User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2087 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    I bought the game about 3 days after it came out. I enjoyed the majority of the game, although after a while it began to feel a little to repetitive in my opinion. The addition of the Catwoman not only added to the story, but also made the game slightly more fun for me. I purchased the Robin edition, also, so the challenge maps in which I could control any of the 3 characters kept myI bought the game about 3 days after it came out. I enjoyed the majority of the game, although after a while it began to feel a little to repetitive in my opinion. The addition of the Catwoman not only added to the story, but also made the game slightly more fun for me. I purchased the Robin edition, also, so the challenge maps in which I could control any of the 3 characters kept my satisfied for a while. A good game, although maybe a little too repetitive. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I been playing this game since the day it released and Rocksteady Studios has made the best superhero game or maybe one of the best games I ever played. But it is a little bit overrated in Metacritic for the critic scores. I recommend you go buy this game right away.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Very fun and addictive game. Enjoyed every minute of it! Really liked the new features (New game + mainly) which adds just that much more to an excellent game!
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham city, for me, is the best game of the year. The key selling point for me is that you are Batman, the world's greatest detective, the caped crusader. The feeling of being him is perfect and a key part of that is Arkham City itself. Dripping in detail, no it's not the biggest of open worlds but every inch seems painsatkingly hand-crafted. Even down to the location of the nextBatman Arkham city, for me, is the best game of the year. The key selling point for me is that you are Batman, the world's greatest detective, the caped crusader. The feeling of being him is perfect and a key part of that is Arkham City itself. Dripping in detail, no it's not the biggest of open worlds but every inch seems painsatkingly hand-crafted. Even down to the location of the next main story mission. The bat signal appears in the sky, not only for mindless fanservice but it marks your next main story mission. Rocksteady seem like they're masters of integrating game mechanics into the Batman world and making it feel completely authentic. Even on par with Bioshock by telling a story through the enviornment. It does feel a bit overwhelming when you're first thrown in to the mega-prison itself, but when you get over that obstacle its amazing. Gameplay hasn't changed mush since Arkham Asylum with the brilliant freeflow system. Some critics that said the combat system isn't deep enough and if they didn't like it they won't like this one. But for me the simplicity is key to the feeling of being Batman that it's as simle of a press of a button to take out an enemy. The detective scanning system, however, seems a bit gimmicky and tagged-on. The main story, once you get into it, is amazing and engaging and boss battles are largely improved from AA and feel fun and especially the MR. Freeze battle which tests your skills as Batman. But side missions are also amazing, spanning several hours each, and pack alot of (rather obscure) batman characters into it. I've spent several hours just gliding around the city and exploring it getting riddler trophies determined to unlock the next hostage and saving them and once you save them and hear the next rally of utter disbelief from the Riddler you feel like Batman once again. Catwoman (if you have the dlc) adds another dimension and view on Arkham City, she has her own agenda and motives. She's quicker, faster and alot of fun. You get a choice later on, as Catwoman, and I urge you to take the 'wrong' decision. The ending and beginning of the game are the most gripping and best begginings and endings I have ever experienced and are clear WOW moments. So, overall, Batman Arkham City is THE Batman game and builds on all the foundations that Arkham Asylum built, but is bigger, bolder and better. For me, this is the most confident game/sequel of the year. Bravo Rocksteady. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    simply put if this does not win GOY then all that means is Skyrim ended up being far better than anyone expected it to be. Arkham City is one of the best games i have ever played. MUST BUY!!!!
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a great game.the story is nicely told with interesting characters from batman unvierse showing up.the voice acting is spectacular like uncharted 3.this game also looks beautiful with huge amount of detail and street lights reflecting off of the wet ground.it's a sweet sight on a console.the combat is as good as it gets on ANY console ,and the predator challenge mixes up thethis is a great game.the story is nicely told with interesting characters from batman unvierse showing up.the voice acting is spectacular like uncharted 3.this game also looks beautiful with huge amount of detail and street lights reflecting off of the wet ground.it's a sweet sight on a console.the combat is as good as it gets on ANY console ,and the predator challenge mixes up the gameplay and save it from being repetitive.the enemy is very intelligent and during the predator challenges they shoot the gargoyles if the spot u on one.it's an awesome game in everyday. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Visually this game is stunning and swinging from roof top to roof top is as fun as leaping around the roofs on Assassins Creed. The gadgets are good again and the fighting on it, like the first one, makes all other games take notice of how to actually do it. The introduction of Catwoman as a playable character as well is really fun. However I cant help but think I have played it all beforeVisually this game is stunning and swinging from roof top to roof top is as fun as leaping around the roofs on Assassins Creed. The gadgets are good again and the fighting on it, like the first one, makes all other games take notice of how to actually do it. The introduction of Catwoman as a playable character as well is really fun. However I cant help but think I have played it all before and the story line is a little bit weak in comparison to the first one. I have yet to 100% it and I am not sure I will. Good game but seems like they are running out of new idea's. Expand
  8. o-k
    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    the only complaint that i have is that it was WAY too short. everything else was amazing. i just hate that xbox doesn't have a blu ray player. why not just port from the PS3? geez.
  9. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    if I could give this game more than a ten I would this game is amazing the combat is fluid and easy to learn the story is fantastic and playing as catwoman is so much fun this game is a must have for any real gamer
  10. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Arkham Knight has the potential to be even better than this game, and that says alot about how great this game was, so I hope Arkham Knight surpasses this game's greatness and becomes the best of them all so it can be the best way to out with the amazing Arkham trilogy.
  11. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Just an amazing game. Rocksteady took what already worked well in Arkham Asylum and just immensely improved on it. Arkham City contains a perfect ammount of stealth, combat, and free roam to make it an amazing game. GOTY for me.
  12. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    My goodness what can I say, well with all the hype surrounding this game I was pretty sure that these scores were too good to be true. I do not come from a place of profound misunderstanding about how much time and effort it takes to make a game of this nature, but I do believe that this game received far greater acclaim than it deserved for it's meek campaign and tedious ass riddlerMy goodness what can I say, well with all the hype surrounding this game I was pretty sure that these scores were too good to be true. I do not come from a place of profound misunderstanding about how much time and effort it takes to make a game of this nature, but I do believe that this game received far greater acclaim than it deserved for it's meek campaign and tedious ass riddler challenges. All in all, damn good with absolute expert execution, but I felt that far more could have been done to make this game more engrossing. There were many more opportunities in Arkahm City than were taken. If you have watched or read any batman at all in your day you will squeal with piggish excitement when you meet any of the bosses. Salomon Grundy was a flipping shocker to play against, but I must say I still feel like their could have been more. But I guess I'm **** bravo Rocksteady. Buy it used, pay for any of the downloadable extra content, cat-woman you will be forced to pay extra for if buying used, enjoy. Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Batman began as a comic, and as time and technology progressed he moved forward, to television, then movies and now finally games. And for the first time, fans of the hero get to actually feel like Batman in Gotham. With the side missions and dizzying cast of characters, anyone who doesn't think this game deserves the best rating you can give is wrong, period.
  14. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Batman is easily the coolest superhero and definitely my favourite but all the games featuring superhero always manage to be a huge letdown until UK based Rocksteady studios released Batman Arkham Asylum and if you haven't played asylum you should but you don't need to have played Arkham Asylum to fully enjoy Arkham City the grimy gritty horrible location being Arkham City is fantastic IBatman is easily the coolest superhero and definitely my favourite but all the games featuring superhero always manage to be a huge letdown until UK based Rocksteady studios released Batman Arkham Asylum and if you haven't played asylum you should but you don't need to have played Arkham Asylum to fully enjoy Arkham City the grimy gritty horrible location being Arkham City is fantastic I love the idea. The story of Arkham City is great but could have been better it only needed a few more villains in it Firefly flying about committing arson for example I love the free roam of the game but wanted more, and I only hope that Rocksteady release some campaign DLC and not just the challenge maps and predator maps I only hope at least. maybe some more catwoman episodes or some robin episodes instead of just challenge maps. All in all Batman Arkham City is amazing all the best things about asylum with plenty of new aspects the new gadgets are good but could have been better the fighting is brilliant I would have liked to play the whole campaign as Robin though but alas I have plenty of challenge maps and The Riddler campaign which are just linked challenge rooms but offer a nice change of pace. New Game + is brilliant if only the original had it too. Final Thought buy this game if A) Your a Batman Fan, B) You like stealth based free roam beat-em-up or C) If you want to play a truly brilliant game that is a game changer. Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best games I've ever played. The controls work perfectly, with most abilities being simple, yet complex at the same time. Combat works perfectly after a bit of practice and gliding through the city never touching the ground is an amazing experience. Gameplay balances out perfectly between variation based combat, stealth and exploration. There is so much bonus contentProbably one of the best games I've ever played. The controls work perfectly, with most abilities being simple, yet complex at the same time. Combat works perfectly after a bit of practice and gliding through the city never touching the ground is an amazing experience. Gameplay balances out perfectly between variation based combat, stealth and exploration. There is so much bonus content from Riddler trophies, side missions and the new challenge mode. Catwoman offers a nice distraction during the story but is not 100% vital to the experience.

    The voice acting is of course amazing with the biggest examples being Batman (Kevin Conroy) and the Joker (Mark Hamill). The rest of the cast do pretty good as well like veteran Tara Strong as Harley Quinn. The story may seem a little TOO big at times but every twist and turn feel real in the universe. The ending alone was worth every penny I spent on this game. Fair warning that you may not understand character relationships and back stories if you're not a Batman fan.

    The graphics, while not mind blowing, look good and fit with the tone of the game, having both gritty and bright characters and locations. The music is epic and goes well with what goes on during gameplay. The amount of banter and dialogue recorded for this game is insane. Every group of criminals you come across, every hostage you rescue and every guard you chat with ALL have original dialogue.

    Overall Batman: Arkham City is amazing and 100% recommended for fans of Batman or action/adventure games.
    9.8/10 or 10/10 for Metacritic.
    Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    DNA never meant soo much to the Joker as of now! Batman Arkham City is the best Batman game I have ever played in my entire life. I never played Arkham Asylum but I have completed this title and this is my perks and let downs of this game. Perks: Non-stop action, fun challenging puzzles, weapons and gadgets, boss battles, taking down villians such as the Penguin, Mr. Freeze, Joker. LetDNA never meant soo much to the Joker as of now! Batman Arkham City is the best Batman game I have ever played in my entire life. I never played Arkham Asylum but I have completed this title and this is my perks and let downs of this game. Perks: Non-stop action, fun challenging puzzles, weapons and gadgets, boss battles, taking down villians such as the Penguin, Mr. Freeze, Joker. Let downs: Not a very long game story mode wise, some places are hard to find on the map they could have done a better job with the map more detailed, no online modes. All and all a fun game worth renting over a weekend and beating but not worth $60 unless your a huge fan of Batman and half to collect this one. You will not be let down by this title. Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    That game definitely worth to buy. Fun factor is awesome. Only game that IMO are better then this one so far this year are UC3 and Infamous 2.
    Control are great once your used to them, which does not take long. Graphics are very nice. The story is fun and the combat is awesome.

    Verdict: that game is really a must have
  18. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I liked Arkham Asylum, but this just puts it to shame. The last Arkham got off to an incredible start and stayed strong until the last couple hours. This game however blows the lid off the awesome jar from start to finish. It deserves every bit of this 10 and the only even slight gripe I have is I wish 2 face would be in it more, but when I'm complaining about something like that amongI liked Arkham Asylum, but this just puts it to shame. The last Arkham got off to an incredible start and stayed strong until the last couple hours. This game however blows the lid off the awesome jar from start to finish. It deserves every bit of this 10 and the only even slight gripe I have is I wish 2 face would be in it more, but when I'm complaining about something like that among all this badassery, I know it's a GOTY candidate. The pacing is pitch perfect, the side missions are incredible and do their villains justice, and the story takes you to places that even Batman hasn't been to before. Rocksteady improved the traversal to feel less stiff and made the boss encounters much more epic. Gotham is not some lifeless open world for you to travel from A to B. Every inch of this map is packed with content from side missions, to riddler trophies, to groups of thugs. If you're a Batman fan and haven't played both Arkham games, then you are not a Batman fan. If you aren't, you don't have to be to enjoy a great game. This is what licensed games should be and what I hope they become. It captures everything this character has ever been; combatant, detective, ninja, flyboy, and savior. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    The truth is......you fancy yourself as abit of a dark knight, and their is no coming closer to the experience than playing this amazing game. Upon reflection the game throws you thick and fast, deep into the action, and that's great, the gritty dark mood throws you into a sinister world of crime, and it's you job to clean up....quickly. While the game expands openly compared to itsThe truth is......you fancy yourself as abit of a dark knight, and their is no coming closer to the experience than playing this amazing game. Upon reflection the game throws you thick and fast, deep into the action, and that's great, the gritty dark mood throws you into a sinister world of crime, and it's you job to clean up....quickly. While the game expands openly compared to its predecessor, it can sometimes feel a little crammed in, it's a little hard to connect with the bad guys the way I did with arkham asylum to greater the experience, and the amount of different divides between these criminals felt from one to the next, this was my only downer, other than that the game has an immense amount of unlockables that will keep the fans engines ticking over. And some require some patience, and skill in equal measures. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I`ve been waiting for this game very long. I hoped that this will be awesome, and it was. I though that they can`t improve anything after the Arkham Asylum, but Rocksteady showed us that they can suprise us. New gadgets, very interesting story line and side mission make this game awesome. From my view this game could be a bit longer ( i mean the main plot ) but this is just a small minusI`ve been waiting for this game very long. I hoped that this will be awesome, and it was. I though that they can`t improve anything after the Arkham Asylum, but Rocksteady showed us that they can suprise us. New gadgets, very interesting story line and side mission make this game awesome. From my view this game could be a bit longer ( i mean the main plot ) but this is just a small minus in whole part. This is game which you have to buy and play. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    i played Batman Arkham Asylum and it was a great game for me. i didn't hear anything about a new batman but when i saw the good reviews from the new batman i had to give it a try. And now playing it, it can't be any better for me.
  22. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game is a wonderful experience. The only downside I found was the lack of the much lauded multiplayer I had heard about for months. Other than that, it's as good as it gets. The best part is easily the amazing gameplay. To take the gameplay I loved so much in Arkham Asylum and open up the world into a full scale city. It's just an amazing idea. This is my favorite game in years.
  23. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    this game has everything from story, graphics and gameplay it simply excellent
  24. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    great game have a amazing history and a great open world to explore, batman have more moves, and a lot of side quests to spend time, a lot of time, dont miss the chance to play this game. Many games get scores of 10/10 because gamers simply love them. This game is one of the very few that earns its 10s by the sheer quality and perfection of its design. This game is not only a 10/10 becausegreat game have a amazing history and a great open world to explore, batman have more moves, and a lot of side quests to spend time, a lot of time, dont miss the chance to play this game. Many games get scores of 10/10 because gamers simply love them. This game is one of the very few that earns its 10s by the sheer quality and perfection of its design. This game is not only a 10/10 because of the fun factor. Its a 10/10 in nearly every single area of design. It ends up to be a game that simply everyone should play. Not only gamers, most of whom will love, it, but NON-GAMERS as well, to show the 'normal people' just how amazing games can be. As for game designers, and industry people, this is a masterclass in game design. Arkham City is a well balanced, well paced, brilliantly realised masterpiece. It brings atmosphere, character, story, cinema, action, MORALITY and gameplay into a near perfect recipe. It takes a great first game and makes it better. It makes a game that looks GREAT and plays PERFECTLY across all platforms. Its not finally perfect in every single detail, but so what! Games are the result of extremely complex processes of co-operative labour. It's totally shameful that a game this good, could presently stand with 42 green and 11 red user scores. As if there were a genuine 20% of players who found THIS GAME 'bad'! Nonsense, these are TROLLS. I'm going to rewrite a long review for this masterpiece of a game when I have the time. Right now, more important is something I realised: the metacritic user review system is itself fatally flawed. Reviewers in here should not be able to spam accounts and hide behind anonymous user names. It's not acceptable for industry people to dump zeros on rival studios. If they even try they should be exposed (and slapped about). Designers giving their own games 10/10 is fine, so long as they name themselves and give reasons, and are limited to ONE account (not multiple spam accounts). You are allowed to love your own labour, but not cheat by inventing 10 user names to distort the facts. Other users should know when a game designer has written a review so they can safely ignore the review if its not convincing enough. It's totally putrid that a few agents deliberate spoiling could create the false impression that this game is merely good, rather than the stand-out great it is. How metacritic finally cleans up the user review process is their problem, but one they better solve soon, because its getting WORSE. One key is to strip away user anonymity. I have nothing to hide, and no secret aggenda with this or any review. if anyone has any problems with this review or any others, you can address the author directly: . I will respond to replies and don't mind a bit of heated disagreement. If you have a strong case I may concede and change my scores if you can make a strong enough case to convince me. Also useful if you are an industry employer looking to hire someone with my obviously superior discrimination. I am not posting this 10/10 and running away to giggle and hide. I stand by it, and look forward to argue it with anyone who has a serious REASON to Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    It is AMAZING, SPECTACULAR, ADICTIVE, the best game of superheroes and the best game of this generation.
    And serious candidate of GOTY. Im very happy for this game, thank you Rocksteady.
  26. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Believe the hype - so much depth and polish and hours and hours of adventure to be had. This really steps up from where they were with the last game, and expands the Batman universe - Just a brilliant, brilliant game.
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Loved this game but the side mission structure was weird where not all of them were available by the time I beat it. And I took it slow and did a LOT of side stuff before playing story missions. Wish that was different, but all around an amazing game.
  28. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Rocksteady sets the bar high for video games this year and possibly the next 3 years until the new generation of consoles come to light. This game is a masterpiece in both story and design. The Batman mythos engulfs this game with such effort and such passion that it suceeds in almost every aspect to it's previous iteration, Arkham Asylum. Content that will keep you playing this game forRocksteady sets the bar high for video games this year and possibly the next 3 years until the new generation of consoles come to light. This game is a masterpiece in both story and design. The Batman mythos engulfs this game with such effort and such passion that it suceeds in almost every aspect to it's previous iteration, Arkham Asylum. Content that will keep you playing this game for months if not years, the lasting appeal of this game knows no bounds. Rivalling only Uncharted 3 in score, a deserving and renowned 10/10 . Expand
  29. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what crazy drug Dragonslayer007 is on. Graphics are fantastic. I think where the series has always lacked is in Boss Battles. They're always far too predictable and no where near rewarding enough, especially for how well written the characters and story are. I say leave it to Metal Gear Solid. Other than that, it is a magnificent game, worthy of all the praise it has received.I'm not sure what crazy drug Dragonslayer007 is on. Graphics are fantastic. I think where the series has always lacked is in Boss Battles. They're always far too predictable and no where near rewarding enough, especially for how well written the characters and story are. I say leave it to Metal Gear Solid. Other than that, it is a magnificent game, worthy of all the praise it has received. Graphics- 9.5

    Sound- 9.5

    Story- 8

    Gameplay- 9

    Replayability- 8.5

    8.9/10 (but let's round it up to 9 to reward Rocksteady's effort)
    Expand
  30. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This game is one of my favorite games of all time. I enjoyed the gameplay, though it gets a bit repetitive at times. Voice acting is exceptional and the open-world setup is a nice move on Rocksteady's part.

    If you're looking for a good buy this holiday season, this game is great (as well as Uncharted 3!) and should definitely be on your list.
  31. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This game is phenomenal. It has amazing visuals, amazing story, amazing gameplay, and a mind-boggling story. Stop reading reviews and just buy this game!
  32. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Who in the living hell gives this game a 0/10????????? LOL at this site. This is by far the best licensed game ever and one of the very best action games out there.
  33. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    the Batman series was dead but thanks to batman arkham assylum resurrected the Batman franchise. and this game is still better than arkham assylum I recommend this game stunning graphics and good gameplay.
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning. An absolute joy to play, for Batman fans this is akin to porn. This took everything that was good about Arkham Asylum and improved upon it. Well done Rocksteady.
  35. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City is a game that has to be experienced. It has a mind blowing ending and an incredible combat engine. Did I mention that it also has some of the finest graphics in gaming and one of the most detailed open worlds ever? Yeah. Get it NOW!
  36. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This game has Game of the year all over it. In fact, do some research and you will find that Rocksteady packages the game with a little bit of coke to make the game extremely addictive.
  37. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    This is a good game but it's way too short. I understand that there are trophies and riddles to collect however I beat the game at 29%, WTF?

    I thought that ending was okay as I thought there was more to it.
  38. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Arkham Asylum was pretty much one of the best superhero games I have ever played and is up there with Spiderman 2 and Infamous 2 and Rocksteady has outdone themselves again with City. Going for a more open world exploration, you are Batman who is stuck in a city full of thugs and prisoners of different source. That in itself is awesome enough but what surprised me is how City uses Asylum'sArkham Asylum was pretty much one of the best superhero games I have ever played and is up there with Spiderman 2 and Infamous 2 and Rocksteady has outdone themselves again with City. Going for a more open world exploration, you are Batman who is stuck in a city full of thugs and prisoners of different source. That in itself is awesome enough but what surprised me is how City uses Asylum's already brilliant gameplay mechanics and made it work in the open world without being stale in itself. The story itself, though a bit bloated because of the countless villains in it, it does an awesome job making the bloatedness engaging and at times provocative. If you love Asylum, you will love City and if you love Batman in general, why do you even want to miss this? Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    what a game!..this is everything a sequel should be, it is truly magnificent..this game will keep you coming back to play it one more time even after the story is finished there is still so much more to complete, thats a sign of a great game.This has got to be GOTY..graphics are awesome , voice acting is awesome, game play is awesome. story is awesome..I read that this game is what itwhat a game!..this is everything a sequel should be, it is truly magnificent..this game will keep you coming back to play it one more time even after the story is finished there is still so much more to complete, thats a sign of a great game.This has got to be GOTY..graphics are awesome , voice acting is awesome, game play is awesome. story is awesome..I read that this game is what it means to be Batman, and thats so true..go buy it! Expand
  40. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is truly a superb game, for both normal gamers and die hard comic fans. The game has fluid gameplay with an excellent combat system that can be as deep as you want to take it, and moving around the map is a breeze once you obtain certain upgrades. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is top notch, as Batman and his rogues gallery are all brought to life in satisfyingArkham City is truly a superb game, for both normal gamers and die hard comic fans. The game has fluid gameplay with an excellent combat system that can be as deep as you want to take it, and moving around the map is a breeze once you obtain certain upgrades. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is top notch, as Batman and his rogues gallery are all brought to life in satisfying fashion, and the story is one of the best Batman tales you'll find. There is a lot of fan service to comic readers that makes the experience that much richer for them, but doesn't drag down the game for anyone who is unfamiliar with Batman lore. There are an incredible number of villains that make an appearance, but the story plays out in a way that none of them are present just for the sake of throwing them in. Just when you think you've encountered everything Arkham City has to offer, you find another hidden portion that blows your mind. Arkham City is by far the best game to come out this year, and is a must play for everyone, whether or not you played Arkham Asylum. Expand
  41. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some partI loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some part can be too difficult and annoying even for a skilled gamer. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    The characters the plot the game play the storyline the music are AMAZING in this game. I would not say it would be my game of the year but it was ones that were pretty much on top way to go rocksteady keep those batmans coming.
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I start by saying i bought Arkham Asylum last year, and after 30 minutes i hit eject. I found it too boring. Two months later and sold it shamelessly. Now appears Arkham City. Beautiful game! Visuals 8.5, Audio 9.0, history 8.5, gameplay 8.5. This results in a 8.6. A game with satisfactory immersion , good visuals, good dose of fun and nice sound effects. In my opinion this end being theI start by saying i bought Arkham Asylum last year, and after 30 minutes i hit eject. I found it too boring. Two months later and sold it shamelessly. Now appears Arkham City. Beautiful game! Visuals 8.5, Audio 9.0, history 8.5, gameplay 8.5. This results in a 8.6. A game with satisfactory immersion , good visuals, good dose of fun and nice sound effects. In my opinion this end being the best part of the game ... I mean i like the game, i'm almost finished the campaign by the way, but 96 is a lot of hype for this game! Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best games I have ever played. I don't know why anyone would give this game a negative review...drugs maybe. This game will have you truly feeling like the Dark Knight and is an absolute thrill ride from beginning to end. If I had a single complaint, it would be that there are just too many riddler puzzles, over 400, but I don't let that keep me from giving this game a 10/10!
  45. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    This review is from a non batman fan, There was nothing to else rent so I decided to "try" Batman: Arkham City. Thinking I would be turning the game off after 15 mins of play! But I was blown away. by the presentaion, the graphics, the open world, the depth of characters, the gameplay. Wow!! Just an amazing game!!!
  46. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City will prove to be one of the best video games ever made. Like Arkham Asylum, the core mechanics revolve around brawling, stealth takedowns and open-world action. The chain fighting is simple to learn, yet difficult to master. With a little proficiency, the game effectively gives you the exhilarating feeling that you've just beat up a room full of dudes. However, toBatman: Arkham City will prove to be one of the best video games ever made. Like Arkham Asylum, the core mechanics revolve around brawling, stealth takedowns and open-world action. The chain fighting is simple to learn, yet difficult to master. With a little proficiency, the game effectively gives you the exhilarating feeling that you've just beat up a room full of dudes. However, to really excel at the combat, it takes some practice. The stealth "predator" rooms pit the dark knight against a bunch of armed thugs. Since they have guns, you can't just take them out head-on. Rather, you've got to take them out one by one, retreating into the walls or atop gargoyles to stay out of sight. You're an invisible predator, and as you take down more enemies, the ones remaining start to freak out. It's really quite amusing. Unlike Arkham Asylum, the game is more open world. There are side-missions you can engage in whatever order you like. Where unnecessary to complete the story, these side missions are critical to leveling up more powerful attacks and armor. Not to mention that they're simply fun. Play as Catwoman. Catwoman missions could stand-alone as its own game. Where the controls are congruent to Batman (so you don't have to learn a whole new combat mechanic) she has her own style and way of moving and fighting that's quite a bunch of fun. It's also fun playing a character with a more mercenary sensibility.

    But the over-arching quality that makes this game so terrific is that every aspect of it is FUN. Recently I've played games (like LA NOIRE) that, in my opinion, have oodles of technical merit but just aren't any fun. Batman is an exhilarating, no-sleep, kill-your-weekend thrill ride from start to finish.

    If you've just bought your PS3 system, do yourself a solid and make BATMAN: ARKHAM CITY (along with Uncharted 2 and Bioshock) your first purchase.
    Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    This game is a solid 8. It's got more depth than the first one, a better story, and Catwoman is playable! If you enjoyed the first one, this is a must have. The only real drawback to the game is the same as the first, it's FAR too short to charge $60 for. The game can be beat in 10-12 hours, that's with side quests. The challenges mode is fun at first, but become boring, very quickly.This game is a solid 8. It's got more depth than the first one, a better story, and Catwoman is playable! If you enjoyed the first one, this is a must have. The only real drawback to the game is the same as the first, it's FAR too short to charge $60 for. The game can be beat in 10-12 hours, that's with side quests. The challenges mode is fun at first, but become boring, very quickly. The option to start the story over after beating it with all of your upgrades is cool, but it's much more of a chore to play through the story again once you have seen it. I would suggest catching it on sale at Best Buy, or just waiting for the price to drop. Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Amazing is an understatement. There are surprises at every turn. The best part of this game is the wide range of characters. This game takes what Arkham Asylum did right, and makes it 100x better
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty amazing. The open world, scenery, action, puzzles, detail... It did everything right, except one thing. They tried to put too much in it. It has almost every villain known to Batman in this game, which seemed to have made top-villains appear like thugs. Seemed like the plot wasn't thick enough to contain all the extra top-villains. Overall, a 9.
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Overall great game. It was just a little two short for my liking. But the story was top notch and the voice acting is just so good. Nolan North giving a great performance as The Penguin, and honestly what more can be said about Mark Hamills Joker other than legendary. I cant wait to see how the story continues.
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    IMO this is the game of the year hands down. This game almost has it all. A compelling story, Amazing main characters, simple yet complex combat system, amazing graphics with no screen tearing or rendering (that I saw), Gadgets from the very start, fun open world element, CatWoman.......(enough said), one of the best openings I've seen in a long time, and one of the most perfect endings IIMO this is the game of the year hands down. This game almost has it all. A compelling story, Amazing main characters, simple yet complex combat system, amazing graphics with no screen tearing or rendering (that I saw), Gadgets from the very start, fun open world element, CatWoman.......(enough said), one of the best openings I've seen in a long time, and one of the most perfect endings I have seen or can think of. The physical and psychological strain you see Batman go through is something you don't see a main character go through in very many games gives the Arkham City and Batman a very human element to it, where most games the main character never has a scratch or a tear of clothing. As the game goes on you see the weight of the world riding on Batman's shoulders as he continues to "save the day" making him the most realistic character I've seen in some time.

    The combat is both fun and easy to use, with hot keys to unleash gadgets, one button to attack and one to dodge, and etc. It's always fun bending one of Joker's goon's gun in half then leaping over to bash a another delinquent over the head with his own bat.

    I could go on and on about the positives of this game.....Riddler Trophies....

    Some of the Negatives though are that there are super-villians I would have liked to have received a bigger or more menacing role, or some characters were added to just be there and be a fan service but that's okay. Another downside is the traveling in Arkham City, it was annoying getting to one end of the city then finding out you need something that on the other side of the city, but you could always swoop down kick some bad guy butt real quick then continue gliding over the city.
    Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A great game. The story mode was disappointingly short, but the side missions, challenges, etc. make up for it. It still has it's flaws, such as the story telling (which was weaker than Asylum), and it isn't as engaging as Asylum was (or at least when it first released) but it's definitely superior to its predecessor. Highly recommend it to batman fans and strongly recommend to gamers in general
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Arkham City set the benchark for all games. It is just the pinacle in gaming.
    I wish there was more games like this. It is my 2011 GAME OF THE YEAR.
    10/10
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Simply fantastic, I personally was moved to tears at the closing. I pride myself as a die hard Bat-Fan, and this was just PERFECT. Thank you RockSteady...
  55. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A lovely line up of great bosses. Great free roaming capabilities. More moves characters. And simply this is the vest superhero game ever created and it makes me feel like im actually batman which is exactly what its supposed to do!
  56. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Great game, went back to this after i bought that abortion of a game skyrim, and wonder why I left at all. Must buy, great replay value and engaging story. Plenty to find and exploring and side missions are great! Plus voice acting is top notch with Kevin and Mark as Batman and Joker!
  57. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is one of the best games ever. i didnt really know at first if "city" would be better than "alsyum" but this game succeds on many levels. the game involved many new features to arkham alsyum, the biggest being a open world game and the new side missions to keep you busy and interested in this game for hours after the original story ends. these new addictions make the game feel like a whole new feeling then alsyum and to me feels like infamous. one flaw i need to point out though is the amount of bosses in the game. these portions of the game are very annoying because they all have their weaknesses and after you figure them out the battle goes on for way too long. once again the voice acting is great and the story is fantastic. the new effect of many villians is only better. penguin is a great addiction to this game and that boss battle is the only one i enjoyed. nolan north (nathan drake) is great as penguin and of course mark hamill shines as joker. the catwoman levels are boring but are not effecting this score. overall this game is a great story with great combat and great voice acting. seeing batman interact with so many people ( robin, strange, alfred) is awesome and is very great. 10-10 Expand
  58. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    After playing arkham asylum didn't think it would get much better but I was wrong I got this one as soon as it came out and I couldn't stop playing it and the storyline was amazing you should get this game
  59. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, the graphics are way better than San Andreas on the Playstation 2, it has a good story too, but there are still 2 vehicles missing that i would like to have in GTA V, planes and tanks (when you six-star rankin), other than that it`s a really good game
  60. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Gas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. I thought my stomach was swallowing itself for a little while there but damn... Never had better gas in my life!
  61. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I wasn't all that crazy about Batman: Arkham Asylum, but Arkham City improved on everything that I had an issue with. The game looks and plays great, the voice acting is phenomenal, and the only thing I wanted to do after finishing the story was keep playing.
  62. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    I am a die-hard Batman fan. I have a damn Batman tattoo on my leg. I am also an avid gamer. This isn't just the ideal Batman game, it was one of the best video games I have ever played period. Tremendous game that I have completed multiple times
  63. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  64. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    A large upgrade to Arkham Asylum, new map, new tools (gadgets, whatever), larger story, side-quests, open world map, erhmm... I don't know anymore, just buy it, it's an amazing and fun game.
  65. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum raised the bar of how good licensed games need to be. Does Arkham City raise the bar even more? No. Is it worse? Yes and no. The gameplay is now better. Boss battles aren't repeatitive recycled '' Fight againts a big guy with the same method multitiple times in the game '' and are actually quite fun. You have bigger enviroment, with even more side missions and riddlesBatman Arkham Asylum raised the bar of how good licensed games need to be. Does Arkham City raise the bar even more? No. Is it worse? Yes and no. The gameplay is now better. Boss battles aren't repeatitive recycled '' Fight againts a big guy with the same method multitiple times in the game '' and are actually quite fun. You have bigger enviroment, with even more side missions and riddles to solve. Catwoman is a nice addition too, even though I would have appericiated, if she would have had more own missions to do. Why I said yes to is the game worse than Arkham Asylum then? It doesn't have as good Batman feeling as Arkham Asylum had. Joker isin't saying his funny dialogue much, unlike in Arkham Asylum and Riddler doesn't even react anymore, which makes solving the riddles feel less fun. The ending also felt a little lame, it didn't feel like the game is going to end at all. It has pretty good twist at least, but I wouldn't say the ending was very good. There isin't also any '' wtf lol wut '' moments, unlike in Arkham Asylum, which is a shame. The game is still great and I recommend you to buy it. Wait, you aren't fan of Batman? Don't worry! You don't need to be Batman fan in order to enjoy this game! Expand
  66. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    I was not a huge fan of Arkham Asylum, so I was somewhat skeptical about how good Arkham City would be. When I played the first installment of this series, I thought it was just too repetitive and revolved too much around mindless button-mashing fight sequences...but in Arkham City, the developers added a lot more variety to the missions and added some great new controls to go with theI was not a huge fan of Arkham Asylum, so I was somewhat skeptical about how good Arkham City would be. When I played the first installment of this series, I thought it was just too repetitive and revolved too much around mindless button-mashing fight sequences...but in Arkham City, the developers added a lot more variety to the missions and added some great new controls to go with the open world environment. Gliding around the city and using the grappling hook are a blast. And some of the stealth missions are actually pretty challenging. Add on the replay value of the Riddler content and you have a pretty solid game. Expand
  67. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    The first Batman Arkham Asylum was better. The new Batman Arkham City didn't improve the bad graphics the first one had. But it does have som e new cool mechanics. The one character that saved the game was Catwoman. And **** you on the developers that spoiled the ending before releasing the game.
  68. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City coming to consoles to reaffirm its position as the best game inspired by superheroes. The Rocksteady managed to repeat the feat of the previous game and expanded universe character even more. With a fantastic plot that surprising since the first scene, the title still offers subtitles in Portuguese, and hours of operation in a city full of mysteries, villains and thingsBatman: Arkham City coming to consoles to reaffirm its position as the best game inspired by superheroes. The Rocksteady managed to repeat the feat of the previous game and expanded universe character even more. With a fantastic plot that surprising since the first scene, the title still offers subtitles in Portuguese, and hours of operation in a city full of mysteries, villains and things to discover. Expand
  69. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    SO this is how Super Hero game get made. Rocksteady does it again and even better this time around! Love everything about this game and if you liked the first one there is just more batman here to love.. not to mention the catwoman missions. also robin and nightwing depending on what copy you bought but all available as DLC. At first I was a bit taken aback at how small the open world ofSO this is how Super Hero game get made. Rocksteady does it again and even better this time around! Love everything about this game and if you liked the first one there is just more batman here to love.. not to mention the catwoman missions. also robin and nightwing depending on what copy you bought but all available as DLC. At first I was a bit taken aback at how small the open world of Arkham City is compared to other open worlds, even it's predecessor. But once you start playing you realize it is bigger than the map shows. Lots of interiors to explore and all the space inside and out is so jam packed with stuff to do that it becomes a lot bigger. Quite the opposite of something like Just Cause 2 where there is largely dead space on a huge map, This is a smaller map with TONS of things to do. Then add in the challenge maps and you have one hefty game. The characters are great and so is the story. This is a must buy for any fan of Batman, the series or open world adventure games. Expand
  70. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The best Batman Game ever made.I got the goty edition on ps3 but played Arkham city when it first came out on xbox 360.so I got the goty edition for my ps3 and this is still the most amazing game ever made.the story and graphics are superb and the gameplay is just amazing.you must play this game.
  71. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    "Perfect" is as close to a description as your going to get with this game, though it isn't quite that, but going any lower can't be done with this game. Arkham Asylum was one of my favorite games, giving me the power of batman with all his gadgets, strength, smarts, and more importantly his morals. Arkham City follows on every aspect in that and adds much more. I loved it from start to"Perfect" is as close to a description as your going to get with this game, though it isn't quite that, but going any lower can't be done with this game. Arkham Asylum was one of my favorite games, giving me the power of batman with all his gadgets, strength, smarts, and more importantly his morals. Arkham City follows on every aspect in that and adds much more. I loved it from start to finish, but there were times where i felt that it could have done more with the villains. There were plenty of them, ranging from the well known Gotham faces such as Joker and Penguin, to the almost unknown Mad Hatter and Dead Shot. It's the many cameos that ruin it though, very few get any real time on screen and when they do its rarely a memorable moment. You will smile, cringe, or chuckle at them being there, but something new will appear and will move on. But that is my only problem with this game, there is nothing else i don't like. The combat is fast, powerful, and makes you feel like the Dark Knight is in control. The visuals of this game are awe-inspiring, sometimes its enough to make you just wana stop and look at it for a moment. Voice acting is a major step up this time, which every person in the game giving it a Oscar worthy sound. Mark Hamill steals the show as Joker, who is having problems after the first game, and Nolan North as Penguin is just as good to. The open world of Arkham City is a true open world experience as well, with the intensive being Riddler placing over 400+ trophies for you to find. Sadly Scarecrow does not make a return, and while those shoes...if he had any, are hard to fill, Riddler himself makes an appearance that is as memorable as any in the game. The story is vast and worth every minute of your time, but cameos are many and never given much time. Even Robin has one, but like the rest is only brief and just there to make you smile. Batman: Arkham City is worth you time and money though, be it if your a comic book lover, action game lover, or just someone who wants a great game for Christmas, you can't go wrong with this. Expand
  72. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    When people thought Rocksteady have reached their peak with Arkham Asylum, it was pleasent to see that Arkham City managed to be as good, and even better then it's predecessor. The core mechanics of the game are nearly identical to Arkham Asylum's, but the new huge city and the veriety of new villians and superheroes create a bigger impact that makes Arkham City more exciting. Truthfuly,When people thought Rocksteady have reached their peak with Arkham Asylum, it was pleasent to see that Arkham City managed to be as good, and even better then it's predecessor. The core mechanics of the game are nearly identical to Arkham Asylum's, but the new huge city and the veriety of new villians and superheroes create a bigger impact that makes Arkham City more exciting. Truthfuly, the game is massive, and you can spend dozens of hours just gathering the Riddler's trophys and solving his puzzles, but the game also boasts many fantastic side missions that are heavily relying on the main story. Since the game is based on a comic series, it was much easier to connect between different characters to create new side storys. The game also genuianly makes you feel like you are Batman. You get all the possible gadgets, and you can pull off amazing stunts. I can also mention the accurate voice acting and incredible soundtrack, or perhaps the top notch graphics, but the thing that makes this game outshine most action games nowadays is the flow. The game let's you move at your own speed and move from mission to mission fluidly and comfortably. That gives the game a flare that only a great sandbox game can deliever, but it also has the qualities that most sandbox games don't reach. Rocksteady have trully pulled off something magnificent with Arkham City.Hell, Even non-fans of Batman will appreciate this game, because it manages to do so much and do it the best way it can. Expand
  73. USG
    Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Arkham City is a stellar game that improves on Arkham Asylum featuring a fantastic open world and familiar, great voice acting by much of the cast from Batman: The Animated Series (notably Mark Hamill as the Joker). The scenery is fantastic and gliding between missions is an enjoyable experience. The gameplay is extremely smooth and complimented with competent difficulty settings andArkham City is a stellar game that improves on Arkham Asylum featuring a fantastic open world and familiar, great voice acting by much of the cast from Batman: The Animated Series (notably Mark Hamill as the Joker). The scenery is fantastic and gliding between missions is an enjoyable experience. The gameplay is extremely smooth and complimented with competent difficulty settings and various missions. Unfortunately, the story mode could be longer considering its engagement (and, of course, the entire game is single player). There are not enough side-missions to keep a player around long once the game is finished. Gathering Riddler trophies can become an unpleasurable task at the end of the game preventing some players to keep at it. Downloadable content keeps the player active for longer, but not too long. By the time the story is finished along with all side-missions and gadget upgrades, there is not much motivation to continue in the city. Otherwise, anybody who has an interest for Batman would find this game great, with dialog from the characters to models. Expand
  74. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    A must buy for gamers.A must buy for gamers. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  75. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    Rocksteady Studios takes everything that was great about it's first Batman game and applies it all to an open-world. It's clear that Rocksteady was trying to best their previous outing in every way, and by doing so they have created one of the best Batman games yet created. With one of the best Batman stories ever told, a large amount of content, and tons of new gameplay elements, this isRocksteady Studios takes everything that was great about it's first Batman game and applies it all to an open-world. It's clear that Rocksteady was trying to best their previous outing in every way, and by doing so they have created one of the best Batman games yet created. With one of the best Batman stories ever told, a large amount of content, and tons of new gameplay elements, this is sure to please any Batman fan out there.

    One thing that is noticeable shortly after starting is that Arkham City features much more life then the asylum. Thugs patrol streets and rooftops, political prisoners fight for survival, and classic Batman villains wreak havoc throughout the city. This makes little things like listening to thugs talk about the current events going on the city a real treat. While I prefer the atmosphere and locations Arkham Asylum had, the city is still a cool place to explore that is filled with secrets. Various side-qests are available that will place Batman up against classic foes, which lead to some incredibly memorable moments. There are also an insane amount of Riddler challenges and trophies to acquire. As far as side content goes Rocksteady has it covered, so there are plenty of reasons to come back after the credits have rolled.

    The main campaign is an absolute blast that is filled with tons of villains and unforgettable moments. It takes a little bit to get going, but one it does it does not stop. The boss battles are fantastic, and show a lot of diversity. I do feel that it was shorter than Arkham Asylum's story, but I'm thankful that Rocksteady didn't add any unnecessary content.

    The only real complaints I have with the game are a few irritating combat scenarios and some control design choices. For instance, why do I have to double-tap and hold the X button to make the grappling hook climb faster when in the previous game simply holding X would do it? Sure it takes on a new role, but simply holding X would have made things simpler. This is just one of the minor complaints I have with the game, and overall it and my other ones don't really matter. This is one fantastic game, and one any Batman fan should play pronto. Rocksteady outdid themselves with this one, and while I do prefer it's predecessor, I will in no way deny this game's high-level of quality. It is truly a must play experience.
    Expand
  76. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    ATTENTION USERS! BEWARE! I just found two reviews posted in my name that I did not wrote. One of them, I haven't even played the game. Don't know how it happened, if someone hacked my account or my informations were given away. Anyway, check your reviews and ratings, see if everything is right. (sorry to do this as a review, but it was the only way I found). Batman is a superb game, by the way.
  77. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Arkham City isn't only fun but has a beautiful story, awesome characters and an interesting environment to explore. Unlike its predecessor, this game gives you much more to do after beating the main story. I really have nothing to say, I gave it a 10 and its perfect for me.
  78. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham City delivers and meets everyones expectations. Thanks to a bigger scope, while still remaining an alive and detailed comic book world, improved combat, a deeper story, a jaw dropping ending, and tons of replay value, Batman Arkham City is not only one of the best games of the year, but it's also the best licensed video game ever made.
  79. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    if u love action and advancer with a lot of fighting you'll love batman Arkham city. even if your not a really big batman fan i really do recomand this game for people that whant to have a good time kicking but.
  80. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    un videogioco senza pari.

    bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare. buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed. che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi
    un videogioco senza pari.

    bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare.

    buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed.

    che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi siano dubbi al riguardo.

    semplicemente insuperabile, voto pieno e non potrebbe essere altrimenti.
    Expand
  81. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    WOW. I am so impressed by this game. Story: 10/10. Very compelling, with twists and turns. As a huge fan of the realism bent taken by the Nolan films, I am surprised by how much I love the comic book style story. You don't have to be a comic-book junkie to be engrossed in the narrative. What's even more surprising is that the freedom provided by the sand-box-esque gameplay does not ruinWOW. I am so impressed by this game. Story: 10/10. Very compelling, with twists and turns. As a huge fan of the realism bent taken by the Nolan films, I am surprised by how much I love the comic book style story. You don't have to be a comic-book junkie to be engrossed in the narrative. What's even more surprising is that the freedom provided by the sand-box-esque gameplay does not ruin the game's pacing. I love Red Dead and wouldn't change a thing but the enjoyable freedom that game's open world provides does stifle the pacing of its story. It was a necessary trade off that I thought would extend to all games that gave you a sandbox with a compelling main story. However, with this game--whether it's because of the smaller size of the Arkham City or because the excellent score engenders a perpetual exigence--you always feel that sense of urgency even when you tangent from the main storyline. Bravo Rocksteady! UI: 11/10. This game does what I once thought impossible: it makes a challenging game accessible. Remember those badass nes games? Ninja Gaiden, Bionic Commando, Tyson's Punchout. I only beat Tyson once and could never beat those other grueling games. I'm not hardcore enough. No demon souls for me. There are some incredibly challenging sections in Arkham City (especially on the second play-through) but even though I had to die several times to overcome them, I was never discouraged. In fact, with each defeat I was actually encouraged, seeing what I did wrong immediately and eager to give it another go. That may be a normal paradigm for the hardcore demon souls playing crowd but I'm a difficulty-wuss (i play mostly for the story) and I loved every challenging inch of this game. What started as a facile button masher became an incredibly tactical stealth action thriller. I can't tout the game-play enough: you'll start simply mashing buttons but feel like an expert and yet you'll evolve into a truly cerebral tactician. RECOMMENDATION: buy now! You must play this game. I normally would never pay release-day-prices for a non-40+-RPG, usually waiting for a sub-40 dollar (US) price point but Arkham City is worth the full $65 price-tag (though by now it's surely dropped). Batman AC is my GOTY Expand
  82. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Epic game.Better than the Arkham asylum.Very strong storie.I think Batman Arkham city is the best Batman,including the moovies.For the moment,game of the year. Expand
  83. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, the combat is improved over the last game with countering easier and doing the same thing making each mission more challenging and forcing you to change your tactics. The Catwoman segments though are short and lackluster and sort of have the quasi-sexist leanings as Catwoman tries to deal with her foe but then gets tied up for most of the game, she only has two shortThis game is amazing, the combat is improved over the last game with countering easier and doing the same thing making each mission more challenging and forcing you to change your tactics. The Catwoman segments though are short and lackluster and sort of have the quasi-sexist leanings as Catwoman tries to deal with her foe but then gets tied up for most of the game, she only has two short missions and no side missions of her own so all you'll get to do with her is free-roam after you've finished her main missions, and even then she lacks all the gadgets Batman has so she can't go to as many places or do as much, especially inverted takendown from gargoyles I had gotten used to that with Batman and was mad I couldn't do it with Catwoman. Still combat with is fun as hell, and walking on the roof has its merits too. Batman himself on the other hand has multiple side missions and longer and more main missions, all of which are beautifally done.

    This game is great and fun, there is one problem however, getting to places takes forever and it's easy to get lost trying to navigate out of a building (it's better than Asylum which didn't have a compass on the HUD). I got Asylum with this game and I read an article on Cracked about how some games are being used as human testing, like say skinner boxes where the subject is forced to do boring and mundane tasks in order to get to its designed prize (usually done with mice and food) so that it appreciates and enjoys the prize more and how this was being done in video games, playing both I start to see that may be why this game is so good and held up so highly, that if it wasn't wasting your time with complicated buildings along with making you get to places that it probably won't be as good. Scary stuff.
    Expand
  84. May 29, 2012
    10
    For every Batman fan it is must that they play this game. Batman Arkham City has a very large world concsiced in a game.It probably has the best gameplay expierience in the world . The sound,display,picture quality is just awesome .So if you're a Batman fan then you should expierince this game at least once.
  85. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game is brilliant. Probably one of my all time favourites. The way this game responds and acts is almost perfect, i loved it. It has all the character's we love and they have great voices and fleshed out properly. The combat is great and i never really got sick of it. The enemies are varied. But the best part is the story, Batman going into Arkham City, trying to work out what theThis game is brilliant. Probably one of my all time favourites. The way this game responds and acts is almost perfect, i loved it. It has all the character's we love and they have great voices and fleshed out properly. The combat is great and i never really got sick of it. The enemies are varied. But the best part is the story, Batman going into Arkham City, trying to work out what the evil villains are planning and it good to see how the react to one another. Everything feel like it should. And Catwoman short-lived campaign is so great. She just feels like Catwoman should and she quick and flexible and she has a pretty good voice actress that i loved her as a character. The game is great, Rocksteady treated these characters with such respect the deserve and this game I will remember for a long time. 10/10 Expand
  86. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Rocksteady games proved that it was possible to make a good Batman game-a really good Batman game, in 2009 with Batman: Arkham Asylum. Was it possible, though, to make a Batman game that could (gasp) garner Game of the Year status? The answer is, yes, sweet lord yes. The beginning of the game reveals a pretty big twist. Hugo Strange, the big bad guy, knows Batman's identity. He quicklyRocksteady games proved that it was possible to make a good Batman game-a really good Batman game, in 2009 with Batman: Arkham Asylum. Was it possible, though, to make a Batman game that could (gasp) garner Game of the Year status? The answer is, yes, sweet lord yes. The beginning of the game reveals a pretty big twist. Hugo Strange, the big bad guy, knows Batman's identity. He quickly throws Bruce Wayne in the sprawling mega-prison Arkham City, and the player says goodbye to life for a few months. A huge amount of villains appear right at the start. Black Mask, The Penguin (voiced by Nolan "I'm in everything" North), Catwoman, and Two-Face, Harley Quinn, and the Joker all appear in the first half-hour. Just like in the previous installment, the animated show's actors voice their respective characters. Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill, there all here. This is, by the way, Hamill's last performance as The Joker. And oh, what a glorious finale he had. The greatest character by far, though, is the city itself. So many secrets are hidden in this gothic wonderland that you'll be in your underwear lying in the dark with controller in hand for months. I know I have. The story is the best though, and it plays like a graphic novel. Every situation has you saying "Wow, that's my new favorite part." Your favorite part will undoubtedly be the ending though, it's got to be one of the greatest endings in video game history. plot twist after plot twist after plot twist pile up and you'll be in awe at the last, say, ten minutes. This is not just a great Batman game, it's a great Batman experience. Expand
  87. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The moment you step foot into Arkham city you know the scale is incredible. The entire city just embodies the spirit of Batman. Exploring all the nooks and crannies can result in countless lost hours that you'll enjoy ! Character models are diverse and the story picks up right where Arkham asylum left off. Controls are tight and the skill tree can help you shape Batman's move and gadgetThe moment you step foot into Arkham city you know the scale is incredible. The entire city just embodies the spirit of Batman. Exploring all the nooks and crannies can result in countless lost hours that you'll enjoy ! Character models are diverse and the story picks up right where Arkham asylum left off. Controls are tight and the skill tree can help you shape Batman's move and gadget set the way you see fit.

    I couldn't give the game a 9.5 like I wanted so I rounded up, and the only reason I can't regard this as a 10 of 10 is because the character cramming. To me it seemed to me like they wanted to put every face possible regardless if they had anything to do with the story. But a minor complaint I suppose, also the combat system to me is hard to perfect. It seemed like sometimes I kept combos going easily, and other times for no explainable reason my combos were debunked.

    All in all this is a must own game for any system you have, If you haven't played Arkham asylum you should. If you haven't played a good Batman game than you've never played this series. This is hands down the most incredible Batman game series ever made!
    Expand
  88. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Must have game for PS3 (not for XBox :P). The first aspect i want to cover is the amazing storyline. Then the graphics. Batman looks so awesome in it. The gameplay is good and is about 8 hours long. Overall it's one of the best games for the year 2011 and Batman fans would die for it.
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    A perfect open world game with some of the best side missions ever in a video game. The combat has improved and the gadgets are more fun to use. The only thing I would liked to have seen would be more of certain villains like: Harley Quinn, Two-Face, Scarecrow, and Killer Croc. I find it hard to believe that anyone can give this game a bad review.
  90. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Quite simply, this is why I play video games. In a sea of multiplayer titles, this gem immerses you into the beautifully dismal world of Gotham City, making YOU Batman while improving on it's nearly flawless 1st title (if that even seemed possible). I've played them all this year and BAC easily wins as game of the year. Absolutely everything Rocksteady throws at you is well conceived,Quite simply, this is why I play video games. In a sea of multiplayer titles, this gem immerses you into the beautifully dismal world of Gotham City, making YOU Batman while improving on it's nearly flawless 1st title (if that even seemed possible). I've played them all this year and BAC easily wins as game of the year. Absolutely everything Rocksteady throws at you is well conceived, ensuring a number of jaw-dropping moments that left me shaking my head with a childlike smile. Even if you're not a Bat-geek, you owe it to yourself to buy this game now, yes, now. Since GTA4, I've yet to wake up in the middle of the night and fire up my PS3 to continue the adventure. This game is easily a 10 (& I've only given MGS4 & GTA4 a 10 in my 25+ years as a gamer). Well done Rocksteady, you've finally made being a comic book hero a reality! Expand
  91. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game I've ever played, best superhero game ever and most dramatic game in a wile. Because of jokers death. Why did they do it why. I hate them but still love this game. Best game ever. BUY IT, NOW!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  92. May 22, 2012
    10
    Was hesitant to believe Rocksteady could outdo themselves after Batman Arkham Asylum, but clearly I was wrong. Bringing Batman into an open-world environment was exactly what this sequel needed. The story is strong, and the ending (no spoilers here) is fantastic and almost heart-wrenching for anyone who is a batman fan. The gameplay remains just as strong as it was in Asylum, and kickingWas hesitant to believe Rocksteady could outdo themselves after Batman Arkham Asylum, but clearly I was wrong. Bringing Batman into an open-world environment was exactly what this sequel needed. The story is strong, and the ending (no spoilers here) is fantastic and almost heart-wrenching for anyone who is a batman fan. The gameplay remains just as strong as it was in Asylum, and kicking the crap out of joker's henchmen is visually beautiful and smooth. The inclusion of Story+ just adds more to an already expansive game filled with hidden secrets and riddler trophies to attain. Nice job Rocksteady, can't wait to see what project you take up next! Expand
  93. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    All the hype that has been going on about this game is very well deserved and it really is a 10/10. The reason I'm giving a 9 is because of the villains in the story. Since batman has some of the greatest bundle pack of villains you would expect a shocking impact if you heard that Bane, Mad Hatter, and Grundy appeared on the scene but instead they're really just for show.

    THE
    All the hype that has been going on about this game is very well deserved and it really is a 10/10. The reason I'm giving a 9 is because of the villains in the story. Since batman has some of the greatest bundle pack of villains you would expect a shocking impact if you heard that Bane, Mad Hatter, and Grundy appeared on the scene but instead they're really just for show.

    THE *******ONLY******* CON THIS GAME HAS IS NOT MUCH DEPTH IN THE VILLAIN CATEGORY

    this game is worth every penny and I highly reccomend to buy now that it's out on the market, the Game of the Year Ed.

    BRAVO!!! ROCKSTEADY :)
    Expand
  94. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I have been reading Batman comics for a long time now. The first Arkham game felt like they took all the good ideas from the past Batman games, and made it into a surprisingly great game. Arkham City did not disappoint; it expanded on the concepts from the first game and made it work in an open world game.

    The voice acting is one of the highlights of the game. For those who grew up on
    I have been reading Batman comics for a long time now. The first Arkham game felt like they took all the good ideas from the past Batman games, and made it into a surprisingly great game. Arkham City did not disappoint; it expanded on the concepts from the first game and made it work in an open world game.

    The voice acting is one of the highlights of the game. For those who grew up on Batman: The Animated Series, you will continue to enjoy Mark Hamill's Joker and Kevin Conroy's Batman. The actual Arkham City is a mix between the comic books and the Nolan films. The Boss battles have improved from the first game. My personal favorite is the one with Mr. Freeze since you have to attack him differently after each hit. You will need to how to master the combat rhythm, but soon after, you can beat 30 thugs without ever taking damage.

    My one gripe is how the game flows with the Catwoman episodes downloaded. During single-player, the episodes kind of breaks the narrative flow of the main story. However, Catwoman is a fun character to play as. This game is probably the closest you can get to be Batman without training martial arts for years, breaking several laws and buying high tech gadgets.
    Expand
  95. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Simply, this game is perfection. Arkham Asylum was a great game with great game-play, story, characters and it really made the player feel like the Dark Knight. Arkham City, however, is in a whole other league. The Batman experience in Arkham City is totally flawless. The story is darker then AA but so much more engrossing. There are far more characters that Rocksteady have totallySimply, this game is perfection. Arkham Asylum was a great game with great game-play, story, characters and it really made the player feel like the Dark Knight. Arkham City, however, is in a whole other league. The Batman experience in Arkham City is totally flawless. The story is darker then AA but so much more engrossing. There are far more characters that Rocksteady have totally redesigned to make them unique to this franchise and they all look incredible, especially the Joker. If you only have the money to buy one game this year then it should be Batman Arkham City. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  96. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Best game ever, what more can I say? No other game makes you feel like the character as much as this does, it's simply amazing. Rocksteady pour so much love and attention into their games and you can really tell too!
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A superb game, topped only by the mighty Uncharted 3. Arkham City expands and improves on the equally brilliant Arkham Asylum, adding new gadgets, fighting moves, and a whole new story that twists and turns through terrific action, emotion, and a frighteningly sadistic Joker (Mark Hammil). You'll love every minute of it. A must own for any gamer - and no, you don't have to be a Batman fanA superb game, topped only by the mighty Uncharted 3. Arkham City expands and improves on the equally brilliant Arkham Asylum, adding new gadgets, fighting moves, and a whole new story that twists and turns through terrific action, emotion, and a frighteningly sadistic Joker (Mark Hammil). You'll love every minute of it. A must own for any gamer - and no, you don't have to be a Batman fan to enjoy this masterpiece. Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    If you love Batman, you're gonna love this game. If you don't love Batman, then you'll enjoy the game too, as it doesn't go over the head of a casual fan's head with the story. Simply put BUY THIS GAME!
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Well what can I say, this game is a masterpiece. Having been playing it since release day, getting 100% completion, I'm still playing this game now trying to better my Challenge mode rankings. This combat is some of the most streamlined I have encountered, essentially boiling down to attacks and counters. To those who criticize it for only being '2 buttons' the combat is easy to pick upWell what can I say, this game is a masterpiece. Having been playing it since release day, getting 100% completion, I'm still playing this game now trying to better my Challenge mode rankings. This combat is some of the most streamlined I have encountered, essentially boiling down to attacks and counters. To those who criticize it for only being '2 buttons' the combat is easy to pick up but hard to master. There is a deceptive level of depth. Button mashing punch may work to an extent, but don't go expecting any combos planning the next attack and clever use of gadgets is the way to succeed.

    Onto the storyline, which going into a sandbox game I was expecting to get something which felt tacked on. How wrong I was, while i was often sidetracked on way to mission objectives, I was always eager to find out what what going to happen next. Arkham City features over twice as many villains as Arkham Asylum but somehow none were forced and all were relevant to the proceedings.

    Finally the graphics are stunning, with attention to detail rivalling that of a smaller scale game. The city is bursting with things to do. Its one of the most immersive environments which I have experienced, with only a handful of areas having (very short) loading waits. All in all it will take a very good game to beat this for game of year, only possibilities in my opinion are Zelda Skyward Sword and Skyrim. But either way this is a must-have title.
    Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Wow, amazing game. Like the dark knight, its so amazing that I'm scared and hopeful that the inevitable sequel can live up to what this game has accomplished. Good time to be a Batman fan.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    89
    Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]