User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1892 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    It is a great game, but not perfect by any means. The combat is obviously the best part, with so much going on but always an absolute joy to play. The story and graphics are all good, as well as the detective elements. The only problems are, first the load times. Any time you retry or load a new area it can take up to 30 seconds just to load up. It can get frustrating when you play on hardIt is a great game, but not perfect by any means. The combat is obviously the best part, with so much going on but always an absolute joy to play. The story and graphics are all good, as well as the detective elements. The only problems are, first the load times. Any time you retry or load a new area it can take up to 30 seconds just to load up. It can get frustrating when you play on hard and must redo some parts to have to wait so long to load up. The biggest and most notable problem is the platforming. So many times I would look at a ledge or something I had just grappled to it and would not let me for some reason and I would spam the R1 button, because that is your best bet of getting anywhere, and it would spin me around and grapple something not even on the screen. It can be very frustrating. Also I would be standing next to a wall or ledge and it would not let me hang on it or grab on to it for no reason. They could have done a better job with that but great with EVERYTHING else besides a few minor errors and one major one.....great job rocksteady Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    ok , well i have been playing since midnight eastern time and let me start off by saying WOW. i am feeling like i am in an open world interactive batman comic/cartoon. it is that good. the details are top notch, everything from catwoman's hips to the dive bombing/thrust kicking villains. the graphics are beautiful, and there has been very little frame rate issues whatsoever. the controlsok , well i have been playing since midnight eastern time and let me start off by saying WOW. i am feeling like i am in an open world interactive batman comic/cartoon. it is that good. the details are top notch, everything from catwoman's hips to the dive bombing/thrust kicking villains. the graphics are beautiful, and there has been very little frame rate issues whatsoever. the controls familiar to asylum's mechanics, but more precise counters and great takedown sequences. the game starts off in a way which was very creative, and the story has been steady since pressing start. playing as catwoman is not only a great addition but the way she is seamlessly running parallel to the story, while taking turns from batman to catwoman. the upgrade/skill point is based on combat combo's and tech which gain batman his exp, doing other actions also will give some xp but combat being points plentiful. then can upgrade armor, techniques etc, categories ranging from gadgets to combat, and even catwoman has a small "tree" to upgrade. the villains are not the smartest bunch but instead of feeling like the a.i is pathetic, i feel like there is no match for batman while im playing him. so they give me feelings of being a bad a** who's moves got moves rather than the feeling of just going through the motions. that wasnt/isnt a easy task. i am one w/ batman. and my weapons are not over powered, if anything they are designed for 2 primary reasons. # 1 stunning / confusing the villain or # 2 used to solve puzzles(riddles) , break through walls and create diversions etc. they do not kill. batman has use his muscle to put enemies on the ground. and my fav is the "DIVE BOMB" lol, coasting around finding villains and pressing the right trigger to dive into a mob never gets old. the campaign isnt long if you go from a to b. but solving all the riddles as well as side quests tacks on many hours, fun hours. and im not usually a big fan w/ a ton of side quests but there are exceptions and its usually when i dont want a game to end, batman is an exception. i dont want the game to finish, and thats what tells me that im playing something special. batman has alot to offer. and it offers them on a silver platter. the only faults ive found is the main villains, in my opinion they did not get enough screentime, they just seemed to be an after thought rather than challenging foes. dont get me wrong, the details and voice acting of the joker, penguin etc were top notch but i just wished their presence made a bigger impact , cameo's is a word that describes my feelings on certain villains. and not knowing how many more batmans are to come, just wished that i had more interaction w/ them in this game because this is the one which is truely as close to a superhero to video game translation ive seen to date, and ive been playing games since commodore 64,lol..
    i took a break to share my thoughts as the game is paused in the background and its been about 13 hours of gaming so far and i cant wait to pick the controller back up.
    i must be honest before i go. i had no true desire for this game. almost switched my pre-order to something else. i must say that i would have made a mistake if i did because this is everything i want in a game and more, this is by far oe of the best games i have played in a while. ive played just about everything, check my psn if you wish. this is one which i will replay and one which i wont want to let go of. i dont think a perfect 10 exists but i have to grade a game which is pretty close. i would rate a 9.5 but considering the games that get scores that high and falling way short in comparison well hey im giving it a 10. the music hits all the right notes , the graphics are sweet and the story is one to enjoy. ultimately this game hits all the right notes and is very worthy of goty contention.

    if you a fan of batman or a fan of getting your monies worth in a game, then this is for you.
    if only rocksteady could call clark kent and have him sign a contract to jump in a phone booth and fly to our consoles. that would be nice...
    Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    If you love Batman, you're gonna love this game. If you don't love Batman, then you'll enjoy the game too, as it doesn't go over the head of a casual fan's head with the story. Simply put BUY THIS GAME!
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to beI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This is hands down the greatest comic book game ever made. exceptional graphics and story coupled with engaging and challenging gameplay. I'm Batman :)
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    As far as superhero games go, it doesn't get better than Batman Arkham City. People will try to copy, there will be more sequels, but this here, this is the real deal. Haven't played it yet? Where are you from, Mars?
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    With a stunning opening, deep storyline, intense action, impeccable detail and memorable ending, this is a very beautiful and well done game. It's is everything people hoped it would be, as it massively improves on Arkham Asylum while keeping its core gameplay and engines. Not only is the story mode a blast, the challenge maps will keep you busy for months after completing the storyWith a stunning opening, deep storyline, intense action, impeccable detail and memorable ending, this is a very beautiful and well done game. It's is everything people hoped it would be, as it massively improves on Arkham Asylum while keeping its core gameplay and engines. Not only is the story mode a blast, the challenge maps will keep you busy for months after completing the story (you'll probably end up playing through it at least three times). Although the story had some plot holes towards the end, it kept me guessing because of all the wonderfully crafted twists that it pulls off. The story is a little on the short side, but it's a compelling roller coaster ride that will keep you hooked until the shocking ending. Not only is this a must have for batman fans, it is a must have for any gamer. Expand
  8. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    being able to play batman in his prime beyond epic while gliding through the streets of Gotham beating thugs and stopping criminals masterminds mixed with superb gameplay and narrative what more would you want in a game, the superhero game we deserve
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My time playing Batman: Arkham City were some of the most amazing hours of my life (30+ in fact!) In this amazing sequel, the caped crusader must battle many villains that weren't from the last game, including Mr. Freeze, Mad Hatter, Ra's al Ghul, Penguin, Two-Face, and even Deadshot, although I do miss the Scarecrow segments from the previous game. In this game, hours upon hours of gameplay will be spent trying to solve riddler puzzles, track mysterious phone calls, and defeat Gotham's most wanted criminals. The fighting in this game is amazing, the puzzles are challenging, and the strategising is incredible. If you loved the first batman game, you're going to love this beautiful sequel, to an already beautiful game. Expand
  10. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the best games of all time. Takes the formula from first game and refines it, adds in a true open world setting, makes you feel like the Batman. The Riddlers Revenge challenge maps will drive you crazy (in a good way). Would also recommend the Nightwing DLC - quite a fun character to play.
  11. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Now this game just surprised me. Arkham City surpassed all my expectations and it has become what I believe to be one of the best video games I've ever played. This may well be one of the best things that ever happened to Batman after The Dark Knight trilogy. The gameplay we've come to know and love from the Arkham series has been refined and refurbished to where I can simply not imagine aNow this game just surprised me. Arkham City surpassed all my expectations and it has become what I believe to be one of the best video games I've ever played. This may well be one of the best things that ever happened to Batman after The Dark Knight trilogy. The gameplay we've come to know and love from the Arkham series has been refined and refurbished to where I can simply not imagine a better Arkham experience. Expand
  12. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    I rarely write reviews but i have been playing arkham city for about ten days now and seriously this game is a masterpeice i cant beleive you can sink so many hours into this brawler!!

    my actual score is a 9.8 given a 10 would be sth from the mgs series of ff 7,9 this goes straight in to my top 10 list of all time with the likes of only demon or dark souls from this generation. the
    I rarely write reviews but i have been playing arkham city for about ten days now and seriously this game is a masterpeice i cant beleive you can sink so many hours into this brawler!!

    my actual score is a 9.8 given a 10 would be sth from the mgs series of ff 7,9 this goes straight in to my top 10 list of all time with the likes of only demon or dark souls from this generation.

    the amount of content on this disc is incredible yet the level of polish is extraordinary i would give this game a perfect ten if the story was more coherent and the graphics weren t built on unreal engine dont get me wrong the game looks terrific i m just not a fan of this engines graphics (personal opinion) the story is good but i feel arkham asylum did it better it was simply put more focused.

    The combat, the challenges, Side missions, ARKHAM CITY all that a perfect ten for me this actually deserves a collectors edition!!
    Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    Batman: Arkham City might well be the best video-game sequel ever made. It retains the core elements that made Arkham Asylum such a revelation, while expanding the series' ambition exponentially. The open world works excellently in Arkham City. Better yet, the way the limitations of it are actually written into the story is a stroke of genius. The world feels real and integral to the plot,Batman: Arkham City might well be the best video-game sequel ever made. It retains the core elements that made Arkham Asylum such a revelation, while expanding the series' ambition exponentially. The open world works excellently in Arkham City. Better yet, the way the limitations of it are actually written into the story is a stroke of genius. The world feels real and integral to the plot, rather than just a sandbox to swing around in. Likewise, the story's flow works brilliantly, with each villain having their own reasons to exist within the plot. Nothing feels shoehorned in and everything just seems natural. Just like Arkham Asylum, it really feels like a genuine Batman adventure. The pacing also deserves a mention; the game peaks at all the right moments and the end is, well, very climatic. Technically, the game looks beautiful and is one of the best looking titles on PS3. The controls and design are tight, rarely offering up problems (no mean feat in an open world game). Arkham City is such a perfect sequel that it's hard to see how the series can maintain it's momentum. How do you make a Batman game that moves the goalposts so spectacularly again? How do you make a Batman game where the open world makes so much sense again? It's going to take a magician to pull that one off, I think. So... Batman: Arkham City is a true, authentic Batman adventure and also a masterclass on how to do a videogame sequel right. But most of all, it's just really fun to play. Expand
  14. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    This game looks awesome and it is fun to play. the developer keeps the success story from arkham asylum witch was a really awesome game. The game looks sleek, it runs smooth, the missions and quest are fun and you will spend some serious time getting the riddlers riddle`s done. The game is overall awesome and should be in every gamers collection.
  15. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Having now played my 3 most anticipated games of the year (Zelda, Uncharted 3, and Batman) I can say with full confidence that this one was the best. This was the one which matched and exceeded my expectations. This was the game most eager to please, and by far the most successful. Where other games became bogged down by their attempts at epicness (Uncharted), pacing (Zelda), or spottyHaving now played my 3 most anticipated games of the year (Zelda, Uncharted 3, and Batman) I can say with full confidence that this one was the best. This was the one which matched and exceeded my expectations. This was the game most eager to please, and by far the most successful. Where other games became bogged down by their attempts at epicness (Uncharted), pacing (Zelda), or spotty controls (Uncharted, Zelda), Batman excels with it's developers deft touch; light enough not to be obtrusive, and heavy enough to keep things moving in the right direction. Skyward Sword is one giant fetch quest. Arkham City makes those fetch quests optional, and guess what: they're way more fun because of that. Rocksteady empowers the player and finds ways for them to succeed, not ways to slow them down or annoy them. Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    A MUCH better game than Asylum. I always disliked Asylum because it felt so enclosed, and whilst the gameplay and plot were solid, I just detested traipsing across the asylum trying to find out where to go. The free roam Arkham City is a much better place to traverse, as there is always something to do, even after the main plot finishes. The gameplay has definitely improved and the plot isA MUCH better game than Asylum. I always disliked Asylum because it felt so enclosed, and whilst the gameplay and plot were solid, I just detested traipsing across the asylum trying to find out where to go. The free roam Arkham City is a much better place to traverse, as there is always something to do, even after the main plot finishes. The gameplay has definitely improved and the plot is still well written if a little ridiculous. I'm not a big fan of Batman, but I still love this game. Expand
  17. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Even if you haven't played Arkham Asylum (which is incredible in its own right) you owe it to yourself to pick up this game, period.
    Perfect combat, great and surprising story, impeccable voice acting, amazing graphics and tons of content.
    This is one of the reasons why we play video games in the first place!
    A benchmark of excellence! A+++
  18. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Arkham City is truly a great game. The core gameplay is tight, polished and just feels right. soaring the sky of Gotham is both visually stunning and satisfying. Story is strong, but at least for me, near the end it started losing some steam. Nevertheless, it's a great story, and the story telling is strong, thanks to supreme voice work. the story itself is abut 10-12 hours, both gameplayArkham City is truly a great game. The core gameplay is tight, polished and just feels right. soaring the sky of Gotham is both visually stunning and satisfying. Story is strong, but at least for me, near the end it started losing some steam. Nevertheless, it's a great story, and the story telling is strong, thanks to supreme voice work. the story itself is abut 10-12 hours, both gameplay wise, and story wise. the plot happened in supposedly one night, and that is one of my problems with the game. when you have a open world to explore and side quests to take part in, it just doesn't feel like one night. it screws up the feel of time, and it just doesn't make any sense. the side quests are good, but because they are usually lengthy, it hurts the feel of time too. most of the side quests are great, with outcast batman villeins. besides the feel of time, the game just feel right,. combat is defiantly a highlight, with amazing animation and brutal take downs. stealth plays a key role too, it's a blast, but near the end it starts to get repetitive, since the stealth doesn't evolve a lot beyond it's core mechanics thru the game. The game's formula is very similar to The Legend of Zelda. The city is kind of an overworld. and the buildings are dungeons. the problem with these "dungeons" is that near the end they sorta get predictable, you will know what to expect from almost any given room, and basically combat-stealth-combat in different orders, with the occasional puzzle . That's not a real problem, since both are mighty fun, but it would have been nice to have a little more then that near the end. Arkham City is a massive game, the story is relatively short, but cool lengthy side-quests, over four hundred riddler trophies insures that the game will stay in your system for weeks to come. In short Batman: Arkham City is an incredible game, one of the very best of the year, and perhaps this generation. Do yourself a favor, pick this one up, you won't regret it. Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Not only is this one of the best games of the year, but one of the greatest games of all time and outperforms its predecessor in every way and no other game or movie makes you feel like the dark knight other than this one.
  20. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    If you haven't bought this game yet, then something is wrong with you. It has something for everyone. For Uncharted 3 fans, it has great voice acting. For Skyrim fans, it has an amazing open-ended world. For Zelda fans, it has neat Riddle puzzles. For Saints Row the Third fans, it has great looking animations and a lot of sex appeal. For Assassin's Creed fans, it has a lot of sweetIf you haven't bought this game yet, then something is wrong with you. It has something for everyone. For Uncharted 3 fans, it has great voice acting. For Skyrim fans, it has an amazing open-ended world. For Zelda fans, it has neat Riddle puzzles. For Saints Row the Third fans, it has great looking animations and a lot of sex appeal. For Assassin's Creed fans, it has a lot of sweet cutscenes. Expand
  21. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkam City is said to be one of the best games of the year but is that true? Let's find out. Batman Arkham City is an action game made by Rocksteady. The story is about Batman, who has to save Gotham from Hugo Strange, whose got a '' super prison '' in his control. It's a good story but i think some of the boss fights are useless, because most of them could haveBatman Arkam City is said to be one of the best games of the year but is that true? Let's find out. Batman Arkham City is an action game made by Rocksteady. The story is about Batman, who has to save Gotham from Hugo Strange, whose got a '' super prison '' in his control. It's a good story but i think some of the boss fights are useless, because most of them could have gotten they'r own game. The gameplay is almost the same that it was in Arkham Asylym (which is not a bad thing) but it's improved. The game focuses on two main things: stealth and fighting. Stealth is very well done. It reminds me of Splinter Cell: Conviction and it's very good in that game. Fighting uses a mechanic called free flow. The fighting for me is the funniest thing to do in this game. It's just really fun to smack somebody in the face and then just kick some other guy and so on. You can also play as Catwoman which is fun and you can download Nightwing and Robin dlc packs. There's also a lot of side mission, challenge maps, riddles and trophies to find so there's a lot to do after you've finished the story. Graphics are also very good in this game. It has the same art style that Arkham Asylum had but the graphics are improved. There might be couple of texture bugs but they are so small that they don't ruin the game. So now we can clearly say that Arkham City is a great game. and one of the best games that I've ever played. Now go buy this game!

    Story: 9.5
    Gameplay: 10
    Graphics: 9.5
    Final score: 9.5 '' Great ''
    Expand
  22. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Best single player game I have ever played. I LOVED IT! I would prefer the combat challenges to be a bit more difficult but all in all, very few flaws in this game..
  23. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    this game is very, very, good. no denying that. you could release this game in 12 years and it'd still be good. however, there is something missing from this game. it feels perfectly formed, large, never boring, and the gameplay is as good as asylum.

    however, following up asylum is a hard, hard task. the original was nigh on perfect, having great progression, great scenes, set pieces, and
    this game is very, very, good. no denying that. you could release this game in 12 years and it'd still be good. however, there is something missing from this game. it feels perfectly formed, large, never boring, and the gameplay is as good as asylum.

    however, following up asylum is a hard, hard task. the original was nigh on perfect, having great progression, great scenes, set pieces, and a sense that where you went next was up to you, but that following the story is the best option.

    city is like this, but the ridiculous scale that it is on dampens things a bit. there is little feeling of enclosure, no fear, no sense of danger, and following the story seems less meaningful, even if it is a well thought out one. it has no wow factor anymore either. the items you had at the end of asylum are still here, and there is little new, aside from the ridiculous scale of the game.

    there is also no real incentive to come back. you play it and it is hard to persuade yourself to turn it back on. i have found this with other people, who simply have no desire to find out what happens next. some games like zelda, uncharted and arkham asylum did, but for some reason, this just doesn't.

    not to say its a bad game. not whatsoever. but i would reccomend arkham asylum over it. its not a dissapointment, but unlike arkham asylum, something feels missing. and that is the most depressing sensation you can have in a videogame.
    Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the greatest games ever made, the plot and gameplay is incredible, you will be scared, and the villians are incredible, a great follow up to the first game Batman Arkahm Asylum, It is suspensful, and action packed. All in all it is a great game, that everyone should love.
  25. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City is one of the best games out on the market. Rocksteady are a company that love to create genius ideas for their own games. Everything about Batman Arkham City makes the quality of the original look like a test for this one. We all look forward to see what Rocksteady can do in the highly anticipated 'Arkham World.'
  26. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    On my Christian gaming channel ( http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus ), I actually gave this game an 9. You DEFINITELY got PLENTY of game for your money. And it was actually a quite memorable game with its EXCELLENT game play and extra side-missions and other game types available.

    If you wish to view all the details, please check out my Christian game review: http://youtu.be/lMoDmhEscEI
  27. May 25, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, although seems to try and through everything into the game for the mere sake of it and the story suffers as a result.

    Not as good Arkham Asylum, but a brilliant game nevertheless.
  28. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    a beautiful game with a excellent combat style of gameplay and with excellent side missions but with a ok story which makes this game just from being perfect
  29. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game to be released EVER! It can't be beaten. If anyone challenges that then we will have to have a little chat. Great gameplay, great story, GREAT DLC and the HOTTEST CATWOMAN EVER
  30. May 1, 2013
    10
    When I first started Arkham City I didn't know what to expect. I had heard it was good but I was never a huge Batman fan. That didn't matter at all because from the opening sequence I was hooked playing through a game with a great story, brilliant gameplay mechanics with the most responsive combat system I've ever used and having more fun collecting all 400 of those riddler trophies thanWhen I first started Arkham City I didn't know what to expect. I had heard it was good but I was never a huge Batman fan. That didn't matter at all because from the opening sequence I was hooked playing through a game with a great story, brilliant gameplay mechanics with the most responsive combat system I've ever used and having more fun collecting all 400 of those riddler trophies than i've ever had with collectibles in a game. Arkham City is a great world to explore with good side missions. An awesome game!!! Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]