Assassin's Creed Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming theThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  2. The first half of Assassin’s Creed is a truly clairvoyant experience. You’ve never played anything like it. The sagacious story, incalculable crowd interaction, and unprecedented freedom to traverse the environment how you choose are landmark moments. Over time, repetition rears its ugly head, combat becomes a necessary routine, and dimwitted foes snatch you out of the third crusade and remind you that you’re playing a game.
  3. Assassin’s Creed is remarkable in every aspect it performs. From the sprawling city life to the dual-vision storyline, everything blends together to offer one of the most complete and satisfying experiences so far this year.
  4. It’s visually wonderful, technologically marvellous and honestly a great deal of fun to play, but as with many other people, we have to seriously question its staying power.
  5. The in-game combat isn't bad either, if you can accept two things—there's not enough variety to the combat, and the extra effot to sneak around often isn't worth it. The guards can be real idiots, too. Past that, this Assassin cuts deep.
  6. This is designed as the first game in a new Ubisoft franchise, and I do hope there’s another. The little miscues can be fixed, the stealth tweaked, and I’d be up for free running through the French Revolution next time.
  7. games(TM)
    40
    It may be a technical marvel, a beautiful game of staggering scope and scale, but its gameplay is narrow, linear and never changes. [Chrismas 2007, p.122]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 202
  2. Negative: 29 out of 202
  1. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome music plays behind you as you bolt up walls and try to get away from them. It's a must have title and I'm glad its a release title with the PS3 Slim, that way newcomers to the PS3 can get a taste of what next gen games should be. A few years after its release and it still stands above most titles, both graphics and gameplay wise. Expand
  2. OzzyK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love this game. I can sit for hours scaling roof tops like a cat or planning assasins etc. Visually the game is practically perfect. The story line is inticing, and the controls almost feel as if your in the game. Exciting stuff by Ubisoft. Expand
  3. ChristianNewton
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    *SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of*SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of The Colossus, Oblivion and Crackdown. I love the controversial plot twist, it adds something extra to the game for me. I know other players would have preferred the modern day elements to be removed from the game altogether, but to be honest I don't think I would have been as interested in the game otherwise. Graphics are gorgeous, but I really am enjoying the combat and running across rooftops. 'Assassin's Creed' is just a fun game. Just don't go expecting 'GTA Holy Land!' Expand
  4. JasonX.
    Dec 19, 2007
    7
    Great graphics and good controls; however, the gameplay becomes very repetitive and uninteresting.
  5. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    The first installment in the Assassin's Creed franchise may have started a gaming legend but its first title was no masterpiece. There seemsThe first installment in the Assassin's Creed franchise may have started a gaming legend but its first title was no masterpiece. There seems to be a lack of variety here and it becomes a bit repetitive late into the game. Thankfully, Assassin's Creed is by no means terrible. The gameplay itself is extremely fun even if the combat leaves a bit to be desired. The Parkour shown is definitely one of the best aspects here. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actionsAssassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time period and science fiction realy unballances the setting and feeling of the game especialy with the poorly made story that could have been better if it was not for the science fiction. The gameplay is nothing new, i found my self button mashing most of the time, and found it ridiculous that the gaurds were able to chase me in their full body armor scaling buildings. Plus some pointless gameplay such as spying on conversations with no real purpose in the game, and the fact on how simple it is to hide from your persuers. I also felt that the boss fights were made to simple, you could either waste your time in a sword fight or just jump on them with your concealed blade.
    Assassins creed brings good enviroment to the table but it also brings too much repeat feeling gameplay and pointless tasks of searching for far too many flags just to get a special weapon such as the crossbow.
    It could have been better.
    Expand
  7. DilbertD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers these days are afraid of trying something new and innovative. Note worth any minute of playing at all. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews