Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 557 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    93
    Revelations closes the Assassin's Creed journey with a familiar looking videogame, but with a new iteration so epic and amazing as you might expect. It's a worthy end for the first volume of the series.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    ACR has its shortcomings, but they're nothing compared to the pleasure this title delivers. Large, more polished and varied, quite pretty and offering an adventure and a story more enticing than ever, the solo play doesn't disappoint, even though it's still based on the same tricks and elements established a few episodes ago. It may be time to alter the formula. Ben even so, the multiplayer has been refined, all the while becoming more accessible. Overall, it's an action-adventure must-have.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    88
    A number of new features have been attempted to make Revelations feel new and different from its predecessors. In that quest for broader variety and a unique identity from the earlier games, Revelations makes some missteps that are hard to ignore. However, the game offers more of what has been great about the franchise, and that should be enough to bring most fans to the table, even if it a poor starting point for new players.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    85
    This is the best Assassin's Creed yet, even if that victory is claimed by an inch and not a mile. If you've been following the lives of Altair and Ezio this long, you owe it to yourself to see their last adventure.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations might not be the apex of the Creed, but its not a forgetable one either.
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    75
    Buckles under the weight of familiarity, irrelevant additions and overlooked flaws. [Issue#212, p.76]
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 173
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of theA well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be told on an annual basis and the gameplay need not be revamped every year. Even then they did have their fair share of improvements such as the hookblades and Desmond's memories. The only thing which they went a bit far with was the Tower Defense minigame, which seemed to be a nuisance to say the least.

    Other than that, visually appealing as always and well worth the money. I for one hope they don't stray far from their winning formula and don't succumb to adding new gameplay features for each iteration of their game.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin'sThis game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin's creed game. Minor changes from brotherhood, but after that they have such a great system in place why would they change it. I'd be more upset if they did change it too much. Combat and running and sneaking are all near perfect. I don't know how you could improve. besides maybe adding customize-able grenades, oh wait they did that! which at first I didn't really use them, but now I am using them all the time and they are super helpful and fun. the hook-blade helps you climb faster and swing further. Zip lines are only here and there so they are fun because it's not over used. I think the story is great and a good wrap up to the series. Not as great as when I played 2 but stories do die down and going out I guess isn't very fun in itself. But still thought it was great! not terrible. Also The city is huge! don't listen to people saying it's small i have no idea why some are saying that. Yes they have the "dungeon" parts which we are used to by now and i think they are big and gorgeous and as always nicely varied. Also lots of side missions, that I love. Some said the side missions are like chores, if you think they are chores don't play this game. I think they are fun and I love doing every single one. They have added new things to do too so it's not even (all) the same old side missions. I am a huge fan of this series and have platinum trophies for all the previous titles (only other games I've done this for is uncharted series). I love the style, the gameplay, the enviornments and the story. it is more of the same but that's what I love so much about it. if you love the previous titles you'll love this one. That's all for now I gotta go climb up a huge castle after killing a ton of guards and it's only a side mission. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    I think this game is great. It continues the adventure and adds a few extras along the way. The graphics look amazing and the sound is on par.I think this game is great. It continues the adventure and adds a few extras along the way. The graphics look amazing and the sound is on par. It is similar to the previous games because the whole series is good. I dont know what more they could have changed to please the critics and still keep it the game we all know and love. If your a fan of the previous games, this should be able to entertain you for hours. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    Assassins Creed Revelations is a follow up to Brotherhood and the last game in Ezio and Altair's story :( . The story once again followsAssassins Creed Revelations is a follow up to Brotherhood and the last game in Ezio and Altair's story :( . The story once again follows master assassin Ezio Auditore and Altair Ibn La'Ahad. Ezio is on a quest to secure the 5 keys to Altair's library in his home town of Masyaf to unlock his grand wisdom and the secrets of his ancient order. But I won't touch on Altair's story but I will say there are some great moments while playing as Altair. The game starts out with a dramatic castle escape. Ezio then journey's to Constantinople to find the keys to Altair's library. He meets a local master assassin who teaches him to ropes and introduces him to a new weapon called the hookblade which changes the way you get around like the ziplines which are super cool especially when you do an air assassination from them and you can also save yourself from a dud jump.But there was one thing that bugged me the absence of horses I don't understand why they are gone they were great I miss my horse now. You have to recruit new assassins this time round but it isn't as essential they are really just there to help or make the experience easier and quicker. You also once again capture new assassin dens but when you become notorious your dens can become contested and your then forced into a weird tower-defense mini game which is good at first but then becomes repetitive and boring. But the mission structure is better and the jumping puzzles are great and the action has been pushed up a notch plus there are the ziplines i them as well. The combat has not been refined so it's still the stealthy fast paced action we love but I wanted it to change slightly but there are now some slow motion finishers there and they look great. Graphics and sound are refined your blades sound incredibly slick when being pushed into someones head. The blood splatters look better to. The character designs have been changed slightly. In the end Assassins Creed is starting to get COD syndrome so they really need to change it a lot next time around but that being said I think it's the best in the series so it gets a well deserved 8.5. This review can be found on my blog at url http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    8
    AC: Revelations is fun and epic, continuing the story of Ezio Auditore Da Firence, and showing several memories from Altair. Overall, It'sAC: Revelations is fun and epic, continuing the story of Ezio Auditore Da Firence, and showing several memories from Altair. Overall, It's great, but I excepted more. I excepted huge place to explore, I excepted to have a better storytelling, but still it is great, and It haves the best ending I ever seen. (8.9) Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    I must say I was expecting more in Ezio's last chapter in Assassin's Creed but I was satisfied playing the story, a few new features thatI must say I was expecting more in Ezio's last chapter in Assassin's Creed but I was satisfied playing the story, a few new features that Ubisoft tries to present as improvements prove to be little more than annoyances that made the game less entertaining Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchiseI played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchise and transformed it into an adolescent action/adventure American piece of garbage. How come a director of Far Cry 2, which is a mediocre FPS and Tennis Masters series took the position of directing one of the biggest and best franchises in the videogame industry is still a mystery to me. Also before I finish my review, for anyone that knows mediterranean history, this game has some serious flaws in presenting what exactly the Ottomans/Turks were and most importantly, how civilized they were. I also find it funny that in Italy of Renaissance the guards didn't have any weapons but at the same time in Turkey, which was in the middle ages at that time, they had found rifles! In the end, one thing I learned from the Assassin's Creed series is:

    Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.

    And I use my critical thinking in everything. Thank you Ubisoft for teaching me how to do it. :P

    Here's looking forward to the next series by Patrice Désilets. Hang in there brother! :D
    Expand

See all 173 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.