Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1586 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 372
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    If one of the best game of this generation, is indispensable like ir or not batman, the game is long, with thrilling story, with many interesting side quests where we will know many characters of batman universe, and multiple secret where we will discover a part of batman universe. Finally the game play is simple but profound. For me in the top 5 the games of ps3. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This game is probably one of the best, if not the best, third person narrative out there. Move aside among thieves, I have played through the game on three occasions already and the ending still wows me. Everything from the story to the graphics to the gameplay is done to near perfection aside from a few pop-in textures and gliches. Im giving Arkham city an enthusiastic 10 out of 10. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is the first game I ever owned that featured Batman... or any other superhero for that matter. And may I say this... the game is absolutely phenomenal. Combat gameplay is smooth and slick, the simplicity of the controls is balanced by the hordes of enemies that you have to face, and the feeling of kicking the ass of a horde of enemies outnumbering you 10 to 1 in a minute is oh so satisfying. Movement is just about top notch. Batman in flight controls how I wanted and expected him to control (and remember, this is my first Batman game ever). Then the graphics... the graphics of Arkham City are superb. This game has very detailed textures and excellent lighting and shading. I think it has the best graphics of any game released year-to-date. Sound is equally as superb. As for replay value... New Game + and all the collectibles will keep me going for a long time. If you like action games, you owe it to yourself to at least try this one out. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    It's hard to find something to say about this game that hasn't been said already, so I will just say this: this game is so good that it is almost hard to believe. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    This game is a must have for whoever owns a console. This games beginning to the end is really engaging and it really outdoes itself in every aspect of gaming from puzzles,combat,replayability and fun factor. The camera really focuses on what you character does every step of the way and doesnt get you sidetracked or lost. The controls are set correctly like its predecessor which if you havent played you must pick it it before you get this one. The amount of bosses you fight in this game outdoes the first game. The side missions are fun to do before or after you beat the game. My complaints have to be the pass in order to play catwoman and her involvement in the campaign. Like the robin and nightwing challenge modes. I think it would have been cool if they had there own campaign seperate from batman and meet up with him in certain areas to get gadgets or clues from him to strengthen the storyline. But this game rocks and it exceeded my expectaions and deserves to be Game of the year. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    it was hyped very much and the game is not as expected from my side.................in my opinion just give the game a miss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 372 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.