Batman: Arkham Asylum Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 937 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Batman: Arkham Asylum, the player assumes the role of Batman as he delivers The Joker to Arkham Asylum. There, the imprisoned super-villains have set a trap and an immersive combat gaming experience unfolds. With an original script penned by Emmy Award-winning Batman writer Paul Dini, theIn Batman: Arkham Asylum, the player assumes the role of Batman as he delivers The Joker to Arkham Asylum. There, the imprisoned super-villains have set a trap and an immersive combat gaming experience unfolds. With an original script penned by Emmy Award-winning Batman writer Paul Dini, the game brings the universe of DC Comics' detective to life with stunning graphics. Batman: Arkham Asylum offers players the chance to battle Gotham's worst villains with Batman's physical and psychological strength in a graphically distinct and story-driven game. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Yes, this is the Batman you've been waiting for...It's a wonderful experience, beginning to end, never taking the easy or familiar route, and infusing each shift of the story with original ideas that cut no corners. [Oct 2009, p.70]
  2. I can’t recommend Arkam Asylum enough.
  3. Don’t waste another second hanging on the fence about it. Buy this game.
  4. In my opinion Batman: Arkham Asylum is a landmark game based on a comic book superhero and is equivalent to what the The Dark Knight did for comic book films.
  5. Regardless of whether you're getting sucked into the Story mode or competing for high scores in the Challenge mode, Batman: Arkham Asylum does an outstanding job of letting you be Batman. Everything about this game--the impressive visuals, stirring soundtrack, superb voice acting, fiendish puzzles, hard-hitting combat--feels like it has been lovingly crafted by a development team that's both knowledgeable and passionate about the source material.
  6. The pessimist in me never thought that it was possible to make a really good game from a popular license, but Rocksteady have managed to do just that with Batman: Arkham Asylum. The game is second to none in the genre, and beats all contenders with a mighy bat-punch!
  7. Rocksteady Studios has produced a game as ravishing as Uncharted: Drake's Fortune and as compelling as Dead Space, one that very nearly lives up to its own hype. [Oct 2009, p.122]

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 200
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    i absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasuredi absolutly love this game i never liked Batman or red or played any of the batman merchandise out there until i was recomended and reasured that it was a good game (also it was the deal of the day at EB games) and i am so glad that i bought it. i play this game religously now that i have sunk my teeth into this decedant piece of Batman merchandise and it has actually gotten me interested in Batman and i want to learn and look more into Batman. i have not compleated the story yet but i have played a couple of hours and usually i have beeten the games by this point so i think it is safe to assume that this is a long story line. the graphics in this game are also amazing it is just like watching a movie and i dont mind the camera view because it changes when you fight and when you run so i basicly am never looking over the shoulder. there is also a very deep plot involved with the story to and is layered with lots of detail and is very interesting. i especially love the amount of villains in this game and the voice acting of every character is superb. this gmae has turned me onto the entire batman name and is defenatly in my top 10 favorite games if not my favorite and im glad i finally gave in and bought this game Expand
  2. JohnF.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: GRAPHICS: Amazing. The character models are highly detailed. They appears as if they're walking, talking action-figures. GAMEPLAY: Flawless. The combat is quick and responsive with seamless transitions between strikes and counters. The bat-gadgets are intuitive and effective in traversing the various areas in the game. PRESENTATION: The story is fun and entertaining all the way through. The overall experience is great. Controlling Batman, you feel the "POW" behind each punch and "ZIP!" with each grappling hook. This game is absolutely worth the new price of $59.99 and it'd be insane not to check it out in a few months when the used prices really begin to drop. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It is safe to say that Batman: Arkham Asylum is a lot better than everybody expected it to be and somehow more. The gameplay is smooth and theIt is safe to say that Batman: Arkham Asylum is a lot better than everybody expected it to be and somehow more. The gameplay is smooth and the graphics look great. Expand
  4. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Do superhero games almost always suck? Yes. Has there ever been a good Batman game? No. Those were two things i knew for certain as a well Do superhero games almost always suck? Yes. Has there ever been a good Batman game? No. Those were two things i knew for certain as a well played gamer. That was until Rocksteady came along with Batman: Dark Asylum. With atmosphere to rival Bioshock and an intuitive combat system, this true to the source Batman experience made me a believer. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This is a great game. From the voice work to the attention to detail, to the gameplay and story, Arkham Asylum feels as if you are BatmanThis is a great game. From the voice work to the attention to detail, to the gameplay and story, Arkham Asylum feels as if you are Batman dealing with the Joker. A standout in particular is the scene where you first meet the Scarecrow, which manages to be both exciting and chilling. Overall, I'd highly recommend this to any gamer. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellentBatman Arkham asylum is an amazing game that will entertain anyone with a variety of unique scenarios and gameplay. The controls are excellent and fluent; the difficulty is perfect; the combat is satisfyingly violent amd the stealth is intense and exciting. The only flaw that I can find in this game is the replay value: the only thing you can do once you have completed the story is go on either beat 'em ups against rounds of thugs or stealth missions eliminating the guards of the asylum with batman or joker. Overall the game is a must have for anyone with a console not just batman fans! Expand
  7. chilimac
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    Batman: AA represents everything that is wrong with the games industry today; sky high production values, but the games are short and so easy Batman: AA represents everything that is wrong with the games industry today; sky high production values, but the games are short and so easy a caveman's child could beat them. Sure, the combat can be fun, until you realize that you just have to mash the buttons to win every contest. No skill is required. The game is very linear and short, and the game designers obviously new the when the decided to sprinkle the Riddler's trophys all over the place for you to look for, in an attempt to distract the player from the actual game, and thus avoid finishing it in one sitting. I don't know about you, but I didn't buy a Batman game so that I could go on an Easter egg hunt, I bought it in hopes of being able to kick some butt. And you do get to kick some butt, but unfortunately, the butts are too easy to kick, so much so that it's no fun. "Congrats, you have the ability to mash buttons" Not very rewarding, to say the least. I give it 2 points, one for the graphics and the other for the voice acting. The rest of the game is the stink. Would make a nice rental for the prepubescent in your life. Expand

See all 200 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.