Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    100
    For Atelier veterans, Rorona Plus deftly addresses pretty much every criticism that could be levelled at the original Rorona while providing plenty of new content to enjoy. For Atelier newcomers, this is a solid, enjoyable and charming game that marks an ideal entry point into the broader series as a whole.
  2. 100
    The Rorona remake isn't a massive change over the original game. And it didn't need to be. The original had all the ideas right, but was a little raw on execution. The remake shows that GUST has in subsequent games refined the experience significantly, and now Rorona is now up to the standard of its fellows in the series.
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    90
    In conclusion, if you are picking it up for the first time, this is obviously the version to get. This is an improvement in so many ways - including navigation of Arland, swappable costumes, and everything you can harvest from such as wells, are highlighted.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    If Atelier Rorona Plus has taught us anything, it's that you can probably mix one up out of an old piece of paper and a couple of pebbles.
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    88
    Atelier Rorona Plus: The Alchemist of Arland, while not perfect, is an improvement over the 2010 version.
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    85
    Whether you’ve already experienced the world of Rorona or are looking to check it out for the first time, you won’t be disappointed.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    85
    Atelier Rorona Plus may not reinvent the role-playing genre, but it does add new life to the poorly-received 2010 game. By fixing many of the original game's problems (including combat, crafting, exploring, visuals, etc.), the developers have turned an otherwise middling RPG into one of this year's most surprising releases.
  8. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    If the original Atelier Rorona's major drawbacks and barriers to entry were its difficulty and time-consuming crafting, then Rorona Plus fixed one and made the other less relevant.
  9. Jun 27, 2014
    80
    It's not a perfect game: the visuals are dated, the combat spikes wildly at the end of the game, and the character interactions can be total anime cheese. However, it's a game in which I cared more about the characters and story than most boilerplate save-the-world JRPG melodramas.
  10. 75
    Atelier Rorona Plus is good value for those wanting to enjoy the end of the Arland trilogy on PS Vita. If you have purposely skipped this game the first time around, nothing about this version will change your mind. Still, Koei Tecmo and Atelier fans will not regret picking it up.
  11. Jul 8, 2014
    75
    Atelier Rorona Plus offers some playable enhancements which will help newcomers to enjoy Atelier's world. It also offers improvements in characters modelling and time management system, but aside from that, it doesn't offer anything new to the saga's vets.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Dec 10, 2014
    2
    This is an angry rant on Atelier Rorona Plus because the original review posted got taken down. And this will continue to be reposted becauseThis is an angry rant on Atelier Rorona Plus because the original review posted got taken down. And this will continue to be reposted because I paid 50$ for this game on the playstation store, and played this nightmare through to the end so I earned the right to speak out. Everyone will know how bad this game truely is.

    - Right off the bat, the game begins with a 30 minute tutorial, explaining synthesis, and how to recruit party members. Doesn't even give time for the player to collect their thoughts or look around as all areas are blocked off with invisible walls until it's over. Don't start your games like this!!! It makes new players feel uncomfortable having to process so much information at once. And not everyone can. And if skipped, they won't know what they're even doing. Break up your tutorials piece by piece; don't dump it all at once!

    - This game has good story, graphics, voice acting, and atmosphere, but fails to do everything else right.

    - A knight named Sterk gives you assignments to complete throughout the game. They range between crafting and killing monster. Miss one assignment within the in-game timer and it's game over, and you have to reload a save. All of this is just house chores! Here's what gameplay is like: you go out and kill monsters, collect ingredients, return to watch cut-scene, synthesis, then turn in assignments for your next headache! Rinse & repeat about 200 times! This isn't fun!!! Any real gamer can see that these are mini side-quests forming into the main quest storyline. You have to do them too, which is the torture of it all. It is boring and unacceptable for today's gaming. The game attempts to color it's synthesis menu by giving you a variety of things to make. But the problem is you end up making the same thing 20 times during gameplay. And when you run out of ingredients, you'll magically notice an assignment involving an item you just did 10 minutes ago!!! **** ARP!

    - This game continues to taunt players with what could have been a really enjoyable battle system. But it's destroyed by the in-game timer described above!

    - The deafening soundtrack will destroy you if you don't download the free BGM DLC on the store, because the few good songs isn't worth sticking it out for.

    - There is no enjoyment for doing anything outside of cut-scenes. I paid 50$ of my own money on the playstation store to tell everyone if this game was worth it, and it was some of the worst 30 hours of my life.

    Fortunately, Atelier Rorona Plus isn't the worst game I've ever played, but it's still pretty bad. I feel sorry for the developers who actually had to make this crap because this game isn't fun. No one should buy this game. No one needs to endure this torture.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    its a good game. compra ae mano, é bom serio, testado, aprovado e selado com o selo rick felix(feliz) de qualidade, hu3hu3hu3 brbrbr, aprovaits a good game. compra ae mano, é bom serio, testado, aprovado e selado com o selo rick felix(feliz) de qualidade, hu3hu3hu3 brbrbr, aprova ae manos, vlw, flw Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2017
    8
    This was my first game in the series for me. Playing it during my Playstation Now subscription, I wasn't expecting much. Atelier Rorona wasThis was my first game in the series for me. Playing it during my Playstation Now subscription, I wasn't expecting much. Atelier Rorona was a colorful blend of the right amount of anime humor, item creation and good ol' turn based RPG combat for me. Sadly, my subscription ended and I haven't gotten a chance to get back into this. But I certainly intend to at a later time.
    When I was playing, I had fun. Period.
    Full Review »