User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 542

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be toldA well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be told on an annual basis and the gameplay need not be revamped every year. Even then they did have their fair share of improvements such as the hookblades and Desmond's memories. The only thing which they went a bit far with was the Tower Defense minigame, which seemed to be a nuisance to say the least.

    Other than that, visually appealing as always and well worth the money. I for one hope they don't stray far from their winning formula and don't succumb to adding new gameplay features for each iteration of their game.
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    After Beating this game over a month ago, I can honestly say that while this is not the best Assassin's Creed in the series so far, it is still a very fun game to play. The story was more of the same, but was still intriguing all the way through. Gameplay has not changed much since ACII, but it is fun to hop across buildings and kill Templars. Multiplayer is improved from Brotherhood andAfter Beating this game over a month ago, I can honestly say that while this is not the best Assassin's Creed in the series so far, it is still a very fun game to play. The story was more of the same, but was still intriguing all the way through. Gameplay has not changed much since ACII, but it is fun to hop across buildings and kill Templars. Multiplayer is improved from Brotherhood and is much more easy to get into the action. Everything else is more of the same, but if more of the same is Assassin's Creed, it is still fun. A must play for any fan of the series. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    At the end of the game I stopped and thought what a great game. Actually, this game reminds me of another great game I just played a month ago in the name of Batman Arkham City. When playing assassins creed I thought how eerily similair the two games are. Both third person games, both have the same stalking and gauging the enemy feel vertical gameplay. The combat system has same typeAt the end of the game I stopped and thought what a great game. Actually, this game reminds me of another great game I just played a month ago in the name of Batman Arkham City. When playing assassins creed I thought how eerily similair the two games are. Both third person games, both have the same stalking and gauging the enemy feel vertical gameplay. The combat system has same type of COUNTER ATTACK system. One game studio copied/stole/created similar gameplay of the other.The depth of ASSASSINS CREED is by far head over heals better, vaster. Of course a GRADE A QUALITY GAME STUDIO " UBISOFT" flagship game should be. The building of master assassins the city income sending assassins on away missions to build them up.... I can go on and on. So how is BATMAN ARKHAM CITY what clearly is a lower quality copy, lack of depth, simple teenage game, nominated for game of the year over REVELATIONS? True gamers UBISOFT or ROCKSTEADY? Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin's creed game. Minor changes from brotherhood, but after that they have such a great system in place why would they change it. I'd be more upset if they did change it too much. Combat and running and sneaking are all near perfect. I don't know how youThis game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin's creed game. Minor changes from brotherhood, but after that they have such a great system in place why would they change it. I'd be more upset if they did change it too much. Combat and running and sneaking are all near perfect. I don't know how you could improve. besides maybe adding customize-able grenades, oh wait they did that! which at first I didn't really use them, but now I am using them all the time and they are super helpful and fun. the hook-blade helps you climb faster and swing further. Zip lines are only here and there so they are fun because it's not over used. I think the story is great and a good wrap up to the series. Not as great as when I played 2 but stories do die down and going out I guess isn't very fun in itself. But still thought it was great! not terrible. Also The city is huge! don't listen to people saying it's small i have no idea why some are saying that. Yes they have the "dungeon" parts which we are used to by now and i think they are big and gorgeous and as always nicely varied. Also lots of side missions, that I love. Some said the side missions are like chores, if you think they are chores don't play this game. I think they are fun and I love doing every single one. They have added new things to do too so it's not even (all) the same old side missions. I am a huge fan of this series and have platinum trophies for all the previous titles (only other games I've done this for is uncharted series). I love the style, the gameplay, the enviornments and the story. it is more of the same but that's what I love so much about it. if you love the previous titles you'll love this one. That's all for now I gotta go climb up a huge castle after killing a ton of guards and it's only a side mission. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Awesome campaign. Multiplayer is great. Overall the game is great. No horses from Brotherhood but you get the hook blade to enjoy free running even more. Bombs are a great bonus.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    This game is really great, not the best AC yet, i still think AC2 is better, but a great addition to franchise. If you are a big AC fan definitely buy this. The multiplayer is a big improvement from AC Brotherhood, it actually fells like your accomplishing something
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is great, and it improved some important things: a better assassin recruitment, top notch animations and added some awesome mechanics. Even the puzzle sequences are fun. And even it haves a really interesting story and a fantastic ending. The problem is tower defense, It's boring and just an unnecessary add for this game. Still, It's a great continuing ofAssassin's Creed Revelations is great, and it improved some important things: a better assassin recruitment, top notch animations and added some awesome mechanics. Even the puzzle sequences are fun. And even it haves a really interesting story and a fantastic ending. The problem is tower defense, It's boring and just an unnecessary add for this game. Still, It's a great continuing of Ezio's epic story. 88 out of 100 Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The voice of Q from star trek as Desmond's father was somewhat enjoyable to me given the nature of the game being similar to the Q time continuum. I must say my game came with a copy of Embers which is why I have marked it down to an 8 out of 10. To see Ezio die on a bench was pretty annoying especially since in a metal gear solid 4 kind of way he decided at the end of revelations to live his life and find love but in embers he still had regrets ect. I must say Revelations was a very good game and I did not see the twist coming with Ahmet being a templar, i found that very interesting. I must note according to the game Ahmet's life was 1465 Expand
  9. May 11, 2013
    7
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations Good Points:
    A wiser and beautiful new side of the great Ezio Auditore. HookBlade, it can be useful at times to escape quickly or scape with the zip in the rooftops. SoundTrack just can't get bad in this series and Jesper Kyd retires the franchise (for now) in an excellent way. Yusuf Tazim, just...him. The map looks like Google Earth and it's really helpful
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations Good Points:
    A wiser and beautiful new side of the great Ezio Auditore. HookBlade, it can be useful at times to escape quickly or scape with the zip in the rooftops. SoundTrack just can't get bad in this series and Jesper Kyd retires the franchise (for now) in an excellent way. Yusuf Tazim, just...him. The map looks like Google Earth and it's really helpful for you to know where, exactly, are. We get to see what happened to Altaïr after the events of Assassin's Creed. The opening sequence, it's just incredible. The Places in the game, Capadoccia and Constantinople, are done with a lot of detail. Desmond's side, in this game we REALLY get to now him, and you begin to understand him. Synchronization to a 100% keeps being a challenge, and you'll have ton of fun accomplishing it. Voice acting doesn't get bad in this game, and fortunately, Roger Craig Smith was able to evolve into the older Ezio and make him feel, aged. The Sense of the Eagle, it's really cool and it helps for a few challenges.

    Bad Points: Crafting Bombs, it feels totally unnecessary and a pain in the a**. Den Defence (tower defence) is horrible and really frustrating, you are all the time wondering when it's going to end. Gameplay it's the same in every aspect, to Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood and it doesn't feel fresh. Horse Riding is taken away, although it was not very comfortable in Brotherhood, it did help you get faster to somewhere, now you have to run through all Constantinople. It's Length, it is very short and not every bit of it is very fun. There's no "villain", like Cesare in Brotherhood or Rodrigo in Assassin's Creed II, so you don't feel like you know where you're heading next. It doesn't feel much like there were any major "revelations" in this game, except from Desmond's side. There are no more than 3 outfits, and although it is a minor bad point, it's just too few.
    Final Score:
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is and Okay game and doesn't really change from it's predecessor. It is very short and I wouldn't really recommend it, although, if you're a fan of the series and you want to now what happens buy it.
    Average Score: 7.8
    For More Assassin's Creed Reviews go to: http://www.metacritic.com/user/UserScore
    Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    After the excellent Assassin's Creed II and the promising Brotherhood, Revelations becomes a bit of a confusing mess. It follows three protagonists (with one of them needing to be gone by now) with random flashbacks only adding to the pandemonium. The gameplay is still solid but can become a bit bland at times. There are a few improvements regarding weapons but other than that, RevelationsAfter the excellent Assassin's Creed II and the promising Brotherhood, Revelations becomes a bit of a confusing mess. It follows three protagonists (with one of them needing to be gone by now) with random flashbacks only adding to the pandemonium. The gameplay is still solid but can become a bit bland at times. There are a few improvements regarding weapons but other than that, Revelations is a step back from Brotherhood which itself was a step back from II. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    It's a great game for those who likes the series, but it's not very fresh. It gets repetitive, it doesn't have a lot of new features. It doesn't have the unique feel the 2 predecessors had, On the other two you remembered at what place you were at just by looking around, on this one everyplace seems to be the same... It wasn't very special for ezio's storyline either, the game only gave usIt's a great game for those who likes the series, but it's not very fresh. It gets repetitive, it doesn't have a lot of new features. It doesn't have the unique feel the 2 predecessors had, On the other two you remembered at what place you were at just by looking around, on this one everyplace seems to be the same... It wasn't very special for ezio's storyline either, the game only gave us missions to go after some stuff to get access to altair's memories and help the other assassins without any real, solid objective. The Den missions are boring. The side quests are not fresh anymore, so they're not very great. But yeah, overall it was a good game and it throws us on a good place for the next one, which I think it's going to be a blast. Expand
  12. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Revelations was probably my #3 game to get this fall. However, I felt slightly let down by this. Don't get me wrong, the game plays the best out of any Assassin's Creed game yet, but the game's difficulty took a plunge. Either it was me just being skilled at the combat and platforming from AC2 and ACB or the game's drop in difficulty, that allowed me to 100% synch almost every missionRevelations was probably my #3 game to get this fall. However, I felt slightly let down by this. Don't get me wrong, the game plays the best out of any Assassin's Creed game yet, but the game's difficulty took a plunge. Either it was me just being skilled at the combat and platforming from AC2 and ACB or the game's drop in difficulty, that allowed me to 100% synch almost every mission on my first run-through. I would have to say it is the latter. On top of that, the game just didn't take nearly as long to beat as previous AC games, not what I was looking for to be honest. The storytelling of Revelations is better than all the other AC games, and does a fine job closing out Altair, and a decent job closing out Ezio. Once you beat Single-player and unlock all the trophies and challenges, I doubt you will be going back, which is a shame. Desmond's sequences are nice casual platforming while you are narrated the back story of Desmond, totally optional, but I feel that everyone will at least touch them considering the amount of content in the game. Multiplayer is well done in this game, and feels much more balanced over Brotherhood. I do question the recycling of some of the maps, but they don't really hurt the experience in any way. Introduction sessions were a fine addition made by Ubisoft, but I wish that they weren't mandatory, regardless, they get you used to what you experience in the game. If you have been a Creed fan since the start, get this game, it will be worth it, despite some drawbacks. Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    I'm not giving this game a "6" because it's not good. It's very good, actually. Thing is, we are done with this franchise, unfortunately. The first one was good, AC2 was phenomenal and Brotherhood was incredible. But I really don't see much space to keep doing the same things over and over and over again - with little changes here and there. Like the boring as hell "castle defense" thing.I'm not giving this game a "6" because it's not good. It's very good, actually. Thing is, we are done with this franchise, unfortunately. The first one was good, AC2 was phenomenal and Brotherhood was incredible. But I really don't see much space to keep doing the same things over and over and over again - with little changes here and there. Like the boring as hell "castle defense" thing. Seriously, I think it's tame to take the franchise to another level (like an RPG or a strategy game). But there's no more space to keep it on the "open world" business. I think Revelations is a gorgeous game, with great content and personality, but it's tiresome to jump of viewpoints, pickpocket, jump up and down, buy and upgrade stuff and keep going with an over the top story. And what's up with the clunky-as-hell controls? This is the ONE thing they could have improved. But, NO. We still have to face absurd situations where Ezio feels like a war-tank instead of a stealthy assassin. Sometimes we need to MANEUVER Ezio, not move him, which most of the time means frustrating deaths and memory restarts. I love this franchise, with all my heart, but Ubisoft should now the perfect time to stop - and that was Brotherhood. No need for Revelations (although it' a great game) and REALLY no need of another Assassin's Creed. It's sad, I know, to even think that. But at least for me it's the plain truth. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Revelations is definitely the best AC game so far. However it doesn't make the leaps forward of the last two games and in fact some of the additions it does bring are detrimental to the overall experience. The tower defence mini game that is implemented to allow Ezio to protect his territory is boring and clunky, whilst the addition of a parachute feels daft and out of place. HoweverRevelations is definitely the best AC game so far. However it doesn't make the leaps forward of the last two games and in fact some of the additions it does bring are detrimental to the overall experience. The tower defence mini game that is implemented to allow Ezio to protect his territory is boring and clunky, whilst the addition of a parachute feels daft and out of place. However visually the game is stunning, the city feels alive and is perfectly rendered. If you haven't played the other two games (don't bother with the first one, it's rubbish) I strongly recommend that you do, if you played them and didn't enjoy this still won't be for you, however if you loved the other two games then you will love this.
    Ezio Auditore is one of the strongest video game characters of recent times (in my humble opinion he's up there with Solid Snake) and if you don't give this series a try you will be sorely missing out!
    Enjoy!
    Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (not including multiplayer) Assassin's Creed has been one of the great new IPs of this console generation, with its unique take on parkour and mixing that with a historical tale, and good combat. But has the constant iteration of this franchise led to the stagnation of the franchises quality? Or has this led to a constant evolution which benefits the gamer and is worth your buck.
    Story: With its beginnings set in the crusade era, moving from Florence to Rome and now Constantinople (modern day Istanbul) it is difficult to say that Ubisoft have a repetitive setting and gives the gamer a new world to explore. Revelations begins almost directly after the events of Brotherhood, the Borgia Templars are no more, and Ezío has succeeded in his lifelong revenge. Now his eyes set eastward to discover the lost Masyaf keys left by his ancestor Altaír to uncover its secrets. This seems quite similar to AC2's move to unlock his armour but in a broader sense, the main attractiveness of the story is not the keys themselves but the change in his character, we see a new Ezio, forever lost is the young charming Firenzian bachelor that we saw is AC2. This breaths a sense of fresh air on the characters and the batch of new accomplices add to the depth of the story. The addition of flashbacks to Altaír give some fan love to the story, and the confusion yet interesting story of Desmond's predicament add great variety and continuity to the story.

    Gameplay: Gameplay in this series has come under criticism with the new iteration for not evolving quick enough to warrant a new $60/£40 purchase, but it is hard to argue with Ubisoft that a great deal of effort has been made to correct these complaints. Though the same brilliant parkour gameplay we grew to love with the first game. The change of setting is more than enough to allow for the fun exploration of these areas, this fact alone seem to give the parkour increased value, even with the included hardly exploited hook blade feature. The hookblade as mentioned gives Ezío and increased jumping range and allows the player to adapt. The combat is probably the highest issue over the years, as many criticise its old R1/RB and wait for them. Brotherhood was the first game to attempt changes to this with a more combo filled action but provided less of a challenge. Revelations tries to remedy this with the inclusion again of the combo system, where if one enemy is killed a timed strike on another will immediately defeat him. However this time around the inclusion of enemies that can withstand these combos adds a higher difficulty to the combat, which forces the player to adapt as there is only a scarce few enemies you can kill counter, you must make good use of the other features in combat. This gives an overall sense of immersion into the combat and the rise in challenge definitely shows. Assassin's Creed is hardly known for it set pieces and the quicktime events of the last game haven't seemed to expanded (thank you Ubisoft), but in this game I was trully amazed by some of the settings Ezío and Altaír would visit, not as blockbuster as MW3 or Uncharted but adds a mellow methodic feeling to the story which adds great value. Along with this the long enemy free parkour scenes the fans wished for returns in a spectacular fashion with the discovery of the 5 keys. In Revelations we see the first inclusion of their take on tower defence with the Templars and Ezío taking areas of the great city. The annoying camera angle feels unnecessary but it adds to the variety of the missions which has been a major complaint. The missions themselves still follow the regular escort, kill, disrupt method but have some greater variety this time, especially with a dress up scene, where you must become a guitarist (joke at older annoyances) and infiltrate a crowd. The addition of a new game mechanic with Desmond allows for the creation and movement of first person movement, much like Portal this seems a lacklustre feature but again just adds to the variety and does not intrude on overall gameplay. The gameplay and design of this series has evolved, there are some discrepancies on my end with annoying cameras and lacklustre features, but it is inarguable that AC:R has seriously added to the franchise.
    Presentation: The engine itself is beginning to show its age but the beautiful city and areas all but make up for its age. Animation has really been AC strong suit over the years in its combat and parkour, and this is still present, though the visuals of the water in the game really do pull any scene involving it back from its visual premise. No doubt AC: R is a beautiful game with great mechanics, but the ageing engine needs a serious update if the franchise is to sustain its stance in the market.

    AC:R does brilliantly to end Altaír and Ezío's story and the gameplay and presentation just give the gamer more value.
    Story - 9.1
    Gameplay - 9.5
    Design - 9.1
    Presentation - 8.8

    Overall - 9.2
    Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like AC2 or Brotherhood you will enjoy this game, simply put. It follows much of the same formulas as the previous installments while adding new features that add variety. I always thought just platforming in the open worlds (rome, istanbul etc) to be great fun, so no need to change this, however, with ziplines, there is added excitement. The major changes for me this time aroundIf you like AC2 or Brotherhood you will enjoy this game, simply put. It follows much of the same formulas as the previous installments while adding new features that add variety. I always thought just platforming in the open worlds (rome, istanbul etc) to be great fun, so no need to change this, however, with ziplines, there is added excitement. The major changes for me this time around is the multiplayer, which is really great.

    Multiplayer is similar to Brotherhood but is very much expanded with more game modes and of course maps. The new modes are fun and add variety, but I think the overall gameplay experience is well balanced and is much smoother. I feel much more accomplished in this game when I play well were there were a lot of times I got frustrated in AC:B. There are still frustrating points, but you can appreciate it much more when you succeed or understand what you did wrong. The story so far (~half way through) is similar to other games, as is the city building, but the small tweaks add to the already great experience. If you enjoyed improving rome, you will enjoy it more in Revelations. The new tower defense mini game that you can get is fun, albeit it would become repetitive if done too much. Sending recruited assasins off on missions is much better (also similar to old brotherhood) in that you see progress in the cities. Small but I enjoyed this a bunch in brotherhood and its better this time around.

    Also, the hookblade does just enough to change your fighting style to add to what is already a great fighter.

    Overall, if you enjoyed the exploration and fighting of previous games, that base of an experience is built subtly better with this installment. Nothing major or game changing, but as I said if you enjoyed previous versions, that is a great thing. Graphics: 9.0 (small glitches, new style is great- platforming still realistic with each holding modeled)
    Gameplay: Story: 8.5 Multiplayer: 9.5
    Sound: 9.5 Really strong, immersive and better than previous games, good music choices.
    Overall: 9.0
    Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    I think this game is great. It continues the adventure and adds a few extras along the way. The graphics look amazing and the sound is on par. It is similar to the previous games because the whole series is good. I dont know what more they could have changed to please the critics and still keep it the game we all know and love. If your a fan of the previous games, this should be able toI think this game is great. It continues the adventure and adds a few extras along the way. The graphics look amazing and the sound is on par. It is similar to the previous games because the whole series is good. I dont know what more they could have changed to please the critics and still keep it the game we all know and love. If your a fan of the previous games, this should be able to entertain you for hours. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Alltogether it again is a complete and epic new title in the franchise, sad to see that some ac haters give it a 0 or 1 instantly through which the average, which I see here lies definitely at a 9/9.5
  19. Dec 14, 2011
    6
    I just beat AC: Revelations and this game is just ok. Definitely not the worst game to have come out this year. However, this is by far the worst of all the AC games. It just felt like it was lacking that special something that made the first 3 really enjoyable. Maybe it was the extremely sloppy story or maybe it was just that I felt that Iâ
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The final entry in the Ubisoft's Trilogy is the Best Assassins creed yet.There are rumours about its similarity to its precedors interms of gameplay which seriously i think is the heart of assassins creed,I do not see any reason for Ubisoft to have changed the gameplay we use to know in assassins creed series.Even hit titles like CALL OF DUTY and ELDER SCROLLS series have been repeatingThe final entry in the Ubisoft's Trilogy is the Best Assassins creed yet.There are rumours about its similarity to its precedors interms of gameplay which seriously i think is the heart of assassins creed,I do not see any reason for Ubisoft to have changed the gameplay we use to know in assassins creed series.Even hit titles like CALL OF DUTY and ELDER SCROLLS series have been repeating the same gameplay for year(thats abvoius in 2011 for sure) then why blame Ubisoft.The series main protagonist Ezio has come to a satisfying ending which literally left me in tears since i was kinda obsessed with ezio character in assassins creed.Constantinople is a huge map with beautiful eye catching scenery some superb animations and awesome orchestral score(jesper Kyd does it again).the hook blade is a new annovation in acrobatics along with bomb crafting n tons of side missions which i found extremely absorbing.The story is not long but ends the Ezio trilogy successfully...WILL MISS U EZIO AUDITORE :( Expand
  21. Hef
    Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Everyone here is giving this game 10's even though they point out notable flaws in the game. Since reviews are subjective this isn't normally a bad thing, but when you're text review can't even back up a score, then it becomes a problem. For the love of all that is holy take those 10 reviews with a grain of salt.

    This is an Assassin's Creed game. If you didn't like it before, you won't
    Everyone here is giving this game 10's even though they point out notable flaws in the game. Since reviews are subjective this isn't normally a bad thing, but when you're text review can't even back up a score, then it becomes a problem. For the love of all that is holy take those 10 reviews with a grain of salt.

    This is an Assassin's Creed game. If you didn't like it before, you won't like it now. You are still basically holding forward the hole time and sometimes pressing the attack and run buttons. It is exactly like brotherhood except you get a hook that allows for faster climbing and there's a new shallow bomb making mechanic. I honestly never found them to be especially useful. The money one was novel because I loved throwing money on the ground in the old games and watching people desperately race to try and pick it up.

    The big new thing is territory control. Like in GTA San Andreas but not as good. Like the last game, there are towers you have to take and guards you have to kill to take over parts of the map. But in this game they can take those towers back. When your areas are under assault, you're forcing into a boring tower defence mini-game.

    Also I'm not going to get very spoily, but there are some really clunky first person sequences where you have to place blocks in order to progress. The controls for these parts are really bad and the whole thing is really out of place.

    The brotherhood stuff is a little more fleshed out and it my favourite part of the game, aside from running around and stabbing dudes. It's a little more involved by which your gaining influence in areas that you send assassins to. This increases things like cash flow and is a pretty fun mini-game in itself.

    The multiplayer hasn't seen many changes, and again, if you were really into the last games multiplayer, you'll still enjoy this one. But will it still be fresh and novel the second time around? I guess that's for you to decide.

    You know if you'll like this game already. Do you like Assassin's Creed? Are you here for the "story". Well if you haven't gotten bored with running, stalking and stabbing and want another single player experience, go for it. Don't get this game for the multiplayer, because it doesn't last long and, while a unique experience, doesn't provide much beyond that.

    I really hope they take their time with AC3 and don't rush it out next year. Of course they probably will and there'll be more marginal changes. Vote with your wallets and rent this.
    Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect......Is the game of the year and will have a 10.
    the story of Ezio is still going strong

    Congratulations to Ubisoft.

    obs: From Brazil.
  23. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I haven't played the game yet but I've seen a few videos and it looks amazing! I wouldn't recommend this game for PC though. Why? Well, in my opinion Assassin's Creed games fit best for consoles. The reason to this could be the ability to relax on your couch and play from a distance instead of staring at the screen from two inches away and missing all the incredible landscapes (as theyI haven't played the game yet but I've seen a few videos and it looks amazing! I wouldn't recommend this game for PC though. Why? Well, in my opinion Assassin's Creed games fit best for consoles. The reason to this could be the ability to relax on your couch and play from a distance instead of staring at the screen from two inches away and missing all the incredible landscapes (as they look better from a distance). Definitely getting this game sooner or later! Expand
  24. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    The worst Assassins Creed game yet. The game doesn't introduce any new elements of game play, besides the tower defense mode which becomes tedious and annoying. As you continue to play through the game, you'll start to feel like your playing Brotherhood all over again. And although Assassins Creed is known for its shocking endings, this game fails to deliver in that area, and shouldn't beThe worst Assassins Creed game yet. The game doesn't introduce any new elements of game play, besides the tower defense mode which becomes tedious and annoying. As you continue to play through the game, you'll start to feel like your playing Brotherhood all over again. And although Assassins Creed is known for its shocking endings, this game fails to deliver in that area, and shouldn't be called "Revelations" at all, as their are no revelations. The only good part about the game is the flashbacks where you play as Altiar. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    A game, which very similar to its predecessors, its an adventure you should take for some stabby stabby fun.

    I cannot fault this game too much for sticking to familiar paths. Ubisoft Montreal has taken the Yearly Instalment way and is releasing Assasins creed games every year. What do you think? Gonna do a Far Cry 2? (1 Person got that) Well, besides taking familiar gameplay ideas from
    A game, which very similar to its predecessors, its an adventure you should take for some stabby stabby fun.

    I cannot fault this game too much for sticking to familiar paths. Ubisoft Montreal has taken the Yearly Instalment way and is releasing Assasins creed games every year. What do you think? Gonna do a Far Cry 2? (1 Person got that)

    Well, besides taking familiar gameplay ideas from previous games, Assasins creed is more ambitious with its story this time around. Hoping to interweave Ezio and Altier's stories together. It works most of the time. Its epic story can keep you hooked and you can feel for the characters.

    Story wise, it stands out from the crowd, gameplay wise, its the same fun system we know. Some may find this bad, but i did not feel that bad about it. Why change what works? Overall, the game is great. Worth getting if your a fan and worth getting if you want to see what all the fuss is about. You just might want to play the first two first.
    Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best AC EVER, and the game can not be punished for is similar to its predecessors, because Uncharted and Call of Duty are too. Again UBI give to us a vacation on distant worlds, beautiful worlds, and Ezio is amazing in his final journey, I will missi him so much, but now I wanna AC3.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. But let's start off with the bad thing, gameplay wise, it's almost exactly the same as Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. The only real new thing, is the hookblade, with which you can travel a little bit faster through the (btw incredible) world. Constantinople is an amazing city, with beautifull landmarks. Who doesn't want to freerun through Constantinople and be anThis game is amazing. But let's start off with the bad thing, gameplay wise, it's almost exactly the same as Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. The only real new thing, is the hookblade, with which you can travel a little bit faster through the (btw incredible) world. Constantinople is an amazing city, with beautifull landmarks. Who doesn't want to freerun through Constantinople and be an assassin, using the crowd to get to his target? The story isn't amazing, but it does the job to end the trilogy. There are a few little bugs, but that is overshadowed by all the good things. Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game and i love this series. Best Assassins creed ever. The story may not be as great as the 2nd or 3rd but the visuals are amazing. Everybodies saying only the hook blake (totally awesome btw) is the only new feature, but what about the thrill of parachuting and ziplines, and the fight sequences are so kicka$$. Everything is better in this installment into this thrillingI LOVE this game and i love this series. Best Assassins creed ever. The story may not be as great as the 2nd or 3rd but the visuals are amazing. Everybodies saying only the hook blake (totally awesome btw) is the only new feature, but what about the thrill of parachuting and ziplines, and the fight sequences are so kicka$$. Everything is better in this installment into this thrilling series. Constantinople is HUGE, and very beautiful. Everything is different (in a good way) from the map, to the side missions, to the items you find throughout the massive city of constantinople, and the graphics just when you thought they couldnt get any better, they did. The bombs are also another awesome new feature. The multiplayer is so much better from brotherhood as well, from new maps to new and better game modes. I have no idea why this game is not getting better reviews from the critics because it is hands down the best assassins creed yet. Forget about mw3 and all of the other new games recently released (besides skyrim) this is where its at. Whether you've been a huge fan of assassins creed or have never played any of the installments in the series, you must play this game. Worth every minute of your time. 10/10 definitely Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Im a big fan of the assassins creed series and this game didn't let me down, fun new gadgets and improved animations and graphics make this game well worth the full price, the campaign is long enough to keep you occupied for a few days and then you have the entertaining and tense multiplayer to try, its just a great overall package, the one downside is that there is a few frustratingIm a big fan of the assassins creed series and this game didn't let me down, fun new gadgets and improved animations and graphics make this game well worth the full price, the campaign is long enough to keep you occupied for a few days and then you have the entertaining and tense multiplayer to try, its just a great overall package, the one downside is that there is a few frustrating missions but they are never to force you to quit. Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Great for fans of the series it's a solid way to end the stories of Ezio and Altair. Critics don't like the new den defense system, but I think it's alright. People who are new to the story of Assassin's Creed might want to play the previous entries before playing this one.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    70
    Assassin's Creed Revelations will satisfy those who are looking for more of the same but if you're expecting some major innovations, prepare to be disappointed. Revelations isn't a bad game, but the experience no longer feels fresh.
  2. The story is so meandering. [Jan 2012, p.76]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.