Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 698 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While Black Flag feels very much like an Assassin's Creed game, its gameplay reminds me more of Sid Meier's Pirates! wrought in glorious 3D. As in that classic game, you are free to sail wherever your heart desires, and be as dastardly or as benign as you like. Embodying Edward Kenway and living through his adventures on the seas, while also experiencing his struggle with Assassins and Templars alike, is pure escapist delight.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    93
    The greatest compliment I can afford Black Flag, though, is that I wanted more at the end of my time with it. With such an expansive map to explore and so many alluring distractions on offer, this is the kind of game a player could easily lose scores of hours exploring.
  3. 90
    The game is stunning, and the Caribbean makes for a gorgeous setting.
  4. 90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag reinvigorates the series after its patchy performance over the last few years, making it the best game since Brotherhood.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    The overall polish has improved, and there is more fun to be had in this iteration than any previous. It no longer feels like a forced checklist, instead offering players the freedom to partake, skip, or mix and match as much as they see fit.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    85
    With the new Assassin’s Creed we find ourselves in the Caribbean with a new main character called Edward Kenway. Black Flag focuses on the sea battles we saw in the third game and continues with this, with some new additions. Overall, you’ll be busy for a while – 40 hours, give or take – but the story isn’t that compelling.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    Pirate fans will merrily pick this up and discover a solid purchase, but the rest might want to hold out in hopes of something different from next year’s iteration.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 164
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    playng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edwardplayng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edward is a badass Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    Great game, i advise everyone who hasnt tried it to go ahead and get themselves a copy. Its an experience you cannot miss out on. UbisoftGreat game, i advise everyone who hasnt tried it to go ahead and get themselves a copy. Its an experience you cannot miss out on. Ubisoft really stepped up their game this year, with beautiful scenery and a mix between both playing on water or inland. Expand
  3. hbk
    Nov 18, 2013
    10
    i m a great fan of assasins creed series....this game is really awesome and outstanding in all aspects...i had played all the games{gta 5,calli m a great fan of assasins creed series....this game is really awesome and outstanding in all aspects...i had played all the games{gta 5,call of duty ghosts adn battlefield 4} but in my opinion no other game can compete with AC 4 BLACKFLAG and i wish it will get GOTY Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag represents new life for the franchise which, just a year ago, seemed to be aging dramatically. EverythingAssassin's Creed IV: Black Flag represents new life for the franchise which, just a year ago, seemed to be aging dramatically. Everything about it is like a well-oiled machine, and Ubisoft's experience with the pirate genre shines through. Notable improvements include manual aim for pistols and other weapons, along with a series of noticeable tweaks here and there.
    This is indisputably the greatest in the series since Assassin's Creed II.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    If you are looking for a game that will immerse you in its amazing atmosphere and world with dynamic graphics and different ways to analyzeIf you are looking for a game that will immerse you in its amazing atmosphere and world with dynamic graphics and different ways to analyze the gameplay look no further AC4 is here and this is the boost the franchise needed way back when Ac Brotherhood was announced.The problem is in the multiplayer it is fun for about 9-12 hours of playing but after that well i guess you have to find something else to do Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    Beautiful as Renaissance paintings, Assassin Creed games are also incredibly fun,i.e., acrobatic
    maneuvering; exploration and discovery,
    Beautiful as Renaissance paintings, Assassin Creed games are also incredibly fun,i.e., acrobatic
    maneuvering; exploration and discovery, thrill of the kill, etc. For all the greatness, I can't help
    but wish that Ubisoft would invest more time in refining stealth and combat. All too often, the
    enemy AI is repetitive, dumb, and oblivious. Combat doesn't approach the challenge, diversity,
    and joy of say a "Demon's Souls" or "Witcher 2". Still, with winter fast approaching, it's great
    being in the Caribbean!
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far,Awful awful awful game. Wolfpack Discovery mode M4: No Time For Rest is impossible, 100% sync is impossible, and too much sailing. By far, the worst game in the series Expand

See all 164 User Reviews