Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 637 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming theThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  2. It almost seems as if the humungous world they created and the idea that lies beneath the premise was too big to embrace; it was simply beyond current development possibilities. On the other hand, Ubisoft Montreal did come close, which means we end up with a great game.
  3. Assassin’s Creed is remarkable in every aspect it performs. From the sprawling city life to the dual-vision storyline, everything blends together to offer one of the most complete and satisfying experiences so far this year.
  4. Assassin’s Creed II once again allows players to step into the silent shoes of an assassin, and moves in the right direction providing a more focused and solid playing experience.
  5. Don't get me started on the ending. This pretty much nailed the coffin shut on the game's fate as a good but not stunning title. You'll have to experience it for yourself, but it simply didn't deliver what it should have. It left me wanting more, which Ubisoft may well see as job done, but gamers don't buy games with the hope that they're completed within the next few years; they want a conclusion straight away.
  6. This is designed as the first game in a new Ubisoft franchise, and I do hope there’s another. The little miscues can be fixed, the stealth tweaked, and I’d be up for free running through the French Revolution next time.
  7. It may be a technical marvel, a beautiful game of staggering scope and scale, but its gameplay is narrow, linear and never changes. [Chrismas 2007, p.122]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 168
  1. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome music plays behind you as you bolt up walls and try to get away from them. It's a must have title and I'm glad its a release title with the PS3 Slim, that way newcomers to the PS3 can get a taste of what next gen games should be. A few years after its release and it still stands above most titles, both graphics and gameplay wise. Expand
  2. OzzyK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love this game. I can sit for hours scaling roof tops like a cat or planning assasins etc. Visually the game is practically perfect. The story line is inticing, and the controls almost feel as if your in the game. Exciting stuff by Ubisoft. Expand
  3. Anonymous
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Besides the jumbled up storyline its open world environment was breathtaking and gameplay is respectable going around jumping and climbing Besides the jumbled up storyline its open world environment was breathtaking and gameplay is respectable going around jumping and climbing using some of ubisofts great prince of persia mechanics but there is still more room for the future sequel and prequel we will hopefully see. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    PS3 - This game has stunning graphics, has a very creative and original storyline. Game progression unlocks special moves, weapons andPS3 - This game has stunning graphics, has a very creative and original storyline. Game progression unlocks special moves, weapons and abilities. however After playing the game for 6 hours, i find it becomes repetitive, even though it was challenging enough. Could have used a more dynamic storyline, and that is the reason it got a 7/10. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    I found the game equally entertaining and annoying. Graphics are stunning, main character is likable (for me) and, let's be honest,I found the game equally entertaining and annoying. Graphics are stunning, main character is likable (for me) and, let's be honest, assassinating people is fun. It didn't even bother me that the plot wasn't very interesting, I enjoyed running on the roofs and throwing daggers. However, as I mentioned, I am amazed how many times this game managed to piss me off. First of all, controls are REALLY unwieldy. God knows how many times I was trying to escape guards, accidentally running into walls and getting stuck there for couple of seconds (enough time for the guards to slash me couple of times). Although I was trying to turn, the guy was just stubbornly running straight ahead, jumping on the wall, falling, jumping, falling, jumping...

    The crowd is also a real pain in the ass. I fully understand that escapes shouldn't be easy and manoeuvring in the crowd makes them more challenging, but, for God's sake, how many times people started to run straight at me a second before I reached them, not giving me any chance to dodge! Which, obviously, was significantly slowing me down. I often had a feeling that the game is just not being fair. Another example - the 'hitbox' for collecting bonuses (flags) is really small, but it's enough to just walk close to a lady with a vase (NOT touching her) to make her drop it and draw guards' attention...

    Another ridiculous thing is lack of consistency. For the first time you have to travel to another town by horse (which is a pain in the ass, considering how many guards there are on roads and that they attack you on sight when you trot!). For the second time you also have to travel manually. For the rest of the game though you have to ride just half of the way, then you can 'teleport' to a chosen city. Then again, for the first time, after completing a mission, you are automatically transported to Masyaf. After completing the second mission, you have to travel there manually. After the third mission, the game asks you if you want to be automatically transported or travel on your own. I mean, come on! It's like different parts of the game were created by completely different people who didn't communicate with each other.

    But the most ridiculous thing is that the first and second mission ends right after you kill the target, so you don't have to worry about those fifty guards that are after you. However, during further missions, you have to kill the target AND run around the city for 10 minutes, trying to escape. You just don't know what will happen next and what tactics should you choose. Should I first eliminate all those guards and then kill the target to avoid being chased for 10 minutes? Or can I totally just run for the kill and ignore the guards, because I'll be transported to a safe place automatically?

    My copy also has a serious glitch - at some point it stopped showing me a full map. Streets that I already traveled through was still covered in 'fog' and view points weren't marked, so I had to look for them on my own.

    I also found instructions quite vague. It took me some time (and many deaths) to figure things out and learn the controls.

    Another thing is that cut-scenes sometimes had little to do with things that I actually did in game.
    Altair eavesdrops conversations which are totally out of context, so he doesn't really learn much from them. Then, during a cutscene, he summarizes them to a guy in the bureau, presenting facts that was never mentioned by people he was spying on. What's the point of eavesdropping, if I don't actually learn enough from it to connect the facts and figure things out on my own? Many times I felt like Altair and I were eavesdropping totally different conversations. The game says that the investigation is closed, but I still know barely nothing about the victim and have to wait until a guy THAT I'M CONTROLLING tells me what's going on.

    Another HUGE drawback - I wasn't able to change the language on English, so I was stuck with a TERRIBLE Polish dubbing.

    Summing up - I had lots of fun playing the game but it made me scream with frustration far to many times. It's very unpolished, but still entertaining.
    Expand
  6. AlexH
    Sep 8, 2009
    6
    The presentation and style of the game grabs a lot of attention but the quality of the game lacks creativity and effort. The low score comes The presentation and style of the game grabs a lot of attention but the quality of the game lacks creativity and effort. The low score comes from its repetitive gameplay, although the interesting storyline and immensely beautiful graphics can keep this game on the list of a PS3 gamer. Expand
  7. DilbertD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers these days are afraid of trying something new and innovative. Note worth any minute of playing at all. Expand

See all 168 User Reviews