Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    You could quite easily just watch Asura's Wrath and be raucously entertained; the fact that it places you firmly in the centre of the action makes its achievements all the more impressive.
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath is, without a doubt, a very special game. We can't recall the last time we've seen so much brutal action on our screen, while we could also lose ourselves in an immersive story. Such spectacle! Besides that, Asura has fought his way to an important place on our list of most memorable characters in videogame history. That aside, you may want to know Asura's Wrath is more like an interactive movie that lasts around ten hours. If you can look past that, you will find a game like you've never seen or played before.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath isn't as brainless as it may want you to believe. The ridiculous moments and likable characters kept me smiling, which was odd, considering it's essentially a story about misery. It's a nice change of pace from other hack-and-slash games, featuring an interesting story that's not blocked off by insurmountable difficulty.
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath is not a usual action game. It blends Anime-Style cut scenes with a twirl of spectacular quick time events, and offers interesting variety and a catchy pace.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Asura's Wrath is not a game for everybody – it's special and unique. CyberConnect 2 managed to offer the player a high speed game with a lot of story- oments and cinematic storytelling.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    82
    An interesting and action-packed combination of an anime series and a beat 'em up videogame. Numerous and logical QTE:s blur the borders between the game and anime. [March 2012]
  7. Those who do not care about the crazy Japanese aesthetics or the not so subtle references to popular anime, may ask them the question if the actual gameplay is any good at all. Well, it is. Sort of. [April 2012, p.66]
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is not so much a game as a series of monumental, weird experiences delivered as beautifully rendered cut scenes, interspersed with quick time events, God of War-style combat and Panzer Dragoon flying sequences influenced by Asian mythology infused with heavy sci-fi elements make this a weird experience. But it's weird in that good, can't-stop-watching-the-screen way. It is complete madness, wrapped up in a lovingly-created package.
  9. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a unique experience, and despite underdeveloped gameplay mechanics and little real replayability it's extremely fun while it lasts. The art-style is superb, with likeable characters, and when the outstanding music kicks in, the game offers some truly epic moments – the sort that you will remember, and want to experience all over again.
  10. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is undoubtedly a niche title, and the lack of extended player input will leave some feeling a little short changed. For those with an appreciation of Eastern animation and quirky video games, however, Asura's Wrath is one of the more intriguing releases of this year, not to mention this console generation.
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a game that goes into a rage and stomps on whatever we call the convention of video games. And you know what? I'm going to join in the stomping too, because the reason I play games is for refreshing engagements that entertain me, and Asura's Wrath hit the spot.
  12. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is, without doubt, one of those games that some people will love for one reason and others will hate for the very same reason. I say embrace the madness and run with it. Let your inhibitions regarding quick-time events and cut-scene heavy games go and, if you like the kind of anime this is based on, you might just find a gem. I did.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a game that brings a different take on the action genre, a nice title with an interesting way to tell an interactive story.
  14. Feb 20, 2012
    79
    Asura's Wrath is a funny and spectacular game, a different take on the action genre and a title with a very interesting way to tell an interactive story. It's a shame that it's so short and lacks real replayability and challange, we finshed the game without losing any life at medium difficuly level.
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    75
    It's not a huge challenge but so what? Makes ya feel good for a while, and we all need that every now and then.
  16. Feb 29, 2012
    75
    Asura's Wrath is a fun game that is well worth the money and well worth playing. If you are not a fan of button mashers then avoid it as the fighting style can be repetitive, but if you love amazing graphics and bizarre stories, then this most certainly is the game for you. I highly enjoyed it.
  17. Feb 23, 2012
    75
    At a time when Japanese developers seem to moving to more readily embrace "Westernised" gaming values, kudos to CyberConnect2 for sticking to its guns and providing a gaming experience quite unlike anything I've ever played before and one I look forward to revisiting in twenty minute blocks time and time again.
  18. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    Asura's Wrath is an experiment, undoubtedly a successful one, to bring a new point of view to the videogame market. Mangas and shonen lovers will find in this game a majestic example of style. Sadly the gameplay isn't at the same level.
  19. Feb 17, 2012
    75
    It sets out to be a new kind of interactive animation, and it succeeds completely at that. But a game this light on actual content is difficult to justify as a full-price release; it's style over substance, and some players will feel cheated by the paucity of actual gameplay in amongst the six hours of brilliant spectacle.
  20. Mar 5, 2012
    74
    The story is well-told and very well-presented. Otherwise, this game's graphics are a mixed bunch. Control-wise, there's just too little player input required to perform the grotesque things seen on screen.
  21. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    Don't get me wrong: I loved my time with Asura's Wrath. I want to see the game succeed and get more support. I just wish there was more bang for the buck and that the ending wasn't obviously setting up for a sequel by leaving so many loose ends.
  22. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    Thanks to its unique setting (mythology of the East meets Däniken) and off-the-scale panache Asura's Wrath is a very interesting experience, but there's just not enough... game in it. Gameplay is very shallow, repetitive and easy. [April 2012, p.59]
  23. It possesses an undeniable charm that its intended audience will embrace. Who exactly that audience is...well, we're still trying to figure that out. [Apr 2012, p.86]
  24. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Did it engross me? Yes it did. Did it frustrate me? Yes, it did that too. Did I want to keep playing? Of course, but only because I wanted to see what happened next, not because I wanted to keep playing. Unfortunately, even for a console title that's as over-the-top as Asura's Wrath, that's an inescapable flaw.
  25. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath has a great story, and manages to offer genuinely enjoyable entertainment despite being light on real gaming substance. As a full price game though, it is hard to justify the cost. For those who can get it on special, it is something worth playing simply as a new experience.
  26. Taking a similar approach to Heavy Rain's storytelling-with-a-controller, Asura's Wrath is a brave, unique and beautiful interactive animation that's simply a bit light on gameplay. Unlike Quantic Dream's game, your mistakes have little consequence and you're not offered decisions about Asura's destiny. If you were, he could have ascended even higher.
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    It's by no means a brilliant game, but it is a good piece of interactive fiction and a new approach, which we'll happily welcome with open arms. Six of them.
  28. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath is uncompromising, testing the limits of what a game is, and in taking this approach it's a compelling, often invigorating, piece of software. However, at just six hours long - a couple of hours longer if you want to unlock absolutely everything by gaining S ranks on each episode and choose to watch every cut scene again - with gameplay that amounts to far less than that time might suggest, it's a tough sell as a full price title.
  29. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    A wonderfully imaginative and beautifully presented interactive anime, but one that cannot maintain a regular enough supply of surprises to justify even its short running time.
  30. Mar 28, 2012
    67
    Far too short. [Issue#216, p.76]
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    67
    Shockingly light on gameplay, but eclipses competitors in scale, cinematics and design. [Apr 2012, p.95]
  32. Mar 12, 2012
    67
    While the game's story alone probably wouldn't make for a tremendously successful anime series, and the competent but repetitive gameplay might not suffice without the narrative absurdity, the two elements combine with terrific production values to produce an experience that's definitely worth a look. There aren't many games quite like Asura's Wrath and there aren't a lot of heroes quite like Asura. He may have anger management issues, but it's still worth getting to know him.
  33. 60
    When Asura's Wrath is good, it's actually really entertaining with enemies bigger then planets and a lot of entertaining violence. But in the end it feels to much as an interactive movie and is also way too short.
  34. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Can I recommend Asura´s Wrath? Sure! If you are looking for the wildest, most enjoyable, pseudo-Buddhist super-anime, want to fight a good number of cool boss-battles and be entertained, than this is fantastic. But if you´re looking for an "actual" game, think that cut-scenes are the worst possible way to tell a story and demand complex mechanics and combos, you should look elsewhere. It´s all nice enough, slightly above the average, but cannot keep up for a second with what makes Asura´s Wrath so unique and awesome.
  35. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    It's a split opinion for Asura's Wrath. Its artistic direction is simply magnificent, as is its soundtrack, and the overall storytelling, with a framing of all this action that's a brilliant success. But the beat'em all gameplay remains quite poor in between the breathtaking boss battles ; if you're a shonen fan, you can't miss it. If you're looking for an action game with a solid gameplay, stay away.
  36. Feb 26, 2012
    58
    This plays like a tale designed to be experienced in one go. Still, Asura's glowing weak spot is utterly prosaic: price. At $10 or even $20, this could be approached as a diverting experiment. At $60, it's an elixir for only the most obsessive fans of anime storytelling and unusual game design.
  37. Feb 28, 2012
    55
    Asura's Wrath isn't much of a game, but its over-the-top, anime-style story makes it easier to overlook its shortcomings.
  38. Mar 8, 2012
    50
    For all its luxurious visuals, it knows little about how to marry them to gameplay, or how to end the suffering of artists who 
see their work butchered to meet gameplay's demands.
  39. [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 9 out of 39
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that I spend a fair amount of time watching the story play out, it's just so over the top that anytime I'm not actively involved in gameplay, I am (no joke) laughing with joy at the latest nonsensical feat that Asura and I just pulled. The anime-episode-style presentation format is perfect for the story, the art is top-notch, and the gameplay itself is simple and appropriately furiously paced. Very highly recommended for fans of The Rule of Cool. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Capcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosas nuevas, tratando de innovar en ciertos aspectos, porque Asura Wrath es eso, las ganas de querer probar cosas nuevas y plasmándolas de una manera muy excitante en cuanto a la emoción que te causa al jugarlo.
    La música también es muy buena, por lo menos a mi me encanta. El estilo que tienen los gráficos y esa onda de querer simular los capítulos de los anime esta rebien hecho.
    Ojala Capcom siga con esta racha de lanzar juegos que tratan de mostrar algo diferente, y no como los Call of Duty o los Battlefield o toda esos juegos malisimos que solo venden por ser shooter, por el multiplayer, y porque todas las paginas que hacen análisis le ponen nota alta, ya que debe haber una tramoya atrás de la que no sabemos todavía como funciona, pero que se re nota que esta ahí.
    Full Review »