Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 720 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While Black Flag feels very much like an Assassin's Creed game, its gameplay reminds me more of Sid Meier's Pirates! wrought in glorious 3D. As in that classic game, you are free to sail wherever your heart desires, and be as dastardly or as benign as you like. Embodying Edward Kenway and living through his adventures on the seas, while also experiencing his struggle with Assassins and Templars alike, is pure escapist delight.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    93
    The greatest compliment I can afford Black Flag, though, is that I wanted more at the end of my time with it. With such an expansive map to explore and so many alluring distractions on offer, this is the kind of game a player could easily lose scores of hours exploring.
  3. 90
    The game is stunning, and the Caribbean makes for a gorgeous setting.
  4. 90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag reinvigorates the series after its patchy performance over the last few years, making it the best game since Brotherhood.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    The overall polish has improved, and there is more fun to be had in this iteration than any previous. It no longer feels like a forced checklist, instead offering players the freedom to partake, skip, or mix and match as much as they see fit.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    85
    With the new Assassin’s Creed we find ourselves in the Caribbean with a new main character called Edward Kenway. Black Flag focuses on the sea battles we saw in the third game and continues with this, with some new additions. Overall, you’ll be busy for a while – 40 hours, give or take – but the story isn’t that compelling.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    Pirate fans will merrily pick this up and discover a solid purchase, but the rest might want to hold out in hopes of something different from next year’s iteration.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 170
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    playng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edwardplayng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edward is a badass Collapse
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite Assassin's Creed game. Lots of content, ship battles are great, really makes you feel like a bad@ss Assassin/Pirate. BestOne of my favorite Assassin's Creed game. Lots of content, ship battles are great, really makes you feel like a bad@ss Assassin/Pirate. Best graphics so far. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    best assassins creed easily... I thought nothing could top assassins creed 2 but this game... what a suprise, I honestly didn't expect a gamebest assassins creed easily... I thought nothing could top assassins creed 2 but this game... what a suprise, I honestly didn't expect a game this good. Congratz to ubisoft, since the addition of the multiplayer and the yearly releases I saw this franchise going downhill and turning into another disgrace like call of duty but AC4 has totally changed my mind. So much stuff has been changed, the only thing that makes me associate AC4 with AC3 is the "walking on trees" feature. Even the naval aspect (which was pretty good in AC3) is so much better. It brings the best out of all the games and so much more. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    this is the best ac game the best part are the fights you can have with your ship the whole pirate theme is really good the online is prettythis is the best ac game the best part are the fights you can have with your ship the whole pirate theme is really good the online is pretty fun but no one is better than ezio and thats why is not a ten on ten Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Wow Samax22 I hope you're not expecting anyone to take your review seriously, jaysus. First off, this game is great, absolutely beautiful,Wow Samax22 I hope you're not expecting anyone to take your review seriously, jaysus. First off, this game is great, absolutely beautiful, there is a lot of stuff to do.Very addicting, I played over 30 hours in my first session. It will take you about 60 hours or more to do the main story, explore every location, and to do most of the side quest. Characters are pretty good as well, Blackbeard and James Kidd are among the standouts. I liked the story except for the ending. Gameplay is good, same as AC3. There are a few things I didn't like, you will spend a lot of time following people around while trying to avoid guards and it can get annoying. And there in not that many missions in each sequence. But overall it's a great game, 9/10 for me. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    So the assassin's creed franchise continues to amaze gamers with this game being set it the pirate time era it calls for great pirateSo the assassin's creed franchise continues to amaze gamers with this game being set it the pirate time era it calls for great pirate gameplay,fun and shenanigans. You play the role of Edward Kenway farther to Haythem Kenway [Charter from AC3]. I played this on ps3 and the game looks good for how a PS3 game also on next gen game should be. It brings over the naval combat from AC3 and is stella the naval combat is definitely the best bit of the game. Where the naval combat is great the hand to hand combat really sucks press square to attack and press circle to counter in coming attacks adding pistol and other weapons to the combat that have other effects. The stealth feels really lame in this game with it being used less and less from other assassin's creed games. The charters such as Edward and your pirate crew are really awesome but you never feel like a pirate your crew always loves you and nothing really fell as your a pirate. The world in this game is amazing from the giant open ocean and vass epic landscapes are great to play in felt as a massive expanded far cry 3. The Desmond story dosen't continue
    in this game [thankfully] instead you play as you and go into the animus to play as Edward and do all the epic pirate snazz. The misson types are great ranging from a wide range of activates to do and plenty of side quest, hunting and plenty more. Assassin's Creed 4 black flag is my favourite assassin's creed game ever the pirate theme is great its well packed with a great open world but it still lacks in the combat which lets the game down for they really need to fix this in the instalment of the franchise The final verdict is a 8.5 a Great game and this defiantly one not to miss this holiday season
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far,Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far, the worst game in the series Expand

See all 170 User Reviews