User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 939 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 939

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    I've never been one with the numerous superhero universes that have spawned over the years including Batman. The Dark Knight was my first real foray into the Batman universe, and I walked away from that film suitably impressed, but that didn't make me a fan. Now that Arkham Asylum has been brushed, I am not just a fan of the universe but I absolutely love and adore it. Part of my love forI've never been one with the numerous superhero universes that have spawned over the years including Batman. The Dark Knight was my first real foray into the Batman universe, and I walked away from that film suitably impressed, but that didn't make me a fan. Now that Arkham Asylum has been brushed, I am not just a fan of the universe but I absolutely love and adore it. Part of my love for Arkham Asylum stems from the wide assortment of valuable collectibles strewn around Arkham Asylum. Whether it's audio diaries or riddler trophies or challenges, the game digs deep with a heavy and rich emphasis on Batman lore. This lore really engrosses the player into the universe and into each individual character, detailing the villain's irrational histories. The gameplay is an impeccable highlight too. Batman has an assortment of punches, kicks and special takedowns which can be all chained into combos and you can wrack up glorious counter kills. The AI is challenging, but only in packs. One thing the gameplay particularly nails, is the changing up and the variety mix of enemies you'll encounter- forcing you to think strategically about each encounter. If there's any conceivable criticism, it's that some of the boss fights are a bit too easy, especially the one involving poison Ivy. Also the island does come down as being a bit too restrictive for my liking. But for the sheer amount of epic moments involving Scarecrow, Killer Croc and other batman villains, along with the vitality of Arkham Asylum through the numerous facilities and the levity inducing characters (not forgetting the outstanding performance of the Joker) Arkham Asylum is absolutely fantastic, and an absolute must by. Your relationship with the source material is irrelevant in a game this well crafted. Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing in pretty much all ways. The story is fantastic, the graphics are very batman (real and still very comic like). The puzzles are decent, the villains are very good and also there is so much to collect like voice recordings, Riddler trophies or bio of pretty much all Batman characters and don't even get me started on the gadgets and challenges. If I had a bad thing toThis game is amazing in pretty much all ways. The story is fantastic, the graphics are very batman (real and still very comic like). The puzzles are decent, the villains are very good and also there is so much to collect like voice recordings, Riddler trophies or bio of pretty much all Batman characters and don't even get me started on the gadgets and challenges. If I had a bad thing to say about this game it was that the camera was sometimes iffy and I got lost alot but I am an idiot so I don't really blame the game for that. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    One of the best comic book hero video game adaptations I have ever played. The only other Batman game that was this good was The Adventures of Batman and Robin on SNES/GEN. Graphics are great, combat is fun and if you pick up the GOTY Edition you get 3D glasses and all DLC. Must buy game of the current game consoles, and not just for fans.
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Although I hate to say the plot isn't as engaging as it could be, the gameplay is ultra smooth and fair, leading to some of the most intense stealth missions in any game I've ever played. I wasn't even that big of a fan of the Batman universe, and I had a blast with this game. It perfectly blends puzzles, side quests, stealth, and a bit of open world RPG qualities. It's a very unique gameAlthough I hate to say the plot isn't as engaging as it could be, the gameplay is ultra smooth and fair, leading to some of the most intense stealth missions in any game I've ever played. I wasn't even that big of a fan of the Batman universe, and I had a blast with this game. It perfectly blends puzzles, side quests, stealth, and a bit of open world RPG qualities. It's a very unique game and in my opinion better than Arkham City. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    Wow , when I bought this off the bargain bin at a local store I never expected it to be one of the best games I've ever played. This is a great product and you're gonna have a lot of fun playing it no matter what.

    So, as far as the gameplay is concerned it's flawless , except perhaps the enemy NPCs who are a bit too stupid/blind (you can stand right next to them and they won't see you
    Wow , when I bought this off the bargain bin at a local store I never expected it to be one of the best games I've ever played. This is a great product and you're gonna have a lot of fun playing it no matter what.

    So, as far as the gameplay is concerned it's flawless , except perhaps the enemy NPCs who are a bit too stupid/blind (you can stand right next to them and they won't see you if you're crouching. Then again I guess they're not any worse than the guards in the Assassin creed games). Now Arkham Asylum is pretty short (12-13 hours on normal), but this isn't really a disadvantage - that's the way the plot is (which by the way is amazing), so the length seems appropriate.

    Then there's the challenge mode (it's like a battle arena, where you beat the hell out of various opponents), which is great fun and you'll definitely want to play them all after finishing the story mode (you can even play as the Joker). Problem is, to unlock them all you'd have to complete all side-objectives (namely to collect all "trophies" scattered around the island, or solve riddles), which honestly feels like a chore. You'd have to spend inordinate amounts of time to do it yourself without checking walkthroughs on the internet (something the game cheerfully aknowledges). It's a chore, but a pretty fun one, cause navigating around the Arkham Island is a very interesting experience.

    There's one tiny technical problem with the game; the music and sound effects are too loud compared to the dialogues, so you'd better turn subtitles on (or turn the volume up during cutscenes, then back down, cause the voice acting is top-notch). Overall this one's a blast and you gotta play it.
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    this game really makes you feel like batman. it looks great even by today's standards, has a good story, a wide variety of interesting villains, very fluent controls that are easy to use, and great voice performances. Its dark and disturbing, just like a batman game should be. unfortunately the game feels too short and the ending isn't very satisfying. there are few other issues but theythis game really makes you feel like batman. it looks great even by today's standards, has a good story, a wide variety of interesting villains, very fluent controls that are easy to use, and great voice performances. Its dark and disturbing, just like a batman game should be. unfortunately the game feels too short and the ending isn't very satisfying. there are few other issues but they aren't worth mentioning because they dont really take anything away from the game. all in all this is a must play game, especially if your a batman fan. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    A breath of fresh air and truly revitalises the superhero video game genre. Superb voice acting and combat that literally defines a generation. If you're a fan of the animated series (as everyone should), or Batman in general, this is a must-play.
  8. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    The Story is great, The graphics are great, almost everything about this game.. Is great! I really enjoyed playing this when I first got it full of action, stealth and armed goons ready too shoot your face off... Lets be honest the batman arkham franchise is the best super-hero franchise ever!
  9. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    i absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interestedi absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interested in Batman and i want to learn and look more into Batman. i have not compleated the story yet but i have played a couple of hours and usually i have beeten the games by this point so i think it is safe to assume that this is a long story line. the graphics in this game are also amazing it is just like watching a movie and i dont mind the camera view because it changes when you fight and when you run so i basicly am never looking over the shoulder. there is also a very deep plot involved with the story to and is layered with lots of detail and is very interesting. i especially love the amount of villains in this game and the voice acting of every character is superb. this gmae has turned me onto the entire batman name and is defenatly in my top 10 favorite games if not my favorite and im glad i finally gave in and bought this game Expand
  10. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Even if you don't like Batman, this is an awesome game and the best game about the Dark Knight. Great voice acting, great visual and sound, great batman and comic details... definitely: a VERY GREAT game! must have!
  11. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This was without doubt the biggest surprise of 2009. No one expected to great things but what a shock they were in for. Batman Arkham Asylum was one of, if not the game of 2009. And rightly so, it was a genuinely excpetional piece of gaming. It done exactly what the Dark Knight done for the Batman franchise on the big screen, except on a video-gaming level! Visually it is great, theyThis was without doubt the biggest surprise of 2009. No one expected to great things but what a shock they were in for. Batman Arkham Asylum was one of, if not the game of 2009. And rightly so, it was a genuinely excpetional piece of gaming. It done exactly what the Dark Knight done for the Batman franchise on the big screen, except on a video-gaming level! Visually it is great, they capture the Asylum to a tee and the voice acting is top notch. The single player mode is fantastic. It deals with the Joker being returned to the Asylum but he is set free and begins to cause havoc meaning they turn to Batman to intervene and restore order. Of-course there are other boss battles along the way before the showdown with The Joker (voice acted by Mark Hamill.) The combat system works really well and is is to get to grips with thats not to say its to easy, at times it may seem that way but one wrong move and Bats is out! Bane, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Poison Ivy and Scarecrow are the villains you come across and thats were the only disappointment is boss battles at times are too easy, bar Poison Ivy who is at least a bit of a challenge and the showdown with Joker isn't what a final battle should be especially one at the end of such a great game like this. There's other challenges to, The Riddler finding his clues for one then ofcourse there's always online! So basically Arkham Asylum is just a wonderful game, and even now there are very few who can match it. An essential purchase for all PS3 owners. Now for Arkham City... Expand
  12. nezj
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have played for ps3 hands down I've played uncharted 2 and it was awsome but I'm sorry guys it can't beat batman I wish there was a higher ranking so I could give it a 20
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Welcome to the mad house batman....THIS GAME IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE STORIES THAT MAKES SENSE,GREAT CONTROL,SMOOTH & REALISTIC ANIMATION...ETC!!! First the good:graphics are incredible from the lighting & shadows to the almost rustic/haunted look of atonal asylum!!! the control is perfect as you will freely take down Enemies quickly,skillfully..even stealthy so its veryWelcome to the mad house batman....THIS GAME IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE STORIES THAT MAKES SENSE,GREAT CONTROL,SMOOTH & REALISTIC ANIMATION...ETC!!! First the good:graphics are incredible from the lighting & shadows to the almost rustic/haunted look of atonal asylum!!! the control is perfect as you will freely take down Enemies quickly,skillfully..even stealthy so its very Accessible while remaining very challenging.the enemy designs look great each character is very detailed & last but certainly not least.....the story!! Just an amazing job when it comes to writing a fantastic story for batman arkham asylum!! Its well thought out & paced but I won't ruin it for those of you who haven't played it. Now for the bad parts...I honestly can't find anything I didn't like about it...its a great game with very little load times or bugs/flaws I highly recommend this game!! 10/10 Expand
  14. AbirH.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game is just fantastic! It was a perfect experience for me. Everything from the story, graphics, design and especially combat. I would recommend this game to game to anyone who loves Batman or Action/Adventure games. Best Game This Year So Far!
  15. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Rocksteady reinvents the Batman legacy in an entirely new and satisfying manner. The combat system makes this game rise above others. It's freeflow system is both intuitive, rewarding to watch and at the same time provides enough challenged for seasoned players. Batman's various gadgets serve their purposes well and are useful, which adds to the Batman flavor. The characters are allRocksteady reinvents the Batman legacy in an entirely new and satisfying manner. The combat system makes this game rise above others. It's freeflow system is both intuitive, rewarding to watch and at the same time provides enough challenged for seasoned players. Batman's various gadgets serve their purposes well and are useful, which adds to the Batman flavor. The characters are all magnificently portrayed and well played out, with the scare crow ranking above all bad guys. It's just a shame that the game is pretty short, but it compensates for it a great challenge mode with online rankings. Expand
  16. StewartH.
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have played since Fallout 3 and Fable 2 last year. Very similar in style to Bioshock but the quality throughout the game is faultless. The only reason I haven't given it a full 10 marks is the lack of multiplayer action.
  17. GlanceC
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    its batman and the joker
  18. VitaliV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    It's the Metal Gear Solid without the guns. I really enjoy all the possible ways to enter a single room or environment and all the options to take the enemies out. Moreover all the extras such as riddler trophies, riddles , bios, challenge modes and character models are amazing. Love this game.
  19. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This Batman was a huge surprise the star of the show was the joker he made the game, The gadgets were cool, the graphics was good, the only thing i didnt like about batman was batman and the bosses which were repetetive, overall a very good game.
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    To this day Arkham Asylum is the best game I've played this console generation~

    +That powerful feeling when you bring fear upon your prey as you stalk them. +A fluid, fresh and addictive combat system; with room for strategy even though really fast paced. +Dark, atmospheric environments will pull you in. +Voice acting will send shivers up your spine... the good kind... +Solving riddles =
    To this day Arkham Asylum is the best game I've played this console generation~

    +That powerful feeling when you bring fear upon your prey as you stalk them.
    +A fluid, fresh and addictive combat system; with room for strategy even though really fast paced.
    +Dark, atmospheric environments will pull you in.
    +Voice acting will send shivers up your spine... the good kind...
    +Solving riddles = "This game makes me feel smart!"
    +Character bios and recordings add a great deal of depth to the villains.

    -Stalking goons can be more fun than boss showdowns.

    +/- When the game's (sweet but short ) 15+ hours are up, you'll be dangerously hungry for more.
    Expand
  21. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go onBatman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go on either beat 'em ups against rounds of thugs or stealth missions eliminating the guards of the asylum with batman or joker. Overall the game is a must have for anyone with a console not just batman fans! Expand
  22. May 28, 2012
    9
    At this point in time I haven't actually yet played Arkham City, yet I can't wait to since apparently it's better than Arkham Asylum, and AA I find is one of the best superhero games out there and makes you really feel like you're Batman. The controls are great, my only major niggle being there isn't an auto-run, and the free-flow combat is astounding and taking down a group of thugs isAt this point in time I haven't actually yet played Arkham City, yet I can't wait to since apparently it's better than Arkham Asylum, and AA I find is one of the best superhero games out there and makes you really feel like you're Batman. The controls are great, my only major niggle being there isn't an auto-run, and the free-flow combat is astounding and taking down a group of thugs is very satisfying. There are a great variety of gadgets on offer too, however you'll find that you'll prefer not to turn the detective vision off since it has many advantages over 'normal vision' . Great characters from the comics and voice acting, but some of the few baddies you fight can be a bit tedious, and a good variety of challenge maps and over 200 Riddler puzzles to solve. Arguably one of 2009's best games! Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    To be totally honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Batman comics. I mean, they're cool and all, but I've never been a fan of comics in general, and there are not really any exceptions. I have enjoyed most of the Batman movies (only a couple I didn't like). So hearing that this was a Batman game that was much more based on the comics rather than the movies I was a bit skeptical as to if ITo be totally honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Batman comics. I mean, they're cool and all, but I've never been a fan of comics in general, and there are not really any exceptions. I have enjoyed most of the Batman movies (only a couple I didn't like). So hearing that this was a Batman game that was much more based on the comics rather than the movies I was a bit skeptical as to if I would like it.

    I went ahead after a while and picked this game up to give it a try. I must say that this was a very pleasant surprise. The gameplay was very good. The controls were very easy to figure out, there was good variety in areas and things you do, and it was constantly fun. There were plenty of things to keep you busy for a while, and the game, in the end, was just a whole lot of fun.
    Expand
  24. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    The fighting mechanics in this game are freaking awesome. This game is probably the first comic book game that I have played that I like for it being a great game and not just because there is a comic book character in it. Just totally bad ass, but what do you expect IT'S BATMAN!!
  25. DanielleG
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    One of the best games of the year. Despite being Batman, the game's appeal isn't limited to only fans of the comic - and for those who are, actually delivers. Arkham actually mixes both of the gameplay parts together awsomely: The stealth is fun and doesn't get repetitive, and beating up thugs is involving (and you won't find you berating yourself for only doing it in One of the best games of the year. Despite being Batman, the game's appeal isn't limited to only fans of the comic - and for those who are, actually delivers. Arkham actually mixes both of the gameplay parts together awsomely: The stealth is fun and doesn't get repetitive, and beating up thugs is involving (and you won't find you berating yourself for only doing it in the instance that you mess up stealth in this game) and the puzzles by the Riddler are fun though relatively easy. With the exception of the sometimes corny lines and easy boss battles, the game is A+ Expand
  26. JozefK
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This games fantastic. As others have stated it's not 'boring an repetitive' as the demo suggests. In fact in the full game there's a lot more variety to the way in which events take place. I don't quite understand e c's review. There are no glitches which effect gameplay, and I have never seen players 'floating in midair' and only very minor This games fantastic. As others have stated it's not 'boring an repetitive' as the demo suggests. In fact in the full game there's a lot more variety to the way in which events take place. I don't quite understand e c's review. There are no glitches which effect gameplay, and I have never seen players 'floating in midair' and only very minor collision issues. As for the combat, no - you can't just sit there maching the counter button. Counters deal very little damage and there are multiple enemies who's attacks cannot be countered. Not to mention if you miss time a counter it leaves you vulnerable for about half a second. The freeflow combat system is exactly how it's advertised, fun to use but tough to master. Expand
  27. MikeC
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    If you liked Batman, you will love this game. GREAT voice acting, I couldn't wait for Joker to come on and be the smart ass that he is. The gadgets are a pleasure to use and the sounds that acompany are great. The difficulty isnt there, but it is a fun game none-the-less. If you don't buy it, at least rent it.
  28. LukeH
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    As far as licensed games go this is definitely in a league of its own. I must admit, before the games release I was surprised at the attention it was getting and from looking at screens and reading previews I could not really understand it. I played the demo and was impressed but not blown away. I still picked it up because I have a fair wait until Forza 3 and GT5 hit later this year. As far as licensed games go this is definitely in a league of its own. I must admit, before the games release I was surprised at the attention it was getting and from looking at screens and reading previews I could not really understand it. I played the demo and was impressed but not blown away. I still picked it up because I have a fair wait until Forza 3 and GT5 hit later this year. After playing for a while I was hooked and enjoyed everything about it. The story, graphics and voice acting are all top notch and the game pays all the batman fans (I am not one) some service by having back stories and mentioning some villains from past comics etc. Picking up the interview tapes that are scattered around Arkham Island also provides some interesting bit of information. It is these tapes that create the 'Bioshock feel' that many reviewers have mentioned. At least thats what I think. Either way, whethere you are a Batman fan or not I would definitely give it a look.If you are looking for non-stop action then maybe rent it first. There is not a fight around every corner but I feel that that is one of the games strong points. The pacing is excellent with puzzle and stealth sections thrown into the mix. There is always challenge mode for full on fighting too. Anyways, thats enough from me. Check it out. Expand
  29. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    the best batman game ever. beautifull views in primorous work inside the arkam asylum, this is a serious candidate for game of the year.
  30. MohammadA
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I loved this game. Didn't expect it to be this good. Kept playing it even after I finished it. Seriously considering playing it again even with a lot more games I didn't play yet.
  31. MattB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A must play even if your not a fan of batman or superhero games at that.
  32. JimmyC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    The game is just amazing, You really feel like your Batman. The graphics are jaw dropping. Even if you are not a Batman fan, pick up this game. It will not disappoint.
  33. anthonyv
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This isn't just a great batman game, t is a great game in general. The graphics are indeed amazing. The stroy is enveloping and the gameplay is deep enough to keep u interested but not too confusing to scare you away. This is indeed the game all batman fans have been wating for and dare i say one of the best games of the year. And no its not even a shooter. This is what a great game This isn't just a great batman game, t is a great game in general. The graphics are indeed amazing. The stroy is enveloping and the gameplay is deep enough to keep u interested but not too confusing to scare you away. This is indeed the game all batman fans have been wating for and dare i say one of the best games of the year. And no its not even a shooter. This is what a great game should be. Now i cant wait for uncharted 2 to release and continue the great action/strategy game genre. Expand
  34. Brandon
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    This was the summer of great superhero games, Wolverine may have started it & the Dark Knight not only finished it but also became the new gold standard, not only was this the best batman game ever but it now holds the title of the best licensed superhero game ever. & as a huge Batman fan for years I've been waiting for a Batman game that gives the Caped Crusader his due and Batman: This was the summer of great superhero games, Wolverine may have started it & the Dark Knight not only finished it but also became the new gold standard, not only was this the best batman game ever but it now holds the title of the best licensed superhero game ever. & as a huge Batman fan for years I've been waiting for a Batman game that gives the Caped Crusader his due and Batman: Arkham Asylum did exactly that & more. The moment after I picked up my reserved copy of the Collectors Ed (in which I paid for months ago) from gamestop @ the midnight release I never put the game down until after I finished the story mode & solved every 1 of the riddlers riddles & I feel as if i've just played 1 of the best told stories in a videogame of all time. The story written by Paul Dini (from Batman: TAS) was phenomenal & the casting of Kevin Conroy & Mark Hamill as the Batman & Joker was equivalent to inhaling in a breath of fresh air on a hot day (it just feels right), the visuals are stunning, and the assassins creed style of fighting can only be described as poetry in friggin motion. The exclusive ps3 content of the Joker & extra dlc makes this games replayability even better & there is absolutely no reason why this game shouldn't be a sure contender for game of the year and I can't wait for the sequel that the ending kinda hinted torwards. & you know what, since batman has finally been put in a game that gives him the justice he so rightfullly deserves 1 could only hope that rocksteady, eidos, and another great writer from the dc universe team up again 2 help reedem Superman's image on console systems as well because his old games used 2 suck 2. Expand
  35. ScottP
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Absolute fantastic game. Best comic book game ever created. This is a AAA title without a doubt and it shows. The developers took time to get the Batman universe correct, the characters are lifelike and real and you actually feel like you are Batman, stuck in a trap sprung by the Joker. The combat is fantastic and the suspense in fighting mobs of enemies with guns is real. This is a true Absolute fantastic game. Best comic book game ever created. This is a AAA title without a doubt and it shows. The developers took time to get the Batman universe correct, the characters are lifelike and real and you actually feel like you are Batman, stuck in a trap sprung by the Joker. The combat is fantastic and the suspense in fighting mobs of enemies with guns is real. This is a true game of the year contender and my favorite title so far this year. Expand
  36. KyleH
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. They got it right on every level - gameplay, story (Scarecrow episodes are amazing), voice acting, graphics, level design, upgrades, pacing, everything down to the last detail. I have played through the story mode once and feel like I'm just starting to get the gameplay mechanics down (although they are easy to pick up they are This is one of the best games I've ever played. They got it right on every level - gameplay, story (Scarecrow episodes are amazing), voice acting, graphics, level design, upgrades, pacing, everything down to the last detail. I have played through the story mode once and feel like I'm just starting to get the gameplay mechanics down (although they are easy to pick up they are hard to master). After that there are the challenge modes which greatly extend the play. You can tell it is a good game when you don't want to stop and then when you finish you want to play it again! If you are a Batman fan, you have to get this game. If you are not a fan, this will make you one. Expand
  37. rolls20s
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Excellent game. Very immersive. Scarecrow FTW. The fighting mechanic is great fun as long you work the combos and use the upgrades. Surprising level of control given a 3rd-person POV. Length is a bit short, but I think that if it ran any longer, it would become repetitive - many games go on way longer than they should. Can't wait for a sequel.
  38. michaela
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    EC obviously never made it to the thugs with guns/knives/stun batons. Otherwise he would know that merely hitting the counter button would not work against them. I have never had this much fun with a combat system before. One of THE best games I have ever played. I'm addicted to the challenge rooms, PLEASE release some DLC eventually!
  39. GuiS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    The best Batman game to come out. The first time I booted up the demo, i instantly fell in love with this game. The graphics are top notch and the voice overs are just amazing, Mark Hamill and Kevin Conroy did an amazing job. My only complaint with this game is it's length on story mode but the challenge rooms are so fun to play that you wont mind the length of the story.
  40. kieranS
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    It is truly amazing, the combination of the fact files, the riddlers chalenges, the amazing graphics, the whole design of Arham, the voice acting from Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamil and the incredible game play makes it one of the best games i have ever played and definatly a contender for game of the year. i have completed the storyline and going back to it to complete it 100%. I knew it It is truly amazing, the combination of the fact files, the riddlers chalenges, the amazing graphics, the whole design of Arham, the voice acting from Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamil and the incredible game play makes it one of the best games i have ever played and definatly a contender for game of the year. i have completed the storyline and going back to it to complete it 100%. I knew it was going to be a great game but this i did not expect. Expand
  41. KennethW
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    As per usual, when i heard that a new Batman game was coming i thought it would just be another bad superhero spin-off. But i was very surprised. This game is amazing. Great pacing, great story and it is quite long too. The riddles add plenty off depth as do the challenges. You feel like your batman. A perfect 10 for me!!!
  42. YammoYammamoto
    Sep 30, 2009
    9
    I'm not a huge Batman fan... The fighting in Batman reminds me of the Matrix... Hoards of henchmen flying every which way, and Batman standing tall in the centre. How can one not love that? Why a 9? + Amazingly streamlined game-play + Amazingly short loading times + Frequent checkpoints + Amazingly short re-load times + Stunningly easy controls, but loads of character actions + Voice I'm not a huge Batman fan... The fighting in Batman reminds me of the Matrix... Hoards of henchmen flying every which way, and Batman standing tall in the centre. How can one not love that? Why a 9? + Amazingly streamlined game-play + Amazingly short loading times + Frequent checkpoints + Amazingly short re-load times + Stunningly easy controls, but loads of character actions + Voice acting is near perfect + Dialogue is very good Why not a 10? - Investigation mode should have had a timer + cooldown (It is a mode that lets you see breakable walls, scan and see humans through walls. As is, one uses it almost all the time.) - The use of Gargoyles seemed a bit cheesy to me - Sometimes you feel how linear the story is, (Note: MOST of the time it feels like are going where YOU want to go though...) All-in-all, an AMAZING work by "Rocksteady Studios". My hat is off to you, Sirs. Expand
  43. DaveI
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    I bought this after seeing several very high scores and I certainly don't regret it. The pacing is superb and whilst short is challenging on the hardest difficulty. The riddle challenges add quite a few more hours and roaming over the island to find them never gets boring. The graphics are incredible aswell. Many great characters from Batmans past are involved with awesome diologue I bought this after seeing several very high scores and I certainly don't regret it. The pacing is superb and whilst short is challenging on the hardest difficulty. The riddle challenges add quite a few more hours and roaming over the island to find them never gets boring. The graphics are incredible aswell. Many great characters from Batmans past are involved with awesome diologue and voice over. By far the best game of the year so far. It will be up amongst the likes of Uncharted 2 when it comes to voting. Also goes straight into my top 10 most enjoyable games of all time! Expand
  44. HarveyB
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    The Dark Knight of superhero video games. by far the best Batman game ever. all of it, the combat, the story, the graphics are so satisfying that it is hard to put this game down until you are done. Rocksteady has a superhero masterpiece in their hands.
  45. KevinF.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Easily in the top 5 games I've played all year, other then Uncharted 2 that is. The combat physics are beautiful, the atmosphere is amazing, and the dialogue and story are top-notch. This is one of the only 6 games I've rated (out of a lot) that has drven me to giving it a 10. The ONLY issue with this game is the story is difficult to follow at times, but it takes good patience Easily in the top 5 games I've played all year, other then Uncharted 2 that is. The combat physics are beautiful, the atmosphere is amazing, and the dialogue and story are top-notch. This is one of the only 6 games I've rated (out of a lot) that has drven me to giving it a 10. The ONLY issue with this game is the story is difficult to follow at times, but it takes good patience to pull through. My point is simple: Get this game. You will not regret it. Expand
  46. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Do superhero games almost always suck? Yes. Has there ever been a good Batman game? No. Those were two things i knew for certain as a well played gamer. That was until Rocksteady came along with Batman: Dark Asylum. With atmosphere to rival Bioshock and an intuitive combat system, this true to the source Batman experience made me a believer.
  47. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    This game is crafted and polished to near perfection. One of the most impressive games I've played this generation hands down. Believe the "hype", it's based on fact. Fantastic experience.
  48. CodyB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    DO NOT LISTEN TO e c. He/She doesn't know what they are talking about. e c, you may as well go work for one of the jaded game critic magazines. This game is extremely polished and you can tell that there was a lot of care put into every detail! This is a must buy.
  49. JAMESS.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    One of the most immersive, most entertaining and fun I've had this gen and I play a lot of games! You do not have to be a Batman fan to enjoy this. Unbelievable all around. Some faults, sure. But never a moment where you're frustrated because of the design.It has an arcade like addiction with it's complex and very deep combat. Simply brilliant. I can't put my words One of the most immersive, most entertaining and fun I've had this gen and I play a lot of games! You do not have to be a Batman fan to enjoy this. Unbelievable all around. Some faults, sure. But never a moment where you're frustrated because of the design.It has an arcade like addiction with it's complex and very deep combat. Simply brilliant. I can't put my words together well enough to describe. Fyi, I have roughly 60% completed with over 11 hrs into it. Expand
  50. DavidC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable production and gameplay values for a superhero based game. It does everything so well that the very few things it doesn't do well -- the boss fights -- are quickly forgotten and are non-obtrusive to the shear joy you will experience playing this game. Buy it now and show the support and credit where it is due. Thank you Rocksteady!!!! Thank you!!!!
  51. warvibe24
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    This game is the Batman game everyone has been waiting for!! This game is perfected to the point of craziness its passed so amazedly. The joker dlc and the scarecrow challenge maps will be very hard to let go this game is a game that you can play over and over again.
  52. AdolfoC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This game is an absolute buy. The demo was fantastic. And the real game is insane, the pace of the game was questioned in a lot of game sites, but this is actually the strength of the game, everything you do, every move is important, the graphics, sound, environment are perfect for this game. Yes the voice acting needs work, these aren't humans!!! Overall this game is an absolute This game is an absolute buy. The demo was fantastic. And the real game is insane, the pace of the game was questioned in a lot of game sites, but this is actually the strength of the game, everything you do, every move is important, the graphics, sound, environment are perfect for this game. Yes the voice acting needs work, these aren't humans!!! Overall this game is an absolute must have it has so much replay value and downloadable content that will come soon, extremely pleased with this game a total surprise. Expand
  53. HuyT
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    This is the best Batman and comic book game you will ever play. Period. This game hooked me all night long until the sun came up. The gameplay is addictive, the story and voice acting is great, and it's packed with so many little things to enjoy. It's the real deal!
  54. AM
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    You just know from the start this is something special , the gameplay is perfectly suited to the dark knight , the combat is super , and detail leaks out from all corners of Arkham. I'm not usually a DC comics fan , (I'm a marvel purist) , but this is the third time Batman has drawn me away from the X-men , ok their games aren't amazing , but they're just too cool. Now You just know from the start this is something special , the gameplay is perfectly suited to the dark knight , the combat is super , and detail leaks out from all corners of Arkham. I'm not usually a DC comics fan , (I'm a marvel purist) , but this is the third time Batman has drawn me away from the X-men , ok their games aren't amazing , but they're just too cool. Now if marvel could do something like this. Expand
  55. GreyT
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It's not very easy, it's not entirely linear, and it's very dark, even genuinely scary sometimes. But if you are at all a Batman fan, you'll probably love it. If you are a fan of the comics and know more than most about Batman, this game is your wet dream come true. It doesn't MAKE you go anywhere, you have to It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It's not very easy, it's not entirely linear, and it's very dark, even genuinely scary sometimes. But if you are at all a Batman fan, you'll probably love it. If you are a fan of the comics and know more than most about Batman, this game is your wet dream come true. It doesn't MAKE you go anywhere, you have to figure things out for yourself. But at the same time it doesn't tug you around on a leash, it also doesn't call you stupid. Expand
  56. KevinB
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Amazing graphics n imerssive engaging story with fanatastic voice acting n the free flow combat fighting system is simple yet fun def one of the best games of 09 if not the best def will be up for game of the year honors theirs nothing else like it out rite now so if ur a fan of batman or just know home from the blockbuster movies go and buy this game I promise you won't be dissapointed
  57. TheSaint
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    This game is NOT for arcade-minded simpletons who enjoy MINDLESS and POINTLESS button-memorization that is typical of hack & slash titles like Ninja Gaiden. Batman: Arkham Asylum's combat is ABSOLUTELY the best, most cinematic ever seen in a video game. And yes, it is challenging but not cheap, which seems to be what arcade morons are looking for. DO NOT listen to any fool who claims This game is NOT for arcade-minded simpletons who enjoy MINDLESS and POINTLESS button-memorization that is typical of hack & slash titles like Ninja Gaiden. Batman: Arkham Asylum's combat is ABSOLUTELY the best, most cinematic ever seen in a video game. And yes, it is challenging but not cheap, which seems to be what arcade morons are looking for. DO NOT listen to any fool who claims the combat is boring in Arkham Asylum. It's just some low life who thinks he's a stud for beating Ninja Gaiden 2. Expand
  58. karans
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    the most satisfying superhero game i;ve ever played...the freeflow action combos are the most amazing in the game comparable to god of war
  59. JohnF.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: Flawless. The combat is quick and responsive with seamless transitions between strikes and counters. The bat-gadgets are intuitive and effective in traversing the various areas in the game. PRESENTATION: The story is fun and entertaining all the way GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: Flawless. The combat is quick and responsive with seamless transitions between strikes and counters. The bat-gadgets are intuitive and effective in traversing the various areas in the game. PRESENTATION: The story is fun and entertaining all the way through. The overall experience is great. Controlling Batman, you feel the "POW" behind each punch and "ZIP!" with each grappling hook. This game is absolutely worth the new price of $59.99 and it'd be insane not to check it out in a few months when the used prices really begin to drop. Expand
  60. JP
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    this game is great and probalby one of the best superhero games ever made!!! cant wait for Arkham Asylum 2!!!
  61. [anonymous]
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    Batman and Joker when its best. I may not have seen any Batman movie but I can see a good game when I play it. Heres the good things: + good long story , combat , the voice acting , trophies (LOLZ) - kinda repeating , the horror themes (It aint intended to be a horror game but I think its kinda scary) Overall: 9/10 DONT MISS THIS!
  62. Edo
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Must have for hardcore gamers and normal gamers.
  63. JulioY.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Very well made game. The mechanics do NOT get boring. You always find new ways to take out enemies and the exclusive Joker DLC is really nice. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
  64. RockmanX
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I am far impressed with this game. I played the Demo, but it's different from the actual game. The Demo is just clips of the game. I started playing on hard, so that mean no easy counters, and you are easier to detect, which makes the game much funner IMO. I don't quite understand EC's review, Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill play their parts excellent. It does give the feel of I am far impressed with this game. I played the Demo, but it's different from the actual game. The Demo is just clips of the game. I started playing on hard, so that mean no easy counters, and you are easier to detect, which makes the game much funner IMO. I don't quite understand EC's review, Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill play their parts excellent. It does give the feel of Batman the Animated Series, but that is definitely a plus. I hope Rocksteady uses them for the Sequel. Expand
  65. DarrylB
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    If someone said I could have every current generation game in my collection minus Batman A A, or Batman A A and nothing else... I'd chose Batman A A. I have never come across such an engrossing, believable, beautiful, and well laid out adventure. The fact that while this game is getting good scores, it's getting lower scores than Zelda TP which was VERY repetitious, is a shame. If someone said I could have every current generation game in my collection minus Batman A A, or Batman A A and nothing else... I'd chose Batman A A. I have never come across such an engrossing, believable, beautiful, and well laid out adventure. The fact that while this game is getting good scores, it's getting lower scores than Zelda TP which was VERY repetitious, is a shame. Play this game if you love games. Loving Batman is NOT a requirement to appreciate this experience. Expand
  66. DanielB
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    It's quite simple for me...the only disappointment I experienced while playing this game was the fact that I have never read comic books of any kind before, so considering how the characters of Batman: AA were based off the comic versions, I really didn't know much about the characters that weren't in the movies (I have, nonetheless, seen all the movies, so I do know of the It's quite simple for me...the only disappointment I experienced while playing this game was the fact that I have never read comic books of any kind before, so considering how the characters of Batman: AA were based off the comic versions, I really didn't know much about the characters that weren't in the movies (I have, nonetheless, seen all the movies, so I do know of the ones featured in them). But at the same time, this was halfway a good thing for me, b/c I found myself excited to unlock the next of many character bio's through the Riddler puzzles. Despite my ignorance of 90% of the characters who were mentioned in the bio's, I have to say that in my opinion, this was one of the most fun games I have ever played. First, everyone must understand the intentions of this game. Those who say the puzzles are too easy or the fighting is too easy or how easily it is for Batman to evade attackers by shooting up to the gargoyles, you have to understand that if you look at who Batman is, these things SHOULD be somewhat easy. He's Batman, for crying out loud. Would Batman ever have a tough time disposing of low level thugs like the many thugs you have to fight in the game?? No, b/c he's knowledgeable in many forms of martial arts, so the fighting should be fairly easy. Would Batman ever have a tough time trying to solve puzzles and riddles like the ones left behind by the Riddler in the game?? No, b/c he is a master detective and an all around genius in every aspect of the word, so the puzzles should be fairly easy. Would Batman have any trouble in losing moronic henchmen like the ones in the game?? No, b/c he is a true master of stealth tactics, so it should be fairly easy to elude the moronic henchmen in the game. That's what needs to be understood about this game...they wanted you to feel like you are Batman. What it's like to "Eat chumps like them everyday for breakfast" (hahaha that was so cheesy it was actually funny), being able to easily get out of a tight spot by shooting into and flying through the rafters, and solving the Riddler's puzzles in a decent amount of time. For those who haven't played it yet, don't let anyone fool you...the combat and puzzle solving isn't as easy as some may say. You will find yourself running through the different possibilities of an answer to a puzzle or the best strategy to use to take down a room full of armed henchmen many times throughout playing. Oh, for those wondering why Batman is so big...this game was made in homage to the comics, not the movies, and in the comics, Batman is pretty big...with the Joker being as thin as Gumby. That's why they are portrayed that way. Yes, there are some minor variations to the characters that do appear in the game compared to their comic book counterparts, but nothing too dramatic. In closing, I will say that if you are a fan of The Bat, you will not be disappointed with this game whether you buy or rent. The same can probably be said about the casual fans, like myself, also. I don't really care if anyone thinks I'm out of my mind for saying this, but based on the fact at how extremely fun and engaging as this game was for me and how I was enjoying the game when I completed everything just as much as I was when I first started the game (which is rare for me), I can honestly say that, to ME, this is in the top 5 greatest games I have ever played. Period. Expand
  67. B
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This is the action game that I have been waiting for! Got this when it first came out. Its dark and twisted and so much fun! I was amazed how good it was! I thought it would be an ok game but man was I wrong! A must get for the PS3 if you own one!
  68. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyedBatman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyed the game a lot...If not counting very boring and repeatitive boss battles. Expand
  69. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Some of the most addicting gameplay I've experienced in years. Really surpassed all expectations I had for this game and superhero games in general. A true masterpiece of this generation.
  70. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    I didnt know what to think of this game. I wasnt a big batman fan at all, but after this game I was. this game has alot of action tons of entertaining puzzles and rewards and som challenges to have you comeback for more this game is awesome and I am proud to have it in my collection.
  71. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It came as a shock! Hands down the best comic-action-hero game out there. The best part is that you don't need to be a fan of Batman or the comics. It's soon 2011 and it stills holds up. The graphics weren't that good when it came out, using old Unreal engine technique. But the atmosphere was there and you actually feel like batman. The sneak mechanics are superb comparing to the joke of a game Assassins Creed 2. But it's close but no cigar comparing to Metal Gear Solid 4. Expand
  72. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is hands down one of the best gaming experiences you will have. Not only is it an amazing Batman game but the game-play is so smooth and intricate you will have so much fun playing it. There is also a Zelda element to the game where you won't be able to access certain areas in the beginning until you obtain an equipment later in the game which allows you to go backBatman: Arkham Asylum is hands down one of the best gaming experiences you will have. Not only is it an amazing Batman game but the game-play is so smooth and intricate you will have so much fun playing it. There is also a Zelda element to the game where you won't be able to access certain areas in the beginning until you obtain an equipment later in the game which allows you to go back and explore. The satisfaction of exploring and finding everything in this universe is a joy. The combat is also extremely good at first can seem like button mashing but in fact has so much depth. If you like a good narrative and slick game-play along with visuals that are just jaw dropping then you need to play this game. Expand
  73. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    I give this game 9.6, it was highly enjoyable - just as good as Uncharted 2, Red Dead Redemption, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Heavy Rain and GTA IV. Graphics: 9.5 - Freakin' amazing
    Gameplay: 10 - Really innovative and addictive
    Presentation: 9.6 - Loading times were fairly short, menu is great, batman looks cool Longevity - 15 hours to beat game, 25 hours if you collect all riddles, 30
    I give this game 9.6, it was highly enjoyable - just as good as Uncharted 2, Red Dead Redemption, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Heavy Rain and GTA IV. Graphics: 9.5 - Freakin' amazing
    Gameplay: 10 - Really innovative and addictive
    Presentation: 9.6 - Loading times were fairly short, menu is great, batman looks cool
    Longevity - 15 hours to beat game, 25 hours if you collect all riddles, 30 hours with challenge rooms
    Sound: 9.3 - Pretty good, very epic
    Cutscenes - 9.6 - Could've been a longer one for the end

    Best memory: Beating Croc, Joker and Ivy :) aaaaaaaaaaawesome..... unbeatable game
    Expand
  74. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    I am not really a fan of batman or any of the DC characters (though smallville is a guilty pleasure) but this game changed my opinion of the caped crusader almost entirely.

    The games pace is brilliant with just enough combat and exploration. The handing out of new items is well timed and the riddlers puzzles give the player an excellent opportunity to gain extra insight in the villains
    I am not really a fan of batman or any of the DC characters (though smallville is a guilty pleasure) but this game changed my opinion of the caped crusader almost entirely.

    The games pace is brilliant with just enough combat and exploration. The handing out of new items is well timed and the riddlers puzzles give the player an excellent opportunity to gain extra insight in the villains and allies of batman.

    The detective mode could have been put to greater use, being only really used a handful of times but it is used in other ways (using it to see groups of enemies around the corner for example)

    The script and voice acting are top and Mark Hamil plays the Joker fantastically.
    Expand
  75. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Almost entirely flawless.
    By far the best PS3 game I have owned, certainly the best super hero game I have played.
    Every thing about this game demands attention. From the slick stylised gothic architecture to the sneak and pounce fighting tactics. Incredible landscape, great story line and big bad motherhumping bosses.

    Buy!
  76. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and Rocksteady Studios were up to the challenge of making a great Batman game. This is the best superhero video game ever 100%
  77. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    This is a true super hero game. It's not made for Batman fans or nerds, Its made for anyone. First let me explain about the graphics, This game graphics are breathtaking! Every texture is so detailed, the physics engine is amazing! It really shows the power of the Unreal Engine 3. The voice acting catches the atmosphere and soul of the comic book. Joker is simply... Something special! TheThis is a true super hero game. It's not made for Batman fans or nerds, Its made for anyone. First let me explain about the graphics, This game graphics are breathtaking! Every texture is so detailed, the physics engine is amazing! It really shows the power of the Unreal Engine 3. The voice acting catches the atmosphere and soul of the comic book. Joker is simply... Something special! The Gameplay is amazing! You actually feel like your Batman. The free-flow combat is much better than any Hack & Slash game out there despite the low-score reviews. This is a game that you shouldn't pass, if you do... You don't know what you lost! Expand
  78. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Best batman game ever is one of the best super hero game i played
  79. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    This is not your average superhero license game. Rocksteady have taken the genre by the scruff of the neck with Arkham Asylum, making sure that not only are fans of the Caped Crusader catered for, but gamers are given a tasty treat as well.

    Where to start? The game is packed with not only ideas, but activities throughout the game, making for hours of play. While some of these are,
    This is not your average superhero license game. Rocksteady have taken the genre by the scruff of the neck with Arkham Asylum, making sure that not only are fans of the Caped Crusader catered for, but gamers are given a tasty treat as well.

    Where to start? The game is packed with not only ideas, but activities throughout the game, making for hours of play. While some of these are, rather unfortunately, of the "collect all of the..." mould, Rocksteady have taken a hugely respectable leap forward, in allowing the player to butt heads with the Riddler, solving all the puzzles he leaves around the island. The island itself is well crafted, and large enough to keep most players happy, although if you hate backtracking, be aware that you will be retracing your steps more than once.

    The combat is excellent, and for me, didn't get old. It feels as though you are connecting with each henchmen when you punch, kick and throw, instead of having a big burly character swinging his fists until he happens to collide with someone. Batman is a tornado of hurt, and in the middle of a crowd, even a novice player can quickly rack up the combos.

    The story sometimes feels like it exists purely to bring out the big names in the Batman universe, but why shouldn't it? The villains are hugely entertaining, and hearing the Joker taunting the Dark Knight over the PA system is a neat touch. The boss battles are hit and miss, with some feeling like a by the numbers fight with an old school boss, and some feeling truly fun.

    I would heartily recommend this game to anyone, not just fans of Batman, as it is hugely entertaining, well crafted, and imaginative. This could be a classic
    Expand
  80. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Wow, just awesome! As a Batman fan, I'm glad to say that this is a very good game. It's like they mixed the best parts of Batman: The Animated Series and The Dark Knight to create this wonderful game. The only complaint I have was that you could sometimes get lost, not knowing were you have to go next, but don't let that complaint bring your enjoyment down. Go buy this game now!
  81. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    This was easily my favorite game of 2009. I loved every aspect of this game, even the imperfections. This game was so great on so many levels and really is worthy of being a Batman game. The classic Batman characters brought about in this game were excellent and fun to play against. Although the third person view over the shoulder took some getting used to, but I enjoyed it along withThis was easily my favorite game of 2009. I loved every aspect of this game, even the imperfections. This game was so great on so many levels and really is worthy of being a Batman game. The classic Batman characters brought about in this game were excellent and fun to play against. Although the third person view over the shoulder took some getting used to, but I enjoyed it along with the overall game play. The story was well done and the more you explored the more Arkham Asylum really came to life. An instant classic. Expand
  82. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Batman: Arkham Asylum is just an amazing game. It's the full package. The fighting is very fluid and sophisticated, the graphics are absolutely fantastic, the story is well written and well paced, the voice acting is top notch (featuring talent from the 90 's cartoon) and the detective side of the story is very interesting and well done. Any fan of action games would absolutely love it, I know I do! Expand
  83. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    This game was epic. Raises the bar on superhero titles (ok so that bar was low) and action/adventure. To me what appeals the most was the detail and tone of it, it was really good to see a game that took attributes like lighting and soundtrack and (successfully) exploited them to make them an integral part of the game experience. Sure, there were gameplay 'faults' with the combat beingThis game was epic. Raises the bar on superhero titles (ok so that bar was low) and action/adventure. To me what appeals the most was the detail and tone of it, it was really good to see a game that took attributes like lighting and soundtrack and (successfully) exploited them to make them an integral part of the game experience. Sure, there were gameplay 'faults' with the combat being potentially way too easy, but I think it was all a part of making the game accessible to a wider audience which it certainly is. This game hooked me from start to finish and it was the first game where I actually bothered to complete EVERYTHING, side quests and all - such was the immersion. Expand
  84. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    This is, simply put, one of the best video games of this generation. When it was released it was undisputively one of the greatest superhero/comic book/licensed games of all time. Batman Arkham Asylum is a true masterpiece, anyone can enjoy this superb third person action game.
  85. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Easily the best game I've played in years.If you're scared to play this because you're used to playing terrible batman games... Don't be. They got it completely right this time. Graphics, Mechanics, Plot, Audio, Replay Value. Literally the only negative thing I've heard is it's a bit too short. While it's not the longest game ever, it seems perfect the way it is. I could not wait to beatEasily the best game I've played in years.If you're scared to play this because you're used to playing terrible batman games... Don't be. They got it completely right this time. Graphics, Mechanics, Plot, Audio, Replay Value. Literally the only negative thing I've heard is it's a bit too short. While it's not the longest game ever, it seems perfect the way it is. I could not wait to beat this game. Expand
  86. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    When this game come out it had what id say are the best graphics on PS3 along with the Uncharted series. Great story which will keep you playing through, also comes with Riddler trophies which add to the game.
    Brilliant game over all and still one of the best i have played.

    A Classic
  87. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum is by no doubt the GAME OF THE YEAR. Best game Ive ever played for PS3. I have played many games for PS3 but none can compare th Arkham Asylum. The beast part is that they bring out a darker side of Batman in the game, which i think is totally awesome
  88. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    The measure of a great game for me as apposed to a good game or a not so good game is whether it stays with me for good or whether it goes on an auction website. Lets just say I won't be selling Batman Arkham Asylum as I enjoyed it immensely. Right from the word go you plunge straight into the action and from then on it's a roller coaster ride to the finish. The voice acting for almostThe measure of a great game for me as apposed to a good game or a not so good game is whether it stays with me for good or whether it goes on an auction website. Lets just say I won't be selling Batman Arkham Asylum as I enjoyed it immensely. Right from the word go you plunge straight into the action and from then on it's a roller coaster ride to the finish. The voice acting for almost all of the main characters is excellent, especially the Joker and the whole atmosphere of the game is spot on for a gritty, dark, superhero game. I won't spoil anything for those who haven't played it but the gameplay and cut scenes for one of the villains whenever he turned up were so much fun I actually looked forward to his next appearance! Also the inventive strategies you sometimes have to use to deal with the goons is great and using any of the Batman gadgets, a joy. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was the boss fight at the end was slightly disappointing and at one point the game bugged so I couldn't get through a door and had to restart the Playstation but overall these were only minor points and if I could give it a 9.5 I would, but as it is this game is brilliant and I tip my hat to those that worked so hard to bring us such a wonderful game. Expand
  89. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best batman game of all time and is with in my top three for the PS3. I mean come on, what more could a batman fan ask for, Joker, Quinn, Killer Croc, Scarecrow, Poison Ive, Zasz, even the Riddler gives you challenges beyond that of many other games. And of course, beating up all of the henchmen never gets old. Batman Arkham Asylum rocks!
  90. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Really good game but I had a couple of gripes. The detective mode basically allowed you to cheat and the combat was too easy and the [spoiler] lunatics were just plain annoying. However, the combat looked really good, the game was fun and an amazing stealth game. 9 out of 10.
  91. May 1, 2011
    10
    FINALLY! Detective aspect: check
    Awesome gadgets: check
    Memorable characters: check
    Fun storyline: check
    Kick-a$$ moves: check
    Batmobile: check
    Batcave: check!!!
    No Robin: CHECK
  92. May 12, 2011
    10
    Are you kidding me? This was one of the best games of 2009. It actually feels like a throwback to classic Super Metroid's awesome exploration and I love it. Prior to this game I couldn't remember the last time a game grabbed me and got me excited to finish it. My only complaint would be the lack of reward for solving all the RIddler's Puzzles, but at least they were fun to solve!
  93. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Besides the SNES game The Adventures of Batman and Robin this is the BEST Batman game I have ever played. The combat is a blast and never got old I played the combat challenges over and over just to experience all the moves and excitment of it.I'm so glad they added the challenges to show off the combat engine.Only downfall I had of the game was the detective vison. Once you turn it on youBesides the SNES game The Adventures of Batman and Robin this is the BEST Batman game I have ever played. The combat is a blast and never got old I played the combat challenges over and over just to experience all the moves and excitment of it.I'm so glad they added the challenges to show off the combat engine.Only downfall I had of the game was the detective vison. Once you turn it on you pretty much leave it on to see the enemies.I tried to play without it but found myself leaving it on 90% of the time.10/10 if you haven't played it,you're missing out on the best Batman game ever. Expand
  94. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    It's a general rule that games which borrow superhero characters as their central protagonist will not be taken well by players. While the voice actor for Batman seemed exaggeratedly monotonous, and the Joker was exceedingly 'high-strung', I was still legitimately enjoying Arkham Asylum as the Platinum trophy appeared on my screen. For me, the one shortcoming is that the game was notIt's a general rule that games which borrow superhero characters as their central protagonist will not be taken well by players. While the voice actor for Batman seemed exaggeratedly monotonous, and the Joker was exceedingly 'high-strung', I was still legitimately enjoying Arkham Asylum as the Platinum trophy appeared on my screen. For me, the one shortcoming is that the game was not nearly as psychologically thrilling as the graphic novel of the same name, but that's subjective to the player's interests. With its intriguing collectibles and a near perfect juxtaposition of stalking sections against combat sections, this is one of the 'do-not-miss' titles for the PlayStation 3. Expand
  95. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a great game. The gameplay is great with a solid fighting system and the gadgets are pretty sick. The story is great with Arkham giving nice thriller settling which will have you on the edge of your seat for most of the time. The graphics are great and it really complements the Asylum's gothic look, and its a great way to bring in all the villain into the story.Batman: Arkham Asylum is a great game. The gameplay is great with a solid fighting system and the gadgets are pretty sick. The story is great with Arkham giving nice thriller settling which will have you on the edge of your seat for most of the time. The graphics are great and it really complements the Asylum's gothic look, and its a great way to bring in all the villain into the story. But one of the boss fights I found really tedious and some of the puzzles aren't explained properly which was annoying. But this is truly a great game with the Caped Crusader. Expand
  96. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    I had play many batman games before this one, and never liked very much. Then I bought the game for curiosity, and I am very happy to say: "this is the best game of action-adventure ever made". I spend hours trying to resolve the "puzzles in the game, but I liked , it was action and intrigue from the first to the last moment. I recommend and , I think that every body should try it.
  97. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    The BEST superhero game out there. The gameplay is fantastic and the graphics are nice and crisp. I did find the lack of Online challenges a bit poor but maybe they will sort that with City. All in all a great game and worth a 9 in my book.
  98. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I think I speak for most gamers, when I say how surprised I am how this game turned out. I mean, the most we would expect, is for it to be at least a decent game. Don't get me wrong, I'm not bagging on Batman himself, he is after all my favorite "super hero" of them all. It's just, this game turned out to be really, really good, a huge success. A game worth playing again and again, toI think I speak for most gamers, when I say how surprised I am how this game turned out. I mean, the most we would expect, is for it to be at least a decent game. Don't get me wrong, I'm not bagging on Batman himself, he is after all my favorite "super hero" of them all. It's just, this game turned out to be really, really good, a huge success. A game worth playing again and again, to relive the very entertaining campaign. Expand
  99. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game makes you feel like a badass, makes you feel like you're Batman. The combat system is cool and kind of like God of War. Stealth is a big part of this game, which I enjoy intensely. The only criticism I have for this game is that you can turn on bat vision or whatever its called, which allows you to see through walls and enemies are highlighted, there's really no reason to everThis game makes you feel like a badass, makes you feel like you're Batman. The combat system is cool and kind of like God of War. Stealth is a big part of this game, which I enjoy intensely. The only criticism I have for this game is that you can turn on bat vision or whatever its called, which allows you to see through walls and enemies are highlighted, there's really no reason to ever turn this off! This is too bad because the graphics/artstyle is great and will be wasted because of this. Expand
  100. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    I can honestly say there has never truly been a great Batman game until this arrived. I've played most iterations of the dark knights games, stretching all the way back to the days of the original Nintendo!

    The visuals in this game are downright stunning, and the atmosphere is plucked right out of a movie set. The characters all look great, and the levels themselves will give you a real
    I can honestly say there has never truly been a great Batman game until this arrived. I've played most iterations of the dark knights games, stretching all the way back to the days of the original Nintendo!

    The visuals in this game are downright stunning, and the atmosphere is plucked right out of a movie set. The characters all look great, and the levels themselves will give you a real sense of dread when you enter areas like the sewers Killer Croc roams, or the morgue.

    The controls are very intuitive, but the combo system can take some serious getting used to. There were some trophies for doing giant combos that I feel are nearly impossible. None of this will detract from the game too much though, because the combat is tight and the gadgets all work great!

    Lots of side quests will keep you going for hours, like solving Riddles. Locating hidden items, and separate game modes like challenge modes really keep the replay value high.

    If ever there was an action adventure game you should go right out and buy this is one of them. The game has quite a few jaw dropping moments, that you'll certainly be telling your friends about.

    The game has been out for a long time now and the sequel is about to be released, so you can find it relatively cheap. This game is worth every penny you spend on it, and an adventure you'll be glad you paid to be a part of!
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. The whole game is a class act. The fighting is sophisticated but arcade-addictive, the visuals are stylish, and the Lara-like exploration is smartly done. Plus the DC heritage feels all-encompassing like a big blanket. Arkham Asylum is comfortably the best comic book game that PlayStation's ever had, and is up there with the system's best actioners, full stop. [Sept 2009, p.95]
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum is this year's "BioShock," not just from the connection established with the world, but from its ability to innovate where new ideas are needed, and moreover, deliver an adventure unlike any other. [Sept 2009, p.82]
  3. Yes, this is the Batman you've been waiting for...It's a wonderful experience, beginning to end, never taking the easy or familiar route, and infusing each shift of the story with original ideas that cut no corners. [Oct 2009, p.70]