Asura's Wrath PlayStation 3

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, AsuraOnce a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, Asura is now able to unleash devastating attacks and wreak havoc as he battles against the deities who have wronged him and their earthly forces. Inspired by episodic dramas, Asura's Wrath will be split into distinct sections with gameplay and narrative unfolding as one and building to a final climatic conclusion. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    You could quite easily just watch Asura's Wrath and be raucously entertained; the fact that it places you firmly in the centre of the action makes its achievements all the more impressive.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Asura's Wrath is not a game for everybody – it's special and unique. CyberConnect 2 managed to offer the player a high speed game with a lot of story- oments and cinematic storytelling.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a unique experience, and despite underdeveloped gameplay mechanics and little real replayability it's extremely fun while it lasts. The art-style is superb, with likeable characters, and when the outstanding music kicks in, the game offers some truly epic moments – the sort that you will remember, and want to experience all over again.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    74
    The story is well-told and very well-presented. Otherwise, this game's graphics are a mixed bunch. Control-wise, there's just too little player input required to perform the grotesque things seen on screen.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Did it engross me? Yes it did. Did it frustrate me? Yes, it did that too. Did I want to keep playing? Of course, but only because I wanted to see what happened next, not because I wanted to keep playing. Unfortunately, even for a console title that's as over-the-top as Asura's Wrath, that's an inescapable flaw.
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath is uncompromising, testing the limits of what a game is, and in taking this approach it's a compelling, often invigorating, piece of software. However, at just six hours long - a couple of hours longer if you want to unlock absolutely everything by gaining S ranks on each episode and choose to watch every cut scene again - with gameplay that amounts to far less than that time might suggest, it's a tough sell as a full price title.
  7. [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 10 out of 46
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends canThis is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Collapse
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Asura's wrath is one of those game that divides mainstream from art. This game is an art piece. Of course like most of art it doesn't receivesAsura's wrath is one of those game that divides mainstream from art. This game is an art piece. Of course like most of art it doesn't receives such high acclaim like most of the mindless games nowadays. Personally I don't care, it was worth 50â Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Interactive Anime
    This game suceeds on all levels, except for one small part. Some good things are the mix of Japanese Mythology and science
    Interactive Anime
    This game suceeds on all levels, except for one small part. Some good things are the mix of Japanese Mythology and science fiction graphics looks fantastic, and the gameplay is very fun and over-the-top epic. But, the cutscenes, though amazing, are too plentiful. Sometimes it feels as if you are watching an anime and clicking buttons in some spots. This is further implemented due to low difficulty. This will either be a good or bad thing, depending on the person. Alltogether, i found this game thrilling and action packed. Some may not but they should at least give it a try and rent it.
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    The story of Asura's wrath is about a demigod who has had his wife and child taken from him and now he is on a rampage to kill the otherThe story of Asura's wrath is about a demigod who has had his wife and child taken from him and now he is on a rampage to kill the other sef-proclaimed deities. Sound familiar? God of War, maybe? Asura's wrath certainly seems like a God of War game that is inspired by Japanese mythology instead of Greek mythology at first, but as you play you soon realize that it has its own unique style. The visuals in this game is incredible to say the least! The art-style in this game is spectacular and seamlessly blends Japanese fantasy and science fiction into one of the most stunning games to look at. The gameplay is great too. Asura's wrath cleverly blends action, beat em up, and quick timed events into a cohesive interactive anime. However the game does have its faults. One of the biggest problems I had with the game were the characters. Aside from just not being that likeable, I have never seen more static group of characters in my life. Characters are suppose to be dynamic and develop as the story progresses, but these characters are flat! Asura remains the same throughout the whole story and solves all of his problems by breaking stuff.And I know what you're thinking, "But all Kratos does is break stuff," and yes that's true but Kratos actually has layers to him. Kratos shows mixed emotions towards the deeds he has done, and you see him suffer and regret the decisions he's made. But all this game teaches is that to fix your problems, all you need to do is get angry! I know that the characters are suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, and I know that Asura's suppose to represent the sin of wrath. I get that. Bu you could atleast make it a sin! If you take away his anger, Asura is just an impulsive child who throws a temper-tantrum whenever he doesn't get what he wants. I understand that they're suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, but that doesn't mean that that has to be their only personality trait. Over all Asura's wrath is an amazing game that looks and plays great, but the characters and story leaves much to be desired. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Game wasn't really what I was expecting but still I did play it through few times. Its fun to play and if you like to get few easyGame wasn't really what I was expecting but still I did play it through few times. Its fun to play and if you like to get few easy Trophies/Achievements this is the game for you. You can complete this game about in 4-7h. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. played the demo first, and although the gameplay didn't convince me, I totally loved the excesive action and epicness involved with the two bosses showed (Wyzen and Augus). So I took the full game hoping to see the best fights yet, but little did I know that the demos were the best fights in the game. The gameplay is forgettable, and it's certainly nothing memorable. You have 3 choices: On rails shooting sections, third person brawler and the endless quicktime events. Of these, the brawler parts are probably the most interesting, sadly they lack the finesse and responsiveness of god of war, it feels chaotic and more akin to mashing buttons than actually building combos........mash square, mash square, mash square, mash X to dodge, keep mashing square...... until you finally fill a power bar that sends everything to hell (and no, this wasn't in easy mode, it was in hard mode). But I can forgive the gameplay if at least the game had provided the awesome fights I expected, the game even comits the sin of overhyping itself. The first boss is the "planet guy" (wyzen) from the demo, and after you defeat him his 6 remaining buddies start to brag about how he was the "weakest one of them". You of course start to dream of the amazing battles to come, wich only makes them the more dissapointing. 3 of the bosses (sergei, olga, and kalrow) you don't even fight they just die out of the sudden in the most stupid ways during cutscenes, 2 are worthy of the task but end up having little screentime (deus, augus) and the other ends up being your buddy and the second playable character (sasha). At the end you end up feeling cheated, and it seems like the developers were short on cash or something as the game feels incomplete. My advise, rent it before, and only buy it if you fancy the artstyle. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    this game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endlessthis game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endless cut scenes
    this game could be better as an anime series,as a game its abysmal and should not be played by anyone

    you better off watching a playthrough over the internet than actually playing and suffer through this repetitive and shallow gameplay,such a shame.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews