Assassin's Creed PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 812 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 812
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. aspentitan
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on the market. Expand
  2. TheMule
    Mar 5, 2008
    5
    It's half a game. One level of design copy-pasted multiple times. Moronic gameplay, combat, moronic enemy AI, poor story, character developement, and surpisingly non-existent ending deserving of such a scam. One painful example of what "hype" can do (and some major videogame websites paid to write forgiving reviews and give good scores. STAY AWAY.
  3. MadsR.
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    Allthough it is a very visually beautiful game and the controls are great, it lacks in variation and you basically do the same thing over and over until your fed up.
  4. Anonymous
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Besides the jumbled up storyline its open world environment was breathtaking and gameplay is respectable going around jumping and climbing using some of ubisofts great prince of persia mechanics but there is still more room for the future sequel and prequel we will hopefully see.
  5. BobW.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    A mavelous game. Beautiful, huge settings, and an excellent story line.
  6. SteamZ.
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Great Game, would be better if I can skip through sence.
  7. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time period and fantastic until its all over. I'm a lover of story based games, and ive tried to replay this one a few times but just end up in random sword fighting duels to try and keep interested. First time around though, i loved it, kept me interested enough to want to finish it off.....but at the end of the day i wanted more and once its over...its over. Just needed to have a few more options and perhaps an extra mode of play or two ie: dueling mode etc just to keep those of us who enjoyed this overall going. Polished, solid and entertaining but as said b4 when its over its over. Expand
  8. JonM.
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    Balancing the hype vote --- 1) game play was too repetitive 2) sci-fi angle detracted from the game 3) I saw the "twist" coming from a mile away (i.e. the storyline was too predictable) 4) for the record, arguably the most aesthetically pleasing game I've ever played... hopefully AC2 will be more than a pretty face and have more substance.
  9. PinCushion
    Aug 10, 2008
    5
    Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have crashed the game 7 times...it just locks up when i am running, in mid air, on a horse....walking.....totally sucks. the only reason it got a 5 is for the main character model, although poor looking in some instances, the attempt at fighting and the ability to put together a city like that....to me though this is typical ubisoft, maybe one nice thing amidst a crap load of crappity crap things.....but hey they did polish a t**d...and that's what this game is, hopefully next one will be better, i will wait way way down the line to see how the reviews pan out before buying again though. Expand
  10. pasinduS
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. If you must, then rent it. Paying more than 5 bucks for this drivel is a crime. Expand
  11. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Another great game to come out from '07, engaging story and a graphical marvel. The game play may be repetitive but this is truly a sandbox game.
  12. DavidH.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game with great story, immersive and varied combat, gourgerous graphics, if a little repetative.
  13. MarkP.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. These negative reviews on here don't do it justice. May be repetitive but the graphics and movement options are awesome. Climb, ride, jump, I am addicted. This game rocks!!
  14. PeterV.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is solid and the story is engaging and interesting. There is a myriad of ways to tackle each mission making for a decent replay factor. The only hang up is that the game ocassionaly locks up. other than that its a great game and i can't wait for the second installment
  15. StevenC.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Environments are huge, game play is fun though previous comments about the repetitiveness is justified. I found the graphics to be quite good. Solid game overall.
  16. JamieS.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Well I chose the former for every assassination and maybe that is why you didnt enjoy the game... you are an assassin, not the terminator. Come in from the roof, kill your target and leave with out being seen... brilliant. Expand
  17. SamR.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    It is an incredibly realistic game. The climbing is brilliant and it is great to just run across the roof tops. The fighting is very well done especially the counter attacks
  18. MasJ.
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    Controls are too cumbersome to feel natural and a corny sci-fi element is tacked on to ruin an otherwise decent adventure game. Over-rated.
  19. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    6
    It's Next-Gen on some levels, but this is still a very one-dimensional experience that always gives you the urdge to go and do something else. A real disappointment.
  20. JonathanS.
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This game is incredibly overrated, I don't understand why its getting such a high score from professionals, did they get bribed or something? Only thing that holds this game from getting a 1 is the great graphics. Other than that its really dull, all you do is move to target, kill him, kill 10 guards, run, kill more guards, repeat.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I'll balance out the hype with a fat 0/10. Many lament over the repetition of the missions
  22. LeonL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    I'm kind of disappointed of the game. Graphic is excellent but it is the same throughout the game. I just walk through the cities and perform the same mission over and over again. There isn't much action happening and I'm getting bored after the 3rd memory. There is no subtitle of the video chip (unlike Uncharted, and Ratchet and Clank).
  23. BryanS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Unique story, great animations, and fun gameplay = Great game! Missions can get repetitive, but it doesn't make the game suffer that much, since you aren't forced to complete all of them if you choose not to.
  24. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which then to recover from the pain of traveling on-top of buildings with the lackluster yawn fest of a control scheme you will cry in a dark corner. Expand
  25. Jared
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. It would be intense. Expand
  26. Stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    Good gameplay, great controls. Gets a little repetitive. Skimming the roof tops while evading guards after a hit is when the game shines.
  27. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    Do not drop full price on this game. I bought this game used and after 3 days doing the same thing over and over again a had to trade it in and get some of my money back. The game looks great and plays good but after the same thing you just want to put it up and play something else.
  28. BobtheBuilder
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Not much you could really ask for, the game is repetitive but hey, why complain when your repeating brilliance. graphics are awesome and the fighting scenes are also amazing - a must have for fans of prince of Persia and ps3 owners alike.
  29. BoffoJ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so anti climactic that I was pissed off that I spent all that time to get there. There should never be a.... to be continued at the end of a game. It should be a complete package. The dual story line was ridiculous and the ending atrocious. All that said it was still fun to play. Let's hope they work out the kinks for the inevitable number 2. Expand
  30. ChadH
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this repetitiveness. I'd suggest renting it and spending at least 20 hours playing it before making the call to spend 60 bucks on it. Not to mention you could easily beat the game before your rental ends, and I doubt you'll see any replay value in this game. Maybe in a couple years or when number 2 comes out you'll pick it up again. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?