Asura's Wrath PlayStation 3

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    74
    The story is well-told and very well-presented. Otherwise, this game's graphics are a mixed bunch. Control-wise, there's just too little player input required to perform the grotesque things seen on screen.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    Don't get me wrong: I loved my time with Asura's Wrath. I want to see the game succeed and get more support. I just wish there was more bang for the buck and that the ending wasn't obviously setting up for a sequel by leaving so many loose ends.
  3. CD-Action
    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    Thanks to its unique setting (mythology of the East meets Däniken) and off-the-scale panache Asura's Wrath is a very interesting experience, but there's just not enough... game in it. Gameplay is very shallow, repetitive and easy. [April 2012, p.59]
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    70
    It possesses an undeniable charm that its intended audience will embrace. Who exactly that audience is...well, we're still trying to figure that out. [Apr 2012, p.86]
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Did it engross me? Yes it did. Did it frustrate me? Yes, it did that too. Did I want to keep playing? Of course, but only because I wanted to see what happened next, not because I wanted to keep playing. Unfortunately, even for a console title that's as over-the-top as Asura's Wrath, that's an inescapable flaw.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath has a great story, and manages to offer genuinely enjoyable entertainment despite being light on real gaming substance. As a full price game though, it is hard to justify the cost. For those who can get it on special, it is something worth playing simply as a new experience.
  7. Taking a similar approach to Heavy Rain's storytelling-with-a-controller, Asura's Wrath is a brave, unique and beautiful interactive animation that's simply a bit light on gameplay. Unlike Quantic Dream's game, your mistakes have little consequence and you're not offered decisions about Asura's destiny. If you were, he could have ascended even higher.
  8. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    It's by no means a brilliant game, but it is a good piece of interactive fiction and a new approach, which we'll happily welcome with open arms. Six of them.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath is uncompromising, testing the limits of what a game is, and in taking this approach it's a compelling, often invigorating, piece of software. However, at just six hours long - a couple of hours longer if you want to unlock absolutely everything by gaining S ranks on each episode and choose to watch every cut scene again - with gameplay that amounts to far less than that time might suggest, it's a tough sell as a full price title.
  10. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    A wonderfully imaginative and beautifully presented interactive anime, but one that cannot maintain a regular enough supply of surprises to justify even its short running time.
  11. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    67
    Far too short. [Issue#216, p.76]
  12. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 22, 2012
    67
    Shockingly light on gameplay, but eclipses competitors in scale, cinematics and design. [Apr 2012, p.95]
  13. Mar 12, 2012
    67
    While the game's story alone probably wouldn't make for a tremendously successful anime series, and the competent but repetitive gameplay might not suffice without the narrative absurdity, the two elements combine with terrific production values to produce an experience that's definitely worth a look. There aren't many games quite like Asura's Wrath and there aren't a lot of heroes quite like Asura. He may have anger management issues, but it's still worth getting to know him.
  14. 60
    When Asura's Wrath is good, it's actually really entertaining with enemies bigger then planets and a lot of entertaining violence. But in the end it feels to much as an interactive movie and is also way too short.
  15. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Can I recommend Asura´s Wrath? Sure! If you are looking for the wildest, most enjoyable, pseudo-Buddhist super-anime, want to fight a good number of cool boss-battles and be entertained, than this is fantastic. But if you´re looking for an "actual" game, think that cut-scenes are the worst possible way to tell a story and demand complex mechanics and combos, you should look elsewhere. It´s all nice enough, slightly above the average, but cannot keep up for a second with what makes Asura´s Wrath so unique and awesome.
  16. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    It's a split opinion for Asura's Wrath. Its artistic direction is simply magnificent, as is its soundtrack, and the overall storytelling, with a framing of all this action that's a brilliant success. But the beat'em all gameplay remains quite poor in between the breathtaking boss battles ; if you're a shonen fan, you can't miss it. If you're looking for an action game with a solid gameplay, stay away.
  17. Feb 26, 2012
    58
    This plays like a tale designed to be experienced in one go. Still, Asura's glowing weak spot is utterly prosaic: price. At $10 or even $20, this could be approached as a diverting experiment. At $60, it's an elixir for only the most obsessive fans of anime storytelling and unusual game design.
  18. Feb 28, 2012
    55
    Asura's Wrath isn't much of a game, but its over-the-top, anime-style story makes it easier to overlook its shortcomings.
  19. Mar 8, 2012
    50
    For all its luxurious visuals, it knows little about how to marry them to gameplay, or how to end the suffering of artists who 
see their work butchered to meet gameplay's demands.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends canThis is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that IIncredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that I spend a fair amount of time watching the story play out, it's just so over the top that anytime I'm not actively involved in gameplay, I am (no joke) laughing with joy at the latest nonsensical feat that Asura and I just pulled. The anime-episode-style presentation format is perfect for the story, the art is top-notch, and the gameplay itself is simple and appropriately furiously paced. Very highly recommended for fans of The Rule of Cool. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Capcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosasCapcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosas nuevas, tratando de innovar en ciertos aspectos, porque Asura Wrath es eso, las ganas de querer probar cosas nuevas y plasmándolas de una manera muy excitante en cuanto a la emoción que te causa al jugarlo.
    La música también es muy buena, por lo menos a mi me encanta. El estilo que tienen los gráficos y esa onda de querer simular los capítulos de los anime esta rebien hecho.
    Ojala Capcom siga con esta racha de lanzar juegos que tratan de mostrar algo diferente, y no como los Call of Duty o los Battlefield o toda esos juegos malisimos que solo venden por ser shooter, por el multiplayer, y porque todas las paginas que hacen análisis le ponen nota alta, ya que debe haber una tramoya atrás de la que no sabemos todavía como funciona, pero que se re nota que esta ahí.
    Full Review »