Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 674 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While Black Flag feels very much like an Assassin's Creed game, its gameplay reminds me more of Sid Meier's Pirates! wrought in glorious 3D. As in that classic game, you are free to sail wherever your heart desires, and be as dastardly or as benign as you like. Embodying Edward Kenway and living through his adventures on the seas, while also experiencing his struggle with Assassins and Templars alike, is pure escapist delight.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    93
    The greatest compliment I can afford Black Flag, though, is that I wanted more at the end of my time with it. With such an expansive map to explore and so many alluring distractions on offer, this is the kind of game a player could easily lose scores of hours exploring.
  3. 90
    The game is stunning, and the Caribbean makes for a gorgeous setting.
  4. 90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag reinvigorates the series after its patchy performance over the last few years, making it the best game since Brotherhood.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    The overall polish has improved, and there is more fun to be had in this iteration than any previous. It no longer feels like a forced checklist, instead offering players the freedom to partake, skip, or mix and match as much as they see fit.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    85
    With the new Assassin’s Creed we find ourselves in the Caribbean with a new main character called Edward Kenway. Black Flag focuses on the sea battles we saw in the third game and continues with this, with some new additions. Overall, you’ll be busy for a while – 40 hours, give or take – but the story isn’t that compelling.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    Pirate fans will merrily pick this up and discover a solid purchase, but the rest might want to hold out in hopes of something different from next year’s iteration.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 157
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    playng it since thursday awesome game its a mix of assassin creed 2 with brotherhood with pirates and assassin themes wich is awesome edward is a badass Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite Assassin's Creed game. Lots of content, ship battles are great, really makes you feel like a bad@ss Assassin/Pirate. Best graphics so far. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Fun, fun fun, thats what you get wen you play this game. Ive only had one other AC game and that was revelations so I was a bit reluctant to get this, but having read a few user reviews Im glad I did. I dont get where the negative reviews are coming from as there is nothing to warrant that in this game,

    Sailing the seas looking to pirate is just awesome, I love the open world aspect there is so much to do, yes you could mention it might feel a little repetitive but never enough to stop you coming back for more and thats a sign of a good game, and theres still the single player story to keep you going.

    This is a great game to play just go buy it,
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    this is the best ac game the best part are the fights you can have with your ship the whole pirate theme is really good the online is pretty fun but no one is better than ezio and thats why is not a ten on ten Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Best assasin's game I have ever played. Climate, graphics, not too much run. Of course ships battles, great pleasure to be on the sail and board some spanish ship Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Black Flag has greatly improved on the previous installments of Assassin's Creed, for the most part... First of all there is a huge, beautifully detailed open world for you to explore, with dozens of islands and secrets to uncover. Riding around as the captain of your own ship plundering booty and recruiting crew has never been so much fun. Battles are well done and the cannon mechanics have been polished, you can can customize your ship with new sails and other decorations. The combat is sharp and the stealth has been improved upon, however, the selection of weapons available to you has actually been reduced, which I found unimpressive. The story, while taken in a different direction from past games, is very compelling and will draw you into the world. The soundtrack is wonderful, being appropriately powerful or tense in given situations. The multiplayer is nicely presented though I thought some of the modes could have been done better, especially "Wolfpack" where you find yourself in a team with other online players constantly running to targets assassinating them and protecting chests, this felt rather cluttered and the narrating woman's voice was quite annoying after repeating the same phrase 20 times in 2 minutes. Black Flag still suffers from numerous glitches, repetitve missions and frustrating moments where free running doesn't work as well as it should, but this is without a doubt still a very enjoyable, beautiful game with tons to do. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2014
    0
    I love Assassin's Creed but Black Flag was a let down to me. I know the game is set in the Golden Age of Piracy but the thing that bothers me the most is the game revolves too much around naval warfare and naval travel. The story feels neglected to me, the game is not as strong as it could have been. In this game you spend a lot of time trying to earn money to upgrade your ship so you can progress through the game and these upgrades are very expensive and takes a long time to afford. The naval warfare gets boring really fast because it's so simple. Many people are probably going to disagree with me for writing this but to me Edward Kenway is not really an assassin. At least not compared to Altair, Ezio and Connor. I know he is a pirate but he is a sad drunk who only cares about rich and fame. Edward did not earn the assassin title, clothes or the weapons. He just took it and it didn't really mean ANYTHING to him. I remember playing as Altair where you had to regain your rank through assignments, or as Ezio and Connor where they took on massive responsibilities to avenge their family and get justice. Expand

See all 157 User Reviews