User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 151
  2. Negative: 26 out of 151

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2012
    5
    Decent game, visuals amazing but gameplay meh.
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Game wasn't really what I was expecting but still I did play it through few times. Its fun to play and if you like to get few easy Trophies/Achievements this is the game for you. You can complete this game about in 4-7h.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    I am not an advocate of 'interactive story telling,' especially when it costs me £24.99. I had high hopes for Asura's Wrath, it struck me as an original little nugget of brilliance in a sea of the mundane. Sadly, while it does have its moments of sheer genius, there isn't enough 'game' in this videogame to warrant a high score. There is potential in there though, and II am not an advocate of 'interactive story telling,' especially when it costs me £24.99. I had high hopes for Asura's Wrath, it struck me as an original little nugget of brilliance in a sea of the mundane. Sadly, while it does have its moments of sheer genius, there isn't enough 'game' in this videogame to warrant a high score. There is potential in there though, and I wouldn't but outraged if they green lit some sort of sequel or successor. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. played the demo first, and although the gameplay didn't convince me, I totally loved the excesive action and epicness involved with the two bosses showed (Wyzen and Augus). So I took the full game hoping to see the best fights yet, but little did I know that the demos were the best fights in the game. The gameplay is forgettable, and it's certainly nothing memorable. You have 3 choices: On rails shooting sections, third person brawler and the endless quicktime events. Of these, the brawler parts are probably the most interesting, sadly they lack the finesse and responsiveness of god of war, it feels chaotic and more akin to mashing buttons than actually building combos........mash square, mash square, mash square, mash X to dodge, keep mashing square...... until you finally fill a power bar that sends everything to hell (and no, this wasn't in easy mode, it was in hard mode). But I can forgive the gameplay if at least the game had provided the awesome fights I expected, the game even comits the sin of overhyping itself. The first boss is the "planet guy" (wyzen) from the demo, and after you defeat him his 6 remaining buddies start to brag about how he was the "weakest one of them". You of course start to dream of the amazing battles to come, wich only makes them the more dissapointing. 3 of the bosses (sergei, olga, and kalrow) you don't even fight they just die out of the sudden in the most stupid ways during cutscenes, 2 are worthy of the task but end up having little screentime (deus, augus) and the other ends up being your buddy and the second playable character (sasha). At the end you end up feeling cheated, and it seems like the developers were short on cash or something as the game feels incomplete. My advise, rent it before, and only buy it if you fancy the artstyle. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2012
    6
    It's agreat game in it's own right, but it's extremely quick time heavy, which minimizes actually game-play in the game. sadly The story is incredibly good, and how it plays out like a JP anime TV show was a great idea. The graphics are okay, but nothing to get excited about. The music is breath taking, and the overall presentation is rock solid. If only it was longer, and less quick timeIt's agreat game in it's own right, but it's extremely quick time heavy, which minimizes actually game-play in the game. sadly The story is incredibly good, and how it plays out like a JP anime TV show was a great idea. The graphics are okay, but nothing to get excited about. The music is breath taking, and the overall presentation is rock solid. If only it was longer, and less quick time heavy and CS heavy, this game would've got a higher score from me. Good rental Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    7
    This game is amazing especially for the fans of anime. An amazing soundtrack, the art design in this game is just sublime. The story is interesting and you really want to know what will happen in the end, the character are very well made and their personally and voice acting is amazing. The biggest problem my be the gameplay...the fighting scenes are very good and the quick time events areThis game is amazing especially for the fans of anime. An amazing soundtrack, the art design in this game is just sublime. The story is interesting and you really want to know what will happen in the end, the character are very well made and their personally and voice acting is amazing. The biggest problem my be the gameplay...the fighting scenes are very good and the quick time events are well made but unfortunately this game was made almost like a tv show, with those breaking scenes like is going to a commercial and that breaks a bit of the action of the game and most of the episodes are more to see then actually to play. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    Asura's Wrath
    Game-play:It's nice fun and simple you feel like and angry god like you suppose to be,when you play it is more like you play an anime and that is awesome.
    Story:The story is fun and well made but is short about 5 to 6 hours I really like the whole revenge thing but the down fall of this game is that the true ending is on DLC. Graphics:The graphics are very good it's like
    Asura's Wrath
    Game-play:It's nice fun and simple you feel like and angry god like you suppose to be,when you play it is more like you play an anime and that is awesome.
    Story:The story is fun and well made but is short about 5 to 6 hours I really like the whole revenge thing but the down fall of this game is that the true ending is on DLC.
    Graphics:The graphics are very good it's like you expected all anime style.
    Notes:The boss battles are great and the characters are awesome,I totally recommend this game to anyone how is anime fun.
    Expand
  8. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    Graphics:8/10
    Plot:8/10
    Gameplay:4/10
    Cutscenes:10/10
    Characters:9/10

    Amazing cutscenes and a really nice plot but the gameplay is extremely boring when you rarely need to play.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]
  2. Those who do not care about the crazy Japanese aesthetics or the not so subtle references to popular anime, may ask them the question if the actual gameplay is any good at all. Well, it is. Sort of. [April 2012, p.66]
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    67
    Far too short. [Issue#216, p.76]