User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. tcb
    Apr 7, 2012
    9
    Very nice game. Normally I'm not a big fan of QTEs but here they are implemented in a nice and working way (i.e. they are part of the game play and not just sprinkled in at random times in a cut scene as they are in most other games). The story was nice, and the game play was fun. Soundtrack is amazing, and the graphics are nice to look at. What I really liked about it is the fact, that it is different, and not the same old game play as rehashed in every other game. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Asura's Wrath is not a game, is an interactive movie. My opinion? BORING.. if the spectator want see a movie, so...ok..asura wrath is good 4 u. but if u want action, combo, fight..DON'T BUY IT!
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    I totally understand many gamer's frustration towards Asura's wrath. The problem here is how you approach the game. I used to think this would be a new God of War but it became very clear to me that this would not be the case (specially after de demo). It is, indeed, a short game and more of an interactive, fighting/shooting QTE made experience (like Child of Eden or even Heavy Rain). But we must not forget why we play games; it's not about pushing buttons only, it's about how we feel, how that particular software touches us, moves us. And Asura's Wrath is a beautiful, haunting, compelling game. It's a great tale of revenge and one that everybody will like to see to the end. Good, solid game. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The parts where you can actually control the character are in fact pretty crappy, 6/10 stuff at best. Combat is boring and utterly repetitive play the game on easy to reduce the amount of repeated moves and combos, there is not much point to play on higher difficulty anyway. The crappy combat does not actually matter, for its real purpose (besides making this classifiable as a game) is to help you to better connect with Asura and his wrath. And same actually goes for (effectively pointless) quick-time events throughout the cut-scenes. This game tells a story filled with emotions (well, mostly wrath, duh) and the story, the animations, the game's ability to make you feel those emotions is the real meat here. If you like anime over-the-top stuff like Gurren Lagann, Naruto (those non-emo pre-shippuuden parts anyway) or any other fighting anime about overcoming your own limitations, you will love Asura's Wrath for all the epic moments and fights it will throw at you. And unless this turns out to be lie, get the Nirvana DLC as well, it's at least as awesome as the basic game, gets you the real, definitive ending and I could swear the visuals get way better in it. (The DLC .5 episodes on the other hand are just pretty crappy ugly 2D animations with QTEs. The second one was okay, I guess, but the first one felt like utter waste of money.) Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. played the demo first, and although the gameplay didn't convince me, I totally loved the excesive action and epicness involved with the two bosses showed (Wyzen and Augus). So I took the full game hoping to see the best fights yet, but little did I know that the demos were the best fights in the game. The gameplay is forgettable, and it's certainly nothing memorable. You have 3 choices: On rails shooting sections, third person brawler and the endless quicktime events. Of these, the brawler parts are probably the most interesting, sadly they lack the finesse and responsiveness of god of war, it feels chaotic and more akin to mashing buttons than actually building combos........mash square, mash square, mash square, mash X to dodge, keep mashing square...... until you finally fill a power bar that sends everything to hell (and no, this wasn't in easy mode, it was in hard mode). But I can forgive the gameplay if at least the game had provided the awesome fights I expected, the game even comits the sin of overhyping itself. The first boss is the "planet guy" (wyzen) from the demo, and after you defeat him his 6 remaining buddies start to brag about how he was the "weakest one of them". You of course start to dream of the amazing battles to come, wich only makes them the more dissapointing. 3 of the bosses (sergei, olga, and kalrow) you don't even fight they just die out of the sudden in the most stupid ways during cutscenes, 2 are worthy of the task but end up having little screentime (deus, augus) and the other ends up being your buddy and the second playable character (sasha). At the end you end up feeling cheated, and it seems like the developers were short on cash or something as the game feels incomplete. My advise, rent it before, and only buy it if you fancy the artstyle. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    Hmm... 60$ for a game with no replay value, and 6 hour maximum campaign? More like 60$ to a 6 hour cliche movie. 10$ for per hour, what a waste, great action and etc, but not worth 60$!!! Don't buy.
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Capcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosas nuevas, tratando de innovar en ciertos aspectos, porque Asura Wrath es eso, las ganas de querer probar cosas nuevas y plasmándolas de una manera muy excitante en cuanto a la emoción que te causa al jugarlo.
    La
    música también es muy buena, por lo menos a mi me encanta. El estilo que tienen los gráficos y esa onda de querer simular los capítulos de los anime esta rebien hecho.
    Ojala Capcom siga con esta racha de lanzar juegos que tratan de mostrar algo diferente, y no como los Call of Duty o los Battlefield o toda esos juegos malisimos que solo venden por ser shooter, por el multiplayer, y porque todas las paginas que hacen análisis le ponen nota alta, ya que debe haber una tramoya atrás de la que no sabemos todavía como funciona, pero que se re nota que esta ahí.
    Expand
  8. May 13, 2012
    8
    Asuras Wrath is really a user-controlled anime manga with quick time events and random button mashing while easy to get to the next episode the challenge is to get an S ranking by getting scored on syncronicity,battle points,time taken to complete episode you either need two S ranks or three A ranks for an over-all S rank the difficulty of this varies episode to episode. The cgi anime is extremely well done and the story is good enough to keep you interested. Over-all the game is pretty good fun too play.
    But as due too the nature of the game there is not much replayability and content wise it lasts around the eight hour mark. I recommend a rental or try too find it at a bargain price. There are about six extra dlc episodes as well now with a seperate new ending and a crazy guest appearance from ryu.
    Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    Have not seen such epic Japanese games. If you say Heavy Rain is an interactive movie, the Asura can be compared with an interactive anime. The main feature game - epic and unique atmosphere. SHE JUST MEGA EPIC!
  10. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Asura's wrath is one of those game that divides mainstream from art. This game is an art piece. Of course like most of art it doesn't receives such high acclaim like most of the mindless games nowadays. Personally I don't care, it was worth 50â
  11. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Interactive Anime
    This game suceeds on all levels, except for one small part. Some good things are the mix of Japanese Mythology and science fiction graphics looks fantastic, and the gameplay is very fun and over-the-top epic. But, the cutscenes, though amazing, are too plentiful. Sometimes it feels as if you are watching an anime and clicking buttons in some spots. This is further
    implemented due to low difficulty. This will either be a good or bad thing, depending on the person. Alltogether, i found this game thrilling and action packed. Some may not but they should at least give it a try and rent it. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that I spend a fair amount of time watching the story play out, it's just so over the top that anytime I'm not actively involved in gameplay, I am (no joke) laughing with joy at the latest nonsensical feat that Asura and I just pulled. The anime-episode-style presentation format is perfect for the story, the art is top-notch, and the gameplay itself is simple and appropriately furiously paced. Very highly recommended for fans of The Rule of Cool. Expand
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too.
  14. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Its Different and fun and I adore it for being something that I never played before and the is really good but the story is also short but that should nt stop from having a blast with this game
  15. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    this game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endless cut scenes
    this game could be better as an anime series,as a game its abysmal and should not be played by anyone

    you better off watching a playthrough over the internet than actually playing and suffer through this repetitive and shallow gameplay,such
    a shame. Collapse
  16. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    It's more like a interactive movie but i still love the game it was very original the story was quiet good too definitely one of my favorite games my only complain is that the game is very short and the graphics needed a little more detail but overall this game is awesome good job Capcom.
  17. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like this game of curse if you don't like this type of games you will not like this one. I just found two negative things, one was the duration of the game I pass the game in four hours i didn't like that. The other thing is the stile of game all game basicly is a videos and you are like playing a cartoon, i really like it more if was parts with less video showing. Expand
  18. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    I have to say I was blown away. The game really puts you into the story and you really want to always know what happens next. Its so refreshing to play something so new and original and once you start it is so hard to put down. That said the only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because the game can be beat in about 6 hours but that is an amazing 6 hours. I can only hope that it sells well so they make a new one that can be even longer. Even though the can is a shorter one it is a experience that I'm so happy I spent 60 bucks on and didn't miss. All true gamers will appreciate this game for what it has done and bringing such a great story to life. If you are a true gamer and appreciate any kind of great game not just shooters please buy this.Really great experience from beginning to end. Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Asura is, an Interactive Anime with elements Beat'em Up. And to assess just how the game is not correct. Assess how the anime too. What happens on the screen, it's a nightmare addict. And it pleases. Difficult situation, they gave us something new that we can not explain. Thank you Capcom, for the great new IP.
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    I am not an advocate of 'interactive story telling,' especially when it costs me £24.99. I had high hopes for Asura's Wrath, it struck me as an original little nugget of brilliance in a sea of the mundane. Sadly, while it does have its moments of sheer genius, there isn't enough 'game' in this videogame to warrant a high score. There is potential in there though, and I wouldn't but outraged if they green lit some sort of sequel or successor. Expand
  21. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Asura's Wrath isn't one of those games that leads you on - it does exactly what you expect it to. For those of us who actually read up on a games story before we play it randomly, we see the pain behind all that wrath and the way he blows off steam is AWESOME. It's a great story with some serious fights and intense cut scenes. Definitely a must play!
  22. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This is not a Game , is a movie anime and Bad , Games are interact with a controller not to see endless movies about a bad story with budas , and sci-fy environments, this game value is nothing .
  23. May 30, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal game. Graphics amazing, story gripping and lots of replay value. Bought it having read reviews and was worried it wouldn't be that fun but I love this game. They took a risk and it paid off.
  24. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Game wasn't really what I was expecting but still I did play it through few times. Its fun to play and if you like to get few easy Trophies/Achievements this is the game for you. You can complete this game about in 4-7h.
  25. Apr 25, 2012
    0
    Asura's Wrath is not a game, is an interactive movie. There is a limit to the amount of QTE which may be present in these benificiarem the game experience. All Asura's Wrath is a huge seuqencia of QTE, this causes the game to call it is an offense to all the games that have already been created.
    The narrative does not help anything in this game is confusing and meaningless. Also the bosses
    and enemies are simply stupidly big and strong, but we still beat them.
    Flee from this "GAME"!!!!!!
    Expand
  26. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    When I sat down to play Asura's wrath for the first time I thought it was going to be a cheap god of war knock off. I could never have of been more wrong. The action in Asura's wrath was on a whole new level. But that is only part of what makes it such a great game. It has a fantastic intriguing story on top of all the mayhem. A lot of people are complaining that the game was more of a movie with all the cut scenes but those cut scene are what make a good story. There was no boring exploring or level cramming you fight boss after boss and take brakes between fights enjoying the progression of the story through very artistic comics and intriguing cut scenes. For all you action lovers and gamers that like a good story this is a must. MAKE SURE TO GET THE DLC WORTH IT Expand
  27. Apr 22, 2013
    4
    Utterly cliche-ridden and extremely unoriginal. There's some redeeming value in how overblown pretty much everything is, but you won't miss a thing (that has been done elsewhere, and much better) when you skip Asura's Wrath.
  28. May 28, 2012
    6
    Decent game, visuals amazing but gameplay meh.
  29. Jul 15, 2012
    6
    It's agreat game in it's own right, but it's extremely quick time heavy, which minimizes actually game-play in the game. sadly The story is incredibly good, and how it plays out like a JP anime TV show was a great idea. The graphics are okay, but nothing to get excited about. The music is breath taking, and the overall presentation is rock solid. If only it was longer, and less quick time heavy and CS heavy, this game would've got a higher score from me. Good rental Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    This game has an excellent story. It can get a bit tedious on the second play through. When you press select to skip cutscenes, it only skips a small segment of it so you have to keep spamming select to get to the actual game play. The game play its self is ok until towards the end where the game is seriously broken. Heavy attacks don't stun enemies. Quick time events towards the end (chapter 17+18) only flash for a moment before getting hit. When you are in the middle of a combo a quick time event would appear and before you relealize it, you've already pressed the wrong button.

    If you enjoy quick time events that aren't done right, then this is the game for you. God of war had quick time events perfectly made, this game didnt.

    I don't like the idea of the game starting a new chapter like some tv series. I don't want to see the credits every time I complete a level.
    Expand
  31. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    AW wastes no time thrusting the player into the shoes of Asura a Demigod tasked with protecting the world from an evil infestation that causes gigantic tentacles to rise from the earths very core and unleash a savage fury to which even the gods have a hard time contemplating, as the impurity level of all the creatures is shown on screen the source of all of it is one with a level that is to high to measure. an on rails shooter segment quickly turns into a button masher. I use all of my divine strength to diminish the evil that ravenges the earth. With the evil sealed away in the center of the earth once again it is a time for celebration. But like any anti hero Asura soon finds his quest for peace transforming into a quest for revenge, as your wife gets murdered and your daughter is kidnapped. To make matters worse Asura is framed for conspiracy and is then sent on a 12000 year quest to rid the world of evil and clear his name. The gameplay and story go hand and hand in this quest for redemption and revenge. As intriguing as the story may be the gameplay is far from being your standard button masher. Yes you primarily rely on one button to attack your foes while occasionally waiting for a QTE to occur on screen to counter an enemies attack. However the way in which you traverse each battle as well as the different opponents that you face off against offer a unique blend of challenge, that depending on how skilled you are can either be a cake walk or a pain in the @#!*% . While at first glance it may may just look like another god of war or devil may cry clone in actuality it has more in common with games like Mike Tyson's punch out.

    Now I know that that's probably one of the last games that anyone would think of referencing when playing Asura's wrath, but when you grind it down to it's core, and you think about what made Punch out on the nes so great you might see the similarities. The greatest innovation of punch out was that it wasn't just a sports tittle, it was more centered around the rhythm/timing genre in which you had to memorize every enemies set of moves until you were good enough to create a pattern that worked out best for you.
    In Asura's wrath you pretty much do the exact same thing, you have to memorize every enemies unique attack pattern so that you could develop one of your own and think of a strategy to successfully dispatch incoming threats in a way as quick and effectively as possible to get a higher rating at the end of each stage.

    The most prominent difference between this game and every other hack and slasho button masho on the market is that you don't win levels by killing enemies, instead you have a bar on top of the screen that tells you your "Rage" level defeating enough enemies, or countering enough attacks via quick time events are the two primary ways to build up your rage meter, even getting hit will slightly increase your rage meter as somewhat of a consolation. Once your meter has been filled up all the way the word "BURST" will appear on your screen indicating that you are to perform a series of quick time events to progress to the next area, this unnatural means of progression may turn off die hard action game fans, bit like I stated this isn't so much an action game as a Timing/Rhythm oriented game.

    Another great aspect that should not be overlooked is the games art style mixing together the canvas like art style of prince of Persia with sketch models via Valkiria Chronicles and well placed lighting effects you get an incredibly unique art style that looks like all the characters are made out of woodcarvings, yet are flexible enough as to avoid looking to much like a cardboard cutout during cutscenes.

    Roughly two thirds of a way into the game your perspective will be switched over to another protagonist named Yasha who's move-set is very similar to Asura's except slightly more fast paced. Though this also serves as a way to introduce new equally fast and ambitious foes at you so the slight tweak in gameplay is gradually appreciated as your new characters powers are a perfect match for your new foes. The rebel without a cause in this game who's true intentions are unknown until the ending climax is a great way of changing up the pace, though only ever so slightly it shows that the development team at least had enough common sense not to have you playing as the same obnoxious four armed hero throughout the roughly 8-10 hours that you will be playing this game. being able to view the story from different perspectives is a great way to avoid making the antagonists seem one dimensional.

    while I definitely can't recommend it to everyone the sheer scope of events that take place here are defiantly evident that a game doesn't need to follow the rule book as so many action games before it in order to be good. It's a unique game loaded with potential that will make you feel like a total bad @#!*% .
    Expand
  32. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    The first play though Of Asura's wrath is completely engrossing, The story is brilliantly told and the game and cut scene's look amazing, I didn't want to turn this game off until I'd completely finished it and experienced The full story..

    The game isn't to shabby either, easy control's, the character mechanics are fluent and well animated. and there is a large amount of enemies to keep
    you guessing..

    Right now this game can be picked up for $20 (AUD) or less and is definitely worth your time, if your a fan of action anime's or action videogames this is one you should not miss!
    Expand
  33. May 8, 2013
    10
    The most epic story ever, with a really good ending that no games have.... Don't F*cking miss it !!!
    It's really one of the best game Capcom ever made. This is an incredible game.
  34. Jan 27, 2013
    1
    the only quality is being short. Most of the time you will just watch. The game does not offer any incentive to continue after the end of the campaign, unless an extension of the final animation, which can be worse than the original ending.
  35. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This game... forget it. Go play this game. Nothing I say can help you understand the sheer amount of monumentally amazing action that this game has. If you like anime, then this is a must play. If you haven't already played this game, your probably not interested anyways, but take my word, you will not be disappointed. However, if your not into anime, QTE, or things that are awesome, then you probably wont appreciate it for what it is. As a game, its technically not that good, but as an interactive anime, its a masterpiece! Expand
  36. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    got this game for $20. I've been warching Anime as a kid; my first was Mobile Suit Gundam followed by BT'x, Zenki, Tenchi Muyo, and you know the rest. The atmosphere has similarities to Gurren Laggan and Jojo with its shameless flaunting of unfathomable ridiculousness. It's a great game for Anime lovers but I won't recommend it to Westerners as they don't have an open mind to such things.
  37. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Playing this games has been like watching an anime for me, with a higher price-tag by the way. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone but I had tons of fun playing it. It's crazy animations and combos sometimes become somehow repetitive. At the same time it's been a joy playing through it and even though it has some ups and downs, my overall feeling towards this game is very positive. We are going to see from now on and since MGS4 more and more argument oriented and movie like games as it seems the overall goal of every game designer is to become sort of a movie director. We have seen such trend happening in the past with interactive adventures such as Dragons Lair and it is likely to come back as well. This game is flawed in the sense that is neither an anime nor a video game but somehow manages to draw from both genres and deliver a product that for me was a likable experience that leaves a nice aftertaste. From the point of view of an anime you could expect more juice and for the same reason you should expect more out for the video game. One think that I hated from it is new fad of giving you content that should be there in the game in the form of a DLC, it's a rip off and inexcusable, that's why I rented instead of bought this game in the first place. Capcom doesn't care at all for customer satisfaction, and when they still deliver good products will do fine, but as soon as their franchises start failing fans will turn against them and in the end is US the hardcore gamers the ones who keep this industry alive. Lucasarts can be anyone. Expand
  38. May 4, 2013
    7
    This game is amazing especially for the fans of anime. An amazing soundtrack, the art design in this game is just sublime. The story is interesting and you really want to know what will happen in the end, the character are very well made and their personally and voice acting is amazing. The biggest problem my be the gameplay...the fighting scenes are very good and the quick time events are well made but unfortunately this game was made almost like a tv show, with those breaking scenes like is going to a commercial and that breaks a bit of the action of the game and most of the episodes are more to see then actually to play. Expand
  39. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    One of the most underrated games i have ever played. Asura's Wrath can be summed up in two words: an Epic Experience. If you are an anime fan of any sort, this is a must buy. This is one of the few games i can actually skip past the gameplay and get invested in the story.

    The story is just great. Everything is just so enthralling and engaging that you will feel engaged to the story from
    beginning to end. There are so many epic moments i can't count them all at the top of my head. The story is also pretty damn sad and tragic to the point that there were moments i started to tear up. The characters are well done. There is the extremely relatable and badass protagonist, the very cool anti-hero, the cool bad guy, emotional helpers to the hero and the bad guy you hate and they are all done well.

    The music is some of the best music i have ever heard in a video game. Wind Fang and Vajra Deus vs Vajra Asura alone are just two examples of how great this soundtrack is and it makes every scene even more epic than it usually is.

    I honestly don't know why this game got hate from reviews. If you know you are going to experience more of an anime instead of a game, why hate on it. Every single aspect of this game is done extremely well. If The Walking Dead did it and got away with it, why can't Asura's Wrath? However, this is a game that you need to play for yourself to see if you like the game or not. I highly recommend this game to anyone interested in a literal "epic".
    Expand
  40. Feb 22, 2014
    3
    Flat out....THIS IS NOT A GAME.

    I have no problems with games having alot and or long as hell cut scene. Metal Gear does it all the time but it is a game by default. Asura's Wrath on the other hand is a 4 hour long interactive movie with no more then 20 minutes of real hands on game play and a god awful amount of "quick time" button mashing events.

    Now I will give it this, the
    graphics, art direction and use of cinema style presentation were done very well, but I wanted to play a game not watch a freakin movie. The idea of a game with this much back story and content should place you right in the shoes of the avatar and explore the world and watch the plot unfold as you play the role of Asura. What if you went and picked up lets say Final Fantasy 7 back in the 90's, you pop[ed that into your console and you had absolutely not controller of the game and all it did was TELL YOU and story instead of you PLAYING the story and embracing the discovery of what lies down the road and around ever corner. That the idea of a game.

    I'll wrap all this up with this, Asura's Wrath had all the right notes to compose into something wonderful, however the ones that were in control and responsible for arranging those notes together were completely tone def and devoid of reasoning since they set out to make a game and they just lost sight of the goal
    Expand
  41. Jun 21, 2014
    1
    Asura's Wrath is an interactive manga comic. I clearly did not know enough about the game or it's source material before I picked it up. The main character is a time travelling space man/god who's trying to get revenge from those who betrayed him. The controls are horrific, its button mashing mixed with QTEs. The game is just so ludicrous I couldn't resist playing most of it with the Japanese language soundtrack just to pander to how ridiculously bad this game is and how uninteresting and cliche the story is. I'm giving it a 1 for ambition. I'm fairly certain this is one of the worst PS3 games I've ever played, possibly one of the worst games ever. Remember, interactive comic ooooooohhhhhh 1/10 Expand
  42. Jul 13, 2014
    8
    If you're one who considers themselves into "Hype" or just all out over the top action on a literally EPIC scale, this game scratches that niche, although the gameplay is rough for some to look past, it is not abysmal and can still feel very rewarding at times, although the fodder enemy fights as filler DO become a grind, the boss fights and cinematics are where this game really kicks it off, and it only gets bigger as you go, although completed in a day, you'll feel as though you've finished an entire anime, if you're into anime like Gurren Lagann, where things just get crazier and bigger and just ridiculously cool, give it a shot, if the gameplay isn't your thing, the story may just keep you locked in. All in all, get it for cheap, but not dirt cheap definitely a fantastic story with a thrilling soundtrack and art style to go with it, something new and fresh, but the gameplay is not for everybody, if you're looking for a cinematic heavy game with a story to tell this is definitely something to look at. A story of truly epic proportion. Expand
  43. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    Asura's Wrath
    Game-play:It's nice fun and simple you feel like and angry god like you suppose to be,when you play it is more like you play an anime and that is awesome.
    Story:The story is fun and well made but is short about 5 to 6 hours I really like the whole revenge thing but the down fall of this game is that the true ending is on DLC.
    Graphics:The graphics are very good it's like
    you expected all anime style.
    Notes:The boss battles are great and the characters are awesome,I totally recommend this game to anyone how is anime fun.
    Expand
  44. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    The story of Asura's wrath is about a demigod who has had his wife and child taken from him and now he is on a rampage to kill the other sef-proclaimed deities. Sound familiar? God of War, maybe? Asura's wrath certainly seems like a God of War game that is inspired by Japanese mythology instead of Greek mythology at first, but as you play you soon realize that it has its own unique style. The visuals in this game is incredible to say the least! The art-style in this game is spectacular and seamlessly blends Japanese fantasy and science fiction into one of the most stunning games to look at. The gameplay is great too. Asura's wrath cleverly blends action, beat em up, and quick timed events into a cohesive interactive anime. However the game does have its faults. One of the biggest problems I had with the game were the characters. Aside from just not being that likeable, I have never seen more static group of characters in my life. Characters are suppose to be dynamic and develop as the story progresses, but these characters are flat! Asura remains the same throughout the whole story and solves all of his problems by breaking stuff.And I know what you're thinking, "But all Kratos does is break stuff," and yes that's true but Kratos actually has layers to him. Kratos shows mixed emotions towards the deeds he has done, and you see him suffer and regret the decisions he's made. But all this game teaches is that to fix your problems, all you need to do is get angry! I know that the characters are suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, and I know that Asura's suppose to represent the sin of wrath. I get that. Bu you could atleast make it a sin! If you take away his anger, Asura is just an impulsive child who throws a temper-tantrum whenever he doesn't get what he wants. I understand that they're suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, but that doesn't mean that that has to be their only personality trait. Over all Asura's wrath is an amazing game that looks and plays great, but the characters and story leaves much to be desired. Expand
  45. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    this game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endless cut scenes
    this game could be better as an anime series,as a game its abysmal and should not be played by anyone

    you better off watching a playthrough over the internet than actually playing and suffer through this repetitive and shallow gameplay,such
    a shame. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]
  2. Those who do not care about the crazy Japanese aesthetics or the not so subtle references to popular anime, may ask them the question if the actual gameplay is any good at all. Well, it is. Sort of. [April 2012, p.66]
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    67
    Far too short. [Issue#216, p.76]