Assassin's Creed PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 747 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 747
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonM.
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    Balancing the hype vote --- 1) game play was too repetitive 2) sci-fi angle detracted from the game 3) I saw the "twist" coming from a mile away (i.e. the storyline was too predictable) 4) for the record, arguably the most aesthetically pleasing game I've ever played... hopefully AC2 will be more than a pretty face and have more substance.
  2. pasinduS
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. If you must, then rent it. Paying more than 5 bucks for this drivel is a crime. Expand
  3. MasJ.
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    Controls are too cumbersome to feel natural and a corny sci-fi element is tacked on to ruin an otherwise decent adventure game. Over-rated.
  4. JonathanS.
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This game is incredibly overrated, I don't understand why its getting such a high score from professionals, did they get bribed or something? Only thing that holds this game from getting a 1 is the great graphics. Other than that its really dull, all you do is move to target, kill him, kill 10 guards, run, kill more guards, repeat.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I'll balance out the hype with a fat 0/10. Many lament over the repetition of the missions
  6. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which then to recover from the pain of traveling on-top of buildings with the lackluster yawn fest of a control scheme you will cry in a dark corner. Expand
  7. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    Do not drop full price on this game. I bought this game used and after 3 days doing the same thing over and over again a had to trade it in and get some of my money back. The game looks great and plays good but after the same thing you just want to put it up and play something else.
  8. DilbertD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers these days are afraid of trying something new and innovative. Note worth any minute of playing at all.
  9. GeorgeA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    Apart from some pretty graphics, there's really nothing compelling about this game.
  10. WinkyD.
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, is not fun and monotonous. With all the hype that went into this game, for it to be as flawed as it is and to the extent that it is - is mind blowing. The voice acting is horrible, the story is really bad and I absolutely hate that just when you are starting to get into the game and environment they pull you out take you into the "future". The future aspect feels like a cheap and tacked on. Also having blue transparent walls to prevent you from going into areas...complete suckage...bad design. The game also crashed no less than 6 times in 5 hours. I am 5 hours into this pile of poop and am still not having fun and will probably not pick this up again. Jade Raymond - you have sold your sole to make a buck for a third rate game company, maybe the same energy could have gone into making the game fun. Your team completely let you down and made you into a joke, you should be pissed. Ubi you guys suck, 98% of your games are crap, every PSP game you have done blows. I am boycotting Ubi for trying to profit by ripping off gamers. Also the PS3 version of AC is not as good as the Xbox360 version, why? The system is more powerful there is more space on the disk. Did you try or did you just port your code from the 360? Expand
  11. JamesR.
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    Total, utter disappointment. Slow, monotonous, rent before you buy.
  12. DarrenP.
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    A terrible, terrible game - poor A.I, repetitive to the point of boredom & absolutely terrible story (that ruins the structure of the game). The biggest disappointment of 2007 - avoid at all costs.
  13. KayC.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it harder to find a safe spot, they could have allowed more than 1 attack button, they could have made it a bit harder after you kill a leader. So many things stopping this game from being fun. In watching the TV advert you might think the game looks innovative, but it seems like the guys who made it just lack the skills and market research to produce a game that is actually fun. It's not fun riding to different cities on a horse while enemies 'attempt' to catch you. Though the graphics are great I don't really care, graphics don't make up for uncreative gameplay on what looks to have been a creative game. Highly overrated by many people who swayed me to get the game, but I'm disappointed that I have to climb the top of high buildings and look around, rather than doing real stealth type missions, the gameplay doesn't even involve much stealth, you could walk around in a populated city, steal someone's knives and the guards will only suspect you. I'm in no rush to get the sequel Expand
  14. FACTG
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    Another game that is much better on the 360. The PS3 version lacks the visual quality of its counterpart, has ridiculous load times, and a low quality framerate. Ubisoft has just about had it with the PS3. No wonder the next Splinter Cell is 360 exclusive.
  15. hoshokaruni
    Dec 17, 2007
    4
    this game basically started making me mad at the menu screen. Its hard to interact with it. The actual gameplay is a little to straight forward and the only cool thing about this game is the inovative ideas and scenery
  16. Dave
    Jan 24, 2008
    3
    In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest way to get out of a guards line of site, whether it is 1 or 20 of them, is simply to reduce them all to corpses. This also tends to hollow out the actually assassinations themselves, since stealth/evasion is both superfluous and inefficient. I find it shocking that it received such high reviews from so many professsional reviewers -- a clear indication that very few bothered to play the game all the way through before lavishing it with undeserved praise. Expand
  17. Ryencoke
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome they did an excellent job on that. Otherwise, just rent it. Expand
  18. UncleDougB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    This game has serious issues. It's too repetitive. It becomes tiresome after an hour and how the fighting system ever passed play testing is beyond me. Frame rate sucks too. Seriously people, this trash is not worth your time.
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    This game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many thingsThis game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many things wrong with this game. Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same asThis game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  21. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Assassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buyAssassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buy Assassin's Creed II and skipping this if you're coming to the series. This first game will appeal to some but only a few who can handle the ridicilous repetitiveness. To others, the game is both frustrating and dull. Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    Terrible game. no matter people say don't buy this game like if they say ASSASSASSins is the best game evr don't believe. ItS aLl crap its just a piss poor open world version of prince of persia that gets repitive really fast. The only good thing about this is Nolan North but barely let him speak WHY????. Most overrated game franchise since Elder Scrls go play Uncharted. YES?
  23. Aug 3, 2012
    3
    I didn't play this game until a few years after it was released which may have caused me to have a high expectation from it given how much attention the series has received but I didn't like this game at all. I disliked it so much that I had to force myself to finish it so that I would never want to play it again. Assassin's Creed has so much potential and in the beginning showed a lotI didn't play this game until a few years after it was released which may have caused me to have a high expectation from it given how much attention the series has received but I didn't like this game at all. I disliked it so much that I had to force myself to finish it so that I would never want to play it again. Assassin's Creed has so much potential and in the beginning showed a lot of promise. But once you get about an hour into the game you have experienced all there is to it. The story consists of doing the exact same set of missions over and over and they are not even fun quests. The developers clearly put a lot of work into the stealth and movement systems but then put that effort to waste with the horrible use of it in the missions. I also did not like the combat system: any time you had to fight more than one guy (which is most of the time) you spend most of your time waiting for someone to attack you so you can block and counterattack which becomes very tedious... like everything else in the game. There are also numerous incredibly annoying parts in this game from heralds shouting the same speech at every other corner in the cities, how very slowly he climbs walls (he does everything else fast, why so slow here?), how many more sword fights there are than assassinations, and most of all the beggar woman who just won't take no for an answer.

    This does show promise for the rest of the series but I was very disappointed with this one and suggest skipping over it. My favourite moments from the game were stabbing the overly annoying beggar woman, throwing countless guards off the rooftops, and finishing the game so I could put it back in its case never to be played again.
    Expand
  24. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Being a big fan of the series and having played them all, it is still amazing to me how such a poor game, sparked such a successful franchise. If it was not for 2 being so great, and Ezio so hilariously awesome, im afraid this great franchise would have died. In one, you learn very little if not nothing about the story other than who the "bad guys" are, so i often encourage people to justBeing a big fan of the series and having played them all, it is still amazing to me how such a poor game, sparked such a successful franchise. If it was not for 2 being so great, and Ezio so hilariously awesome, im afraid this great franchise would have died. In one, you learn very little if not nothing about the story other than who the "bad guys" are, so i often encourage people to just skip to 2. but story aside the gameplay is so broken and tedious that combat is boring and should be avoided. things that work in the "tutorial" arena sometimes dont work in the actual gameplay. The only combat system that actually works is countering so combat is waiting for the other guy to strike, because attacking doesnt work and often will kill you fast. Having a broken combat system in a game where you often fight 10 or more enemies is very tedious. As well, this game could have been renamed Climbing and Walking Extra Slowly, simulator, as you spend the majority of the game climbing buildings or or not trying to get caught with a broken sneaking system. The game is also super repetitive. No joke, you do the EXACT SAME THING NINE TIMES. Nintey percent of the game, is repeating the mission you just did over and over and over again. There is zero incentive to play accept to see the ending, which lame and made no sence and actually hard to even find because people didnt even know what to do. Save yourself the time and money and just skip to 2. Two is incredibly better just from the start. no more broken combat or stealth systems and you actually feal like the game is different from beginning to end. Expand
  25. Mar 11, 2015
    4
    The first entry of one of the biggest franchises in recent years. How is it? Ughh....

    Pros: For an early PS3/360 game, the visuals are pretty good. The lighting is dynamic and excellent and the game world generally has a decent scope. The Free-flowing controls are fantastic. Assassin's Creed accomplishes everything it set out to do in terms of making you feel like a parkour master
    The first entry of one of the biggest franchises in recent years. How is it? Ughh....

    Pros:
    For an early PS3/360 game, the visuals are pretty good. The lighting is dynamic and excellent and the game world generally has a decent scope.
    The Free-flowing controls are fantastic. Assassin's Creed accomplishes everything it set out to do in terms of making you feel like a parkour master assassin (if that makes any sense)

    Cons:
    The story is a real let down. The story in the future is barely explained to us and leaves you with many questions in regards to the setup. In addition, the story in the past is also very generic. A simple, your power has been taken, earn your rights to get it back story is very boringly told and I never felt like it escalated at any point.
    The gameplay design is awful. Every chapter (Or memory block as the game calls it) is the same. Travel here, jump off some buildings, help some random guy who is in trouble with guards, kill a dude and then you are done! I never felt like there was any variety.
    Even though the graphics are nice, I personally noticed some frame rate drops. Every now and again, I would notice slow down, which really took away from the experience.
    There are NO interesting characters. I didn't care for Altair or anything he wanted to do. To me, he felt like a character with no personality, IN A GAME WHERE THE CHARACTER NEEDS A PERSONALITY!!!!

    Overall, Assassin's Creed is a very ambitious game and succeeds in some areas, but everywhere else, it falls flat on its face.

    4/10
    Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2015
    4
    I got this game with AC Revelations as a special offer. I had previously played AC II and Brotherhood. And I have to say that after those games this game is such a huge setback, that I couldn't even finish this game.

    This game is so repetitive and the story and plot is nothing compared to the other AC games. So since I couldn't even finish the game because it was so boring, I can't give
    I got this game with AC Revelations as a special offer. I had previously played AC II and Brotherhood. And I have to say that after those games this game is such a huge setback, that I couldn't even finish this game.

    This game is so repetitive and the story and plot is nothing compared to the other AC games. So since I couldn't even finish the game because it was so boring, I can't give this one a high rating can I?
    Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2015
    3
    It is so painfully repetitive. Really, just look at it this way: 1) Go to a town/city/etc. 2) Meet with a bureau leader to start a mission. 3) Eavesdrop, pickpocket, assassinate, interrogate, and climb towers. 4) That's it. You are doing the same exact thing every single time, and it's so mindbogglingly boring. Altair's voice actor was also just an ear sore, so on top of tedious gameplayIt is so painfully repetitive. Really, just look at it this way: 1) Go to a town/city/etc. 2) Meet with a bureau leader to start a mission. 3) Eavesdrop, pickpocket, assassinate, interrogate, and climb towers. 4) That's it. You are doing the same exact thing every single time, and it's so mindbogglingly boring. Altair's voice actor was also just an ear sore, so on top of tedious gameplay and a constant regurgitation of missions/tasks, you have this ear gratingly awful voice just yammering away in your ear. I honestly wish I could say good things about the game and say I enjoyed it, but I didn't. The concept is cool and the designs are as well, but that certainly does not pick up for all it lacks. Expand
  28. Oct 4, 2015
    0
    Please don't waste your time with this.Please don't waste your time with this.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    LUCIANA
    And may it be that you have quite forgot
    A husband's office? shall, Antipholus.
    Even in the spring of love, thy love-springs rot?
    Shall love, in building, grow so ruinous?
    If you did wed my sister for her wealth,
    Then for her wealth's sake use her with more kindness:
    Or if you like elsewhere, do it by stealth;
    Muffle your false love with some show of blindness:
    Let not my sister read it in your eye;
    Be not thy tongue thy own shame's orator;
    Look sweet, be fair, become disloyalty;
    Apparel vice like virtue's harbinger;
    Bear a fair presence, though your heart be tainted;
    Teach sin the carriage of a holy saint;
    Be secret-false: what need she be acquainted?
    What simple thief brags of his own attaint?
    'Tis double wrong, to truant with your bed
    And let her read it in thy looks at board:
    Shame hath a bastard fame, well managed;
    Ill d eeds are doubled with an evil word.
    Alas, poor women! make us but believe,
    Being compact of credit, that you love us;
    Though others have the arm, show us the sleeve;
    We in your motion turn and you may move us.
    Then, gentle brother, get you in again;
    Comfort my sister, cheer her, call her wife:
    'Tis holy sport to be a little vain,
    When the sweet breath of flattery conquers strife.
    ANTIPHOLUS
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?