Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While Black Flag feels very much like an Assassin's Creed game, its gameplay reminds me more of Sid Meier's Pirates! wrought in glorious 3D. As in that classic game, you are free to sail wherever your heart desires, and be as dastardly or as benign as you like. Embodying Edward Kenway and living through his adventures on the seas, while also experiencing his struggle with Assassins and Templars alike, is pure escapist delight.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    93
    The greatest compliment I can afford Black Flag, though, is that I wanted more at the end of my time with it. With such an expansive map to explore and so many alluring distractions on offer, this is the kind of game a player could easily lose scores of hours exploring.
  3. 90
    The game is stunning, and the Caribbean makes for a gorgeous setting.
  4. 90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag reinvigorates the series after its patchy performance over the last few years, making it the best game since Brotherhood.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    The overall polish has improved, and there is more fun to be had in this iteration than any previous. It no longer feels like a forced checklist, instead offering players the freedom to partake, skip, or mix and match as much as they see fit.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    85
    With the new Assassin’s Creed we find ourselves in the Caribbean with a new main character called Edward Kenway. Black Flag focuses on the sea battles we saw in the third game and continues with this, with some new additions. Overall, you’ll be busy for a while – 40 hours, give or take – but the story isn’t that compelling.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    Pirate fans will merrily pick this up and discover a solid purchase, but the rest might want to hold out in hopes of something different from next year’s iteration.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 177
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    playng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edwardplayng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edward is a badass Expand
  2. May 5, 2015
    10
    Holy **** what an AWESOME game! it took me three weeks to finish this game because I was so
    immersed into the boat warfare mechanic they
    Holy **** what an AWESOME game! it took me three weeks to finish this game because I was so
    immersed into the boat warfare mechanic they made, I really felt like a pirate sailing around the open world
    ocean when I wasn't doing the story, the atmosphere Ubisoft made was AMAZING, they made an amazing pirate game as well as an AC game. The superb soundtrack and mechanics of the ship (and the singing) all felt awesome. I don't understand the scores of 0, AC4 does have problems but no way it deserves a zero. The strongest assets of the game I think are its atmosphere and story/characters. In my opinion, the story is the best in the AC franchise so far and all the character's were amazing. I really did like Edward as a character, it felt cool and different to play as a less righteous assassin than the ones in the other AC games. That all being said the sword fighting and most of the combat felt a little weird and awkward, it was smoother in AC3 in my opinion. Overall AC4 is an amazing experience and I'd recommend it to anyone, my original score was 9.7 so I rounded it to 10.
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    best assassins creed easily... I thought nothing could top assassins creed 2 but this game... what a suprise, I honestly didn't expect a gamebest assassins creed easily... I thought nothing could top assassins creed 2 but this game... what a suprise, I honestly didn't expect a game this good. Congratz to ubisoft, since the addition of the multiplayer and the yearly releases I saw this franchise going downhill and turning into another disgrace like call of duty but AC4 has totally changed my mind. So much stuff has been changed, the only thing that makes me associate AC4 with AC3 is the "walking on trees" feature. Even the naval aspect (which was pretty good in AC3) is so much better. It brings the best out of all the games and so much more. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    My hopes were Assassin's Creed 4 would be much better than the underwelming, Assssin's Creed 3 (mainly due to the ending).

    The story isn't
    My hopes were Assassin's Creed 4 would be much better than the underwelming, Assssin's Creed 3 (mainly due to the ending).

    The story isn't the best in the franchise but it is well done, For future Assassins Creed games keep The Optional Objectives out of the game, it makes missions more linear if you want that 100%.

    Naval combat has made a return and better than ever.

    My favourite parts of the game were the side missions from Assassin Contracts to simply a game of checkers.

    The Open World is great you can explore the vast sea and access Havana,Nassau and Kingston along with small villages you even get you're own village, you can customize so it has Shops,Taverns etc.

    Despite Assassin's Creed II being the top of the franchise this is my 2nd Favourite Assassin's Creed game

    9/10
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Assassin’s Creed Black Flag is a solid step up from the previous games, while it retains the core stealth assassination aspects of the gameAssassin’s Creed Black Flag is a solid step up from the previous games, while it retains the core stealth assassination aspects of the game the story line has been re grafted around the life and times of a pirate captain which provides a more balanced and accessible gaming experience which would give it a wider appeal to more gamers. You can choose which aspect to focus on and advance the story as you please with plenty of side missions and exploration to ignore or investigate along the way.

    The story line is not a heavy presence in the game, that may please some but not all, the real world non historical persona of the character is nearly minimal and far less obtrusive than before.

    The game play mechanic is essentially the same with the addition of the new ability to pilot a ship and engaged in ship to ship warfare which is well done. The graphics are of high quality with the exception of the game world edge zones which are just annoying and the Hud which can get a little cluttered if there is a lot going on. The upgrade system is good, but some items do require additional real world purchases to obtain which is disappointing.

    An excellent AS game, it is well rounded, engaging and much better than the previous two games. An excellent point for those who have not played the series before to enter and enjoy. Wait until the price is not ridiculous and then put this one on your shelf, you will not be sorry.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    I own all the AC games thus far. Big fan, can you tell? My rating echoes others I have read - (1) story-line outside the animus stinks and (2)I own all the AC games thus far. Big fan, can you tell? My rating echoes others I have read - (1) story-line outside the animus stinks and (2) the repetitive mini-movies or sayings is annoying. I have managed to overlook these shortcomings and played through the game some 5 times now. Looking forward to "Unity". Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far,Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far, the worst game in the series Expand

See all 177 User Reviews