User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1465 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    kmnfkefnq;nevnwerg;nerwkjkfergfnewgnrwejgnrwklgnerwklgnrtgjnrwklgnwklgn rwgklwrngtnlkwengwlg nwlgn wtlgnt wrlglt ntwlk nrw nrtgnwlgnwlrgn trgn wlrg nlwrk
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    First of all, the game is based on comics. This makes the story and characters fascinating. Also, this game has a great atmosphere, it really conforms with Batman. You can see the dark and gloomy feelings in the game.

    The game play is amazing. You can use bunch of amazing gadgets easily and it's fun. The combats are simple and satisfying but couldn't have done better in my opinion.

    I
    want to talk about voice acting too. The whole cast made very good job. But especially Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill were spectacular. They really excited me. It's too bad that they weren't in Arkham Origins.

    Also, I really love the side missions. They were almost entertaining as the main missions. Especially Riddler missions were mind blowing. The games of Ridder were perfect.

    Lastly, the map is absolutely fantastic. It's very detailed and deliberative. It's huge, you always discover something astounding.

    There are so many things I love in this game but I want to mention about these ones. In short, this game is the best superhero game of all time. Batman fans will fell in love with this game. 10 out of 10 for sure.
    Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    One of the best games I've played!!! Imagine this situation: you as Batman must circulate a huge city filled with criminals to capture the main vilans and contain the chaos. There is anything more awesome than that? Besides, the story is interpreted in an unusual way, which makes you pay attention constantly in what is happening. Graphics are spectacular and the movements are precisely well done. Firstly I couldnt believe in the reviews, but now I strongly recommend this game @imnohero_br Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    If one of the best game of this generation, is indispensable like ir or not batman, the game is long, with thrilling story, with many interesting side quests where we will know many characters of batman universe, and multiple secret where we will discover a part of batman universe. Finally the game play is simple but profound. For me in the top 5 the games of ps3.
  5. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (the Joker especially), the world is massive, the narrative is well done, the visuals are impressive and the music is great. While i honestly found the beginning a little slow, this game is great in every regard.
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This game will be greatly enjoyed by both batman fans and those who are not. From beautiful graphics to a strong and interesting storyline, the player would be glued from the start to the finish of this game. The game play went very smoothly with no faults. Perfect details, fantastic characters and definitely one of the greatest games ever. A must for all batman fans
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The best super hero game I have ever played. The only thing that comes close is lego marvel. It has a great story and really fun gameplay my only complaint is that the enviroment is to dull and grey for my taste.
  8. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This game succeeds every minor detail from Arkham Asylum. The flaws in gameplay from Asylum are corrected in City, and the mechanics work perfectly. The puzzle elements combined in this game (the Riddler trophies) will keep you coming back for more and are a great addition. If you have a spare twenty dollars to spend, go buy the GOTY edition. Rocksteady just doesn't perfect every detail from Asylum, but they created one of the best games of all time. Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    Batman: Arkham City might well be the best video-game sequel ever made. It retains the core elements that made Arkham Asylum such a revelation, while expanding the series' ambition exponentially. The open world works excellently in Arkham City. Better yet, the way the limitations of it are actually written into the story is a stroke of genius. The world feels real and integral to the plot, rather than just a sandbox to swing around in. Likewise, the story's flow works brilliantly, with each villain having their own reasons to exist within the plot. Nothing feels shoehorned in and everything just seems natural. Just like Arkham Asylum, it really feels like a genuine Batman adventure. The pacing also deserves a mention; the game peaks at all the right moments and the end is, well, very climatic. Technically, the game looks beautiful and is one of the best looking titles on PS3. The controls and design are tight, rarely offering up problems (no mean feat in an open world game). Arkham City is such a perfect sequel that it's hard to see how the series can maintain it's momentum. How do you make a Batman game that moves the goalposts so spectacularly again? How do you make a Batman game where the open world makes so much sense again? It's going to take a magician to pull that one off, I think. So... Batman: Arkham City is a true, authentic Batman adventure and also a masterclass on how to do a videogame sequel right. But most of all, it's just really fun to play. Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Bueno ni que decir tiene que este juego me ha decepcionado muchisimo, el 1 estaba muy bien, pero me dejo un poco con ganas de mas, pense que este me haria conformarme pero e gusto mucho menos que el 1º, la ciudad es un laberinto, es como una prision de la 3º parte de alien, es algo inverosimil, batman no tiene vidad, esta como muy pesado, como dije, la ciudad esta como muerta, no tiene vida, no me gusto el juego, solo lo jegue unos dias hasta que me canse, porque se vuelve repititivo, aburrido y monotono, no lo recomiendo Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    As far as superhero games go, it doesn't get better than Batman Arkham City. People will try to copy, there will be more sequels, but this here, this is the real deal. Haven't played it yet? Where are you from, Mars?
  12. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    The very few problems with Arkham Asylum for me (the repetetive boss battles and button mashing) have been fixed now. There is an immense lack of button mashing so my controller is safe once again, and the boss battles are all different. They are quite easy but I like that, playing as Batman I would want fighting a supervillain to be easy. The story in this one is just as good as the last, even if they try to put as many characters in as possible, with an ending which almost made me cry, and something in the credits sequence finished the job, trust me I was broken by the end of this game it has such a powerful ending. The open world system is great, and they were clever to not mess Arkham City up too badly and add respawning thugs so after you had completed the main story you could pretend you were in Gotham just fighting crime. The voice actors all do a fantastic job, especially Conroy as Batman and Hamill as the Joker. Just a purely brilliant game, made by a company who actually listen to the customers, and what they didn't like about the original Arkham. Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    All I can really say is that this game is really good, but there is no "X Factor"
    There is no wow feeling, but no deny this game is awesome.
    I believe that this game really captures the feeling of being the Bat. I mean what more is there to ask for, voice acting: really good. Combat: simply brilliant. And the story is quite good, cat woman is a cool DLC and hours of fun in the Open
    world Arkham City.

    But just no "X Factor"
    Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Despite all attempts to bury the bad reviews and bully those who spoke the truth, this bait and switch wrecked the franchise as the sequel bore out. Bad characterization, absurd story, subpar graphics for a game of this class and a mean-spirited bait-and-switch by the Batman editor with a record of doing just that, and surprise, presales for the sequel are in the toilet. Nobody is behind Arkham Origins. No one cares. There's a lesson, no matter what kind of a rosy picture you paint online, fans remember and you'll pay in future sales. Expand
  15. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game late December last year) and got the double pack Asylum and City) and I have some good news. this game is incredible. This game has incredible gameplay and graphics.

    The gameplay is pretty basic and easy to get into, and can be challenging enough for it not to become boring.

    The graphics are very good it keeps a constant frame rate at all times. The CGI cut
    scenes are a little sandy compared to the nice colors of Arkham asylum but in no way do they look bad.

    The environment is in Arkahm city which is a section of Gotham blocked off to become a superprison. It is a very detailed and big experience. Every corner of this Prison is detailed down to the snow.

    The story is probably the best I have experienced in years.No spoilers here.

    The Music is definitely something you want to experience using headphones. It is very immersive too.

    Overall this game was a complete package for me, with side missions and huge environments to the music this game i a masterpiece for me.
    Expand
  16. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    Great looking game and very fun to run around the city, but the game play is the most boring I have ever played. I play games on the hardest level and this game is just horribly slow. In the beginning fights it takes over 10 minutes to kill 10 goons. The harder level does not mean it should take forever to kill people. It should just be harder. This game is extremely slow and boring if you are on the harder levels. Other than the graphics this game wasn't worth the money. Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite gaming experinces ever. Well done Rocksteady on delivering a proper sequel, it refines upon all of the features of Asylum, yet innovates the franchise into the Open World genre.

    10/10
  18. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I can't tell you how big my excitement was for this game when it was announced. After reviving my hopes for a great batman game with Arkham Asylum, they seemed to be raising the bar higher. The game looks in my opinion slightly better than its predecessor especially the weather effects. The game, once again written by Paul Dini, has such an excellent story that I just cannot spoil at all. All I can say is that, like the first game, the list of villains is spectacular. Being fully moved to an open world game, there's tons of thugs around the street to beat, and side missions a plenty to keep you busy. You can choose to tackle story and side missions as you please since the side missions are completely separate from the main story. Hugo Strange has been tasked with running Arkham City, after the newly appointed mayor cut off a section of Gotham to turn it into a high security prison for all of blackgate inmates and Arkham Asylum inmates to run freely, turning into one huge street war to see who gets control over Arkham City while Hugo Strange uses this idea to lure Batman into the city to shut it down but he doesn't know that Strange has bigger plans for the bat. The boss battles are an improvement from the previous game and they really force you to think on your feet just like the batman would. Overall, there's so much to do in this game and there's so much good things in this game that I simply cannot begin to cover it all, just play this game. This is THE batman game to beat. Expand
  19. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This game fixed many of the errors on the last one. However, the game is not as epic as its predecessor. Sadly, even if a lot of great features were added, the game was shorter than the last one, which only leaves the player with the desire to explore more. The sidequests were great, but there were not many of then, and they were really easy and fast to beat. I would recommend to get the normal version of this game, since most of them now have all he DLC, which is not really that good, except for the harley quinn's revenge. the only thing that the DLC will give you is a lot of tedious trophies you wont want to get. Graphics, presentation, sound and gameplay are better (detective mode deactivates automatically, so you dont overuse it, killing the fun and the graphics), but atmosphere difficulty and story were affected. Expand
  20. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. This game hooked me the moment I first saw the menu screen and kept me hooked all the way through to the end. I didn't like Arkham Asylum much because it felt so constrained to me, Arkham City fixes all that with a gigantic city to explore. And it's not just that it's a big city, it's a city that fits perfectly in the Batman universe.

    My gripes for this game are small,
    sometimes I wish I can turn off the city chatter, and I wish the loading were faster.

    The graphics are great, the music is awesome, the voice acting is superb, and the boss battles are fun and engaging. This is definitely the greatest Batman game released as of 2013.
    Expand
  21. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    okay my favriote dc charcter is the batman im batman okay so lets start with the gameplay so in this game batman has variotes of knocking down his enimes with his gaget and his bare hands so you two ways how to knockdown your oppenent stealth or close up fighting think of this say if your fighting and a thug is behind you by pressing o you can counter and finish them but if your faceing armed thugs you know with guns you have to use stealth to beat them so the world is way bigger than arkham aslyum and looks so bad well thats how has to look story you bruce wayne aka batman are locked up for no reason and batman need to find out what is protacal 10 and a antidoteto heal him becaus joker has poisend you dialouge is super good becaus kevin conroy as batman so yea he is the batmanyou can play as catwomen and play as robin and nightwing in this kinda of thing arcade somthing were you can yous stealth or straight up fighting but there dlc catwomen free the rest not and costume too add too that so this game is a 10/10 Expand
  22. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    being able to play batman in his prime beyond epic while gliding through the streets of Gotham beating thugs and stopping criminals masterminds mixed with superb gameplay and narrative what more would you want in a game, the superhero game we deserve
  23. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Goddamn these graphics are amazing. Some amazing stealth worthy of Metal Gear mention. A great story and some awesome gameplay. Best game of 2011 indeed. No game that year came close (it was a great year for video games, by the way). It improved on an already great game.
  24. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Even if you haven't played Arkham Asylum (which is incredible in its own right) you owe it to yourself to pick up this game, period.
    Perfect combat, great and surprising story, impeccable voice acting, amazing graphics and tons of content.
    This is one of the reasons why we play video games in the first place!
    A benchmark of excellence! A+++
  25. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is an action pumped game and will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. One of the few games i've played from start to finish and enjoyed the whole way.
  26. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Everything seems perfect to me. The graphics are great and the story is interesting and takes some great turns. But the best part is the gameplay itself. The freerunning, the riddles and of course the fighting are amazing. And as a gimmick I love Catwoman. She is not just a skinned Batman, but in fact a completely different character with different gameplay. Expand
  27. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Arkham City is a great sequel to Arkham Asylum. Everything that I can think of is improved in Arkham City. This game has one of the best openings and endings of any games I've ever played. It also has amazing replay value. This is the best game of 2011 and my favorite game of all time!
  28. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City 9/10..............................................................................................................................
  29. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    I loved the first game and I always loved the Joker. So, I was really hopeful for this game. This game was still very good and it was fun to play as Catwoman. But, overall there aren't any big changes from the last game. They added an open world and some side missions can keep you busy. But, overall it is the same game.
  30. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a very great game,
    The story is also great and gameplay is too exciting .It deserves 98 .
    This game just forces the player to play it all day long and this game lives up to its ranking
    Expand
  31. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Best super-hero game ever and it is the best game of all time.
    Advanced Free-flow combat system is undisputed best fighting system in a TPS game.
    Paul Dini is writed a awesome story,it features a lot of characters of DC comics.
    Atmosphere is awesome,great,excellent.You can see a lot of references,masterpiece musics,and wonder city.I think it is the best created ghost town in a game.You
    can feel someone is lived in there.You must play this game before you death.NOTE:It should better you purchase GOTY Version if you want complete arkham city experience,you mustn't play arkham asylum but you should read plot of it. Expand
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    A great game!one of the best i have ever played!great story,impressive gameplay and a surprising ending!when you play you actually feel like batman.The videogame dark knight
  33. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Just the best superhero video game in my opinion!

    Most of the main character of Batman are here, so you have lot of secondary quest to do if you want to finish this game!
    The sensation of freedom is really good (yeah, freedom in a jail, problem?), I really enjoyed all the game and I spend hours and hours trying to end it at 100%!

    If you never try it, just do it
  34. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Batman Arkham City is amazing. Everything good from Arkham Asylum is here with improvements. But this game isn't perfect 10/10 since it has some issues.

    First of all, what it gets right: improved combat, new gadgets, free-roaming, side-quests, story, graphics, characters, amazing voice-acting and lots of enemies. Yeah, you should buy this game, but try Arkham Asylum first, so that you
    can get familiar with combat, story and predator.

    But why this game isn't 10/10? Well, story isn't so good, that it was in Arkham Asylum. I can't say why without spoiling and trust me, you don't want to read spoilers of this game. Sometimes there are some glitches and other issues, but those aren't so big deal. But buy this game and probably GOTY version, so that you shouldn't buy Nightwing, HQ's Revenge, Robin, maps and skins pack separately and trust me, you want to buy those.

    Rocksteady did amazing job with these and I'm waiting more of it.
    Expand
  35. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    Take an awesome game like Batman Arkham Asylum, Throw in more villains, Catwoman, Robin, and alternate costumes and throw it into a bigger and better environment and Boom you got Batman Arkham City.
  36. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Arkham City brings all of the characters, heroes and villains, back in the best superhero game ever. It shows you what it it's like to really be the Dark Knight in an amazing story that will blow your mind with awesome third-person open world gameplay that teach you Batman's ways as the DC character he truly is. I find nothing wrong with the game at all, giving the fun and spectacular experience a 10/10 Expand
  37. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Now I may be the only one who thinks this but Arkham City is way overrated. Don't get me wrong the graphics are great and the world is extremely immersive (down to details such as original comic book appearances) but man is this game repetitive. When I think of Batman, I think of a hero who has a gadget for every situation. I also think of a hero who uses intelligence to gain the upper hand on every foe. So why is it that the Batman I'm playing as in this title can only conceive three ways to approach an open map with almost limitless possibilities? In Arkham city you either 1) use hand to hand to kill twenty guys, 2) sneak and tie enemies up, or 3) fly over any enemies and obstacles. I applaud Rocksteady for not just releasing a licensed cash in, but this game isn't as great as people have made it out to be. Expand
  38. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    I've never really gotten into super hero/comic book games, but I'm glad I decided to take a chance on this one. Great gameplay and graphics, but I enjoyed the characters most of all.
  39. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My time playing Batman: Arkham City were some of the most amazing hours of my life (30+ in fact!) In this amazing sequel, the caped crusader must battle many villains that weren't from the last game, including Mr. Freeze, Mad Hatter, Ra's al Ghul, Penguin, Two-Face, and even Deadshot, although I do miss the Scarecrow segments from the previous game. In this game, hours upon hours of gameplay will be spent trying to solve riddler puzzles, track mysterious phone calls, and defeat Gotham's most wanted criminals. The fighting in this game is amazing, the puzzles are challenging, and the strategising is incredible. If you loved the first batman game, you're going to love this beautiful sequel, to an already beautiful game. Expand
  40. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    (My opinion): Huge open world, numerous side missions and activities interrupt the flow and excitement of the narrative. There's a certain type of disconnect you feel towards the main story. This wasn't the case in Arkham Asylum and this game could've used more linearity.
  41. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This is the Batman game that we have been waiting all the time. Rocksteady has done it again, with giving the gamers what they have always wanted. An open-world Batman, superb combat, excellent graphics, nice story, so many characters etc.
    Batman: Arkham City deserves a 10/10
  42. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The plot is typical action-comicbook filler, however there are some genuine twists to the plot. The voice acting is great, the visual style matches the gritty yet comicbook approach from the first, and the gameplay is a blast. If you don't want to get 100% in the game, at least play through the Riddler storyline, because it's even better than it was in Arkham Asylum.
  43. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Once again another success from another batman game. This game is an addictive game which includes puzzle solving, epic fighting and much more!.. One of the many reasons I love this game if the fighting mechanics and how there is endless combinations and how realistic the game feels as well as the great graphics. The game also contains many villains which is just hectic when fighting( which is a good thing). The only bad thing that I would say (even though there isn't really anything bad about this game) is.... having to beat the game over again in an even harder difficulty to get one of the PlayStation trophies. Expand
  44. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't like martial arts games, slow motions.
  45. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    Um monte de tempo e energia parece ter ido para este jogo e tudo o que era divertido sobre Arkham Asylum ainda divertido aqui. No entanto, o jogo tem suas desvantagens. Por um lado, eu não acho que a história foi melhorada por ter um mundo "livre de roaming Em outros jogos, a liberdade de circulação fantástico jogos como Red Dead Redemption e Oblivion. Com Batman, no entanto, eu estava irritado com Expand
  46. May 29, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. The story is amazing and there is a lot of stuff to do after you finish the story like completing the side missions and playing the challenge maps. I've lost track of how many times I've played this game. As a fan of Batman, I'd say Arkham City is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait for Arkham Origins!
  47. May 8, 2013
    10
    Flawless and one of the best games i have ever played in my entire life. Graphics and controls are so perfect i cant even begin to describe how amazing they are. Storyline was easy to follow and was well done. The combat and detective elements were impressive. A great masterpiece and awesome free world
  48. May 4, 2013
    10
    For starters its a proven fact that im probably the biggest Batman nerd alive!! hahaha... so its gonna be obvious that i absolutely loved this game!! This is the definative Batman experience! Whether you're doing the story, the side missions or just fighting crime on the streets of Gotham, this game makes you feel like you're Batman!! and seriously what more could you want?
  49. May 1, 2013
    10
    When I first started Arkham City I didn't know what to expect. I had heard it was good but I was never a huge Batman fan. That didn't matter at all because from the opening sequence I was hooked playing through a game with a great story, brilliant gameplay mechanics with the most responsive combat system I've ever used and having more fun collecting all 400 of those riddler trophies than i've ever had with collectibles in a game. Arkham City is a great world to explore with good side missions. An awesome game!!! Expand
  50. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Wasn't a fan of batman growing up, but decided to take the risk; it wasn't a good one. The "T" rating should've given it away. I only played about half an hour and decided this game was just not worth playing, no blood, the combat was as about for the PG era as it can get, even the stealth takedown's were lame. The city although looks great is dark and gloomy, It made me depressed looking at it; I couldn't see myself roaming this sandbox type game and getting depressed because of how gloomy it looks. At the end of the day you're in a bat suit, how corny is that? I wondered if I could've won this game by only pressing triangle. disappointed. Expand
  51. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    this is one of the best games in my opinion awesome gameplay. awesome story this a game that both video game and comic book fans has been waiting for
    and excellent voice acting specially from mark hammils joker this a game worth playing for everyone
  52. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    if I could give this game more than a ten I would this game is amazing the combat is fluid and easy to learn the story is fantastic and playing as catwoman is so much fun this game is a must have for any real gamer
  53. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game to be released EVER! It can't be beaten. If anyone challenges that then we will have to have a little chat. Great gameplay, great story, GREAT DLC and the HOTTEST CATWOMAN EVER
  54. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I have always wondered how it would feel like to be Batman, and after playing Arkham City I can truely say it is amazing. From the graphics to the acting, the gameplay and the fights.. what makes this game so unique is the experience you have from feeling that you can kick anybody's ass, however and whenever you want. Rocksteady has done all of us a huge favor by creating this game.
  55. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is easily the best Batman game ever made, but even more impressive then that it is one of the best games ever made. It has some of the best combat in any game, some great graphics, exploring Arkham City is a lot of fun with tons of collectibles and side content to find, the main story itself is fantastic with great performances from several fantastic voice actors, If you are a fan of Batman or action games in general then this is a must buy, There have been many Batman games over the years, but none have managed the quality and near perfection that this game has achieved. Expand
  56. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    A very well thought-out stealth-action title, but the plot tries to cram in way too many characters to make it interesting. As with many series (I'm looking at you, Resident Evil and MLP), this is another where they've included too much fanservice to the point where it hinders the series. The gameplay is certainly there, but it still wasn't as good as Arkham Asylum. Another point to add is that this game tries too hard to be an open-world game, but it doesn't feel complete like games such as Oblivion and Fallout 3 did. It comes across to me as more of an Assassin's Creed II style game. It would have played much better linear, more like what Asylum did. Also, the game doesn't seem to add too many new mechanics to the game, and it doesn't feel quite like a true sequel and more like a spinoff. Expand
  57. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    The best game in years, everything about it is amazing. Story, gameplay, graphics, sound design, voice acting, absolutely everything is great. The main story is kind of short though, about 4-5 hours if you just do the main missions. There are side missions though, which make up for the length, a problem that Arkham Asylum had. I really liked the environment, the city at night was very memorable and it even changed a lot as you went through it. You could be in a fancy district with glass over the streets and then go to the rooftops of buildings surrounded by completely flooded streets. The best thing was the voice acting with the Joker and Batman, with the original voice actors that everybody knows. Gameplay is extremely fun and you could beat this game five times and not get bored. Expand
  58. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    I expected this game to be a 10 and it was indeed! It took everything great about Arkham Asylum and added on so much more. The campaign is epic to say the least, with tons of replay value. Combat is deep, and it feels rewarding when you master it. Boss fights are awesome, and the riddler trophies are addicting to find; you actually want to find them. The predator and combat arenas are tough, but very fun to play. The DLC content adds even more to the experience. This game is a must buy. Expand
  59. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    it was hyped very much and the game is not as expected from my side.................in my opinion just give the game a miss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  60. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    The game is really good! The music is great, the visuals are great, but there is something in the gameplay that pisses me off. Don't get me wrong the fighting is really good and well made, but the weapons really are overpowered. Also the fighting is really repetetive sometimes when you beat all enemies from a area they are gonna spawn back. That means the same place, same enemies and the same stuff. Also sometimes theres a little bit of small lagging. Overall the game is really really good and well made. It's the best superhero game i have ever played! Expand
  61. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Nice story, nice graphics and nice gameplay experience. The game is full of puzzles side quests. However the story mode is short. Story isn't what makes Batman Arkham City awesome. The whole package is awesome.
    Nice controls and cool combos.
  62. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    Wonderful full stop!!! I was a little surprised to be honest as I thought it could be nowhere near as good as Arkham Asylum........I was wrong. Arguably my favourite PS3 game. Right up there, for me, with Red Dead Redemption and GTA IV. Although restricted somewhat (and no sandbox by any means), there is still a great open world feel to it. Combat is well improved too. Play with the lights dimmed. A great gaming experience. Get this. Expand
  63. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    I LOVED arkham asylum. The puzzles were great, voice acting is top notch, graphics are incredible. There was no other game that made me feel like batman the way AA did. Then AC came. Its even better! A bit more sandbox. I particularly loved the catwoman parts! Story was also very well written and paced! Excellent game!
  64. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    What else is there to say about Arkham city? Story is awesome, fighting is great, etc. I thought Batman Arkham Asylum was the best Batman game back in 2009. When the news broke that Arkham city was announced I was spectacle at first because I didn't think the game wasn't going to be as good as the first. When I got the game, I was pleasantly surprised how great it was. It is so much better than Arkham Asylum. All the things that were lacking in the first game, Rocksteady Studios improved significantly and all the things that made the first game great made slight changes here and there, but kept the same concept. Batman Arkham City is definitely the best Batman game of all time, and one of the best games of 2011 Expand
  65. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the closest thing I've experienced to pure... speechlessness. The way this game enchants and mesmerizes me with it's story, gameplay and look is something incredible. I was looking forward to this game so much that I made a countdown for it, and I was the furthest things from disappointed that is possible. Please play this game, do yourself a favour and experience this awesomeness. Get over the blue cape and cowl nonsense and play the game. Expand
  66. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A really good sequal to "Arkham Assylum". This game retains what was great about the first game and expands upon it with great relish. The story is fresh and exciting, the acting is (again) superb, and the new gadgets and combat techniques keep things interesting without falling into feature-creep.

    On the downside, the game is a little short and the available DLC don't at all live up to their potential. I was also a little wierded out at how casually this game kills off some of the major villians. In all though, this is a brilliant game and I, for one, can't wait to visit Rocksteady's next imagining of the Batman universe.
    Expand
  67. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    You would be daft to say Arkham City isn't a game which has set a new standard for superhero games. It contains beautiful stealth and combat, easter eggs in every corner of the huge open world, loads of side-missions tying in with the comics and the best villain in gaming. This, my friends, is game of the year 2011 and I plead for you to buy it. I have only given two 10s in all of my reviews. It shows how good this game is. Expand
  68. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A mind-blowing sequel to a mind-blowing original, Rocksteady did a fine job on increasing the scale of the game and adding tons of new DC characters (villains, mostly) and not dropping the quality bar on the story (which is even better than the original, with an awesome beginning where you get to play as Bruce Wayne without his suit, and the absolutely shocking unpredictable ending), graphics (still pretty, though as usual all the male models are super-muscular and the chicks are super-hot) and gameplay (new gadgets, new combos, more convict ass-kicking). My only little complaint are the Riddler's trophies. In Asylum I collected all of them and it was the first and only game where I actually got all the collectibles. Although in Arkham City there are just way too many of them - 400 (four bloody hundred!) for Batman and additional 40 for Catwoman. I tried getting all of them but it actually gets a bit boring after a while, so it was a bit of a letdown for me. Otherwise, it's a masterpiece. Expand
  69. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This game has incredible graphics, intense action combat, and a mind blowing world. The story is great for any Batman fan! This game will keep you at your Xbox for a very long time.
  70. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    nice graphics, gameplay,story,characters,voice acting, atmosphere but it is a bit limited because u cant drive btw GREAt weapons and the chicks r hawt the next one will be even better get this game it rocks though
  71. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I wasn't all that crazy about Batman: Arkham Asylum, but Arkham City improved on everything that I had an issue with. The game looks and plays great, the voice acting is phenomenal, and the only thing I wanted to do after finishing the story was keep playing.
  72. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some part can be too difficult and annoying even for a skilled gamer. Expand
  73. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Definitely the best comic based game out there. If you are thinking about buying assassins creed III spare those 60 bucks and buy Batman Arkham city instead. This game looks gorgeous it looks exactly like arkham city. That gothic style based city is really gonna suck you in . There are so many things to find too. THe best feature is the combat though. Its really dynamic and you will feel just like batman. A must HAVE! Expand
  74. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Este es el videojuego modelo, que escapa al género superhéroe y que trasciende mucho pero mucho más lejos, es lo más cercano a la perfección por donde lo mires, este es el juego que no deberías dejar pasar jamás, este juego no necesita mucha explicación simplemente es una obra maestra.
  75. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    un videogioco senza pari. bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare. buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed. che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi siano dubbi al riguardo.

    semplicemente insuperabile, voto pieno e non potrebbe essere altrimenti.
    Expand
  76. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Gas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. I thought my stomach was swallowing itself for a little while there but damn... Never had better gas in my life!
  77. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    I'd rather microwave some popcorn and grab a triscut, open a can of coke and relax with mah girlfriend watching a batman movee dan this k? Yea im coo. In udeer words just mak out with ur girlfriend and smochin her whil watching a batman movee instead of playing bat ark citeh.
  78. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of this generation. Arkham City is very big, the ambientation in Batman is wonderful, you will play easy 50~80 hours in this game.
  79. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is the greatest Batman video game of all time. Scratch that... Batman: Arkham City is the greatest Superhero video game of all time. Scratch that... Batman: Arkham City is one of the greatest video games in history. The graphics in this game are incredible, as well as the incredibly detailed city, with legendary landmarks that any comic book fan or Batman fan will find familiar. The attention to detail is bewildering, and the vast array of villains i mind-blowing. The combat in this game makes you feel like a martial art expert, with tons of combos, takedowns, and filled with different approaches as well. You can decide if you want to be stealthy or attack head-on. The story in this game is fantastic. It picks up right where you left off from Batman: Arkham Asylum and makes way for some incredible characters and villains. While running around in the streets of the city, you can hear endless chatter between thugs, some talking about what certain supervillains did to them or their friends... some talking about what happened back at the Asylum. After completing this mind-blowing game, you can still complete Riddler challenges and collect Riddler trophies, as well as fight as either Batman, Catwoman, Robin, or Nightwing (get the GOTY Edition) in multiple combat or predator maps that allows you to either use your stealth skills or your combat skills. The only minor issues with this game are some pop-in textures and some very rare glitches which I haven't come across in my first playthrough. It is also very interesting to see the various characters by looking at their character bios and/or a full 3D model of them. All in all, this game did not only exceed expectations, but came across and sent a message to all video game designers: If you want to beat me, you'll have to do better than that. Expand
  80. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    A simply brilliant games. The combat is great, the villians are excellent, the stealh mechanics are amazing and above all you get to truly feel like the dark knight.
  81. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Better than Asylum. Arkham city picks up after the events of Asylum and the plot is amazing. Just like Asylum this game is insanely fun to play. A lot of secrets in the free roaming city keep you interested. Fighting and detective mode are back and still are a lot of fun to use. Use of interesting gadgets only add to the fun in this game. This game is a must buy.
  82. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum was a master piece when it came out. Arkham City made Arkham Asylum small. Need i say more? It´s the ultimate Batman experience. I can't wait to see the next chapter!!
  83. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    Really, this game should be about a 6.5, but MC won't let me give that and I'd rather this be counted as a "mixed" review.

    There's a lot that's good about AC, but it's held back by a few serious flaws. The first, and most common , you won't know where to go or what to do a lot of the time. The map is not very helpful when indoors. Second, you often have to use a very specific
    combination of gadgets to get to your goal. This wouldn't be as big a problem in a more linear game or if the game gave you hints or skyrim style "go here" arrows. If you decide to play this game, find a good walkthrough on youtube and favorite it. You'll need it.

    Second, the combat can be infuriating. Often, the game throws a fistful of normal enemies at you and one or two especially annoying enemies (e.g., baddies with armor, shields, guns or stun batons) at you. If you could (A) easily target the annoying enemies or (B) take out the normal enemies and then deal with the annoying ones last, things would be fine. But neither of these can be done. Often you'll knock down all or almost all of the bad guys but be able to knock anyone out because Batman's ground finishing moves take so long. (It's not even worth trying, once you start a finishing move you can only be interrupted by an enemy's attack. And trust me, you will be interrupted.) Quick-firing a gadget is far too imprecise to hit any one specific enemy and long-firing takes too, well, long. The end result is that you're forced to adopt a needlessly defense battle strategy and battles take far longer than they ought. This makes the truly difficult battles extremely frustrating since you're liable to invest (repeatedly) gobs of time in a battle that you'll ultimately lose (often because you'll get frustrated and attempt a more aggressive strategy.)

    So that's the bad. The remarkable thing is, AC's still a lot of fun to play. At it's best it really is everything you've heard. The atmosphere and characters are great. And very little is more fun than hearing criminals cower as you stealthily eliminating a room full of them. One. By. One. You really do feel like the terror of Gotham's underworld. Also, combat is still fun most of the time (It's only the fights with a big bad *and* loads of normal enemies that are likely to incite controller throwing.)

    So, that's it. Is it as good as everyone says? No, the flaws are just too glaring. Does that mean that it's not worth owning or even playing? No (after all, a 6.5 from a metacritic user isn't quite like a 6.5 from IGN), but you should know what you're getting into. It's score would suggest that AC is happiness dressed in a batsuit. Under the mask, it's really the love-child of happiness and frustration.
    Expand
  84. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Are so fully packed basket of unexpected twists, to the best of Batman's enemies, top equipment and playability it for any other superhero. Good story
  85. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    I reneged when I first picked this up from gamestop I was excited to play it! I mean I absolutely loved batman arkham asylum but as I progressed through arkham city & eventually beat the game....One fact stood out that could not be ignored...its short. yes its not as long as arkham asylum so lets begin my review.....as always the good:graphics are top notch and VERY impressive!! I like how the attention to detail was so prevailing in arkham city...every object,street pole, and building,even abandoned vehicles look great!! Gameplay & controls: once again flawlessly crafted,surprisingly better than arkham asylum!! I've had a great time owning the the out of control inmates of arkham city just as much as exploring the city itself!! Which go's without saying that the replay value is very high. the boss fights are all implemented I really liked fight the penguin & his illegal freak that's in his basement. RA'S AL GHOL fight reminded me of my fight with scarecrow from the first game which was great but the best fight hands down has to go to mister freeze...I first( & only) fought him without use of the hints this makes the fight incredibly good/tuff for batman as he's the only tough boss/enemy for batman. there's virtually no load times such is great to & batman even uses better gadgets than the first game!! Now the bad part: its to short...if you focus on the main story(which is good) then it'll be over with. a few hours which is sad because the gameplay/was very interesting..also of note...a sandbox setting? while its not game breaking in any way...for me it felt out of place in a batman game...it wasn't bad but it seemed weird to have batman in a sandbox game but I love the side missions like finding out who's been cutting off peoples faces & zasz comes back in an I.Ferrari.g way so do the riddled but in the end I was alittle disappointed with how short it was but its still an amazing game & well worth the price!!! 9/10 Expand
  86. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Wow. Just wow. I mean Arkham City is easily one of this generations best games. I mean Rocksteady added so much more things to do. They added Side Missions, more riddlers, and you can explore the open world of Arkham City which is just amazing. Perfect 10 from me.
  87. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game I've ever played till date. I enjoyed playing the game even more than GTA IV or Uncharted Series. I hope for a sequel to this game one way or another. Expand
  88. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the greatest games of this generation, perhaps even the greatest game of all time. The way Rocksteady handled The Dark Knight's fiction and rogues gallery is simply amazing and the gorgeously detailed open-world they crafted is hands down the best I have ever experienced and only Bethesda's beautifully detailed Skyrim could hope to be on par with the world Rocksteady has created. Arkham City's large and varied environment allows for Batman to navigate seamlessly with versatile aerial movement, and some of the more skilled players can go the entire game without even touching the ground, save for objectives and collectibles. The story is deep and engrossing and is sure to attract fans and non-fans of Batman's dark mythos alike. This is by far superior to Batman Arkham Asylum in every way which was a near flawless game that was the first game to do The Caped Crusader justice in a video game. So with my praise out of the way I must simply tell you if you haven't gotten this game already go to the nearest Walmart or Gamestop and pick up the GOTY Edition of the game and be prepared to have the time of your life. Expand
  89. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, the graphics are way better than San Andreas on the Playstation 2, it has a good story too, but there are still 2 vehicles missing that i would like to have in GTA V, planes and tanks (when you six-star rankin), other than that it`s a really good game
  90. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This not only the best superhero game made, its one of the best games i ever player, and this is coming from a guy who mainly likes the older games. Best portrayed characters ever in gaming, best voice acting, and the story was incredible! The environment was perfect for gothem, and gave you an eerie feeling, and made it very dark. The music was epic, and made the game feel even more like a true batman game. I doubt we will ever see another masterpiece in the superhero category ever again though. Expand
  91. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    A MUCH better game than Asylum. I always disliked Asylum because it felt so enclosed, and whilst the gameplay and plot were solid, I just detested traipsing across the asylum trying to find out where to go. The free roam Arkham City is a much better place to traverse, as there is always something to do, even after the main plot finishes. The gameplay has definitely improved and the plot is still well written if a little ridiculous. I'm not a big fan of Batman, but I still love this game. Expand
  92. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Very good game. Ok first the good: Characters, Joker, Graphics, Voice acting, Music, you feel like a batman and gameplay. And then the bad: short main story, not so good boss battles and the story aint so good. But the ending was...
  93. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    a beautiful game with a excellent combat style of gameplay and with excellent side missions but with a ok story which makes this game just from being perfect
  94. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Great game, but not the best. The combat is so satisfying in this game and that is the peak of the enjoyment that can be had with playing this game. The graphics are pretty damn good too and most of the textures are really detailed which is great. One minor complaint I have is when Batman dies or you need to restart the the mission, there should be no hassle to show a villain talking and they you have to select the option to restart. This should happen instantly with a 5-7 second wait time to load. The story seems a little far-fetched at times but its still very enjoyable and doesn't disallow you to have fun with the game by any means. The voice acting is great, but sometimes the dialogue can be on the cheesy side. I believe that this game definitely is an improvement of its predecessor, Batman Arkham City, since it isn't as repetitive and boring. Overall, this game is fantastic which just a few minor flaws but that shouldn't spoil the experience which is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  95. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    All the hype that has been going on about this game is very well deserved and it really is a 10/10. The reason I'm giving a 9 is because of the villains in the story. Since batman has some of the greatest bundle pack of villains you would expect a shocking impact if you heard that Bane, Mad Hatter, and Grundy appeared on the scene but instead they're really just for show.

    THE
    *******ONLY******* CON THIS GAME HAS IS NOT MUCH DEPTH IN THE VILLAIN CATEGORY

    this game is worth every penny and I highly reccomend to buy now that it's out on the market, the Game of the Year Ed.

    BRAVO!!! ROCKSTEADY :)
    Expand
  96. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    With a stunning opening, deep storyline, intense action, impeccable detail and memorable ending, this is a very beautiful and well done game. It's is everything people hoped it would be, as it massively improves on Arkham Asylum while keeping its core gameplay and engines. Not only is the story mode a blast, the challenge maps will keep you busy for months after completing the story (you'll probably end up playing through it at least three times). Although the story had some plot holes towards the end, it kept me guessing because of all the wonderfully crafted twists that it pulls off. The story is a little on the short side, but it's a compelling roller coaster ride that will keep you hooked until the shocking ending. Not only is this a must have for batman fans, it is a must have for any gamer. Expand
  97. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The best Batman Game ever made.I got the goty edition on ps3 but played Arkham city when it first came out on xbox 360.so I got the goty edition for my ps3 and this is still the most amazing game ever made.the story and graphics are superb and the gameplay is just amazing.you must play this game.
  98. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The plot is 10, I loved how Paul Dini put awesome plot turns with classic Batman villains and allies (except the story DLC which is 7). Presentation is 10, Arkham city looks awesome, and when you fly through buildings, you really feel as if you are Batman. And gameplay of beat em up and stealth action is 10. Even if you are like me and you hate running away from villains, you should still pickup gameplay easily. Expand
  99. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    I was not a huge fan of Arkham Asylum, so I was somewhat skeptical about how good Arkham City would be. When I played the first installment of this series, I thought it was just too repetitive and revolved too much around mindless button-mashing fight sequences...but in Arkham City, the developers added a lot more variety to the missions and added some great new controls to go with the open world environment. Gliding around the city and using the grappling hook are a blast. And some of the stealth missions are actually pretty challenging. Add on the replay value of the Riddler content and you have a pretty solid game. Expand
  100. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite game. Batman: Arkham Asylum was a fantastic game with a fantastic story. Batman: Arkham City improves on it in every way. First, the story is fantastic. New villains along with some old ones make an appearance such as Mr. Freeze, the Penguin, and of course, the Joker. I don't want to spoil anything so I'll stop there. The combat is amazingly refined. No longer is it just mashing the strike and counter button. The enemies are more diverse and require varied tactics to beat, especially when they're mixed in among other inmates. Old gadgets return along with a plethora of new ones as well making combat and stealth that much cooler. If you liked the challenge of finding riddler trophies in Arkham Asylum, than you'll be in heaven here. Now when you find a riddler trophy, some work goes into figuring out how to get it. This is an all around fantastic game and is worth whatever you pay for it. The replay value is incredible. Expand
  101. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]