Assassin's Creed III PlayStation 3

Assassin's Creed III Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1327 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’rePursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’re tracking your quarry’s blood trail through fresh snow, or taking advantage of driving winds and thick fog to hide your attack, liberty is on the line, so unleash your killing power in Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    With the game's mix of a hugely interactive open world, a compelling setting, and a finely tuned combat system, I'm eager to return to delve even further into the Animus.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    95
    Assassin's Creed III is unavoidably, inescapably epic.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    93
    Freerunning has taken on new life with Connor's ability to flit through the trees, and the new weapons hem nicely into the freedom and wealth of options of the series...I can personally guarantee it'll see the top of many Game of the Year lists, perhaps even our own – Assassin's Creed III is a masterpiece.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Nov 26, 2012
    80
    A gargantuan, lavish historical epic that pushes PS3 to its limits, only to be led down by linear missions and a clunky interface. [Christmas 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Generally, Assassin's Creed III delivers most of the things that fans want. It's a fresh new setting wrapped around the familiar core mechanics. We've lost the less engaging elements that they experimented with in Revelations while adding a couple of new tricks to the range of gameplay.
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 355
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers,AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I have to say, I was rather impressed with this game. After the inherent failure that was Revelations, Ubisoft made an ambitious but riskyI have to say, I was rather impressed with this game. After the inherent failure that was Revelations, Ubisoft made an ambitious but risky leap into a whole new world with Connor and the American Revolution. The story crafted around this period is a little less exciting the fighting the Pope under the Vatican, but it does present opportunities to take part in events and meet characters that no other game does. The plot itself is a little shaky, with various holes in the storytelling, however it still has the intricate Ubisoft feel and is told magnificently throughout the game, and yet again leaves us with many questions at the end of the game. The game-play itself has changed, in some ways for the worst and in some ways for the better. The game is more fluid and has a better constructed combat than before, but the linear missions take away the freedom we had in previous Assassin's Creed titles, which is disappointing. The expansive world created for the game is not only breathtaking but alive as well, which means there will always be more to do, and the side missions have gotten even better. The game is plagued by several irritating bugs, which can get in the way of game-play experience, but hopefully future patches will correct this. To conclude, both Assassin's Creed and non-Assassin's Creed fans will love this game, but it is not the 'next-gen' title Ubisoft hyped it up to be. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    The story of Desmond is concluded, and we gets to say hi to the new assassin named Connor. the game is sprawling with brand new environments,The story of Desmond is concluded, and we gets to say hi to the new assassin named Connor. the game is sprawling with brand new environments, new time setting, and new equipment. the soundtrack is delicious, and that is awesome. but.
    the ending disappointed me, and the cities could have been a little more varied.
    7/10 newcomers to the series may be a little confused, but for you assassin fans its a must-buy.
    Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2015
    6
    Never managing to live up to the initial plot twist, AC 3 sees you (mainly) take the role of Connor during the American revolution. All theNever managing to live up to the initial plot twist, AC 3 sees you (mainly) take the role of Connor during the American revolution. All the familiar ingredients are present yet somehow seem disjointed and more of a chore than ever. Connor is a far cry from the charismatic Ezio and the locations not as glorious as Rome or Venice. You've also got the continuation of Desmond's story out of the animus with a truly terrible ending to the game. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    5
    Ubisoft tried to be ambitious with this new game but I felt let down really. The main protagonist is a complete bore and what frustrated meUbisoft tried to be ambitious with this new game but I felt let down really. The main protagonist is a complete bore and what frustrated me even more was the small story telling sessions that he undertakes in order just to try and fill gaps in the storyline. The gamer should be experiencing this first hand, rather that getting it painfully explained in a dreary, monotone voice. The gameplay however, was a good improvement on its predecessors, the movements were more fluid, realistic and brutal and the graphics were a noticeable improvement on previous games aswell however it is tarnished by countless glitches. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    This is the worst AC game in the series. The graphics are acceptable, but that's it. That's the end of all the positive things I can say. TheThis is the worst AC game in the series. The graphics are acceptable, but that's it. That's the end of all the positive things I can say. The story is just boring and it doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The tutorial takes ages to complete and doesn't tell anything importent. Also where has the stealth gone? Also, the lack of detail... Hiding in the thinest bushes ever, and nobody can see you there. How is that realistic? There are way too many bugs and glitches, even after patches. The tree running or whatever you want to call it is just horrible. Characters are horrible with terrible voice acting. Desmond's story was bad and the ending stupid. They said the combat was new and fresh and smooth and stuff, but it was horrible. It sucked. Sorry if this review is unstructured, but for this game I don't have the energy to make a professional review. This game is bad and it will be my last AC game, because AC III was the first game ever that I pre-ordered. I never did a pre-order before, so I had some hopes for this game. I thought it would be the best game ever. But I regret the pre-order so hard. Yes Ubisoft, you failed me for the first time (and you probably will fail the people that buy AC IV). Garbage.. So heartbreaking to see that Ubisoft ruined a very good franchise that's called Assassin's Creed, which I always enjoyed. Unbelievable. Expand

See all 355 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.