User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1142 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed 3 is the best game I've ever played in my whole entire life. That's all I really have to say about this title. You can see details from other reviews.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    I'm about to laugh at all the negative reviewers because I think they just need to calm down. The introduction of the game is about 2 hours and yes it "forces" you through a lot of stuff, but AC3 wasn't designed for idiots with no patience. AC3 is for those die-hard fans who love the plot, and so these 2 hours are putting you through plot that you MUST endure if you have followed the storyI'm about to laugh at all the negative reviewers because I think they just need to calm down. The introduction of the game is about 2 hours and yes it "forces" you through a lot of stuff, but AC3 wasn't designed for idiots with no patience. AC3 is for those die-hard fans who love the plot, and so these 2 hours are putting you through plot that you MUST endure if you have followed the story previously. DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME UNTIL YOU'VE PLAYED THE OTHERS. And if you're impatient and lazy and stupid then just don't bother. You will love the graphics and gameplay because the devs have put blood sweat and tears into those domains, but the game is mostly for the plot and the love. It's deep and will keep getting deeper. AC 4 LYFE!!! Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. To all the people writing negative reviews, are you playing the same game? Or is it that I just don't get mad at things they changed? I think some people stopped playing and just said it was crap after twenty minutes. But moving along the story of Connor from beginning to end is great and I connected with him more than any other character in the series. GrantedThis game is incredible. To all the people writing negative reviews, are you playing the same game? Or is it that I just don't get mad at things they changed? I think some people stopped playing and just said it was crap after twenty minutes. But moving along the story of Connor from beginning to end is great and I connected with him more than any other character in the series. Granted this isn't going to win any Oscars but the story I think is the best of the series. He frustrated me at times and in the middle it fell flat for a bit but then picked up again. Overall very good. And the prologue was great, it was a fun lead into the story, predictable but still a nice long intro and set up with a little shock and awe to throw you into the game. I loved it so sorry to those who don't. Definitely did not ruin the game. Now graphics because this one is easy, They are gorgeous. Incredible work on the faces of people, mostly noticeable in cut scenes cuz when else are you looking at faces. The faces are a bit shiny tho, minor nit pick. The Levels are huge, and multiple areas like in ACII. I ran through the main story and left side missions for after and I bet I only uncovered 1/3 or less of the areas, especially frontier. And also gorgeous not only in looks but design, the cities have always been great and the two new ones are no less, the docks are one of my favorite views with all the big ships. And frontier is great with lots of vertical and variation on the map. Really got lost in the woods many times, like skyrim almost, not as large as that of course. That leads into the weather, it just adds that extra layer which I really liked. you are in the same places but they look different and snow slows you down a bit which is a nice touch. Now Gameplay, they have stripped this one down I feel, but I feel for the better, they kept what was good and made it work especially combat. no sprinkle fillers like all the grenades in revelations that I never used. Free running took a bit to get used to with the only one button this time and with all the automated corner peaks and so many things to climb on you will run into frustrations climbing the wrong way or jumping off when you didn't mean to etc but nothing more than in previous games. Running in trees and such in the frontier is super fun, especially I was chasing guy on horseback stood up, jumped into the trees air assassinated and stole a bad guys horse, stood up and jumped into the trees again and rope hung the second guy. That was memorable to me. Then the boats! Oh I love the boats!! freaking pirate style and so much fun. People can complain about them if they want but I personally love every single part about the boats. To wrap it up as I am getting lengthy the only bad things I would say is i which they took stealth a step further, like a crouch/sneak i felt would have helped in some situations. The sneak missions i found to be the most frustrating but once you figure out a path then it works you just might have to try a few times. or twenty. but minor gripe because I did feel accomplished once i finally got the missions done, more so than when i just had to run and kill someone, that's easy! So overall a great game and a great experience, oh music, voice acting and sound 10/10 almost forgot that. But so great in fact i'm going to go play some more, maybe jump into multiplayer which i haven't had a chance to do. By far my favorite in the series and a must buy for any fan. and definitely look into if you are just looking for an amazing game worth more than the $60 you put into it. or more like me i got the limited edition just so i could hang the flag on my wall, and it looks awesome! Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Hey, what is it with everyone??? This is BY FAR the best AC game and I've played all of them at least twice. I'm really having a very hard time here trying to understand why anyone would give this game a negative review... The story is magnificently compelling, the graphics and the engine, seasons and all that stuff is mind-blowing and the character is an all-new, very different andHey, what is it with everyone??? This is BY FAR the best AC game and I've played all of them at least twice. I'm really having a very hard time here trying to understand why anyone would give this game a negative review... The story is magnificently compelling, the graphics and the engine, seasons and all that stuff is mind-blowing and the character is an all-new, very different and interesting and fun character. I finished the game two hours ago and I still have stuff to do enough to make an entire game out of... This is superb AC experience... Yeah, there are an unusual amount of glitches and bugs which aren't as important as some people think. Besides, it caught my eye that these bugs lessen when you progress. Anyway, this is a magnificent game which is, in my opinion, Ubisoft's geatest work. Finally, the ending still left a lot of questions and also many new ones, regarding the outcome of the game's events. I think we're definitely going to be seeing a lot of AC still and most likely connected to this ending. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012.
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Great game! The new location is a good change of pace than the rooftop heavy predecessors of the series. Combat and the new techniques have good additions too. Loved the AC series and this is a good step for the assassin.
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it puts Skyrim to shame. I love the new combat mechanics it did take a little while to get used to the new button layout but once I did the redcoats never stood a chance. I spent at least my first hour as Connor killing all redcoats I could see. Also allWhat an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it puts Skyrim to shame. I love the new combat mechanics it did take a little while to get used to the new button layout but once I did the redcoats never stood a chance. I spent at least my first hour as Connor killing all redcoats I could see. Also all these people complaining about the Desmond and Modern day plot. Well WHO CARES. We didn Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This is probably The best game of the series. I loved how the start was, because its so important to the story itself, and after two hours it was done. Two Hours isnt that bad, when you think it an tutorial and a story point, I wasnt bored, i just saw it as and introduction the whole new Era you are playing in. Anyway. The free roam is Awesome! Almost like Red Dead Redemption, and the newThis is probably The best game of the series. I loved how the start was, because its so important to the story itself, and after two hours it was done. Two Hours isnt that bad, when you think it an tutorial and a story point, I wasnt bored, i just saw it as and introduction the whole new Era you are playing in. Anyway. The free roam is Awesome! Almost like Red Dead Redemption, and the new mechanics is fun and really creative, Plus the Naval battle is the best Victorian naval simulator i have ever played! Grapichs is Really, really good, but at some points it pretty bad (But acceptable).

    Im only half way, but im having a blast!

    10 for me, because it deserves a 9 in all, so im just trying to push the rating up!

    Nice done Bioware!
    Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    It is an incredible game. probably the best open-world game I've ever played. Graphics are great, the world is extremely large and incredibly detailed, and the gameplay has seen massive improvements over Revelations. I can't find any major or game-breaking problems in this game so far. This, along with AC 3 Liberation on the Vita, are probably candidates GOTY 2012 for me atleast.
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed III takes everything that worked well in previous titles, sprinkled in a touch of Red Dead Redemption, tweaked thecombat to be as smooth as Batman: Arkham City, borrowed the cinematic and character development of Uncharted 2, and polished it all off to be one of, if not the very best, game of 2012.
  11. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    It's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negariveIt's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negarive 0's from trolls, my real score is 8.5/10. Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This game is an amazing new iteration for the Assassin's Creed saga, a worthy successor to its awesome predecessors, and an epic tale where you can enjoy the incredible amount of work that Ubisoft surely invested on it. Here the American Revolution feels alive and fresh, and it comes with a multifaceted and human hero: the memorable Connor.
  13. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of the biggest and best games I've played this year. I have been a big fan of the series since it started. I've heard a lot of people complain about this game, but from what they said it pretty much represented the first two hours where you have to go through a very slow paced and linear part. This is just to get you into the story and the initial feel. Once you're throughThis is one of the biggest and best games I've played this year. I have been a big fan of the series since it started. I've heard a lot of people complain about this game, but from what they said it pretty much represented the first two hours where you have to go through a very slow paced and linear part. This is just to get you into the story and the initial feel. Once you're through that, you are free to do as you're pleased really. It's a game that really doesn't disappoints. I've been amazed by the sheer scale of that game. It's incredible. The story is very interesting, the gameplay is fun and feels right. I was afraid of setting assassin's creed in america because I thought it would be impossible to beat a game that was set in the renaissance era. As assassin's creed 2 was a giant leap from the first one, assassin's creed 3 is giant leap from AC2. To me it is a big contender for Game of the year. We'll just have to wait and see for there are still other games that need to be released before giving the final judgement. But all in all, it's an amazing that I don't think anyone should miss! Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed III, well I will start saying this is the most epic and most fun game in the hole franchise, I have them all and this has been the best. I'm really sad that Desmond is dead but I understood that they needed that in the story after 5 epic games they finished his story. There we're problems and some little things not very nice but people who gave a 0 rating on this game are stupid or ignorant, they can dislike the game but, have you seen all the work that ubisoft spent in this game? 3 years, 3 **** years and they made for this game the greatest thing. The animals, the fire weapons, the hidden blade as a knife, the bow (which I think it should been from the first game), climbing trees, getting into battlefield, 1,000 characters on screen, climatic changes (snow, breeze, rain, sunny days, etc), whole new combat system better than the others, enemies atack all at the same time, hunting, naval battles, and lots and lots more, even though it has it defects and I didn't like very much the ending for all the work I give it a ten and a recommendation for all to buy it. Cause Assassin's Creed III is the best on the market. Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    People need to stop trolling, it's really makes me sad seeing trolls giving this game 0's without even stating one valid reason, this game isn't perfect but it's the best this year, way better than other rushed games that surprisngly, got better scores than this for some reason. :/
  16. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    i love this game it so good more little side quest and main character is british dude which frankly sound little like patrick stewart from american dad anyways it has good killing moves but overall the controller bit meh. The was glitches in game that they could fix.

    but still overall 10 out of 10
  17. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I would give this game a 8.5 if metacritic would let me.. Originally after seeing IGN gave it a 8.5 I felt offended, I've been looking forward to this game for a long time and although I feakin' loved Ezio, I was excited for the introduction of the new assassin Connor... Alas Connor ended up being the biggest dissapointment behind the many bugs of the game. After coming away fromI would give this game a 8.5 if metacritic would let me.. Originally after seeing IGN gave it a 8.5 I felt offended, I've been looking forward to this game for a long time and although I feakin' loved Ezio, I was excited for the introduction of the new assassin Connor... Alas Connor ended up being the biggest dissapointment behind the many bugs of the game. After coming away from Revelations with Ezio, Connor made me realize how much personality Ezio contributed to the overall game. Connor is in a terrible situation in AC III and yet it feels like he's a push-over. But aside from this and the bugs I loved how massive the game was, although sometimes frustrating to get 100% synched... AC 3 is really the largest AC game there has ever been and it definetly is the best overall, it's just not 100% what I was hoping for. I didn't really focus on any of the side mission stuff while playing the game because they make it too easy to fast travel. I'm planning on giving liberation a shot now that i've completed III, I really hope they turn this series around and find a new exciting Assassin, hopefully one can measure up to Ezio. Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is my review of the game, first the graphics, the graphics in this game are really detailed and beautiful, the character models and the environments are great and when you reach a highpoint, you will not want to go down just because you want to apprecciate the scenery, especially in the frontier, now the gameplay, this is your typical ac gameplay but with some cool tweaks, the controls have changed, now you counter with o or b in ps3 or xbox, you knwo have double counters and combos which feel great , it is also dual wielding , the combat if done right you can teke out large groups of enemies like a boss because of the dual wielding you can now kill cleanly and quickly, it also has a greater stelath feature with some new itmes like the bow or the rope dart, and some other new functions that meake the steakth easier and cooler, you also have hunting, where you can hunt animals and sell their pelts at a certain cost based on the way you killed the animal, which is really cool and interesting, you also have club challenges which are also fun to complete, the naval warfare is good, ot is fun and keeps the game fresh, and you can also upgrade your ship, all of the gameplay is a ton of fun, the only minor problem I had though was the crafting interface, at the beggining it was confusing as **** characters: the characters in this game are really likeable and well done, i almost cried when achilles and haytham died, connor for me is in par with ezio as a character and all of the characters are really deep and they make you care about them, at least for me, i wanted every memeber of the templar order to die , and at the same time i was worried of what would happen to connor and his companions throughout the story.
    story, it is a direct sequel to assassins creed revelations you start the game as desmond where he and his friends find a crypt but then desmond starts to have allucinations and he eventually faints, i'm not going to say anymore to don't spil anything more than i did, but the story is so well done that i never wanted to stop playing, and i LITERALLY dodn't want too, if i had to pee i would say to myself **** IT!! i want to know what happens next.
    Overall in MY opinion it is a 10 out of 10, it has some minor issues and bugs but i think it raises the bar so high that it doesn't deserved any pints of. Peace
    Expand
  19. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Being a hardcore AC fan, Assassin's Creed 3 was a true shift in the wind. Not only is combat different, but the feeling of the game changes drastically as well. You'll find yourself actually worrying about other characters and the regular populace, completing more side-quests than you normally would. Notoriety is also a bigger part of the game, as once it reaches level three, it becomesBeing a hardcore AC fan, Assassin's Creed 3 was a true shift in the wind. Not only is combat different, but the feeling of the game changes drastically as well. You'll find yourself actually worrying about other characters and the regular populace, completing more side-quests than you normally would. Notoriety is also a bigger part of the game, as once it reaches level three, it becomes impossible to navigate the city roads or rooftops without attracting attention. The characters are well-developed, I find myself hating the Templars as much as I love them. Overall, it depends on your point of view and how you're affected by change, as there is a lot of it in this game, give it a try, get used to it. 9/10 for a few glitches, some weird lip synch and for the general length of the game, which is insufficient. Expand
  20. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    AC III truly speaking in the beginning I was disappointed with the game and I didn't want to play but as I spent time and completed the story it became interesting and interesting. UBI Soft has change a lot of things that made the game a new game and difficult as well. some of the new concepts are very difficult like convoy trade etc. I admit the game has some glitches but it is AC weAC III truly speaking in the beginning I was disappointed with the game and I didn't want to play but as I spent time and completed the story it became interesting and interesting. UBI Soft has change a lot of things that made the game a new game and difficult as well. some of the new concepts are very difficult like convoy trade etc. I admit the game has some glitches but it is AC we should ignore little thing behind this big game. I Love AC all versions and AC II as well. The one who like the game in the same conventional manner, they couldn't like this version but as you see the game era is 1700 to 1799 so time time change and the weapons has change. You cannot use all conventional weapons in this era. You have to consider the time as well. I suggest you all to play a bit and spend some time with it and I'm sure you'll definitely like it. Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I just finished playing through the campaign and must say it's been a hell of a ride. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of the game and there were no moments where I wanted to put down my controller, with the exception of spending too many hours playing. I wasn't too huge a big fan of the series, but this game won me over. This game has beautiful animations, great story telling and funI just finished playing through the campaign and must say it's been a hell of a ride. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of the game and there were no moments where I wanted to put down my controller, with the exception of spending too many hours playing. I wasn't too huge a big fan of the series, but this game won me over. This game has beautiful animations, great story telling and fun gameplay with many different things to do around the world. The difficulty is not very hard unless you try to complete all objectives. Would highly recommend for all gamers or anybody who just wants a great story. Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Every single person who vote this below 9 is an unbelievable retard! Before trying out this one I thought... yeah... Assassins Creed again... tryied the first one, second one and the other series... they are just Assassins Creed... you ALWAYS know what the game is about, do the same thing and know that every single mission in all the past Assassins Creed series are actually all the sameEvery single person who vote this below 9 is an unbelievable retard! Before trying out this one I thought... yeah... Assassins Creed again... tryied the first one, second one and the other series... they are just Assassins Creed... you ALWAYS know what the game is about, do the same thing and know that every single mission in all the past Assassins Creed series are actually all the same and the is BORING. I wanted to give this one a try and.... hhhh... I never felt this feeling before. I only had this feeling when I tried World of Warcraft Classic, Burning Crusade and Fable 1 and that's years ago!!! Those days were so GOOD addicting... Those games were sexy games and I loved them :D and you won't believe this.. Assassins Creed 3 is JUST LIKE THEM! The story is actually epic and cinematic just like Uncharted 2 and the gameplay feels facking relaxing just like World of Warcraft Classic and the RPG elements feels just as original as Fable 1: The Lost Chapters. In few words this game is insane and addicting with this relaxing feeling you probably had when you tried the first series of World of Warcraft role-playing games. Why? In Assassins Creed 3 they changed EVERYTHING from start to scratch. They even changed the way you use the buttons. They even changed the health bar and the sound effects. This is not Assassins Creed 1, 2 or the expansions... this is a brand new one which doesn't even remind about the old ones. It's a whole new project WAY different from the other ones. The graphics looks like Uncharted 2 and way more improved than the old Assassins Creed games. You don't hang around the streets everytime and searching for those Eagle Eye buildings to do sidemissions everytime. For the first time the game is actually telling the story just like they do in movies. This time it's DEFINITELY not about running on roofs and killing people. No... Maaaaaan this is a very bad review by me :D sorry about that buy I just can't explain it. It's just too much... it's wonderful! I couldn't explain how good World of Warcraft Classic was at the beginning because it's was good in every perspective you look at. It's a monster because it feels like a real roleplaying-game just like Warcraft 3, Diablo 2... maaaaan... try this out. This game can't be described in words. And no I'm not a nerd :D This is just too much perfect. Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    This game is truly a great game!I It is very realistic,everything has improved, especially the moves!! The counters and the climbing are just great and all this combined with great graphics!
  24. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    AC3...is a great game. It is a bit slow but that shouldn't be a fault. The twist at the beginning and giving the character depth isn't something that should be frowned upon. That being said the gameplay is very slick. Performing multiple assassinations, while moving nonetheless, feels great. Running and jumping through the cities, and the trees, feels great. The hunting is fun and, in myAC3...is a great game. It is a bit slow but that shouldn't be a fault. The twist at the beginning and giving the character depth isn't something that should be frowned upon. That being said the gameplay is very slick. Performing multiple assassinations, while moving nonetheless, feels great. Running and jumping through the cities, and the trees, feels great. The hunting is fun and, in my opinion, better then Read Dead Redemption. The combat is actually somewhat challenging, enemies won't wait to attack and you cannot heal during a fight, Notoriety has been improved with each level being harder then the last, compared to the other AC games where if you were notorious all they would do is look then come over. Essentially what I am saying is this is a very good game and I don't understand why the score isn't in the 90's. Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    If you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have beenIf you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have been slightly tweaked so it may take a battle or two for fans to get accustomed to. As usual the story and realism of the environment is what really stand out here, developers have outdone themselves this go around. It all culminates into one spectacular experience that players won't soon forget. Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best game i have ever played. EVERYTHING with this game is perfection. Those things that Assassins Creed have been lacking has been fixed. It really feels like it's a new IP but at the same time it has the AC feel. AMAZING game. No doubt GOTY 12
  27. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is no doubt game of the year. i little slow start though but a very interesting start. the environment of the game is completely insane. it looks so extremely fluid and the new AnvilNext is just AMAZING.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.