Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, AsuraOnce a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, Asura is now able to unleash devastating attacks and wreak havoc as he battles against the deities who have wronged him and their earthly forces. Inspired by episodic dramas, Asura's Wrath will be split into distinct sections with gameplay and narrative unfolding as one and building to a final climatic conclusion. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    You could quite easily just watch Asura's Wrath and be raucously entertained; the fact that it places you firmly in the centre of the action makes its achievements all the more impressive.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Asura's Wrath is not a game for everybody – it's special and unique. CyberConnect 2 managed to offer the player a high speed game with a lot of story- oments and cinematic storytelling.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a unique experience, and despite underdeveloped gameplay mechanics and little real replayability it's extremely fun while it lasts. The art-style is superb, with likeable characters, and when the outstanding music kicks in, the game offers some truly epic moments – the sort that you will remember, and want to experience all over again.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    74
    The story is well-told and very well-presented. Otherwise, this game's graphics are a mixed bunch. Control-wise, there's just too little player input required to perform the grotesque things seen on screen.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Did it engross me? Yes it did. Did it frustrate me? Yes, it did that too. Did I want to keep playing? Of course, but only because I wanted to see what happened next, not because I wanted to keep playing. Unfortunately, even for a console title that's as over-the-top as Asura's Wrath, that's an inescapable flaw.
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath is uncompromising, testing the limits of what a game is, and in taking this approach it's a compelling, often invigorating, piece of software. However, at just six hours long - a couple of hours longer if you want to unlock absolutely everything by gaining S ranks on each episode and choose to watch every cut scene again - with gameplay that amounts to far less than that time might suggest, it's a tough sell as a full price title.
  7. [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 10 out of 45
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends canThis is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Expand
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Asura's wrath is one of those game that divides mainstream from art. This game is an art piece. Of course like most of art it doesn't receivesAsura's wrath is one of those game that divides mainstream from art. This game is an art piece. Of course like most of art it doesn't receives such high acclaim like most of the mindless games nowadays. Personally I don't care, it was worth 50â Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Interactive Anime
    This game suceeds on all levels, except for one small part. Some good things are the mix of Japanese Mythology and science
    Interactive Anime
    This game suceeds on all levels, except for one small part. Some good things are the mix of Japanese Mythology and science fiction graphics looks fantastic, and the gameplay is very fun and over-the-top epic. But, the cutscenes, though amazing, are too plentiful. Sometimes it feels as if you are watching an anime and clicking buttons in some spots. This is further implemented due to low difficulty. This will either be a good or bad thing, depending on the person. Alltogether, i found this game thrilling and action packed. Some may not but they should at least give it a try and rent it.
    Collapse
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    The first play though Of Asura's wrath is completely engrossing, The story is brilliantly told and the game and cut scene's look amazing, IThe first play though Of Asura's wrath is completely engrossing, The story is brilliantly told and the game and cut scene's look amazing, I didn't want to turn this game off until I'd completely finished it and experienced The full story..

    The game isn't to shabby either, easy control's, the character mechanics are fluent and well animated. and there is a large amount of enemies to keep you guessing..

    Right now this game can be picked up for $20 (AUD) or less and is definitely worth your time, if your a fan of action anime's or action videogames this is one you should not miss!
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    I totally understand many gamer's frustration towards Asura's wrath. The problem here is how you approach the game. I used to think this wouldI totally understand many gamer's frustration towards Asura's wrath. The problem here is how you approach the game. I used to think this would be a new God of War but it became very clear to me that this would not be the case (specially after de demo). It is, indeed, a short game and more of an interactive, fighting/shooting QTE made experience (like Child of Eden or even Heavy Rain). But we must not forget why we play games; it's not about pushing buttons only, it's about how we feel, how that particular software touches us, moves us. And Asura's Wrath is a beautiful, haunting, compelling game. It's a great tale of revenge and one that everybody will like to see to the end. Good, solid game. Expand
  6. May 28, 2012
    6
    Decent game, visuals amazing but gameplay meh.
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    this game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endlessthis game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endless cut scenes
    this game could be better as an anime series,as a game its abysmal and should not be played by anyone

    you better off watching a playthrough over the internet than actually playing and suffer through this repetitive and shallow gameplay,such a shame.
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews