Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 429
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the bestI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2015
    10
    One of the most expansive, detailed, and entertaining game I have ever played. The open world is enormous and makes for long hours ofOne of the most expansive, detailed, and entertaining game I have ever played. The open world is enormous and makes for long hours of gameplay. Storyline is complex and poignant. Very high quality game. Highly recommend! Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Great game, went back to this after i bought that abortion of a game skyrim, and wonder why I left at all. Must buy, great replay value andGreat game, went back to this after i bought that abortion of a game skyrim, and wonder why I left at all. Must buy, great replay value and engaging story. Plenty to find and exploring and side missions are great! Plus voice acting is top notch with Kevin and Mark as Batman and Joker! Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Arkham Knight has the potential to be even better than this game, and that says alot about how great this game was, so I hope Arkham KnightArkham Knight has the potential to be even better than this game, and that says alot about how great this game was, so I hope Arkham Knight surpasses this game's greatness and becomes the best of them all so it can be the best way to out with the amazing Arkham trilogy. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:aI loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some part can be too difficult and annoying even for a skilled gamer. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Really good game. Not a perfect 10 for sure. It is a step better than arkam asylum by the fact you can go any where do anything. The onlyReally good game. Not a perfect 10 for sure. It is a step better than arkam asylum by the fact you can go any where do anything. The only knock is the fact you got to fly around a huge section in the middle of the world that you cant access until later in the game constantly. I love batman and the world but how is the metacritic score higher than a MASS EFFECT 2? or in my opinion a top 3 contender for game of the year for true gamers "DARK SOULS"? Reminds me of the DARK KNIGHT movie that got some of the highest ratings I have ever seen and was not that good of a movie. I THINK PEOPLE JUST FREAK FOR THE BAT. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't likeI hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't like martial arts games, slow motions. Expand

See all 429 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.