Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Batman: Arkham City - GameSpot Exclusive Penguin Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 415
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the bestI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2017
    10
    The best video game based on a comic I have ever played. It maintains all the good elements from Arkham Asylum at the same time it is greatlyThe best video game based on a comic I have ever played. It maintains all the good elements from Arkham Asylum at the same time it is greatly improved.

    The city is bigger and offers more possibilities, and the story captivates from the very beginning. Even if you do not like superheroes, this is must-have within the adventure/action genre.
    Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    I love the Rocksteady's take on Batman. These games always remind me of a mix between Burton and Nolan films. Its a great looking game and theI love the Rocksteady's take on Batman. These games always remind me of a mix between Burton and Nolan films. Its a great looking game and the character direction and theme are particular highlights. I've found the combat extremely repetetive tho and not really improved from the last game. The characters are extremely well created, their looks and voice acting is 1st class but the problem is there are too many of them so it fails to create the depth of Arkham Asylum. It tries to recreate parts of Asylum without reaching the same heights like the Scare Crow moments. Lastly this game would be nothing without the Joker and hes bang on form again!! cool math games, pandora, limewire daemon tools, pandora, limewire Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    This batman game is as badass as the Dark Knight trilogy. Strong plot, likeable characters such as the Joker and an enormous prison ArkhamThis batman game is as badass as the Dark Knight trilogy. Strong plot, likeable characters such as the Joker and an enormous prison Arkham City which has tons of places to explore. The gamepay is simple and the combo system is effective.You can have almost the same gadgets as Arkham Asylum , basically even better. Batman is as stealthy as Sam Fisher from Splinter Cell and Solid Snake from Metal Gear Solid.Although the end is kind of depressing due to the Joker's death. BUY IT GUYS Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    I LOVED arkham asylum. The puzzles were great, voice acting is top notch, graphics are incredible. There was no other game that made me feelI LOVED arkham asylum. The puzzles were great, voice acting is top notch, graphics are incredible. There was no other game that made me feel like batman the way AA did. Then AC came. Its even better! A bit more sandbox. I particularly loved the catwoman parts! Story was also very well written and paced! Excellent game! Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. You really get the essence of a sand-box title with this one. The environment is much larger than Askham Asylum. Traveling is aAmazing game. You really get the essence of a sand-box title with this one. The environment is much larger than Askham Asylum. Traveling is a little easier with the flying TYGER helicopters roaming the city. AI is similar to the previous title, if anything. Voice overs for ever character are spot on. Controls are familiar if you've played Arkham Asylum before. Just recently finished the game and the storyline is well built. Most notable thin I loved about this game, the process of achieving 100% in Normal mode. While there are the options of playing through Hard mode and various challenges they give you. Finishing normal mode and getting 100% is very enjoyable. There's a wide range of villains and their designs are very twisted. With so much to do, you won't regret picking this one up. Not a perfect game but the flaws are minimal, if even visible. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't likeI hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't like martial arts games, slow motions. Expand

See all 415 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.