Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    It's About Time sure lives up to its name. It's about freaking time we got to see a decent attempt at a game based on Back to the Future.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    An excellent start to their latest episodic adventure.
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    For one thing, it's 20% cheaper at $20 in comparison to the PC version's $25 price tag. When you factor in the Trophies that encourage you to tackle some of the game's puzzles and conversations in different ways, I offer the same level of recommendation for this iteration.
  4. Telltale has absolutely nailed the feel of the franchise and the charming visuals are a treat. Christopher Lloyd is great as Doc Brown and newcomer A.J. LoCascio's impersonation of Michael J. Fox's Marty has to be heard to be believed. The music, a blend of cues from Alan Silvestri's memorable original score with a hint of Huey Lewis, is near perfect. [April 2011, p.81]
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    Telltale Games is bringing back the Back to the Future through games in episodes. The gameplay is traditional point and click and the humor is pretty cool. The voice-acting, the puzzles, the gameplay, most of the main elements are better than okay. Every fan of the Back to the Future films or point and click adventures will have some fun.
  6. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    Brimming with fan-service, Back to the Future tickles the funny bone more than it taxes the brain, but we're guessing fans of the time-traveling film trilogy wouldn't want it any other way.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    The control is a little off and I get this feeling the whole thing would be better on PC but either way, Telltale, Christopher Lloyd, Bob Gale (writer), and the rest of the crew haven't disappointed their fans.
  8. Feb 16, 2011
    80
    The game's funny and clever if not a bit simple, but it's an enjoyable ride fans shouldn't miss.
  9. Feb 25, 2011
    75
    Despite its short length and easy puzzles, this episodic adventure still captivates with strong storytelling and compelling characters.
  10. Apr 21, 2011
    71
    An oversimplified but enjoyable counterpart to the Back To The Future films. [Issue#204, p.96]
  11. Feb 26, 2011
    70
    If you're not already invested in the 'brand', then there's an equally good chance that it will come across as fairly unremarkable. Innovation is largely absent, the stylised visuals are good without ever being great, and the stripped-down gameplay is disappointingly undemanding.
  12. There's no risk of failing the puzzles. [May 2011, p.117]
  13. It's an adventure best left in our (forgettable) past. [April 2011, p.85]
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    Wow this game has higher scores than I'd expect. Let's start with the good: The dialogue, the story, the voice acting are all superb in this game. If you are a back to the future fan this game was literally written for you in mind. There are tons of inside references to the lore of the movies. The environments are relatively well thought out and the puzzles 'on paper' are actually good. The whole base for a good-great game is here...but it's incomplete. In a nutshell: It basically succeeds as a story, and fails as a game. I'll be reviewing the ps3 version not the pc version so keep that in mind. This game is just plain incomplete. It feels like the intentions were great and the foundation got laid properly....but then it was rushed out the door before bug, framerate, and error testing was done. The bad: Graphics on this game...the cell shading suits the game great but overall it looks like something you could play on a ps2. This would be tolerable and understandable given its a budget title but the game has framerate and animation problems! There are many many times in the game where a character will repeat their last word over again like a hiccup. Originally I thought this was maybe intentional to give the characters depth or something....but it becomes pretty apparent it isn't. How to describe this: The lipsyncing on alot of the game is spot on. But on quite a few parts its just terrible or nonexistent...and it really prevents you from immersing yourself in this story and loving these characters. When you get to walk around the environments: your actual walking animation has framerate problems. Your 'fast walk' is sloooow. You run into invisible walls in every single environment you are in. Especially at the beginning of the game...you start out in a large open area and it lets you walk in all directions until bam...invisible wall out of nowhere hits you. On the inside environments this is tolerable....but outside its not. you feel like your free roaming from one stair case to another (if you can define that as free roaming). The controls too are broken here. You will be having a painful time getting your controller buttons to register...or to select the item to interact with. There were alot of awkward moments were I literally couldn't walk in the direction I wanted to or didn't know how to since the controller was accepting up for up and down for up at the same time. The puzzles: there is honestly one puzzle here where it wouldn't let me interact with an item until I walked into the corner of the environment....the corner next to the door where there is absolutely nothing to do or see but another invisible wall...you have to go out of your way and walk there to trigger the cutscene that allows you to do the puzzle....really? Yes really. Final verdict: 4/10. I would only recommend this to people who are big back to the future fans. As I said earlier....the game succeeds on the story and many other aspects...but it fails gameplay wise. A noteworthy story with funny reference jokes and lots of cool interactions....but a broken game. I wanted to love this game I really did, but the end result is an skip-able experience. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. Great story. Nice time wasting with adventure like this, especially for "Back To The Future" fans. Thanks a lot Talltale - it's exactly what I wanted. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2011
    6
    Sweet plutonium piles, this time travel adventure is one hell of a trip down memory lane. It's got everything: Doc's real voice! The DeLorean! Einstein the dog! That score! Well, everything except real gameplay. This is more an extended cut-scene where you occasionally get to press a button, move between locations or chat to NPCs. There's no risk of failing puzzles, only of taking a really long time to solve them - and even that's unlikely seeing as they're more 'show the dog the shoe' than 'attach cheese doodle to fly paper and throw at crocodile'. Still, BTTF! Full Review »