User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 782 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 782

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It is safe to say that Batman: Arkham Asylum is a lot better than everybody expected it to be and somehow more. The gameplay is smooth and the graphics look great.
  2. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Wow, just awesome! As a Batman fan, I'm glad to say that this is a very good game. It's like they mixed the best parts of Batman: The Animated Series and The Dark Knight to create this wonderful game. The only complaint I have was that you could sometimes get lost, not knowing were you have to go next, but don't let that complaint bring your enjoyment down. Go buy this game now!
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This was without doubt the biggest surprise of 2009. No one expected to great things but what a shock they were in for. Batman Arkham Asylum was one of, if not the game of 2009. And rightly so, it was a genuinely excpetional piece of gaming. It done exactly what the Dark Knight done for the Batman franchise on the big screen, except on a video-gaming level! Visually it is great, they capture the Asylum to a tee and the voice acting is top notch. The single player mode is fantastic. It deals with the Joker being returned to the Asylum but he is set free and begins to cause havoc meaning they turn to Batman to intervene and restore order. Of-course there are other boss battles along the way before the showdown with The Joker (voice acted by Mark Hamill.) The combat system works really well and is is to get to grips with thats not to say its to easy, at times it may seem that way but one wrong move and Bats is out! Bane, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Poison Ivy and Scarecrow are the villains you come across and thats were the only disappointment is boss battles at times are too easy, bar Poison Ivy who is at least a bit of a challenge and the showdown with Joker isn't what a final battle should be especially one at the end of such a great game like this. There's other challenges to, The Riddler finding his clues for one then ofcourse there's always online! So basically Arkham Asylum is just a wonderful game, and even now there are very few who can match it. An essential purchase for all PS3 owners. Now for Arkham City... Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    Great game! Very intresting, there seemed to be always something new happening. The exploration of the arkham island was nice touch as well. Great game with an even better sequel!!
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    i absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interested in Batman and i want to learn and look more into Batman. i have not compleated the story yet but i have played a couple of hours and usually i have beeten the games by this point so i think it is safe to assume that this is a long story line. the graphics in this game are also amazing it is just like watching a movie and i dont mind the camera view because it changes when you fight and when you run so i basicly am never looking over the shoulder. there is also a very deep plot involved with the story to and is layered with lots of detail and is very interesting. i especially love the amount of villains in this game and the voice acting of every character is superb. this gmae has turned me onto the entire batman name and is defenatly in my top 10 favorite games if not my favorite and im glad i finally gave in and bought this game Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    I've never been one with the numerous superhero universes that have spawned over the years including Batman. The Dark Knight was my first real foray into the Batman universe, and I walked away from that film suitably impressed, but that didn't make me a fan. Now that Arkham Asylum has been brushed, I am not just a fan of the universe but I absolutely love and adore it. Part of my love for Arkham Asylum stems from the wide assortment of valuable collectibles strewn around Arkham Asylum. Whether it's audio diaries or riddler trophies or challenges, the game digs deep with a heavy and rich emphasis on Batman lore. This lore really engrosses the player into the universe and into each individual character, detailing the villain's irrational histories. The gameplay is an impeccable highlight too. Batman has an assortment of punches, kicks and special takedowns which can be all chained into combos and you can wrack up glorious counter kills. The AI is challenging, but only in packs. One thing the gameplay particularly nails, is the changing up and the variety mix of enemies you'll encounter- forcing you to think strategically about each encounter. If there's any conceivable criticism, it's that some of the boss fights are a bit too easy, especially the one involving poison Ivy. Also the island does come down as being a bit too restrictive for my liking. But for the sheer amount of epic moments involving Scarecrow, Killer Croc and other batman villains, along with the vitality of Arkham Asylum through the numerous facilities and the levity inducing characters (not forgetting the outstanding performance of the Joker) Arkham Asylum is absolutely fantastic, and an absolute must by. Your relationship with the source material is irrelevant in a game this well crafted. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    Awesome game with a lot to keep you busy for hours. Graphics are great and the game has a great plot. Inclusion of a lot of Batman characters throughout the game keeps it interesting. Definitely the best Batman game that i have played. Fighting and detective work are both really fun to play. A definite buy regardless of how you feel about Batman.
  8. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Batman AA sets the bar to how a Superhero game should be. Most of them before where overshadowed by the hero's past in our imaginary. None could beat or equal the comics or the movies. this one couldn't either but matched it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: The story i sort of forced and predictable but it served the purpose. The characters are all from Batman's stories throughout the years so they
    have their background which is rich and deeply explored so this was easy if it where well used. It was.
    PRESENTATION: The game sucks right in and it feels you are in Arkham. The Scarecrow quests are a treat. What more could on ask?
    GAMEPLAY: Ever dreamed to be Batman? Now you can. It's the best it can be said about Batman AA and the gameplay enhances it and embraces it. Beating bad guys never felt as good and as cool.
    PROGRESSION: The game rewards you with some a great deal of enhancements that serve the character progression. Gadgets aside the perks you get throughout the campaign don't exactly stand out but that doesn't hurt the game although some depth here could benefit the experience a bit more.
    ONLINE: Unexisting. Unless if you want to results comparisons in the side quests to count as online. For me they don't. But the Dark Knight is a lone wolf (yes i prefer Batman solo without Robin) and anything that changes that is bad for me.
    Batman AA was my first experience in PS3. How lucky was that?
    Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I think I speak for most gamers, when I say how surprised I am how this game turned out. I mean, the most we would expect, is for it to be at least a decent game. Don't get me wrong, I'm not bagging on Batman himself, he is after all my favorite "super hero" of them all. It's just, this game turned out to be really, really good, a huge success. A game worth playing again and again, to relive the very entertaining campaign. Expand
  10. May 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll admit that I was afraid of this game when it came out. It just seemed too scary to me (the Joker looked creepy as hell). But then I finally got over my fear a couple years later after watching walkthroughs and I decided to get this game. I'm glad I did. It wasn't scary at all (except for the Scarecrow hallucinations). The story is great and the combat and stealth gameplay make you feel like you're really Batman. If you're a Batman fan, you would be crazy not to get this game. Expand
  11. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyed the game a lot...If not counting very boring and repeatitive boss battles. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    There isn't much to say about the Arkham games that hasn't already been said. They redefine the standards for super hero games and games in general by staying loyal to its source material while putting the player in the shoes of the Dark Knight. They feature top-notch voice acting by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill, the definitive Batman-Joker duo. They created one of the best fighting system in gaming, making hordes of bad guys feel more than just typical button-mashing, but an orchestra of perfectly timed counters and takedowns. With all the immense hype surrounding the game, it seems impossible that Arkham Asylum can reach the lofty goals the gaming community set for it.
    I'm happy to say, however, that this is not only the Batman game The Dark Knight deserves, but it's also the one he needs.
    The story is riveting from start to finish. The Caped Crusader has just stopped the Joker from committing a routine bank robbery, claiming it was almost as if the Clown Prince of Crime wanted to be caught. Batman takes him back to the asylum where he belongs, only to find that this was the Joker's true intentions all along. With the help of several other of Arkham's most dangerous inmates, he takes over the asylum and traps Batman and the rest of the guards inside. In order to prevent them from wrecking havoc on Gotham City through a complex plan that reveals itself the deeper you go into the story, Batman must take down the Joker and his allies before they escape the island. From the first few minutes, in which the game throws you straight into the action, to each emotionally charged boss takedown, the story and atmosphere hit bullseyes. In addition, despite a few botched lines, the dialogue and voice acting also are flawless.
    The best part of the game is the action, which makes nearly all of the other aspects of the game feel practically insignificant. Beating up hordes of bad guys never felt better. You create a symphony of punches, kicks, and blocks that makes you feel invincible. However, powerful Titan-fueled giants and armored thugs mix up the gameplay and provide challenge. Stealth mode also shines. In order to take out a room of armed henchmen, you need to use your wits more than your fists. Batman will die if he takes too many bullets, so each room must be prepared for carefully and the environment needs to be manipulated to your advantage to survive the night. For example, two guards might be faced back to back to cover blind spots, so blowing up a wall nearby might be necessary to split them apart and take them down individually. The AI feels incredibly real. I was detected when I was expected to be and when I felt silent and undetected nothing stopped me from delivering a neck-paralyzing punch to a thug. As I was observing the scene from the darkness above on a gargoyle, I realized that I didn't just feel like the Dark Knight. I WAS the Dark Knight. Arkham Asylum is one of the most immersive games ever created, making the player really feel like a hardened vigilante in a prison full of psychopaths. Every moment is fully engrossing and surprising; one shocking me so much I thought my PS3 had crashed and was broken forever. No other game in recent memory provides so many memorable moments that tie in so well with the DC Universe.
    Despite all this praise, there are downsides. Detective Mode is important to detect bad guys and pathways thought the asylum, analogous to X-ray vision. However, you can't appreciate the scenery and graphics when the game gives you no incentive to turn off this vision since there may be bad guys right around the corner. In addition, the boss battles are downright miserable. Every one feels forced and repetitive, especially the "fight" with Killer Croc, which is by far the worst moment in the game. Even the Joker's fight is wrong, coming as a complete embarrassment to his character. For a villain who relies so much on evil planning and deliciously complex intelligence hidden beneath an apparent madness, his boss battle is just like fighting one of the mindless Titan-infused minions throughout the game, which comes off as a major letdown.
    Despite all this, Arkham Asylum is a fantastic superhero game and game in general. While the boss battles disappoint and fighting feels rigid in certain areas, everything else in the game is pure, stylized perfection. There are Easter eggs and references for Batman addicts and enough engaging gameplay and storytelling to invite newcomers into the Gotham universe. But the game's crowing achievement, the one aspect that puts all others to shame, is the way it makes you feel like you are behind the cape and cowl, saving the world from the Joker one punch at a time.
    Welcome to the madhouse.
    Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    It was strange for me to play this game because I had played Arkham City first and with that experience I began to notice the things that they improved with this game. The combat is slightly less fluid than in this and the story is more engaing in City aswell but this is still a class above almost everything else out there. A really great game.
  14. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Welcome to the mad house batman....THIS GAME IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE STORIES THAT MAKES SENSE,GREAT CONTROL,SMOOTH & REALISTIC ANIMATION...ETC!!! First the good:graphics are incredible from the lighting & shadows to the almost rustic/haunted look of atonal asylum!!! the control is perfect as you will freely take down Enemies quickly,skillfully..even stealthy so its very Accessible while remaining very challenging.the enemy designs look great each character is very detailed & last but certainly not least.....the story!! Just an amazing job when it comes to writing a fantastic story for batman arkham asylum!! Its well thought out & paced but I won't ruin it for those of you who haven't played it. Now for the bad parts...I honestly can't find anything I didn't like about it...its a great game with very little load times or bugs/flaws I highly recommend this game!! 10/10 Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This Batman was a huge surprise the star of the show was the joker he made the game, The gadgets were cool, the graphics was good, the only thing i didnt like about batman was batman and the bosses which were repetetive, overall a very good game.
  16. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    The superhero game we needed this started something amazing, a fresh start from the dull superhero genre which we were accustomed too in games.......
  17. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    I'm very sceptical about superhero games. When it was first announced, I was impressed with the trailer but not sure if the game would live up to hype the trailer produced. Fortunately, RockSteady was able to deliver the best superhero game to date (Batman Arkham City not included) and one of the best experiences of 2009. From the incredible visuals, the fluid combat system, the tactical stealth and the interesting presentation/background to the supervillians and superheroes, Batman Arkham Asylum is a must play. Expand
  18. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game makes you feel like a badass, makes you feel like you're Batman. The combat system is cool and kind of like God of War. Stealth is a big part of this game, which I enjoy intensely. The only criticism I have for this game is that you can turn on bat vision or whatever its called, which allows you to see through walls and enemies are highlighted, there's really no reason to ever turn this off! This is too bad because the graphics/artstyle is great and will be wasted because of this. Expand
  19. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    The game is flawed and many minor details lack this game behind from greatness. But for the most part, this was a well made game and offers a different environment to the action-adventure genera. The character cast is superb and the creativity of the game, which defines the characters and game play, is well created.
  20. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    its been a while since I've played this one, but I remember absolutely loving it. It had some excellent parts, and was a blast to play. It reminded me of parts of super metroid and link to the past with getting items and not being able to reach areas until you got the items that was needed. It was good length had good graphics and neats ideas, a blast to play, overall an amazing game. The combat is outstanding as well, I love how it feels so fluid and the animations flow so well with the fighting. Expand
  21. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    "Batman: Arkham Asylum" is the first video game that does justice to Bob Kane's iconic character. Developed by Rocksteady Studios ("Urban Chaos: Riot Response"), it is a third-person action-adventure comparable to "Bioshock". In the game, players take the role of Batman as he tries to prevent the Joker from creating an army of super-powered creatures within the asylum. Written by Paul Dini and featuring the voices of Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill, it is a dark follow-up to their children's cartoon "Batman: The Animated Series". Powered by the Unreal Engine, "Arkham" features jaw-dropping graphics that bring the characters and locations to vivid life. It also includes an innovative combat system that is simple, yet challenging to master. The game incorporates stealth segments, puzzle solving and boss battles. In a sense, it feels very much like a Batman "simulator" since it touches upon everything that makes up the character of The Dark Knight. Fans of "Metroid" and other similar games will feel at ease with the structure and flow of this interactive adventure. It constantly rewards progression with upgrades and new tools of the trade. Those who loved the Christopher Nolan "Batman" films will certainly find this Dark Knight installment to be equally exciting. It is one of the great Batman properties and one of the best video games of 2009. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  22. May 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing in pretty much all ways. The story is fantastic, the graphics are very batman (real and still very comic like). The puzzles are decent, the villains are very good and also there is so much to collect like voice recordings, Riddler trophies or bio of pretty much all Batman characters and don't even get me started on the gadgets and challenges. If I had a bad thing to say about this game it was that the camera was sometimes iffy and I got lost alot but I am an idiot so I don't really blame the game for that. Expand
  23. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Truer to the Batman mythos than the Christopher Nolan films could ever be, this game has it all. Gadgets, combat, stealth, and problem solving. Add amazing voice-acting, smooth controls, and a compelling story and you have everything you'd need for an immersive Batman experience.

    GREAT stuff!
  24. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    The fighting mechanics in this game are freaking awesome. This game is probably the first comic book game that I have played that I like for it being a great game and not just because there is a comic book character in it. Just totally bad ass, but what do you expect IT'S BATMAN!!
  25. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Although I hate to say the plot isn't as engaging as it could be, the gameplay is ultra smooth and fair, leading to some of the most intense stealth missions in any game I've ever played. I wasn't even that big of a fan of the Batman universe, and I had a blast with this game. It perfectly blends puzzles, side quests, stealth, and a bit of open world RPG qualities. It's a very unique game and in my opinion better than Arkham City. Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    To be totally honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Batman comics. I mean, they're cool and all, but I've never been a fan of comics in general, and there are not really any exceptions. I have enjoyed most of the Batman movies (only a couple I didn't like). So hearing that this was a Batman game that was much more based on the comics rather than the movies I was a bit skeptical as to if I would like it.

    I went ahead after a while and picked this game up to give it a try. I must say that this was a very pleasant surprise. The gameplay was very good. The controls were very easy to figure out, there was good variety in areas and things you do, and it was constantly fun. There were plenty of things to keep you busy for a while, and the game, in the end, was just a whole lot of fun.
    Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Best batman game ever is one of the best super hero game i played
  28. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Really good game but I had a couple of gripes. The detective mode basically allowed you to cheat and the combat was too easy and the [spoiler] lunatics were just plain annoying. However, the combat looked really good, the game was fun and an amazing stealth game. 9 out of 10.
  29. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    El único fallo sería la gran facilidad que nos aporta el modo Detective a la hora de eliminar sigilosamente a los villanos armados. Aún así, el resto de los elementos del juego hacen que te olvides (parcialmente, claro está) de ese fallo. Pues no sólo es acción, sino que también podremos interactuar mucho más que en juegos anteriores, tendremos una historia mucho más interesante y profunda, respetando fielmente la esencia del personaje y, como no, disfrutaremos de unos gráficos increíbles. De lo mejor del catálogo de PS3.

    Nota: 9.5/10
    Expand
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    This is the most surprising game of 2009. I mean the combat is flawless, exploring arkham asylum is fun, and the boss fights are fun. The Graphics look stunning. I don't know what else say.
  31. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Arkham Asylum is the most underrated game ever made IMO. It rediefines "Comic book games", and outside of a poor final fight the game has great boss fights. Collecting the riddler challenges is fun although it can get old. Not alot of replay value, but its worth your money, as ive completed it 4 times.
  32. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    I can honestly say there has never truly been a great Batman game until this arrived. I've played most iterations of the dark knights games, stretching all the way back to the days of the original Nintendo!

    The visuals in this game are downright stunning, and the atmosphere is plucked right out of a movie set. The characters all look great, and the levels themselves will give you a real
    sense of dread when you enter areas like the sewers Killer Croc roams, or the morgue.

    The controls are very intuitive, but the combo system can take some serious getting used to. There were some trophies for doing giant combos that I feel are nearly impossible. None of this will detract from the game too much though, because the combat is tight and the gadgets all work great!

    Lots of side quests will keep you going for hours, like solving Riddles. Locating hidden items, and separate game modes like challenge modes really keep the replay value high.

    If ever there was an action adventure game you should go right out and buy this is one of them. The game has quite a few jaw dropping moments, that you'll certainly be telling your friends about.

    The game has been out for a long time now and the sequel is about to be released, so you can find it relatively cheap. This game is worth every penny you spend on it, and an adventure you'll be glad you paid to be a part of!
    Expand
  33. May 2, 2012
    10
    I can't believe super heroes finally got a game they deserve. Theres no denying that games based off movies or games based off super heroes have been pretty mediocre, but this one breaks the stereotype. This game is one of the best games that i have ever played. First off i was surprised how deep into the batman comics they really went with adding not only the major batman villains but all the minor ones in the comic books as well. With the combat scheme working well and make you seem like your taking on a an army but it doesn't feel like your being swamped and just double to triple teamed. It is a good mixture from that aspect. Not only does the game have a good story line where Batman goes through a night of hell but theres also the riddler challenges as well as the challenge maps that will keep you occupied once you beat the story. The character bios are a great addition and i personally love the patient interview tapes that have recordings of doctor patient interviews of batmans foes. Another amazing aspect of this game is the looks of it and the minor details thrown into the game to make it that much better such as bat mans cape changing showing the journey you been throughout the night. The dark looks make this game seem very dark which resembles the batman comics more than the movies. Overall it is one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  34. May 28, 2012
    9
    At this point in time I haven't actually yet played Arkham City, yet I can't wait to since apparently it's better than Arkham Asylum, and AA I find is one of the best superhero games out there and makes you really feel like you're Batman. The controls are great, my only major niggle being there isn't an auto-run, and the free-flow combat is astounding and taking down a group of thugs is very satisfying. There are a great variety of gadgets on offer too, however you'll find that you'll prefer not to turn the detective vision off since it has many advantages over 'normal vision' . Great characters from the comics and voice acting, but some of the few baddies you fight can be a bit tedious, and a good variety of challenge maps and over 200 Riddler puzzles to solve. Arguably one of 2009's best games! Expand
  35. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Never been a fan of comic books or super-heroes, but damn, this game makes you feel like you're really the bat. The story is pretty good and covers a lot of villains. The graphics are easily identified as running through the unreal engine, but they look fantastic. The real hook of this game for me is the hand-to-hand combat. It is so fluent and the animations and fighting sequences blend flawlessly together as you dispatch hordes of foes. Rocksteady Studios really hit a gem with this game. Can't wait to play Arkham City! Expand
  36. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    De las mejores adaptaciones de un personaje de comic a los videojuegos, el poder mezclar la oscuridad del personaje con las virtudes de la tecnologia del Unreal Engine, hacen de este uno de los mejores juegos del año y de la actual generacion de consolas, desde el complemento de los personajes hasta los escenarios nos hace recordar al Batman de Miller con la fascinación de los juegos de sigilo, te hacen sentir como si fueras Batman, nada de brincar por escenarios coloridos ni jefes comicos, todo es oscuridad pero divertida, seas fan o no del personaje, este es un must to play en la historia de los videojuegos y seguro sera un parteaguas para el futuro Expand
  37. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Arkham Asylum's atmosphere, controls, and all-around polish will get you addicted in just a few minutes. Its plot is also worth a mention as it is very enjoyable, interesting, and has lots of different twists and turns at unexpected moments!
  38. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is the best 50 dollars I ever spent. I wasn't a gamer, played this, and now I am. Anyone who enjoys third person action/stealth games NEEDS to play this game. It's simply a work of art that has helped Batman regain his rightful limelight of the best superhero ever.
  39. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I enjoyed this game alot!! in my opinion arkham asylum is possibly the best of the series. Harley quinn is so sexy too. I love the Riddler challenges too.
  40. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    It's a general rule that games which borrow superhero characters as their central protagonist will not be taken well by players. While the voice actor for Batman seemed exaggeratedly monotonous, and the Joker was exceedingly 'high-strung', I was still legitimately enjoying Arkham Asylum as the Platinum trophy appeared on my screen. For me, the one shortcoming is that the game was not nearly as psychologically thrilling as the graphic novel of the same name, but that's subjective to the player's interests. With its intriguing collectibles and a near perfect juxtaposition of stalking sections against combat sections, this is one of the 'do-not-miss' titles for the PlayStation 3. Expand
  41. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    The BEST superhero game out there. The gameplay is fantastic and the graphics are nice and crisp. I did find the lack of Online challenges a bit poor but maybe they will sort that with City. All in all a great game and worth a 9 in my book.
  42. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best and intense video game experiences I have ever made. It brought back exitement in gaming to me and had very unique moments (the first time with scarecrow as example). I didn't expect anything when I bought this, but it made me a huge fan of the dark knight
  43. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    The first time I saw it I thought it was rubbish. But after I saw the movie The Dark Knight I saw the best comic villain ever, Joker. Then when I heard all about it with my friends I was impressed and wanted to know more by playing it. After I played it I was blown away. Every thing that was put in it was like a puzzle that fitted perfectly. From the stealth to the graphics and the Riddler trophies was confusing but also fun. The best part was JOKER and of course the different villains and bio's that made it a masterpiece as well as batman and his gadgets. I recommend BUY IT!!!!!! It's awesome. Expand
  44. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    Ok, first of all, I LOVE batman. When I heard about this game and all the hype behind it I feared for the worst. There wasn't a good batman game in years but this one seemed to be the turning point not only for the bat, but comic book games alike. First thing you'll notice is the game looks beautiful, being powered by the Unreal Engine and all. Controls isn't something I touch up but these are like the most perfect controls for a batman game. The sound effects, music, and voice acting are all top notch. Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill reprise their iconic roles from the animated series as batman and joker respectfully. The story was handled by Paul Dini, who also wrote the animated series, and what a story it is. The joker allows himself to get captured only to lure batman to arkham asylum, where he has a plan to take it over and get rid of batman finally. I won't spoil anything, but the amount of villains put into the game was pretty amazing. The stealth mechanics in this game and they way they make you think and use your gadgets accordingly really stand out because of the way it makes you feel like you're the one wearing the cape and cowl and not just playing a game. Most of the boss fights aren't really that good with one exception. The island itself is a pretty decent size, its not exactly open world, but its a go anywhere do anything kind of game. The amount of collectibles and challenges kept me coming back for more after the game was finished. Graphics slowdowns and pop ins are minor and kinda frequent but not game braking. Minor bugs in combat also keep the score where its at. Also the lip syncing is a little off but the story is so good you won't notice it until later. I personally think the game is kept indoors a lot with the amount of are they had to play with but its all forgiven with a great overall product. I feel that some level designs about halfway through the game are questionable as they affected the ammount of replay value the game had for me. All that being said, the good out weighs the bad. With a great story worthy of it's own comic book run, graphic novel, or even a movie, excellent voice acting, an incredible world filled with iconic batman villains, tons of gadgets at your disposal, and a perfect combat system this game truly does its best to make you feel like you are the freaking batman. Expand
  45. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    One of the best comic book hero video game adaptations I have ever played. The only other Batman game that was this good was The Adventures of Batman and Robin on SNES/GEN. Graphics are great, combat is fun and if you pick up the GOTY Edition you get 3D glasses and all DLC. Must buy game of the current game consoles, and not just for fans.
  46. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome, great Combat mode, nice riddles, a good story, great Graphics, Sexy Harley Quinn, Fun what more do you want 10. Aweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesome
  47. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Gameplay - 8/10. Graphics - 10/10. Sound - 10/10. Overall - 9.3. This game is, simply put, amazing. It deserves all of the awards its won. It
  48. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It came as a shock! Hands down the best comic-action-hero game out there. The best part is that you don't need to be a fan of Batman or the comics. It's soon 2011 and it stills holds up. The graphics weren't that good when it came out, using old Unreal engine technique. But the atmosphere was there and you actually feel like batman. The sneak mechanics are superb comparing to the joke of a game Assassins Creed 2. But it's close but no cigar comparing to Metal Gear Solid 4. Expand
  49. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    I had play many batman games before this one, and never liked very much. Then I bought the game for curiosity, and I am very happy to say: "this is the best game of action-adventure ever made". I spend hours trying to resolve the "puzzles in the game, but I liked , it was action and intrigue from the first to the last moment. I recommend and , I think that every body should try it.
  50. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    The Arkham series truly has the best combat in any game that I have ever played. That with a great storyline and other challenges got me addicted and I couldn't stop playing until I had solved every riddle, completed every challenge and in the end earned a platinum trophy.
  51. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is hands down one of the best gaming experiences you will have. Not only is it an amazing Batman game but the game-play is so smooth and intricate you will have so much fun playing it. There is also a Zelda element to the game where you won't be able to access certain areas in the beginning until you obtain an equipment later in the game which allows you to go back and explore. The satisfaction of exploring and finding everything in this universe is a joy. The combat is also extremely good at first can seem like button mashing but in fact has so much depth. If you like a good narrative and slick game-play along with visuals that are just jaw dropping then you need to play this game. Expand
  52. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    one of the best batman games ever made. awseome and awseome. i like it, my kids like it and where else for batman to fight villans than arkham asylum, crazy and crazier.. bad ass game. i recommend it to anyone looking for a good action game. and cool gadgets....used by a man in a mask...
  53. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    This is a true super hero game. It's not made for Batman fans or nerds, Its made for anyone. First let me explain about the graphics, This game graphics are breathtaking! Every texture is so detailed, the physics engine is amazing! It really shows the power of the Unreal Engine 3. The voice acting catches the atmosphere and soul of the comic book. Joker is simply... Something special! The Gameplay is amazing! You actually feel like your Batman. The free-flow combat is much better than any Hack & Slash game out there despite the low-score reviews. This is a game that you shouldn't pass, if you do... You don't know what you lost! Expand
  54. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    This is, simply put, one of the best video games of this generation. When it was released it was undisputively one of the greatest superhero/comic book/licensed games of all time. Batman Arkham Asylum is a true masterpiece, anyone can enjoy this superb third person action game.
  55. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    The measure of a great game for me as apposed to a good game or a not so good game is whether it stays with me for good or whether it goes on an auction website. Lets just say I won't be selling Batman Arkham Asylum as I enjoyed it immensely. Right from the word go you plunge straight into the action and from then on it's a roller coaster ride to the finish. The voice acting for almost all of the main characters is excellent, especially the Joker and the whole atmosphere of the game is spot on for a gritty, dark, superhero game. I won't spoil anything for those who haven't played it but the gameplay and cut scenes for one of the villains whenever he turned up were so much fun I actually looked forward to his next appearance! Also the inventive strategies you sometimes have to use to deal with the goons is great and using any of the Batman gadgets, a joy. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was the boss fight at the end was slightly disappointing and at one point the game bugged so I couldn't get through a door and had to restart the Playstation but overall these were only minor points and if I could give it a 9.5 I would, but as it is this game is brilliant and I tip my hat to those that worked so hard to bring us such a wonderful game. Expand
  56. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Besides the SNES game The Adventures of Batman and Robin this is the BEST Batman game I have ever played. The combat is a blast and never got old I played the combat challenges over and over just to experience all the moves and excitment of it.I'm so glad they added the challenges to show off the combat engine.Only downfall I had of the game was the detective vison. Once you turn it on you pretty much leave it on to see the enemies.I tried to play without it but found myself leaving it on 90% of the time.10/10 if you haven't played it,you're missing out on the best Batman game ever. Expand
  57. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a great game. The gameplay is great with a solid fighting system and the gadgets are pretty sick. The story is great with Arkham giving nice thriller settling which will have you on the edge of your seat for most of the time. The graphics are great and it really complements the Asylum's gothic look, and its a great way to bring in all the villain into the story. But one of the boss fights I found really tedious and some of the puzzles aren't explained properly which was annoying. But this is truly a great game with the Caped Crusader. Expand
  58. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    The game combines a flawless fighting system, an intriguing plot, masterful voice acting and ingenious art direction into a game that keeps players wanting more when it is all over with the makings of one of the best adapted games to date.
  59. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This can easily be the best game of this generation. it was great in many ways and gave a standard for the next AAA games to come. it has some little flaws, like the detective mode being overused, taking down the great graphics it had. Also a really mediocre end boss. if this details and its length were fixed, it would get a 10
  60. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    This was easily my favorite game of 2009. I loved every aspect of this game, even the imperfections. This game was so great on so many levels and really is worthy of being a Batman game. The classic Batman characters brought about in this game were excellent and fun to play against. Although the third person view over the shoulder took some getting used to, but I enjoyed it along with the overall game play. The story was well done and the more you explored the more Arkham Asylum really came to life. An instant classic. Expand
  61. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    This game was epic. Raises the bar on superhero titles (ok so that bar was low) and action/adventure. To me what appeals the most was the detail and tone of it, it was really good to see a game that took attributes like lighting and soundtrack and (successfully) exploited them to make them an integral part of the game experience. Sure, there were gameplay 'faults' with the combat being potentially way too easy, but I think it was all a part of making the game accessible to a wider audience which it certainly is. This game hooked me from start to finish and it was the first game where I actually bothered to complete EVERYTHING, side quests and all - such was the immersion. Expand
  62. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Although it can get a little bit repetitive at times, its still one of the greatest games I've ever played. Great voice acting, visuals, gameplay, and to top it all, a story that will keep you entertained for hours to come.
  63. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go on either beat 'em ups against rounds of thugs or stealth missions eliminating the guards of the asylum with batman or joker. Overall the game is a must have for anyone with a console not just batman fans! Expand
  64. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    I didnt know what to think of this game. I wasnt a big batman fan at all, but after this game I was. this game has alot of action tons of entertaining puzzles and rewards and som challenges to have you comeback for more this game is awesome and I am proud to have it in my collection.
  65. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Almost entirely flawless.
    By far the best PS3 game I have owned, certainly the best super hero game I have played.
    Every thing about this game demands attention. From the slick stylised gothic architecture to the sneak and pounce fighting tactics. Incredible landscape, great story line and big bad motherhumping bosses.

    Buy!
  66. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Easily the best game I've played in years.If you're scared to play this because you're used to playing terrible batman games... Don't be. They got it completely right this time. Graphics, Mechanics, Plot, Audio, Replay Value. Literally the only negative thing I've heard is it's a bit too short. While it's not the longest game ever, it seems perfect the way it is. I could not wait to beat this game. Expand
  67. May 12, 2011
    10
    Are you kidding me? This was one of the best games of 2009. It actually feels like a throwback to classic Super Metroid's awesome exploration and I love it. Prior to this game I couldn't remember the last time a game grabbed me and got me excited to finish it. My only complaint would be the lack of reward for solving all the RIddler's Puzzles, but at least they were fun to solve!
  68. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    I loved this game........that's saying something as I am by no means a superhero game fan. This was totally unexpected. Great atmosphere, attention to detail, combat was glorious and the gadgets were even better. Best part for me is getting to a high vantage point and gliding all over Arkham. Keep coming back to it for the Riddler Challenges that improve the games longevity. Buy this game.......well worth it. Expand
  69. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down, best superhero game of all time. Visually stunning. Gripping story. Both challenging and fun. Just a masterpiece. If you have not played it, what are you waiting for
  70. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    This is not your average superhero license game. Rocksteady have taken the genre by the scruff of the neck with Arkham Asylum, making sure that not only are fans of the Caped Crusader catered for, but gamers are given a tasty treat as well.

    Where to start? The game is packed with not only ideas, but activities throughout the game, making for hours of play. While some of these are,
    rather unfortunately, of the "collect all of the..." mould, Rocksteady have taken a hugely respectable leap forward, in allowing the player to butt heads with the Riddler, solving all the puzzles he leaves around the island. The island itself is well crafted, and large enough to keep most players happy, although if you hate backtracking, be aware that you will be retracing your steps more than once.

    The combat is excellent, and for me, didn't get old. It feels as though you are connecting with each henchmen when you punch, kick and throw, instead of having a big burly character swinging his fists until he happens to collide with someone. Batman is a tornado of hurt, and in the middle of a crowd, even a novice player can quickly rack up the combos.

    The story sometimes feels like it exists purely to bring out the big names in the Batman universe, but why shouldn't it? The villains are hugely entertaining, and hearing the Joker taunting the Dark Knight over the PA system is a neat touch. The boss battles are hit and miss, with some feeling like a by the numbers fight with an old school boss, and some feeling truly fun.

    I would heartily recommend this game to anyone, not just fans of Batman, as it is hugely entertaining, well crafted, and imaginative. This could be a classic
    Expand
  71. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Batman: Arkham Asylum is just an amazing game. It's the full package. The fighting is very fluid and sophisticated, the graphics are absolutely fantastic, the story is well written and well paced, the voice acting is top notch (featuring talent from the 90 's cartoon) and the detective side of the story is very interesting and well done. Any fan of action games would absolutely love it, I know I do! Expand
  72. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Even if you don't like Batman, this is an awesome game and the best game about the Dark Knight. Great voice acting, great visual and sound, great batman and comic details... definitely: a VERY GREAT game! must have!
  73. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best batman game of all time and is with in my top three for the PS3. I mean come on, what more could a batman fan ask for, Joker, Quinn, Killer Croc, Scarecrow, Poison Ive, Zasz, even the Riddler gives you challenges beyond that of many other games. And of course, beating up all of the henchmen never gets old. Batman Arkham Asylum rocks!
  74. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    This game is very spectacular! It is great because unlike many other similar games, in Batman AA fighting is very addictive.
    Then, don't forget this is a 2009 game and it's one of the best games ever: the story takes you until the end, by the favor of an incredible graphic.
  75. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Great controls, great graphics. The story is a little too linear, but the universe is so immersive and the characters so polished (hello, Joker!), I found it very engaging overall. Fights are very dynamic and controls are so responsive you want to engage everyone. Detective mode underdelivers - why bother when you can play the entire game with detective mode ON and detect all hot spots? Give it a time limit, or limited use. One of the best action/adventure games I've ever played. Expand
  76. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Rocksteady reinvents the Batman legacy in an entirely new and satisfying manner. The combat system makes this game rise above others. It's freeflow system is both intuitive, rewarding to watch and at the same time provides enough challenged for seasoned players. Batman's various gadgets serve their purposes well and are useful, which adds to the Batman flavor. The characters are all magnificently portrayed and well played out, with the scare crow ranking above all bad guys. It's just a shame that the game is pretty short, but it compensates for it a great challenge mode with online rankings. Expand
  77. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    I HAVE TO PUT THIS FIRST SO IT CAN BE SEEN, IF YOU WANT TO PLAY AS THE JOKER IN THE CHALLENGE MAPS BUY THE GAME OF THE YEAR EDITION, YOU CAN NO LONGER PLAY AS HIM ON THE REGULAR VERSION BELIEVE ME I'VE TRIED
    Now on to the review.
    This is a brilliant game. Definitely one of the best games to kick off a series. The atmosphere is set from the first cutscene, and doesn't stray for a second
    ingame. This is a brilliant game for fans and non fans of Batman. It follows the comics and animated series, not the Batman films, so don't expect to hear Christian Bale's growl anywhere. The voice acting is perfect, especially from beloved animated series stars Kevin Conroy as Batman and Mark Hamill as the Joker. The freeflow combat system is fantastic, and although you are pressing square to attack and triangle to counter, the beauty of the simple controls is that you get to watch the amazing moves batman uses on his enemies. This goes for the Joker's combat too, his moves are funny as well as epic to watch. The story is epic, definitely worthy of a film, book, or graphic novel. The only issues one may have with the game are the boss battles can be repetetive, but I don't really see that as a problem, and the amount of mashing the x button you have to do (there's a lot of air vents and walls to pull down, which requires a lot of mashing) but I don't really see this as a problem.
    This game is brilliant, definitely worthy of it's Game of the Year status, and one of my favourite games.
    Expand
  78. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Some of the most addicting gameplay I've experienced in years. Really surpassed all expectations I had for this game and superhero games in general. A true masterpiece of this generation.
  79. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    I give this game 9.6, it was highly enjoyable - just as good as Uncharted 2, Red Dead Redemption, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and Heavy Rain and GTA IV. Graphics: 9.5 - Freakin' amazing
    Gameplay: 10 - Really innovative and addictive
    Presentation: 9.6 - Loading times were fairly short, menu is great, batman looks cool
    Longevity - 15 hours to beat game, 25 hours if you collect all riddles, 30
    hours with challenge rooms
    Sound: 9.3 - Pretty good, very epic
    Cutscenes - 9.6 - Could've been a longer one for the end

    Best memory: Beating Croc, Joker and Ivy :) aaaaaaaaaaawesome..... unbeatable game
    Expand
  80. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    I am not really a fan of batman or any of the DC characters (though smallville is a guilty pleasure) but this game changed my opinion of the caped crusader almost entirely.

    The games pace is brilliant with just enough combat and exploration. The handing out of new items is well timed and the riddlers puzzles give the player an excellent opportunity to gain extra insight in the villains
    and allies of batman.

    The detective mode could have been put to greater use, being only really used a handful of times but it is used in other ways (using it to see groups of enemies around the corner for example)

    The script and voice acting are top and Mark Hamil plays the Joker fantastically.
    Expand
  81. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and Rocksteady Studios were up to the challenge of making a great Batman game. This is the best superhero video game ever 100%
  82. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    When this game come out it had what id say are the best graphics on PS3 along with the Uncharted series. Great story which will keep you playing through, also comes with Riddler trophies which add to the game.
    Brilliant game over all and still one of the best i have played.

    A Classic
  83. May 1, 2011
    10
    FINALLY! Detective aspect: check
    Awesome gadgets: check
    Memorable characters: check
    Fun storyline: check
    Kick-a$$ moves: check
    Batmobile: check
    Batcave: check!!!
    No Robin: CHECK
  84. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This game was simply amazing. It is definitely the superhero game that Batman deserves. This game was so good that I beat it in one 12 hour sitting. A must buy for sure.
  85. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    The entire game takes place on the island where Arkham Asylum is situated. The island consists of several large explorable areas, for example the Arkham mansion, the medical facility and the botanical garden. The areas are usually accessible from the outside but the areas are also ingeniously connected to each other through underground halls and hallways. When you progress through the game, you will get access to new gadgets at certain points, making it possible to explore deeper into the different areas. Its never completely obvious where you are supposed head the next which makes it all the more satisfying when you find a hidden path that will take you to a new area. Scattered around the island are also "question marks" and other objects hidden in well thought out places. These objects will reward you with a respectable amount of experience points which you use to upgrade your gadgets or to learn new attack moves. In other words, exploring the different corners of the island is always genuinely exciting.
    The combat system works amazingly well and the many kinds of different attack moves makes for a really dynamic and challenging combat. The dialogue or more often monologue is really well written and the story is great.
    When it comes to the graphics, all areas are very well designed. Unfortunately, most areas look very similar to each other and the colours mostly consist of different nuances of brown and grey. Overalll Batman Arkham Asylum is an amazing game.
    Expand
  86. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is a must play and a must own. Growing up with Batman: TAS, and Justice League, this is my Batman. The story is engaging and respectful to the mythos. The gameplay is extraordinary The combat is tight, and and rewarding. The progression of story and powerups is easily akin to a Zelda game. This game is not just a great superhero game, or Batman game, but one of the greatest games ever made overall. Story, combat, puzzles, extras... that's all i got. Expand
  87. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum is by no doubt the GAME OF THE YEAR. Best game Ive ever played for PS3. I have played many games for PS3 but none can compare th Arkham Asylum. The beast part is that they bring out a darker side of Batman in the game, which i think is totally awesome
  88. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    To this day Arkham Asylum is the best game I've played this console generation~ +That powerful feeling when you bring fear upon your prey as you stalk them. +A fluid, fresh and addictive combat system; with room for strategy even though really fast paced. +Dark, atmospheric environments will pull you in. +Voice acting will send shivers up your spine... the good kind... +Solving riddles = "This game makes me feel smart!"
    +Character bios and recordings add a great deal of depth to the villains.

    -Stalking goons can be more fun than boss showdowns.

    +/- When the game's (sweet but short ) 15+ hours are up, you'll be dangerously hungry for more.
    Expand
  89. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Very nice game. Good level design, great voice acting. The battle system is fine (not great). The puzzles and challenges are not difficult as I expected, but is still fun. The history is nothing amazing, but again, it's ok. However, the files, interviews tapes and characters biography are wonderful and really immersive. It shows a lot about the comics. Overall, is a wonderful game, a must.
  90. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Rocksteady succeeds in making you feel like you're Batman by mixing stealth, brawling, gliding, gadgets and detective work. The sights, sounds and voices bring the comics to life and there's great replay value. Sadly the enemies and bosses become repetitive, and those wanting an in-depth Batman story might be disappointed.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. The whole game is a class act. The fighting is sophisticated but arcade-addictive, the visuals are stylish, and the Lara-like exploration is smartly done. Plus the DC heritage feels all-encompassing like a big blanket. Arkham Asylum is comfortably the best comic book game that PlayStation's ever had, and is up there with the system's best actioners, full stop. [Sept 2009, p.95]
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum is this year's "BioShock," not just from the connection established with the world, but from its ability to innovate where new ideas are needed, and moreover, deliver an adventure unlike any other. [Sept 2009, p.82]
  3. Yes, this is the Batman you've been waiting for...It's a wonderful experience, beginning to end, never taking the easy or familiar route, and infusing each shift of the story with original ideas that cut no corners. [Oct 2009, p.70]