User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 637 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 637

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totallyAssassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totally succeeds in taking you to a foreign world and supplying adventure. The climbing system in this game is wonderful and scaling the many towers to sync your view is a fun, relaxing task. The assassinations themselves give you complete freedom to go about the task in anyway you see fit (something the more scripted sequels lack). It gives you the target and the means to kill it... The rest is up to you. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to a franchise. People often state that AC2 is a better game, but I disagree. The freedom you have in this first title more fun in my opinion. The sequel became too limited and pushy with it's directions. That said, AC Brotherhood successfully combines the elements of the first two games to brilliant effect and IS better than this original title. If you are new to the Assassin's Creed franchise, this first effort will give you a solid experience... And one that's minus the confusion of a story already half told. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That being said, walking, running, climbing in this game is amazing, the game looks great and there is appeal. It's just the gameplay that's lacking.
    It's too much of the same plus the controls are not intuïtive at all. How many times have I jumped off a tall building to die, just because of not being able to master the controls?
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    Graphics and Cities were beautiful were beautiful at the time of the release. The story also succeeds but the gameplay is repetitious and AC suffers from that.
  4. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos andThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is visually stunning and one of the most unique games around, even with the two sequels already launched. But it's repetitive mission structure and lack of replay value do hurt the game a bit. None the less, the good story, fun combat, and unique gameplay make it worth checking out.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to saveThis game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to save what seemed to be the same person from soldiers like over fifty times. And what is up with those flags? I could care less how many I got. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    liked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to doliked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to do so and try again with another copy of this game Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This game was going to be an exclusive for the playstation 3 but ended up going multiplatform and many people said they had glitches in the game but mine was perfect. Amazing 10/10 game.
  9. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Assassins Creed is a game to remember. It can be tedious and overwhelming if you're a completionist but it's well worth it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Not is best feature. The story is kind of confusing and the characters lack charisma but the middle age setting is absolutely great and saves the day.
    PRESENTATION: Beautiful. The middle age setting really shines and the interaction with the
    Assassins Creed is a game to remember. It can be tedious and overwhelming if you're a completionist but it's well worth it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Not is best feature. The story is kind of confusing and the characters lack charisma but the middle age setting is absolutely great and saves the day.
    PRESENTATION: Beautiful. The middle age setting really shines and the interaction with the game's NPC's is great. When climbing a tower and unlocking a viewpoint you can see just how good the game looks.
    GAMEPLAY: Totally satisfying. Assassination has never been so cool until now. You can climb anything with almost no restrictions, you can jump to a bale of hay and come out unharmed and you can fight and finish your foes with great satisfaction.
    PROGRESSION: With the exception of the combat moves is practically unexisting and that's a good thing because it keeps you focused on the setting.
    ONLINE: It has not Online features and that's ok because this is a single experience.
    CONCLUSION: Assassins Creed is a great game that will be the beginning of a great game franchise on the years to come.
    Expand
  10. May 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is good and fun, but repetitive and gets boring fast. And the story is not interesting. Still, It haves a huge beautiful world, fun gameplay and realistic graphics. But I expected for way more thing. (7.3)
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  12. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Very much a game that hasn't aged well at all. The sequels are all far superior and this feels like a tech-demo of what the games would become. The game has massive potential in all areas but falls on its face in most. The free-running is probably the most fun part of the game as it feels realistic and is enjoyable exploring the massive cities and scaling the towers is very cool. HoweverVery much a game that hasn't aged well at all. The sequels are all far superior and this feels like a tech-demo of what the games would become. The game has massive potential in all areas but falls on its face in most. The free-running is probably the most fun part of the game as it feels realistic and is enjoyable exploring the massive cities and scaling the towers is very cool. However the missions are boring and repetitive, the combat is a chore and the best tactic is to simply constantly block the enemy's attacks and late in the game when you are faced with large groups of foes this becomes very frustrating. finally the story goes nowhere, before playing the sequels I thought the Desmond parts of the game were completely unnecessary as they added nothing and simply confused me. Overall I would skip this game if you want to get into the franchise unless you are super interested in it as you wont really miss anything story-wise and certainly not gameplay wise. Expand
  13. May 19, 2013
    7
    My friends kept on talking about how good this game was so I decided to try it out. I was immediately taken in by the story. The crusades has been done before in games but not like this, I was taken in by the Assassin's and Templar's secret agenda and the arifact of Eden was a really good idea, one that ubisoft has made a now mainstream franchise out of, and that's what kept me going withMy friends kept on talking about how good this game was so I decided to try it out. I was immediately taken in by the story. The crusades has been done before in games but not like this, I was taken in by the Assassin's and Templar's secret agenda and the arifact of Eden was a really good idea, one that ubisoft has made a now mainstream franchise out of, and that's what kept me going with this game. The gameplay itself is not up to the same level as the story and mythology is I'm afraid. It starts out really fun being a super agile, parkouring assassin but the game gets to repetitive. Its basically the same thing the whole time, gather info, kill target, new location, repeat. Also my copy was extremely glitchy, The game froze several times causing me to have to start missions over. It was the story that kept me going though and if your interested in the origins of this now huge franchise then its worth a look. Good but could be better (as AC2 proved) Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2014
    5
    Had potential but overall a wholly unsatisfying and frustrating experience. While the free running/parkour can be heaps of fun there is far too much repetition with every other aspect and after just a few hours you're hoping for the experience (and dare I say it, pain) to end. Also contains one of the worst endings in video game history.
  15. May 15, 2014
    9
    A great game with a great plot. While it doesn't have the smoothest way of easing you into the game (aside from tutorials for single attacking/defending techniques the controls are not shown in a intuitive way, with everything thrown at you from the start rather than a few important buttons at a time), and the game-play can be a little repetitive (though once you do figure out all theA great game with a great plot. While it doesn't have the smoothest way of easing you into the game (aside from tutorials for single attacking/defending techniques the controls are not shown in a intuitive way, with everything thrown at you from the start rather than a few important buttons at a time), and the game-play can be a little repetitive (though once you do figure out all the different controls and counter/dodge techniques the repetitiveness can allow you room to improve yourself), AC is one of the most exciting and unique (from a story-point) games ever made. Expand
  16. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed
    Game-play:The game play is good the sword play in combination with it's difficulty make you feel like a warrior. The only problem is that the game play is a bit slow.
    Story:Very good deep story that will hold you about 10 to 12 hours and as you continue the game the story becomes even better and at the end there is a great boss battle Graphics:Graphics are good not much
    Assassin's Creed
    Game-play:The game play is good the sword play in combination with it's difficulty make you feel like a warrior. The only problem is that the game play is a bit slow.
    Story:Very good deep story that will hold you about 10 to 12 hours and as you continue the game the story becomes even better and at the end there is a great boss battle
    Graphics:Graphics are good not much more to say
    Notes:I would appreciate more weapons in the game but the game is a masterpiece that every gamemer must have.
    Expand
  17. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Picked this game up mega cheap. Figured it would be decent. It's fantastic. Atmospheric , beautiful. Throughly enthralling and the start of a series that I feel will keep me hooked. At times the missions were tedious but overall it was very enjoyable.
  18. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This game looks stunning and the best part of it is probably standing on top of one of the high towers of Damascus, Acre or Jerusalem and enjoying the beautiful view. The old narrow roads and crowded markets capture the atmosphere perfectly too. Where the game lacks a bit though is the gameplay. The build up to every assassination, where you have to eavesdrop on people, get information andThis game looks stunning and the best part of it is probably standing on top of one of the high towers of Damascus, Acre or Jerusalem and enjoying the beautiful view. The old narrow roads and crowded markets capture the atmosphere perfectly too. Where the game lacks a bit though is the gameplay. The build up to every assassination, where you have to eavesdrop on people, get information and perform other tasks to help you plan the perfect kill and getaway is fun at first, but it can get very repetitive, since you'll be doing the same thing over and over again. That doesn't mean that the game is boring though, if you take it slowly, as a true assassin, the way it was meant to be played, you will indulge in that slow and stealthy process of acquiring information and studying your target. If you rush through the game on the other hand in an attempt to complete it as fast as possible, you will probably get bored of the very similar and repetitive missions fast. Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a good game, but eventually became a bit repititivo, following a linear mechanical excicivamente despite the open world.
    However still has a great story and gives rise to one of the biggest video game series today.
  20. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    I loved how the game style and all that stuff. A bit present days and medival days. Brilliant idea. But it turns out the storyline is VERY confusing. I had to do sh*t tons of research understand 100% fully the storyline. At first i dont know who is that guy lying on the animus and why does he had to do that. Also, it took me a while to know wat is happening, the objectives are confusing.I loved how the game style and all that stuff. A bit present days and medival days. Brilliant idea. But it turns out the storyline is VERY confusing. I had to do sh*t tons of research understand 100% fully the storyline. At first i dont know who is that guy lying on the animus and why does he had to do that. Also, it took me a while to know wat is happening, the objectives are confusing. After finishing one objective, i cant find ANY OTHER objective in the map. I went to all the viewpoints, save all civilians and all that small objectives. I STILL cant find any objective. But overall, i think this is something very creative and special, like something very rare s gonna happened to video games now. Expand
  21. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    When I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, butWhen I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, but Altair's (The Assassin) voice sounds like an American. This is a great effort by Ubisoft and you should give this one a play. Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Never before has a game managed to make me screaming my voice out one minute, then having a blast the next. Sometimes, it's fun and challenging, others it's tedious and needlessly difficult. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives though, and thus this game, in my opinion, deserves a positive score.
  23. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same asThis game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  24. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Assassin's creed is a really great game to play. Its intricate to say the least and is truly alive. You'll explore three major cities of the Holy Land, each bustling with life and each with their own personality. This is one hell of a beautiful game. Not only are every object so layered but the cities are all to the right color and the shadows all pitch perfect. The soundtrack is even moreAssassin's creed is a really great game to play. Its intricate to say the least and is truly alive. You'll explore three major cities of the Holy Land, each bustling with life and each with their own personality. This is one hell of a beautiful game. Not only are every object so layered but the cities are all to the right color and the shadows all pitch perfect. The soundtrack is even more impressive composing of perfect background noise, great voice acting from supporting cast and an epic score. Also the story adds bulk to all this and glues it all together, leaving all this in a coherent likable whole. All this would be nothing of course if it wasn't for great gameplay and an all-round entertaining experience. Combat also present that perfect balance of not being too hard nor too easy and is a very satisfying experience. But even tough combat is flowing, it is not always the best option and I advise to take most situations slowly. A small blemish to this beautiful world is the unnatural focus of certain parts of gameplay, most citizens say the same thing, saving a citizen goes on the same route for every city, vigilantes are always present at the same place....etc. Also the ending is complete ***** and ruins the whole game but I won't go into that. Also there are a couple of glitches which we can forgive because its so huge. So all in all if you forget the ending and the repetition assassin's creed is a truly great game which sucks you in and would be very difficult to let you go. Expand
  25. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I just have to give this a ten due to the simple fact of how addicting this game can be. When I completed the game I felt I wanted more. That's a sign of a good game.
  26. Mar 22, 2012
    6
    Few times I have been so disappointed when playing a game as I was when playing Assassin's Creed. You can see that there is a lot of potential in the game's formula, but it's repetitive tasks and dull story make playing extremely boring. You climb a tower to reveal the portion of the map you are in, eavesdrop in a conversation, save a citizen from bully guards, steal a letter from someoneFew times I have been so disappointed when playing a game as I was when playing Assassin's Creed. You can see that there is a lot of potential in the game's formula, but it's repetitive tasks and dull story make playing extremely boring. You climb a tower to reveal the portion of the map you are in, eavesdrop in a conversation, save a citizen from bully guards, steal a letter from someone and then assassinate a target. Now you do it again and again. Combat is fun and instinctive, graphics are excellent and the assassination missions are good, but that doesn't make up for the various flaws present in tedious game. Expand
  27. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    This was a good game, very neat idea back in the day and loved the setting and story, The first part of the game is the best, it starts off really strong, beautiful game with great animations and art style with a cinematic presentation but that starts falling off really after the first city.
  28. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    These days Assassin's Creed has become a cultural phenomenon, with toys, books and an upcoming seventh entry. However, it all comes back to the humble first entry. As is expected, the story is imaginative and full of historical characters and events. It follows the life of Altair Ib'n La Ahad, a disgraced assassin who must reclaim his honour by killing nine men in the Holy Land. The storyThese days Assassin's Creed has become a cultural phenomenon, with toys, books and an upcoming seventh entry. However, it all comes back to the humble first entry. As is expected, the story is imaginative and full of historical characters and events. It follows the life of Altair Ib'n La Ahad, a disgraced assassin who must reclaim his honour by killing nine men in the Holy Land. The story is gripping at the start and towards the end, but is a bit too predictable in the middle, much like the gameplay. The unique puppeteering control scheme is effective, the free running mechanics are highly advanced for the time and the combat is slightly tedious, if fun and full of some cool animation work. The game's greatest achievement is it's open world: a technological marvel even in this day and age and a consistently cool place to explore. With numerous collectibles, side missions and challenges, there is no doubt that this game is full of content. The investigation work is key to every one of the assassination sand these play out like small side tasks, but soon get monotonous. The first three assassinations are entertaining and while each kill is unique and entertaining, the work leading up to them isn't. It gets a little old, but this is the game's only fault. The present day sections are simple and evolve upon the story of the assassins and the Templars and they are no where near as faulted as they are today (looking at you Revelations). The story is enjoyable, the graphics are great (for its time), the score and voice work are both marvellous and the controls are excellent. If you're just jumping into the series now, make sure you start with the first to get the best impact- you will not be disappointed! Expand
  29. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Assassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buyAssassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buy Assassin's Creed II and skipping this if you're coming to the series. This first game will appeal to some but only a few who can handle the ridicilous repetitiveness. To others, the game is both frustrating and dull. Expand
  30. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    The start of a renown gaming franchise, the original Assassin's Creed game performs well, introducing a gripping narrative and story-line.

    Not too much should be expected from this early installment, the game-play is good, but could be improved. Several game-play mechanics are iconic, such as viewpoints and the Hidden Blade, a good first impression to layout the future sequels. 7/10 -
    The start of a renown gaming franchise, the original Assassin's Creed game performs well, introducing a gripping narrative and story-line.

    Not too much should be expected from this early installment, the game-play is good, but could be improved. Several game-play mechanics are iconic, such as viewpoints and the Hidden Blade, a good first impression to layout the future sequels.
    7/10 - Ben Hazelden
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?