User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 937 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 937

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    I've never been one with the numerous superhero universes that have spawned over the years including Batman. The Dark Knight was my first real foray into the Batman universe, and I walked away from that film suitably impressed, but that didn't make me a fan. Now that Arkham Asylum has been brushed, I am not just a fan of the universe but I absolutely love and adore it. Part of my love forI've never been one with the numerous superhero universes that have spawned over the years including Batman. The Dark Knight was my first real foray into the Batman universe, and I walked away from that film suitably impressed, but that didn't make me a fan. Now that Arkham Asylum has been brushed, I am not just a fan of the universe but I absolutely love and adore it. Part of my love for Arkham Asylum stems from the wide assortment of valuable collectibles strewn around Arkham Asylum. Whether it's audio diaries or riddler trophies or challenges, the game digs deep with a heavy and rich emphasis on Batman lore. This lore really engrosses the player into the universe and into each individual character, detailing the villain's irrational histories. The gameplay is an impeccable highlight too. Batman has an assortment of punches, kicks and special takedowns which can be all chained into combos and you can wrack up glorious counter kills. The AI is challenging, but only in packs. One thing the gameplay particularly nails, is the changing up and the variety mix of enemies you'll encounter- forcing you to think strategically about each encounter. If there's any conceivable criticism, it's that some of the boss fights are a bit too easy, especially the one involving poison Ivy. Also the island does come down as being a bit too restrictive for my liking. But for the sheer amount of epic moments involving Scarecrow, Killer Croc and other batman villains, along with the vitality of Arkham Asylum through the numerous facilities and the levity inducing characters (not forgetting the outstanding performance of the Joker) Arkham Asylum is absolutely fantastic, and an absolute must by. Your relationship with the source material is irrelevant in a game this well crafted. Expand
  2. AndyD.
    Sep 29, 2009
    7
    Some fantastic moments, but for the most part this is an extremely repetitive game with lazy, unimaginative level design. There are many three different enemies in the game that you fight over and over (and over and over)... even the final boss is just a ton of those enemies thrown at you. Each new item gives you a different way to aim and press A for some random effect. Only one boss in Some fantastic moments, but for the most part this is an extremely repetitive game with lazy, unimaginative level design. There are many three different enemies in the game that you fight over and over (and over and over)... even the final boss is just a ton of those enemies thrown at you. Each new item gives you a different way to aim and press A for some random effect. Only one boss in the entire game impresses... hell, there only is one thing I'd CONSIDER a boss, as it wasn't just a collection of goons. Graphics are nice and whatnot, but the gameplay leaves you wanting more. The challenges are more of the same, I can't imagine any reason to want to do them. Stealth kills are alright but again get very repetitive very fast. Expand
  3. May 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing in pretty much all ways. The story is fantastic, the graphics are very batman (real and still very comic like). The puzzles are decent, the villains are very good and also there is so much to collect like voice recordings, Riddler trophies or bio of pretty much all Batman characters and don't even get me started on the gadgets and challenges. If I had a bad thing toThis game is amazing in pretty much all ways. The story is fantastic, the graphics are very batman (real and still very comic like). The puzzles are decent, the villains are very good and also there is so much to collect like voice recordings, Riddler trophies or bio of pretty much all Batman characters and don't even get me started on the gadgets and challenges. If I had a bad thing to say about this game it was that the camera was sometimes iffy and I got lost alot but I am an idiot so I don't really blame the game for that. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    One of the best comic book hero video game adaptations I have ever played. The only other Batman game that was this good was The Adventures of Batman and Robin on SNES/GEN. Graphics are great, combat is fun and if you pick up the GOTY Edition you get 3D glasses and all DLC. Must buy game of the current game consoles, and not just for fans.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Although I hate to say the plot isn't as engaging as it could be, the gameplay is ultra smooth and fair, leading to some of the most intense stealth missions in any game I've ever played. I wasn't even that big of a fan of the Batman universe, and I had a blast with this game. It perfectly blends puzzles, side quests, stealth, and a bit of open world RPG qualities. It's a very unique gameAlthough I hate to say the plot isn't as engaging as it could be, the gameplay is ultra smooth and fair, leading to some of the most intense stealth missions in any game I've ever played. I wasn't even that big of a fan of the Batman universe, and I had a blast with this game. It perfectly blends puzzles, side quests, stealth, and a bit of open world RPG qualities. It's a very unique game and in my opinion better than Arkham City. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    Wow , when I bought this off the bargain bin at a local store I never expected it to be one of the best games I've ever played. This is a great product and you're gonna have a lot of fun playing it no matter what.

    So, as far as the gameplay is concerned it's flawless , except perhaps the enemy NPCs who are a bit too stupid/blind (you can stand right next to them and they won't see you
    Wow , when I bought this off the bargain bin at a local store I never expected it to be one of the best games I've ever played. This is a great product and you're gonna have a lot of fun playing it no matter what.

    So, as far as the gameplay is concerned it's flawless , except perhaps the enemy NPCs who are a bit too stupid/blind (you can stand right next to them and they won't see you if you're crouching. Then again I guess they're not any worse than the guards in the Assassin creed games). Now Arkham Asylum is pretty short (12-13 hours on normal), but this isn't really a disadvantage - that's the way the plot is (which by the way is amazing), so the length seems appropriate.

    Then there's the challenge mode (it's like a battle arena, where you beat the hell out of various opponents), which is great fun and you'll definitely want to play them all after finishing the story mode (you can even play as the Joker). Problem is, to unlock them all you'd have to complete all side-objectives (namely to collect all "trophies" scattered around the island, or solve riddles), which honestly feels like a chore. You'd have to spend inordinate amounts of time to do it yourself without checking walkthroughs on the internet (something the game cheerfully aknowledges). It's a chore, but a pretty fun one, cause navigating around the Arkham Island is a very interesting experience.

    There's one tiny technical problem with the game; the music and sound effects are too loud compared to the dialogues, so you'd better turn subtitles on (or turn the volume up during cutscenes, then back down, cause the voice acting is top-notch). Overall this one's a blast and you gotta play it.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    this game really makes you feel like batman. it looks great even by today's standards, has a good story, a wide variety of interesting villains, very fluent controls that are easy to use, and great voice performances. Its dark and disturbing, just like a batman game should be. unfortunately the game feels too short and the ending isn't very satisfying. there are few other issues but theythis game really makes you feel like batman. it looks great even by today's standards, has a good story, a wide variety of interesting villains, very fluent controls that are easy to use, and great voice performances. Its dark and disturbing, just like a batman game should be. unfortunately the game feels too short and the ending isn't very satisfying. there are few other issues but they aren't worth mentioning because they dont really take anything away from the game. all in all this is a must play game, especially if your a batman fan. Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    Finally, a good superhero game series. And a BATMAN one? Yes please. This game is just a flat out blast. The combat, graphics, and open world are amazing! The boss battles are good as well, but are very scripted. This combat system is one of the best ever. The predator sections are great as well. They're full of tension and suspense, and require tremendous skill. There is a spectacular newFinally, a good superhero game series. And a BATMAN one? Yes please. This game is just a flat out blast. The combat, graphics, and open world are amazing! The boss battles are good as well, but are very scripted. This combat system is one of the best ever. The predator sections are great as well. They're full of tension and suspense, and require tremendous skill. There is a spectacular new plot as well, featuring all of your favourite villains. All in all, the game feels like a beta test, but it has started up an amazing franchise. Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    A breath of fresh air and truly revitalises the superhero video game genre. Superb voice acting and combat that literally defines a generation. If you're a fan of the animated series (as everyone should), or Batman in general, this is a must-play.
  10. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    The Story is great, The graphics are great, almost everything about this game.. Is great! I really enjoyed playing this when I first got it full of action, stealth and armed goons ready too shoot your face off... Lets be honest the batman arkham franchise is the best super-hero franchise ever!
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    i absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interestedi absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interested in Batman and i want to learn and look more into Batman. i have not compleated the story yet but i have played a couple of hours and usually i have beeten the games by this point so i think it is safe to assume that this is a long story line. the graphics in this game are also amazing it is just like watching a movie and i dont mind the camera view because it changes when you fight and when you run so i basicly am never looking over the shoulder. there is also a very deep plot involved with the story to and is layered with lots of detail and is very interesting. i especially love the amount of villains in this game and the voice acting of every character is superb. this gmae has turned me onto the entire batman name and is defenatly in my top 10 favorite games if not my favorite and im glad i finally gave in and bought this game Expand
  12. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Even if you don't like Batman, this is an awesome game and the best game about the Dark Knight. Great voice acting, great visual and sound, great batman and comic details... definitely: a VERY GREAT game! must have!
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This was without doubt the biggest surprise of 2009. No one expected to great things but what a shock they were in for. Batman Arkham Asylum was one of, if not the game of 2009. And rightly so, it was a genuinely excpetional piece of gaming. It done exactly what the Dark Knight done for the Batman franchise on the big screen, except on a video-gaming level! Visually it is great, theyThis was without doubt the biggest surprise of 2009. No one expected to great things but what a shock they were in for. Batman Arkham Asylum was one of, if not the game of 2009. And rightly so, it was a genuinely excpetional piece of gaming. It done exactly what the Dark Knight done for the Batman franchise on the big screen, except on a video-gaming level! Visually it is great, they capture the Asylum to a tee and the voice acting is top notch. The single player mode is fantastic. It deals with the Joker being returned to the Asylum but he is set free and begins to cause havoc meaning they turn to Batman to intervene and restore order. Of-course there are other boss battles along the way before the showdown with The Joker (voice acted by Mark Hamill.) The combat system works really well and is is to get to grips with thats not to say its to easy, at times it may seem that way but one wrong move and Bats is out! Bane, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Poison Ivy and Scarecrow are the villains you come across and thats were the only disappointment is boss battles at times are too easy, bar Poison Ivy who is at least a bit of a challenge and the showdown with Joker isn't what a final battle should be especially one at the end of such a great game like this. There's other challenges to, The Riddler finding his clues for one then ofcourse there's always online! So basically Arkham Asylum is just a wonderful game, and even now there are very few who can match it. An essential purchase for all PS3 owners. Now for Arkham City... Expand
  14. nezj
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have played for ps3 hands down I've played uncharted 2 and it was awsome but I'm sorry guys it can't beat batman I wish there was a higher ranking so I could give it a 20
  15. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Welcome to the mad house batman....THIS GAME IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE STORIES THAT MAKES SENSE,GREAT CONTROL,SMOOTH & REALISTIC ANIMATION...ETC!!! First the good:graphics are incredible from the lighting & shadows to the almost rustic/haunted look of atonal asylum!!! the control is perfect as you will freely take down Enemies quickly,skillfully..even stealthy so its veryWelcome to the mad house batman....THIS GAME IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE STORIES THAT MAKES SENSE,GREAT CONTROL,SMOOTH & REALISTIC ANIMATION...ETC!!! First the good:graphics are incredible from the lighting & shadows to the almost rustic/haunted look of atonal asylum!!! the control is perfect as you will freely take down Enemies quickly,skillfully..even stealthy so its very Accessible while remaining very challenging.the enemy designs look great each character is very detailed & last but certainly not least.....the story!! Just an amazing job when it comes to writing a fantastic story for batman arkham asylum!! Its well thought out & paced but I won't ruin it for those of you who haven't played it. Now for the bad parts...I honestly can't find anything I didn't like about it...its a great game with very little load times or bugs/flaws I highly recommend this game!! 10/10 Expand
  16. AbirH.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game is just fantastic! It was a perfect experience for me. Everything from the story, graphics, design and especially combat. I would recommend this game to game to anyone who loves Batman or Action/Adventure games. Best Game This Year So Far!
  17. May 21, 2013
    6
    This game is kinda overrated. People really like it because its batman. My main problem with this game is that its a beat em up that takes place in small corridors. While not terrible, I'd pass on this one. 6.5/10
  18. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Rocksteady reinvents the Batman legacy in an entirely new and satisfying manner. The combat system makes this game rise above others. It's freeflow system is both intuitive, rewarding to watch and at the same time provides enough challenged for seasoned players. Batman's various gadgets serve their purposes well and are useful, which adds to the Batman flavor. The characters are allRocksteady reinvents the Batman legacy in an entirely new and satisfying manner. The combat system makes this game rise above others. It's freeflow system is both intuitive, rewarding to watch and at the same time provides enough challenged for seasoned players. Batman's various gadgets serve their purposes well and are useful, which adds to the Batman flavor. The characters are all magnificently portrayed and well played out, with the scare crow ranking above all bad guys. It's just a shame that the game is pretty short, but it compensates for it a great challenge mode with online rankings. Expand
  19. JohnnyNumber5
    Sep 4, 2009
    7
    The game is good but not great in my opinion. I can certainly see why people would like it because it offers a very unique Batman experience. However, people claiming it offers the same environment and feel of Bioshock are giving the game to much credit in my opinion. The combat itself is as clunky as the demo was tedious. Punch, counter rinse and repeat. The invisible predator mode is The game is good but not great in my opinion. I can certainly see why people would like it because it offers a very unique Batman experience. However, people claiming it offers the same environment and feel of Bioshock are giving the game to much credit in my opinion. The combat itself is as clunky as the demo was tedious. Punch, counter rinse and repeat. The invisible predator mode is the best thing about the game and is the only thing that keeps it from an even lower score in my book. Another thing is that game is really easy as the puzzles are moronically simple to solve. Seriously, if you can't beat this game in under 8 hours then you are doing something wrong. It's short but doesn't offer much replay aside from the little fighting room mini game with the Joker. The musical score is amazing, voice acting is amazing, story is good, graphics are top notch but that can't save the core game from being extremely shallow and generic. The RPG system where you level up techniques using XP is as simple as it comes. Why even have it if there is no depth? Why not just automatically upgrade attributes. At the end of the day I would say Infamous offers more value for the money and a better experience. This game is really only for Batman fanboys. I can't see myself playing this after I get the platinum trophy which I'm only few trophies away from doing right now. Gameplay - 5 Story - 8 Audio - 10 replay - 7 graphics - 9 Controls - 4 Total score = 43/60 or 7.0 overall Suggestion: Only buy it if you are a hardcore Batman fanboy. Otherwise, it's a solid rental or value buy if you can get it under $39.99. This is just my opinion and I would suggest anyone interested in the game should just try it for themselves. Expand
  20. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I love the Batman movies but I couldn't get through this game, I find the combat too boring and too simple and the enemies too bland. The graphics and the art style look good and the voice acting is awesome but I see this game as a simple button smasher.

    The combat looks so goofy to me, you smash one or two buttons and Batman's delivering kicks and punches from everywhere. Batman is
    I love the Batman movies but I couldn't get through this game, I find the combat too boring and too simple and the enemies too bland. The graphics and the art style look good and the voice acting is awesome but I see this game as a simple button smasher.

    The combat looks so goofy to me, you smash one or two buttons and Batman's delivering kicks and punches from everywhere. Batman is supposed to be one of the greatest martial artists ever but the moves he makes in this game look so unrealistic and illogical.

    I played for about 3 hours before I couldn't force myself to play any longer, and then I watched a few Youtube videos from the walkthroughs and wasn't impressed at all by the upgraded weapons and skills you get at the later levels, the combat still looked incredibly simple and the enemies look just the same.
    Expand
  21. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Joguei e fiquei decepcionado,esperava muito mais desse jogo,não entendo até agora como pode ter notas tão altas ¬¬ muito superestimado,talvez o mais superestimado dessa geração,a unica coisa que me faz crer que receba notas tão altas é por causa da marca Batman,se fosse um personagem novo e(Translate from Portuguese into English)Joguei e fiquei decepcionado,esperava muito mais desse jogo,não entendo até agora como pode ter notas tão altas ¬¬ muito superestimado,talvez o mais superestimado dessa geração,a unica coisa que me faz crer que receba notas tão altas é por causa da marca Batman,se fosse um personagem novo e desconhecido não receberia notas tão altas,decepção. Expand
  22. ec
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    I played the early demo months ago, as well as the more recent version. (mechanically they were about the same) the game has nice visuals, and hit a home run with the voice acting, bringing back familiar personalities from the animated series. all that aside, the game is just ok. there are some glitches (characters floating in the air, collision issues), and some bad camera angles, and I played the early demo months ago, as well as the more recent version. (mechanically they were about the same) the game has nice visuals, and hit a home run with the voice acting, bringing back familiar personalities from the animated series. all that aside, the game is just ok. there are some glitches (characters floating in the air, collision issues), and some bad camera angles, and the fight mechanics are kind of boring once you realize that repeated hitting the counter button will instantly return all attackers blows, preventing you from ever getting hit. it's got the look of the hardcore batman game we've been waiting for, but the feel of kiddie tv spin-offs we've already had. Expand
  23. Oct 18, 2011
    6
    This game is very overrated. The reviewers only gave it such high scores because they were too distracted by the visuals and appeal of the "Batman" brand. The gameplay itself is just not that challenging, interesting or enjoyable. If this exact game had been released as a new character, it wouldn't have received such high scores. WAY TOO MUCH of the game consisted of repetitive, mindlessThis game is very overrated. The reviewers only gave it such high scores because they were too distracted by the visuals and appeal of the "Batman" brand. The gameplay itself is just not that challenging, interesting or enjoyable. If this exact game had been released as a new character, it wouldn't have received such high scores. WAY TOO MUCH of the game consisted of repetitive, mindless button mashing. The fighting sequences were just so repetitive and dumb. I don't see how a game that has so much button mashing could get such high scores. There were entire 5-10 minute stretches of this game where all I did was mash attack buttons until my thumbs were tired - how is that interesting or enjoyable? I liked the stealth sections, because at least then I had to think and use some strategy...I wish more of the game relied on stealth and strategy, and less of it relied on mashing buttons - a monkey could do that crap. I wish game developers would stop dumbing down their games just to appeal to the limited abilities of 10-year-olds and mentally challenged adults. Expand
  24. OleT
    Dec 11, 2009
    4
    I hate the puzzle's and the camera angel sucks. (its over the right shoulder, blocking half the screen)
  25. JohnS.
    Sep 19, 2009
    6
    I was a bit let down by it. After reading all the high scores I expected so much more. It was fun, but NO WAY a 9 or 10 score that it got. I can see a Batman comic book fan drooling over it, but the game was simplistic, button mashing, with stupid AI. Having to play sooooo much in that
  26. MarkC
    Sep 2, 2009
    6
    Over4all this game ended up being very disappointing and defiantly not worth as high of an average as it has. Overall the game looks and feels polished, but the game after a while just seems ok. The hand to hand combat, although fun, is incredibly easy and becomes boring after a while. As long as you can hit square a few times and triangle when the big symbol appears that the enemy is Over4all this game ended up being very disappointing and defiantly not worth as high of an average as it has. Overall the game looks and feels polished, but the game after a while just seems ok. The hand to hand combat, although fun, is incredibly easy and becomes boring after a while. As long as you can hit square a few times and triangle when the big symbol appears that the enemy is attacking, you will always very easily wipe the floor with the enemies. The stealth is a bit more better, except if they spot you you can just zip up and almost instantly lose them. Apparently they are incapable of looking up, even when it is a well lit room. Add on top of than annoying boss fights and a slapped on challenge mode, and you get a very mediocre game. Expand
  27. chilimac
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    Batman: AA represents everything that is wrong with the games industry today; sky high production values, but the games are short and so easy a caveman's child could beat them. Sure, the combat can be fun, until you realize that you just have to mash the buttons to win every contest. No skill is required. The game is very linear and short, and the game designers obviously new the Batman: AA represents everything that is wrong with the games industry today; sky high production values, but the games are short and so easy a caveman's child could beat them. Sure, the combat can be fun, until you realize that you just have to mash the buttons to win every contest. No skill is required. The game is very linear and short, and the game designers obviously new the when the decided to sprinkle the Riddler's trophys all over the place for you to look for, in an attempt to distract the player from the actual game, and thus avoid finishing it in one sitting. I don't know about you, but I didn't buy a Batman game so that I could go on an Easter egg hunt, I bought it in hopes of being able to kick some butt. And you do get to kick some butt, but unfortunately, the butts are too easy to kick, so much so that it's no fun. "Congrats, you have the ability to mash buttons" Not very rewarding, to say the least. I give it 2 points, one for the graphics and the other for the voice acting. The rest of the game is the stink. Would make a nice rental for the prepubescent in your life. Expand
  28. ChaseL
    Jan 1, 2010
    3
    This is one of the most overrated games you can find. Sure the it looks good, but graphics dont make a game. im sorry but i did not enjoy it at all, its good it came free with my new ps3
  29. StewartH.
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have played since Fallout 3 and Fable 2 last year. Very similar in style to Bioshock but the quality throughout the game is faultless. The only reason I haven't given it a full 10 marks is the lack of multiplayer action.
  30. GlanceC
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    its batman and the joker
  31. ChristopherP
    Aug 29, 2009
    6
    Lacks exciting gameplay to complement the Unreal Engine 3 and great voice acting. The combat is cinematic but shallow, and worse, terribly repetitive and pretty much unchanging. You fight the same enemies over, and over, and over, throughout the entire game, up until the final boss. Heck, the boss fights are even recycled. How many Bane-style bosses, who are all taken down identically, do Lacks exciting gameplay to complement the Unreal Engine 3 and great voice acting. The combat is cinematic but shallow, and worse, terribly repetitive and pretty much unchanging. You fight the same enemies over, and over, and over, throughout the entire game, up until the final boss. Heck, the boss fights are even recycled. How many Bane-style bosses, who are all taken down identically, do you have to fight using the exact same tactics? You'll know exactly what I mean when you get to the fifth one, and then several more after that. The game is wonderful from a graphics and sound standpoint, but fails at gameplay, and thus is not even close to the game it could have been. Disappointing. Expand
  32. jamesh
    Aug 31, 2009
    6
    I too thought the game was quite boring. I just felt there was too much of crawling through duct work and messing with his special detective vision and way too little action. The enemies are easy to defeat and the AI is unintelligent. Batman actually moves like he is wearing a rubber suit that restricts his mobility, unless you
  33. ZubairL.
    Sep 21, 2009
    7
    Okay quickly... Arkham - Pro's: Intro scenes are truly cinematic, I was in awe at at how polished and detailed it was.Thereafter a short tutorial on how to do take downs etc and it really is quite immersive in that dark Gothic way, they really got the atmosphere right and u really do feel like Batman.Bosses look phenominal! Take down moves are finished off in a slo-mo matrix-ish Okay quickly... Arkham - Pro's: Intro scenes are truly cinematic, I was in awe at at how polished and detailed it was.Thereafter a short tutorial on how to do take downs etc and it really is quite immersive in that dark Gothic way, they really got the atmosphere right and u really do feel like Batman.Bosses look phenominal! Take down moves are finished off in a slo-mo matrix-ish style and look good.Combat feels meaty or with some weight to it. Cons : -Boss fights are lame. -Henchmen all look the same and you beat them way too easily. -Majority of the game you find yourself grappling from gargoyle to gargoyle trying to be stealthy or crawling through ventilation ducts. -Arkham looks good intially inside and out however,everything starts to look the same eventually. Overall,high on exploration and stealth, low on action and if I were a critic, I'd give it a 70 out of 100 and not the 90's it has been handed out. Expand
  34. VitaliV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    It's the Metal Gear Solid without the guns. I really enjoy all the possible ways to enter a single room or environment and all the options to take the enemies out. Moreover all the extras such as riddler trophies, riddles , bios, challenge modes and character models are amazing. Love this game.
  35. NelsonM
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    This new Batman game goes facilitated as one of the finest adaptations of Batman videojug made to date. It has a good story mode, good modeling of the characters, especially Batman and the Final Boss. Of course this is not the best history of the gaming world (that place is reserved to Metal Gear Solid), but it's good and interesting and will keep you glued to the control until the This new Batman game goes facilitated as one of the finest adaptations of Batman videojug made to date. It has a good story mode, good modeling of the characters, especially Batman and the Final Boss. Of course this is not the best history of the gaming world (that place is reserved to Metal Gear Solid), but it's good and interesting and will keep you glued to the control until the end. Addition, it has several maps where you can separate or fighting against various enemies or eliminate creep. Expand
  36. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This Batman was a huge surprise the star of the show was the joker he made the game, The gadgets were cool, the graphics was good, the only thing i didnt like about batman was batman and the bosses which were repetetive, overall a very good game.
  37. Jul 7, 2011
    5
    I'm sorry but there's really only a one good thing about this game, its story but that is truly captivating but when you have finished that you know where all the hidey holes are, you know where all the routes through are and i have just put it down and not played it for months.
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Great game, cool to explore but fighting gets repetitive. Bosses are great though, final boss was a let down. Reminded me of Zelda games mixed with assassin's creed games all wrapped up with some great stealth gameplay. The story and acting is the batman we've always wanted but never got. Better story than Nolan's version, nailed every character and was just plain fun A bit short, wishGreat game, cool to explore but fighting gets repetitive. Bosses are great though, final boss was a let down. Reminded me of Zelda games mixed with assassin's creed games all wrapped up with some great stealth gameplay. The story and acting is the batman we've always wanted but never got. Better story than Nolan's version, nailed every character and was just plain fun A bit short, wish there was an extra hard mode that introduced a secret boss to add some re playability but a great game nonetheless. Expand
  39. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    To this day Arkham Asylum is the best game I've played this console generation~

    +That powerful feeling when you bring fear upon your prey as you stalk them. +A fluid, fresh and addictive combat system; with room for strategy even though really fast paced. +Dark, atmospheric environments will pull you in. +Voice acting will send shivers up your spine... the good kind... +Solving riddles =
    To this day Arkham Asylum is the best game I've played this console generation~

    +That powerful feeling when you bring fear upon your prey as you stalk them.
    +A fluid, fresh and addictive combat system; with room for strategy even though really fast paced.
    +Dark, atmospheric environments will pull you in.
    +Voice acting will send shivers up your spine... the good kind...
    +Solving riddles = "This game makes me feel smart!"
    +Character bios and recordings add a great deal of depth to the villains.

    -Stalking goons can be more fun than boss showdowns.

    +/- When the game's (sweet but short ) 15+ hours are up, you'll be dangerously hungry for more.
    Expand
  40. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Fans of The Batman will like this. Gamers fans will defnitley dig it. Picked it up for $20 at the bargain bin. A classic from 2009. It seems it was worth the full price back in 2009.
  41. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go onBatman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go on either beat 'em ups against rounds of thugs or stealth missions eliminating the guards of the asylum with batman or joker. Overall the game is a must have for anyone with a console not just batman fans! Expand
  42. May 28, 2012
    9
    At this point in time I haven't actually yet played Arkham City, yet I can't wait to since apparently it's better than Arkham Asylum, and AA I find is one of the best superhero games out there and makes you really feel like you're Batman. The controls are great, my only major niggle being there isn't an auto-run, and the free-flow combat is astounding and taking down a group of thugs isAt this point in time I haven't actually yet played Arkham City, yet I can't wait to since apparently it's better than Arkham Asylum, and AA I find is one of the best superhero games out there and makes you really feel like you're Batman. The controls are great, my only major niggle being there isn't an auto-run, and the free-flow combat is astounding and taking down a group of thugs is very satisfying. There are a great variety of gadgets on offer too, however you'll find that you'll prefer not to turn the detective vision off since it has many advantages over 'normal vision' . Great characters from the comics and voice acting, but some of the few baddies you fight can be a bit tedious, and a good variety of challenge maps and over 200 Riddler puzzles to solve. Arguably one of 2009's best games! Expand
  43. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    To be totally honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Batman comics. I mean, they're cool and all, but I've never been a fan of comics in general, and there are not really any exceptions. I have enjoyed most of the Batman movies (only a couple I didn't like). So hearing that this was a Batman game that was much more based on the comics rather than the movies I was a bit skeptical as to if ITo be totally honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Batman comics. I mean, they're cool and all, but I've never been a fan of comics in general, and there are not really any exceptions. I have enjoyed most of the Batman movies (only a couple I didn't like). So hearing that this was a Batman game that was much more based on the comics rather than the movies I was a bit skeptical as to if I would like it.

    I went ahead after a while and picked this game up to give it a try. I must say that this was a very pleasant surprise. The gameplay was very good. The controls were very easy to figure out, there was good variety in areas and things you do, and it was constantly fun. There were plenty of things to keep you busy for a while, and the game, in the end, was just a whole lot of fun.
    Expand
  44. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    The fighting mechanics in this game are freaking awesome. This game is probably the first comic book game that I have played that I like for it being a great game and not just because there is a comic book character in it. Just totally bad ass, but what do you expect IT'S BATMAN!!
  45. Oct 17, 2014
    5
    Extremely overrated. Thanks to all the hype and generally very high scores I was expecting something really amazing, but what i got was just an ok action game, where nothing really stands out and it all felt quite average to me. Visuals looks kinda bland, locations feel very samey, story is kinda there, but it's basically just hunting Joker down around the island which gets extremelyExtremely overrated. Thanks to all the hype and generally very high scores I was expecting something really amazing, but what i got was just an ok action game, where nothing really stands out and it all felt quite average to me. Visuals looks kinda bland, locations feel very samey, story is kinda there, but it's basically just hunting Joker down around the island which gets extremely annoying with his constant taunts and it's not just Joker's problem, overall most super-villain antagonists are just annoying and normal enemies are all the same hordes of thugs and grunts, from the start of the game to the end just endless groups of the same muscular thugs, that was very disappointing. The combat system is basically just a primitive button mashing, nothing to write home about. The batman himself in this game feel very empty as a character, without any sign of charisma, definitely no match for the movie counterpart. The entire game just screams bland and average to be honest and I don't really see where all the praise is coming from. What I liked however was when that tedious story mode with annoying Joker and Harleyquin finally ended, I wasn't forced to fight mindless groups of thugs and I was just there left alone to explore, to glide around, to use very cool gadgets, to search for the collectibles which contained actually more interesting story than the main story mode. That is were the game nailed it, the fact that all those gadgets actually work and are not only usable in the all around environment, but actually fun to use. It makes you feel like a batman, jumping around gargoyles, gliding in the night, searching for secrets, it's funny that I had really more fun post-end game than I did actually playing the main story, but at least I was able to enjoy some of what the game has to offer. 6/10 Expand
  46. Aug 11, 2014
    7
    This game is fun and satisfying, although has a few flaws that keeps it from being great.
    Pros-
    - combat, it's fun, fluent, and addictive - graphics, are nice with some great use if colour - stealth, Is great, and also satisfying. - gadgets, fun gadgets to use. Cons- - story, while it's not bad, it's very predictable. - navigation, you get lost in this game a lot, the Map is
    This game is fun and satisfying, although has a few flaws that keeps it from being great.
    Pros-
    - combat, it's fun, fluent, and addictive
    - graphics, are nice with some great use if colour
    - stealth, Is great, and also satisfying.
    - gadgets, fun gadgets to use.

    Cons-
    - story, while it's not bad, it's very predictable.
    - navigation, you get lost in this game a lot, the Map is almost useless, and throughout the story the maps landscape changes, and paths get blocked.
    - boss battles, is the worst part of the game, even the great combat can't save it.
    Expand
  47. DanielleG
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    One of the best games of the year. Despite being Batman, the game's appeal isn't limited to only fans of the comic - and for those who are, actually delivers. Arkham actually mixes both of the gameplay parts together awsomely: The stealth is fun and doesn't get repetitive, and beating up thugs is involving (and you won't find you berating yourself for only doing it in One of the best games of the year. Despite being Batman, the game's appeal isn't limited to only fans of the comic - and for those who are, actually delivers. Arkham actually mixes both of the gameplay parts together awsomely: The stealth is fun and doesn't get repetitive, and beating up thugs is involving (and you won't find you berating yourself for only doing it in the instance that you mess up stealth in this game) and the puzzles by the Riddler are fun though relatively easy. With the exception of the sometimes corny lines and easy boss battles, the game is A+ Expand
  48. NickH.
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    It's a very good game but i'm going to point out the negatives. first the story. It's a good story for a typical game but for a batman game there was so much more potential. Also the game is very simple reminding me of older games. That isn't necessarly bad . To conclude, batman is a very good game but there was potential to become much better.
  49. JozefK
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This games fantastic. As others have stated it's not 'boring an repetitive' as the demo suggests. In fact in the full game there's a lot more variety to the way in which events take place. I don't quite understand e c's review. There are no glitches which effect gameplay, and I have never seen players 'floating in midair' and only very minor This games fantastic. As others have stated it's not 'boring an repetitive' as the demo suggests. In fact in the full game there's a lot more variety to the way in which events take place. I don't quite understand e c's review. There are no glitches which effect gameplay, and I have never seen players 'floating in midair' and only very minor collision issues. As for the combat, no - you can't just sit there maching the counter button. Counters deal very little damage and there are multiple enemies who's attacks cannot be countered. Not to mention if you miss time a counter it leaves you vulnerable for about half a second. The freeflow combat system is exactly how it's advertised, fun to use but tough to master. Expand
  50. MikeC
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    If you liked Batman, you will love this game. GREAT voice acting, I couldn't wait for Joker to come on and be the smart ass that he is. The gadgets are a pleasure to use and the sounds that acompany are great. The difficulty isnt there, but it is a fun game none-the-less. If you don't buy it, at least rent it.
  51. LukeH
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    As far as licensed games go this is definitely in a league of its own. I must admit, before the games release I was surprised at the attention it was getting and from looking at screens and reading previews I could not really understand it. I played the demo and was impressed but not blown away. I still picked it up because I have a fair wait until Forza 3 and GT5 hit later this year. As far as licensed games go this is definitely in a league of its own. I must admit, before the games release I was surprised at the attention it was getting and from looking at screens and reading previews I could not really understand it. I played the demo and was impressed but not blown away. I still picked it up because I have a fair wait until Forza 3 and GT5 hit later this year. After playing for a while I was hooked and enjoyed everything about it. The story, graphics and voice acting are all top notch and the game pays all the batman fans (I am not one) some service by having back stories and mentioning some villains from past comics etc. Picking up the interview tapes that are scattered around Arkham Island also provides some interesting bit of information. It is these tapes that create the 'Bioshock feel' that many reviewers have mentioned. At least thats what I think. Either way, whethere you are a Batman fan or not I would definitely give it a look.If you are looking for non-stop action then maybe rent it first. There is not a fight around every corner but I feel that that is one of the games strong points. The pacing is excellent with puzzle and stealth sections thrown into the mix. There is always challenge mode for full on fighting too. Anyways, thats enough from me. Check it out. Expand
  52. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    the best batman game ever. beautifull views in primorous work inside the arkam asylum, this is a serious candidate for game of the year.
  53. MohammadA
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I loved this game. Didn't expect it to be this good. Kept playing it even after I finished it. Seriously considering playing it again even with a lot more games I didn't play yet.
  54. MattB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A must play even if your not a fan of batman or superhero games at that.
  55. JimmyC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    The game is just amazing, You really feel like your Batman. The graphics are jaw dropping. Even if you are not a Batman fan, pick up this game. It will not disappoint.
  56. anthonyv
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This isn't just a great batman game, t is a great game in general. The graphics are indeed amazing. The stroy is enveloping and the gameplay is deep enough to keep u interested but not too confusing to scare you away. This is indeed the game all batman fans have been wating for and dare i say one of the best games of the year. And no its not even a shooter. This is what a great game This isn't just a great batman game, t is a great game in general. The graphics are indeed amazing. The stroy is enveloping and the gameplay is deep enough to keep u interested but not too confusing to scare you away. This is indeed the game all batman fans have been wating for and dare i say one of the best games of the year. And no its not even a shooter. This is what a great game should be. Now i cant wait for uncharted 2 to release and continue the great action/strategy game genre. Expand
  57. Brandon
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    This was the summer of great superhero games, Wolverine may have started it & the Dark Knight not only finished it but also became the new gold standard, not only was this the best batman game ever but it now holds the title of the best licensed superhero game ever. & as a huge Batman fan for years I've been waiting for a Batman game that gives the Caped Crusader his due and Batman: This was the summer of great superhero games, Wolverine may have started it & the Dark Knight not only finished it but also became the new gold standard, not only was this the best batman game ever but it now holds the title of the best licensed superhero game ever. & as a huge Batman fan for years I've been waiting for a Batman game that gives the Caped Crusader his due and Batman: Arkham Asylum did exactly that & more. The moment after I picked up my reserved copy of the Collectors Ed (in which I paid for months ago) from gamestop @ the midnight release I never put the game down until after I finished the story mode & solved every 1 of the riddlers riddles & I feel as if i've just played 1 of the best told stories in a videogame of all time. The story written by Paul Dini (from Batman: TAS) was phenomenal & the casting of Kevin Conroy & Mark Hamill as the Batman & Joker was equivalent to inhaling in a breath of fresh air on a hot day (it just feels right), the visuals are stunning, and the assassins creed style of fighting can only be described as poetry in friggin motion. The exclusive ps3 content of the Joker & extra dlc makes this games replayability even better & there is absolutely no reason why this game shouldn't be a sure contender for game of the year and I can't wait for the sequel that the ending kinda hinted torwards. & you know what, since batman has finally been put in a game that gives him the justice he so rightfullly deserves 1 could only hope that rocksteady, eidos, and another great writer from the dc universe team up again 2 help reedem Superman's image on console systems as well because his old games used 2 suck 2. Expand
  58. ScottP
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Absolute fantastic game. Best comic book game ever created. This is a AAA title without a doubt and it shows. The developers took time to get the Batman universe correct, the characters are lifelike and real and you actually feel like you are Batman, stuck in a trap sprung by the Joker. The combat is fantastic and the suspense in fighting mobs of enemies with guns is real. This is a true Absolute fantastic game. Best comic book game ever created. This is a AAA title without a doubt and it shows. The developers took time to get the Batman universe correct, the characters are lifelike and real and you actually feel like you are Batman, stuck in a trap sprung by the Joker. The combat is fantastic and the suspense in fighting mobs of enemies with guns is real. This is a true game of the year contender and my favorite title so far this year. Expand
  59. KyleH
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. They got it right on every level - gameplay, story (Scarecrow episodes are amazing), voice acting, graphics, level design, upgrades, pacing, everything down to the last detail. I have played through the story mode once and feel like I'm just starting to get the gameplay mechanics down (although they are easy to pick up they are This is one of the best games I've ever played. They got it right on every level - gameplay, story (Scarecrow episodes are amazing), voice acting, graphics, level design, upgrades, pacing, everything down to the last detail. I have played through the story mode once and feel like I'm just starting to get the gameplay mechanics down (although they are easy to pick up they are hard to master). After that there are the challenge modes which greatly extend the play. You can tell it is a good game when you don't want to stop and then when you finish you want to play it again! If you are a Batman fan, you have to get this game. If you are not a fan, this will make you one. Expand
  60. rolls20s
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Excellent game. Very immersive. Scarecrow FTW. The fighting mechanic is great fun as long you work the combos and use the upgrades. Surprising level of control given a 3rd-person POV. Length is a bit short, but I think that if it ran any longer, it would become repetitive - many games go on way longer than they should. Can't wait for a sequel.
  61. michaela
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    EC obviously never made it to the thugs with guns/knives/stun batons. Otherwise he would know that merely hitting the counter button would not work against them. I have never had this much fun with a combat system before. One of THE best games I have ever played. I'm addicted to the challenge rooms, PLEASE release some DLC eventually!
  62. GuiS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    The best Batman game to come out. The first time I booted up the demo, i instantly fell in love with this game. The graphics are top notch and the voice overs are just amazing, Mark Hamill and Kevin Conroy did an amazing job. My only complaint with this game is it's length on story mode but the challenge rooms are so fun to play that you wont mind the length of the story.
  63. kieranS
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    It is truly amazing, the combination of the fact files, the riddlers chalenges, the amazing graphics, the whole design of Arham, the voice acting from Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamil and the incredible game play makes it one of the best games i have ever played and definatly a contender for game of the year. i have completed the storyline and going back to it to complete it 100%. I knew it It is truly amazing, the combination of the fact files, the riddlers chalenges, the amazing graphics, the whole design of Arham, the voice acting from Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamil and the incredible game play makes it one of the best games i have ever played and definatly a contender for game of the year. i have completed the storyline and going back to it to complete it 100%. I knew it was going to be a great game but this i did not expect. Expand
  64. KennethW
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    As per usual, when i heard that a new Batman game was coming i thought it would just be another bad superhero spin-off. But i was very surprised. This game is amazing. Great pacing, great story and it is quite long too. The riddles add plenty off depth as do the challenges. You feel like your batman. A perfect 10 for me!!!
  65. YammoYammamoto
    Sep 30, 2009
    9
    I'm not a huge Batman fan... The fighting in Batman reminds me of the Matrix... Hoards of henchmen flying every which way, and Batman standing tall in the centre. How can one not love that? Why a 9? + Amazingly streamlined game-play + Amazingly short loading times + Frequent checkpoints + Amazingly short re-load times + Stunningly easy controls, but loads of character actions + Voice I'm not a huge Batman fan... The fighting in Batman reminds me of the Matrix... Hoards of henchmen flying every which way, and Batman standing tall in the centre. How can one not love that? Why a 9? + Amazingly streamlined game-play + Amazingly short loading times + Frequent checkpoints + Amazingly short re-load times + Stunningly easy controls, but loads of character actions + Voice acting is near perfect + Dialogue is very good Why not a 10? - Investigation mode should have had a timer + cooldown (It is a mode that lets you see breakable walls, scan and see humans through walls. As is, one uses it almost all the time.) - The use of Gargoyles seemed a bit cheesy to me - Sometimes you feel how linear the story is, (Note: MOST of the time it feels like are going where YOU want to go though...) All-in-all, an AMAZING work by "Rocksteady Studios". My hat is off to you, Sirs. Expand
  66. DaveI
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    I bought this after seeing several very high scores and I certainly don't regret it. The pacing is superb and whilst short is challenging on the hardest difficulty. The riddle challenges add quite a few more hours and roaming over the island to find them never gets boring. The graphics are incredible aswell. Many great characters from Batmans past are involved with awesome diologue I bought this after seeing several very high scores and I certainly don't regret it. The pacing is superb and whilst short is challenging on the hardest difficulty. The riddle challenges add quite a few more hours and roaming over the island to find them never gets boring. The graphics are incredible aswell. Many great characters from Batmans past are involved with awesome diologue and voice over. By far the best game of the year so far. It will be up amongst the likes of Uncharted 2 when it comes to voting. Also goes straight into my top 10 most enjoyable games of all time! Expand
  67. HarveyB
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    The Dark Knight of superhero video games. by far the best Batman game ever. all of it, the combat, the story, the graphics are so satisfying that it is hard to put this game down until you are done. Rocksteady has a superhero masterpiece in their hands.
  68. KevinF.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Easily in the top 5 games I've played all year, other then Uncharted 2 that is. The combat physics are beautiful, the atmosphere is amazing, and the dialogue and story are top-notch. This is one of the only 6 games I've rated (out of a lot) that has drven me to giving it a 10. The ONLY issue with this game is the story is difficult to follow at times, but it takes good patience Easily in the top 5 games I've played all year, other then Uncharted 2 that is. The combat physics are beautiful, the atmosphere is amazing, and the dialogue and story are top-notch. This is one of the only 6 games I've rated (out of a lot) that has drven me to giving it a 10. The ONLY issue with this game is the story is difficult to follow at times, but it takes good patience to pull through. My point is simple: Get this game. You will not regret it. Expand
  69. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Do superhero games almost always suck? Yes. Has there ever been a good Batman game? No. Those were two things i knew for certain as a well played gamer. That was until Rocksteady came along with Batman: Dark Asylum. With atmosphere to rival Bioshock and an intuitive combat system, this true to the source Batman experience made me a believer.
  70. MNV
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    It's a solid game for the most part. The art direction grew on me. The detective mode was very simple and just enough to keep you engaged. I like watching forensic science shows so I was somewhat pleased with the system. The enemy AI is most likely the games real weakness. I was never a fan of button mashing up games let alone a game where enemies take turns getting their face beat It's a solid game for the most part. The art direction grew on me. The detective mode was very simple and just enough to keep you engaged. I like watching forensic science shows so I was somewhat pleased with the system. The enemy AI is most likely the games real weakness. I was never a fan of button mashing up games let alone a game where enemies take turns getting their face beat in. I guess it had to be that way to make good use of the counter system. The game has a decent story and the overall visuals are great. Expand
  71. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    This game is crafted and polished to near perfection. One of the most impressive games I've played this generation hands down. Believe the "hype", it's based on fact. Fantastic experience.
  72. CodyB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    DO NOT LISTEN TO e c. He/She doesn't know what they are talking about. e c, you may as well go work for one of the jaded game critic magazines. This game is extremely polished and you can tell that there was a lot of care put into every detail! This is a must buy.
  73. JAMESS.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    One of the most immersive, most entertaining and fun I've had this gen and I play a lot of games! You do not have to be a Batman fan to enjoy this. Unbelievable all around. Some faults, sure. But never a moment where you're frustrated because of the design.It has an arcade like addiction with it's complex and very deep combat. Simply brilliant. I can't put my words One of the most immersive, most entertaining and fun I've had this gen and I play a lot of games! You do not have to be a Batman fan to enjoy this. Unbelievable all around. Some faults, sure. But never a moment where you're frustrated because of the design.It has an arcade like addiction with it's complex and very deep combat. Simply brilliant. I can't put my words together well enough to describe. Fyi, I have roughly 60% completed with over 11 hrs into it. Expand
  74. DavidC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable production and gameplay values for a superhero based game. It does everything so well that the very few things it doesn't do well -- the boss fights -- are quickly forgotten and are non-obtrusive to the shear joy you will experience playing this game. Buy it now and show the support and credit where it is due. Thank you Rocksteady!!!! Thank you!!!!
  75. warvibe24
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    This game is the Batman game everyone has been waiting for!! This game is perfected to the point of craziness its passed so amazedly. The joker dlc and the scarecrow challenge maps will be very hard to let go this game is a game that you can play over and over again.
  76. AdolfoC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This game is an absolute buy. The demo was fantastic. And the real game is insane, the pace of the game was questioned in a lot of game sites, but this is actually the strength of the game, everything you do, every move is important, the graphics, sound, environment are perfect for this game. Yes the voice acting needs work, these aren't humans!!! Overall this game is an absolute This game is an absolute buy. The demo was fantastic. And the real game is insane, the pace of the game was questioned in a lot of game sites, but this is actually the strength of the game, everything you do, every move is important, the graphics, sound, environment are perfect for this game. Yes the voice acting needs work, these aren't humans!!! Overall this game is an absolute must have it has so much replay value and downloadable content that will come soon, extremely pleased with this game a total surprise. Expand
  77. HuyT
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    This is the best Batman and comic book game you will ever play. Period. This game hooked me all night long until the sun came up. The gameplay is addictive, the story and voice acting is great, and it's packed with so many little things to enjoy. It's the real deal!
  78. AM
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    You just know from the start this is something special , the gameplay is perfectly suited to the dark knight , the combat is super , and detail leaks out from all corners of Arkham. I'm not usually a DC comics fan , (I'm a marvel purist) , but this is the third time Batman has drawn me away from the X-men , ok their games aren't amazing , but they're just too cool. Now You just know from the start this is something special , the gameplay is perfectly suited to the dark knight , the combat is super , and detail leaks out from all corners of Arkham. I'm not usually a DC comics fan , (I'm a marvel purist) , but this is the third time Batman has drawn me away from the X-men , ok their games aren't amazing , but they're just too cool. Now if marvel could do something like this. Expand
  79. GreyT
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It's not very easy, it's not entirely linear, and it's very dark, even genuinely scary sometimes. But if you are at all a Batman fan, you'll probably love it. If you are a fan of the comics and know more than most about Batman, this game is your wet dream come true. It doesn't MAKE you go anywhere, you have to It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It's not very easy, it's not entirely linear, and it's very dark, even genuinely scary sometimes. But if you are at all a Batman fan, you'll probably love it. If you are a fan of the comics and know more than most about Batman, this game is your wet dream come true. It doesn't MAKE you go anywhere, you have to figure things out for yourself. But at the same time it doesn't tug you around on a leash, it also doesn't call you stupid. Expand
  80. KevinB
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Amazing graphics n imerssive engaging story with fanatastic voice acting n the free flow combat fighting system is simple yet fun def one of the best games of 09 if not the best def will be up for game of the year honors theirs nothing else like it out rite now so if ur a fan of batman or just know home from the blockbuster movies go and buy this game I promise you won't be dissapointed
  81. RichardR
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    Pretty fun game. Very gritty combat sequences that are very fun to play through. Good art direction and design. There are some places where you will feel like there is too much repetition and the camera is a little akward (way to close to Batman). Definitely worth a purchase or rental!
  82. Mike
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Do not listen to e c. You dont know anything if you only play the demo. What "kiddie tv spin-off"? This game is hard on Hard. You cant only hit counter. There are many enemys that you cant counter and you have to hit them from behind, or stun them, some enemys will get guns in a fight and you must always have an eye on who is picking up a gun and sometimes there are monsters attacking Do not listen to e c. You dont know anything if you only play the demo. What "kiddie tv spin-off"? This game is hard on Hard. You cant only hit counter. There are many enemys that you cant counter and you have to hit them from behind, or stun them, some enemys will get guns in a fight and you must always have an eye on who is picking up a gun and sometimes there are monsters attacking that wil crush everything in front of them. Did I mention that you die very fast? And die you will if you'll play the game on hard. The game is not perfect but it is very good. I agree with Destructoid review. (First time reading their site but they have some good points and views on the game.) Expand
  83. TheSaint
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    This game is NOT for arcade-minded simpletons who enjoy MINDLESS and POINTLESS button-memorization that is typical of hack & slash titles like Ninja Gaiden. Batman: Arkham Asylum's combat is ABSOLUTELY the best, most cinematic ever seen in a video game. And yes, it is challenging but not cheap, which seems to be what arcade morons are looking for. DO NOT listen to any fool who claims This game is NOT for arcade-minded simpletons who enjoy MINDLESS and POINTLESS button-memorization that is typical of hack & slash titles like Ninja Gaiden. Batman: Arkham Asylum's combat is ABSOLUTELY the best, most cinematic ever seen in a video game. And yes, it is challenging but not cheap, which seems to be what arcade morons are looking for. DO NOT listen to any fool who claims the combat is boring in Arkham Asylum. It's just some low life who thinks he's a stud for beating Ninja Gaiden 2. Expand
  84. MatthewJohnson
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    It Was a great game it just sucked that you could not replay the story with everything you unlocked you had to start a new game and refind all the riddles again if you want to replay story again that was weak. Also the new DLC that came out was not that great
  85. karans
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    the most satisfying superhero game i;ve ever played...the freeflow action combos are the most amazing in the game comparable to god of war
  86. JohnF.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: Flawless. The combat is quick and responsive with seamless transitions between strikes and counters. The bat-gadgets are intuitive and effective in traversing the various areas in the game. PRESENTATION: The story is fun and entertaining all the way GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: Flawless. The combat is quick and responsive with seamless transitions between strikes and counters. The bat-gadgets are intuitive and effective in traversing the various areas in the game. PRESENTATION: The story is fun and entertaining all the way through. The overall experience is great. Controlling Batman, you feel the "POW" behind each punch and "ZIP!" with each grappling hook. This game is absolutely worth the new price of $59.99 and it'd be insane not to check it out in a few months when the used prices really begin to drop. Expand
  87. JP
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    this game is great and probalby one of the best superhero games ever made!!! cant wait for Arkham Asylum 2!!!
  88. [anonymous]
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    Batman and Joker when its best. I may not have seen any Batman movie but I can see a good game when I play it. Heres the good things: + good long story , combat , the voice acting , trophies (LOLZ) - kinda repeating , the horror themes (It aint intended to be a horror game but I think its kinda scary) Overall: 9/10 DONT MISS THIS!
  89. Edo
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Must have for hardcore gamers and normal gamers.
  90. JulioY.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Very well made game. The mechanics do NOT get boring. You always find new ways to take out enemies and the exclusive Joker DLC is really nice. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
  91. RockmanX
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I am far impressed with this game. I played the Demo, but it's different from the actual game. The Demo is just clips of the game. I started playing on hard, so that mean no easy counters, and you are easier to detect, which makes the game much funner IMO. I don't quite understand EC's review, Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill play their parts excellent. It does give the feel of I am far impressed with this game. I played the Demo, but it's different from the actual game. The Demo is just clips of the game. I started playing on hard, so that mean no easy counters, and you are easier to detect, which makes the game much funner IMO. I don't quite understand EC's review, Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill play their parts excellent. It does give the feel of Batman the Animated Series, but that is definitely a plus. I hope Rocksteady uses them for the Sequel. Expand
  92. DarrylB
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    If someone said I could have every current generation game in my collection minus Batman A A, or Batman A A and nothing else... I'd chose Batman A A. I have never come across such an engrossing, believable, beautiful, and well laid out adventure. The fact that while this game is getting good scores, it's getting lower scores than Zelda TP which was VERY repetitious, is a shame. If someone said I could have every current generation game in my collection minus Batman A A, or Batman A A and nothing else... I'd chose Batman A A. I have never come across such an engrossing, believable, beautiful, and well laid out adventure. The fact that while this game is getting good scores, it's getting lower scores than Zelda TP which was VERY repetitious, is a shame. Play this game if you love games. Loving Batman is NOT a requirement to appreciate this experience. Expand
  93. DanielB
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    It's quite simple for me...the only disappointment I experienced while playing this game was the fact that I have never read comic books of any kind before, so considering how the characters of Batman: AA were based off the comic versions, I really didn't know much about the characters that weren't in the movies (I have, nonetheless, seen all the movies, so I do know of the It's quite simple for me...the only disappointment I experienced while playing this game was the fact that I have never read comic books of any kind before, so considering how the characters of Batman: AA were based off the comic versions, I really didn't know much about the characters that weren't in the movies (I have, nonetheless, seen all the movies, so I do know of the ones featured in them). But at the same time, this was halfway a good thing for me, b/c I found myself excited to unlock the next of many character bio's through the Riddler puzzles. Despite my ignorance of 90% of the characters who were mentioned in the bio's, I have to say that in my opinion, this was one of the most fun games I have ever played. First, everyone must understand the intentions of this game. Those who say the puzzles are too easy or the fighting is too easy or how easily it is for Batman to evade attackers by shooting up to the gargoyles, you have to understand that if you look at who Batman is, these things SHOULD be somewhat easy. He's Batman, for crying out loud. Would Batman ever have a tough time disposing of low level thugs like the many thugs you have to fight in the game?? No, b/c he's knowledgeable in many forms of martial arts, so the fighting should be fairly easy. Would Batman ever have a tough time trying to solve puzzles and riddles like the ones left behind by the Riddler in the game?? No, b/c he is a master detective and an all around genius in every aspect of the word, so the puzzles should be fairly easy. Would Batman have any trouble in losing moronic henchmen like the ones in the game?? No, b/c he is a true master of stealth tactics, so it should be fairly easy to elude the moronic henchmen in the game. That's what needs to be understood about this game...they wanted you to feel like you are Batman. What it's like to "Eat chumps like them everyday for breakfast" (hahaha that was so cheesy it was actually funny), being able to easily get out of a tight spot by shooting into and flying through the rafters, and solving the Riddler's puzzles in a decent amount of time. For those who haven't played it yet, don't let anyone fool you...the combat and puzzle solving isn't as easy as some may say. You will find yourself running through the different possibilities of an answer to a puzzle or the best strategy to use to take down a room full of armed henchmen many times throughout playing. Oh, for those wondering why Batman is so big...this game was made in homage to the comics, not the movies, and in the comics, Batman is pretty big...with the Joker being as thin as Gumby. That's why they are portrayed that way. Yes, there are some minor variations to the characters that do appear in the game compared to their comic book counterparts, but nothing too dramatic. In closing, I will say that if you are a fan of The Bat, you will not be disappointed with this game whether you buy or rent. The same can probably be said about the casual fans, like myself, also. I don't really care if anyone thinks I'm out of my mind for saying this, but based on the fact at how extremely fun and engaging as this game was for me and how I was enjoying the game when I completed everything just as much as I was when I first started the game (which is rare for me), I can honestly say that, to ME, this is in the top 5 greatest games I have ever played. Period. Expand
  94. B
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This is the action game that I have been waiting for! Got this when it first came out. Its dark and twisted and so much fun! I was amazed how good it was! I thought it would be an ok game but man was I wrong! A must get for the PS3 if you own one!
  95. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyedBatman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyed the game a lot...If not counting very boring and repeatitive boss battles. Expand
  96. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Some of the most addicting gameplay I've experienced in years. Really surpassed all expectations I had for this game and superhero games in general. A true masterpiece of this generation.
  97. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    I didnt know what to think of this game. I wasnt a big batman fan at all, but after this game I was. this game has alot of action tons of entertaining puzzles and rewards and som challenges to have you comeback for more this game is awesome and I am proud to have it in my collection.
  98. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It came as a shock! Hands down the best comic-action-hero game out there. The best part is that you don't need to be a fan of Batman or the comics. It's soon 2011 and it stills holds up. The graphics weren't that good when it came out, using old Unreal engine technique. But the atmosphere was there and you actually feel like batman. The sneak mechanics are superb comparing to the joke of a game Assassins Creed 2. But it's close but no cigar comparing to Metal Gear Solid 4. Expand
  99. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is hands down one of the best gaming experiences you will have. Not only is it an amazing Batman game but the game-play is so smooth and intricate you will have so much fun playing it. There is also a Zelda element to the game where you won't be able to access certain areas in the beginning until you obtain an equipment later in the game which allows you to go backBatman: Arkham Asylum is hands down one of the best gaming experiences you will have. Not only is it an amazing Batman game but the game-play is so smooth and intricate you will have so much fun playing it. There is also a Zelda element to the game where you won't be able to access certain areas in the beginning until you obtain an equipment later in the game which allows you to go back and explore. The satisfaction of exploring and finding everything in this universe is a joy. The combat is also extremely good at first can seem like button mashing but in fact has so much depth. If you like a good narrative and slick game-play along with visuals that are just jaw dropping then you need to play this game. Expand
  100. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    I give this game 9.6, it was highly enjoyable - just as good as Uncharted 2, Red Dead Redemption, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Heavy Rain and GTA IV. Graphics: 9.5 - Freakin' amazing
    Gameplay: 10 - Really innovative and addictive
    Presentation: 9.6 - Loading times were fairly short, menu is great, batman looks cool Longevity - 15 hours to beat game, 25 hours if you collect all riddles, 30
    I give this game 9.6, it was highly enjoyable - just as good as Uncharted 2, Red Dead Redemption, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Heavy Rain and GTA IV. Graphics: 9.5 - Freakin' amazing
    Gameplay: 10 - Really innovative and addictive
    Presentation: 9.6 - Loading times were fairly short, menu is great, batman looks cool
    Longevity - 15 hours to beat game, 25 hours if you collect all riddles, 30 hours with challenge rooms
    Sound: 9.3 - Pretty good, very epic
    Cutscenes - 9.6 - Could've been a longer one for the end

    Best memory: Beating Croc, Joker and Ivy :) aaaaaaaaaaawesome..... unbeatable game
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. The whole game is a class act. The fighting is sophisticated but arcade-addictive, the visuals are stylish, and the Lara-like exploration is smartly done. Plus the DC heritage feels all-encompassing like a big blanket. Arkham Asylum is comfortably the best comic book game that PlayStation's ever had, and is up there with the system's best actioners, full stop. [Sept 2009, p.95]
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum is this year's "BioShock," not just from the connection established with the world, but from its ability to innovate where new ideas are needed, and moreover, deliver an adventure unlike any other. [Sept 2009, p.82]
  3. Yes, this is the Batman you've been waiting for...It's a wonderful experience, beginning to end, never taking the easy or familiar route, and infusing each shift of the story with original ideas that cut no corners. [Oct 2009, p.70]