User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1132 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know how i'm going to get 150 words to work for this game. I'll start by stating that AC3 is not for everyone. Like it's previous iterations, this game requires patience and luck. Luck is where I have a problem with this game. There are quite a few missions that have you stealthing your way to your end goal or following someone as to not be seen. With patience, you can accomplish any mission, but after losing and having to restart missions from their cheesy checkpoints, you will have to rely on dumb luck to make it through. AC veterans will have no problem, but casual gamers will be throwing the remote in no time. One of the issues I have are the controls. They seem unchanged since the first game and have you running around like a car thats rear wheels are falling off. Soldiers constantly chasing you in sheer panic doesn't help matters. I am used to playing the infamous games, which may be why I had such a hard time with the controls. All in all, the game looks great, the sea missions are good, but lacking. After a few, I was bored. The story is awesome as usual. I just hope Ubisoft refines things for the AC4. Being a Bostonian I loved the setting. All in all, AC3 is a good game, just don't expect it to hand the game over to you. Maybe i've gotten used to the wussification of game story telling. It's no Dark Souls, but I would put it somewhere in between. The failure is that it's difficulty is because of shoddy game design, not because the game is conditioning you
    For greatness. I hope watch dogs fares better.
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    Underwhelming. My favorite AC was Brotherhood since we got a fully skilled Ezio and a group of assassins to train and command. Revelations was more of the same and it was quite fun, but not the breakthrough that I though Brotherhood was. This game was supposed to be the best of all worlds, apparently taking the longest of all of the AC games to create, but ends up less fun than all of the previous games. The main character and story were pretty boring and you only get to train 6 assassins. And you only get to use the assassins while in a city, which is only for about a third of the game. And it takes most of the game to even recruit all of the assassins, so really you only have all 6 assassins for 10 minutes of the game. And you don't even get to induct them into your secret society because the main character is pretty much a phony who doesn't even know why or if he's even really an assassin. Which kind of makes me not know why I'm even playing the game. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    I'm surprised the user review average is this high and the critic review average is that low. This is usually the kind of game, part of a large series or not, that divides people completely. On the one hand, it's beautiful and cinematic and the story/characters feel fantastic. On the other hand, what a dreadful gameplay experience. If you think ACIII is going to be amazing because the past titles were done well enough and you were promised something better, don't feel bad as we all bought the hype. However, Resident Evil 6 was proof that even a high-budget AAA title from a company used to making quality titles could go from releasing super good games to "ugh, what is up with the controls and why did I just glitch through that thing and oh god my system is heating up" disasters. And ACIII is no different. Not only have some of the controls been remapped but the style of combat and exploration has also been greatly retooled for the worse. Riding horses is a nightmare, the new lockpicking minigame is a hassle, you have to chase collectibles, gone is the 'low profile' control set, guns have curiously gotten LESS advanced as time has progressed, and stealth seems to be not only completely optional but totally unnecessary except for those pass-or-fail missions where getting caught means a "try again" cutscene that plays into a loading screen. I loved the first 4 AAA titles in the series and I will complete this game as well because I'm a huge fan of the AC universe. But I will tell you right now, I won't enjoy it nearly as much as I was led to believe. I'm quite a ways into it and it just feels... unfinished and lacking in structure. ACII remains the best in the series by far. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    This is the worst Assassin's Creed in the series (I think is even worse than Revelations...). The story of this game is absolute boring, specially the past part wich is the 80% of the game, but the Desmond story was even worse... Specially the ending which is specially bad, not to mention all the bugs that game haves, it feels like an unfinished game. If you want a real AC experience just play AC2 and AC:B instead of this game... About the online part, at fist looks good, but it doesn't have many variety on places to play, and most of them looks the same. Also all the customization parts for characters are overpriced, I already have played like 70 times online, I'm in level 31 and I still doesn't have enough credits to allow me to buy character stuff, only skills.. obviously they want us to spend real money on it, also the rewards (videos) for leveling up on the online game are not good as the ones in AC:R.

    So, I'm afraid this is not an AAA title anymore. Not buying another AC on the release.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    In Assasin's Creed III, you are someone who looks lile a drug dealer with something to hide. Despite that, you seem to be in the past as everyone looks like they're in the 1700s, except for you, of course. The gameplay is ridiculously boring and I claim this as the most overrated game of 2012.
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    I remember when i bought Assassin's Creed, it felt so different than an average game back then was.You could climb on rooftops in cool fashion, explore the lands of the Crusades or just kill guards in in a way that made you="OHHH! EWWW! WOW!" it was not a perfect game but it was very entertaining. Then it was time for Assassin's Creed 2, and oh my it was fabulous! it fixed most of the problems in AC1 and the setting was really interesting, The Renaissance...Beautiful architecture, interesting characters and this time actually fun side missions!
    Let's get to the point already, Assassins Creed 3 has been out now for months and after playing it for 51 hours and 23 minutes i can safely say my opinion about it... You all know the setting already in this game which is the American revolutionary war....Which is not that interesting.... It was the first let down for me, Boston and New York are not just really beautiful places unlike Florence and Rome were in the previous games, the buildings are not very tall and it makes climbing really boring when there's like 100 houses after another which look exactly the same.... well i wish you luck staying on rooftops because of the guards on the rooftops... i mean WHY is there so many of them???! You are destroying the element that got me interested in AC years ago! So they almost force you to stay on the ground level all the time. The story is pretty annoying, mainly because of the protagonist, Ratonhaketon AKA Connor Kenway..He is annoying, childish, naive and the list goes on... Oh and you will be hearing a lot of "What would you have me do?" Lines from Connor...and that really tells you about the level of the dialogue. Disappointment after another....The soundtrack= No more Jesper Kyd with his ambient music, now it's just movie music you hear everywhere, it just doesn't stand out! And oh the BUGS, it almost literally drove me insane especially during missions where you have to achieve perfect sync... I seriously wish i could recommend this to you AC fans, but i just can't..... this was a huge game of let downs and it is a disgrace to previous AC games, i mean it.
    Oh and did i tell you about the horrible, anticlimax ending? See for yourselves...
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Assassins Creed 2 and Revelations are two of my favorite games of all time,,, This is not one of those............I found this game frustrating and annoying. The frustrating following and fail missions take away from the potential of greatness. It's also a sloppy mess. Game breaking bugs all over are inexcusable. Some or many of the missions are so linear with one path or fail way to play you wonder how they got away with marketing it as open world. I had to follow a guy in the city, had to start over so many times I cursed constantly at how they could do this to me for my hard earned dollars. Some of the combat is fun, the cities look great. I don't know if I'll play multiplayer as much of it is timed fail missions. I'm sorry, a lot of this game is not fun, frustrating and down right excessively boring... Starting over and over and over is the worst thing in gaming and cant get how they thought that would be fun... Expand
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have given a better score, but am a bit disappointed in this title. It was one if the highly anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are the highest point for me. The storyline lacks, when compared to the other titles in this franchise. We all know the storyline of the assassins verses the Templars. But when I discovered the plot twist of the assassin and the lead Templar in this title, working together. I put my controller down, ejected the game from my ps3 console. That is exactly how disappointed I was. Not to mention the horrible control of naval vessels for naval warfare. I find it ridiculous that ubisoft didn't take enough time to develope this, and made a joke to the assassins creed series. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Sadly, this is a game that just doesn't feel fresh. There isn't enough new or exciting in terms of gameplay to distinguish this from AC2 part 4. After playing all the Ezio games I was not only beginning to tire of the same old stuff gameplay wise, but also very disappointed in how unlikable Connor is, especially when compared to Ezio or even Haytham. I wish I could have played as Haytham for the entire game instead. I did play the game through to the end, which is saying something I guess, but I really have no desire to go back and try to complete more side missions or unlock or explore anything else. The ending also felt like a real let down. I remember almost crying at the end of Metal Gear 3 because of how beautiful it was. The ending of this game left me feeling empty and thinking "That's it?" Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The Assassin's Creed Franchise has never been one that I've been interested in, mainly because I'm not one for stealth games and prefer some more direct, straightforward combat. Some of that may be the reason why it was such a pain in the ass to enjoy this game, but it's not like that I know nothing of the basic fundamentals of sneak. See, the real issue here with "ASS GREED FREE" (as I like to call it sometimes) is that the main player character, throughout most of the AC franchise has never had the ability to crouch while sneaking, often being quite out in the open when he's not. I know that may not seem conspicuous when in towns, but when you involve yourself in the NorthEast Americas trudging through the wilderness, you kind of hope to sneak whilst having every enemy notice you. Anyhow, let's start with the story. I played fragments of this game here and there (despite beating it whole), but I'm pretty sure that even if I got to play the game without missing out on particular story elements, it wouldn't help with my overall disinterest in it. Not to mention that a game that is set during the peak of the American Revolution may scream "Interesting", but somehow, it doesn't. WE get a pretty stale template of a main character both in and out of the Animus, the inner being the still snarky and whiny Desmond Miles, and the outer being Connor Kenway, a American-Indian who seems to hold a pretty dismissive opinion about pretty much everything going on around him, about his Father's plea to make truce with the Templars, the stakes of the American Revolution, about his own villages misfortune of being pushed aside for the war, all of it just seems to nod off his shoulder as "meh". The combat and HUD is confused and convoluted, often do you have to go through the entire motion of killing the same guy if you happen to need to counter another or get hit, and some enemies are near impossible to counter at all unless you just exploit Smoke Bombs or Rope Darts, and since the enemies share a universal stealth detection, once one notices you, they all do. The ability to climb trees apart from buildings assumes that the spaceity of the wilderness is more varied, but it merely comes down to copy and pasted trees that are usually force-made to be parkoured across from. The lack of hiding places apart from their always signature hay stacks is also quite abhorrent, not to mention sort of messing with the context of a particular area too. Crafting and Supplies is also confusing, as to how you are able to find the workers you need or the correct side quests to start such, evidently winding down to getting more "Pounds" to upgrade your ship and arm yourself and pretty much nothing more. The only silver lining behind this small disaster is the Ship sections themselves, as you are excitingly pitted against ships as you can almost feel like a pirate (but that, my friends, will be left for the AC 4 Review). Also, why is it that you have to find some secret chest in order to get silver ingots which pretty much are essential for the one thing that is essential? Anyhow, overall this game is a frustrating little mess to get through, with the convoluted combat mechanics to the directionless navigation to the boring narrative structure. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I have been playing games and perusing Metacritic for years. ACIII is the first game to disappoint to such a degree as to drive me to comment. Wandering, lackluster, and frustrating. Ubi should be ashamed. This game can only meekly stand in the shadow of its predecessors. Go back, do it again, and get it right.
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    Game is okay. The story is the only thing saving it at this point. Don't be surprised when glitches occur often and you are able to kill a group of 30 enemies by yourself with ease.
  13. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Story was, by far, the worst of the entire series.

    Conner was a mental midget who spends the entire game acting like a petulant six year old.

    On the flip side, actual game mechanics were mostly solid, with some improvements over previous games in the series. Unfortunately, I love(d) the AC story, and Conner's story was so bad, and Desmond's "end" was so bad, I have to give AC 3 a 4.
  14. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    After spending years studying the peninsular wars and American civil and revolutionary wars as a hobby I was absolutely bouncing off the walls waiting for this game. I'm British myself and couldn't wait to take on the relentless Redcoats and teach them a lesson in manners that apparently all Brits in the media are portrayed to have! This it would seem would be incredibly easy, every Redcoat in AC3 is simply obnoxious, now considering many army regulars were criminals or the lowest in social standing and many would have never seen a native american, a reaction for the worst would be expected, however considering that most 'Natives' sided with the British concerns me with regards to accuracy! You are repeatedly told the British are coming to take your lands, within hours if you actually watch the 15 cut scenes it takes to get you to collect a feather from a tree also bothers me, I'm certain it was colonial American expansion that worried the natives! Poor Charles Lee, he had a particularly bad war, he wanted Washington's job. history suggests he didn't get it, but to make him out in early scenes to be a lovable rogue and in later scenes to be a child prodding sycophant is pushing it, he died of a fever with his hunting hounds. Sadly inconsistencies are throughout this game, even the weaponry is incorrect, I know I'm being a nerd here but how long and how many people were studying the history for this game?The animation of loading is great though, I loved the (mostly) full loading procedure! Especially when it meant I got stabbed! It was realistic! The gameplay is ok, the free running thing is great but you hold a button and push forward, you sometimes have to press down, it looks pretty sweet though, however fall into combat and much hilarity ensues! Now I may be wrong, but I have not noticed a difficulty button, so it may be me making this combat system appalling. Press a button to parry when the screen slows down, then press kill, is not a challenging attack system! Sometimes they parry your parry and you might have to press x! The sheer cramp this failed to give my hand concerned me further! After single handedly taking on 40 Redcoats I should be jaded, not bopped the lot in exactly 80 very slow button presses! There were so many features in this game I wanted to be good, listening to, and solving frontiersmen challenges and filling my homestead, but making bloody barrels and nails isn't a trade system for an action game, give me something I can bury into Sir Howe's forehead and send us pesky Brits to the other 20% of the world they owned! If you want to have a game that has a pretty standard story that has some easy to digest history, albeit wrong, interest is better than nothing in my eyes! You can execute British troops all day in all manner of hilarious and buggy ways, double dagger to the face and leave them standing, check! Tomahawk to the shoulder and subclavian arteries! Watch him, he is going to parry you, and fantastically cliched cut scenes go for it!!! There's a lot here. Just everything seems to be ok, nothing makes you gawp at the screen or chuckle to yourself, or even make you think you achieved something beyond timing a button press! The naval battles though!! Do em, again and again, just please don't ruin Trafalgar for me as well with some end of world of witchcraft! Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Unlike previous installments, this one doesn't really tell a story, it's just a series of strung together missions with minimal transition between. The numerous gameplay and graphical glitches make it a chore to play, and I find that I am forcing myself to play through and just not enjoying this game like I did with the previous installments. Even the original AC was easier to swallow than this because it had a cohesive storytelling mechanism, but this lacks the thought and polish of even the original installment. Had Ubi put even a modicum of polish into this installment that they had in any of the previous ones, or taken the lessons learned from any of the prior 4 major console releases, this would have been a masterpiece, but in its current state, this is almost a big a steaming pile as Duke Nukem Forever. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW Well, thanks god I'm not the only one who sees that this game is really bad. As more people here, I've been an AC fan since first day, I've all cómics, books and games, even the little ones for Android and IOS, I've beaten AC1 ( my favorite ) 18 times, AC2 12, BH 8 and Revelations 3 and I have all superior editions ( Black, Códex, Animus and Freedom ). Not much people can say that they love AC as I do, but this game, AC3 is such a s**t. It's like Ubisoft got all the ingredients, but they didn't know how to cook it, this game could have been the very best AC, they had the history context, they had the graphics, the maps, the varied missions, the best combat in all the saga, and they have screw it up. AC is not famous for his combat or varied missions, it's famous for the story that it has, one of the best stories ever on videogames industry, it's almost as epic as Metal Gear Solid ( which I love even more than AC ), but this game has ruined that history, I wish this game didn't exist, what a boring and EMPTY story, the "epics" moments in this story are empty, that's the main problem of this game, If an important character dies, it doesn't hurt, not like previous games when I almost cried, and the whole history has holes, it's not narrated properly.

    So... I've been talking about Connor's story, but Desmond story is horrible too, I don't want to spoil you, but seriosly, what a bad story, It's ruined. And the bugs in this game are really upseting, fast travel points that desapear, NPCs that doesn't walk, NCPS popping in front of you as you walk on the city, game freezes, lot of secondary missions bugged, it's really horrible, please don't buy this game. I'm realy disappointed with UbiSoft, they did the worst work ever, they are really important developers and they have lost all my respects and all really fan's respect. And... you know what? The worst thing they did, it's that they have lied to all of us. They said that they would end Desmond's story and they didn't. When I was at the end of the game, I was like, well, after 5 years, finally I'm gonna give and end for this amazing story, but It doen'st end. If you say that this game is good, you have no idea about what you are saying, I can't handle a 7, but no more than that, this game s**ks, thank you so much UbiSoft, you have ruined one of the best sagas ever.
    Expand
  17. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    This game was a MAJOR disappointment. The characters are bland in my opinion, and you can't go into the major battles like in the trailers. You have to stay on a scripted path, and if you go off the path, you die. What happened Ubisoft?
  18. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    This game would have been excellent if the amount of bugs didn't wreak havoc on the game play. Seriously, I couldn't play an hour without having to reload the game, or exit to the Animus, or restart at a checkpoint because I fell through the ground, or a hay horse drove me through the wall of a building, or I got stuck in a falling animation without falling. Some more? Cannon Balls stuck in the air, sound dropping out during an important scene, music stopping. Raiding forts and killing the captain just to realize the "dead" captain is still displayed as an objective and having to exit the fort and restart from scratch. I'm sorry, this game should've never been released. Get a new testing team or more of them. The game is unplayable crap and this will be the first one I did not finish. What a waste of 60 bucks. Expand
  19. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    This game was **** ON A DISC. I won't spoil the ending for anyone, because that's wrong, but all in all, start to finish this game was horrible. I was so excited to get this game, and once I had it, I couldn't wait to start! The beginning is already confusing as hell. The gameplay was terrible, especially the combat. The counter feature is completely shot, I've never had a harder time killing guards. There are so many glitches in this game that I don't know what to do. I've had endless guards spawn for fights, inability to complete missions because something isn't there that I need, and losing 100% synchronization because of a pebble I tripped over somewhere. I'm telling you, whoever is reading this, play at your own risk. The stealth factor in this game is horrible, there is nowhere to hide, and even if there is, guards can still detect you easily. There aren't any armor upgrades, and you have to do way too much upkeep at your "home base" in my opinion. Back in AC2 and Brotherhood, Ezio's side missions (which were a lot more inviting to play) increased the homestead. On top of that, money is scarce, unless you're willing to run through every god forsaken forest and pass every tree to find forts to conquer. Hunting is pretty pointless, and the animals are **** everywhere. I couldn't pass through the forest without having to fight several packs of wolves. In the end, I was so fed up with the hunting regions that I just fast travelled everywhere. The aspects of this game aren't satisfying, they just make you want to run through the sequences and finish (which is what I did). There is no incentive to spend time improving the lands or yourself, or trying on the missions, because you get so damn fed up with glitches, lack of combat, and the ultimately boring storyline. 3/4 of the game is all about bringing up the past, and it just seems like one big tutorial. You spend the first 1/3 of the game just figuring out who the hell Connor is, and the rest of the game, he's a rookie. After years of "supposed" training (that you don't go through, it's just a cutscene and suddenly he's an assassin) he still can't get **** straight. I didn't like his character. He was driven by revenge I guess, but his drive wasn't in the right places. He just seemed to bounce around with his thoughts too much, and not focus on being a kick ass assassin. Come on, Ezio wanted revenge, and he did whatever it took to improve himself. He didn't go blindly running after people. Connor just seems like a bitter, little boy. There was no part in the game where you got to bond with the character, like Ezio. I don't know about everyone else, but I felt like I was constantly waiting for a moment where I would feel connected to the game, like I did for AC2 and Brotherhood, AND Revelations (Even AC1 for that matter). It never happened. I'm clearly unhappy with this game, Ubisoft screwed up big time. I will say, I did enjoy the Desmond parts of the game, being in the different countries and all. I wish there was more Desmond involvement. One thing I liked about the AC franchise was the history. They go back in time, right? This game was so bad I preferred to be in the present. I could go on and on and on, but you get the idea. It was terrible. Like I said, **** on a disc. I can't believe I paid top dollar for it. Even the DLC didn't help. I won't spoil it, but that ending? Wow, takes the cake. Awful. Ubisoft, just stop. Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    I had such high hopes for this game, but in the end, Connor was unlikable and annoying while the gameplay was repetitive, recycled and tedious. The only thing that I enjoyed about it was the setting. I'm done with AC games for awhile.
  21. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a shame how the Assassin's Creed Franchise is digging itself deeper in its own demise. The new assassin Connor, isn't just what would keep this series interesting. I personally think that Connor is the most useless and stupidest of assassins and the quests of AC III are dull and boring. The story is the worst in this game, and the series would've been better in the beginning without Desmond, Abstergo or the Apple of Eden. The story is two parts: With random nonsensical messing around with Desmond and also the noble savage Connor and the evil white man. The combat is messed up for example, removing the lock-on and adding flintlock weapons that are rubbish. The quests are filled with annoying bonus-objectives and the stealth-mechanics make no sense. And the worst part is the awful naval-combat, what had a great idea, but was executed poorly. Only thing good about this game, is the historical events and the architecture from the years 1700-1800. So with Connor and his useless gadgets don't support this game and the quests and missions are painful and boring to play this was a nice checking out for architecture in form of a game that was not worth of pre-ordering. I suggest you avoid this and check out the newest one when it comes. Expand
  22. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    It is an okay game I guess but to me it was a real let down for the Assassin's Creed series. The game play was similar to the last game, the graphics were a little more updated, the story had an interesting twist to it, there were some more weapons added to the game, and it had new features. So why was the not as good? To sum it up in one word, Connor. It is, to me, his personality that makes the game not as fun, he is like the always serious character where that cuts down on some of the fun of watching cut scenes, and I find it harder to understand him, to say it plainly he's not the Ezio Auditore we all know and love. Expand
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Expand
  24. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    This game turned out to be exceptionally poor.After a boring 4 hour prologue,AC3 hardly improves at all.By the time you get to where you should have been after an hour,you'll be so bored that just getting the Assassins outfit will feel like an achievement.As with all games in this series,it's the Animus that breaks the illusion that this is,in fact, a game and reminds you every few moments that this is not a real world.Graphics,voice-work,animation and story are all quite average and the less said about the combat the better.A yearly money grab from a company who have a golden goose.Sad... Expand
  25. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    Normally love the Creed... but really didn't like this game at all. It has so many bugs, online servers offline a lot. forgettable boring characters and the story means nothing to me as an international player. The game keeps talking about people like i should know who they are... game tries and fails to rip off Red Dead Redemption. Americans might get something out of this...
  26. May 8, 2014
    3
    A black mark on a wonderful franchise. I finished the 4 previous titles. AC2 was easily the best, but this game is a huge step back in every regard: very imprecise controls, frustratingly vague mission objectives, the worst combat system of the series, very unintuitive menus, bland main character, and broken stealth. How is it that a game about assassins has broken stealth? The story is good, so are the graphics, animations and all the little details that they put in this world. But ultimately, this game is not fun. It was a chore to play which I gave up on about 75% of the way through. AC4 gains some ground over this mess but it too does not reach the heights of AC2. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    The game is a disgrace to the franchise. I couldn't finish the game because of some of the flaws with the game. Returned it, got my money back. Good
    1. The game is very large. For awhile I was complaining about how ACB and ACR had small maps, well this game would surely shut any of those complaints up. 2. There are a lot of missions in this game. Plenty of things to do. Bad
    The
    fact that I can't think of more than 2 good things about the game is a bad sign

    1. The combat is horrible. Basically the combat is circle to counter and square to attack. Even the first assassins creed game had more than 2 buttons used for combat. Certain enemies are nearly impossible to kill because you have no clue how to fight because it is completely counter intuitive and way too far from the other games.

    2. To make matters worse, the game doesn't have enough assassination missions. The game is basically you running around butchering people in broad daylight. There have been moments where guards will just randomly start attacking you, maybe it was because I killed too many guards, I don't know because there is no indicator for this like in the other games... 3. They took out abilities in the game for no reason at all.

    Want to jog? Nope can't do that! L1 = sprint, not L1 + X
    Want to kick your enemy? Nope, remember circle and square are the only 2 actions
    Want to air assassinate? Nope, never opportunities to air assassinate since the game is basically a bunch of wooden houses spread far apart.
    Can I leap while climbing? NOPE

    4. Quicktime events. If you played RE6 before this game, you probably never want to see quicktime events ever again. Well bad news, they are all over the game. Random wolf attacks you, QTE, fail you pretty much die. THIS IS ALL OVER THE ENTIRE GAME. 5. You have no clue what the hell is going on. I actually found that I no longer cared, Connor is a boring character with no development at all. He is basically Jack the Ripper.

    6. I liked assassins creed 2 the most because the game offered a ton of beautiful maps. Florence and Venice are great locations. Sure they aren't as big as the maps in this game, but they are more dense and full of more life. I think it was a mistake to approach the american revolution as the setting. I want to go back to the renaissance era. Summary

    The game is garbage. I gave RE6 a 4/10, the fact that this is getting a 3/10 means that the game is basically unplayable. Sure RE6 had **** quicktime events, but at least the game mechanics weren't absolute **** 50% of my score is based off of the controls, and if the controls suck ass then the game is basically worthless.
    Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Boring game... 0 Gameplay... Every little part is automatic. I hope, for the next episode, to have an automatic control, so i can only watch the game and don't play it.
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    3
    i really wanted to like this game. i liked the ones that came before and was hoping it would at least come close. but really, the glitches, bugs and AI are a total PITA. riding a horse on top of a house is funny the first time but it gets old fast. in fact, riding a horse in general gets old fast. you're walking around incongnito and get ambushed by 30+ guards but later on you practically jump a guard and they barely notice. wha? and what's with the screwy controls? why make 4 games the same and change the last one when your audience is most likely going to be made up of the ones that liked the first few games? and by "change" i mean "make totally sucky". the main missions are pretty linear and boring and don't leave much for the player to think about. the menus are a labyrinth to navigate, and that's not a compliment. accessing the map alone is a drag. and why are there more cutscenes than gameplay? at least that's how it feels most of the time. and how boring and pointless were the guild/trading elements? it seems to me that ubisoft just tried to cram in too much into one game, not really developing anything except for the scenery, which is the only reason it got any points at all. in a nutshell: a pretty, but boring and frustrating game. Expand
  30. Nov 6, 2012
    3
    The Good The story elements were great (if a little slow and protracted). While it would have nice to have some aspects more fully fleshed out (more climactic boss encounters and more insight into character motivation), we both enjoyed where the story went and are interested to see how they proceed from here. The Bad Combat was not improved at all. If anything it was simpler and more boring. Yes there were more ranged combat choices, but there was no visible way to really improve or customize your weapons. Combat has never been particularly deep tactically, but this installment was actually a step backwards. The game made it far too easy to successfully counter and there was almost no variety in opponent type Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.