much, and it is aggravating having to replay missions over and over again because you can't disappear into the crowd as easily as previous titles. I like a challenge as much as the next guy, but lets face it, there is such thing as TOO MUCH.

    Other frustrations come from in-game sequences such as lock-picking and on rails fight sequences. To pick a lock, you have to rotate LS to a certain point and hold it, then rotate RS to a point and hold it, and then Mash RT repeatedly. If you let up on the sticks at all, you have to start back at square 1. Almost threw my controller 3 minutes into the game. I am not a fan of "Button Mashing Sequences" (Press A then Y then X repeatedly, etc). These flash so quickly up onto the screen that you tend to miss the direction. You can figure out the pattern, but it is frustrating to be sure. The missions themselves are passable, but they seemingly set you up to fail the sub-challenges. I enjoy trying to get full sync on the missions, and there are times on this game where that feels impossible. On one mission, for example, you aren't supposed to kill any guards, but you have to collect a map from inside a tent. One guard stands directly in front of the tent and patrols a 3 foot path across the entry. If there is a way to distract him and send him away, the game didn't tell me. After multiple replays (again, the guards have an uncanny ability to spot you(and in this stage you are playing as a supposed "master"), I had no choice but to assassinate the guard, failing 2/3 sub-challenges on the mission. I had NO desire to go back and replay. On another mission you are supposed to make a river rescue without touching the water... Connor immediately jumped straight into the water after the cut scene.

    I have voiced my concerns, but don't feel like I am saying the game is inherently bad. It has some frustrating aspects to be sure. The thing is, the game is still fun and exciting. I still enjoy traversing the environment and the story. I am looking forward to seeing what happens next. Time will tell as to how I ultimately feel about this game. Right now I am enjoying it, but have had some very frustrating moments. I love the challenge of games, but to me it isn't fun having to replay missions over and over again. If it continues, it may turn out that this title ends up collecting dust on my shelf as I move on to BO II or other titles coming out. So far it is worth the investment... but I would caution buyers that you need to be patient with it. If you are not willing to work your way through the lengthy intro to get to the main character... this game may not be for you.

    *Note- I had this nicely spaced out and paragraphed... MetaCritic forces it into a Wall of Text. FAIL.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.