Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 835 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Batman: Arkham Asylum, the player assumes the role of Batman as he delivers The Joker to Arkham Asylum. There, the imprisoned super-villains have set a trap and an immersive combat gaming experience unfolds. With an original script penned by Emmy Award-winning Batman writer Paul Dini, the game brings the universe of DC Comics' detective to life with stunning graphics. Batman: Arkham Asylum offers players the chance to battle Gotham's worst villains with Batman's physical and psychological strength in a graphically distinct and story-driven game. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 100
    Not only a success as a licenced game, Batman: Arkham Asylum is a modern classic and an essential purchase for anyone looking for a solid, enthralling adventure.
  2. It's excellent in nearly every aspect, and certainly one of the best games you'll play this year, let alone the best licensed game I've ever played (sorry Riddick). If you've been on the fence about this one, I highly suggest you pick it up, there's nothing here that'll disappoint, and like I mentioned, the gameplay is so great that you don't need to be a Batman fan to appreciate how great the gameplay is.
  3. Don’t waste another second hanging on the fence about it. Buy this game.
  4. This is the must-have Batman game of all-time and a great third-person action game. Whether you're a fan or just looking for a solid game, you should pick this up. You will not be dissappointed.
  5. Whether you fancy skulking in the shadows, smashing slow motion fists in into a goon's skull, or simply using some cool gadgets, you can do no wrong with what is Eidos' best game in years.
  6. In my opinion Batman: Arkham Asylum is a landmark game based on a comic book superhero and is equivalent to what the The Dark Knight did for comic book films.
  7. 80
    It's a triumph of mood and psychological tension, and devoted fans will find a great deal to excite them. But they're also bound to be disappointed by its reliance on repetitive combat and a shortage of villains worth the big man's attention.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 186
  1. nezj
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have played for ps3 hands down I've played uncharted 2 and it was awsome but I'm sorry guys it can't beat batman I wish there was a higher ranking so I could give it a 20 Expand
  2. karans
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    the most satisfying superhero game i;ve ever played...the freeflow action combos are the most amazing in the game comparable to god of war
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    one of the best batman games ever made. awseome and awseome. i like it, my kids like it and where else for batman to fight villans than arkham asylum, crazy and crazier.. bad ass game. i recommend it to anyone looking for a good action game. and cool gadgets....used by a man in a mask... Expand
  4. JP
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    this game is great and probalby one of the best superhero games ever made!!! cant wait for Arkham Asylum 2!!!
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    There isn't much to say about the Arkham games that hasn't already been said. They redefine the standards for super hero games and games in general by staying loyal to its source material while putting the player in the shoes of the Dark Knight. They feature top-notch voice acting by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill, the definitive Batman-Joker duo. They created one of the best fighting system in gaming, making hordes of bad guys feel more than just typical button-mashing, but an orchestra of perfectly timed counters and takedowns. With all the immense hype surrounding the game, it seems impossible that Arkham Asylum can reach the lofty goals the gaming community set for it.
    I'm happy to say, however, that this is not only the Batman game The Dark Knight deserves, but it's also the one he needs.
    The story is riveting from start to finish. The Caped Crusader has just stopped the Joker from committing a routine bank robbery, claiming it was almost as if the Clown Prince of Crime wanted to be caught. Batman takes him back to the asylum where he belongs, only to find that this was the Joker's true intentions all along. With the help of several other of Arkham's most dangerous inmates, he takes over the asylum and traps Batman and the rest of the guards inside. In order to prevent them from wrecking havoc on Gotham City through a complex plan that reveals itself the deeper you go into the story, Batman must take down the Joker and his allies before they escape the island. From the first few minutes, in which the game throws you straight into the action, to each emotionally charged boss takedown, the story and atmosphere hit bullseyes. In addition, despite a few botched lines, the dialogue and voice acting also are flawless.
    The best part of the game is the action, which makes nearly all of the other aspects of the game feel practically insignificant. Beating up hordes of bad guys never felt better. You create a symphony of punches, kicks, and blocks that makes you feel invincible. However, powerful Titan-fueled giants and armored thugs mix up the gameplay and provide challenge. Stealth mode also shines. In order to take out a room of armed henchmen, you need to use your wits more than your fists. Batman will die if he takes too many bullets, so each room must be prepared for carefully and the environment needs to be manipulated to your advantage to survive the night. For example, two guards might be faced back to back to cover blind spots, so blowing up a wall nearby might be necessary to split them apart and take them down individually. The AI feels incredibly real. I was detected when I was expected to be and when I felt silent and undetected nothing stopped me from delivering a neck-paralyzing punch to a thug. As I was observing the scene from the darkness above on a gargoyle, I realized that I didn't just feel like the Dark Knight. I WAS the Dark Knight. Arkham Asylum is one of the most immersive games ever created, making the player really feel like a hardened vigilante in a prison full of psychopaths. Every moment is fully engrossing and surprising; one shocking me so much I thought my PS3 had crashed and was broken forever. No other game in recent memory provides so many memorable moments that tie in so well with the DC Universe.
    Despite all this praise, there are downsides. Detective Mode is important to detect bad guys and pathways thought the asylum, analogous to X-ray vision. However, you can't appreciate the scenery and graphics when the game gives you no incentive to turn off this vision since there may be bad guys right around the corner. In addition, the boss battles are downright miserable. Every one feels forced and repetitive, especially the "fight" with Killer Croc, which is by far the worst moment in the game. Even the Joker's fight is wrong, coming as a complete embarrassment to his character. For a villain who relies so much on evil planning and deliciously complex intelligence hidden beneath an apparent madness, his boss battle is just like fighting one of the mindless Titan-infused minions throughout the game, which comes off as a major letdown.
    Despite all this, Arkham Asylum is a fantastic superhero game and game in general. While the boss battles disappoint and fighting feels rigid in certain areas, everything else in the game is pure, stylized perfection. There are Easter eggs and references for Batman addicts and enough engaging gameplay and storytelling to invite newcomers into the Gotham universe. But the game's crowing achievement, the one aspect that puts all others to shame, is the way it makes you feel like you are behind the cape and cowl, saving the world from the Joker one punch at a time.
    Welcome to the madhouse.
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a good example of how licensed game title doesn't make the game automatically bad. The gameplay is very good, characters are great, especially Joker. Solving riddles and finding trophies is very fun to do, unlike collecting some random audio logs in other games. Even, if you don't like Batman, you need to buy this game. I don't quite like Batman, but I still enjoyed the game a lot...If not counting very boring and repeatitive boss battles. Expand
  7. chilimac
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    Batman: AA represents everything that is wrong with the games industry today; sky high production values, but the games are short and so easy a caveman's child could beat them. Sure, the combat can be fun, until you realize that you just have to mash the buttons to win every contest. No skill is required. The game is very linear and short, and the game designers obviously new the when the decided to sprinkle the Riddler's trophys all over the place for you to look for, in an attempt to distract the player from the actual game, and thus avoid finishing it in one sitting. I don't know about you, but I didn't buy a Batman game so that I could go on an Easter egg hunt, I bought it in hopes of being able to kick some butt. And you do get to kick some butt, but unfortunately, the butts are too easy to kick, so much so that it's no fun. "Congrats, you have the ability to mash buttons" Not very rewarding, to say the least. I give it 2 points, one for the graphics and the other for the voice acting. The rest of the game is the stink. Would make a nice rental for the prepubescent in your life. Expand

See all 186 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.