Asura's Wrath PlayStation 3

Asura's Wrath Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, AsuraOnce a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, Asura is now able to unleash devastating attacks and wreak havoc as he battles against the deities who have wronged him and their earthly forces. Inspired by episodic dramas, Asura's Wrath will be split into distinct sections with gameplay and narrative unfolding as one and building to a final climatic conclusion. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    You could quite easily just watch Asura's Wrath and be raucously entertained; the fact that it places you firmly in the centre of the action makes its achievements all the more impressive.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Asura's Wrath is not a game for everybody – it's special and unique. CyberConnect 2 managed to offer the player a high speed game with a lot of story- oments and cinematic storytelling.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a unique experience, and despite underdeveloped gameplay mechanics and little real replayability it's extremely fun while it lasts. The art-style is superb, with likeable characters, and when the outstanding music kicks in, the game offers some truly epic moments – the sort that you will remember, and want to experience all over again.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    74
    The story is well-told and very well-presented. Otherwise, this game's graphics are a mixed bunch. Control-wise, there's just too little player input required to perform the grotesque things seen on screen.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Did it engross me? Yes it did. Did it frustrate me? Yes, it did that too. Did I want to keep playing? Of course, but only because I wanted to see what happened next, not because I wanted to keep playing. Unfortunately, even for a console title that's as over-the-top as Asura's Wrath, that's an inescapable flaw.
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Asura's Wrath is uncompromising, testing the limits of what a game is, and in taking this approach it's a compelling, often invigorating, piece of software. However, at just six hours long - a couple of hours longer if you want to unlock absolutely everything by gaining S ranks on each episode and choose to watch every cut scene again - with gameplay that amounts to far less than that time might suggest, it's a tough sell as a full price title.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    40
    [W]e put the controller down (during a 'gameplay' sequence) and watched in stunned frustration as the game continued on happily playing itself for six minutes. It's inconceivable that there are gameplay levels that cannot be failed or be changed by your actions. Even Dragon's Lair, the game that birthed the concept 29 years ago, had consequences. [April 2012, p66]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends canThis is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    This game is amazing for people who know anime. I recommend to play this game for it's story and gameplay style as well. If your into a gameThis game is amazing for people who know anime. I recommend to play this game for it's story and gameplay style as well. If your into a game where you have to be brute, straight forward and be a bad ass main character, then this is the game for you. Try it out on the demo where you fight against memorable foes that made me sold to buy this game. You also get the quick time events in the cut scenes plus in the gameplay itself that will give you the feel your inside the story it self battling and throwing punches at your enemy that gives a satisfying feel to it. It also happens in the gameplay itself which will reward you greatly how you counter attack your enemies for a major crushing blow. So once again, if your into anime fighting style games, I really recommend you get one from amazon.com. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like this game of curse if you don't like this type of games you will not like this one. I just found two negative things, one was the duration of the game I pass the game in four hours i didn't like that. The other thing is the stile of game all game basicly is a videos and you are like playing a cartoon, i really like it more if was parts with less video showing. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    The story of Asura's wrath is about a demigod who has had his wife and child taken from him and now he is on a rampage to kill the otherThe story of Asura's wrath is about a demigod who has had his wife and child taken from him and now he is on a rampage to kill the other sef-proclaimed deities. Sound familiar? God of War, maybe? Asura's wrath certainly seems like a God of War game that is inspired by Japanese mythology instead of Greek mythology at first, but as you play you soon realize that it has its own unique style. The visuals in this game is incredible to say the least! The art-style in this game is spectacular and seamlessly blends Japanese fantasy and science fiction into one of the most stunning games to look at. The gameplay is great too. Asura's wrath cleverly blends action, beat em up, and quick timed events into a cohesive interactive anime. However the game does have its faults. One of the biggest problems I had with the game were the characters. Aside from just not being that likeable, I have never seen more static group of characters in my life. Characters are suppose to be dynamic and develop as the story progresses, but these characters are flat! Asura remains the same throughout the whole story and solves all of his problems by breaking stuff.And I know what you're thinking, "But all Kratos does is break stuff," and yes that's true but Kratos actually has layers to him. Kratos shows mixed emotions towards the deeds he has done, and you see him suffer and regret the decisions he's made. But all this game teaches is that to fix your problems, all you need to do is get angry! I know that the characters are suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, and I know that Asura's suppose to represent the sin of wrath. I get that. Bu you could atleast make it a sin! If you take away his anger, Asura is just an impulsive child who throws a temper-tantrum whenever he doesn't get what he wants. I understand that they're suppose to represent the seven deadly sins, but that doesn't mean that that has to be their only personality trait. Over all Asura's wrath is an amazing game that looks and plays great, but the characters and story leaves much to be desired. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    Graphics:8/10
    Plot:8/10
    Gameplay:4/10 Cutscenes:10/10 Characters:9/10 Amazing cutscenes and a really nice plot but the gameplay is
    Graphics:8/10
    Plot:8/10
    Gameplay:4/10
    Cutscenes:10/10
    Characters:9/10

    Amazing cutscenes and a really nice plot but the gameplay is extremely boring when you rarely need to play.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    6
    It's agreat game in it's own right, but it's extremely quick time heavy, which minimizes actually game-play in the game. sadly The story isIt's agreat game in it's own right, but it's extremely quick time heavy, which minimizes actually game-play in the game. sadly The story is incredibly good, and how it plays out like a JP anime TV show was a great idea. The graphics are okay, but nothing to get excited about. The music is breath taking, and the overall presentation is rock solid. If only it was longer, and less quick time heavy and CS heavy, this game would've got a higher score from me. Good rental Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    this game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endlessthis game is horrible. just a mindless uninspired QTE sections combined with a mindless shallow gameplay and all that just to watch endless cut scenes
    this game could be better as an anime series,as a game its abysmal and should not be played by anyone

    you better off watching a playthrough over the internet than actually playing and suffer through this repetitive and shallow gameplay,such a shame.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews