Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Atelier Rorona is an all new alchemy RPG developed by Gust the creators of Mana Khemia and Ar tonelico
    series for the PS2. This all new game adopts a breathtaking anime 3D graphics while retaining the
    classic RPG feel of the Atelier series. Players can spent countless hours adventuring
    unexplored lands and synthesize rare items. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 90
    Rorona continues the grand tradition of creating an RPG experience that is all about the simplicities of life, coupled with the usual great cast of characters, and is a complete must for fans of the series.
  2. Atelier Rororna should appeal to series fans and newcomers alike. Gust did a fine job with this game and it's well worth your consideration if you're in the market for a solid JRPG.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    77
    A comparatively shallow RPG, but fun and accessible. [Issue#198, p.94]
  4. With multiple endings and an easy but deep synthesis system, this game will easily net you 25+ hours without breaking a sweat.
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    65
    There's light and shadow within Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland. While the presentation as well as the fighting system are a good approach for children, the alchemy system is hard as a rock. WTF dialogue accompanies the game, and so it's not worth a recommendation.
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    60
    Like labelmate Trinity Universe, Atelier Rorona is a hard game to dislike, but it ultimately feels a little too tied to JRPG convention for its ideas to bear fruit. It might be admirable for a game to promote such a diligent work ethic, but it never quite rewards you handsomely enough for your efforts.
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    Atelier Rorona is not directed specifically to RPG fans, but rather adventurous young girls who will take their first steps in a world of stylish packaging and simple, but repetitive, routines.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Great JRPG game!! Sure the background are simple texture but the cel-shaded 3D is excellent and most of the time it's 60fps @ 1080p!! The hand drawn artwork are nice, the music is catchy and the story is simple and fun... for any true JRPG fans out there, I recommend this game!! This game has a time limit as you need to complete assignments and such at a certain time. If you love to mix things and Alchemy is one of the skills you enjoy, this game has it all... Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    The Gust games have become a true favorite of mine, and Atelier Rorona is one of my absolute favorites among all RPGs for combining a fun and engaging alchemy system to play with while flooding the world with lovable and humorous characters.

    The Atelier games are, at their core, probably more aimed at a female crowd than most RPGs, (and Rorona isn't just a female lead, she even wears pink!) and it's obvious that not everyone seems to care for trying something different, but if you have ever enjoyed a game's crafting system for its own sake rather than just to get something out of it, then this game is built specifically to cater to the player who enjoys building more than smashing things. (As well as humorous vignettes about pies that come to life and attack their creator afterwards.)

    Overall, there are few flaws with this game, (It does become annoying to try to get all the endings, since you have to go back a whole third of the game to try to unqualify yourself for some of the endings to see the endings that have lower priority.) but I can happily call it one of the most engaging games I've ever played, and something that any serious RPG player should try, just to experience something different. In many cases, most of the negative reviews I see for this game are based simply upon its difference, and it's a shame to see it that way. Rorona and Gust in general have a lot to teach the RPG community, and it's a pity that the game isn't approached with a willingness to try something a little different.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Absolutely charming. The looks might be simple in terms of graphical tech but the art direction is great and the characters are really fun and charming plus the OST is amazing. This game focuses on character relations (also determines multiple endings, which adds lots of replay) and synthesizing. The synthesizing is deep and very addicting but does incorporate time management, so if you hate time management better stay away. Combat is very minimal and used only to simulate light dungeon crawling to gather materials to synthesize. If you are expecting a more traditional fight oriented JRPG like the atelier iris games you might want to look elsewhere as the iris series is completely different focus, this game is more like the original atelier games. Also this a planned trilogy so if you like it you can watch your fav characters grow and see new characters added to the family with each installment. If you enjoy simple relaxing story with slice of life feel, great character interactions and addictive gameplay then you should check it out. This game was just a relaxing refreshing experience and very welcome to this gen. I loved it. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    Although graphically poor, Atelier Rorona is quite innovative since no Atelier game made it to Europe before. The crafting system is really hooking and makes your brain overheat at times. Character design is fabulous (NISA really rocks for that). The sense of humor is brilliant, I had a lot of laugh quite of few times, which doesn't happen that much in today's JRPGs. Time and progession system are also pretty good, since it makes the difficulty very well balanced. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2010
    7
    One play-through and I still couldn't understand where the critics' praise for the company's graphical transition comes from. Sure, the game doesn't look bad, but it doesn't look good either. The 'vibrant' town were of a bunch of low poly blobs and awkward textures with far too many invisible walls. The dungeons were okay but the battle environment was just downright painful to look at. Battle animation was nothing to write anywhere about. The character models look nice, but you'll always feel like you should've been able to play a little dress-up now and then.

    That said, the game was immensely enjoyable, soothing and relaxing, perfect for a weekend break or an evening after a hard day. Alchemy is fun, and as you progress into the game, each success really feels like a success. Also of note are the sprites used in conversation, Rorona has some of the most beautifully composed cleavage which will have you staring for a long long time. ;)

    In summary, there are things which could have been better but Atelier Rorona does what it does just right.
    Collapse
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    I like this game. It is my first atelier game, and I dont normally play that type of game. But I really liked the lightness of it, it's a great break from action and difficult titles that I am used to playing.

    The characters are the main part of this game I think, and they are great. The rumours really are true about Gusts character design.
    The gameplay, well the combat was average. I think its a common problem with these types of games also, but you can't really play them without reading a guide looking for the "flags". The alchemy system is pretty good and deep, because the games emphasis is on it.

    Yeah... I want to write more, but theres not much to really write about. It's just a nice break from normal games, very cute and charming with a light storyline. Many endings for people who like that, but personally I dislike that level of grinding.
    Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    I'm not going to lie I haven't played the pre-Iris days of this franchise. Mana Khemia was what got me into this series. Now I don't mind not having to save the word or playing a game where I'm not going on some grand quest. For the most part you'll be finding ingredients to make a bunch of things for a kingdom, some of your friends, and other people. And I'd be perfectly content doing that. However this game walks in with a serve injury that cripples it the entire time. The imposing time limit which is attached to everything you do. I could only play this game for 4 hours before the seer claustrophobic feeling made never want to touch it again which really is a shame since I might have liked everything else the game had to offer. Now for those who can handle the overbearing feeling of time may enjoy this but I wouldn't recommend this game purely for how overbearing the time limits are. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews