User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 840 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 840
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to saveThis game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to save what seemed to be the same person from soldiers like over fifty times. And what is up with those flags? I could care less how many I got. Expand
  2. FACTG
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    Another game that is much better on the 360. The PS3 version lacks the visual quality of its counterpart, has ridiculous load times, and a low quality framerate. Ubisoft has just about had it with the PS3. No wonder the next Splinter Cell is 360 exclusive.
  3. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    6
    It's Next-Gen on some levels, but this is still a very one-dimensional experience that always gives you the urdge to go and do something else. A real disappointment.
  4. DilbertD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers these days are afraid of trying something new and innovative. Note worth any minute of playing at all.
  5. D.J.
    Jan 25, 2008
    6
    Lovely to look at dull to play.
  6. jimb
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    An absolute marvel of a game. Should've been Game of the Year!
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    This game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many thingsThis game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many things wrong with this game. Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Assassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buyAssassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buy Assassin's Creed II and skipping this if you're coming to the series. This first game will appeal to some but only a few who can handle the ridicilous repetitiveness. To others, the game is both frustrating and dull. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    Terrible game. no matter people say don't buy this game like if they say ASSASSASSins is the best game evr don't believe. ItS aLl crap its just a piss poor open world version of prince of persia that gets repitive really fast. The only good thing about this is Nolan North but barely let him speak WHY????. Most overrated game franchise since Elder Scrls go play Uncharted. YES?
  10. Aug 3, 2012
    3
    I didn't play this game until a few years after it was released which may have caused me to have a high expectation from it given how much attention the series has received but I didn't like this game at all. I disliked it so much that I had to force myself to finish it so that I would never want to play it again. Assassin's Creed has so much potential and in the beginning showed a lotI didn't play this game until a few years after it was released which may have caused me to have a high expectation from it given how much attention the series has received but I didn't like this game at all. I disliked it so much that I had to force myself to finish it so that I would never want to play it again. Assassin's Creed has so much potential and in the beginning showed a lot of promise. But once you get about an hour into the game you have experienced all there is to it. The story consists of doing the exact same set of missions over and over and they are not even fun quests. The developers clearly put a lot of work into the stealth and movement systems but then put that effort to waste with the horrible use of it in the missions. I also did not like the combat system: any time you had to fight more than one guy (which is most of the time) you spend most of your time waiting for someone to attack you so you can block and counterattack which becomes very tedious... like everything else in the game. There are also numerous incredibly annoying parts in this game from heralds shouting the same speech at every other corner in the cities, how very slowly he climbs walls (he does everything else fast, why so slow here?), how many more sword fights there are than assassinations, and most of all the beggar woman who just won't take no for an answer.

    This does show promise for the rest of the series but I was very disappointed with this one and suggest skipping over it. My favourite moments from the game were stabbing the overly annoying beggar woman, throwing countless guards off the rooftops, and finishing the game so I could put it back in its case never to be played again.
    Expand
  11. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Being a big fan of the series and having played them all, it is still amazing to me how such a poor game, sparked such a successful franchise. If it was not for 2 being so great, and Ezio so hilariously awesome, im afraid this great franchise would have died. In one, you learn very little if not nothing about the story other than who the "bad guys" are, so i often encourage people to justBeing a big fan of the series and having played them all, it is still amazing to me how such a poor game, sparked such a successful franchise. If it was not for 2 being so great, and Ezio so hilariously awesome, im afraid this great franchise would have died. In one, you learn very little if not nothing about the story other than who the "bad guys" are, so i often encourage people to just skip to 2. but story aside the gameplay is so broken and tedious that combat is boring and should be avoided. things that work in the "tutorial" arena sometimes dont work in the actual gameplay. The only combat system that actually works is countering so combat is waiting for the other guy to strike, because attacking doesnt work and often will kill you fast. Having a broken combat system in a game where you often fight 10 or more enemies is very tedious. As well, this game could have been renamed Climbing and Walking Extra Slowly, simulator, as you spend the majority of the game climbing buildings or or not trying to get caught with a broken sneaking system. The game is also super repetitive. No joke, you do the EXACT SAME THING NINE TIMES. Nintey percent of the game, is repeating the mission you just did over and over and over again. There is zero incentive to play accept to see the ending, which lame and made no sence and actually hard to even find because people didnt even know what to do. Save yourself the time and money and just skip to 2. Two is incredibly better just from the start. no more broken combat or stealth systems and you actually feal like the game is different from beginning to end. Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2015
    4
    The first entry of one of the biggest franchises in recent years. How is it? Ughh....

    Pros: For an early PS3/360 game, the visuals are pretty good. The lighting is dynamic and excellent and the game world generally has a decent scope. The Free-flowing controls are fantastic. Assassin's Creed accomplishes everything it set out to do in terms of making you feel like a parkour master
    The first entry of one of the biggest franchises in recent years. How is it? Ughh....

    Pros:
    For an early PS3/360 game, the visuals are pretty good. The lighting is dynamic and excellent and the game world generally has a decent scope.
    The Free-flowing controls are fantastic. Assassin's Creed accomplishes everything it set out to do in terms of making you feel like a parkour master assassin (if that makes any sense)

    Cons:
    The story is a real let down. The story in the future is barely explained to us and leaves you with many questions in regards to the setup. In addition, the story in the past is also very generic. A simple, your power has been taken, earn your rights to get it back story is very boringly told and I never felt like it escalated at any point.
    The gameplay design is awful. Every chapter (Or memory block as the game calls it) is the same. Travel here, jump off some buildings, help some random guy who is in trouble with guards, kill a dude and then you are done! I never felt like there was any variety.
    Even though the graphics are nice, I personally noticed some frame rate drops. Every now and again, I would notice slow down, which really took away from the experience.
    There are NO interesting characters. I didn't care for Altair or anything he wanted to do. To me, he felt like a character with no personality, IN A GAME WHERE THE CHARACTER NEEDS A PERSONALITY!!!!

    Overall, Assassin's Creed is a very ambitious game and succeeds in some areas, but everywhere else, it falls flat on its face.

    4/10
    Expand
  13. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    When giving an opinion on the first AC, one has to make a distinction: How the game felt when it first came out, and how it holds up nower days. When the game first saw the light of day, it was amazing: innovative gameplay, a pretty cool story, great environments and the birth of a great weapon: the Hidden Blade. What was not so great about it were the side missions, which felt pretty dullWhen giving an opinion on the first AC, one has to make a distinction: How the game felt when it first came out, and how it holds up nower days. When the game first saw the light of day, it was amazing: innovative gameplay, a pretty cool story, great environments and the birth of a great weapon: the Hidden Blade. What was not so great about it were the side missions, which felt pretty dull and repetitive. Nower days the game feels only average, since its sequels improved the gameplay by so much. If you really like the series, check it out, if you are looking for an "improved" version, go straight to one of the sequels Expand
  14. Jun 30, 2015
    4
    I got this game with AC Revelations as a special offer. I had previously played AC II and Brotherhood. And I have to say that after those games this game is such a huge setback, that I couldn't even finish this game.

    This game is so repetitive and the story and plot is nothing compared to the other AC games. So since I couldn't even finish the game because it was so boring, I can't give
    I got this game with AC Revelations as a special offer. I had previously played AC II and Brotherhood. And I have to say that after those games this game is such a huge setback, that I couldn't even finish this game.

    This game is so repetitive and the story and plot is nothing compared to the other AC games. So since I couldn't even finish the game because it was so boring, I can't give this one a high rating can I?
    Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2015
    3
    It is so painfully repetitive. Really, just look at it this way: 1) Go to a town/city/etc. 2) Meet with a bureau leader to start a mission. 3) Eavesdrop, pickpocket, assassinate, interrogate, and climb towers. 4) That's it. You are doing the same exact thing every single time, and it's so mindbogglingly boring. Altair's voice actor was also just an ear sore, so on top of tedious gameplayIt is so painfully repetitive. Really, just look at it this way: 1) Go to a town/city/etc. 2) Meet with a bureau leader to start a mission. 3) Eavesdrop, pickpocket, assassinate, interrogate, and climb towers. 4) That's it. You are doing the same exact thing every single time, and it's so mindbogglingly boring. Altair's voice actor was also just an ear sore, so on top of tedious gameplay and a constant regurgitation of missions/tasks, you have this ear gratingly awful voice just yammering away in your ear. I honestly wish I could say good things about the game and say I enjoyed it, but I didn't. The concept is cool and the designs are as well, but that certainly does not pick up for all it lacks. Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2017
    0
    this is the worst game I've ever played. I've played a lot of other Assassin's Creed games before this and none of them have made me rage this hard. The fighting mechanics are difficult to control, the guards ALWAYS notice you no matter what, and trying to climb something takes FOREVER. I'll admit, I'm not the best player ever, but I'm not far below the skill of an average audience. I takethis is the worst game I've ever played. I've played a lot of other Assassin's Creed games before this and none of them have made me rage this hard. The fighting mechanics are difficult to control, the guards ALWAYS notice you no matter what, and trying to climb something takes FOREVER. I'll admit, I'm not the best player ever, but I'm not far below the skill of an average audience. I take no pleasure in having to retry a mission over and over and over and over and over with the same result. The only reason I'm even trying to finish the game is so that when I play the second one I have a better grasp on the story. Don't buy this game unless you're prepared to become so enraged you want to break everything and then kill yourself. Expand
  17. aspentitan
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on the market. Expand
  18. TheMule
    Mar 5, 2008
    5
    It's half a game. One level of design copy-pasted multiple times. Moronic gameplay, combat, moronic enemy AI, poor story, character developement, and surpisingly non-existent ending deserving of such a scam. One painful example of what "hype" can do (and some major videogame websites paid to write forgiving reviews and give good scores. STAY AWAY.
  19. MadsR.
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    Allthough it is a very visually beautiful game and the controls are great, it lacks in variation and you basically do the same thing over and over until your fed up.
  20. Anonymous
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Besides the jumbled up storyline its open world environment was breathtaking and gameplay is respectable going around jumping and climbing using some of ubisofts great prince of persia mechanics but there is still more room for the future sequel and prequel we will hopefully see.
  21. BobW.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    A mavelous game. Beautiful, huge settings, and an excellent story line.
  22. SteamZ.
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Great Game, would be better if I can skip through sence.
  23. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time period and fantastic until its all over. I'm a lover of story based games, and ive tried to replay this one a few times but just end up in random sword fighting duels to try and keep interested. First time around though, i loved it, kept me interested enough to want to finish it off.....but at the end of the day i wanted more and once its over...its over. Just needed to have a few more options and perhaps an extra mode of play or two ie: dueling mode etc just to keep those of us who enjoyed this overall going. Polished, solid and entertaining but as said b4 when its over its over. Expand
  24. PinCushion
    Aug 10, 2008
    5
    Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have crashed the game 7 times...it just locks up when i am running, in mid air, on a horse....walking.....totally sucks. the only reason it got a 5 is for the main character model, although poor looking in some instances, the attempt at fighting and the ability to put together a city like that....to me though this is typical ubisoft, maybe one nice thing amidst a crap load of crappity crap things.....but hey they did polish a t**d...and that's what this game is, hopefully next one will be better, i will wait way way down the line to see how the reviews pan out before buying again though. Expand
  25. pasinduS
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. If you must, then rent it. Paying more than 5 bucks for this drivel is a crime. Expand
  26. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Another great game to come out from '07, engaging story and a graphical marvel. The game play may be repetitive but this is truly a sandbox game.
  27. DavidH.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game with great story, immersive and varied combat, gourgerous graphics, if a little repetative.
  28. MarkP.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. These negative reviews on here don't do it justice. May be repetitive but the graphics and movement options are awesome. Climb, ride, jump, I am addicted. This game rocks!!
  29. PeterV.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is solid and the story is engaging and interesting. There is a myriad of ways to tackle each mission making for a decent replay factor. The only hang up is that the game ocassionaly locks up. other than that its a great game and i can't wait for the second installment
  30. StevenC.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Environments are huge, game play is fun though previous comments about the repetitiveness is justified. I found the graphics to be quite good. Solid game overall.
  31. JamieS.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Well I chose the former for every assassination and maybe that is why you didnt enjoy the game... you are an assassin, not the terminator. Come in from the roof, kill your target and leave with out being seen... brilliant. Expand
  32. SamR.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    It is an incredibly realistic game. The climbing is brilliant and it is great to just run across the roof tops. The fighting is very well done especially the counter attacks
  33. MasJ.
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    Controls are too cumbersome to feel natural and a corny sci-fi element is tacked on to ruin an otherwise decent adventure game. Over-rated.
  34. JonathanS.
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This game is incredibly overrated, I don't understand why its getting such a high score from professionals, did they get bribed or something? Only thing that holds this game from getting a 1 is the great graphics. Other than that its really dull, all you do is move to target, kill him, kill 10 guards, run, kill more guards, repeat.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I'll balance out the hype with a fat 0/10. Many lament over the repetition of the missions
  36. BryanS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Unique story, great animations, and fun gameplay = Great game! Missions can get repetitive, but it doesn't make the game suffer that much, since you aren't forced to complete all of them if you choose not to.
  37. Jared
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. It would be intense. Expand
  38. Stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    Good gameplay, great controls. Gets a little repetitive. Skimming the roof tops while evading guards after a hit is when the game shines.
  39. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    Do not drop full price on this game. I bought this game used and after 3 days doing the same thing over and over again a had to trade it in and get some of my money back. The game looks great and plays good but after the same thing you just want to put it up and play something else.
  40. BobtheBuilder
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Not much you could really ask for, the game is repetitive but hey, why complain when your repeating brilliance. graphics are awesome and the fighting scenes are also amazing - a must have for fans of prince of Persia and ps3 owners alike.
  41. BoffoJ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so anti climactic that I was pissed off that I spent all that time to get there. There should never be a.... to be continued at the end of a game. It should be a complete package. The dual story line was ridiculous and the ending atrocious. All that said it was still fun to play. Let's hope they work out the kinks for the inevitable number 2. Expand
  42. ChadH
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this repetitiveness. I'd suggest renting it and spending at least 20 hours playing it before making the call to spend 60 bucks on it. Not to mention you could easily beat the game before your rental ends, and I doubt you'll see any replay value in this game. Maybe in a couple years or when number 2 comes out you'll pick it up again. Expand
  43. DickL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    7
    What the hell, this was the most anticipated game for two years and is such a dissapointment, then again the third crusade wasnt all that exciting anyways.
  44. JeremyL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably original. Like GTA with brains and stealth. The environment is a "see it to believe it" type of thing.
  45. CarlosG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The controls in this game are very smooth, from accessing horses to fighting to climbing and shuffling around. very pleased indeed! not so stilted like hitman and thief. also, a very good story to go with the game! 10 out of 10 from me!!
  46. BethB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Tremendous gameplay value here, the fight mode is spectacular, the music is breathtaking, the controls and movements of Altair as he jumps from rooftop and climbs walls... This game is by far the best game available for the XBOX 360, hands down.
  47. GeorgeA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    Apart from some pretty graphics, there's really nothing compelling about this game.
  48. MichaelO.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent. I really enjoyed this game: the storyline is fun, the action is enticing, the fights are brilliant, and after you are done with it...you can still play and have fun.
  49. Chris
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I love this game and i struggled to see why so many of the critics failed to agree with me and i think iv finally figured it out. Most reviewers have only one or two days to review a game, and one of the biggest apparent flaws with the game is that its a bit repetitive, but this is coming from people who have raced through the game to finish the story so they can meet the deadline for I love this game and i struggled to see why so many of the critics failed to agree with me and i think iv finally figured it out. Most reviewers have only one or two days to review a game, and one of the biggest apparent flaws with the game is that its a bit repetitive, but this is coming from people who have raced through the game to finish the story so they can meet the deadline for their review, and alot of good games get repetitive if you play them non-stop. Whereas me, i play my games for about an hour and a half then i go and do something else so this game has not as yet felt repetitive because when i put the disc in i look forward to workin towards the assassination. So, the bottom line is, i your a hardcore gamer who must finish his game as quickly as possible, give this title a rent or a miss, however if like most people, you stop gaming... you know... to sleep and stuff, little things like that, then this shud definately be on the top of your list. Expand
  50. WinkyD.
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, is not fun and monotonous. With all the hype that went into this game, for it to be as flawed as it is and to the extent that it is - is mind blowing. The voice acting is horrible, the story is really bad and I absolutely hate that just when you are starting to get into the game and environment they pull you out take you into the "future". The future aspect feels like a cheap and tacked on. Also having blue transparent walls to prevent you from going into areas...complete suckage...bad design. The game also crashed no less than 6 times in 5 hours. I am 5 hours into this pile of poop and am still not having fun and will probably not pick this up again. Jade Raymond - you have sold your sole to make a buck for a third rate game company, maybe the same energy could have gone into making the game fun. Your team completely let you down and made you into a joke, you should be pissed. Ubi you guys suck, 98% of your games are crap, every PSP game you have done blows. I am boycotting Ubi for trying to profit by ripping off gamers. Also the PS3 version of AC is not as good as the Xbox360 version, why? The system is more powerful there is more space on the disk. Did you try or did you just port your code from the 360? Expand
  51. JamesR.
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    Total, utter disappointment. Slow, monotonous, rent before you buy.
  52. TravB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    It is totally awesome. thought it is better on the ps3 than the xbox 360, xbox just does quite bad with this quality. i do own both systems. assassins creed is a must have.
  53. JoshuaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Great game innovotive and original.
  54. GregD.
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    Great graphics, great AI, interesting storyline...unimaginative adventures for an assasin and repetitive in the worst way. Still worth playing though.
  55. DonM.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    I won't lie....I played this game for about 20 hours total and was hooked for a while. I found it completely fun at times but it quickly became repetitive. I began by completing every task in each level but about halfway through I realized it was pointless. So I only completed the tasks needed to get the assassination. Basically you assassinate a guy and then run like hell back to I won't lie....I played this game for about 20 hours total and was hooked for a while. I found it completely fun at times but it quickly became repetitive. I began by completing every task in each level but about halfway through I realized it was pointless. So I only completed the tasks needed to get the assassination. Basically you assassinate a guy and then run like hell back to base---repeat 8 times and then battle a couple bosses. A more stealth approach and exit would have made it much more interesting. The dialog is completely recycled in every level so much so that you may just get pissed and stab the woman who keeps bumping into you asking you for change around every corner in every level of the entire game. When I beat it I quickly pulled it out of my PS3 and returned it to the video store. If you need a day or two worth or fun then get this, but that's about all the fun will last. If you're looking for something with more depth and variety keep looking. However, I will say that the groundwork is layed for a rad sequel ---if they can improve on the faults of this one. Expand
  56. MeganF.
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    Solid running-on-rooftops, very decent combat system, but... the game is very, very easy, giving you no real reason to USE said combat system to its fullest extent, etc. Very enjoyable if you like sandbox games and can ignore general ease of gameplay, not so good if you go into this expecting Hitman, or something particularly challenging. Think Prince of Persia in a sandbox world, with Solid running-on-rooftops, very decent combat system, but... the game is very, very easy, giving you no real reason to USE said combat system to its fullest extent, etc. Very enjoyable if you like sandbox games and can ignore general ease of gameplay, not so good if you go into this expecting Hitman, or something particularly challenging. Think Prince of Persia in a sandbox world, with the difficulty cranked down a few notches. Expand
  57. jl
    Dec 30, 2007
    5
    good graphics dumb story line, remember in the short movie before u start playing the game the dude has lots of weapons on him that u cant get in the game including the cross bo but i could be wrong maybe theirs some way 2 get it ,and after u beat the game u can only repeat the same
    boring stuff all in all piss this
  58. SimonM.
    Dec 31, 2007
    5
    The game starts off well but unfortunately the missions soon become repetitive and dull. Add a rather uninteresting story and cue hours of tedium.
  59. DarrenP.
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    A terrible, terrible game - poor A.I, repetitive to the point of boredom & absolutely terrible story (that ruins the structure of the game). The biggest disappointment of 2007 - avoid at all costs.
  60. Gus
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Great game. superb graphics to admire. ambitious and excting to play.
  61. IanR.
    Jan 23, 2008
    5
    I must be the only person who thought this game was rubbish. Fair enough it looks nice (hence the generous 5 out of 10) but thats irrelevant when the game is so boring and annoying. The initial training is tedious and slow, you cannot skip any of the storline and you seem to just wander around not really knowing what the hell your supposed to be doing. If you don't have the latest I must be the only person who thought this game was rubbish. Fair enough it looks nice (hence the generous 5 out of 10) but thats irrelevant when the game is so boring and annoying. The initial training is tedious and slow, you cannot skip any of the storline and you seem to just wander around not really knowing what the hell your supposed to be doing. If you don't have the latest 1080 hi-tech TV it's very difficult to see the info on the screen, especially when viewing your map. When duelling the controls seem unresponsive and you just end up tapping all the buttons like a girl playing street fighter2, and the running and jumping is slow and aggrivating. I was gutted when I part exchanged Ratchet and Clank (which is serious fun) with this game, and have more fun playing Tetris. I've been gaming since before the NES and take my advice rent this game before buying it. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  62. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics and really great gameplay. Interesting gameplay and the story is interesting throughout the game. This game should have a better rating than what it has right now.
  63. KayC.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it harder to find a safe spot, they could have allowed more than 1 attack button, they could have made it a bit harder after you kill a leader. So many things stopping this game from being fun. In watching the TV advert you might think the game looks innovative, but it seems like the guys who made it just lack the skills and market research to produce a game that is actually fun. It's not fun riding to different cities on a horse while enemies 'attempt' to catch you. Though the graphics are great I don't really care, graphics don't make up for uncreative gameplay on what looks to have been a creative game. Highly overrated by many people who swayed me to get the game, but I'm disappointed that I have to climb the top of high buildings and look around, rather than doing real stealth type missions, the gameplay doesn't even involve much stealth, you could walk around in a populated city, steal someone's knives and the guards will only suspect you. I'm in no rush to get the sequel Expand
  64. AnonymousMC
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    This game is undeniably brilliant graphically and in gameplay. Although some of the missions can seem similar and rather easy, you get heavily involved in the unique story and freedom of exploring the cities. Unfortunately, it is only a 'play once' game. It would have been better if the game ended in a way that allowed you to play on similar to games like 'grand theftThis game is undeniably brilliant graphically and in gameplay. Although some of the missions can seem similar and rather easy, you get heavily involved in the unique story and freedom of exploring the cities. Unfortunately, it is only a 'play once' game. It would have been better if the game ended in a way that allowed you to play on similar to games like 'grand theft auto'. However, there are other incentives such as collecting flags and things that can keep you occupied.
    The makers of the game should have made it a bit more realistic in some situations and improving the AI which was a bit annoying. Overall, a game worth buying for its unique nature and addictive gameplay.
    Expand
  65. AaronL.
    Jul 11, 2008
    5
    A somewhat unique game, great graphics, stunning level & costume design, and absolutely amazing gameplay (in terms of combat and climbing around the city etc) HOWEVER, this game feels like a tech-demo, it takes less than 2 hours before you realized it's very very repetitive, and very soon after that you're just hoping to skip all the middle missions and just have all the A somewhat unique game, great graphics, stunning level & costume design, and absolutely amazing gameplay (in terms of combat and climbing around the city etc) HOWEVER, this game feels like a tech-demo, it takes less than 2 hours before you realized it's very very repetitive, and very soon after that you're just hoping to skip all the middle missions and just have all the boss-fight (that tells the stories) line up right next to each other and be over and done with the game. i do however feel that with the same format, this game can be transformed into one of the best fantasy rpg games out there. assassin's creed itself however seems to be a combination of genres, action, adventure and rpg, but yet it fails to grasp the exciting features in each genre, ending up in the middle of nowhere. Expand
  66. IanB
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    Not a bad game, but I thought it was too repetitive to enjoy fully. I felt i was playing the same mission over and over again.
  67. FabrizioF.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    It is a game to be remembered. First of all, a very original idea of the game and awesome graphics. Also it is really fun killing soldiers in several different ways and there are nearly no glithes during gameplay.
  68. AlexH
    Sep 8, 2009
    6
    The presentation and style of the game grabs a lot of attention but the quality of the game lacks creativity and effort. The low score comes from its repetitive gameplay, although the interesting storyline and immensely beautiful graphics can keep this game on the list of a PS3 gamer.
  69. BestReviews
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    With the games out for the ps3 we should be very thanknful that we have something so much different to play for a little while. Graphics incredible, controls with a low-medium difficulty learning curve. Repetition does pose a little dissapointment but with a storyline as interesting as this, it finds a way to keep you playing until the very end, thank you ubisoft!
  70. YoungK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I was pretty skeptical about this game because it looked like a sort of hitman rip-off, then i played it. it's nothing like hitman, and the storyline accounts for that. whereas hitman is a drunken-frat-fest kind of game, this is a thinking game, a history game (ubisoft keeps cranking these out don't they?), an a scientifically exhilarating game - i don't want to give away I was pretty skeptical about this game because it looked like a sort of hitman rip-off, then i played it. it's nothing like hitman, and the storyline accounts for that. whereas hitman is a drunken-frat-fest kind of game, this is a thinking game, a history game (ubisoft keeps cranking these out don't they?), an a scientifically exhilarating game - i don't want to give away any secrets. the ending will blow you away!! Expand
  71. BradlyL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    They haven't revealed the secret in the game yet.. the secret being WHY I BOUGHT THE GAME! But we all know that the game primarily takes place in 1191AD during the first crusade, but what's up with some of these glitchy things going on, such as "computer offline," when Altair dies? Three missions deep and I still don't know. But in the meantime this has been the most They haven't revealed the secret in the game yet.. the secret being WHY I BOUGHT THE GAME! But we all know that the game primarily takes place in 1191AD during the first crusade, but what's up with some of these glitchy things going on, such as "computer offline," when Altair dies? Three missions deep and I still don't know. But in the meantime this has been the most enjoyable time I've spent with a game in a while. I'm more into video games for the stories, the plot, the intrigue, and so I usually do RPGs, but this one caught my eye as soon as I saw some screens and read a little bit up on the issues involved. Assassinating leaders from the medieval era is probably the most exhilarating thing I've ever done in the video game... And the mystery... ugh, it makes MYST look like a level one Sudoku! :D Highly recommended, btw. Expand
  72. MarkF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    On the message boards they were saying that it was just going to be a hitman rip-off, but it's nothing like hitman. the gameplay, controls, graphics, physics engine, the developers, down to the plot, are totally original. i was caught off guard, didn't think the game would be THIS good, but it is.
  73. BenJ.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    A little screen tearing here and there, no framerate issues for me. I am loving this game. Huge world to explore. Not a ten due to the screen tearing, but if we could do decimals, I'd give it a 9.4.
  74. TeddyB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    These graphics are so beautiful and smooth, what is the next "next-gen" system going to make games look like!! I read that AC was made by the same guys who did Splinter Cell and Prince of Persia (both games that I really like!) and the smoothness of gameplay shows this is true. Every movement, even the fighting (and pushing around.
  75. William
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I would give this game a 9.1 It has great graphics and controls. I agree that it gets repetitive but the story was enought to keep me playing.
  76. ChristianNewton
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    *SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of The Colossus, Oblivion and Crackdown. I love the controversial plot twist, it adds something extra to the game for me. I know other players would have preferred the modern day elements to be removed from the game altogether, but to be honest I*SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of The Colossus, Oblivion and Crackdown. I love the controversial plot twist, it adds something extra to the game for me. I know other players would have preferred the modern day elements to be removed from the game altogether, but to be honest I don't think I would have been as interested in the game otherwise. Graphics are gorgeous, but I really am enjoying the combat and running across rooftops. 'Assassin's Creed' is just a fun game. Just don't go expecting 'GTA Holy Land!' Expand
  77. AndyK.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Amazing game...beautiful graphics, great story...a milestone! Great job Montreal!
  78. DanielVanHerwaarden
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    VERY fun and VERY innovative. The storyline draws in greatly with the gameplay and the graphics really good. (get it for the PS3)
  79. OzzyK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love this game. I can sit for hours scaling roof tops like a cat or planning assasins etc. Visually the game is practically perfect. The story line is inticing, and the controls almost feel as if your in the game. Exciting stuff by Ubisoft.
  80. VoiceofReason
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    This is a quality game. If you believed the hype and were expecting christ to pop out of the screen then I could see why some people are angry. It seems like the only games that get reviewed positively these days are first person shooters or games with familiar engines. Try to give a gamer something different and they will get angry. If you take the time to learn how this game works then This is a quality game. If you believed the hype and were expecting christ to pop out of the screen then I could see why some people are angry. It seems like the only games that get reviewed positively these days are first person shooters or games with familiar engines. Try to give a gamer something different and they will get angry. If you take the time to learn how this game works then you will have an enjoyable experience. The graphics and environments are second to none. The gameplay is slightly above average. Expand
  81. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    Very disappointed. This game started off great, however, it becomes repetitive quickly. I was also bored by the fighting system. Fighting basically consists of countering attacks or just hitting one button over and over again.
  82. SzakK.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    The best game in the history of the play station, great life like graphics, awesome story line i like the stealth missions they are great that is why i am giving this game a 10.
  83. hoshokaruni
    Dec 17, 2007
    4
    this game basically started making me mad at the menu screen. Its hard to interact with it. The actual gameplay is a little to straight forward and the only cool thing about this game is the inovative ideas and scenery
  84. Warmonger
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    This game Reminds me a bit of thief and prince of Persia..but they sort or ruined it with that whole future past storyline,they should have just kept it in the past. The graphics are very nice but the gameplay becomes too tiresome and repetitive after awhile.Definitely rent before you buy.
  85. DaveG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    6
    A beautiful bore. 3 hours into this game, I wanted to stop since it was already painfully repetitive and pointless to continue since the combat was a brutal chore and not the least bit fun. A gorgeous game that fails at everything else.
  86. Dave
    Jan 24, 2008
    3
    In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest way to get out of a guards line of site, whether it is 1 or 20 of them, is simply to reduce them all to corpses. This also tends to hollow out the actually assassinations themselves, since stealth/evasion is both superfluous and inefficient. I find it shocking that it received such high reviews from so many professsional reviewers -- a clear indication that very few bothered to play the game all the way through before lavishing it with undeserved praise. Expand
  87. gunzofglory
    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    Fantastic at first, but...does get repetitive. You have to congratulate Ubisoft on their hard work and dedication for creating what has to be one of the finest games of 2007. What they didn't take into consideration was how repetitive it would be, both in terms of combat and the environment. Nonetheless, it is a visually stunning epic that explores the Third Crusade both brutally and Fantastic at first, but...does get repetitive. You have to congratulate Ubisoft on their hard work and dedication for creating what has to be one of the finest games of 2007. What they didn't take into consideration was how repetitive it would be, both in terms of combat and the environment. Nonetheless, it is a visually stunning epic that explores the Third Crusade both brutally and appropriately. My suggestion - rent it for a week and then decide, or pay £10, which seems highly worth it. Look forward to their much anticipated Assassin's Creed 2, which will, most definitely, be a stellar one. Expand
  88. tomA
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    excellent combat, stealth, graphics and exploration, if only the missions were varied, it would be a perfect 10
  89. xxxxxx
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I really want to give 8.8 but since the rating system here doesn't allow that.. 9. It's an exciting experience to play this game. If you mix and match difference pro reviews, you'll get the idea. While elements like graphics & animation are next-gen, AI is still last-gen. It amazes you for a couple of hours and it get repetitive very fast. It wasn't meant to be played I really want to give 8.8 but since the rating system here doesn't allow that.. 9. It's an exciting experience to play this game. If you mix and match difference pro reviews, you'll get the idea. While elements like graphics & animation are next-gen, AI is still last-gen. It amazes you for a couple of hours and it get repetitive very fast. It wasn't meant to be played through one-all-nighter. Play, relax, and play again... just don't rush to ruin the experience. Expand
  90. HughH.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    This is a good game that has taken a big leap forward in the future of gaming. It is not as much a game as it is an interactive experience. You don't play Altair, you are Him! When bustling through streets running from guards or scaling rooftops to picking the best spot to leap on your prey, you are in his shoes make no mistake, it is intense. Casual gamers may not like this game This is a good game that has taken a big leap forward in the future of gaming. It is not as much a game as it is an interactive experience. You don't play Altair, you are Him! When bustling through streets running from guards or scaling rooftops to picking the best spot to leap on your prey, you are in his shoes make no mistake, it is intense. Casual gamers may not like this game because it can get repetitive after a few missions and the difficulty ramps up towards the end and also the feeling of not knowing where to go or what to do at some points but still, i have to applaud ubisoft for taking a chance and making this game memorable. Expand
  91. Ryencoke
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome they did an excellent job on that. Otherwise, just rent it. Expand
  92. JonasL.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Beautiful and very Impressive. Potential to reach 10/10, but it does miss out on a few importent ingredienses. The ways to assassinate a target are very limited. The flags you can collect seem pointless. Why cant you disguise yourself? But it still is an amazing game. Nice work Montreal!
  93. UncleDougB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    This game has serious issues. It's too repetitive. It becomes tiresome after an hour and how the fighting system ever passed play testing is beyond me. Frame rate sucks too. Seriously people, this trash is not worth your time.
  94. DesmondM
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    You jump across the roof tops in three huge cities. Two roofs ahead is a bowman guarding. You discretely put your hidden blade up. Moves slowly against the back of the unaware guard. He hears you turns around says "Hey you are not supposed to..." then his neck is penetrated by a blade he can not see. He falls down towards the ground. People down there jumps away, scared when the body You jump across the roof tops in three huge cities. Two roofs ahead is a bowman guarding. You discretely put your hidden blade up. Moves slowly against the back of the unaware guard. He hears you turns around says "Hey you are not supposed to..." then his neck is penetrated by a blade he can not see. He falls down towards the ground. People down there jumps away, scared when the body falls down infront of them. They look up to see where it cae from. But you, you are gone. A fantastic game that I don't find repeatedly at all. To anyone that reads this: buy this game if you like awesome animations, great freedom and lots, lots of murders. Because you will murder a lot, and you will enjoy it. Mostly because of the animations and voice acting. Awesome! Expand
  95. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Assassin's creed is a really great game to play. Its intricate to say the least and is truly alive. You'll explore three major cities of the Holy Land, each bustling with life and each with their own personality. This is one hell of a beautiful game. Not only are every object so layered but the cities are all to the right color and the shadows all pitch perfect. The soundtrack is even moreAssassin's creed is a really great game to play. Its intricate to say the least and is truly alive. You'll explore three major cities of the Holy Land, each bustling with life and each with their own personality. This is one hell of a beautiful game. Not only are every object so layered but the cities are all to the right color and the shadows all pitch perfect. The soundtrack is even more impressive composing of perfect background noise, great voice acting from supporting cast and an epic score. Also the story adds bulk to all this and glues it all together, leaving all this in a coherent likable whole. All this would be nothing of course if it wasn't for great gameplay and an all-round entertaining experience. Combat also present that perfect balance of not being too hard nor too easy and is a very satisfying experience. But even tough combat is flowing, it is not always the best option and I advise to take most situations slowly. A small blemish to this beautiful world is the unnatural focus of certain parts of gameplay, most citizens say the same thing, saving a citizen goes on the same route for every city, vigilantes are always present at the same place....etc. Also the ending is complete ***** and ruins the whole game but I won't go into that. Also there are a couple of glitches which we can forgive because its so huge. So all in all if you forget the ending and the repetition assassin's creed is a truly great game which sucks you in and would be very difficult to let you go. Expand
  96. Dec 28, 2017
    10
    I liked the main story from the very beginning to the end. The dialogues are so well written, historical accuracy is unusually high, atmosphere is so thick that I had this strong feeling as if I'd been there in middle age Damascus. You got movies like Michael Crichton's Timeline or Kingdom of heaven and this game surpass them massively in every possible way. I loved the graphics very muchI liked the main story from the very beginning to the end. The dialogues are so well written, historical accuracy is unusually high, atmosphere is so thick that I had this strong feeling as if I'd been there in middle age Damascus. You got movies like Michael Crichton's Timeline or Kingdom of heaven and this game surpass them massively in every possible way. I loved the graphics very much too, even in 2016 I was staring with my mouth open. I think lot of people can have a problem, that this game is educational and the gameplay is not the best. Expand
  97. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This game looks stunning and the best part of it is probably standing on top of one of the high towers of Damascus, Acre or Jerusalem and enjoying the beautiful view. The old narrow roads and crowded markets capture the atmosphere perfectly too. Where the game lacks a bit though is the gameplay. The build up to every assassination, where you have to eavesdrop on people, get information andThis game looks stunning and the best part of it is probably standing on top of one of the high towers of Damascus, Acre or Jerusalem and enjoying the beautiful view. The old narrow roads and crowded markets capture the atmosphere perfectly too. Where the game lacks a bit though is the gameplay. The build up to every assassination, where you have to eavesdrop on people, get information and perform other tasks to help you plan the perfect kill and getaway is fun at first, but it can get very repetitive, since you'll be doing the same thing over and over again. That doesn't mean that the game is boring though, if you take it slowly, as a true assassin, the way it was meant to be played, you will indulge in that slow and stealthy process of acquiring information and studying your target. If you rush through the game on the other hand in an attempt to complete it as fast as possible, you will probably get bored of the very similar and repetitive missions fast. Expand
  98. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    It may not be a perfect entry point, but Assassin's Creed is the start of a new franchise that breathes promise into the industry. Ubisoft have something special on their hands and with care, it will flourish into something great, something to be remembered.

    Historical games are a rarity and Ubisoft have somehow interested us with a history lesson. There are evident shortcomings, but
    It may not be a perfect entry point, but Assassin's Creed is the start of a new franchise that breathes promise into the industry. Ubisoft have something special on their hands and with care, it will flourish into something great, something to be remembered.

    Historical games are a rarity and Ubisoft have somehow interested us with a history lesson.

    There are evident shortcomings, but hopefully by the sequel they will have been rectified.

    Counter-kills are fun, allowing you to take on many foes and feel like pro taking them down, one by one. Scaling up walls with your parkour skills is another fun feature. Blending is hilarious (simply put your hands together in prayer and walk slowly).

    Although highly repetitive, the game satisfies our open world curiosity.

    The inability to swim is annoying, but a limitation that adds to the challenge of the game. Who knows, maybe people of the era were unable to swim.

    No matter how many faults there are, you will eagerly await what the sequel has in store.
    Expand
  99. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 action-adventure stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    Desmond is captured by Abstergo and forced to use a machine called the Animus to explore Altaïr ibn-La'Ahad's memories during the time of the Third Crusade. Desmond begins to witness events after Altaïr breaks all three tenets of the Assassin Brotherhood while
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 action-adventure stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    Desmond is captured by Abstergo and forced to use a machine called the Animus to explore Altaïr ibn-La'Ahad's memories during the time of the Third Crusade. Desmond begins to witness events after Altaïr breaks all three tenets of the Assassin Brotherhood while attempting to stop Robert de Sablé from taking a Piece of Eden. Al Mualim, the Brotherhood's leader, demotes Altaïr to Novice and tasks him with assassinating the nine Knights Templars, including de Sablé, to regain his former status. Altaïr's quest eventually leads him to face de Sablé in the presence of King Richard I of England warning the King of de Sablé's plot to kill him. Altaïr defeats de Sablé, but with his last words, de Sablé reveals that there were ten Templars, the last being Al Mualim, who now holds the Piece of Eden. Altaïr returns to face Al Mualim, struggling to fight through the illusions created by the Piece, but eventually kills Al Mualim. When Altaïr recovers the piece, he—and those watching the Animus—witness a holographic map showing locations across the globe where other artifacts are located. Desmond is pulled from the Animus, and was going to be killed, but his life is spared by Lucy Stillman, an Assassin working as a mole within Abstergo, as she claims they might need to further examine his memories later. He comes to learn that a former test subject had left messages only Desmond can see, foretelling of the end of the world in 2012.

    The first Assassin's Creed introduced elements that would remain cornerstones of the rest of the series. The game attempts to create historical versions of Masyaf (the Brotherhood's location), Jerusalem, Acre and Damascus, and incorporates a number of documented historical figures into the story. The virtualized Animus system, free running, climbing, stealth, and parkour elements were all present in this title, as well as the initial formulation of the combat system. The player would have to complete a number of side quests before they would be able to obtain an assassin quest from a local Brotherhood guidemaster in each city, though future games would abandon this prerequisite

    + Past and Present Story
    + The Assassin Creed and Templar Order
    + Desmond and Altair
    + The Third Crusade
    + Great Open World Action Adventure Game
    Expand
  100. May 16, 2016
    7
    "Assassin's Creed" fue muy interesante, con una historia prometedora y gráficos, que en su momento era de lo mejor del catálogo de PlayStation 3, sirvió para darle vida a un juego que se convirtió en insignia para Ubisoft.
    En general el juego no ofrece mucho, la mecánica consiste en averiguar en las grandes ciudades datos que te faciliten el asesinato del objetivo que te da el gremio,
    "Assassin's Creed" fue muy interesante, con una historia prometedora y gráficos, que en su momento era de lo mejor del catálogo de PlayStation 3, sirvió para darle vida a un juego que se convirtió en insignia para Ubisoft.
    En general el juego no ofrece mucho, la mecánica consiste en averiguar en las grandes ciudades datos que te faciliten el asesinato del objetivo que te da el gremio, para esto debes salvar ciudadanos, escuchar conversaciones, robar información, interrogar secuaces y trepar las torres más altas para completar el mapa, luego debes entrar en conflicto con el objetivo. Esa formula se repite cuatro o cinco veces y es todo el juego.
    En general es aburrido, pero el inicio y el final son interesantes y te hacen querer saber cómo continúa la serie.
    En general este es un juego al que se le perdonó mucho porque era de los primeros de la generación, para los estándares de hoy es un mal juego o uno regular, pero merece puntos por haber sido en su tiempo uno de los más elaborados.
    Recomiendo mejor conseguir la versión "Director's cut" para PC o en su defecto la de 360 por tener trofeos y prolongarle un poco más la vida al juego.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?