Assassin's Creed: Revelations PlayStation 3

Assassin's Creed: Revelations Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    93
    Revelations closes the Assassin's Creed journey with a familiar looking videogame, but with a new iteration so epic and amazing as you might expect. It's a worthy end for the first volume of the series.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    ACR has its shortcomings, but they're nothing compared to the pleasure this title delivers. Large, more polished and varied, quite pretty and offering an adventure and a story more enticing than ever, the solo play doesn't disappoint, even though it's still based on the same tricks and elements established a few episodes ago. It may be time to alter the formula. Ben even so, the multiplayer has been refined, all the while becoming more accessible. Overall, it's an action-adventure must-have.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    88
    A number of new features have been attempted to make Revelations feel new and different from its predecessors. In that quest for broader variety and a unique identity from the earlier games, Revelations makes some missteps that are hard to ignore. However, the game offers more of what has been great about the franchise, and that should be enough to bring most fans to the table, even if it a poor starting point for new players.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    85
    This is the best Assassin's Creed yet, even if that victory is claimed by an inch and not a mile. If you've been following the lives of Altair and Ezio this long, you owe it to yourself to see their last adventure.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations might not be the apex of the Creed, but its not a forgetable one either.
  6. Play UK
    Dec 1, 2011
    75
    Buckles under the weight of familiarity, irrelevant additions and overlooked flaws. [Issue#212, p.76]
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 177
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of theA well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be told on an annual basis and the gameplay need not be revamped every year. Even then they did have their fair share of improvements such as the hookblades and Desmond's memories. The only thing which they went a bit far with was the Tower Defense minigame, which seemed to be a nuisance to say the least.

    Other than that, visually appealing as always and well worth the money. I for one hope they don't stray far from their winning formula and don't succumb to adding new gameplay features for each iteration of their game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin'sThis game is great. I don't know why people are complaining about it. Yeah it plays just like assassin's creed because it is an assassin's creed game. Minor changes from brotherhood, but after that they have such a great system in place why would they change it. I'd be more upset if they did change it too much. Combat and running and sneaking are all near perfect. I don't know how you could improve. besides maybe adding customize-able grenades, oh wait they did that! which at first I didn't really use them, but now I am using them all the time and they are super helpful and fun. the hook-blade helps you climb faster and swing further. Zip lines are only here and there so they are fun because it's not over used. I think the story is great and a good wrap up to the series. Not as great as when I played 2 but stories do die down and going out I guess isn't very fun in itself. But still thought it was great! not terrible. Also The city is huge! don't listen to people saying it's small i have no idea why some are saying that. Yes they have the "dungeon" parts which we are used to by now and i think they are big and gorgeous and as always nicely varied. Also lots of side missions, that I love. Some said the side missions are like chores, if you think they are chores don't play this game. I think they are fun and I love doing every single one. They have added new things to do too so it's not even (all) the same old side missions. I am a huge fan of this series and have platinum trophies for all the previous titles (only other games I've done this for is uncharted series). I love the style, the gameplay, the enviornments and the story. it is more of the same but that's what I love so much about it. if you love the previous titles you'll love this one. That's all for now I gotta go climb up a huge castle after killing a ton of guards and it's only a side mission. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like AC2 or Brotherhood you will enjoy this game, simply put. It follows much of the same formulas as the previous installments whileIf you like AC2 or Brotherhood you will enjoy this game, simply put. It follows much of the same formulas as the previous installments while adding new features that add variety. I always thought just platforming in the open worlds (rome, istanbul etc) to be great fun, so no need to change this, however, with ziplines, there is added excitement. The major changes for me this time around is the multiplayer, which is really great.

    Multiplayer is similar to Brotherhood but is very much expanded with more game modes and of course maps. The new modes are fun and add variety, but I think the overall gameplay experience is well balanced and is much smoother. I feel much more accomplished in this game when I play well were there were a lot of times I got frustrated in AC:B. There are still frustrating points, but you can appreciate it much more when you succeed or understand what you did wrong. The story so far (~half way through) is similar to other games, as is the city building, but the small tweaks add to the already great experience. If you enjoyed improving rome, you will enjoy it more in Revelations. The new tower defense mini game that you can get is fun, albeit it would become repetitive if done too much. Sending recruited assasins off on missions is much better (also similar to old brotherhood) in that you see progress in the cities. Small but I enjoyed this a bunch in brotherhood and its better this time around.

    Also, the hookblade does just enough to change your fighting style to add to what is already a great fighter.

    Overall, if you enjoyed the exploration and fighting of previous games, that base of an experience is built subtly better with this installment. Nothing major or game changing, but as I said if you enjoyed previous versions, that is a great thing. Graphics: 9.0 (small glitches, new style is great- platforming still realistic with each holding modeled)
    Gameplay: Story: 8.5 Multiplayer: 9.5
    Sound: 9.5 Really strong, immersive and better than previous games, good music choices.
    Overall: 9.0
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Assassin´s Creed in my opinion is one of the greatest story driven game series of our time, easily on par with series like MetalAssassin´s Creed in my opinion is one of the greatest story driven game series of our time, easily on par with series like Metal Gear Solid.

    The game series is a wonderful mix of all the following element: Puzzle solving, action, stealth, history, conspiracy.
    If you don´t know about the game series or what the main plot revolves around, here´s a small synopsis.

    The game is set into the year 2011 were human DNA can be explored through machines called "ANIMUS". Your character is a person that has left a group called Assassin and is now targeted by a certain antagonistic group called the Templars. These two groups have waged war for thousands of years against each other so that their vision of the future would come to being. The major events that unfold in the game world are revealed through your protagonist visiting his ancestor´s memories through ANIMUS simulation program which can make i´ts subjects re-live memories locked in their DNA.

    If you haven´t played the earlier games from the series and want to avoid spoilers discontinue reading right now. As for "Revelation" i will do my best to not spoil anything from it.

    So how does this "Filler" & "Story arc ender" pan out in the end? Lets dive right into the subject!

    What has changed?
    The game has gone through some very interesting changes and it shows that the development team is doing i´ts best to keep the game fresh and new.

    The game keeps everything you loved from the earlier parts: hidden gun, crossbow, poison darts, parachutes, assassins, huge range of different weapons and all that you´ve learned to rely on.

    In addition to the old you have some new impressive things to use and/or look out for in your mission to fulfill your creed.

    BOMB´S!

    Yes you had your smoke bombs before but now.. now you´ve got skunk bombs, lamb blood bombs, sound bombs, poison bombs.. BOMB´S BOMB´S BOMB´S! nearly 100 different mix of bombs in this new bomb crafting mode.

    The development team has done a great work making a lot of different tactics for players to use in the game with this addition to the weapons range.

    HOOKBLADE!

    The new extension of your arm. This blade can be used for multiple purposes including: zip-line travel, extended climb reach, hook´n run and some other nifty tricks. Its a fun new element which you can´t get enough of.

    ENEMY ARCHETYPE


    The enemy archetypes have gone through a nice change. Now that gun powder has been invented for mass use, Ezio finds out some enemies have invested into armor that can withstand bullets and the gun isn´t a one shot kill weapon anymore all though the poison still works as one. There are new moves which you will need to take use of when fighting certain enemy types like counter throw. One of the "toughest" enemy types in the game are called Janissaries which need the most tactical approach in melee with careful reading to counter their gun shots, dodge their attacks and kick to gain advantage.

    ASSASSIN DENS


    The game now has dens which can be captured and afterwards inhabited by your assassins which you will train in the course of the game to become master assassins. And with this addition comes a towerdefender type of minigame were templars are trying to recapture the dens. This mode is a ton of fun and tactical enough to keep you developing new strategies for it.

    FIRST PERSON PUZZLES


    Each Assassins Creed has had some puzzles (disregarding the first) this time around you will be hunting animus data fragments to unlock 5 different first person platforming puzzles which each delve into Desmonds memories. The puzzles are fun but short in quantity and you will feel like it wasn´t enough compared to the older games.

    What else has changed?

    Now to be honest nothing else has changed from the other games that much. Setting is different like always with allot of awesome historical details and scenery. You get to hunt 100 objects in the map this time called animus data fragments. You have 10 memoir pages which unlock the dungeon for the best armor in the game. There are allot of things to buy and renovate just like in brotherhood which all though is time consuming still manages to be pretty fun.

    What about the story?

    This is the part I find the newest part of the game lacking. The historical settings is nice and the characters are intriguing and fun but the actual progression of the main plot "Desmonds story" is minimal to the point its obvious the game is a filler. You wont learn anything new that you wouldn´t already have managed to put together with the information revealed in brotherhood and AC 2. Ofcourse this doesn´t mean that the story fails entirely because it still succeeds to bring an end to the story arc of both Altaire and Ezio which is epic in its own right and managed to give me goosebumps.
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2012
    8
    This is pretty fun. However what you see here is something that you have seen in past titles and it does not add much to the mix. It is justThis is pretty fun. However what you see here is something that you have seen in past titles and it does not add much to the mix. It is just pretty much the same as the other titles (AC 2 For example). Those were great in those games, however you just cannot shake the feeling that you have played the EXACT same thing over and over and over. The missions just do not feel as inspired as the other games. Multiplayer is interesting and pretty much what you have played in Brotherhood, but still fun nonetheless. I would recommend this game to fans of the series, Everyone Else, get Assassins Creed 2 Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    I'm a big fan of the AC series but this one was a let down for me. It was a good ending to the story of Ezio, but the problem was that theI'm a big fan of the AC series but this one was a let down for me. It was a good ending to the story of Ezio, but the problem was that the game felt too much like Brotherhood so there wasn't really anything new to offer. Same goes with multiplayer, recycled maps from Brotherhood and no different game modes. Regardless of this, I still enjoyed the game and it's storyline, as I loved Brotherhood, but it was unfortunate that nearly no gameplay elements were changed. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchiseI played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchise and transformed it into an adolescent action/adventure American piece of garbage. How come a director of Far Cry 2, which is a mediocre FPS and Tennis Masters series took the position of directing one of the biggest and best franchises in the videogame industry is still a mystery to me. Also before I finish my review, for anyone that knows mediterranean history, this game has some serious flaws in presenting what exactly the Ottomans/Turks were and most importantly, how civilized they were. I also find it funny that in Italy of Renaissance the guards didn't have any weapons but at the same time in Turkey, which was in the middle ages at that time, they had found rifles! In the end, one thing I learned from the Assassin's Creed series is:

    Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.

    And I use my critical thinking in everything. Thank you Ubisoft for teaching me how to do it. :P

    Here's looking forward to the next series by Patrice Désilets. Hang in there brother! :D
    Expand

See all 177 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.