User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1608 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Rocksteady has not only one-upped Arkham Asylum, they obliterated it. The story is excellent and starts off with an extremely intense arrest. The voice acting is absolutely flawless for the most part. Kevin Conroy knocked it out of the park as Batman (as always), this is easily one of his best performances. Mark Hamill was fantastic as Joker, and Corey Burton was amazing as Strange. Tara had some big shoes to fill by playing Harley Quinn, but she did it, and boy was she good. The weakest voice in the game is the Penguin's. It's not terrible, but it doesn't match the rest of the game's quality voices. Nolan North is very talented, but someone like Ray Winstone would have been better. The gameplay is amazing and extremely fine-tuned, the story is interesting and engaging, the dialogue is insanely awesome and there's just so much content in the game! A definite 10/10 from me. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    They say "Don't believe the hype" ... well... you better believe the hype! Sometimes you feel the love people put in something they craft. Uncharted, Mass Effect and also Batman. These developers know there stuff and that shows. This game is a showcase for a lot of developers out there.. This is what a good is all about! Great graphics, good gameplay, a lot of content, puzzles, story, action, and YOU are the batman. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City coming to consoles to reaffirm its position as the best game inspired by superheroes. The Rocksteady managed to repeat the feat of the previous game and expanded universe character even more. With a fantastic plot that surprising since the first scene, the title still offers subtitles in Portuguese, and hours of operation in a city full of mysteries, villains and things to discover. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Arkham Asylum was pretty much one of the best superhero games I have ever played and is up there with Spiderman 2 and Infamous 2 and Rocksteady has outdone themselves again with City. Going for a more open world exploration, you are Batman who is stuck in a city full of thugs and prisoners of different source. That in itself is awesome enough but what surprised me is how City uses Asylum's already brilliant gameplay mechanics and made it work in the open world without being stale in itself. The story itself, though a bit bloated because of the countless villains in it, it does an awesome job making the bloatedness engaging and at times provocative. If you love Asylum, you will love City and if you love Batman in general, why do you even want to miss this? Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    what a game!..this is everything a sequel should be, it is truly magnificent..this game will keep you coming back to play it one more time even after the story is finished there is still so much more to complete, thats a sign of a great game.This has got to be GOTY..graphics are awesome , voice acting is awesome, game play is awesome. story is awesome..I read that this game is what it means to be Batman, and thats so true..go buy it! Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is the first game I ever owned that featured Batman... or any other superhero for that matter. And may I say this... the game is absolutely phenomenal. Combat gameplay is smooth and slick, the simplicity of the controls is balanced by the hordes of enemies that you have to face, and the feeling of kicking the ass of a horde of enemies outnumbering you 10 to 1 in a minute is oh so satisfying. Movement is just about top notch. Batman in flight controls how I wanted and expected him to control (and remember, this is my first Batman game ever). Then the graphics... the graphics of Arkham City are superb. This game has very detailed textures and excellent lighting and shading. I think it has the best graphics of any game released year-to-date. Sound is equally as superb. As for replay value... New Game + and all the collectibles will keep me going for a long time. If you like action games, you owe it to yourself to at least try this one out. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Goddamn these graphics are amazing. Some amazing stealth worthy of Metal Gear mention. A great story and some awesome gameplay. Best game of 2011 indeed. No game that year came close (it was a great year for video games, by the way). It improved on an already great game.
  8. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    SO this is how Super Hero game get made. Rocksteady does it again and even better this time around! Love everything about this game and if you liked the first one there is just more batman here to love.. not to mention the catwoman missions. also robin and nightwing depending on what copy you bought but all available as DLC. At first I was a bit taken aback at how small the open world of Arkham City is compared to other open worlds, even it's predecessor. But once you start playing you realize it is bigger than the map shows. Lots of interiors to explore and all the space inside and out is so jam packed with stuff to do that it becomes a lot bigger. Quite the opposite of something like Just Cause 2 where there is largely dead space on a huge map, This is a smaller map with TONS of things to do. Then add in the challenge maps and you have one hefty game. The characters are great and so is the story. This is a must buy for any fan of Batman, the series or open world adventure games. Expand
  9. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    A stunning achievement. The Dark Knight has already Risen with the release of Arkham City. Gonna be hard for Christopher Nolan to top this....seriously. Rocksteady Games has delivered on all the promise of to come in Arkham Asylum and released a stellar game stocked full of hours upon hours of gameplay, secrets, unlockables, and godlike awesomeness. If you loved Batman: The Animated Series like I did, then welcome to gaming nirvana. A beautifully rendered world created specifically for Batman (ahem, and *Catwoman*) to prowl and terrorize the weak and evil criminals of Gotham (err Arkham?). Batman is a walking Weapon of Mass Destruction in this game, it's utterly insane how awesome it is to kick ass with the Bat. And Catwoman is rendered PERFECTLY. Playing with her with put a smile on your face EVERY SINGLE TIME. It's heavenly. While the game has a few flaws, the lack of Two-Face who disappears after an awesome intro until the end of the game, NO BATMOBILE (this disappointed me the most because the open world set up literally invites this idea to be in the game, come on Rocksteady add the Batmobile PLEASE!!!), and some minor hiccups along the way that I won't spoil. But the game is still gorgeous, remarkable, brilliant, stunning, and glorious. Every gamer owes it to themselves to play it. Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The best Batman Game ever made.I got the goty edition on ps3 but played Arkham city when it first came out on xbox 360.so I got the goty edition for my ps3 and this is still the most amazing game ever made.the story and graphics are superb and the gameplay is just amazing.you must play this game.
  11. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, great open world, 40 hours of great gameplay, addictive. Another masterpiece in the franchise to top an already fantastic first game. A masterpiece.
  12. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    This is a very good game. If you liked Arkham Asylum you will like Arkham City. It has a lot of the features Arkham Asylum had, but has a lot of extra features as well. If you did not like Arkham Asylum then you might not like Arkham City because it does not change enough of the formula to have completely different game mechanics. I loved it though. Graphics are great and so is the Gameplay.
  13. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Just an amazing game. Rocksteady took what already worked well in Arkham Asylum and just immensely improved on it. Arkham City contains a perfect ammount of stealth, combat, and free roam to make it an amazing game. GOTY for me.
  14. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    I rarely write reviews but i have been playing arkham city for about ten days now and seriously this game is a masterpeice i cant beleive you can sink so many hours into this brawler!!

    my actual score is a 9.8 given a 10 would be sth from the mgs series of ff 7,9 this goes straight in to my top 10 list of all time with the likes of only demon or dark souls from this generation.

    the
    amount of content on this disc is incredible yet the level of polish is extraordinary i would give this game a perfect ten if the story was more coherent and the graphics weren t built on unreal engine dont get me wrong the game looks terrific i m just not a fan of this engines graphics (personal opinion) the story is good but i feel arkham asylum did it better it was simply put more focused.

    The combat, the challenges, Side missions, ARKHAM CITY all that a perfect ten for me this actually deserves a collectors edition!!
    Expand
  15. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is truly a superb game, for both normal gamers and die hard comic fans. The game has fluid gameplay with an excellent combat system that can be as deep as you want to take it, and moving around the map is a breeze once you obtain certain upgrades. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is top notch, as Batman and his rogues gallery are all brought to life in satisfying fashion, and the story is one of the best Batman tales you'll find. There is a lot of fan service to comic readers that makes the experience that much richer for them, but doesn't drag down the game for anyone who is unfamiliar with Batman lore. There are an incredible number of villains that make an appearance, but the story plays out in a way that none of them are present just for the sake of throwing them in. Just when you think you've encountered everything Arkham City has to offer, you find another hidden portion that blows your mind. Arkham City is by far the best game to come out this year, and is a must play for everyone, whether or not you played Arkham Asylum. Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Amazing game! One of the best games I've ever played. I love it and I'm not even a big comic book series fan. If you like the new Dark Knight movies then you'll love this.
  17. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I liked Arkham Asylum, but this just puts it to shame. The last Arkham got off to an incredible start and stayed strong until the last couple hours. This game however blows the lid off the awesome jar from start to finish. It deserves every bit of this 10 and the only even slight gripe I have is I wish 2 face would be in it more, but when I'm complaining about something like that among all this badassery, I know it's a GOTY candidate. The pacing is pitch perfect, the side missions are incredible and do their villains justice, and the story takes you to places that even Batman hasn't been to before. Rocksteady improved the traversal to feel less stiff and made the boss encounters much more epic. Gotham is not some lifeless open world for you to travel from A to B. Every inch of this map is packed with content from side missions, to riddler trophies, to groups of thugs. If you're a Batman fan and haven't played both Arkham games, then you are not a Batman fan. If you aren't, you don't have to be to enjoy a great game. This is what licensed games should be and what I hope they become. It captures everything this character has ever been; combatant, detective, ninja, flyboy, and savior. Expand
  18. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    When people thought Rocksteady have reached their peak with Arkham Asylum, it was pleasent to see that Arkham City managed to be as good, and even better then it's predecessor. The core mechanics of the game are nearly identical to Arkham Asylum's, but the new huge city and the veriety of new villians and superheroes create a bigger impact that makes Arkham City more exciting. Truthfuly, the game is massive, and you can spend dozens of hours just gathering the Riddler's trophys and solving his puzzles, but the game also boasts many fantastic side missions that are heavily relying on the main story. Since the game is based on a comic series, it was much easier to connect between different characters to create new side storys. The game also genuianly makes you feel like you are Batman. You get all the possible gadgets, and you can pull off amazing stunts. I can also mention the accurate voice acting and incredible soundtrack, or perhaps the top notch graphics, but the thing that makes this game outshine most action games nowadays is the flow. The game let's you move at your own speed and move from mission to mission fluidly and comfortably. That gives the game a flare that only a great sandbox game can deliever, but it also has the qualities that most sandbox games don't reach. Rocksteady have trully pulled off something magnificent with Arkham City.Hell, Even non-fans of Batman will appreciate this game, because it manages to do so much and do it the best way it can. Expand
  19. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    great game have a amazing history and a great open world to explore, batman have more moves, and a lot of side quests to spend time, a lot of time, dont miss the chance to play this game.
  20. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    A must buy for gamers. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    ATTENTION USERS! BEWARE! I just found two reviews posted in my name that I did not wrote. One of them, I haven't even played the game. Don't know how it happened, if someone hacked my account or my informations were given away. Anyway, check your reviews and ratings, see if everything is right. (sorry to do this as a review, but it was the only way I found). Batman is a superb game, by the way.
  22. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Arkham City isn't only fun but has a beautiful story, awesome characters and an interesting environment to explore. Unlike its predecessor, this game gives you much more to do after beating the main story. I really have nothing to say, I gave it a 10 and its perfect for me.
  23. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham City delivers and meets everyones expectations. Thanks to a bigger scope, while still remaining an alive and detailed comic book world, improved combat, a deeper story, a jaw dropping ending, and tons of replay value, Batman Arkham City is not only one of the best games of the year, but it's also the best licensed video game ever made.
  24. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    if u love action and advancer with a lot of fighting you'll love batman Arkham city. even if your not a really big batman fan i really do recomand this game for people that whant to have a good time kicking but.
  25. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Put simply, this game is FREAKING AMAZING! I loved Arkham Asylum and this game definitely did not disappointed. In my opinion this game is basically flawless for two reasons: 1. They did not try to fix something that wasn't broken when transferring the gameplay from Arkham Asylum to Arkham City. 2. There is SO much depth to it, when you are not gliding around Arkham city grappling from building to building, you are engaging in insanely satisfying hand to hand combat, or even solving the hundreds of Riddler challenges that are available. That is assuming you don't spend your time reading all the character bios that the team at Rocksteady have written from scratch! I have only just begun to scratch the surface of this amazing game but I will leave with these words. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  26. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    un videogioco senza pari. bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare. buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed. che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi siano dubbi al riguardo.

    semplicemente insuperabile, voto pieno e non potrebbe essere altrimenti.
    Expand
  27. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  28. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is an absolute masterpiece. The graphics are incredible, with every square inch of the world looking detailed, dark and moody, and the characters big, well animated and very realistic. The sound design is some of the best in any medium, with perfect voice acting for every character, great sound effects, and a soundtrack that is at once haunting, dark, and sad and at the same time heroic and hopeful. Gameplay-wise, the game hits a perfect balance between hand to hand action and stealth, with varied enemy types and situations that not only constantly keep the game interesting, but also make you change up your strategy to overcome the many challenges you face as the Caped Crusader. But the real reason why this game is such a triumph is its story, which starts off exciting and then ratchets up the tension to such heights that you will not want to put down the controller until the credits roll. It is also a very dark, incredibly emotional story, filled with many characteristic moments for its hero and his villains, and one scene in particular that will definitely bring a tear to your eye. Every friendship, alliance, rivalry and hatred is handled perfectly and, combined with the gameplay and the side missions, this is the game that will truly make you feel like you are The Dark Knight in all his glory. Overall, Arkham City is a game that everyone should own. The gameplay is exciting and well-paced, the presentation is top notch and the story offers more fan service, thrills, action and emotion than any other work of art released in a long time in any medium. This is truly the definitive superhero experience. Expand
  29. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    WOW. I am so impressed by this game. Story: 10/10. Very compelling, with twists and turns. As a huge fan of the realism bent taken by the Nolan films, I am surprised by how much I love the comic book style story. You don't have to be a comic-book junkie to be engrossed in the narrative. What's even more surprising is that the freedom provided by the sand-box-esque gameplay does not ruin the game's pacing. I love Red Dead and wouldn't change a thing but the enjoyable freedom that game's open world provides does stifle the pacing of its story. It was a necessary trade off that I thought would extend to all games that gave you a sandbox with a compelling main story. However, with this game--whether it's because of the smaller size of the Arkham City or because the excellent score engenders a perpetual exigence--you always feel that sense of urgency even when you tangent from the main storyline. Bravo Rocksteady! UI: 11/10. This game does what I once thought impossible: it makes a challenging game accessible. Remember those badass nes games? Ninja Gaiden, Bionic Commando, Tyson's Punchout. I only beat Tyson once and could never beat those other grueling games. I'm not hardcore enough. No demon souls for me. There are some incredibly challenging sections in Arkham City (especially on the second play-through) but even though I had to die several times to overcome them, I was never discouraged. In fact, with each defeat I was actually encouraged, seeing what I did wrong immediately and eager to give it another go. That may be a normal paradigm for the hardcore demon souls playing crowd but I'm a difficulty-wuss (i play mostly for the story) and I loved every challenging inch of this game. What started as a facile button masher became an incredibly tactical stealth action thriller. I can't tout the game-play enough: you'll start simply mashing buttons but feel like an expert and yet you'll evolve into a truly cerebral tactician. RECOMMENDATION: buy now! You must play this game. I normally would never pay release-day-prices for a non-40+-RPG, usually waiting for a sub-40 dollar (US) price point but Arkham City is worth the full $65 price-tag (though by now it's surely dropped). Batman AC is my GOTY Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I am about 10% through this amazing game; it's probably the best game I've ever played even though my tendency is toward RPGs. The things I like about it so far are: the free roam exploration, fine tuned controls, stunning graphics on 1080p, no set path (you can stop the main quest and continue with something else and then get back to it), dexterity and cerebral required puzzles, all the fighting you have to do (I'm surprised about this because as an RPG'er not an action-gamer I liked that they have made the controls easy to use and understand during combat and dextrous rigor required to get through some puzzles) and I could continue but it's hard to explain this game unless you have already bought this game and have "flown around" a little bit; but even you avoided all of the side quests and stayed on the main path you would probably know what I mean that there's so much to do and so little time in which to do it in. However throughout the game I felt this sense of urgency, like you would during a Batman movie when he has go get to something but something more immediate comes up for him to handle. The side quests are innumerable and of varying types. I don't sense anything contrived about it, you the human behind the controller is earning everything he or she gets in this game. You can turn hinting on and off, I turned it off after a while so I could figure out what to do on my own for a sense of real accomplishment. Even if you're not a Batman fan (who's not?), this will either turn you into one or you'll enjoy being a human dressed up as a bat. I am awaiting on Skyrim to arrive on 11-11, this incredible game will fill the time nicely. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]