Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Batman: Arkham City - GameSpot Exclusive Penguin Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 414
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the bestI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    batman arkham city is brilliant in all the aspects: story,graphics, combat mode,the mapdetective moments, the variations of batsuits.Maybe thebatman arkham city is brilliant in all the aspects: story,graphics, combat mode,the mapdetective moments, the variations of batsuits.Maybe the bether game of superheroes in history and mark hamill at the joker its perfect. Probably one of the bests games of all time. this game its a jewel.rocksteady did great with this game. if you dont love batman you have to enjoy this game anyway. PERFECT. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game is brilliant. Probably one of my all time favourites. The way this game responds and acts is almost perfect, i loved it. It has allThis game is brilliant. Probably one of my all time favourites. The way this game responds and acts is almost perfect, i loved it. It has all the character's we love and they have great voices and fleshed out properly. The combat is great and i never really got sick of it. The enemies are varied. But the best part is the story, Batman going into Arkham City, trying to work out what the evil villains are planning and it good to see how the react to one another. Everything feel like it should. And Catwoman short-lived campaign is so great. She just feels like Catwoman should and she quick and flexible and she has a pretty good voice actress that i loved her as a character. The game is great, Rocksteady treated these characters with such respect the deserve and this game I will remember for a long time. 10/10 Expand
  4. May 4, 2015
    10
    I completed this game about 3-4 days after purchasing it and that doesn't mean it's a short game or anything; I just couldn't put the controller down.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A mind-blowing sequel to a mind-blowing original, Rocksteady did a fine job on increasing the scale of the game and adding tons of new DCA mind-blowing sequel to a mind-blowing original, Rocksteady did a fine job on increasing the scale of the game and adding tons of new DC characters (villains, mostly) and not dropping the quality bar on the story (which is even better than the original, with an awesome beginning where you get to play as Bruce Wayne without his suit, and the absolutely shocking unpredictable ending), graphics (still pretty, though as usual all the male models are super-muscular and the chicks are super-hot) and gameplay (new gadgets, new combos, more convict ass-kicking). My only little complaint are the Riddler's trophies. In Asylum I collected all of them and it was the first and only game where I actually got all the collectibles. Although in Arkham City there are just way too many of them - 400 (four bloody hundred!) for Batman and additional 40 for Catwoman. I tried getting all of them but it actually gets a bit boring after a while, so it was a bit of a letdown for me. Otherwise, it's a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham City is everything it should have been and better. In 2009 Rocksteady set an amazing bar for action games and arguably set theBatman Arkham City is everything it should have been and better. In 2009 Rocksteady set an amazing bar for action games and arguably set the highest bar ever for superhero adaptations to games. Arkham City builds on the success of Arkham Asylum and againsets a bar that is higher than almost every action game to date. Arkham City has an expansive world that allows for plenty of side missions and an array of collectibles and secrets, the map is not too big but it's not too small either so arguably rocksteady have created a fantastic world to explore intricitly detailed and never dull. The presentaton and graphics in this game are fantastic some of the best seen, however occasionallycan be quite jaggedy here and there.

    The sound and voice acting in the game is impecceble, with the likes Mark Hamil reprising his role as the fantastically interpreted Joker. Although the Joker is certainly the stand out act the Dark knight himself and other voice acting within the game from various charaters more then meets it's intended target. Pros: Expansive Enviroment, Intricitely designed, new gadgets add variety, catwoman sections add further depth and variety, hand to hand combat mechanics unrivalled by any other game on the market, excellent voice acting and story telling mehtods

    Cons: Sometime getting around Arkham City can be a clunky, dull affair, Occasional Grpahical issues but not that noticable, Feels like some of the villans characters within the game were under developed

    Presentation: 10
    Graphics: 9
    Sound: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Lasting appeal: 9
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't likeI hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't like martial arts games, slow motions. Expand

See all 414 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.