User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 592

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robe flow in the wind, and the robes flow in different directions depending on you characters placement. The combat is the hardest in the series, so avoid big groups, but don't let that stop you from being bad ass. Collapse
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    ASSASSIN'S CREED simply take you in the history. I liked the game play because one can feel himself as part of history and I really like the way how they portrait ancient civilization. Best Game if you love history and video games both :)
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Just a perfectly made game with great detail and obvious effort put into the main elements of the game: runnung and fighting. The story is one of my favourites and signals for more assassin games to come
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    absolutely great game, no doubts. i pity the poor haters among us...
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This game was going to be an exclusive for the playstation 3 but ended up going multiplatform and many people said they had glitches in the game but mine was perfect. Amazing 10/10 game.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I just have to give this a ten due to the simple fact of how addicting this game can be. When I completed the game I felt I wanted more. That's a sign of a good game.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Assassin's creed is a really great game to play. Its intricate to say the least and is truly alive. You'll explore three major cities of the Holy Land, each bustling with life and each with their own personality. This is one hell of a beautiful game. Not only are every object so layered but the cities are all to the right color and the shadows all pitch perfect. The soundtrack is even more impressive composing of perfect background noise, great voice acting from supporting cast and an epic score. Also the story adds bulk to all this and glues it all together, leaving all this in a coherent likable whole. All this would be nothing of course if it wasn't for great gameplay and an all-round entertaining experience. Combat also present that perfect balance of not being too hard nor too easy and is a very satisfying experience. But even tough combat is flowing, it is not always the best option and I advise to take most situations slowly. A small blemish to this beautiful world is the unnatural focus of certain parts of gameplay, most citizens say the same thing, saving a citizen goes on the same route for every city, vigilantes are always present at the same place....etc. Also the ending is complete ***** and ruins the whole game but I won't go into that. Also there are a couple of glitches which we can forgive because its so huge. So all in all if you forget the ending and the repetition assassin's creed is a truly great game which sucks you in and would be very difficult to let you go. Expand
  8. May 15, 2014
    9
    A great game with a great plot. While it doesn't have the smoothest way of easing you into the game (aside from tutorials for single attacking/defending techniques the controls are not shown in a intuitive way, with everything thrown at you from the start rather than a few important buttons at a time), and the game-play can be a little repetitive (though once you do figure out all the different controls and counter/dodge techniques the repetitiveness can allow you room to improve yourself), AC is one of the most exciting and unique (from a story-point) games ever made. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    The repetition is necessary in engaging the player in what it is like to be an assassin with multiple targets. Altair is a wonderfully mysterious character that embarks on a mission of ridding the world of the corrupt. The story is solid, the characters are welcoming and the action is amazing. Highly recommend.
  10. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    What a Tremendous game! From the high flying acrobats to the Medieval charm this is one hell of a game! This Franchise has caught my eye and I am hooked! All I can say is wow, what a way to start of a series with a bang!
  11. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    These days Assassin's Creed has become a cultural phenomenon, with toys, books and an upcoming seventh entry. However, it all comes back to the humble first entry. As is expected, the story is imaginative and full of historical characters and events. It follows the life of Altair Ib'n La Ahad, a disgraced assassin who must reclaim his honour by killing nine men in the Holy Land. The story is gripping at the start and towards the end, but is a bit too predictable in the middle, much like the gameplay. The unique puppeteering control scheme is effective, the free running mechanics are highly advanced for the time and the combat is slightly tedious, if fun and full of some cool animation work. The game's greatest achievement is it's open world: a technological marvel even in this day and age and a consistently cool place to explore. With numerous collectibles, side missions and challenges, there is no doubt that this game is full of content. The investigation work is key to every one of the assassination sand these play out like small side tasks, but soon get monotonous. The first three assassinations are entertaining and while each kill is unique and entertaining, the work leading up to them isn't. It gets a little old, but this is the game's only fault. The present day sections are simple and evolve upon the story of the assassins and the Templars and they are no where near as faulted as they are today (looking at you Revelations). The story is enjoyable, the graphics are great (for its time), the score and voice work are both marvellous and the controls are excellent. If you're just jumping into the series now, make sure you start with the first to get the best impact- you will not be disappointed! Expand
  12. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Picked this game up mega cheap. Figured it would be decent. It's fantastic. Atmospheric , beautiful. Throughly enthralling and the start of a series that I feel will keep me hooked. At times the missions were tedious but overall it was very enjoyable.
  13. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    the combats a bit rubbish and after a while it gets really repetative. however, if your a fan of the series, you still need to buy it, as its still the same throat stabbing stabbiness that we love.
  14. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is visually stunning and one of the most unique games around, even with the two sequels already launched. But it's repetitive mission structure and lack of replay value do hurt the game a bit. None the less, the good story, fun combat, and unique gameplay make it worth checking out.
  15. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    When I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, but Altair's (The Assassin) voice sounds like an American. This is a great effort by Ubisoft and you should give this one a play. Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    While fairly tedious and repetitive, Assassin's Creed is wildly imaginative in scope and story, and at the time of its release, exceptionally well presented and original. Though each assassination it not much different than the last, it's still satisfying to reach your mark and put your blade through his neck. I just finished this game and while I wanted to go through and do all of the mini objectives (the vantage points, flags, civilian savings, etc.) they don't ever differ much and are therefore far too 'grind-y' to go through. This game certainly leaves on eager to pick up the next installments immediately. Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Great graphics and story, although gameplay gets quite repetitive after a while.
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    The graphics, fighting, and story are all good but it can get a bit repetitive. The map is really well made and there always seems to be something to do but sometimes you end up doing alot of the same thing over and over again.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    En realidad un buen juego, excelente historia lo malo es que las misiones son repetitivas, una tras otra... Al principio ni las sientes pero a la mita del juego cuando ya has realizado lo mismo una y otra vez se vuelve pesado seguir....
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    When viewed retrospectively, there is no doubt that the Assassin's Creed series has come an extremely long way. Since we were first introduced to Desmond Miles and the Animus back in 2007, the gaming world has been treated to three (soon to be four) glorious titles- not including spinoffs- that pushed the power of their consoles to new heights in terms of visuals and gameplay. The story of master assassin Altair Ibn-La' Ahad is the first of these games. Set in the Holy Land of the 12th century during the Third Crusade, the first Assassin's Creed title tells of the bitter conflict between two rival factions- the Brotherhood of Assassins led by Rashid ad-Din Sinan (referred to as "Al-Mualim") and the Templar Order led by Robert de Sablà Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    Though it may be repetitive but I still find myself enjoying this game very much. There is a sense of quality from the sway of Atair's robes in the wind as he stands still to the way soldier's twist and turn on the ground, half dead after a brutal attack from Altair's sword. This is consider my second Assassin's creed game I played after the second and although the second had more variety in it's game play, I felt this game just had more realism. Visually, the game makes sense to me; Altair dress appropriately for the time and therefore seems more believable than Ezio who sticks out like a sore thumb in a crowd of NPCs. I wish the developers took this game and improve it more with a second installment instead of improving the gameplay but took a back seat in terms of realism with Assassin's Creed II. Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    One of the most original concepts ever in the history of gaming. A historical adventure set in the crusader-era holy land with our main hero a member of one of the most notorious and maligned orders ever. A combonation of stealth, problem solving, combat, and treasure hunting - all while roaming the streets of ancient Jerusalem and Acre, among others - how cool is that?

    The graphics
    and animations are top-notch and the gameplay is logical and addicting. Couple that with detalied research and compelling storytelling and you have the makings of a series with an almost endless supply of stories.

    Though the gameplay can get a little repetitive near the end of the adventure, and some of the treasures are really tough to find, this is a game for even the casual gamer's collection.
    Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Assassins Creed is a game to remember. It can be tedious and overwhelming if you're a completionist but it's well worth it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Not is best feature. The story is kind of confusing and the characters lack charisma but the middle age setting is absolutely great and saves the day.
    PRESENTATION: Beautiful. The middle age setting really shines and the interaction with the
    game's NPC's is great. When climbing a tower and unlocking a viewpoint you can see just how good the game looks.
    GAMEPLAY: Totally satisfying. Assassination has never been so cool until now. You can climb anything with almost no restrictions, you can jump to a bale of hay and come out unharmed and you can fight and finish your foes with great satisfaction.
    PROGRESSION: With the exception of the combat moves is practically unexisting and that's a good thing because it keeps you focused on the setting.
    ONLINE: It has not Online features and that's ok because this is a single experience.
    CONCLUSION: Assassins Creed is a great game that will be the beginning of a great game franchise on the years to come.
    Expand
  25. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running) to videogames, and being able to interact with the environment. Combat, a bit frustrating for those who don't have agility with the controls. The idea of the animus, and struggle of Templars and Assassins for thousands of years. The hidden blade. The transformation of the main character, Altaïr. The mysterious atmosphere. Well constructed story. Massive cities, and the fluid, realistic people. Very nice graphics for the moment. Soundtrack. Bad Points: Very long cinematics, can get the player very, very, bored. The limited inventory. Not being able to enter the city with the horse. Present day was boring, you had to walk and go to sleep, to then get back to the animus. Getting chased by guards, for only touching them. Final Score: Assassin's Creed is a fun game, with a lot of nice ideas, but ideas that were not fully completed. It posses a story and background story very interesting, and the gameplay was nice but it could be really frustrating at times. Average Score: 8.2 Expand
  26. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    7.5 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    It's an interesting experiment and an excellent idea, but it could've been done better. With a confusing story and repetitive missions, it can certainly pull away from the experience at times. But on the other hand, the story (although confusing on the details) kept me interested and the gameplay was over-all fun and exciting, not to mention that the
    variety in things to do in this open world can keep you coming back for more long after you've finished the game. Expand
  27. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    This series is one of my favorites, this game however is not. While it was ambitious it still had flaws. The protagonist voice acting is generic and basic, a confusing story at first but a required confusion for the rest of the series. My main complaint was mission recycling. On every new sequence of the game it was the same missions from the previous level. After a good start it got boring quickly. However, good graphics, action, stealth mechanics, and parkour elements make the game unique and its worth at least a play through. Simplicity and repetition keeps this game from being a must play in my opinion. Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This game looks stunning and the best part of it is probably standing on top of one of the high towers of Damascus, Acre or Jerusalem and enjoying the beautiful view. The old narrow roads and crowded markets capture the atmosphere perfectly too. Where the game lacks a bit though is the gameplay. The build up to every assassination, where you have to eavesdrop on people, get information and perform other tasks to help you plan the perfect kill and getaway is fun at first, but it can get very repetitive, since you'll be doing the same thing over and over again. That doesn't mean that the game is boring though, if you take it slowly, as a true assassin, the way it was meant to be played, you will indulge in that slow and stealthy process of acquiring information and studying your target. If you rush through the game on the other hand in an attempt to complete it as fast as possible, you will probably get bored of the very similar and repetitive missions fast. Expand
  29. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    Assassin's creed opened me up to a large game world that allowed me to explore both the main stoyline, and individual side quests. The fighting is also slick, and the tools of the trade add to a unique playing experience However, the main downfall to this game for me was that over a set amount of time, the game started to become rather repetitive and I started to lose interest. The intersecting times when you are outside the Animus were, for me some of the most boring parts of the game. The story is carried on through you playing the game through the character's memories, not a doctor complaining all the time about the use of the machine, you as a player and et cetera. Even though there are times in which the game can get boring/repetitive, the flowing open world, and the fighting and overall storyline make this a decent game to play. 7/10 Expand
  30. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    I don't hate this game; the gameplay itself is awesome which does hold up the game well, but everything else just seems boring. The presentation is stupid, specifically cutscenes and those weird computer glitches that are supposed to be part of the simulation. Altair doesn't have any real character behind him beyond a white hood and a wrist blade. The biggest crime has to be the extremely repetitive nature of the game, it just doesn't give a good feeling of progress as you continue the story. My theory is that this game was just the beginning of a risky new IP that turned out to be a major success, which Assassin's Creed II reflects. I won't deny this game of being good, I'm just saying that it really hasn't aged well, but that aging was caused by the sequels of the game being so much better. Expand
  31. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    PS3 - This game has stunning graphics, has a very creative and original storyline. Game progression unlocks special moves, weapons and abilities. however After playing the game for 6 hours, i find it becomes repetitive, even though it was challenging enough. Could have used a more dynamic storyline, and that is the reason it got a 7/10.
  32. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    Inspired, but lacking in execution. What the game proposes is spectacular, with the massive free roam levels and the use of 'extras' and the environment in game play. The La Parkour elements are great and are pulled off smoothly. However, the missions are repetitive and get boring after a while, to the point where I was doing them because I had to, not wanted to. Visuals are stunning though. Probably best to just get number 2 from the looks of it. Expand
  33. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totally succeeds in taking you to a foreign world and supplying adventure. The climbing system in this game is wonderful and scaling the many towers to sync your view is a fun, relaxing task. The assassinations themselves give you complete freedom to go about the task in anyway you see fit (something the more scripted sequels lack). It gives you the target and the means to kill it... The rest is up to you. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to a franchise. People often state that AC2 is a better game, but I disagree. The freedom you have in this first title more fun in my opinion. The sequel became too limited and pushy with it's directions. That said, AC Brotherhood successfully combines the elements of the first two games to brilliant effect and IS better than this original title. If you are new to the Assassin's Creed franchise, this first effort will give you a solid experience... And one that's minus the confusion of a story already half told. Expand
  34. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    liked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to do so and try again with another copy of this game Expand
  35. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Never before has a game managed to make me screaming my voice out one minute, then having a blast the next. Sometimes, it's fun and challenging, others it's tedious and needlessly difficult. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives though, and thus this game, in my opinion, deserves a positive score.
  36. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    I give the game a strong 7/10. It gives you an awesome feeling when you roam old cities, climbing up buildings, running and jumping across the rooftops. The story and voice acting is good but the player character felt out of place sometimes. I love the combat animations. Even though the graphics are good, it is a bit colorless. To progress in the game you have to complete the same set of different tasks which makes it repetitive. If this title would have had unique and varied missions through out the whole game (like i. e. GTA) it could have scored a 9/10 in my book. Anyways it is a cool game. Expand
  37. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    I'm a fan of ac series but this one was very boring, I liked the story, but they spoke too much, and the gameplay was frustrating. Though it was the first one, so i must forgive many mistakes.
  38. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    This was a good game, very neat idea back in the day and loved the setting and story, The first part of the game is the best, it starts off really strong, beautiful game with great animations and art style with a cinematic presentation but that starts falling off really after the first city.
  39. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a good game, but eventually became a bit repititivo, following a linear mechanical excicivamente despite the open world.
    However still has a great story and gives rise to one of the biggest video game series today.
  40. May 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is good and fun, but repetitive and gets boring fast. And the story is not interesting. Still, It haves a huge beautiful world, fun gameplay and realistic graphics. But I expected for way more thing. (7.3)
  41. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed is an enriching, immersive and satisfying game in regards to its atmosphere and gameplay, save a few glitches and flaws. Yet, its conventional and simplistic ending virtually strips the game of the philosophical credibility that it had attempted to establish beforehand. In addition, the many goals in this game grow incredibly repetitious as the player progresses through the game's narrative. Regardless of this, Assassin's Creed perfects its open-world atmosphere through its detailed and complex depiction of the crusades. In addition, it poses many fascinating philosophical and moral questions that resist easy answers, even if Altair's strong, and arguably simplistic, adherence to the creed does undermine the player's ability to challenge themselves on an intellectual level. It's the moral absolutism of Altair that the game attempts to eschew. Occasionally, some of the dialogue is stilted and the delivery isn't quite credible as one would hope, yet its ambition and scope seem to transcend its flaws. Assassin's Creed isn't an infallible game by any means, but it certainly isn't a mediocre cash cow. Expand
  42. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed for PlayStation 3. The beginning of an amazing franchise that would start a legacy. The story revolves around Desmond Miles who holds important memories of his ancestors that are very important to today. He is held against his will against the government to have his ancestors memories read by a device called an "animus". Although it's very doubtful that DNA can hold ancestor's memories. But you don't play as Desmond Miles, you play as his ancestor "Altair"in the Crusades. The goal in the game is too kill powerful people who were real life people during the Crusades. Now, the game is historically inaccurate obviously, some of the people in the game are real, but Altair wasn't real and never assassinated these people. Altair was a top assassin, but he broke a tenet and was demoted and had all his weapons taken away and he has to start from scratch. As you progress you get your weapons back and explore new areas in the game. The world is pretty big and well detailed. You can explore four cities: Masyaf, Jerusalem, Acre, and Damascus. The cities are incredibly big and very accurate to the cities in real life. The game looks fantastic. Even the crowd looks very realistic because there's dozens of people in the same area, and the game runs perfectly smooth. Why couldn't they do this in Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim? Anyway you got to kill powerful people throughout these three cities to learn about the piece of Eden. The U.S. government in the present time is looking for the piece of Eden which is actually the Apple of Eden which is actually an orb with a lot of power. Yes, this fictional religious artifact is the main part of the story. An item that never existed. How original, it's like the Ark of Covenant or the Holy Grail in the Indiana Jones movies. That's not the worst part, you won't even believe me why the U.S. government is looking for the Apple of Eden. You sure you want to know? Okay, they are trying to prevent the 2012 Apocalypse on December 21. Another infamous hoax that is a conspiracy theorists fetish. I can't believe they add this in a historic video game. If you are going to make a historic video game. Make it sound realistic and not base it off fictional religious items (all religion is fiction) and end of the world conspiracies. Apart from the bad storyline, the game is very good in terms of gameplay, you got a bunch of weapons like throwing knives, the hidden blade and the signature sword. To discuss the characters, Altair sucks and Desmond would of been better if he tried to fight off the government and escape, but he's like no, I'll do whatever the **** they want. But to continue on with the gameplay, sneaking up to people and stabbing them with your hidden blade is very fun. Climbing up buildings is extremely fun. Although the controls could be a little better. My biggest compliant about this game is the ending and it doesn't revolve around the story. When you beat the game, you don't continue where you left off, you got to start the missions all over again and it's ****ing retarded you can't skip the cutscenes. Another stupid thing about this game is that you can only make one save file. What were they thinking? Even old games like "Super Metroid" on Super Nintendo you could make three save files, but Assassin's Creed which is a High Defintion video game on the PlayStation got its ass kicked by the 16 bit Super Nintendo. Although this game has flaws, it's one you might want to check out.

    FINAL RATING: 7 OUT OF 10
    Expand
  43. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    The series known as Assassin's Creed started here. Despite the strong points of the game, such as it's graphics and fun gameplay and combat, the game and gameplay in general is brought down by repetitiveness after playing for the first few hours.

    You are forced through different cities where you have to complete the same tasks in each city with character and some dialogue changes being
    the only difference. This can make it frustrating to play after awhile.

    If you can look over this, Assassin's Creed can be very fun to play.

    I give this game a 7, I would rate it quite a bit higher if the linear, repetitive gameplay didn't exist.
    Expand
  44. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    blablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablabla Expand
  45. May 19, 2013
    7
    My friends kept on talking about how good this game was so I decided to try it out. I was immediately taken in by the story. The crusades has been done before in games but not like this, I was taken in by the Assassin's and Templar's secret agenda and the arifact of Eden was a really good idea, one that ubisoft has made a now mainstream franchise out of, and that's what kept me going with this game. The gameplay itself is not up to the same level as the story and mythology is I'm afraid. It starts out really fun being a super agile, parkouring assassin but the game gets to repetitive. Its basically the same thing the whole time, gather info, kill target, new location, repeat. Also my copy was extremely glitchy, The game froze several times causing me to have to start missions over. It was the story that kept me going though and if your interested in the origins of this now huge franchise then its worth a look. Good but could be better (as AC2 proved) Expand
  46. Jun 12, 2013
    7
    It's funny this game actually works, even if it is a bit boring. Still for me was a lot more fun to play this game than the most recently AC game....it's weird but true. This game has an interesting story, with a good main character, your beloved Altair, and with interesting characters. What makes this game a bit boring is the fact that you will be doing always the same thing in terms of missions, and there aren't a lot of collectibles expect for the flags to catch. So in my view is a good game beside been a bit boring and the graphics not been the best. Expand
  47. May 31, 2013
    7
    Assassin's Creed puts you in the shoes of Altaïr that's a member of the Levantine Brotherhood whose sworn enemy is the Knights Templar. It is very repetitive and can get boring at sometimes. The graphics don't compete with Ubisoft's current projects and the story is what stopped me from quitting the game. The combat and parkour elements are amazing. Assassin's Creed is and always will be a must play. Expand
  48. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    As my first rated M game it will always have a special place in my heart. This game despite its flaws brought me into the world of Assassin's Creed, and now I'm stuck in the world and this has become one of my favorite series ever.
  49. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    This game was in my opinion not as good as the 2nd assassin's creed, reason being that this game had many problems when you first played it and it took so long to fix it, but overall great gameply, I love climbing buildings and such, and roaming around
  50. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    Pretty good game overall. It was fun to visit Jerusalem. I liked to run people over with the horse and run through them when on foot. Cool Missions like pickpocket and interrogation beat-downs. Interesting storyline with a arabic feel with french and english voice overs giving it some international flavour. Climbing to the highest building and having the camera pan out were beautiful graphics and while attemping made you feel like you were climbing the buildings yourself. Saving citizens was fun however repetitive. The sound at time got annoying with non stop bell clanking. The ending seemed unfinished and put together poorly. Sometimes fighting was too easy, boring and long. Cool fighting scenes which require good timing for combos and counters. Overall a fun game, no trophies. and now you can find it for under 20 so its worth buying, playing and beating. Expand
  51. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Assassin's creed:

    +Great Storyline+
    +Fun Gameplay+
    +Nice Characters+
    +Nice Level design+
    +Good Graphics+
    +Moderate A.I-
    -Frustrating Camera issue-
    -Technical issues- (Glitches, Bugs, and Crashes)
  52. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    I found the game equally entertaining and annoying. Graphics are stunning, main character is likable (for me) and, let's be honest, assassinating people is fun. It didn't even bother me that the plot wasn't very interesting, I enjoyed running on the roofs and throwing daggers. However, as I mentioned, I am amazed how many times this game managed to piss me off. First of all, controls are REALLY unwieldy. God knows how many times I was trying to escape guards, accidentally running into walls and getting stuck there for couple of seconds (enough time for the guards to slash me couple of times). Although I was trying to turn, the guy was just stubbornly running straight ahead, jumping on the wall, falling, jumping, falling, jumping...

    The crowd is also a real pain in the ass. I fully understand that escapes shouldn't be easy and manoeuvring in the crowd makes them more challenging, but, for God's sake, how many times people started to run straight at me a second before I reached them, not giving me any chance to dodge! Which, obviously, was significantly slowing me down. I often had a feeling that the game is just not being fair. Another example - the 'hitbox' for collecting bonuses (flags) is really small, but it's enough to just walk close to a lady with a vase (NOT touching her) to make her drop it and draw guards' attention...

    Another ridiculous thing is lack of consistency. For the first time you have to travel to another town by horse (which is a pain in the ass, considering how many guards there are on roads and that they attack you on sight when you trot!). For the second time you also have to travel manually. For the rest of the game though you have to ride just half of the way, then you can 'teleport' to a chosen city. Then again, for the first time, after completing a mission, you are automatically transported to Masyaf. After completing the second mission, you have to travel there manually. After the third mission, the game asks you if you want to be automatically transported or travel on your own. I mean, come on! It's like different parts of the game were created by completely different people who didn't communicate with each other.

    But the most ridiculous thing is that the first and second mission ends right after you kill the target, so you don't have to worry about those fifty guards that are after you. However, during further missions, you have to kill the target AND run around the city for 10 minutes, trying to escape. You just don't know what will happen next and what tactics should you choose. Should I first eliminate all those guards and then kill the target to avoid being chased for 10 minutes? Or can I totally just run for the kill and ignore the guards, because I'll be transported to a safe place automatically?

    My copy also has a serious glitch - at some point it stopped showing me a full map. Streets that I already traveled through was still covered in 'fog' and view points weren't marked, so I had to look for them on my own.

    I also found instructions quite vague. It took me some time (and many deaths) to figure things out and learn the controls.

    Another thing is that cut-scenes sometimes had little to do with things that I actually did in game.
    Altair eavesdrops conversations which are totally out of context, so he doesn't really learn much from them. Then, during a cutscene, he summarizes them to a guy in the bureau, presenting facts that was never mentioned by people he was spying on. What's the point of eavesdropping, if I don't actually learn enough from it to connect the facts and figure things out on my own? Many times I felt like Altair and I were eavesdropping totally different conversations. The game says that the investigation is closed, but I still know barely nothing about the victim and have to wait until a guy THAT I'M CONTROLLING tells me what's going on.

    Another HUGE drawback - I wasn't able to change the language on English, so I was stuck with a TERRIBLE Polish dubbing.

    Summing up - I had lots of fun playing the game but it made me scream with frustration far to many times. It's very unpolished, but still entertaining.
    Expand
  53. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    When giving an opinion on the first AC, one has to make a distinction: How the game felt when it first came out, and how it holds up nower days. When the game first saw the light of day, it was amazing: innovative gameplay, a pretty cool story, great environments and the birth of a great weapon: the Hidden Blade. What was not so great about it were the side missions, which felt pretty dull and repetitive. Nower days the game feels only average, since its sequels improved the gameplay by so much. If you really like the series, check it out, if you are looking for an "improved" version, go straight to one of the sequels Expand
  54. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time
    period and science fiction realy unballances the setting and feeling of the game especialy with the poorly made story that could have been better if it was not for the science fiction. The gameplay is nothing new, i found my self button mashing most of the time, and found it ridiculous that the gaurds were able to chase me in their full body armor scaling buildings. Plus some pointless gameplay such as spying on conversations with no real purpose in the game, and the fact on how simple it is to hide from your persuers. I also felt that the boss fights were made to simple, you could either waste your time in a sword fight or just jump on them with your concealed blade.
    Assassins creed brings good enviroment to the table but it also brings too much repeat feeling gameplay and pointless tasks of searching for far too many flags just to get a special weapon such as the crossbow.
    It could have been better.
    Expand
  55. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to save what seemed to be the same person from soldiers like over fifty times. And what is up with those flags? I could care less how many I got. Expand
  56. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    Graphics and Cities were beautiful were beautiful at the time of the release. The story also succeeds but the gameplay is repetitious and AC suffers from that.
  57. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That
    being said, walking, running, climbing in this game is amazing, the game looks great and there is appeal. It's just the gameplay that's lacking.
    It's too much of the same plus the controls are not intuïtive at all. How many times have I jumped off a tall building to die, just because of not being able to master the controls?
    Expand
  58. Mar 22, 2012
    6
    Few times I have been so disappointed when playing a game as I was when playing Assassin's Creed. You can see that there is a lot of potential in the game's formula, but it's repetitive tasks and dull story make playing extremely boring. You climb a tower to reveal the portion of the map you are in, eavesdrop in a conversation, save a citizen from bully guards, steal a letter from someone and then assassinate a target. Now you do it again and again. Combat is fun and instinctive, graphics are excellent and the assassination missions are good, but that doesn't make up for the various flaws present in tedious game. Expand
  59. Nov 27, 2012
    6
    It's almost painful for me to have to score an Assassin's Creed game so low. I loved every other game in this series, and I wanted to give this one a try as well. I know, the game is old, and you can't expect much from it, but that is not an excuse to have such repetitive gameplay. What this game is basically all about is stalking people, and killing them. Stalking people, and steal from them. Stalking people, then get ambushed. The story of this game is so amazing, with the first Assassins on Alamut in Masyaf, and the fight with the templars is all very interesting, but you see very little of this. Also the freerunning and parkour in this is not very satisfying, feels clunky, and takes a lot of time. This is what made me end up at the very average score 6. Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    I loved how the game style and all that stuff. A bit present days and medival days. Brilliant idea. But it turns out the storyline is VERY confusing. I had to do sh*t tons of research understand 100% fully the storyline. At first i dont know who is that guy lying on the animus and why does he had to do that. Also, it took me a while to know wat is happening, the objectives are confusing. After finishing one objective, i cant find ANY OTHER objective in the map. I went to all the viewpoints, save all civilians and all that small objectives. I STILL cant find any objective. But overall, i think this is something very creative and special, like something very rare s gonna happened to video games now. Expand
  61. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    The only good thing about his game is the graphics... even more when it was released back in 2007. But, what a crappy game!! It's the only time in my life I had difficulty finishing a game. I wanted to give up halfway through. Always doing the same thing over and over again during 10 hours... O_o By chance, the second one was better.
  62. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Very much a game that hasn't aged well at all. The sequels are all far superior and this feels like a tech-demo of what the games would become. The game has massive potential in all areas but falls on its face in most. The free-running is probably the most fun part of the game as it feels realistic and is enjoyable exploring the massive cities and scaling the towers is very cool. However the missions are boring and repetitive, the combat is a chore and the best tactic is to simply constantly block the enemy's attacks and late in the game when you are faced with large groups of foes this becomes very frustrating. finally the story goes nowhere, before playing the sequels I thought the Desmond parts of the game were completely unnecessary as they added nothing and simply confused me. Overall I would skip this game if you want to get into the franchise unless you are super interested in it as you wont really miss anything story-wise and certainly not gameplay wise. Expand
  63. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    EN: Assassin's Creed presents an outstanding idea, but the poorly made stealth system, clunky controls and repetitive side missions are a disappointment. It could be a lot better.

    PT-BR: Assassins Creed apresenta uma idéia excelente, mas o sistema de stealth mal feito, os controles desajeitados e as missões secundárias repetitivas são uma decepção. Poderia ser muito melhor.
  64. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As you start playing this game you will be amazed by the wonderful graphic and the maniac attention to details of the cities environment. Cities are full of people walking around, talking, buying things from merchants and so on. Really... amazing. The story itself is well written, with rich characters and a really original plot. But, after a bunch of hours... you'll start to get bored by doing always the same things. It's like you always repeat the same mission: climb to find places, kill the target, flee from guards. With almost no chance to develop an original strategy for your next kill. So.. i'll give it a 5, you will eventually get to the end hoping it will change something but no, always the same... Expand
  65. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    It's trying to be compelling but it fails, miserably. The graphics are well but basically everything else is mundane, boring, stupid or unnessicary. The story is terrible, the voice acting ok, the music good, the gameplay repetitive. Overall it's an average ride, it's so terribly tedious and there is literally no imagination in this game, it is that dull. 5/10.
  66. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    I've played all the games in this series (except for the handheld ones) and, for the most part, enjoyed them, but there was very little to enjoy in this game for me. The free-running mechanic is good, and the combat is fine for a while. However, the visuals are not special (it felt like there was little or no color in the world!), the story is kind of boring, the voice acting is fairly ridiculous, the modern-day parts felt like homework, and some of the gameplay things are painstakingly stupid (folding your hands and walking slower lets you "blend in," despite the fact that you are only person in the city that is hooded and armed to the teeth). If you're thinking about playing through the AC games, do yourself a favor: just read the wiki on this game and start with AC II. Expand
  67. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    This game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many things wrong with this game. Expand
  68. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  69. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    Terrible game. no matter people say don't buy this game like if they say ASSASSASSins is the best game evr don't believe. ItS aLl crap its just a piss poor open world version of prince of persia that gets repitive really fast. The only good thing about this is Nolan North but barely let him speak WHY????. Most overrated game franchise since Elder Scrls go play Uncharted. YES?
  70. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Assassin's Creed has decent graphics and average controls / gameplay. The problem is, the game lacks so much. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The cut scenes are unskippable and very frustrating and unmeaningful. This game was a nice graphic open world showdown in 2007. At 2012, a large part of players wouldn't enjoy playing this. It has gone old fast and that is why you should buy Assassin's Creed II and skipping this if you're coming to the series. This first game will appeal to some but only a few who can handle the ridicilous repetitiveness. To others, the game is both frustrating and dull. Expand
  71. Aug 3, 2012
    3
    I didn't play this game until a few years after it was released which may have caused me to have a high expectation from it given how much attention the series has received but I didn't like this game at all. I disliked it so much that I had to force myself to finish it so that I would never want to play it again. Assassin's Creed has so much potential and in the beginning showed a lot of promise. But once you get about an hour into the game you have experienced all there is to it. The story consists of doing the exact same set of missions over and over and they are not even fun quests. The developers clearly put a lot of work into the stealth and movement systems but then put that effort to waste with the horrible use of it in the missions. I also did not like the combat system: any time you had to fight more than one guy (which is most of the time) you spend most of your time waiting for someone to attack you so you can block and counterattack which becomes very tedious... like everything else in the game. There are also numerous incredibly annoying parts in this game from heralds shouting the same speech at every other corner in the cities, how very slowly he climbs walls (he does everything else fast, why so slow here?), how many more sword fights there are than assassinations, and most of all the beggar woman who just won't take no for an answer.

    This does show promise for the rest of the series but I was very disappointed with this one and suggest skipping over it. My favourite moments from the game were stabbing the overly annoying beggar woman, throwing countless guards off the rooftops, and finishing the game so I could put it back in its case never to be played again.
    Expand
  72. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Being a big fan of the series and having played them all, it is still amazing to me how such a poor game, sparked such a successful franchise. If it was not for 2 being so great, and Ezio so hilariously awesome, im afraid this great franchise would have died. In one, you learn very little if not nothing about the story other than who the "bad guys" are, so i often encourage people to just skip to 2. but story aside the gameplay is so broken and tedious that combat is boring and should be avoided. things that work in the "tutorial" arena sometimes dont work in the actual gameplay. The only combat system that actually works is countering so combat is waiting for the other guy to strike, because attacking doesnt work and often will kill you fast. Having a broken combat system in a game where you often fight 10 or more enemies is very tedious. As well, this game could have been renamed Climbing and Walking Extra Slowly, simulator, as you spend the majority of the game climbing buildings or or not trying to get caught with a broken sneaking system. The game is also super repetitive. No joke, you do the EXACT SAME THING NINE TIMES. Nintey percent of the game, is repeating the mission you just did over and over and over again. There is zero incentive to play accept to see the ending, which lame and made no sence and actually hard to even find because people didnt even know what to do. Save yourself the time and money and just skip to 2. Two is incredibly better just from the start. no more broken combat or stealth systems and you actually feal like the game is different from beginning to end. Expand
  73. Sep 2, 2011
    0
    The controls are way too cumbersome. Despite the awesome promo videos you've seen, this is definitely not an "action" game in the traditional sense. From the very first battle (which seemed like nearly an hour into the game) I could tell this wasn't going to go well. Basically, I just mashed the attack button repeatedly, and then onto more wandering around and long-winded cut scenes. Apparently a lot of people are really enjoying this game, and hey, more power to them. I'm glad they enjoy it. But I found it way too easy and a bit dull. Expand
  74. May 7, 2011
    0
    This is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robe flow in the wind, and the robes flow in different directions depending on you characters placement. The combat is the hardest in the series, so avoid big groups, but don't let that stop you from being bad ass. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?