User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 639 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 639

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    liked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to doliked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to do so and try again with another copy of this game Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same asThis game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    What a Tremendous game! From the high flying acrobats to the Medieval charm this is one hell of a game! This Franchise has caught my eye and I am hooked! All I can say is wow, what a way to start of a series with a bang!
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    ASSASSIN'S CREED simply take you in the history. I liked the game play because one can feel himself as part of history and I really like the way how they portrait ancient civilization. Best Game if you love history and video games both :)
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    absolutely great game, no doubts. i pity the poor haters among us...
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running)Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running) to videogames, and being able to interact with the environment. Combat, a bit frustrating for those who don't have agility with the controls. The idea of the animus, and struggle of Templars and Assassins for thousands of years. The hidden blade. The transformation of the main character, Altaïr. The mysterious atmosphere. Well constructed story. Massive cities, and the fluid, realistic people. Very nice graphics for the moment. Soundtrack. Bad Points: Very long cinematics, can get the player very, very, bored. The limited inventory. Not being able to enter the city with the horse. Present day was boring, you had to walk and go to sleep, to then get back to the animus. Getting chased by guards, for only touching them. Final Score: Assassin's Creed is a fun game, with a lot of nice ideas, but ideas that were not fully completed. It posses a story and background story very interesting, and the gameplay was nice but it could be really frustrating at times. Average Score: 8.2 Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    This game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many thingsThis game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many things wrong with this game. Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    Assassin's creed opened me up to a large game world that allowed me to explore both the main stoyline, and individual side quests. The fighting is also slick, and the tools of the trade add to a unique playing experience However, the main downfall to this game for me was that over a set amount of time, the game started to become rather repetitive and I started to lose interest. TheAssassin's creed opened me up to a large game world that allowed me to explore both the main stoyline, and individual side quests. The fighting is also slick, and the tools of the trade add to a unique playing experience However, the main downfall to this game for me was that over a set amount of time, the game started to become rather repetitive and I started to lose interest. The intersecting times when you are outside the Animus were, for me some of the most boring parts of the game. The story is carried on through you playing the game through the character's memories, not a doctor complaining all the time about the use of the machine, you as a player and et cetera. Even though there are times in which the game can get boring/repetitive, the flowing open world, and the fighting and overall storyline make this a decent game to play. 7/10 Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    I don't hate this game; the gameplay itself is awesome which does hold up the game well, but everything else just seems boring. The presentation is stupid, specifically cutscenes and those weird computer glitches that are supposed to be part of the simulation. Altair doesn't have any real character behind him beyond a white hood and a wrist blade. The biggest crime has to be the extremelyI don't hate this game; the gameplay itself is awesome which does hold up the game well, but everything else just seems boring. The presentation is stupid, specifically cutscenes and those weird computer glitches that are supposed to be part of the simulation. Altair doesn't have any real character behind him beyond a white hood and a wrist blade. The biggest crime has to be the extremely repetitive nature of the game, it just doesn't give a good feeling of progress as you continue the story. My theory is that this game was just the beginning of a risky new IP that turned out to be a major success, which Assassin's Creed II reflects. I won't deny this game of being good, I'm just saying that it really hasn't aged well, but that aging was caused by the sequels of the game being so much better. Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    PS3 - This game has stunning graphics, has a very creative and original storyline. Game progression unlocks special moves, weapons and abilities. however After playing the game for 6 hours, i find it becomes repetitive, even though it was challenging enough. Could have used a more dynamic storyline, and that is the reason it got a 7/10.
  11. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    Inspired, but lacking in execution. What the game proposes is spectacular, with the massive free roam levels and the use of 'extras' and the environment in game play. The La Parkour elements are great and are pulled off smoothly. However, the missions are repetitive and get boring after a while, to the point where I was doing them because I had to, not wanted to. Visuals are stunningInspired, but lacking in execution. What the game proposes is spectacular, with the massive free roam levels and the use of 'extras' and the environment in game play. The La Parkour elements are great and are pulled off smoothly. However, the missions are repetitive and get boring after a while, to the point where I was doing them because I had to, not wanted to. Visuals are stunning though. Probably best to just get number 2 from the looks of it. Expand
  12. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Picked this game up mega cheap. Figured it would be decent. It's fantastic. Atmospheric , beautiful. Throughly enthralling and the start of a series that I feel will keep me hooked. At times the missions were tedious but overall it was very enjoyable.
  13. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time period and science fiction realy unballances the setting and feeling of the game especialy with the poorly made story that could have been better if it was not for the science fiction. The gameplay is nothing new, i found my self button mashing most of the time, and found it ridiculous that the gaurds were able to chase me in their full body armor scaling buildings. Plus some pointless gameplay such as spying on conversations with no real purpose in the game, and the fact on how simple it is to hide from your persuers. I also felt that the boss fights were made to simple, you could either waste your time in a sword fight or just jump on them with your concealed blade.
    Assassins creed brings good enviroment to the table but it also brings too much repeat feeling gameplay and pointless tasks of searching for far too many flags just to get a special weapon such as the crossbow.
    It could have been better.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    the combats a bit rubbish and after a while it gets really repetative. however, if your a fan of the series, you still need to buy it, as its still the same throat stabbing stabbiness that we love.
  15. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totallyAssassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totally succeeds in taking you to a foreign world and supplying adventure. The climbing system in this game is wonderful and scaling the many towers to sync your view is a fun, relaxing task. The assassinations themselves give you complete freedom to go about the task in anyway you see fit (something the more scripted sequels lack). It gives you the target and the means to kill it... The rest is up to you. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to a franchise. People often state that AC2 is a better game, but I disagree. The freedom you have in this first title more fun in my opinion. The sequel became too limited and pushy with it's directions. That said, AC Brotherhood successfully combines the elements of the first two games to brilliant effect and IS better than this original title. If you are new to the Assassin's Creed franchise, this first effort will give you a solid experience... And one that's minus the confusion of a story already half told. Expand
  16. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is visually stunning and one of the most unique games around, even with the two sequels already launched. But it's repetitive mission structure and lack of replay value do hurt the game a bit. None the less, the good story, fun combat, and unique gameplay make it worth checking out.
  17. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    When I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, butWhen I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, but Altair's (The Assassin) voice sounds like an American. This is a great effort by Ubisoft and you should give this one a play. Expand
  18. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As you start playing this game you will be amazed by the wonderful graphic and the maniac attention to details of the cities environment. Cities are full of people walking around, talking, buying things from merchants and so on. Really... amazing. The story itself is well written, with rich characters and a really original plot. But, after a bunch of hours... you'll start to get bored by doing always the same things. It's like you always repeat the same mission: climb to find places, kill the target, flee from guards. With almost no chance to develop an original strategy for your next kill. So.. i'll give it a 5, you will eventually get to the end hoping it will change something but no, always the same... Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to saveThis game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to save what seemed to be the same person from soldiers like over fifty times. And what is up with those flags? I could care less how many I got. Expand
  20. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Never before has a game managed to make me screaming my voice out one minute, then having a blast the next. Sometimes, it's fun and challenging, others it's tedious and needlessly difficult. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives though, and thus this game, in my opinion, deserves a positive score.
  21. May 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robeThis is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robe flow in the wind, and the robes flow in different directions depending on you characters placement. The combat is the hardest in the series, so avoid big groups, but don't let that stop you from being bad ass. Expand
  22. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    I give the game a strong 7/10. It gives you an awesome feeling when you roam old cities, climbing up buildings, running and jumping across the rooftops. The story and voice acting is good but the player character felt out of place sometimes. I love the combat animations. Even though the graphics are good, it is a bit colorless. To progress in the game you have to complete the same set ofI give the game a strong 7/10. It gives you an awesome feeling when you roam old cities, climbing up buildings, running and jumping across the rooftops. The story and voice acting is good but the player character felt out of place sometimes. I love the combat animations. Even though the graphics are good, it is a bit colorless. To progress in the game you have to complete the same set of different tasks which makes it repetitive. If this title would have had unique and varied missions through out the whole game (like i. e. GTA) it could have scored a 9/10 in my book. Anyways it is a cool game. Expand
  23. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    Graphics and Cities were beautiful were beautiful at the time of the release. The story also succeeds but the gameplay is repetitious and AC suffers from that.
  24. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    While fairly tedious and repetitive, Assassin's Creed is wildly imaginative in scope and story, and at the time of its release, exceptionally well presented and original. Though each assassination it not much different than the last, it's still satisfying to reach your mark and put your blade through his neck. I just finished this game and while I wanted to go through and do all of theWhile fairly tedious and repetitive, Assassin's Creed is wildly imaginative in scope and story, and at the time of its release, exceptionally well presented and original. Though each assassination it not much different than the last, it's still satisfying to reach your mark and put your blade through his neck. I just finished this game and while I wanted to go through and do all of the mini objectives (the vantage points, flags, civilian savings, etc.) they don't ever differ much and are therefore far too 'grind-y' to go through. This game certainly leaves on eager to pick up the next installments immediately. Expand
  25. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Assassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buyAssassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buy Assassin's Creed II and skipping this if you're coming to the series. This first game will appeal to some but only a few who can handle the ridicilous repetitiveness. To others, the game is both frustrating and dull. Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That being said, walking, running, climbing in this game is amazing, the game looks great and there is appeal. It's just the gameplay that's lacking.
    It's too much of the same plus the controls are not intuïtive at all. How many times have I jumped off a tall building to die, just because of not being able to master the controls?
    Expand
  27. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Great graphics and story, although gameplay gets quite repetitive after a while.
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    The graphics, fighting, and story are all good but it can get a bit repetitive. The map is really well made and there always seems to be something to do but sometimes you end up doing alot of the same thing over and over again.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    En realidad un buen juego, excelente historia lo malo es que las misiones son repetitivas, una tras otra... Al principio ni las sientes pero a la mita del juego cuando ya has realizado lo mismo una y otra vez se vuelve pesado seguir....
  30. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    When viewed retrospectively, there is no doubt that the Assassin's Creed series has come an extremely long way. Since we were first introduced to Desmond Miles and the Animus back in 2007, the gaming world has been treated to three (soon to be four) glorious titles- not including spinoffs- that pushed the power of their consoles to new heights in terms of visuals and gameplay. The story ofWhen viewed retrospectively, there is no doubt that the Assassin's Creed series has come an extremely long way. Since we were first introduced to Desmond Miles and the Animus back in 2007, the gaming world has been treated to three (soon to be four) glorious titles- not including spinoffs- that pushed the power of their consoles to new heights in terms of visuals and gameplay. The story of master assassin Altair Ibn-La' Ahad is the first of these games. Set in the Holy Land of the 12th century during the Third Crusade, the first Assassin's Creed title tells of the bitter conflict between two rival factions- the Brotherhood of Assassins led by Rashid ad-Din Sinan (referred to as "Al-Mualim") and the Templar Order led by Robert de Sablà Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?